PKPolitics Discuss » Future of Pakistan

Roti, Kapra, Makan!

(114 posts)
  1. Posted 4 years ago on 05 Jan 2008 14:01 #
  2. secular_pakistan

Roti kapra makan reflected the revolutionary socialist policies of ZA Bhutto and his Pakistan People's Party.

This is the same socialist ideology that has been tried, tested and failed the world over. Not one country in the world has achieved long term and sustainable wealth and prosperity through socialist policies. The free market economy is the way to go, it has been proven to work all over the world. It is the only proven way of reducing poverty, increasing wealth and prosperity of populations, of countries, and, of the world as a whole. All wealthy and fast developing economies in the world are based on free market economic policies.

Pakistan, which had a relatively better off population financially compared to India, pretty much had its economy totally ruined during the era of ZA Bhutto. India, whose firm socialist foundation was laid by Jawarlal Nehru, was one of the poorest countries in the world. However, after the fall of the USSR, the Indian govt. took a turnaround and started implementing economic reforms and liberalising its markets. Since then, India has been one of the fastest growing economies of the world.

Fortunately for Pakistan, Pakistan's biggest party, the PPP has turned away from its socialist economic policies and changed its manifesto under Benazir Bhutto, after the death of ZA Bhutto, however, their 40 year old slogan of Roti Kapra aur Makan, which has failed to deliver, is yet to change.

Posted 4 years ago on 05 Jan 2008 14:23 #
  3. interesting fact
    Roti ,kapra aur Makaan is the slogan has been followed by PPP.
    who has came in power thrice.
    one Bhutto period and two BB periods .
    they never managed to deliver it .
    not for the whole pakistan ...but not even for the devoted voters of Larkana and Liyari also.

larkana and liyari ppl are still crying for thier basic needs although they have voted PPP a number of times.

Posted 4 years ago on 07 Jan 2008 8:39 #
  4. @ my dear beena,
    Z.A. Bhutto was killed, almost 30 years before.
    The situation was not so bad in 1979.
    Why no improvemnt was planned within the Eleven Years of Zia-ul-Haq, another Eleven years of Ghulam Ishaq, NS, BB, Jamali, Laghari, and Eight years of Pervez Musharaf?
    The slogan of Roti Kapra Makan by PPP was a guidance to fix the preferences by the future Governments.
    Please. don't ask, why the Qauid-i-Azam didn't draft the Constitution for Pakistan along with the Two Nation Theory?
    Why Ayub Khan didn't store enough stock of wheat for the next 200 years when he asked for Family Planning?

Posted 4 years ago on 07 Jan 2008 11:54 #
  5. You cannot justify someone with the actions of others.

Posted 4 years ago on 07 Jan 2008 12:05 #
  6. Do you want to say that only the PPP should have provided with the Roti Kapra Makan?
    What was the function of other Governements? Was Roti Kapra Makan, HARAM for them?
    They came only to eat HALWA?

Posted 4 years ago on 07 Jan 2008 12:13 #
  7. I only want to say WHY PPP has not provided this?
    If others are not providing, is it a justification for PPP???
    If i am a devoted PPP voter, I have high hopes when i vote for PPP that they will provide me with something others have not provided, but what i get?????????? because others not sincere why i should be?????? so again i would say

You cannot justify someone with the actions of others.

Posted 4 years ago on 07 Jan 2008 12:45 #
  8. Posted 4 years ago on 07 Jan 2008 13:28 #
  9. Javed Shiekh Sahib,
    in urdu there is a saying ...u must have heard...
    aik burai dosri burai ka jawaz nahin ban sakti
    no2.we cant except a military ruler ;like Zia,Yahya or Ayub or musharraf to provide us anything good.
    but we can fairly expect from civilian and political Govts like BB and NS.
    no3.specially with BB,coz she gave the slogan of Roti,Kapra ,Makaan. NS never gives any slogan to begin with.
    so naturally ,we expect more from the side where the slogan comes from.
    no4.NS atleast has made Lahore ,his constituency ....
    if u compare it from BB constituency.
    it is said
    old lahore was built by shahjahan....
    new lahore is built by Nawaz Sharif....
    i am not a punjabi or a Lahori...
    but i felt good when i visit lahore after a long time and found it all green with parks .
    no4.on contrary i never visit larkana but as long as i have seen the footage ,BB funerals footage ...i ve seen the Abai Gayon of BB in a poor condition....
    PPP and Bhutto family ,prime minister thrice ,never done any good to the poor ppl of larkana and ratto dero.poor ppl!
    they still vote PPP ....
    they have tooooo...
    coz they are the hari ,mazarah of Butto....
    Roti ,kapra ,Makaan mily na milay...
    they know its just a slogan...
    i am a creative in an ad agency ...
    i know slogan sells ....
    but it never meant to be true all the time!

Posted 4 years ago on 08 Jan 2008 6:16 #
  10. Adonis

ZA Bhutto remained the Chief Martial Law Administrator and President from 20 December 1971 to 14 August 1973 and Prime Minster from 14 August 1973 to 05 July 1977.

He had won the elections in 1970 under the slogan of Roti, Kapra or Makan. Therefore it is a very valid question to ask what he did to achieve this aim during his tenure. Facts and figures prove a point much better than mere rhetoric.

Posted 4 years ago on 08 Jan 2008 11:00 #
  11. Only faces are different the chracter is the same. ZA Bhutto, Benazir, Zia, NS, Mush.......all are same, corrpurt and dirty

Posted 4 years ago on 08 Jan 2008 12:00 #
  12. true ...
    agree with Lets Do it....

Posted 4 years ago on 08 Jan 2008 12:53 #
  13. Do you want to prove that Pakistan, its leaders, Its Institutions its people, education, economy, civil and military administration, everything failed. Nothing was achieved by this 'nation', what could be appreciated?
    Then why don't you accept what Maulana Abul-Kalam Azad said:
    “India is a real State, Pakistan, an Experiment".
    Your frustration and criticism on every leader and ruler, is a logical proof that Pakistan is a 'Failed State?
    Leaders and People could not make Pakistan 'Great'.
    There are countries in Africa, Asia and Latin America, worse than Pakistan.
    Why Pakistan could never be an Ideal Welfare State?
    Lack of Population Planning , Limited resources, and negative attitude of the ‘nation’.
    Unfortunately, majority of the 'Pakistani nation' due to genetic prejudices, is emotionally charged and very rarely apply reason to recognize the solution for a problem .
    I cannot buy this flat refusal, that Z.A. Bhutto, did nothing for this country. This is not fair analyses.
    I recognize and can prove that only Ayub Khan (though I don't like Martial Law) and Z.A Bhutto were the two leaders who did. 'Something' positive for this country.

Posted 4 years ago on 08 Jan 2008 13:48 #
  14. Javed Shiekh Sahib
    what about marhuma BB?
    do u include her in the bracket?

Posted 4 years ago on 08 Jan 2008 13:59 #
  15. @ Beena,
    My assessment: that this time BB was well prepared and mature enough to play a very important role for Pakistan.
    She was the most educated, competent and versatile to represent Pakistan at the International Forums, to face the people like Bush, Hillary Clinton, or Obama, and other World leaders.
    I am convinced; there is something wrong or bad luck with Pakistan Nation.
    Other Nations protect, save and keep, when they find talent, where we kill.
    Why she was killed? You will come to know just within 2 to 3 years, Inshallah.
    (I understand there are reasons when you see BB just as I see Zia-ul-Haq. Nothing objectionable.)

Posted 4 years ago on 08 Jan 2008 14:33 #
  16. its not my saying but i love this:
    Its not wise to test already tested people........

Posted 4 years ago on 08 Jan 2008 15:39 #
  17. Very good.
    But keep on testing Dictaotrs again, again, and again for an unlimited period.
    Don't you feel, 4, 5, 8 or 10 years are enough for a ruler to show the worth?
    'Islamic' system and champions have been tested so many times.
    What about that?

Posted 4 years ago on 08 Jan 2008 16:19 #
  18. :):):)
    hahaha
    [Don't you feel, 4, 5, 8 or 10 years are enough for a ruler to show the worth?]

atleast some difference should reflect? 19 say 20....
    but wait a min. The difference is there
    Ohhhhh...what is that
    from 20 to 17.

By the way when was Islamic system tested in pakistan? It was your generation who did not let this happen? :)

Posted 4 years ago on 08 Jan 2008 16:36 #
  19. hasheesh

I don't question the motives and ambitions of the bhuttos or NS but the truth is they failed to deliver what they promised because they did not know how to do it. Ik is the only one who discusses the real issues of pakistan and has plans on solving the problems. A bb or ns re election would just have been a repeat of the 90s.

Posted 4 years ago on 08 Jan 2008 17:07 #
  20. @ LetsDoIt
    Your question!
    "By the way when was Islamic system tested in Pakistan?"
    What Amir-ul-Moomneen Hazarat Zia-ul-Haq was doing for Eleven years? His Rule was declared as pure Islamic Revolution.
    He had the 100% support of all the 'authentic' 'Islamic' champions.
    Not only in Pakistan, Islamic Way of Politics was tried in so many other countries and didn't work.
    In India PM could stay in power for 5, 10, 15 years. In the US President could stay for 4 or 8 years. (Only for two terms.)
    (Please keep on asking, if somehting is not clear.)
    @ hasheesh,
    Yes Imran Khan could be a very good choice. How we can put him into power? A big question.

Posted 4 years ago on 08 Jan 2008 17:48 #
  21. @JS
    Once again i want to laugh..lolz....Zia and Islamic...its rediculous. For your generation it was true because they never tried to understand what an islamic system is. Lemme explain you some of the points of Zias constitution.
    The first point is that No law will be passed which will be against Islamic Shari'a.
    After few pages it is written that THE MIGHTY PRESIDENT OF PAKISTAN COULD EVEN FORGIVE ACCUSED KILLER....totally against Islam and it was even challeged in court for your kind information.
    The shari'a courts were made to overcome the activities of JIYALAS.

I can tell you many such points if you want to know.

and i am still standing on my feets saying that i am not in the favour of testing the tested ones.
    Zias islam is tested and i am not satisfied i dont want to test such an islamic system again, same is true for PPP and NS

Posted 4 years ago on 09 Jan 2008 9:19 #
  22. @ LetsDoIt
    1. What kind of Islam, will satisfy you?
    2. What is Islam for you could be Kufar for others?
    3. Show us the True Islamic System on a DVD, if available?
    4. Is there any State on the Globe, with Islamic System of Government?
    5. If Yes, Where and Which one? Name it.
    6. If not, Why?
    7. A Maulvi Sahib told me that the appearance and emergence of Hazrat Imam Mahdi is very close.
    I am sure if Hazrat Imam Mahdi lands in Pakistan, people would refuse to recognize and either, he will be killed or put in the Jail or in a mental Hospital.

Posted 4 years ago on 09 Jan 2008 12:42 #
  23. Javed Shiekh Sahib,
    u r right to some extent i agree with u ,as Bb was the only leader can represent pakistan well on international level.
    but she was taking advantage and mileage out of it ...dont u think?
    she was all for US to attack on frontior.
    she was all to hand over AQ Khan to IAEA.
    i think that was her major problem...\
    she wants to please west more then her own country men.
    obviously u wont agree with me ...
    but dear sir
    i feel it that way!
    no2.
    i am 100 % sure mush sahib is behind her murder.
    i am 200% sure he has done it with the approval adn green signal of US ....

no3.clearification
    i am not fond of ZIA ...i actually hate him.

Posted 4 years ago on 09 Jan 2008 14:58 #
  24. wrong post at wrong thread.
    Topic of discussion was leaders and their slogans not systems. I have already defined the Islamic system in my point of view.
    http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/islamkhilafah-vs-secularimdemocracy/page/3?replies=90

I always say, i am open come and convince me. If something is islam in my opinion, you will have to prove it Kufar according to Quran and Hadith. I stopped believing in MOULVIES a long ago. If someone is waiting for Imam mehdi its his choice for me i dont even believe in that.

Anyway coming towards the topic, i agree with hasheesh that Imran Khan is the best choice available.

Posted 4 years ago on 09 Jan 2008 15:07 #
  25. secular_pakistan

why is my post not showing properly?

I will repost it:

Roti kapra makan reflected the revolutionary socialist policies of ZA Bhutto and his Pakistan People's Party.

This is the same socialist ideology that has been tried, tested and failed the world over. Not one country in the world has achieved long term and sustainable wealth and prosperity through socialist policies. The free market economy is the way to go, it has been proven to work all over the world. It is the only proven way of reducing poverty, increasing wealth and prosperity of populations, of countries, and, of the world as a whole. All wealthy and fast developing economies in the world are based on free market economic policies.

Pakistan, which had a relatively better off population financially compared to India, pretty much had its economy totally ruined during the era of ZA Bhutto. India, whose firm socialist foundation was laid by Jawarlal Nehru, was one of the poorest countries in the world. However, after the fall of the USSR, the Indian govt. took a turnaround and started implementing economic reforms and liberalising its markets. Since then, India has been one of the fastest growing economies of the world.

Fortunately for Pakistan, Pakistan's biggest party, the PPP has turned away from its socialist economic policies and changed its manifesto under Benazir Bhutto, after the death of ZA Bhutto, however, their 40 year old slogan of Roti Kapra aur Makan, which has failed to deliver, is yet to change. Besides, in todays globalised world driven by increasing wealth and prosperity, the slogan should be expanded to include things such education, health-care, consumer goods, financial services, entertainment, travel and tourism...

Posted 4 years ago on 09 Jan 2008 16:07 #
  26. @ beena,
    I am really surprised at your posting which is full of contradictions.
    1. If BB was to serve the purpose of the US, why the US got her killed?
    2. If BB and Musharraf had common objectives, why he turned against and got her killed?
    3. Musharraf could have felt strong with the help of PPP and BB to achieve the required results in case PPP could win the Elections.
    4. Musharraf has also allowed the US Military force to be used in Pakistan and for your information, 1000 Marines has already landed in Pakistan.
    5. Musharraf has also accepted the US demands about A.Q. Khan.
    8. The main supporter and more Loyal than 'BB" to Musharraf on the execution of his pro-American agenda, is PML (Q). Why no one from the PML (Q) has ever been attacked or killed?
    Why only BB was picked to be eliminated, where she was not yet in power or even a member of the parliament, sparing all Chaudhris, Sheikhs, MQM’s, Maulvis and other Lotas who boasted to keep Musharaf in Uniform for ever?
    Who was steering the American Policy, you don’t like, PPP or King’s Party?
    Sab ko nazar andaz kar ke aap ki sooi BB par atak gai!
    Please revise, reconsider and re-attach all the events in a logical sequence keeping in mind the role of ISI and the Establishment and you will reach the truth.
    @ secular_pakista
    Roti, Kapra, Makan is not the exclusive slogan from the Socialist.
    It is the need of the 6 Billions human beings living on the globe in Capitalist, Islamic, Secular, Communist, Developed or Developing States.

Posted 4 years ago on 09 Jan 2008 17:03 #
  27. secular_pakistan

4. Musharraf has not allowed US troops into Pakistan, whereas, BB said she could do that, before she even became PM.

5. BB said she could let IAEA interrogate AQ Khan. What this means is you could have Indian, American, Israeli spies interrogating him, finding out about our program, exposing it, hurting Pakistan. Musharraf did nothing on the same scale. AQ Khan is still within Pakistan, and, no foreigner interrogated him.

8. PML-Q is not as pro-american as BB, they were just carrying out Musharrafs policy. Infact, Ch. Shujaat himself is even a bit conservative and not so pro-american. Infact, BB was more pro-American than even Musharraf.

Also, Shaukat Aziz was attacked, Sherpao was attacked a couple of times.

JS, clean water, oxygen, good health are also the needs of 6 billion humans, and, animals too. should i make a party of water oxygen and good health as my slogan?

Regardless of the slogans, ZA Bhutto, was a hardcore socialist.

Posted 4 years ago on 09 Jan 2008 17:22 #
  28. @ secular_pakistan
    My dear,
    You haven't done your homework.
    Musharraf is doing and will do everything what the US demanded and demands.
    You will come to know within a couple of months.
    About PML(Q), how a servant working for a Pro-American Master, could be hired if he is not pro-American?
    Bhutto was not a socialist. All the Socialist Parties in Pakistan left him in 1976.
    He was killed for conducting the Islamic Conference and consolidating the Muslim World to achieve Nuclear Technology.
    It is the primary function of a Government to provide Roti Kapra Makan, Bijli, Paani, and Hawa to its citizens.
    In Pakistan, first Kashmir issue was exploited to stay in power, Bhutto used a new attractive slogan of Roti, Kapra, Makan to win the Elections, Mujib used Anti-West Pakistan card, Zia exploited the emotions in the name of Islam, and Musharraf is trying to stay in power on the issue of Terrorism.
    Why PPP is still the most popular Party?
    All the opponents have lost their credibility without any charismatic leader or slogan. A group of opportunists and lotas cannot stay in the business for long, where electronic technology is helping the people to filter the Truth.
    People will join your party on the bases of the slogan combined with your credibility.
    (Late, Nawabzada Nasaullah Khan could not attract morte than 4 persons to join his PDP.)

Posted 4 years ago on 09 Jan 2008 19:14 #
  29. Dear Shiekh Sahib,
    my post seem contridictory...but if u read it again ,u wont find it contridictory.
    Dear Sir,
    u know more then me ...
    u know a US freind always met the same fate .
    u know about Raza Shah Pehalwi,u know about Anwer Sadaat ,u know about Zia ul Haq....they met the same fate ...
    Poor BB was also US friend (which u just cant deny)
    so she met the same fate ...unfortunately .
    ur question why not they killed mush?
    answer is... there are some jobs to be done by mush by the orders of US ...so they need mush ...after using mush with his full capicities of being a powerful ruler of an islamic state ...
    they would do the same with musharraf.
    sooner or later mush is going to face the same ending.(dont worry)
    BB always be the US agenda follower .
    thats why US pick BB to strike a deal with mush.
    otherwise why not anyone else?
    it seems a conspiracy to trap BB in power thirst and get her killed ...US was also no more interested in her .
    by striking a deal mush and bush just wanted to show the world ,that they are trying thier best to bring democracy back in pakistan.
    i think as far as US concern they are done with BB.
    mush has done this murder with the approvals of US.
    mush is so obedient ,do u even imagine him ,doing that big thing without approvals or green signals ?
    proof...right after her murder ,in the condolances ,both mush and bush said the same thing ,that she was a victum of terrorism ,for what we two greats are fighting .
    that seems pre planing ...
    it seems that they have planned the murder and thier condolances messages were also tale each other ....
    is it just a co incident that both the leaders came up with the same conclusion at the same day she died ?????
    u can call it co incident ...
    i cant ....

Posted 4 years ago on 10 Jan 2008 4:32 #
  30. @ My dear beena,
    Now you are coming to the track.
    1. Being an Anti-American, You should have supported BB from day one if you feel she was a Thorn in America's eye? By opposing her , you logically supported America and Pro-America Musharaf.
    2. She had not yet delivered anything to America, why a full attempt was made to finish her, on 18th October? American could get her killed in Dubai or somewhere else. What was the drama of Deal?
    3. American record shows, they discards a person after using and receiving the assigned benefits. BB was yet not in power, or member of the Parliament and was not in a position to perform the Agenda.
    4. If according to your theory, America has to play some 'hidden' game in Pakistan; they should have removed the most unpopular leader, Musharraf, first. Then by planting a leader after
    'Democratic Process' for a few years, they could have removed that Party or Leader, upon getting the 'Mission Accomplished'.
    5. The irony of situation is, we watch, what is on the board, but cannot stop, due to a vast genetic, internal division.
    Apart from all this intellectual, scholarly discussions the bottom line is, it is highly shameful, disgusting, uncivilized and brutal act from a 'Nation' boasting to be Islamic, looking for an Islamic System and Khilafat and shouting about Women Rights, killed not only a human being but a 'women'.
    4. I guess Pakistan is the first and only 'Muslim' Or 'Islamic' Republic, where a woman was killed by the Muslim.
    Not only America, any other country can make use of such a’ brutal' society.

Posted 4 years ago on 10 Jan 2008 5:39 #
  31. Dear Shiekh sahib,
    @ guess Pakistan is the first and only 'Muslim' Or 'Islamic' Republic, where a woman was killed by the Muslim.
    dont you think by deciding that u r also putting another stamp on mush claim ,that she has been murdered by Al Qaeda ?????

Posted 4 years ago on 10 Jan 2008 6:47 #
  32. Adonis

@ JS

I would suggest that it would be better not to post your poetry before you get some "islah" from an actual poet. Your thoughts can be better conveyed in prose than this type of rag tag poetry.

But of course the choice is yours.......

Posted 4 years ago on 10 Jan 2008 8:09 #
  33. @ Adonis

The message you cannot convey in a whole chapter of prose, could be sent in a few verses of poetry.
    You don't like poetry it is your problem.
    Why don't you perform 'Islah' at my poetry? You seem to be a good Ustad of Poets.
    Still more on the way, for 'Islah'.
    Why don't you put your postings in Arabic, as your English might not be effective for others?

Posted 4 years ago on 10 Jan 2008 13:44 #
  34. aishasana

Roti, Kapra or Makan

why are we trying to nitpicking on it ,its a fact it was a slogan which was used by ZB and then BB used it up to some exent .
    but the question here is " were they allowed to deliver it "
    ,dont we know how bhutto was hanged derailing the democracy .then NS came he met the same fate he was stopped from delivering his agendas with full force ,then same happened with BB .

the question is who on earth can claim they have the answers to all the worries or problems .where on earth we see a place which looks like heaven .even super powers cant claim it that everything is hunky-dory there .

try looking the other side of the coin .bhutto did deliver he was the one who dreamt of “muslim power “ along with qadafi ,and Saudi rular faisal at that time and in the process he is the one who built the foundation of pakistan nuclear programme ,cant you look beyond that slogan .we all know what happened to shah faasial and Bhutto .he paid the price of his over zealous pragmatism .

same happened with BB and then NS ,
    NS he also paid the price of nuclear tests and was send back home .

do we really believe of miracles to happen to us .
    i advice everyone to stop living in utopia and try to comprehend that "miracles " dont just happen ,they take time .
    and none of them were given ample time in my point of view but still i think they tried to deliver .
    democracy is not about "miracles " its about taking one step in the right direction .
    only stable system devoid of army intervention can deliever ,nothing else can .

Posted 4 years ago on 10 Jan 2008 18:42 #
  35. aishasana

did mush deliver "his five points agendas " ?

so forget about slogans

Posted 4 years ago on 10 Jan 2008 18:50 #
  36. its not about slogans ....
    but about the ppl who fall into it ...
    why they fall into the same trap again and again?

Posted 4 years ago on 11 Jan 2008 4:55 #
  37. Anonymous

I am thinking to join Bhuki Nangi Party, BNP as this party came up with a new slogan of:
    Bijli, Paani, Gas and Atta.
    This Party is wise enough to contest the next Elections in 2013, if ever held.
    By 2013 Bijli, Paani, Gas and Atta will not be available at all in Pakistan.
    Allah, Allah, Allah!

Posted 4 years ago on 11 Jan 2008 5:07 #
  38. PIA use to have a slogan
    Great ppl to fly with !
    i have twisted it according to the relation between ppl of pak and Na.pak politicians....

Great ppl to die with .....

Posted 4 years ago on 11 Jan 2008 8:08 #
  39. aishasana

well

i think if its about people then we should respect people who are still supporting PPP even though in manys point of view they were not delievered roti ,kapra or makan .

then who are we to criticise them .
    i guess we did not fall into that trap so no worries .

if it was all about "slogan " no party will ever survive if they fail to people expectation ,they will simply be gone with the wind .many parties still have staunch followers so that means they were not stuck to "slogan " theory .

Posted 4 years ago on 11 Jan 2008 11:20 #
  40. aishasana

i like muslim league qatal league .lol

Posted 4 years ago on 11 Jan 2008 11:24 #
  41. Adonis

@ JS

I am sorry if my suggestion regarding need of improvement in your "poetry" hurt your feelings. I was under the impression that 'it is never too late'. My appologies.

P.S: The last (well-known)verse you wrote certainly does not need any "islah" because its not yours. See, if you post poetry of actual poets than you dont need any "islah".

Posted 4 years ago on 11 Jan 2008 12:13 #
  42. @ Adonis
    I am glad there is at least one scholar at this forum, with a literary taste to understand and appriciate the prose and poetry. Here is another Poem. Please let me know if it needs 'Islah'?
    (I am not a poet by profession, but have been infected with this Bimari).

Posted 4 years ago on 11 Jan 2008 13:39 #
  43. Fahim23

@secular

You wrote...
    "This is the same socialist ideology that has been tried, tested and failed the world over. Not one country in the world has achieved long term and sustainable wealth and prosperity through socialist policies."

Well, china is the example of Socialist country with strong economy. The only reason for china's strength is because of its socialist economy. Even India is partially a socialist country.

Germany before 1990 was also socialist country. Right now Cuba and Venezuealla and other south american countries are progressing due to their socialist strucutre.

Please note that I am not in favor of Socialism in its entirety, I look for something in between Capitalism and Socialism. And moden day Islamic scholars are calling it "Islamic Socialism", another slogan first time used by Shaheed ZA Bhutto.

Posted 4 years ago on 11 Jan 2008 13:55 #
  44. It was Baba Bhulleh Shah, who gave the slogan of
    Gulli, Julli and Kulli, (Roti, Kapra nad Makan).
    Was he a socialist?

Posted 4 years ago on 12 Jan 2008 13:22 #
  45. Baba Bullahy shah was a saint ...
    he must have given it ...
    but he was not a socialist...
    at the same time...
    he was not trying to making money out of the slogan.
    is he ?????

Posted 4 years ago on 14 Jan 2008 12:25 #
  46. 1.Z.A. Bhutto never made money out of that slogan.
    2. He was never charged for corruption. All know why he was killed.
    3. Please try to stay within the parameter of the thread, under discussion.
    4. It was for those who have linked 'Roti, Kapra. Makan' with socialism only.
    5. All of the Capitalist States also, promise to provide Roti, Kapra, and Makan to the citizens, first.
    6. People can survive without religion, but can't survive without Roti.

Posted 4 years ago on 14 Jan 2008 14:00 #
  47. Dervaish

But, my friend, "man does not live by bread alone" (The Bible, Luke 4:4).

Posted 4 years ago on 14 Jan 2008 14:50 #
  48. But my dear freind,
    There are Billions of human beings on the Globe, surviving without religion.

Posted 4 years ago on 14 Jan 2008 15:00 #
  49. Rebel_B

@javedsheikh

With all due respect to Bhutto (and to you), I have always said that he could have used his genius much better. Bhutto came to power in what was left of Pakistan as a result of the movement started by the students, who were highly politicized at the time. He understood the power of the politicized youth very well and considered it a vehicle for change. After he came to power, he did everything in his power to undermine the students' unions. Corruption is not just making money for oneself, it is also facilittating others, bribing them, doing favours in employment, etc. Bhutto reduced the student strength in various colleges considered hotbeds of political activities. For example, he reduced the strength of the Islamia College Peshawar from around seven thousand to a mere 3000. He actively corrupted student leaders by doling out favours to them. He engaged in political bribery to politicians. It is well known that he gave a suitcase of money to late Ghani Khan, the brother of late Wali Khan, who then spent this money at the Kasai Gali in Rawalpindi, where he spent all the money saying the people's money is being spent on the people. Nearly all his ministers married second and third times. A couple of his NWFP ministers were sex maniacs who kept on picking girls from the Khyber Medical College, Peshawar. When they were warned to stop, they did not heed the warning. This resulted in Wali Khan's brother Ali Khan, who was vice chancellor of the university at the time and a well-known crackpot, beating them up personally and then letting the chowkidars at them; the beating was so thorough that one of the ministers was hospitalized for some time.

I also have authentic personal information from my family that Bhutto sent an amount of Rs. 700,000/= (seven lakh, which was quite a lot of money in the early 70s) to my late father, who was not in the National Awami Party, to support Bhutto, through a cousin of my father, who was a deputy commissioner at the time. My father, who had a lot of respect for his cousin, told him that if he ever repeated this deed, he would throw him out of his house. I can personally vouch for this. And my father was not exactly Bhutto's enemy. He had organized Bhutto's first rally in Peshawar. And since there was a threat to Bhutto's life at that time, he was under so much pressure to avoid any incident that he suffered a heart attack on that day. I hasten to add that my father was never a member of the PPP, but supported Bhutto against the dictatorship of Ayub Khan, as he also supported Mohtarma Fatima Jinnah against Ayub Khan. We know a lot more about Bhutto Sahib's deeds.

However, this does not mean to say that Bhutto did not do anything good for Pakistanis. He tried to do more than many before or after him. Alas, his political machinations ended up taking him to the gallows totally unjustly. The students organizations were so thoroughly undermined by Mr. Bhutto and in total disarray that they failed to put up an effective resistance to the dictator. The same goes for the political parties. In NWFP, Wali Khan and Co. even went to the extent to support Ziaul Haq in the beggining as Bughz-i-Mua'awia.

Bhutto's nationalization policy was also flawed, as he targeted his personal enemies and it was not considered nationalization in a socialist manner. The private enterprises were acquired by the state and not the workers, and the state was not socialist in nature. I have said all this not to debase Bhutto, but to point out his many flaws. When our elite are in power, they focus all their energies on remaining in power, and do not realize that the laws that they are specifically making to target any opposition will ultimately be used against them. This is what Bhutto did and dug up a big enough hole where he was buried too. And we are suffering the aftermath right until now, and only Allah knows when we are going to get out of this morass. It is always a good idea to examine history in an unbiased manner so that we can learn from our mistakes. If we haven't still learnt that, it is unfair to demand change. We want a change for the better, for peace and for tolerance of others.

Posted 4 years ago on 14 Jan 2008 15:43 #
  50. Roti Kapra makaan is not the only thing on the basis of which ZA Bhutto faced the allegation of socialist. He also experimented few economical policies like division of agricultural lands. But this did not went sucessful because he, his relatives were also a big land lord.
    If this is a fact that Bhutto did not made money out of his slogan, then this is also a fact that he did not provided people what he promised.

Posted 4 years ago on 14 Jan 2008 15:49 #