Real Estate Mafias

(16 posts)
  1. zingaro

This topic looks quite different from the political discussion, but in fact is an outcome of the political policies of the different rulers in Pakistan. I have been reading on various forums about this very sensitive issue. Unfortunately there is none who can take up this matter to such an extent that people of Pakistan may give attention to it like NRO, Sugar Scam, Stock Market Scam, etc. But believe me its importance is not less than the mentioned above.

What I feel is that there are two very big names of this Mafia and they are DHA and Bahria Town. Though there are hundreds of people involved in whole over the country but these two operate at a very large scale. We see the lucrative advertisements in which public and especially the overseas Pakistanis are tempted to invest in the schemes/sectors/phases, which in reality do not exist at the time of advertisement. People deposit their hard earned monies and sign the agreement to pay all dues, but when they ask for the plots, they come to know that the land has not been acquired for the advertised phase. And if the land is there then no body knows when the development will be completed and balloting will be done.

Just browse the properties related forums and you will find people inquiring about such issues and there is no one to answer them. A common man even don't have courage to fight with this mafia. DHA Lahore even closes their website at times. Recently there is a scheme DHA City Lahore which I know is not owned by DHA Lahore but due to "mutual negotiation" they are not objecting on that scheme. Similarly "Daily Jinnah" every day publishes news of "Bahria Dastarkhawan" but does not tell that how many people are waiting for their plots from Bahria Town.

There are lot of advertisements about schemes in Karachi, Hyderabad, Gawadar, etc. But we don't see any check.

Many times we also read news that the authorities have declared such and such schemes as illegal, but no action is taken to safeguard the public interest. I think that this matter must be taken up at SC level and an order should be passed that a scheme can not be advertised unless it has proper land, approvals, development & handing over plans. If the society fails to handover plots/homes to the public, it should be fined heavily and banned for future operations.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 8:07 #
  2. Real Estate mafia are equally active in DHA Karachi and many people who have booked plots or invested in high rise apartments have not been able to get possession even after 15 years. One example is Silver Sand Apartment project which is in Khayban Shamsheer Defence right in front of Sea View McDonald. This project is under construction for the last 19 years and unscrupulous builders have not yet given possession to owners of this project. Our society has become so corrupt and this Real Estate Mafia works without any fear as they can afford to bribe local authorities. One of my uncles had to settle a plot case outside court because his lawyer told him to do so or keep fighting forever. Our court system is so corrupt one can spend whole life fighting a case. My uncle paid full amount for the plot but later KDA (Karachi Development Authority) had sold the same plot to another person. There are several cases which I know personally and this coterie of dishonest builders, corrupt relevant authorities and disfunctional court system have left many investors/home buyers broke and mentally stressed.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 11:31 #
  3. Karachi ki sub se bari mafia usskay so called daway daar hain ...MQM aur ANP dono hi land mafia hain .
    subko pata hay yahan .

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 11:46 #
  4. ajhons

Karachi is becomming a Bomb.And these two parties are doing there best to explode it.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 11:51 #
  5. Anyone who is thinking of investment in Gwadar should think twice because lots of investments are not genuine.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 11:54 #
  6. Gawader already Army kha chuki ...
    all Gawader projects has been handeled by Ex Army Generals,Colenels and Major sahibs .

one of my freind has been ditched by one Colnel ,who was all in all of a Gawadar Projcet named ;'Gawadar Palm Trees'.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 12:14 #
  7. Apne pakistan ka awa ka awa hi bigra hoya hai

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 13:15 #
  8. sahi kaha .
    away ka aawa bigra howa hay .
    aur koi ussay seedha karnay pe tayyar hay na iss qabil kay seedha kar sakay ...afsos.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 13:18 #
  9. You are right choosy
    Honesty has all but gone from our society

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 13:22 #
  10. zingaro

So do you guys think that there is no solution for it?

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 17:09 #
  11. There is solution for it. We are going through a transition phase. Look at the history of UK and US. They also passed through similar eras like we passing now. In nations life 60 years are nothing. It takes centuries to get strong and mature. Do you think there is no corruption in US society. There is a lot. But there are mechanisms and people who are loyal and honest. Insha Allah we will get such people and such mechanisms in future.

DALIL -E- SUBH-E-ROSHAN HAY SITARON KI TUNK TABI
    UFAQ SAY AFTAB UBHRA, GAYA DOR-E-GIRAN KHAWABI.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 17:30 #
  12. Hussain Farooqui

Quite often the wars of land mafias are projected as Mohajir-Pathan riots or PPP-MQM riots. The common people belonging to Mohajir, Pashtun and Makrani communites wonder who is fighting whom? They are not aware of these land grabbing wars and observe the situations with confused thoughts. These wars are mostly politicized.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Jul 2010 11:25 #
  13. rehanahd

Land MAfias ( Strength wise):

1. MQM

2. PPP

3. ANP

4. JSQM

5. PPI

All these r grabbing state land n plots... parks etc. etc..
    Poor workers r doing for party and being killed by each other....

AND ALL PARTY LEADERS (RULING ALSO) R ENJOYING HALEEM CUM COCKTAIL PARTIES N LAUGHING ON GOOF WORKERS........

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Jul 2010 12:34 #
  14. Anwer Kamal

Some people here in Islamabad connect some big events in Pakistan with these Mafias.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Jul 2010 19:29 #
  15. @Anwer Kamal
    Care to elaborate some?

But this reminds me: Remember the recent kidnapping of a developed by Karachi police of a 'developer' on the orders of Malik Riaz of Bahria Town? Remember SC taking suo moto and getting the guy released? Remember the followup shooting ON COURT PREMISES between him/his people and Milik Riaz/his people in which one guy got KILLED? What happened? NOTHING. No one got arrested. No case was registered. Again keep in mind this happened on court premises.

This is the state of the rule of law...

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Jul 2010 19:55 #
  16. rehanahd

I will say only

PAKISTAN IS A BANANA REPUBLIC...ENJOY UR INDEPENDENCE TILL U HAVE A CONFLICT WITH POWER BUILDER LIKE MALIK RIAZ>>> KILLING PARTY LIKE MQM>>> CORRUPT N LOOTERS SITTING IN GOVT>>> ETC ETC ETC>>>>

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Jul 2010 20:35 #