PKPolitics Discuss » Science and Technology

Revolution in Medical: Stem cells Therapy

(52 posts)
  1. If you suffer from coronary artery disease, cardiomyopathy, or congestive heart failure and your doctor told you that there's nothing else that can be done, he may not know about VesCell™ adult stem cell therapy for heart disease.

VesCell™ is a revolutionary new treatment for heart disease that actually rebuilds heart tissue using the patient's own stem cells.
    http://vescell.com/

A medical procedure whereby Human Fetal Stem Cells are transplanted into a patient. These cellular building blocks are usually administered intravenously and subcutaneously (under the skin). It is a painless procedure, which takes place in approximately one hour, and has no negative side effects.
    The Fetal Stem Cell searches out, detects and then attempts to repair any damage or deficiency discovered, as well as releases growth factors, which stimulate the body's own repair mechanisms.

http://www.medra.com/

Stem Cell Approaches for the Treatment of Renal Failure
    http://pharmrev.aspetjournals.org/content/57/3/299.full

Stem cells therapy is cure for almost all diseases. US , britian and even Indians are researching on stem cells therapy but unfortunately Pakistani doctors are busy in making money.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 15:28 #
  2. toamin

Good, now in next 100 years it might become available for general population of the world. I mean due to the cost & high-tech equipment it seems beyond the reach of general masses.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 23:38 #
  3. Iamsowise:

Aik tu hur topic may pehlay Pakistanioun ko galeeyan dainna bund kuro yaar!

Stem cell research is not at that level where it can be offered to general public. It will be at-least 10 years from now that we may see some application of this research. Also for your information, I am the only pakistani Doctor (as far as my information is concerned) at least in Uk who is involved in stem cell research along with a Parallel work group in NY. So not every pakistani is "Making" Money. It's about "Chance" and Opportunity which not everyone gets.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Feb 2010 0:38 #
  4. @iamowesome ,
    thanks for posting such an informative mail ...

as long as Pakistani doctors are concerned .
    i agree with u ,they are busy making money .
    even my own family physician is least intesrsted in anything but medical reps and thier favors ,they gave to him in return of prescribing thier respective company's medicines .

when my Mother was seriously ill and we went to hospital to hospital ,they always ask us to first deposit some handsome cash amount at reception,in order to treat or only check her condition .

its very cruel of them to do it on even a strike day too .

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Feb 2010 6:07 #
  5. Asif

death is inevitable & so does the diseases. New food, new environment new disieases.

But its always good to know that people are searching to reduce the pain in life atleast.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Feb 2010 6:28 #
  6. Salam & Khan

It is not 100 or 10 years plan many clinic in china , India and US are already offering stem cells treatment for patients. cheapest treatment is available in India.For example Urologist Dr Trivedi from Kidney transplant hospital Ahmadabad India, is offering Kidney transplant with stem cells therapy. his method of trnsplant will not stimulate body own repair system but at least stem cells therapy will reduce the chances of kidney rejection.
    http://www.medindia.net/News/view_news_main.asp?x=12396
    http://www.ikdrc-its.org/

But USA govt supported research will be more reliable

Khan sb
    Glad to know at least we got 1 doctor who is working on it.

Meri galiyan dainay ki wajha tum nay post mein mention kardi

'I am the only pakistani Doctor (as far as my information is concerned) who is involved in stem cell research'

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Feb 2010 18:32 #
  7. @ beenai

you are rite, recently emany malik case and many other cases we dont know. doctors are in headlines.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Feb 2010 18:36 #
  8. Anwer Kamal

@ KHAN_Sahib
    I am a father who badly needed this .Please read about Jawad Pasha.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Feb 2010 18:51 #
  9. Anwer Kamal

@ KHAN_Sahib
    Looking for your response.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Feb 2010 19:02 #
  10. Khan sab has gone. he moved to his research lab.

Who is Jawad Pasha.. and wat is the story?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 14:09 #
  11. anwer kamal sahib..
    How can I help you?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 23:37 #
  12. Anwer Kamal

I asked you to read about Jawad Pasha my son

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 0:16 #
  13. Anwer sahib! I am a bit lost here! Where shall I read about your son? Send me a link please.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 1:29 #
  14. i think Anwar Kamal is talking about this tragedy

sA group of doctors inspeted Jawad Pasha on 19th July 2008 at Shafa International Hospital Islamabad Pakistan and told that he is with a diffuse axonal injury and he is a persistent vegetative state patient , We are thankfull to Newaweek,We are looking for some medical sport from United States,Canada, UK or Australia.
    brought him twice to Singapore SGH but only loss because they have no specialty regarding T B I. my son is fully wise smiles and laughs when listen such talks tries to move a little his hand or foot , identify and remember people and voices working hard since than without guidance. He is with good heath till now. Now after a long time a Pakistani doctor at USA is helping and guiding m
    http://www.pakspectator.com/murder-of-ubaid-pasha/

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 13:46 #
  15. shriq

iamsowise,

I wish your son gets healthy and enjoys normal life as soon as possible! May Allah help you!

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 13:50 #
  16. @ shriq

Read my coment again :)

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 13:54 #
  17. WTH

The United States leads the stem cell research and they haven't done arguing it. It is a religious issue related to pro-life and pro-choice of the fetus. The cells have been found in the embryo. If we can learn how the embryo cells mutate into full blown human cells, how they develop defensive/immune mechanism at initial stage, we can pretty much can make any antigen to fight let's say cancer. The Bush admin had stopped the stem cell research and Obama repealed the law a year ago, so still some way to go to see good results. Meanwhile, those mothers who would let the cells taken from their unborn please raise your hands

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Feb 2010 0:23 #
  18. Who said stem cells should be taken from newborn ? usualy Doctors take bone merrow embryonic cells from patients.

Cancer patient recovery with help of stem cells therapy

Later

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Aug 2010 17:09 #
  19. The following should help you.

http://stemcells.nih.gov/info/ethics.asp

Quote from Executive Order signed by Obama.

Section 1. Research on Alternative Sources of Pluripotent Stem Cells. (a) The Secretary of Health and Human Services (Secretary) shall conduct and support research on the isolation, derivation, production, and testing of stem cells that are capable of producing all or almost all of the cell types of the developing body and may result in improved understanding of or treatments for diseases and other adverse health conditions, but are derived without creating a human embryo for research purposes or destroying, dis-carding, or subjecting to harm a human embryo or fetus.

http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/2007/pdf/07-3112.pdf

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Aug 2010 18:00 #
  20. scindian

Dear Brothers and Sisters

I am happy to read this fruitful post by Mr/Mrs. iamsowise
    If any living in karachi must visit
    Panjwani Center for Molecular Medicine and Drug Research
    University of Karachi

Meet Dr. Asmat Salim
    Her area of research is "Biochemistry and Cell Biology, Stem cell Research'
    http://www.iccs.edu/panjwani_faculty.htm
    http://www.bic.org.my/?action=events&do=body39

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Aug 2010 18:26 #
  21. @ Scindia
    Good to hear that we are working on stem cells in Pakistan, but we need to research on all seriouse diseases especialy cancer and organ transplantation like Kidney and liver.
    Are you a doctor?

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 15:54 #
  22. @ barakosama

This thread is not about creating stem cell and producing baby with artificial stem cell, you are right in that case artifcial stem cells might harm fetus.
    This thread is about stem cells therapy. some western doctors are trying to cure patients with her/his own bone merrow stem cells. watch above videos.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 16:17 #
  23. shimatoree

To all who have gone GA GA over the stem cell curing everything from birth defects to paralysis caused by injury-

It is a long way before the effectiveness of stem cells in any specific situations can reach the stage where treatment modalities can be offered as a genuine treatment.

Please be very careful of doctors who offer the label of stem cell attached to treatment modalities. There is a lot of Snake Oil being sold with this tag of Stem Cell therapy.

When something appears to be too good to be true- It is.

No one has figured out how to have stem cell repair a tendon for example. The claims that are being made in various circles about treating patients with cardiomyopathy are just that- Claims.

I know the psychological and emotional situations that parents face when their loved one is afflicted with diseases which do not have a treatment available- but that is where one must be very careful of people in medicine some of whom are less than ethical in their undertakings.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 16:42 #
  24. "When something appears to be too good to be true -- It is...The claims that are being made in various circles about treating patients with cardiomyopathy are just that- Claims."

Indeed!

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 17:38 #
  25. @ Shimatoree
    'There is a lot of Snake Oil being sold with this tag of Stem Cell therapy.'

Higly qualified Pakistani doctors are completely unaware stem cells therapy. Who is selling snake oil with stem cells tag in Pakistan?

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 16:29 #
  26. shimatoree

I would disagree that highly qualified doctors in Pakistan are unaware. What might be more accurate is that they are aware but are not using or are unwilling to use this super- experimental approach to medicine.

In the US, in India, in a lot of other countries - scenarios are being offered using stem cell use where no scientific evidence exists that it has any benefits.

What you might or might not be aware of is how the system of experimental medicine works.
    Usually when a new medicine is put forth as treatment for an ailment- first it is tried in developing countries where the population does not have access to good health care and where no controls are in place- a sort of human guinea pigs and after the efficacy or lack thereof is established- only then it is put forth for use in the real world-The West.

Stem cells are being paraded around as a panacea for everything. My advice would be - be very careful. That is all.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 17:24 #
  27. Anwer Kamal

Khan Sahib and other learned participants
    Is there any success in the field of brain injury for the purpose of regaining the motor function. ( After recovery of consciousness)

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 19:49 #
  28. shimatoree

Anwer Kamal

The simple answer is NO.

And I might add- it is unlikely in the future also.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 20:05 #
  29. "And I might add- it is unlikely in the future also."

Too much of pessimism!

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 23:02 #
  30. shimatoree

It is not pessimism. It is facing the facts. What you do not know is that Neurons are the ultimate functional ( differentiated cells) like muscle cell .

You can't just wish for something to be and Wallah- here it is.

This whole idea of stem cell treatment for any thing and everything is false.
    They might work in situations where toti potent celluar tissue is in place like the bone marrow but in differentiated tissue like tendons, muscle and nerve cell- I do not think so.

Plus even if( big IF) you can have a neurone made from a stem cell- how long do you think it will take to grow it's axon( one meter) ?

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 1:16 #
  31. Shimatoree
    @ This whole idea of stem cell treatment for any thing and everything is false.

What do you think about this claim?

Diabetics cured in stem-cell treatment advance

The results show that insulin-dependent diabetics can be freed from reliance on needles by an injection of their own stem cells. The therapy could signal a revolution in the treatment of the condition, which affects more than 300,000 Britons.
    In a breakthrough trial, 15 young patients with newly diagnosed type 1 diabetes were given drugs to suppress their immune systems followed by transfusions of stem cells drawn from their own blood.
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/health/article1637528.ece

Stem cells are immature, unprogrammed cells that have the ability to grow into different kinds of tissue and can be sourced from people of all ages.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 18:54 #
  32. shimatoree

iamsowise-

it is strange that you would quote from an english newspaper ant from a scientific medical journal about a subject that I know a little bit about since I have quite a few members of my family who have diabetes mellitus type-1-( both dead and alive).

This experimental and conjecture. Please note that the report you quote the people were given immunosupressive drugs.

I have been in practice of medicine for the last 45 years. Perhaps I do know a bit.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 20:47 #
  33. @it is strange that you would quote from an english newspaper ant from a scientific medical journal

Here you go
    "The journal of American medical association"
    C-Peptide Levels and Insulin Independence Following Autologous Nonmyeloablative Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation in Newly Diagnosed Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
    JAMA, April 15, 2009; 301: 1573 - 1579
    http://jama.ama-assn.org/cgi/content/abstract/301/15/1573?maxtoshow=&hits=10&RESULTFORMAT=&fulltext=Diabetics+cured+in+stem-cell+treatment+&searchid=1&FIRSTINDEX=0&resourcetype=HWCIT

Snake Oil is working isn't it?

@This experimental and conjecture. Please note that the report you quote the people were given immunosupressive drugs.

What is your point over drug for suprresing immune system. enlighten me plz.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 19:12 #
  34. shimatoree

A TRIAl in selected patients for 28 months follow up hardly qualifies as a miracle treatment.

Like I said , please try to accept that writing research papers is one thing but for it to become an established treatment o diabetes is another.
    Potential perhaps but all my friends who are Endocrinologists who treat diabetes as their profession are at this time very sceptical.

Thank you.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 19:26 #
  35. @ Anwar Kamal

"Gene and stem cell therapies hold promise for the treatment of a wide variety of inherited and acquired human diseases."
    http://jama.ama-assn.org/cgi/content/full/285/5/545?maxtoshow=&hits=10&RESULTFORMAT=&fulltext=kidney+repair+stem+cells&searchid=1&FIRSTINDEX=0&resourcetype=HWCIT

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 19:34 #
  36. shimatoree

The immune system suppressive drugs are normally used in patients with cancer or patients with organ transplants. The purpose in organ transplants is to impair the immune system which is responsible for rejection of a " foreign" transplant.
    In cancer patients- these drugs affect the quickly multiplying cells.

The probable purpose in the study that you quoted is to try to prevent the rejection of the stem cells.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 20:20 #
  37. Anwer Kamal

http://www.google.com.pk/url?sa=t&source=web&ct=res&cd=4&ved=0CBAQFjAD&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dawn.com%2Fwps%2Fwcm%2Fconnect%2Fdawn-content-library%2Fdawn%2Fthe-newspaper%2Fnational%2Fthree-months-after-surgery-woman-still-in-coma-429&rct=j&q=Multan+coma+girl+&ei=cpXDS7SgDIa7rAeijIXfDw&usg=AFQjCNHPwNJ_p2vAp9mnXMWO3rBzrU616w

Some 60 Lakh Rs were spent for her treatment from national exchequer on this lady by instigation of our media.
    She was sent to China and now she is back but nothing said about her recovery.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 22:02 #
  38. @ shimatoree
    "accept that writing research papers is one thing but for it to become an established treatment o diabetes is another."

Time left Single digit years

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Aug 2010 17:31 #
  39. @ Anwar Kamal

"On Aug 22, she was admitted to the hospital for delivery. On Aug 23 at 5am, the doctor gave a test doze of Epidural, a painkiller injection, to his daughter with the help of anesthesiologist Dr Athar. Both doctors declared Fakhira fit for subsequent treatment after seeing no reaction of the injection.

Mr Ismail says Dr Athar left the patient before the start of delivery process and the woman doctor on her own administered a 20cc doze of the injection.

He said the overdose of Epidural affected the blood pressure of the patient but the doctor did not take any notice of the condition of the patient."

Issi BaaT Ka Tu Rona Hay , Investors are keep building luxury "Butcher houses"(hospitals) and they hire incompetent doctors and nurses. Koee Pochnay Wala Nahi.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Aug 2010 16:21 #
  40. shimatoree

iamsowise

If a video from Youtube is your reasoning- then all I can say is keep taking snake oil sold by

michael J Fox and Opra Winfrey. Yhey of course get paid for saying that.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Aug 2010 17:56 #
  41. Read this Shimatoree
    http://www.medindia.net/News/view_news_main.asp?x=12396

Here is the hospital's website and phone numbers of Urologist Dr Trivedi
    Talk to him and let us know if he is lying.
    http://www.gujhealth.gov.in/medi_edu/kidney_disease.htm
    Phone: +91 79 226 85 600 – 601 – 602 – 604 – 605
    Fa: +91 79 226 85 454

"Researchers across the world have been grappling with the problem of rejection of the kidney transplanted in the recipient. To overcome this situation, patients are given strong immunosuppressants that leave them vulnerable to infections as they lower immunity."

Dr Trivedi claims, organ recipient wouldn't need immunesuprresive drugs if organ transplanted with stem cells treatment.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Aug 2010 18:17 #
  42. Month old news

Geron Initiates Clinical Trial of Human Embryonic Stem Cell-Based Therapy

First Patient Treated at Shepherd Center in Atlanta

MENLO PARK, Calif., October 11, 2010 - Geron Corporation (Nasdaq: GERN) today announced the enrollment of the first patient in the company's clinical trial of human embryonic stem cell (hESC)-derived oligodendrocyte progenitor cells, GRNOPC1. The primary objective of this Phase I study is to assess the safety and tolerability of GRNOPC1 in patients with complete American Spinal Injury Association (ASIA) Impairment Scale grade A thoracic spinal cord injuries. Participants in the study must be newly injured and receive GRNOPC1 within 14 days of the injury.
    http://www.geron.com/media/pressview.aspx?id=1235

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Nov 2010 7:10 #
  43. Geron is developing first-in-class biopharmaceuticals for the treatment of cancer and chronic degenerative diseases, including spinal cord injury, heart failure and diabetes. The company is advancing an anti- cancer drug and a cancer vaccine that target the enzyme telomerase through multiple clinical trials in different cancers.
    http://www.geron.com/products/

Telomerase Cancer Vaccine - GRNVAC1 and GRNVAC2
    GRNVAC1 is an autologous product consisting of mature dendritic cells (the body's most powerful antigen-presenting cells) pulsed with RNA for the protein component of human telomerase (hTERT) and a portion of a lysosomal targeting signal (LAMP). GRNVAC1 is injected into the patient's skin; from there the dendritic cells travel to the lymph nodes and instruct cytotoxic T-cells to kill tumor cells that express telomerase on their surface.
    http://www.geron.com/products/productinformation/cancervaccine.aspx

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Dec 2010 3:42 #
  44. Telomerase Cancer Vaccine (GRNVAC1)

We conducted a Phase 2 clinical trial of GRNVAC1 in patients with:

· Acute myelogenous leukemia (AML)

This trial is now completed.

For further information on the GRNVAC1 cinical trial, including the participating clinical trial sites, visit the U.S. National Library of Medicine website at http://www.clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT00510133

http://www.geron.com/patients/clinicaltrials/GRNVAC1.aspx

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Dec 2010 12:53 #
  45. asif65

@Anwer Kamal

There are alternative methods to help children’s with brain injury (http://www.hypertc.com/)

Stem cell is also an alternative methods but still not very successful for brain injured patients.

School medicine rejects to help the children with brain injury

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Dec 2010 13:33 #
  46. @Anwer Kamal Sahib...

I hope and pray that your Son gets recovered soon but please be careful about the stem cell therapies offered on these websites.
    In Medicine, any new therapy which needs to be considered as "Gold Standard" has to prove itself by going through some tests and provide with some kind of evidence. Normally in medicine the level of evidence is divided in the Levels as below:

Level of Evidence A: Data derived from MULTIPLE RANDOMIZED CONTROL TRIALS (RCT) OR Meta-Analysis (Study of few trials with a conclusion in the end)

Level of Evidence B: Data derived from SINGLE RCT or Large Non Randomized Studies.

Level of Evidence C: Censuses of opinion of the experts and / or small studies, Retrospective studies, Registries

and then the above level of evidence has to be recommended according to the the following Classes of Recommendations. (I have only included 2 class of recommendation as I won't trust any thing lower then that for my patients generally)

Class of Recommendations:

Class I

Evidence or General agreement about usefulness , effectiveness of a Treatment or Procedure.

Class II:

Conflicting Evidence / Divergence of opinion about the usefulness. effectiveness of a treatment or procedure.

This class has been divided into 2 sub categories.

IIa. Weight of evidence / opinion is in favor of usefulness / efficacy
    IIb. Weight of evidence / opinion is AGAINST of it's usefulness / efficacy.

Now, you can review/weigh any one who is offering any treatment with stem cell therapy. Ask them if they have conducted any trials or have published their results in scientific / medical journals. Medical Journals usually publish any study even if they are not RCT so be careful before jumping to any conclusion. I have not found any evidence so far that Gene/ stem cell therapy has any established role in brain cell injury. I found this website which is not medical but guess an honest website whose has been reporting facts rather then fiction as many of these hospitals who are clearly not stating the facts.

http://sctmonitor.blogspot.com/

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Dec 2010 18:21 #
  47. @Anwer Kamal Sahib...

I hope and pray that your Son gets recovered soon but please be careful about the stem cell therapies offered on these websites.
    In Medicine, any new therapy which needs to be considered as "Gold Standard" has to prove itself by going through some tests and provide with some kind of evidence. Normally in medicine the level of evidence is divided in the Levels as below:

Level of Evidence A: Data derived from MULTIPLE RANDOMIZED CONTROL TRIALS (RCT) OR Meta-Analysis (Study of few trials with a conclusion in the end)

Level of Evidence B: Data derived from SINGLE RCT or Large Non Randomized Studies.

Level of Evidence C: Censuses of opinion of the experts and / or small studies, Retrospective studies, Registries

and then the above level of evidence has to be recommended according to the the following Classes of Recommendations. (I have only included 2 class of recommendation as I won't trust any thing lower then that for my patients generally)

Class of Recommendations:

Class I

Evidence or General agreement about usefulness , effectiveness of a Treatment or Procedure.

Class II:

Conflicting Evidence / Divergence of opinion about the usefulness. effectiveness of a treatment or procedure.

This class has been divided into 2 sub categories.

IIa. Weight of evidence / opinion is in favor of usefulness / efficacy
    IIb. Weight of evidence / opinion is AGAINST of it's usefulness / efficacy.

Now, you can review/weigh any one who is offering any treatment with stem cell therapy. Ask them if they have conducted any trials or have published their results in scientific / medical journals. Medical Journals usually publish any study even if they are not RCT so be careful before jumping to any conclusion. I have not found any evidence so far that Gene/ stem cell therapy has any established role in brain cell injury. I found this website which is not medical but guess an honest website whose has been reporting facts rather then fiction as many of these hospitals who are clearly not stating the facts.

http://sctmonitor.blogspot.com/

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Dec 2010 18:23 #
  48. Anwer Kamal

Khan Sahib.
    Thank You for your interest.It is seventh year after accident.
    He is little bit recovered and show consciousness like a normal person but still without any motor function.It is a very sad story but this forum is not a place to publish that.
    I am reading about stem cell since long but I prefer your previous advise.
    Thanks again,God bless you.
    Thank you asif65
    My son is going to be 29 soon.
    Thank you for caring.

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Dec 2010 21:32 #
  49. Posted 1 year ago on 09 Apr 2011 11:21 #
  50. Posted 1 year ago on 09 Apr 2011 11:25 #