PKPolitics Discuss » Future of Pakistan

Quality of Pakistani products

(32 posts)
  1. amin1924

I am sure those of us who live abroad do get chance to compare quality of Pakistani products. Mostly raw, but they top in quality list!

No mango in the world beats Pakistani mangoes, price tag is highest on these mangoes!

Rice, when you look at rice from other countries and then compare the quality with Pakistan, you feel so proud that this land is truly blessed!

Same is with flour, spices, fruits, vegetables all are so much superior quality produces!

If we only implement one principal from Islamic economic system that can lead to exponential growth in national GDP.

For example 'land policy' according to meaning of hadith, who ever cultivates barren land it becomes his until he no longer uses. Who ever puts boundary on a piece of land and cultivates it that becomes his until he cultivates.

We have people from rural areas migrating to metropolitan areas for economic opportunities, this land policy will encourage them to utilize the opportunities locally!

Also this policy will lead to much needed land reforms in our country where few chaudaries/waderas control agricultural lands received as gifts from british colonist masters for their loyalty.

Whole policy paper has been published on this subject matter, I am only sharing a couple of points.

Thanks-

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 8:09 #
  2. Ifzal

I wonder why all of us have ignored this thread. Its such a nice topic to discuss. Thanks JJ, I will be trying to contribute here but can everyone else also give feedback as well plz.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 10:07 #
  3. sasherwani

Pakistani Mangoes are "the" best in the world no doubt about that however they arent the most expensive. Usually SouthAfrican ones are almost double the price here in Dubai.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 10:12 #
  4. Ifzal

thats because they come from farther than pakistan. so take out shipping cost.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 10:15 #
  5. sasherwani

True, but forget the price anyway.. Pakistan does have amazing agricultural exports!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 10:35 #
  6. Ifzal

Sitting outside Pakistan and thinking about its all the inaamat given by Allah, I sometimes feels that we are ignorants. Look at UK for example. Wat do they have of their own as far as agriculture is concerned. just Potatos. Wat they used to eat just 3 of 4 decades ago? Fish and Chips. We Pakistanis are very blessed but regretfully we don't realise our potential.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 10:39 #
  7. amin1924

Pakistan is such a powerful country that even if the whole allied west put embargo like they did to Iraq, Iran, North Korea etc, people wouldn't need a thing from them!

This land is fully self sufficient in everything!

If our politicians/rulers do nothing, I mean neither steal/loot nor serve the nation, this country has such a potential that it would automatically become a rich country.

We have been riped off dozens of times but plenty of riches still there... InshAllah, I see Pakistan becoming super power...

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 10:48 #
  8. Ifzal

This is so true. All we need is just to manage these inaamaat and pray Allah for His blessings. The main thing is the belief on ourself and I truly believe that we Pakistanis are much much better than any other nation by miles but we need to realise our potential. Need to start believing on ourself.

Khudi ko kar buland itna k har taqdeer sey pehly
    Khuda bandy sey khud poochy bata teri raza kia hai

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 11:13 #
  9. @ALL
    A good thread. My appreciation for JJ Khan that he came up with a genuine idea worthy of discussion. I hope all forum scholars will follow his example!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 13:50 #
  10. amin1924

Semirza,

Thanks!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 14:03 #
  11. @JJ Khan
    You are most welcome. Pls continue the good work.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 14:29 #
  12. Excellent Topic!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 15:16 #
  13. @Khan_Sahib
    Pls come on google chat channel!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 15:33 #
  14. GOOGLE

Despite all the difficulties we are able to export to some extent and this is because of higher quality of our products.
    All things Pakistan Export is because of Quality not because of cheaper price or get any special favors from other countries. Carpet, sports goods, machine parts,fans etc are much higher quality as compare to other developing countries.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 16:01 #
  15. I am at work Mirza sahib so can't access Google group site but you can email me and I will reply from my cell.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 16:11 #
  16. Anonymous

True that quality is high and but the dollar amount of our exports is very low.

High quality warrants a high price tag but this price tag could also be attributed to the production cost which may explain the not so high export numbers.

Our export numbers of mangoes are very low primarily because we dont have good storage facilities for mangoes and other vegetables. Also, there is a very limited margin in the export of raw goods such as fruits and vegetables. Big bucks come from processed food. We export our raw fruits and vegetables to one country who then re-export our products in the form of processed food and make millions and billions out of it.
    Yes, maintaining western hygiene standards in food industry is quite a task and not easy at all but I wonder what our exporters are doing about it. We need good brand names.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 16:24 #
  17. tamza2k

Did u people ( Those who ever been out from Pak) noticed that pak food taste is so unique? I have never found Vegatables & fruits like Pakistani's & i always use to get Pakistani Food & Stuff from very far away places. Really Pakistan is great but we the people are destroying it. Look @ the indians they ll never put down their own contry while abroad & most of the Pakistani's............i do have so many experiences in group discussions between Pakitani's & other national's.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 16:27 #
  18. tamza2k

BTW i would love to appreciate this topic..........Pakistani food matters more to me.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 16:27 #
  19. @tamza2k
    Agreed, very true. Not only the taste and flavour is unique but here (I mean Middle East)the are favoured and sought for;always in demand.
    The Indians here who maintain a certain monoploy over trade and commerce, are unable to check this popularity uptill now.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 16:30 #
  20. Ifzal

@bsobaid: ur analysis to the situation is very accurate. and thats the areas where we should focus on. Take for example fishing. All EU countries have banned exporting fish from Pakistan because of the hygeniene issue. There should be some quality standards implementation from the Govt and they should extend their full support to these exporters in terms of infstructure and money and also market access.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 16:42 #
  21. Did u people ( Those who ever been out from Pak) noticed that pak food taste is so unique? I have never found Vegatables & fruits like Pakistani's & i always use to get Pakistani Food & Stuff from very far away places.

LOL
    Tell me about it!
    From Pakistani Mangoes to Pakistani Rice
    From Carpet to Surgical equipments! We are no Match....

I will tell you my recent Personal experience, when I bought a needle holder for 1200 Pakistani RS which European companies sell for £700 to £1800!!! Will you believe this?
    And there is no compromise in Quality!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 16:47 #
  22. @Khan_Sahib
    Sialkot is known the world over in quality 'surgical' products along with equally well known 'sports' items and equipment!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 16:51 #
  23. Anonymous

Our nation lacks enterpreneurship. We need good enterpreneurs who can start cottage industry in rural areas. Pakistan government should negotiate with its western allies to lower the import duties for Pakistani products.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 0:30 #
  24. Ifzal

@bsobaid: "Pakistan government should negotiate with its western allies to lower the import duties for Pakistani products.":

Correct me if I am wrong, I think the current Govt is trying hard for this or shows that they try hard atleast to get market access to EU and also gets some concessions on the import duties. they are also looking for American market as well. isin't it.

"I am not a PPP fan so plz don't label me for this comment, just concentrate on topic plz"

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 7:46 #
  25. izbaek

as bso says ,
    raw materials export doesn't help much.

but the problem is the lack of infrastructure,private companies and risk of losing raw material market.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 7:54 #
  26. Ifzal

We got everything apart from true leaders, who can lead and manage the resources properly. Mismanagement and the non serious attitude of our politicians is the main issue otherwise we got enterprenures, we got products and all that. Once u get a good backing from govt then thats itself is feel good factor. it all adds up.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 8:01 #
  27. sasherwani

I think many of us among the business/working class can actually contribute to enhance the quality and quantity of our agricultural exports. I have a few ideas.

Land prices around these agricultural areas are very low. Sometimes acres of land can be aquired in less than a million rupees. Wont it be a good idea to purchase land and provide storage facilities to the farmers at subsidized rents. Not only will one have a piece of land but that land will provide you with ROI in the form of rents from these farmers.

Most of these agricultural areas are without electricity and sometimes the tubes and pumps dont work because of the absense of electricity or diesel. Why not install solar pannels in these fields that will keep the tubes and pumps on without any requirement of electricity and diesel? I am not an engineer so I would like to know if its even possible or not?

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 8:18 #
  28. amin1924

sasherwani,

Good idea, but procurement of these cash crops isn't that simple. There is so much manipulation by 'arhati', mills, middle players that farmers end up with least benefit.

For example a standard tactic is to delay procurement to force farmer to sell on mill's offered rate. Issue is purely technical & administrative in nature. But base line is that as long as you have few hands controlling vast agricultural lands, you will not be able to bring reform in SYSTEM.

That is why changing the whole system is very important, patches wouldn't help.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 8:24 #
  29. DeadlyHonest

We have so many challenges to increase our exports.
    India in this field also use different tactics to deprive pakistan of itsexport market.Countries like srilanka,nipal,bhootan and many other countries facing pressures from India to import from Pakistan.
    Water shorted and recently Indian dams over pakistani water sources played a key role to pakistani agricultural export..
    Due to lack of water electricity problem is also their.Indai have cheap electricity and Labour so their exports enjoying such a low prices..
    Pakistan have more expensive exports than india..This is only possible due to the quality of our exports.Indians import goods from Pakistan and than making exports of these goods under Indian Labels.Rice is a victim of such type..
    This is very usefull weapon with countries like India follows Chankiya politics..
    Aid domestic level number of policies should come out with to tackle the problem and increase our exports but that will definitly require an honest leadership and well established accountability culture......

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 8:27 #
  30. Ifzal

JJ thats true. Correct me if I am wrong. According to a Hadith that the owner of a land should be the one who cultivates it. So the distribution of land among the farmers, making them the owners, eradicating this middle man and buy the product directly from them by the Govt would probably work better.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 8:28 #
  31. amin1924

Khan,

Correct, Islamic Economic system prohibits controlling lands through 'mazara' system. They can cultivate land by themselves or hire labor to assist them but can't hold people on ransom through advanced loan blackmailing system.

If Economic system allows people to cultivate unused/barren land, no mazara/labour would want to work for vadera they would prefer to cultivate their own lands and these vadera/chaudary would be left with unused/barren land which state would take back from them and give to those who willing to cultivate!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 8:39 #
  32. Ifzal

Agreed

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 8:42 #