Renewable Energy Projects in Pakistan

(48 posts)
  1. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

DAWN News: Scheme finalised for renewable energy projects

Wednesday, 03 Mar, 2010

The government’s investment programme will cover various renewable energy development activities in all parts of the country which include hydropower projects, wind power projects, solar power projects, and biomass projects. – Photo by APP.

ISLAMABAD: The government has finalised a scheme to provide financing for the establishment of power projects using renewable energy with a capacity of up to 10MW.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

(1) What's happening here ?
    (2) Is this even worth looking into ?
    (3) Is this blind following of Govt. of Pakistan of yet another trend set by USA ?
    (4) Does this mean our dependence on oil will go down ?
    (5) Do renewable energy projects have any potential ? If yes, what is their potential ?
    (6) Do renewable energy projects offer us electricity that is produced at low cost, for small, medium, large scale projects within Pakistan ?
    (7) Is this initiative feasible ?
    (8) Is this a short term or long term initiative ?
    (9) What is the output we are expecting from this initiative ?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 6:56 #
  2. LiberalKarachi

lol, sounds like waste of time for a country like pakistan...we dont have money to afford non-renewable energy let along renewable! Maybe it is just for the media-hype

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 7:01 #
  3. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

(1) Does this initiative offer us cheap electricity that we can adopt for our local industry, local market ?

(2) Can this initiative help bring down cost of production of locally developed goods and services ?

(3) Can this initiative help out exports in any significant ways ?

(4) For example, can a Data Center be run on 1-10 MW power ?

We can expand this scenario for implementation in many cities. This will allow us/Muslims to make our libraries, books, articles, journals have a sustained life in digital world, at low expenditure.

This would help us in spreading knowledge, both for skills as well as ways of living our lives.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 9:01 #
  4. hkbajwa

Well i have been involved in the power sector earlier in the professional life and i can definately assure you that renewable energy is EXTREMELY viable in Pakistan.

Solar cell technology has now reached an efficiency level where it is proving feasible even in regions with little sunlight. If we were to establish commercial ventures in solar power production, it would flourish.

Likewise on the wind side there is a wind corridor (area with adequate wind for commercial power production) that stretches from east of karachi to the Indian border and all the way up through Sind till the indian border at Rajastan. In fact the Indians have placed commercially viable wind farms in Rajastan utilizing the same wind corridor, but Pakistan has so far only managed to erect one single outdated model of wind turbine. It is in fact a gross neglect of a freely available resource.

I have visited the sites that have been identified as the first sites for wind farms, and the proposed project director (who had erected wind farms all over the world) said to me that he the location was quite simply amazing in terms of ligistics and potential energy output.

Yet we have done nothing.

Instead focus is on expanding the capacity of thermal power projects. The first wind farms should in principle have been up and running right now and be pulling KESC out of it's trouble, but it's not. that's because there is huge amounts of money at stake.

the way thermal power projects work in Pakistan, the bureaucracy has a vested interest in preferring it. Basically when a thermal project is finalized, the price of fuel (oil,gas,LPG) is locked. As the prices of fuel increase, the government undertakes to pay the difference. So if a project was established with the price of oil at 40 dollars per barrels, as the the price increased to 60, the pakistani government had to subsidize the power project and pay the additional 20 dollars out of the national exchequer.

Now what bureaucrats and power projects do is that they tell the government they have used 1000 barrels of oil whre they might only have used 800. but they get the subsidy on 1000 barrels. Basically the government winds up paying the cost difference of 200 barrels of oil that never got used to produce power. This is a pretty regular scam, and it shows in the simple fact that not a single thermal power plant in pakistan runs at 100% of their capacity.

This type of shenanigans are pretty much impossible in wind and solar power because there is no fuel subsidy involved. Instead the bureaucracy (specifically NEPRA) has constantly tried to stonewall the execution of renewable energy projects, so as not to hurt their own personal profit margins.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 10:25 #
  5. toamin

anyone heard about this bloombox energy? it is something interesting to learn about!

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 10:31 #
  6. zia m

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/the-bloom-box

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 10:34 #
  7. toamin

this is something that may revolutionize the energy world-

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 10:38 #
  8. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@hkbajwa: Excellent!

I want to create a Data Center in Lahore, ISB, Karachi, Peshawar, Quetta. I want to start from Lahore. I'm looking for indigenous power supply to run this datacenter, since I want to reduce expenses, and have long term viability for this project.

I could connect ALL of Lahore's networks into one large network of 10Gbps fiber links, so there'll be ample bandwidth for anyone who wanted to develop applications, for delivery.

This datacenter will be a central place to house ALL servers that for example, software houses have, or small/medium/large scale businesses have, or even Govt. level stuff.

This datacenter would;

(a) not only be a central point or merging point of ALL networks
    (b) it will not only be a small or medium business which can develop into a large scale business
    (c) it will also be a digital library for Muslims having ALL kinds of work

For example, it would be storage place for books, journals, articles, research work in ALL career paths, subjects;

(1) Business
    (2) Art
    (3) Science (Every kind)
    (4) Technology
    (5) Research work
    (6) Chemistry
    (7) Physics
    (8) Meta-Physics
    (9) Quantum Physics
    (10) Quantum Mechanics
    (11) Mechanics
    (12) Mechatronics
    (13) Robotics
    (14) Nuclear Technology
    (15) Nuclear Science
    (16) etc etc

In-fact I want a small business hub, that contains ALL knowledge that mankind has acquired to date, in an easily accessible form for ALL of people of Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 10:41 #
  9. toamin

hkbajwa

definitely, the wind corridor is a valuable natural resource and blessing for peoples of Pakistan.

a technical estimate suggests that 50,000MW electricity can be generated from this natural resource, meaning we could start exporting electricity to india, afghanistan or iran

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 10:41 #
  10. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Salam: Excellent!

My family has some acres of irrigated land in NWFP. Is this wind project viable at any level in NWFP ?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 10:48 #
  11. @hariskhan
    Will post you complete details regarding your project. It is viable at all levels in NWFP and it would be my pleasure to help anyone who may be interested regarding this field.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 10:51 #
  12. toamin

haris

hkbajwa has defined the corridor of wind in his post above, it is in Sindh, i am not sure about some acres of irrigated land in NWFP-

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 10:53 #
  13. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Where there are mountains, there's bound to be some wind.

My datacenter could provide the base to Pakistani IT people to develop services to deliver to Pakistani people, that will be of some value.

With ample bandwidth to play with, I believe, Pakistani's will be able to create and sell a lot of services in our local market.

Once we have a viable local market, we can then move beyond our bounds :D, INSHALLAH.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 10:55 #
  14. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

The backbone of every country/society/nation's strength is the small and medium enterprise.

I believe, if there is viability in indigenous power projects, that would be a great boost to our small and medium enterprise.

If we can do something about our dependency on state run projects, we can break free of state's horrific service delivery, as well as economic sanctions on our people.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 11:14 #
  15. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Mirza sb.: Great!

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 11:25 #
  16. hkbajwa

@ haris

Mountainous areas channel wind which creates strong gusts. However for windpower generation you need medium strength and constant winds. that's why most wind farms in the world are located near coastlines. that's because the temprature difference between the sea and land creates a convection current of air that remains steady over a sustained period of time.

besides that there is also the major problem of logistics. These wind turbine towers can be as tall as 80 to 100 meters with a wing diameter of 90 meters. The combined weights of a single wind turbine exceeds 250 tons. transporting and erecting such a monstrosity in a mountaneous area will make the logistics so expensive that even with perfect wind conditions it might not prove to be feasible.

The area in Sind however has been subjected to a detailed study and the feasibilities are excellent there.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 11:54 #
  17. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

We'll need feasibility reports, some level of details before we talk further about this.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 12:00 #
  18. shriq

hkbajwa,

In my engineering final year, I was ivolved with power plants!

There we saw that apart from a few types of power plants found in the world, Pakistanis are blessed with so many resources that we can have many types of power plants.

1) Water/Glaciers at sufficient height (head)
    2) Wind Corridor as you mentioned
    3) Solar radiation with sufficient flux in almost 80% areas
    4) Tidal Power
    5) Coal based plants
    6) Nuclear technology

What we miss is:
    1) the political will
    2) the will to serve people
    3) the will to develop Pakistan
    4) the capacity to think about Pakistan

Bajwa sahib, I am impressed with your knowledge.
    Further to it, we have sufficient gas reserves, yet-to-explore oil fields (Baluchistan). Once I read in a website that Pakistan has 140 billion barrel reserves. After a few months I wanted to search this website again and was SURPRISED to find that the website has gone. What is being hidden from us? What is going to be stolen from us? Why all of a sudden the Baluchistan has become a problem point?

Ya Allah Pakistan ka bhi koi wali waris bhaij dai!!

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 13:57 #
  19. shriq

Another natural gift to Pakistan: Oil transport (export to consumer) corridor for CASPIAN Sea oil.

"The region's total oil reserves may well reach more than 60 billion barrels of oil. Some estimates are as high as 200 billion barrels. In 1995, the region was producing only 870,000 barrels per day. By 2010, western companies could increase production to about 4.5 million barrels a day, an increase of more than 500 percent in only 15 years. If this occurs, the region would represent about 5 percent of the world's total oil production.

One major problem has yet to be resolved: how to get the region's vast energy resources to the markets where they are needed."

http://whatreallyhappened.com/WRHARTICLES/oil.html

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 14:08 #
  20. shriq

A reason why USA is here in Afganistan:

Unocal foresees a pipeline which would become part of a regional system that will gather oil from existing pipeline infrastructure in Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan and Russia. The 1,040-mile long oil pipeline would extend south through Afghanistan to an export terminal that would be constructed on the Pakistan coast. This 42-inch diameter pipeline will have a shipping capacity of one million barrels of oil per day. The estimated cost of the project, which is similar in scope to the trans-Alaska pipeline, is about $2.5 billion.

Sorry Haris bhai, off-topic here.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 14:10 #
  21. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

The question remains, will Pakistani people, will Muslims allow USA/Nato to get away with this treachery ?

They are keeping us aloof of ALL information, ALL education. They are making preparations to steal!!! our most valuable natural asset i.e., oil & gas, for FREE!!!!

Are we going to fight for our natural assets, so we can secure them and use them for betterment of our own people or are we going to allow them to rob us dry, while we live our entire lives like faithful slaves ?

What the heck are our people doing about it ?

Are we really going to allow them to get away with this ?!?!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 14:25 #
  22. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@shriq: Bhaee jaan, you missed the following in that list of yours;

(7) Geo-Thermal energy
    (8) Sweden powers its country from their garbage

There are at least 7 different ways for Pakistan to produce cheap electricity.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 14:27 #
  23. shriq

Geothermal and OTEC are not feasible in our part of the world. For garbage yes, it can be used. and biogas plants, (Pakistan has world largest buffalo population - Correct me if I am wrong here)

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 14:31 #
  24. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Why is geothermal not feasible here ?

Has the earth beneath us gone cold, where Pakistan is located on the globe ?

Deliberations on this thread again point to the same thing. Only the will to do it, is missing. Rest is ALL here and ready.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 14:49 #
  25. shriq

Haris bhai,

Read it yourself from the source below: "The Earth's geothermal resources are theoretically more than adequate to supply humanity's energy needs, but only a very small fraction of it may be profitably exploited."

It is not feasible here.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geothermal_power

"Drilling and exploration for deep resources costs tens of millions of dollars, and success is not guaranteed"

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 16:00 #
  26. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

So, is there anything a common man can to help this situation ?

Can we generate 1 - 10 MW ourselves for SME business needs ?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Mar 2010 19:26 #
  27. Why not, an array of solar collectors is the most feasible where sunlight is converted into heat and that generates super heated steam. A steam turbine than runs a power generator producing electricity. Excess could be stored for use at night.
    On the other hand one standard 80 meter tall wind turbine generates from 0.6 to 0.75 MW per unit. More costly than an array of solar collectors.
    Construction of a solar collector is simple. Even a common man with some technical know how, when provided technical details could manage to fabricate an array of solar collectors.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Mar 2010 7:49 #
  28. I believe small scale projects should be initiated on a help yourself basis. Proper knowhow about how a small scale wind/solar energy combined project could be constructed should be made available to those who are interested.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Mar 2010 11:52 #
  29. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Can these solar or wind apparatus be used to power a water motor/turbine for irrigating land ?

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Mar 2010 12:00 #
  30. To power a water pump is very much possible and has been used in America and Australia by ranchers (large scale farmers). Wind power can be used to drive a pump shaft thus drawing out water on a small scale but large electric motors can be driven for the same purpose. Only the setup should be able to carter for currents at a larger scale.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Mar 2010 12:05 #
  31. RajputPuttar

mirza sahib

The basic issue in such renewable energy resources is the initial capital investment. For setting up a wind energy form or solar station , the initial capital investmnet is very huge. And if the size of the unit is small , then transmission is not possible caz there won't be much production that it could be transported to 100 kms away in a reasonable cost.

It all revolves around economics .

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Mar 2010 12:44 #
  32. You are correct to point out. I am aware that a huge amount of initial capital investment is required for projects that are designed to cater for town and cities.
    Here I was talking about a very small scale project (3000-5000W) fit for an average home in a far off remote village.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Mar 2010 12:58 #
  33. RajputPuttar

Mirza Sahib,

I did a basic research here in australia about setting up a small unit like that . Minimum cost is around 8 to 10 k Aus dollars.

For wind farms, (somewhere i read , don't have reference at this point ) each wind tribune costs more than 50k $ and in order to make it vialble , u need 100s of them to make a viable unit.

This is one of the major reaons that these technologies are still pretty much in research phase in order to make a breakthrough so that these techs become economically feasible.

Might be u have deeper study on these aspects and would really like to have some updated info on to the topic.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Mar 2010 13:05 #
  34. I have used an 'armoured tank' alternator (size of a two horsepower motor). Recast its main frame replacing it with a much lighter one. Rotor span is 28 ft. Spins at slightly less than 300 rpm and generates 150+/-Amps/24 Volts at a wind speed from 25-30 knots.
    All the hardware required was bought from a scrap dealer.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Mar 2010 13:27 #
  35. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

So;

(1) Is it feasible, affordable to run a water pump ?

(2) Can we generate 1 - 10 MW indigenous power ?

(3) Can we power a small DataCenter, say with 50-100 computers plus accessories with this power ?

Usually, computers use around 200-300 W power. However, I want each computer's PSU (power supply unit) to have at an average, 1000 W (1kW). This is for server class machines.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Mar 2010 14:47 #
  36. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Do we have any estimate on how much a 1-2 MW power generating apparatus would cost ?

Mirza sb. any idea what this device would cost ?

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Mar 2010 20:15 #
  37. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

BBC News: China steams ahead on clean energy

By Richard Black
    Environment correspondent, BBC News
    Page last updated at 07:49 GMT, Friday, 26 March 2010

Projects like Donghai Bridge wind farm in Shanghai have pushed China ahead

China overtook the US during 2009 to become the leading investor in renewable energy technologies, according to a new analysis.

Researchers with the Pew Charitable Trusts calculate that China invested $34.6bn (£23.2bn) in clean energy over the year, almost double the US figure.

The UK emerges in third place among G20 nations, followed by Spain and Brazil.

..continued..
    -------------------------------------------------------------------

While all other countries move forward for betterment, we in Pakistan remain stagnant because of the wars for having more and more power, 'zan, zar, zameen'.

If it weren't so laughable, I'd cry.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Mar 2010 13:49 #
  38. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

While other countries/nations benefit from it by creating business, job opportunities, Pakistani people are busy in spending their time talking about nonsense.

What's the future of Muslims ? More slavery ?

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Mar 2010 13:51 #
  39. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Video: 5KW Wind Turbine Made By Syed Toseef Haider Zaidi

15-April-2010

Source: Youtube Channel: pakistanyouthforum

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 21:51 #
  40. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Video: GE 1.5 Mw Wind Turbine Construction @ Mesalands Community College

06-March-2010

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 22:00 #
  41. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

DAWN News: Germany starts financing renewable energy projects

Saturday, 08 May, 2010
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

What I find interesting about this news is the fact that Pakistan has the potential or capacity to produce;

(1) 41,722 MW hydro power ( 41 GW ) <- I think this has been grossly under-rated
    (2) 346,000 MW wind power ( 346 GW )
    (3) 2.9 million MW from solar system

This means;

(a) Pakistan doesn't need to import electricity from anywhere
    (b) Pakistan can quadruple its population and even then it will be self sufficient for its electricity needs

There are a lot of jobs that can be created from these projects, for people of Pakistan, for local people.

With the start of these projects, we can bring back many hundreds of thousands of Pakistanis' back to Pakistan, give them jobs, as well as a bright future.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 May 2010 16:20 #
  42. Members hkbajwa and shriq both have extensive knowledge about this subject. Hopefully we would love to hear some more from them.
    Pakistan should develop a technology base where materials vital for these industries are produced/manufactured locally. Let us say silicon extraction and purification or developing/manufacturing batteries as backup/storage for solar based systems just to bring costs down.
    Sure this involves huge amounts of finance but if we do not begin now then when we will be able to this? For this industrialists who are already well established should invest towards development of these technologies locally.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 May 2010 16:43 #
  43. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Looking at the stats in this news, it should be quite clear to people of Pakistan that Pakistan does NOT! need to import electricity from anywhere. It has more! than enough indigenous resources to cater to its people.

Even if Pakistan's population increases 10 fold, even then there'll be more than enough electricity to power everything within Pakistan.

Looking at this news, one can't help but reiterate the fact that so called 'leaders' in Pakistan are 'intentionally' depriving millions! of people of Pakistan of their peace of mind, livelihood, good living conditions, their prosperity by forcefully! denying them access to as basic a necessity as electricity.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 May 2010 17:18 #
  44. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I want people of Pakistan to resist allowing Germany to invest in these projects. If Germany invests in these projects, it will mean that they will earn money from our land. Which means they'll extract even more! money from our country and put it in their local economy.

I want people of Pakistan to take advantage of this huge! opportunity.

I want people of Pakistan to get jobs.

I want people of Pakistan to be able to secure their future through these projects.

I want people of Pakistan to get!!! rid!!! of this slavery they are stuck in, since Pakistan was created, through these projects.

I want people of Pakistan to take charge! of their country.

I want people of Pakistan to take charge! of their country's prosperity.

I want people of Pakistan to take charge! of their country's projects.

I want people of Pakistan to work for prosperity of their own people, for their own country.

I want people of Pakistan to work for the benefit of their own people.

I don't!!! want Germany to extract more money from our! country, from our UMMAH, from our! land.

Why don't I want Germany to extract more money from our land ?

I vividly remember how Pakistani Telecommunication Engineers were treated when they went for training in European countries.

I vividly remember how Pakistani people are being treated in European countries right now.

I vividly remember how Germany is a part of NATO. Germany is sending troops to fight our own people i.e. Muslims in other nation states.

I vividly remember that the historic lesson, that if we allow our enemy to extract money from our own land, they will use! that money to finance wars! against us! (i.e., Muslims, all around the world).

I vividly remember how western countries take up big projects from our countries, Muslim countries. How they deprive our local people of the jobs, the businesses, the opportunities, the prosperity by taking away these huge projects from our hands and into theirs.

I vividly remember the fact that USA/CIA is financing their military campaigns in this entire region through drugs that are produced in Afghanistan.

No!. I don't want Germany of its companies or its Govt. to make money out of this huge potential in Pakistan.

I want indigenous people, Pakistani! people, Muslims! from ALL! over the world to come to Pakistan and take advantage of this huge! huge! opportunity.

I want Muslims to shed their mark of slavery.

I want Muslims to become empowered of their own lives.

I want Muslims to be decision makers.

I want Muslims to prosper!.

For how long will Muslims destroy their lives in worthless businesses like property trading, like small businesses ?

Why don't Pakistani people take charge of LARGE projects within our country ?

WE should!. This is our! country. The opportunities within this country are ours! to have!.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 May 2010 17:23 #
  45. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

DAWN News: Korea keen to set up alternative energy projects

Wednesday, 02 Jun, 2010

Leader of the delegation, Byong Son Min said that the secret behind the development of Korea was the selection of projects as model. This fostered development in Korea. — File Photo

KARACHI: A Korean delegation has indicated interest in setting up solar and wind energy projects in the interior Sindh region to generate electricity.

..continued..
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

Koreans offer Pakistan to build alternate energy projects.

The question I want to ask is, what are Pakistanis' doing ?!

(1) Why aren't Pakistanis' coming forward for starting as well as working on these projects ?!

(2) Why aren't Pakistanis' coming forward for investing in these projects ?!

(3) When are we! Muslims! going to start re-building Muslim UMMAH/Empire ?! When ?!

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jun 2010 9:03 #
  46. Hello Friends, I don't know about solar energy, but wind energy has come under strong criticism in recent times, especially in Great Britain. It doesn't produce enough and, since wind-driven, unreliable sum up its two main failings apparently.

I say, alternative energy should be seized with both hands, but, at the same time, we shouldn't ignore more traditional sources either. Like the one described in the lines below:

DUSHANBE – Tajik Prime Minister Akil Akilov suggested that visiting Pakistani business leaders invest in Tajikistan’s hydro-electric sector, AsiaPlus.tj reported May 31.

Addressing a May 31-June 3 forum for Tajik and Pakistani corporate leaders, Akilov said Tajik-Pakistani trade has grown every year but has room to expand. Trade in the first four months of 2011 totalled US $3.4m (15.4m TJS), he said.

Akilov emphasised the potential of Tajikistan’s hydro-electric sector, saying it could supply 527 billion kWH of electricity per year. “Only 6% of that supply is used now,” he said. Tajikistan hopes for investment to build hydro-power stations and install power transmission lines, he said, adding that the first steps to supply cheap power to energy-starved Pakistan are under way.

Wouldn't it be marvellous if Korea and Tajikistan became the saviours of Pakistan in the energy domain? HK, not to give up so easily on the inevitable.

Posted 11 months ago on 04 Jun 2011 9:59 #
  47. Solar Updraft Tower

The solar updraft tower has power conversion rate considerably lower than many other designs in the (high temperature) solar thermal group of collectors. The low conversion rate of the Solar Tower is balanced to some extent by the low investment cost per square metre of solar collection.

According to model calculations, it was estimated that a 100 MW plant would require a 1000 m tower and a greenhouse of 20 km2. A 200 MW power plant with the same 1000-metre-high tower would need a collector 7 kilometres in diameter (total area of about 38 km²).

Posted 11 months ago on 04 Jun 2011 11:15 #