Role of Nisar Ali Khan in PMLN

(20 posts)
  1. Ch. Nisar Ali Khan is a prominent leader of PMLN and probably the most powerful after Shareef brothers.

He is rarely seen on talk shows but recently he has had exclusive interviews with Hamid Mir in "Capital Talk" and Nadeem Malik in "Islamabad Tonight".

Here is his today's appearance with Nadeem Malik:
    http://pkpolitics.com/2011/03/17/islamabad-tonight-17-march-2011/

It seems PMLN is about to kick into high gear for next elections.

Nadeem Malik talked to him on quite a few issues but there was no reference to release of Raymod Davis. I wonder why?

I find Nisar Ali Khan quite astute, well versed on all national issues and confident in his comments. No wonder his electorate has repeatedly reposed their confidence in him for the last 25 years.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 0:45 #
  2. Raymond tere janisaar
    Kayani Pasha aur Ch Nisar

Let's see if this "astute" taupe clad clown can get elected this time!!!

Gujjar, you need to wake up, PMLN is the nexus of status quo in Pakistan!!!

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 0:54 #
  3. HAQKIAWAZ

@Gujjar Talwar
    There is going to be a tough competition in next election between PML(N) which is the second largest party in present parliament and have won elections twice in the past and Pti who have won only one seat sine 1996. And in last year's Na 55 bye election Pti candidate gave a tough fight by securing 3105 votes as compare to Nawaz league candidate Shakil Awan's 63888 votes.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 1:17 #
  4. @NAWAZKIAWAZ

2013 tek **** Zinda rahay ga, ab tou yeh bhi sure nahi hai?

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 1:26 #
  5. Nisar Ali Khan does not have any serious challenger in his constituency but elections do result in surprizes. I don't find much to worry about him.

PPP was the symbol of revolution but it has mostly been disappointment since the unfortunate elimination of Z. A. Bhutto.

PMLN has always been blamed for status quo. It is not perfect but its past performance under Nawaz Shareef has been far better than other parties. I think they can still deliver better results compared to any of their competition.

Until a viable alternative leadership emerges, I am staying put.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 1:34 #
  6. Anwer Kamal

Do you know how he won last two elections.
    Ask some one living there.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 1:37 #
  7. Both of the last two elections were under Gen. Musharraf's watchful watch. I will be surprised if he was to move the underworld in Nisar's favor.

If you have anything startling other than Sh. Rashid's not-so-disarming jabs, why don't you share with us.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 1:48 #
  8. Gujjar,

Suppose if Raymond would've killed your brother and your sister in law would commits suicide as a result of that. Than PMLN and Nawaz Sharif help acquit Raymond, would you still "stay put"??

You choose to stand with Nawaz Sharif despite wikileaks that showed he is just an American pony?

You still stand with Nawaz Sharif knowing that he has a huge investment abroad?

You still stand with him despite knowing that he is an illegitimate creation of intelligence agencies?

Also, explain why anyone should respect you?

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 1:58 #
  9. HAQKIAWAZ

Raymond murdered two Pakistanis and he was immediately arrested by Punjab govt although there was enormous pressure from Federal as well as America to release RD based on diplomatic immunity which was turned down by NS & SS. It was NS who was the first politician who took firm stand that mater is in court and let the court decide it. Now court has decided this case on diyat law which is unfortunate as families of both victims preferred money over the blood of their loved ones. Still opportunist politicians want to take personal gains by blame games and inciting the sentiments of innocent people which is not a principled politics.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 2:17 #
  10. @NawazkiAwaz

Save yourself from promoting this tried tested and failed BS of Punjab government doing its best to convict Raymond. In fact Punjab government tried to play politics on this issue but were badly exposed!!!

"Shahbaz Sharif was active and used his old friends in the city to convince the families after some important personalities from Saudi Arabia asked Shahbaz Sharif to get Raymond released at the earliest"

"Credible sources told The News that in the second week of February, Shahbaz Sharif received instructions from some of his foreign friends and he engaged some influential personalities of Lahore to convince the families of the deceased Faizan and Faheem to accept the money. The same influential friends of Shahbaz Sharif, according to these sources, also persuaded the leadership of PML-Q and JUI-F not to create any problems in the resolution of the issue"

Source

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 2:29 #
  11. Dell,

You are free to your views and I am not exactly a PMLN spokesperson. But here are some comments:

Raymond case is an unfortunate saga. Given Pakistani limitations, its resolution is not all that bad--the victims families got reasonale compensation. We will have to cure Pakistani ills before we are able to conquer America.

I will give you that PMLN was part of the game but you must admit so was Imran Khan and everyone else who matters.

Any politician vying for power has to deal with America and the rest of the world. Nawaz Sharif has tried to stand up to international pressure as far as he could.

Sharifs have made their fortunes mostly through hardwork and Musharraf drove them abroad. I don't see anything wrong with his business abroad without

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 2:42 #
  12. My previous post was prematurely sent with a miss in keystroke:

Here is a continuation:

I don't see anything wrong with his business abroad without skimming Pakistani coffers. If he does something fishy, sooner or later, he will get caught.

Nawaz Sharif did step into politics under the shadows of Generals but he was his own man in remarkably short time.
    He has stood up to so called establishment and has paid heavy price for the last decade.

I am amazed that Pakisatni electorate stood with him after his absence from the scene for nine years. Compare that to the sixties when almost an entire generation of pre-Ayub era politicians was wiped out in elections in 1970.

Don't worry about my respect, just watch yours. As they say, your respect is in your own hands!

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 2:58 #
  13. HAQKIAWAZ

@Imrankadell

According to your logic, Families of victims were like small babies who were forced by SS. And their were so naive that SS forced them to sign the affidavit and then present in front of judge. I think your credible source is IK.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 3:06 #
  14. HAQKIAWAZ

@Dell,

I think NS must be very honest, fair politician and all his wealth must be in Pakistan till 2008 because till that time your leader Imran was in alliance with the same NS in APDM. And when NS did not boycott 2008 election on Imran’s request, Imran started to blame that NS is corrupt, dishonest and his wealth is out of the country. What a flip flop leader Imran is.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 3:33 #
  15. @HAQKIAWAZ
    Yani ZIAULHAQKIAWAZ vs. @Imrankadell ?! :-P

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 4:34 #
  16. @Gujjar
    "Nawaz Sharif did step into politics under the shadows of Generals but he was his own man.."

The jokes section is here: http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/forum/fun-038-humor

"Both of the last two elections were under Gen. Musharraf's watchful watch. I will be surprised if he was to move the underworld in Nisar's favor"

Isn't Ch Nisar the brother of one of Mushy's General buddies and the pimp between Military/PML-N late night randevous? Wasn't Ch. Nisar not left alone even when mushy went after Nawaz in 1999? Is he not the brains behind the Ganjus? None of this can be denied ;-)

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 4:40 #
  17. Nisar Ali Khan's role is quite simple.
    PMLN is playing 'good cow' 'bad cow'.

Good Cows are Nawaz, Shahbaz and Jhagra etc Bad Cows are Nisar, Sana ullah and Ahsan Iqbal.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 4:44 #
  18. Nisar's brother, a Retd. Lt. Gen., was Defence Secretary under NS but he was promptly booted when Musharraf took over. Never heard of him ever since.

Nisar remained in opposition in Musharraf period but I don't recall if he was incarcerated or otherwise dragged in courts. I don't know if his military connections helped. He has had ministerial portfolios in both NS tenures. Never heard of any case against him. I would say he plays by the rules and stays clear of controversial stuff.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 4:57 #
  19. Anonymous

Ch. Nisar as Sheikh Rasheed rightly puts is N leaguesself procliamed establishment expert. He does have connections, we all remember he was the only person after Mush's military coup who was not even house arrested.

There was a time when he was very close to IK and N's leadership served him a showcause notice asking why he ws so much around IK which in turn was giving N's workers an impression that he was part of PTI.

As for Punjab Hakumat demanding a clean chit, NO Pakistani is ready to give that. Who paid the millions of dollars to the families? Saudi's? But the Saudis dont do anything with PPP, there point of contact in Pakistan is the bald baradraan.

Secondly, the case was not about diyat only. The family got a premature insaf where the charges werent even spelled before the accused took off. The puunishment still remained.

He was working against the interests of Pakistan. He who? Raymond Davis- The CIA operative in Pakistan!

How did it feel to us when Kashmir Singh was walked across the Wagah? I for one was fuming and I wasnt surprised when Wagah border received the dead body of one of our agents caught their only days after.

Would we also pardon harbjeet singh- the bharti spy responsible for bombings and killings, if the bharti govt pays diyyat?

Get a life people!

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 5:39 #
  20. Even Nawaz sharif and Noon league know this that they can never win any election without support of army and agencies. Nawaz Sharif's last both governments were installed by agencies through fraud elections.
    That is why sharif brother are trying hard to get forgiveness from military establishment before next election. Now they even offering Mesaaq-i-Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2011 6:27 #