supreme court bar elections

(25 posts)
  1. The supreme court bar elections are coming up in september and are being eagerly awaited as the result will have a great impact on the judicary-govt conflict. ITS basically hamid khans candidate (owais ahmed) vs the joint candidate of muneer malik,ali ahmed jurd,tariq mehmood, latif khosa, naeem bokhari e.t.c. The govt has extended its full support to ASMA JEHANGIR and aitazaz ahsen is likely to announce support for her as well. Last year the canidate supported by hamid khan (Qazi anwar) had defeated the candidate of muneer malik and tariq mehmood. However that candidate did not enjoy the reputation that asma jehangir does. IT may be noted though that lahore plays the most vital role on the SCBA election as 40% of the electorate resides there and recently hamid khans candidate crushed the joint candidate of ppp and pml-n who was supported by Aitazaz ahsen, Malik qayuum, and latif khosa in the lahore high court bar association elections. Plus PTI (which has won many of the recent lawyers elections and has bar presidents in district courts of ISLAMABAD,FAISALABAD,SWAT,PESHAWAR,MINGORA,LAHORE AND ALSO the presidents of the LAHORE HIGH COURT BAR)HAS announce full support for hamid khans candidate, RASHID RIZVI who is member of PAKISTAN BAR COUNCIL and has a considerable following in KARACHI has done the same,so has the current president of the SCBA QAZI ANWAR.
    SO all the analysts are expecting a very though election if history of SUPREME COURT BAR ELECTIONS is to eb taken into account Hamid Khan has nearly always been the person whose supported candidates win however admitedly ASMA jehangir is a very though candidate especially with the support of KURD,MUNNER MALIK,AITAZAZ,KHOSA,QAYYUM,BOKHARI,and the lawyers wings of ppp pml-n and JI

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 15:16 #
  2. @Gunnerz30
    http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/read-this-before-posting-in-discuss
    Kindly correct your thread topic accordingly.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 15:22 #
  3. @semirza
    sorry and thanx...

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 15:37 #
  4. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

How is lawyer's wing of JI envolved on Mr. Kurd, Mr. Muneer Malik, Mr. Aitzaz, Mr. Khosa, Mr. Qayyum, Mr. Naeem Bukhari, PPP, PML-N side ? I don't understand ?

JI is not on PPP's, PML-N's side. This is false info.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 16:15 #
  5. @HARISKHAN
    bro again as i mentioned in my post aitazaz has not announced support yet but is most likely to similarly JI is likely to support ASMA jehangir or feild there own candidate as there hav been tensions between the INSAAF LAWYERS WING AND THE JI WING OF LAWYERS.. and bro many ppl who dunt support the govt at all are supporting Asma jehangir because she enjoys a lot of respect in public due to her contribution as a social worker So if u support asma jehangir it does not mean u are on the governments side

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 16:46 #
  6. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

(1) I have no idea of rifts between lawyers' wings of PTI & JI

Why are these rifts there ? What's the problem ?

(2) Ms. Asma is a biased person i.e., biased to work for the agenda of the west. She has favoured PPP or 'secular' 'gangs' all throughout her life.

I hope JI 'recognizes' the fact that she is of 'secular' mindset. JI should not make the mistake of supporting her. Why should they ?

I don't trust her to have well-being of Muslims at heart. I trust her to be the one to commit treason against Muslims.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 17:05 #
  7. @Haris khan
    Wa-leikum-assalam
    we can agree to disagree on asma jehangir it so happens i respect her as a human being and social worker yes i completly disagree with her political views and her views on the JUDICIARY. Even in the present elections i am supporting owais ahmed however that is due to my political views otherwise i hav the highest regard for ASMA jehangirs work as a social worker wether she is a good muslim or not is not for us to decide
    ON THE RIFTS BETWEEN THE INSAF LAWYERS WING AND JI LAWYERS WING these began when ISF activists were assualted by IJT activists, in fact the Insaf Lawyers wing still holds ill will towards Ji becuz of the treatment meated out to Khan sb in PUNJAB UNIVERSITY in NOV 2007.. Trust me bro the top level leadership of the party may have forgotten but the worker of the PTI has still not forgiven the IJT for what happened and that is why there is illwill between the two lawyers wings u see Hamid Khan has yet not approached the JI for support of Owais ahmed and doesnt plan to either so JI will most probably end up supporting Asma Jehangir announcing there on candidate will be a stupididity as there support among lawyers is with all due respect NEGLIGABLE

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 17:48 #
  8. and oh i forgot to mention this election is one of the main reasons for the ongoing all PAKISTAN BREIFCASE TOUR of babar awan

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 19:08 #
  9. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Let's see what ALLAH ALMIGHTY has in-store for people of this nation.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 20:50 #
  10. @ Haris yes only time will tell.. though if asma wins it will be a big blow for the judiciary

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 22:21 #
  11. previous election of supreme court bar win Qazi Anwar because restoration of judiciary was fresh issue, and most prominent lawyer groups did not opose him or did not support oponent candidate. He did not win that election because of PTI, to claim that he win because support of PTI, is just (Ahmaqoon kee janat mein rehnay wali baat ha).
    Situation now is totally different, there is no chance to win for Khawaja Awais or Hamid khan group in upcoming election.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 23:01 #
  12. @MYSYEDH
    THE CANDIDATE WHO FOUGHT AGAINST QAZI was supported by munner malik and tariq mehmood.. so the claim abt him winning becuz of lawyers movment is a tall one.. and bro u are sleeping as i mentioned earlier pti has district presidents in lahore, swat,mingora,faisalabad,peshawar,lahore,islamabad,among others and recently hamid khans candidate crushed the joint candidate of ppp pml-n who was supported by aitazaz,khosa,qayuum among others aur bhai lawyers movement saein pehley bhai Hamid khan group was always the dominant group in lawyer politics

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 23:08 #
  13. If 4 or 5 PTI candidates, out of over 200 bar associations, won elections with help of judiciary issue that is not proving that PTI is most popular party in lawyers.
    However it is still shocking for many peoples like me that candidates belong to PTI won even 5 bar associations. Perhaps these candidates were elected in their personal influence and local lawyer politic.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jul 2010 11:04 #
  14. @mysedh
    the umber is far above five ... and as i said lahore plays the prominent role as over 40% of the electorate lives there and hamid khans (PTIs) candidate crushed by a huge margin the candidate supported by PML-N AND PPP LAWYERS WINGS and supported by aitazaz,khosa and qayuum ..

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jul 2010 16:53 #
  15. AND THE president of the LAHORE HIGH COURT BAR which by the way is the biggest bar in the country is also a PTI candidate.. aur mysedh sahab kisi bhi lawyer sein poonch lein ATLEAST IN LAWYER POLITICS APP KI pml-n sei kahein ziyada support hein PTI KI.... and bakki raha KARACHI tuan i cant deny that ASMA JEHANGIR has the upper hand over here however RASHID RIZVIS support will help OWAIS ahmed a lot

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jul 2010 16:56 #
  16. I am going to wait this election and if khawaja awais win, i will give you congratulation. Yaar PML noon is not meri party, es sey bari gaali meray liay koi aur nein ho sakti keh aap mujah Nawaz Sharif kee party sey munsalik karain.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jul 2010 18:32 #
  17. @MYSEDH
    lol sorry bro... most of the ppl who dunt support PTI hav a fancy to noon chalo atleast ure not one of them and

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jul 2010 18:37 #
  18. gunnerz30
    brother i am sorry that your khawaja awais lost election. on july 4, 2010 i promised you that i will give you congratulation if your khawaja awais win election. Highest lawyer forum prove it that they want real rule of law and independent/neutral judiciary. This forum rejected tout group.
    During this election chief justice Iftkhar choudary, justice Khawja Sharif and some other judges committed serious misconduct, supporting khawaja awais. They violated rule of of independent and neutral judiciary, they are disqualified for their present positions, they should resign from their positions because of this very serious misconduct.

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Oct 2010 17:36 #
  19. ideas2010

those who lost thier WIN will try to mixed this secular and non secular and support of government ..this proves that what people demands. and majority people rejected propaganda agaianst asma jahangir were projected by nawaz shareef and media with the help of JI...

while nawaz shareef just using JI for their benifit and when time for hardship he has other aganda and isolate from JI...

he use street power of JI and himeslf he is empty....

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Oct 2010 17:49 #
  20. aayelleye

yes pti lawyer wing is the most powerful wing in pakistan rather far more powerful...you see guys this ellection shows that every political party is biased against imran khan.they are not natural allies but for win over pti's candidate they were united and surprisingly ji too as aasma is very liberal woman and so biased against mullahs..

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Oct 2010 20:38 #
  21. sultanalikhan

@msyedh.....what misconduct on part of CJP you are talking about?

is this just your gibberish or there is any real substance to it? no innuendos but facts only please!!!

Posted 1 year ago on 30 Oct 2010 13:15 #
  22. SultanAliKhan
    Chief justice Ifikhar choudary make visit to lahore High court bar, few days before bar election, to influence and support tout group. Many peoples whom were present at that occasion, agree that this was part of election compaign.

Justice Khawaja Sharif was staying in Rawalpind on election day to participate in active election compaign. Nobody is surprise about Khawaja sharif, everybody knows his political views.
    These are just few examples but if there is real independent Invistigation about this misconducts then many stories will be coming out from many lawyers, how these judges were intimidating this election and compaigning for tout group. There are many stories in lawyers community but nobody want to say on media. perhaps these lawyers don't want to make angry judicial chain of command. They have to appear everyday in their courts.

Posted 1 year ago on 30 Oct 2010 15:43 #
  23. @MYSYEDH
    as i mentioned 4 months ago hamid khans cndidate would be hard to defeat but asma is a though candidate .... exactly wat happened ....
    congrats to asma and her supporters
    btw ASMA and her team have not made the accusations that u are making over here.... perhaps becuz they dont blog on pkpoltics and will have to make it on the media where they will have to back it up with PROOFS of which you or they have NONE...
    AND PLZ FOR GODS SAKE CHECK UR FACTS.... YOU SAID THE FOLLOWING:
    "Chief justice Ifikhar choudary make visit to lahore High court bar, few days before bar election, to influence and support tout group. Many peoples whom were present at that occasion, agree that this was part of election compaign.

Justice Khawaja Sharif was staying in Rawalpind on election day to participate in active election compaign. Nobody is surprise about Khawaja sharif, everybody knows his political views.
    These are just few examples but if there is real independent Invistigation about this misconducts then many stories will be coming out from many lawyers, how these judges were intimidating this election and compaigning for tout group. There are many stories in lawyers community but nobody want to say on media. perhaps these lawyers don't want to make angry judicial chain of command. They have to appear everyday in their courts. "
    YES EVERY1 KMNOWS ABT KHAWJAS POLITICAL VIEWS.... he supports pml-n (i am not a big fan of khawja and will make no secret of it and nor is hamid kahn he infact blasted him in a recent interview with samma tv) however did u know THAR PML-N LAWYERS WING SUPPORTED ASMA?.... SO TECHNICALLY IF HIS POLITICAL VIEWS EFFECTED HIM U ARE TRYING TO SAY THAT HE SUPPORTED ASMA ARE YOU CUZ IT SOUNDS LIKE THAT :p
    ANYWAYZ CHEERS

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Nov 2010 15:41 #
  24. @MYSYEDH
    as i mentioned 4 months ago hamid khans cndidate would be hard to defeat but asma is a though candidate .... exactly wat happened ....
    congrats to asma and her supporters
    btw ASMA and her team have not made the accusations that u are making over here.... perhaps becuz they dont blog on pkpoltics and will have to make it on the media where they will have to back it up with PROOFS of which you or they have NONE...
    AND PLZ FOR GODS SAKE CHECK UR FACTS.... YOU SAID THE FOLLOWING:
    "Chief justice Ifikhar choudary make visit to lahore High court bar, few days before bar election, to influence and support tout group. Many peoples whom were present at that occasion, agree that this was part of election compaign.

These are just few examples but if there is real independent Invistigation about this misconducts then many stories will be coming out from many lawyers, how these judges were intimidating this election and compaigning for tout group. There are many stories in lawyers community but nobody want to say on media. perhaps these lawyers don't want to make angry judicial chain of command. They have to appear everyday in their courts. "
    YES EVERY1 KMNOWS ABT KHAWJAS POLITICAL VIEWS.... he supports pml-n (i am not a big fan of khawja and will make no secret of it and nor is hamid kahn he infact blasted him in a recent interview with samma tv) however did u know THAR PML-N LAWYERS WING SUPPORTED ASMA?.... SO TECHNICALLY IF HIS POLITICAL VIEWS EFFECTED HIM U ARE TRYING TO SAY THAT HE SUPPORTED ASMA ARE YOU CUZ IT SOUNDS LIKE THAT :p
    ANYWAYZ CHEERS

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Nov 2010 15:42 #
  25. @MYSEDH
    U CLAIM "MANY PPL PRESENT ON THE OCCASION SAY THAT IT WAS PART OF THE ELECTION CAMPAIGN " could name one such person ?... just one?...... no u cant......

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Nov 2010 15:45 #