Saleem Shahzad

(87 posts)
  1. neighbour

I've been following this since yesterday & today there is sad confirmation that this journalist who went missing 2 days ago has been found dead.

PKPOLITICS.COM is a compilation of the hard work of several journalists - the Admin. should post this news on the front page of the site - one more wake-up call.

http://www.dawn.com/2011/05/31/car-belonging-to-missing-journalist-found-in-sarai-alamgir.html

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 15:22 #
  2. No doubt that ISI killed him to hide their own filthy traces!

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 15:32 #
  3. bsobaid

4. bsobaid

Very ugly!!

Basically he filed a report claiming the following:

"The deeper underlying motive, though, was a reaction to massive internal crackdowns on al-Qaeda affiliates within the navy. "

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/ME27Df06.html

and went missing afterwards.

I dont know if his news story and abduction are related.

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 15:35 #
  5. bsobaid

He seemd a very well connected and well informed journalists. Such journalist/people have relations and contacts with all sorts of people and it is very easy to make enemies.

It could be terrorists who killed him or his report suggesting a covert mutiny inside armed forces got him killed.

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 15:39 #
  6. toamin

ایجنسیوں کی مخبری کا ماہر، بلا آخر انہی کے ہتھے چڑھ گیا

ہر کہانی میں امریکی لین مارتا تھا

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 15:43 #
  7. bsobaid ko bohoat shoaq hy apnay links quote karnay ka! ha ha ha
    May nay kaha thaa na pehlay? ;-)

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 15:45 #
  8. bsobaid

haa haa..shameless self advertisement!!

Aamil BS bangali bawaa!!

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 15:54 #
  9. bsobaid

10. shriq

Some very nasty thing brewing there in all armed forces!
    Alqaeda factor! Destroying their own country!
    I hope we can reach these criminals who committed this heinous crime of killing Shahzad!

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 17:12 #
  11. aftab arif

As an avid reader of ATOL and Syed Saleem Shehzad, i am very sad to hear of his death in this way.

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 19:10 #
  12. zenith

There is no doubt that ISI and its affiliate groups ae responsible for this. They have actually conveyed a tough message to all those who dare to speak te truth.

This is the reason why media have no access to FATA. Intelligence agencies have become more dangerous than terrorists.

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 19:47 #
  13. zoabkhan

This is sad. These people are out of control and no one can say anything against them. I hope media comes at them even harder. The job of ISI is to protect Pakistani's. Since they can't do that in FATA they are killing people that show their incompetence.

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 20:38 #
  14. bsobaid

lo bhaee, yeh sahee kahee, jab Hamid Meer kee khowaja murder case mein jaan bachee tou sab log ne ISI ko ilzaam diaa, ab Saleem Shehzaad kee jaan gaee tou phir dobara ISI kaa naam?

yeh tou chit bhi meri aur pit bhi meri walee baat hogaee.

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 20:51 #
  15. reports says that poor journalist has got hold of some sensitive news about friendly links between Taliban and ISI.
    that's why he has to be killed by ISI.

that's our culture.
    the jungle rule.

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 5:42 #
  16. Anonymous

ISI wouldnt adbuct and kill him within two days of the story. This would be hillarious if thats the case.

I would like to believe someone has used the situation to his benefit. Very soon we may see Obama saying the ISI killed the journalist who proved their Taliban links.

Wallah o Alam.

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 5:47 #
  17. ISI and CIA has been in a tussle since Raymond Devis issue days.
    and now both has their points to score against each other.

Pakistan has seen murders of 17 journalists so far.
    only one journalist murder was probed and his murderer got punished .

that journalist was an American citizen; Denial Pearl.

Pakistani journalists has been treated like animals.
    they can butcher them whenever they want to.

thats why no wonder ,most of the senior journalists are taking side of army and ISI.
    like Hamid Mir and Talat Hussain and Kashif Abbasi.
    they know, their life is worthier than telling the truth.

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 5:55 #
  18. banjarbayabaan

جس ملک کے حکمران چور اچکے ہوں اور اٹھانی سیٹھ سے راتوں رات محلوں کے مالک بن جاییں ، جس ملک کی افواج گھروں سے پیسے لے کر اپنوں کو قتل کرے اور اپنی سرزمین کی حفاظت کے بجاے ملکی زمین کو بیچنے کا کام شروع کر دے وہاں کے عوام ایسے ہی ایک دوسرے سے لڑتے مرتے رہیں گے.

فوج کے جرنیل قومی مفاد کے نام سے لوٹتے ہیں اور سیاستداں جمہوریت کے نام پر. ملک کے موجودہ صدر اور وزیر اعظم نے لوٹ مار کا بازار گرم کر رکھا ہے لیکن جمہوریت کے نام پر معصومیت کا مظاہرہ کرتے ہیں تو دوسری طرف جرنیلوں نے سینکڑوں قسم کے خفیہ معاہدے کر کے اس ملک کے عوام کو قتل کرنے کا تھکا عالمی استعمار کو دے رکھا ہے.

جس ملک کے زیادہ تر انگریزی لکھنے والے صحافی ڈالرز کے بدلے غیروں کے مفادات کے لئے اپنے ملک کے خلاف بڑھ چڑھ کر لکھیں وہاں کس کو غازی اور کس کو شہید کہا جائے.

خدا مرحوم کو جنت الفردوس میں جگہ دے اور قاتلوں کو کیفر کردار تک پہنچاے- آمین

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 6:16 #
  19. utopia

"they know, their life is worthier than telling the truth."

Same old excuse.If their life is worthier than telling the truth then they should resign and get into some other profession that is if they had some self respect. Oh i see, they are pragmatic! But street workers who sell their bodies are pragmatic too!

Its the same hypocrisy that is shown by 'house negros' in the parliament and top brass of army and such mentality gets hundreds of thousands of people killed ,displaced and disfigured.To me these people do not deserve any respect whatsoever.If they get something like what happend to saleem shahzad then they were actually craving for it and the same pragmatic excuse can be given 'razia phansi ghundon mein....' why complain? Be pragmatic!

iss tarah to hota hey - iss tarah key kamon mein

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 6:54 #
  20. utopia,
    FYI ,i was not defending journalists.
    'their life is worthier than telling the truth' statement was
    not sympathetic but sarcastic .

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 7:05 #
  21. Saleem Shahzad masoom tha,usska qatal kar kay aik warning de gaye hay saray Journaliton ko kay apnay qalam aur qadam rouk lo.

Talak and Hamid Mir Biwi bachon walay hain.
    Kashif bhi Meher se shadi kar raha hay kal bachay bhi ho jayein gaye.

sach kon bolay ?
    jisko zindagi na piyari ho.

Nisar mein Teri Galiyun kay aa watan
    kay jahan chali hay rasam ,na koi sar utha kay chalay

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 8:12 #
  22. It is learnt that SaleemSahazad already had a gunshot wound with broken ribs and punctured lung; while barring him ( by giving him a good Phaintee) to appear on Dunya TV on the night of incident; he scrummed to his injuries and later his body was taken to Jhelum to throw it in canal. Old police/ intelligence agencies lower level tactics

Posted 11 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 10:23 #
  23. ufffffffffffffffff.
    i can feel the pain.
    i hate whoever done that.
    zindagi se qeemati kuch nahi.
    kisi ki jaan le li aap ne ,sirf reporting karnay pe.

Posted 11 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 10:47 #
  24. bsobaid

Omeer Cheema kee phaintee inquiry kaa koi result aaya samnay?

Posted 11 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 16:25 #
  25. toamin

چوزی میاں

زندگی سے قیمتی انسان کا ایمان ہے جس کی خاطر ایک انسان جان کی قربانی بھی دے دیتا ہے

یہ بندہ بڑے عرصے سے فوج کو القاعدہ سے جوڑ رہا تھا اور الٹی سیدھی کہانیاں تراش رہا تھا، اڑنے نہیں آتا تھا تو سیٹی کیوں ماری؟

Posted 11 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 16:40 #
  26. utopia

ڑنے نہیں آتا تھا تو سیٹی کیوں ماری؟"

Even though i dont know the origin of this saying but it is funny. I just hope that 'multimillion/year' makin anchors try the 'seeti' thing as well. It will be so much fun.They all are so much pragmatic (in a street worker sense) that i am sick of hearing that 'oh jee hum ney to pehley hi keh dena tha lekin hamari bhi majbooriyan hein' .... I would love to see them taken out.They all are in it for money.They make money taking advantage of the situation out of misery of the people and are fake journalists.

Even street worker (red-light area) are more respectable than they are because atleast they deliver the service that is required of their profession.

Posted 11 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 18:41 #
  27. scandinavian

Posted 11 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 20:43 #
  28. bsobaid

he first says agencies have killed journalists in the triabal areas to hide truth and when the anchor asks him the solution he says bring down government.

Is there a relation between the two?

Sometimes Immu talks nafsiyaati

Posted 11 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 21:09 #
  29. Saleem Shahzad brutal murder is a warning to every journalist whoever is planing to write or report something against ISI .

Posted 11 months ago on 02 Jun 2011 8:58 #
  30. Killing of salim shahzad was sceptical.according to kamarran khan(GEO news) salim had some substantial evidence of MEHRRAN BASE incident if it is truth then why media highlight this issue more viably way. Behind s.shazad killing every one purportedly to our agencies may be they are right or it is only an allegation.

Our law & enforcement agencies & politicians already has black mark to the façade of our country .so we exhort for rest of the journalists fraternity that they will search some dens for reporting because Pakistan is not a saver place from them.

Posted 11 months ago on 02 Jun 2011 13:13 #
  31. utopia

"Pakistan is not a saver place from them. "

Pakistan is the ideal place for them to make money.They do not have any place anywhere else in the world. I can gaurantee you that they would never leave pakistan!!!

unki panchon ghee mein hein!!

But the danger to them is all their own created specially when they want to make money even more quickly being over-clever.And when you do that somewhere somehow you gonna make mistake and sometimes that mistake is fatal.

Minions dont deserve an ounce of sympathy!

Posted 11 months ago on 02 Jun 2011 17:25 #
  32. scindian

April 22 2011
    Three central leaders of Jeay Sindh Qaumi Mahaz (JSQM), a nationalist party, were burnt alive when some armed men, allegedly belonging to an ethnic group settled in Sindh, opened fires and later set their car on fire near Sanghar on Thursday afternoon.

The culprits who were chasing them opened fires on car and then torched it, as a result Rooplo Choliani and Serai Qurban and Noorullah burnt alive in the car.

The assailants also resorted to aerial firing to stop the people who wanted to come closer and save the lives of JSQM leaders.

The incident took place at about 1.00p.m. Soon after the incident, the police cordoned the area and started searching the assailants.

Posted 11 months ago on 02 Jun 2011 18:28 #
  33. ISLAMABAD: Journalists have been given permission to carry weapons after the killing of a correspondent working for an Italian news organization, the interior minister said.
    Interior Minister Rehman Malik told reporters that orders had been approved to permit journalists to carry small arms with them for self-protection.
    Journalists would be issued licenses to carry weapons with them, his representative said on Wednesday.
    Afzal Butt, the head of the Pakistan Federal Union of Journalists, mocked the offer. "It's the responsibility of the government to protect us," he said. "We are reporters, not soldiers." The government said a few months ago that it was considering allowing journalists to carry weapons after a rise on attacks against reporters. Permission was allowed after the journalism community became enraged over the killing of Syed Saleem Shahzad, whose body was found in Punjab with a bullet wound and marks of torture.
    Shehzad, who worked for the Adnkronos International news agency, went missing on Sunday in Islamabad on his way to take part in a debate on a local television show. – DPA
    ISI clarifies its position on Shahzad’s murder
    ISLAMABAD: The unfortunate and tragic death of Syed Saleem Shahzad is a source of concern for the entire nation but the incident should not be used to target and malign the country's security agency, said an ISI official Wednesday on condition of anonymity because of the sensitive nature of the job.
    "The reported meeting between the journalist and ISI officials of the Information Management Wing was held on 17th October 2010 to discuss a story he had done for Asia Online on 15th October, and the meeting had nothing sinister about it," said the official.
    "It is part of the Wing's mandate to remain in touch with the journalist community. Main objective behind all such interactions is provision of accurate information on matters of national security. ISI also makes it a point to notify institutions and individuals alike of any threat warning received about them", he said.

The ISI official further said, "The reported e-mail of Mr. Saleem Shahzad to Mr. Ali Hassan Dayan of HRW which is being made the basis of baseless allegations leveled against ISI has no veiled or unveiled threats in it."
    The official pointed out that in the words of Syed Saleem Shahzad himself, "the conversation was held in an extremely polite and friendly atmosphere and there was no mince word in the room at any stage".
    It is regrettable that some sections of the media have taken upon themselves to use the incident for targeting and maligning the ISI, said the official. Baseless accusations against the country's sensitive agencies for their alleged involvement in Shahzad's murder are totally unfounded. In the absence of any evidence and when an investigation is still pending, such allegations tantamount to unprofessional conduct on the part of the media.
    The "ISI offers it’s deepest and heartfelt condolence to the bereaved family and assures them that it will leave no stone unturned in helping to bring the perpetrators of this heinous crime to justice," the official stated.
    At the same time, said the ISI official, the media should act with responsibility to avoid any possible legal course. It should refrain from baseless allegations against the ISI that seek to deliberately malign the organization in the eyes of the people of Pakistan, he said. – Agencies
    http://statesman.com.pk/topnews/more.htm

Posted 11 months ago on 02 Jun 2011 21:43 #
  34. bsobaid

agar jornalist aur awam ko weapons rakhnay parein g ay tou phirr isss joker kee zaroorat kia hai?

However, he did make a point saying the reporters are working in a war zone so it does make sense to carry weapons..

Posted 11 months ago on 02 Jun 2011 21:56 #
  35. Scandinavian, many thanks. That was an excellent video you posted there. IK's warning should also be taken to heart: We have a highly disciplined army, said the anchor. So let's not destroy it, countered IK. Words we should take to heart in the presently heated context of how Pakistan plans to proceed next.

Posted 11 months ago on 02 Jun 2011 23:26 #
  36. junaid

ایجنسیوں کی مخبری کا ماہر، بلا آخر انہی کے ہتھے چڑھ گیا

ہر کہانی میں امریکی لین مارتا تھا

/quote
    yeh baat tau sahee hai and he was trying to fly too high. per phir bhi insaan tau tha. goli maar daitay per aisa tau na martay.

Posted 11 months ago on 03 Jun 2011 7:14 #
  37. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Video: Saleem Shahzad Murdered in Most Dangerous Place on Earth for Journalists

01-June-2011

Source: Youtube Channel: TheRealNews

Posted 11 months ago on 03 Jun 2011 8:47 #
  38. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I have reason to "suspect" Mr. Saleem Shahzad's activities. Yet, all I have at this point, are "suspicions".

Posted 11 months ago on 03 Jun 2011 8:50 #
  39. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Video: Pakistan Post Bin Laden

18-May-2011
    Part #1: Pakistan Post Bin Laden

Part #2: Splits in Pakistan's Military Over New Agreement to Cooperate with US

Source: Youtube Channel: TheRealNews

Posted 11 months ago on 03 Jun 2011 8:51 #
  40. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

After watching the above videos from TheRealNews (i.e., a foreign news organization), I come to the conclusion that Mr. Saleem Shahzad was "transferring" "sensitive" "information" to foreign journalists, which would "enable" foreigners to "debate" or "discuss" that information. Which would result in them escalating or "improving upon" their war efforts against us.

I have reason to "suspect" Mr. Saleem Shahzad was "publicizing" "sensitive" "information" regarding the war Muslims are "fighting" "in the background", against non-Muslims those who are waging war against Muslims on behest of Zionists/Neo-Colonials and their supporters.

We Muslims are in a state of war.

We cannot "afford" to "allow" for a journalist (a man living within our ranks) to "publish" "sensitive" information regarding our activities in "resisting" the war, which is being forced on us by non-Muslims, on behest of Zionists/Neo-Colonials and their supporters.

Its simply unacceptable.

P.S. In war, you don't transfer sensitive information to someone in your enemy's collective. You with-hold it. You keep them from it, at all costs.

And those who "choose" to "willingly" give that information away to someone of the enemy's collective, they commit treason, not only with the nation, with millions of people of this nation, but also with their cause. Death is the acceptable penalty for treason. There's a reason why death penalty exists for "traitors".

Posted 11 months ago on 03 Jun 2011 8:53 #
  41. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

From the talk of Mr. Saleem Shahzad with TheRealNews people, I surmize, I "suspect" that he believed in "cause" of "secularism", in contrast to Islam.

If that was so, he was an enemy of this state, and its cause, its people, their individual as well as collective cause.

P.S.Yet, I see it wise to hastily add that, again, all I have, is "suspicions".

Posted 11 months ago on 03 Jun 2011 9:03 #
  42. HK, When your suspicions do harden, you will let us know what you think, won't you? So far, I get the feeling that for the third time in a short month we are being fooled. First, the OBL false flag, then the Mehran Base events of which I can make neither head nor tail and now the assassination of Saleem Shahzad who some of us have believed all along was a CIA-related journalist. So if you can cast any light on his death, it might help to clear up one of the three horrors at least.

While I was writing this, you were posting your reasoning, I do agree with you, HK. And it is nothing new, these "suspicions" of yours. We've held them for years. And even on PKP, I once had an argument on the subject with Wahid Doyum, who was a great supporter of SS. I wish he hadn't been killed. Liberal or secular or whatever, he still counts among our martyrs, but what a pity he failed to understand how dangerous the situation had turned for him.

Posted 11 months ago on 03 Jun 2011 9:09 #
  43. scindian

Is there any sensitive information really exists about Pakistan.

Your Top brass army generals intelligentsia men are living under shelters of Zion.

Posted 11 months ago on 03 Jun 2011 9:10 #
  44. scindian

There are term in Sindhi "Karo" and "Kari" for adulterer and adulteress respectivily, Karo (male) and kari (female) both are being executed to death.

I think Saleem Shahzad was Karo according to intelligence agencies and they watched him committing crime against secrets of pakistan therefor he was executed to death.

Posted 11 months ago on 03 Jun 2011 9:18 #
  45. Saleem Shahzad: the man who knew too much

It is learnt that Saleem shahzad had a gunshot wound that he got few days back in a scuffle at a hotel and had some ribs broken and possibly lung punctured. It is generally believed that since man set off from home to go for an interview by Naseem Zohra at Dunya TV station. Soon after he left home was picked up. Since he did not reach TV station so it is blamed the in order to bar him from giving yet another set of revelations that earlier man had spilled enough of beans in his Asia time article about Meharan naval base fiasco; so to bar him; probably ISI picked him up. And in the process of manhandling of person to simply deny him to appear at TV station and the wound he was already suffering; he scum to those wound plus the usual ISI thrashing.... and then is the ugly tale of dead body disposal in canal near Jhelum and finding his dead body downstream at Rasoul headwork, some 150 kms away from his home near Mandi Bahudin.

This is one side of the story as we are lead to believe. But here, this may not be the case that only ISI be blamed to pick on him.

• What about the very people who attacked him earlier and left him wounded and they had a repeat visit?
    • What about the other intelligence agencies like IB and others?
    • What about that he had already said in his article that he will be revealing next that how the TTP, Al Qaeda and other Extremist are recruited and trained?
    • If we believe that hirelings of TTP the brain child of CIA who work for CIA and are carrying out all sort of subversive acts, fearing their exposures just eliminated him.
    • What about the simple elimination of the man; that he knew too much?

Posted 11 months ago on 03 Jun 2011 10:02 #
  46. AK, very well balanced approach. Made great sense and the reader can choose according to his own fancy. Thank you.

Posted 11 months ago on 03 Jun 2011 10:16 #
  47. In India we had heard that when any cow does not give milk; it is blamed that this must be some ISI plot but never heard of--- that every murder here will be blamed on ISI. Bad days for ISI.

But what about these interlocutors who are blaming ISI and they may not be some planted stooges giving away infos to divert the attention.
    In any case, Interlocutor info is weak argument, coming especially from a person Mr Paracha who says he is victim of ISI

Posted 11 months ago on 03 Jun 2011 10:19 #
  48. MG,

Thanks for your Kind Comments.

Posted 11 months ago on 03 Jun 2011 10:25 #
  49. aftab arif

The record of slain journalist Saleem Shahzad’s cell phone activity has been mysteriously erased – with the network log of the 18 days leading up to his abduction and murder being wiped clean from the system.

The case is starting to look a lot like that of Umer Cheema, another journalist who was kidnapped and tortured recently and whose cell phone data was also deleted from the system in a similar manner.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/183899/saleem-shahzads-cell-phone-record-erased/

Hmm...

If this is ISI then what kind of comedy outfit are they running because it's certainly not a professional espionage organisation.

Posted 11 months ago on 07 Jun 2011 22:22 #
  50. rangbaaz

Mullen: Pakistan govt sanctioned reporter's death

http://www.forbes.com/feeds/ap/2011/07/07/general-us-pakistan-journalist_8554126.html

مجھے تو لگتا ہے رحمان ملک وغیرہ نے اپنے اقتدار کو تول دینے اور اسٹبلشمنٹ کو نیچا دکھانے کے لئے ایسا کروایا تھا. اگر امریکیوں نے یہ بات ثابت کر دی تو دو عیدوں کے بعد قربانی متوقع کی جا سکتی ہے.

Posted 10 months ago on 07 Jul 2011 21:55 #