Russia, China warn West against Arab interference

(4 posts)
  1. 16 June 2011
    Russia and China oppose outside interference in the unrest in the Arab world, the two presidents said on Thursday in a declaration, as the West seeks their support for increasing pressure on Syria.

"The sides believe that the search for settling the situation in the countries of the Middle East and North Africa should take place in the legal field and through political means," said the declaration signed by Presidents Dmitry Medvedev and Hu Jintao.

"Outside forces should not interfere in internal processes in the countries of the region." Rather, the conflicts should be solved by "launching broad national dialogue about rebuilding stability and social order and the promotion of democratic and economic reforms," the statement said.

The two presidents also expressed concern over the situation in Libya, calling for an end to hostilities between the forces of Libyan leader Moamer Kadhafi and the rebels.

Russia has said it opposes the UN Security Council adopting any resolution on Syria, risking a major dispute with the West over the response to the crackdown on Syrian protestors.

China has backed Russia's cautious stance although, as is customary, it has allowed its fellow permanent UN Security Council member to do most of the public talking on the issue.

Russian foreign ministry spokesman Alexander Lukashevich confirmed in Moscow that Russia "as before" was opposed to a UN Security Council resolution on Syria.

"This position, as you know has been set by the president and it remains unchanged," the Interfax news agency quoted him as saying.

http://www.breitbart.com/article.php?id=CNG.ec984e6b8c6fcefd728e15e284d2a12c.7e1&show_article=1

Posted 11 months ago on 16 Jun 2011 17:28 #
  2. Mirza Sahib, let us hope the bigwigs are not deceiving us again. What did they do over Libya? Both the giant countries that are China and Russia simply abstained. Are we to believe they were so naive that they thought their simple abstention would keep US-Nato from attacking Libya in whichever way they liked? Over Syria we expect a resounding NO from them. And if they didn't say it, they would be making a terrible mistake.

Posted 11 months ago on 16 Jun 2011 20:37 #
  3. NNL

Their interests are more tied in to the situation in ME rather than anywhere else

They are just looking out for their interests anything else expected from them will be futile

Posted 11 months ago on 16 Jun 2011 21:13 #
  4. bsobaid

yaar our concept about china and Russia is that they are waiting to nuke all yahood-o-hunood once a muslim leader takes a stand and I dont think this is accurate.

I remember atleast 10-15 years ago in a juma khutba moulvi sahab was saying agar aaj hamaray hukmuraan amreeki ghulami kay khilaaf kharay hoajein tou saudia bhi hamaray saath khara hogaa aur cheen bhi.

I think we are expecting a little too much from others.

Posted 11 months ago on 16 Jun 2011 21:31 #