Saudi women - waking up!

(118 posts)
  1. sasherwani

Saudi poet Hessa Hilal lashed out at hard-line clerics' religious edicts in verse on live TV at a popular Arabic version of "American Idol."

Source: http://gulfnews.com/news/gulf/saudi-arabia/saudi-woman-blasts-clerics-in-tv-contest-poem-1.601907

I guess all 'conservatives, moderates and liberals' of our society would admire her daring effort. I have lived in Saudi Arabia for 12+ years and I never saw any Saudi (especially a female Saudi) be so vocal about his/her feelings about the extremist religious clerics. I would love the first-hand opinion/experience of those who have lived in Saudi.

I hope to see Pakistanis waking upto to the corrupt politicians that rule us and place all these crooked leaders behind bars. Whether its Zardari's corruption in the name of Bhuttoism, or Nawaz's fasad in the name of Punjabiism, or Altaf's violence in the name of Muhajirism or its JIs brainwashing in the name of Islam.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 7:54 #
  2. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

(a) Why do you ONLY highlight 'waking up' or 'enlightenment' when it comes to women ?

(b) Why are you ONLY concerned about women ?

(c) Why do you people never have anything to talk about other than women ?

(d) Are women the only people you see in this world ? If yes, why ? If no, then why this double standard ?

I see you secular people hailing or reporting only on this, because you understand, your agenda of de-islamization of Muslim populations can be pushed by encouraging free, open, unrestricted sex within Muslim population, ignoring ALL ethical, moral, social, financial, judicial, political standards that Islam prescribes.

Why do you never highlight ALL the other stuff good or bad going on in KSA ? For example;

the contract that Mr. Kissinger made with Royal Family of KSA about trading oil in $$$ for security from USA's military ?

It is a much bigger, much more meaningful topic.

It impacts directly! on the lives of 1.6+ billion! Muslims worldwide. It impact on their welfare, their economic, social, political, judicial well-being. So why not highlight this ?

Why don't you highlight the oppression of USA/Nato and their allies in KSA that destroys, that affects millions! of Muslims/people of KSA as well as millions! of Muslims living in the rest of the world ?

Why don't you highlight the fact that the contract made by Kissinger;

(1) is to-date being used to oppress Muslims politically, financially, socially, judicially ?
    (2) is being used as a level to destroy spending power of Muslims worldwide ?
    (3) has destroyed the ability of Muslims to contribute constructively to this world for more than 60 years ?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 8:29 #
  3. SufiSoul

Their is a constant pressure relating to human rights(westerenised human rights),not Allowing non-muslims to holy places,women freedom and things like that from west over KSA and from time to time propaganda is made in westren media about system here..
    These people are backed by these westren forces to come and be open at such forums about the own country and culture..

But the people over here more than 90% are wel aware of these facts and will never allow such a culture west want here..
    West is also angary by no-foreingn nationality approach in KSA but they cannot as it will lead this nation to go in minority soon by foreign nationals....
    Everu state has own problems relating and sorrounding their culture and society..
    KSA is the point where all the muslims of the world want to look to it by totally different eyes which is faith and respect so this nation cannot and will never accept such changes PUTTING THEM DOWN in the eyes of rest of the muslims...
    The resources over here are one of the cause for west to go to and have great benefits out of it but it will never happen as ALLAH himself taking care of this Holy Land and places and west will just plan,think but can never be practical.......

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 8:32 #
  4. azeem1

@haris khan
    have u ever lived in saudiarabia? I am sure not. jab do bare baat kar rahen hoan to bachon ko nahi bolana chaiya.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:06 #
  5. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@azeem1: Rather than engaging in idle as well as worthless bashing of others, come straight to the point.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:10 #
  6. azeem1

@sherwani
    its very difficult to change badus mindset and there is no hope in near future. women has a minus zero role in policy making. still a 60 yrs old women needs permission, husband father or son for doing anything as small as traveling to another city.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:17 #
  7. azeem1

@haris khan
    what do u want to say is either discuss saudi - amarican relations or discuss nothing about saudi arabia.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:19 #
  8. azeem1

haris khan u can start a new topic on saudi-amarican relations. or do u want to discuss women rights in islam

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:21 #
  9. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@azeem1: (a) What do I not know about female/women in KSA ?

(b) What do YOU know that makes you older than me or more experienced than me or more knowledgeable than me ?

I'm comparing this issue with another one. I'm raising the questions;

(1) why the bigger question which affects women of KSA more! is never asked ?

(2) Why raise this notion, encourage discussion about 'waking up' or 'enlightenment' ONLY ?

(3) Why not talk about injustice being propagated by the cruel royal family that is in power in KSA because of USA's military presence in and around KSA against?

(a) women (female)
    (b) people in general in KSA

(4) Why should I open a new thread when the questions that I raise are relevant to this thread ?

We are Muslims!. We don't! subscribe to;

(1) western propagated idea of 'freedom'
    (2) western propagated idea of 'freedom of women'
    (3) western creed
    (4) western culture
    (5) western values
    (6) western democracy
    (7) western enlightenment
    (8) western civilisation
    (9) etc etc

My question is valid to the topic of this thread.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:25 #
  10. toamin

azeem1

regarding:

have u ever lived in saudiarabia? I am sure not. jab do bare baat kar rahen hoan to bachon ko nahi bolana chaiya.

you mean to say that you are living in a GCC country?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:28 #
  11. @Salam Bhai

Ap muj se umer main baray ho saktah hain lekan tajarbay main ap mar kha jaye gay

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:30 #
  12. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@azeem1: I'm raising the question, why discuss women/female of KSA (when there are so many other, more! bigger! issues at hand) ?

Why talk about 'waking up', 'enlightenment' of women ?

Why ONLY! talk about 'waking up', 'enlightenment' of women ?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:38 #
  13. toamin

Psycho

yeh tajarba konsi chiryaa ka naam hay :)

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:45 #
  14. azeem1

@haris khan
    americans are just watching their interests first which every nation should do. dont blame americans for ur own mistakes. for ur information america is still the biggest donor to poor muslim countries including pelestine.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:45 #
  15. azeem1

@salam
    I worked there for 8 years.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:46 #
  16. RajputPuttar

Women are also human being and the violation of their rights is a big issue.

Don't know why its non-issue in some people's eyes. Probably , women are not humans for them :)

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:49 #
  17. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@azeem1: Donation ? What the heck ?!?!!!!! Muslim nations are subsidizing them. What the heck are you on about ?

What the heck are you complaining about ?

We don't need peanuts they throw at us. They can KEEP! their worthless donation. We DON'T!! need it. We DON'T!! want it.

We want to STOP!!! them from looting us blind.

We will see WHO would need/want donations after that.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:51 #
  18. azeem1

hariskhan
    when stoped their donation to pelestine the government employes did get selaries for six months.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:53 #
  19. toamin

azeem1

so you worked in saudi land for 8 years and didn't like their way of life because it doesn't conform to teachings of Islam or what?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:53 #
  20. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@azeem1: O, so you want us to thank foreigners for the petty bits they throw at us, while they loot us from both hands, while we subsidize their luxurious life, eh ?

Who's the fool here ?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:55 #
  21. sasherwani

@ Haris,

You remind me of a wannabe friend of mine who unfortunately is on my friend's list on facebook. Whenever I change my status to ANYTHING, he replies with extremely expected yet annoying comments. Example: when my status is "Its so HOT today!". He replies "You should be thankful to Allah for what you have, in Pakistan people are dying from loadshedding".

On a more serious note.. well its hard to remain serious after your comments.. yet I'll try to speak to you in your language..

Firstly, let me address your questions:

(a) Why do you ONLY highlight 'waking up' or 'enlightenment' when it comes to women ?

Answer: This is probably the 1st (or maybe the 2nd) time I have posted a topic about women's enlightenment. If have around 500 posts on this forum, the ratio of women-related posts are about 1 to 250.

(b) Why are you ONLY concerned about women ?

Answer: My reponse to your earlier 'taunt' well answers this question.

(c) Why do you people never have anything to talk about other than women ?

Answer: I dont know which 'media source' you are following, because I see misc. issues being tackled today both in media and the general public. War, terrorism, economy, recession, nuclear assets, health reform bills, corruption etc etc. Maybe you should change your company of friends because I guess thats all they want to discuss. I rarely hear about women's issues being tackled in today's world. Thats why this story became 'news'.

(d) Are women the only people you see in this world ? If yes, why ? If no, then why this double standard ?

Answer: rofl! Well how does one answer such an 'intellectual' question? For my friends living in Saudi, women is the only thing they 'dont' get to see :)

Secondly, if you do think my topic isn't related to a 'BIG' issues, why not skip my topic and post yourself a 'BIG' issue?
    For someone like me, who lived in Saudi Arabia for 12 unfortunate years, this IS a BIG ISSUE. I have strong support and admiration for that woman and there's nothing you can do about it. You will just have to learn to live with it!

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:55 #
  22. @ Salam

Tajarba (experience) is wild pet, it's not home pet like "Chirya"

U can only earn it from the vast desert of life.

It tell u how fly, how to catch the prey, how to live life, how to talk people, how to beat them, how to defeat them,

But it also give u pain, greif, it also take everything u had in this mortal world,

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 9:56 #
  23. azeem1

Salam
    they are excellent people. i think they are following islam more than other muslim countries. but the problem is culture and mindset.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:00 #
  24. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@sasherwani: You may have taken part in discussing other issues, but you never 'highlighted' issues of people of KSA before ?

Why did you choose this topic, even if it is your first ?

In-fact you rarely highlight issues of Muslims, be them in any nation state, to date.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:04 #
  25. azeem1

haris khan sahib I told u earlier every nation has to watch its own interests. u name it looting or what ever u want.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:06 #
  26. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@azeem1: O paee, who's side are you on ?

You aren't bothered about the miserable existence of over 1.6 billion Muslims, in the slightest.

Yet, at the same time, you love to hail the west for looting us.

You'll force me to ask you the same pinching question that some despise answering so much in this community.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:08 #
  27. azeem1

haris khan sahib punjabi main ek kahawat hai wo aap par bari fit ho rahi hai

lad deo lada deo
    ladan wala nal deo.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:10 #
  28. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@azeem1: What the heck is this ?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:11 #
  29. azeem1

khan sahib I dont blame americans for this.
    har afat ki koi wajha hoti hai
    try to find the reason of this afat.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:12 #
  30. sasherwani

@ Haris,

Why did you choose this topic, even if it is your first ?

Real Answer: Because its the headline of today's Gulf News, a newspaper, I read every day.

Answer you were expecting: Because I work for the secret American agency called the NSA (National Security Association). Our job is to buy international newspapers and publish stories of our interest as headlines. We recently bribed Gulf News a trillion dollars to publish this news. Our next mission is to create fasad in Pakistan by launching a campaign against their locally made biryani rice which we suspect is filled with terror plot secret recipes! I live in an Octagonal state of the art iconic tower in Washington DC and I have my own chopper and a tunnel that leads to Israel where I spend my weekend evenings drinking the forbidden wines wearing a secular Turkish hat.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:16 #
  31. azeem1

haris khan do u know women cant drive in saudi arabia. is it islamic?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:16 #
  32. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@azeem1: (1) I know women couldn't drive in KSA in the past.

(2) I acknowledge the fact that we are responsible. Yet we didn't reach this state completely on our own.

The west is responsible for a lot that is happening to us. They;

(a) mercilessly murdered our scholars. They still! continue to finance murder of our scholars, our good people, our good traders

(b) still finance political campaigns of criminals within our ranks

(c) interfere in our internal affairs, now more than ever

(d) have an Army of military personnel within our borders

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:17 #
  33. hkbajwa

@ sasherwani

hahahahahahaa... yes and next on the list of subversive plots designed by the NSA is the kidnapping and forced endorsement of gillette shaving cream by Qazi Hussein Ahmed.. In doing so the deepest desires of the zionist/ahmadi/american/CIA/NSA/MI6/vegetarian/hindu/anti-haris nexus of evil will be furthered by the naked chin of Qazi saab.. hahahahahah

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:24 #
  34. azeem1

haris khan
    1. women cant drive in saudi arabia to date.
    2. u r saying our politicians are criminals. we cant not take care of our sclolars. we can not protect our borders. etc etc than why are u blaming americans?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:24 #
  35. sasherwani

@ Haris,

(1) I know women couldn't drive in KSA "in the past".

If you prove to me that the Saudi government has started issuing female driving licenses, I will leave this forum immediately :)

I just require ONE valid reference!

Game on?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:25 #
  36. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@sasherwani: (sarcasm) Right. Must'v been NSA (/sarcasm).

I recently saw a video of a woman driving in KSA. It was a taxi cab, I think.

@azeem1: Because they are looting us of everything we have from both hands like a vicious, unreasonable, uncontrollable animal, who has no remorse, no guilt ?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:26 #
  37. hkbajwa

@ Haris

boo hoo... quit the crying and get past the "it's their fault boo hoo waaa waaaa" arguments

This thread is about A brave saudi woman who dared to speak against the culturally imposed enslavement of saudi women. The conditions that saudi women live under has absolutley nothing to do with islam. It is a wholly cultural import from the old persian empire (there was no such thing as a burqa in arabia during the Prophet's (pbuh) time).

I apologise on behalf of sasherwani that he had the audacity to bring up the treatment of women in KSA. Would you care to express your views about it?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:28 #
  38. azeem1

haris it was behrain not saudi arabia.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:28 #
  39. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@hkbajwa: Please keep! it.

I know our short-comings. I don't need to hear about them from the likes of you.

Our scholars have done a good job of keeping our people safe from western idea of 'freedom' / 'freedoms'.

We have already started watching what fruit that freedom is bearing for them. We don't want it.

If my knowledge is correct, Ahmadis', Pervaizis', etc etc are also foreign financed/backed puppets eating up at the core of our intellect, our country, our nation, our UMMAH.

We won't allow your attempts of keeping us away from Islami Nizam to succeed.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:29 #
  40. sasherwani

@ Haris,

Just to let you know, till this date, females are not allowed to drive in Saudi Arabia. My classmates from highschool (back in Saudi Arabia) were a part of a huge protest in 2008 where they all took their husband's/ fathers cars and drove them on Riyadh highway. They were all arrested and fined heavily.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:30 #
  41. toamin

women driving in saudi is a known issue..

but what are we discussing here? what is meant by "waking up"... waking up to what? what is the goal or direction that you want?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:33 #
  42. SufiSoul

azeem,

I want to correct you here..
    In saudi arabia women can travel between the cities alone and safely...
    It is upto the family and women itself how she would like to travel,alone or having some one from her family....
    Alone travel no legality involved.....

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:36 #
  43. azeem1

Sufi
    no can not travel alone.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:41 #
  44. azeem1

@ sufi
    iam teling u my personel experience

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:42 #
  45. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@azeem1: Why do you need two separate posts for saying two sentences ?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:44 #
  46. azeem1

@ sufi
    u know that if my wife has to travel to pakistan she can not pass immigration without me.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:45 #
  47. toamin

psycho

bhai batao..zaroor batao.. i'll listen but when the time is right

remember what i said about timing?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:46 #
  48. azeem1

@ haris iam sorry

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:47 #
  49. toamin

azeem1 sb

local travel and international travel are two different subjects, plz don't mix the two

sufisoul is talking about local travel, not international travel

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:47 #
  50. SufiSoul

Women not allowed here to drive in KSA..

But thses people dont have such problems like others cuz they have a concept of upto 10 or 12 kids these days...
    So women dont need to drive here she can easily find more than 5 drivers for all the day shopping and every thing....
    Without understanding this culture you cannot analyse the situation here....

In past thier was a trend of upto 20 kids/per family but now came down to 10 to 12 maximum...

So their men are not over burdened due to women ban on driving......

One thing more,
    If You park ur car just near the window a saudi's car has its women within that side of car...He will tell you to just get off from this window side of his car,as his women is sitting on that side..
    This shows thier respect and sensitivity and they will remind you ur stupidity abt womens respect in most of the cases...
    Cuz they give much more respect to ur women and same is expecting......
    If you are crossing with ur women and the signal gets green...NO HORN AT ALL UNTILL U CROSS THE ROAD WITH UR WIFE........

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 10:48 #