Shafqat Mahmood REPLACES Umer Cheema???

(39 posts)
  1. mariabashir

AOA,
    I've heard that Umer Cheema is forced to resign to make way for Shafqat Mahmood.
    Dont know its true or not.
    Need confirmation or Rebuttal!

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 8:46 #
  2. scandinavian

It's true, and a good move

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 9:01 #
  3. siddiqi73

Is Shafqat Mehmood any good on holding his fort against Sana Bucha :D

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 9:10 #
  4. scandinavian

About Shafqat Mahmood:

LAHORE - Famous Urdu columnist and intellectual Shafqat

Mahmood would join Pakistan Tehreek-e-Pakistan (PTI) today (Wednesday), sources said on Tuesday. According to the sources said, PTI chief Imran Khan is expected to visit Shafqat’s residence for a meeting, where Shafqat will make the announcement of joining the PTI. Shafqat did Masters in Public Administration from the Harvard University Cambridge, USA, in 1981. He got another Masters degree in Public Policy and Administration from the University of Southern California in 1987. He served as assistant commissioner in Murree and Pakpattan from 1975 to 1978 after which he was posted as a provincial deputy secretary in Lahore till 1980.
    He also served as deputy commissioner in Gujranwala and DG Khan for 5 years and also as additional commissioner Afghan Refugees Organisation for quite some time in 1985.
    He was additional secretary finance in Punjab during 1988-89 and later served as joint secretary PM’s Secretariat from 1989 to 1990. Shafqat was elected as member of Senate in March, 1994 for a six-year term. He is a member of the Senate Standing Committees on Cabinet, Establishment and Management Services, Defence, Defence Production, Aviation, Foreign Affairs, Kashmir Affairs and Northern Areas, and the Functional Committee on Govt Assurances.

Link: http://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/2011/11/shafqat-mahmood-expected-to-join-pti-today/

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 9:23 #
  5. pakstar

He will also be replaced after a while. PTI formula. Agay dohor peechay choor...
    Puranay workers bye bye.... jee navay aiyaa noo

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 9:27 #
  6. scandinavian

@pakstar

Nice to see your "intellectual" capacity exposed. Please "enlighten" us further with your "immense knowledge" ;)

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 9:29 #
  7. siddiqi73

@pakstar,

For real though dude....this guy Omar Cheema sounded and looked like nothing more that a personal masseus of Imran Khan; a very stale and unenterprising fella he was.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 9:29 #
  8. insaftak

Thank god!

Omar cheema's incompetence had embarrassed pti on more than one occasion. His pathetic performance in lekin program was followed by tremendous anger by insafians and a demand for his resignation.

I am glad party took this decision and appointed someone who has good links with both electronic and print media.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 16:11 #
  9. insafi111

Good move. Did the OP think we would disapprove it? We have been clamoring for it.

This is called merit based appointment. It's not about "old" within the party, it's about your abilities and competencies. And people don't associate with ideological parties based on personal interests and the charm of holding and "office".

Probably this is rocket science to N-leaguers.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 16:12 #
  10. salaudin

It surely is a good move. Media surely wasn't OC's strength !

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 16:20 #
  11. Anwer Kamal

Salute to Bhutto and Benazir
    Their 2nd and 3rd grade worker are now important

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 16:55 #
  12. Anwer Kamal

Mian Azhar
    Masood Shreef Khattak
    Shah Mahmood Qurshi
    Shafqat Mahmood

& Now Pervez Khattak

Salute to Bhutto and Benazir
    Their 2nd and 3rd grade worker are now important
    Congratulation to all PTI supporters

Now make it your official .
    http://youtu.be/QWD9bjATqzs

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 16:56 #
  13. aayelleye1

this is good move by PTI omer cheema is not good for this office now lets c how shafqat cheema handle this job.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 17:00 #
  14. stingingnettle

There is an overt expectation that anyone in 'leadership' position will raise their game and demonstrate excellence. It should be quite normal in a party to hire or fire someone based on performance, it's nothing personal. A party is not a family business or a cult and this is something other parties need to understand.

Merit, performance and service are the touchstones by which every worker must be measured against.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 18:16 #
  15. rahilllll

On one side Leader of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Istaqlal Air Marshal (Rtd) Asghar Khan and Leader of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Sherpao Pervaiz Khattak were planning to announce their joining in Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), while on other side old workers of PTI were protesting against inclusion of corrupts lotas in party. PTI Chairman Imran Khan has strongly criticized workers protesting and said that these workers have no right to ask who is joining and who is leaving and who has been given some party position. Party workers said that Imran Khan can win some seats with this style of politics but the promised revolution can't be brought through such political tactics. Different groups of PTI are fighting with each other for offices and Imran Khan is totally ignoring the need to conduct party elections. Yesterday, two groups of PTI fights at party central secretariat in Islamabad, two days earlier two groups fight in Swabi. In UK party workers are split in two groups and are campaigning against each other.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=068C-_JBRNQ

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 21:22 #
  16. aftab arif

AOA...I thank all my colleagues,well wishers, PTI media team and supporters for their encouragement,support and guidance. It has been an honour to serve the party since its inception 1996 in various capacities. As central information secretary it has been a great learning experience to represent PTI in latter n spirit. Working in a challenging environment made my conviction with PTI grow stronger . I wish Mr.Shafqat Mehmood all the best with his new appointment.

http://www.facebook.com/OmarCheemaPTI?sk=wall&filter=12

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 22:09 #
  17. Anwer Kamal

I wish Mr.Shafqat Mehmood all the best with his new appointment.
    You are right.
    I said already
    Mian Azhar
    Masood Shreef Khattak
    Shah Mahmood Qurshi
    Shafqat Mahmood

& Now Pervez Khattak
    All top leaders from PPP
    Bhutto day naaray wajangay
    Bhutto day naaray
    بھٹو دے نعرے وجن گے
    بھٹو دے نعرے

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 22:43 #
  18. SufiSoul

this is good move by PTI omer cheema is not good for this office now lets c how shafqat cheema handle this job.

lolzzzz

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 22:57 #
  19. msohail83

Dawn reports that Marvi will replace Dr alvi on 25th. They shouldn't sideline all the ppl who stood by him thru thick and thin

Posted 5 months ago on 14 Dec 2011 17:55 #
  20. insaftak

@ msohail

That would be a pathetic move. considering Marvi brings absolutely nothing to the table and won't fit the merit bill as she has no experience managing day to day affairs of any political party. Also Dr. Arif Alvi has done a decent job. Sure he needs to improve his performance but that doesn't mean he needs to be replaced.

Posted 5 months ago on 14 Dec 2011 17:58 #
  21. msohail83

I agree. It made sense to replace cheema to get a better spokesperson but Alvi IMO was doing a fine job. O well ...

Posted 5 months ago on 14 Dec 2011 18:03 #
  22. bsobaid

So analysing all these aania jaania in PTI, I feel the thinking behind all this is that IK feels he needs representation in assembly and once he has it he can use his captaincy and leadership abilities in power to make these not-so-qualified people to work just like he did in Cricket where he made Abdul Qadir a leg-spinner a match winning bowler at a time when spinners were'nt even considered in one days.

This is flawed thinking. IK will realize this when (and if) he comes in power and attempt to assert his authority before establishment at which time people like SMQ will part ways along with a big number of PTI parliamentary members.

Posted 5 months ago on 14 Dec 2011 18:08 #
  23. msohail83

True.. loyalties don't come easy in politics. Ameer left his karkun incarcerated and took the flight to jeddah to escape machar in the jail. Little did he know those machar will come back to haunt him in the form of **** on his return.

Posted 5 months ago on 14 Dec 2011 18:15 #
  24. insaftak

The thing I like about PTI is they asked for omar cheema's head after his performance in Leikin and they got that and fully backed Shafqat Mehmood's appointment as Information Secertary and are openly criticizing this new rumor of marvi memon replacing Dr. Arif Alvi.

We need to keep the pressure on the leadership.

Posted 5 months ago on 14 Dec 2011 18:16 #
  25. Anwer Kamal

Someone wrote here
    I agree. It made sense to replace cheema to get a better spokesperson but Alvi IMO was doing a fine job. O well "
    Better You get Veena Malik in.
    She can speak better with good face and ..........
    She already looks a member of the dirty group.

Posted 5 months ago on 14 Dec 2011 18:27 #
  26. aftab arif

I don't know about others but i like the style and substance of Dr Arif Alvi, if he is too be replaced by Marvi then it is uncalled for and not justified by any stretch of the imagination.

Posted 5 months ago on 14 Dec 2011 18:35 #
  27. d0ct0r

Some two years back a PTIan was 'spitting on his face' for posting an article in The News about Imran

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/shafqat-mehmood-turns-against-imran-joins-mqm-despite-being-from-lahore#post-37594

Another one was calling him "american agent" and "lifafa journalist" and was urging all "members of Taliban Khan’s fan-club" to gang up & start bashing him..

http://pkpolitics.com/2009/05/08/visitors-views-news-week-2-may-2009/#comment-209871

Imran Khan's strange politics

Shafqat Mahmood
    Friday, May 15, 2009

When it comes to politics and policy though, the same Imran is unfortunately a signal failure. It can be truly said of him that he never misses an opportunity to miss an opportunity. He could have teamed up with Nawaz Sharif in 1997 and got his party a presence in parliament. He did not.

He flip-flopped with Musharraf -- supporting him in the rigged referendum, opposing him in the ensuing general election -- and got the worst of both worlds. And, he boycotted the 2007 election when being in parliament (provided he won) would have made a great deal more sense.

These examples are of power politics and it may be argued that parliamentary success or power are no measure of a person's success as a politician. Fine, let us look at his policy prescriptions.

From the start of his political career, he railed against something called western culture, which was a straight forward rejection of modernisation. In a country that was being pulled back by obscurantist mullahs, this was a strange choosing of sides. I will not even go into the personal choices he made while doing this.

His second fixation was the idealisation of a Pakhtun tribal culture. Again, I will avoid psychoanalysing a Punjabi's identity crisis, but how a semi-literate and simple rural people could become a role model for a rapidly urbanising and complex Pakistani society was not easy to understand.

Granted that their inter-tribal dealings were egalitarian and perhaps the tribal councils or jirgas worked well, but how this model could be transplanted in other parts of the country, was neither explained by Imran nor obvious.

In between, he took some correct positions on the judiciary question and against Musharraf but badly fumbled while trying to prosecute Altaf Hussain in England. A politician should know which battles can be won and which are a lost cause. Imran vowed to go after Altaf Hussain in England and declared victory even before he had presented his case before the British government. As was expected, nothing has happened despite his various entreaties to the high and mighty in that country.

But, all these mistakes pale in comparison when measured up against his obsessive, single track refusal to understand that these barbarian hordes targeting FATA and Malakand division are a threat to our country. He has just one mantra that this is America's fault, America's fault, America… etc. America has contributed to it but is that the only problem we confront?

He cannot or does not want to understand that these people are linked up with Al Qaeda and actually do have an agenda of taking over our country. If he does not want to believe a 'westernised liberal' like me, he should read Saleem Saafi in Jang or others that know these people well.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=177589&Cat=9&dt=5/16/2009

Posted 5 months ago on 14 Dec 2011 20:08 #
  28. zardaro

@ Anwer Kamal---Veena Malik has also declared all her assets so she is really fit to join PTI.

@ doctor---I was thinking of the same article. Thanks for posting it. In fact, in Newsbeat program of December 14, 2011, the anchor questions Shafqat Mahmood about this article and he gets very agitated.

Insafians should watch the show so they can see how Shafqat Mahmood performs. Insafians need to understand that these so-called heavyweights come at a price---they are not coming because suddenly they have been converted by Imran. They are coming because either Imran or the establishment that is sending them is promising them something in return. This is just common sense but of course those who are blinded by Imran can't figure it out.

If Marvi Memon replaces Arif Alvi, that would be classic....agay agay dekho hota hai kia----tabdili aa rahi hai PTI ke andhar, Pakistan mein nahin...

Posted 5 months ago on 15 Dec 2011 6:00 #
  29. Bawa

عمر چیمہ شفقت محمود پر برس پڑے

تحریک انصاف کے نئے سیکرٹری اطلاعات عمران کے سخت ناقد رہے اور ان کو ایک مثالی ناکام قرار دیتے تھے

http://search.jang.com.pk/details.asp?nid=580890

Posted 5 months ago on 15 Dec 2011 6:09 #
  30. zoabkhan

Is PTI making moves based on voting? I really hope these are moves by consensus.

Posted 5 months ago on 15 Dec 2011 7:01 #
  31. insaftak

@ Bawa

one of Imran Khan's political secertary is a guy who was part of IJT that beat up on Imran Khan in Punjab University.

I see no problem here if things are done on merit. Ideally I would have preffered Faisal Javed Khan who was recently appointed as Deputy information Secertary to replace him but I guess he needs more time to develop his game.

Posted 5 months ago on 15 Dec 2011 7:35 #
  32. aristotle

inna Ilah .

kahi ka pathar kahi ka rorra
    bhan mati ne kunmba jora

IK

U want to play with this crap?

Posted 5 months ago on 15 Dec 2011 10:25 #
  33. cutenice62

Ik really has a big heart, a person who was his greatest critic, appointing him as INfo Sec means he wants to work on merit.

Posted 5 months ago on 16 Dec 2011 7:56 #
  34. insafi111

@cutenice62,

You have raised a brilliant point that I was just about to talk about.

If the fault lies in one's eyes, he will find a fault in just about anything.

Here we have a brilliant example of IK's greatness that not only did he recognize the worth of a person regardless of his criticism towards him in the past and appointed him on an important post, but also his examplary success which made his hypocrite opponents shudder with fear and his sincere opponents change their mind.

But N-leaguers cannot see the above. They have to display their pettiness and smallness and raise pitty points about personality clashes.

They deem every person to be as selfish, incompetent and greedy as their leader, Nawaz Sharif has shown us to be. THey think everyone has the same lust for power and ego issues.

This is the problem with these "leaders" of the past. They bring the worst out of their supporters. They not only commit financial corruption and corrupt the system, they commit psychological corruption too and spoil the whole system.

Jis tarank ek gandi machli poore tailab ko ganda kar deti hai, isi tarah, Nawas Sharif jaise politicians ne pori siasat ka nam ganda kar deya hai.

Posted 5 months ago on 16 Dec 2011 10:45 #
  35. stingingnettle

cutenice62;

I have got to give it to you, you make a superb point.

Appointment of Shafqat is truly breaking the mould as Insafi111 says.

The notion that it is proper to appoint only yes-men and yes-women to party post is archaic and so last century.

The idea of appointing a critic to a very important post is key to preventing the echo effect.

This whole idea is completely lost on PPP and PML (all versions) and that is good news for PTI.

Reform and meritocracy only can only take hold when we allow dissent to flourish as vigorously as assent.

Posted 5 months ago on 16 Dec 2011 10:56 #
  36. scandinavian

@SN

"The idea of appointing a critic to a very important post is key to preventing the echo effect."

It is exactly this "echo effect" which has brought us so far and so close to the brink of disaster :(

Critics on merit should always be welcomed. I would oppose absolute power to anyone incl. Imran!

Posted 5 months ago on 16 Dec 2011 11:03 #
  37. stingingnettle

Scandanavian;

Zardari and Nawaz's leaderships remind me of the story by Hans Christian Anderson, called 'The Emperor's New Chothes!'

It is such a perfect depiction of what ails both the men.

If you haven't already read it, you must, I insist!

Posted 5 months ago on 16 Dec 2011 11:09 #
  38. scandinavian

@SN

Eeehhhh. Look at my name. How could I miss H.C, Andersen's story ;)

I agree. It is the perfect example.

It can be read here:
    http://hca.gilead.org.il/emperor.html

Posted 5 months ago on 16 Dec 2011 11:18 #
  39. stingingnettle

Scandavavian;

"Eeehhhh. Look at my name. How could I miss H.C, Andersen's story ;)"

You've got me! You have a point.

Posted 5 months ago on 16 Dec 2011 11:45 #