Shaheed

(18 posts)
  1. Unique

I am a bit perplexed with the very liberal use of this word in Pakistani politics. Zulfiqar Bhutto, Shahnawaz Bhutto, Murtaza Bhutto and Benazir Bhutto all are described as Shaheed. Do the people really understand the meaning of the this word?

May be an intellectual from the media, PPP or a regligious scholar will through some light!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 10:28 #
  2. All were murdered in a sense. BB was warned of the risks and consequences both. She refused to minimize her exposure and was easily targeted. Bhutto was hanged. Shahnawaz and Murtaza were murdered.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 10:34 #
  3. Sirf Pakistani

According to Ahadith

Those muslims who killed in battlefeild or those who killed during natural disasters are shaheed

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 10:34 #
  4. amin1924

They are using shaheed term more as political respect, not the actual shaheed as defined by Qur'an/Sunnah.

Everyone knows that these politicians are not shaheed.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 10:46 #
  5. sasherwani

When will Zardari get the "Shahaadat ka rutba" ? :(

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 10:58 #
  6. Unique

Sorry to disappoint you Sherwani but Zardari is not a Bhutto or is he going to change his name by deed and poll?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 11:04 #
  7. latentry

Ithayy sarayy shaheed naay

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 11:10 #
  8. Bhutto kay ghar ki billi,mukhi aur choha bhi shaheed hay .

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 11:37 #
  9. @unique ,
    u seems like a new member ...welcome...
    i have discussed my view on this topic for quite a number of times.
    my stand is very simple and understandable .

i put Hazrat Omar Razi Allah tala ,Hazrat Usman Ghani Razi Allah ,Hazrat Ali Razi Allah ,Hazrat Khalid bin Walid ,Hazrat Imam Hussian ,Hazrat Imam Hassan Razi Allah ,Liaqat Ali Khan Shaheed ,Tipu Sultan,Haider Ali,Major Aziz Bhatti,Sarwer Shaheed,Major Tufail Shaheed ,Rashid Minhas Shaheed and Hakim Mohammad Shaheed into the list of Shaheeds .

my conscious never allows me to put selfish ,power hungry ,greedy ,self centered ,corrupt ,double standard leaders like Bhutto ,BB ,Zahoor Allahi ,Anwer Sadat ,Shahnawaz into the same category and bracket .

i just cant do it .
    i just cant .

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 12:11 #
  10. Sky didn't collapse where Bhagat Singh and Ram Mohammad Singh
    Azad (Sardar Udham Singh) were also decorated with the titles of Shaheed.
    People are prudent enough to contrast the status of
    Halaku Khan and Sultan Tipu.
    Phoolan Devi and Sir Ganga Ram.

(This topic has been blessed with Shahadat, several times at this forum.)

@ Beena,
    Your list is short of one more Shaheed, Zia-ul-Haq.
    Also guide me to fix the status of suicide bombers.
    Could we honor them as Shaheed?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 12:55 #
  11. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I agree. This term HAS been abused.

There are reasons why it continuously gets abused.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 13:21 #
  12. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

In the old times, people used to derive their standards from 'Ulamaa' (in urdu), who were usually the most educated, brilliant people of the society.

In the old ages, the most brilliant of people within Muslims would opt for religious sciences as a subject in Universities

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 13:23 #
  13. Unique

Yes, I am a new member and thank you for the welcome.

My own understanding of the meaning of Shaheed is I beleive quite simple i.e a person who gives his life in the way of Allah is given the status of Shaheed. But then when I started reading and listening to people describing members of Bhutto family being described as Shaheed, I got confused. If one looks the circumstances of the death of Bhutto family members, Z. A Bhutto was hanged for his involvement in a murder case. I can well understand if his death is described as a "Judicial Murder" but to call him Shaheed is wrong. I will ignore Shahnawaz and Murtaza but take the circumstances for Benazir's death. She went to a political rally not in the cause of Allah but for her personal political gain. Unfortunately she was killed but where does Shahadat comes in? My mind boggles.

@Javaidsheikh
    If India decides to call Bhagat Singh and any other person Shaheed, it is not an issue for me. The referral is to non-muslims and Shahdat only applies to Muslims. Bad example I am afraid.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 13:33 #
  14. SufiSoul

when two muslims fight for Islamic ideology only than both are shaheeds....
    If any one has some other aim to fight than he looses the status of bieng shaheed against the other side...
    This is very simple rule....that what was your aim actually,matters???

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Nov 2009 13:40 #
  15. @Sheikh sahib,
    i have mentioned in my last para of the previous post that i just can not bracket the dishonest ,power hungry and corrupt into my list of Shaheeds .
    thats why nor Bhutto or BB neither Zia can be a part of my list of Shaheeds .
    as long as india is concerned ,they r free to title any one Shaheed ,though ,its a typical islamic terminology and concept.

@Unique ,
    its given from day one ...that if some one belongs to Bhutto family ,he/she has to take a title of Shaheed .
    no matter ,if some one got poisoned by his wife ...
    but still is shaheed .
    some one got killed by his own brother in law ,but still shaheed .
    some one got killed by her own hubby ,but still Shaheed .

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Nov 2009 4:54 #
  16. sasherwani

If Zia ul Haq was shaheed, then Michael Jackson too was shaheed ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Nov 2009 5:04 #
  17. Junon ka naam khurad parr gaya ,Khuradd ka Junoo
    Jo Chahiye Apka Husn e Karishma saaz karay

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Nov 2009 6:00 #
  18. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I thought Michael Jackson had converted to Islam ?

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Nov 2009 13:44 #
  19. zeshaan

Bhuto ki shahadat,
    Khuda in ppp kay leadroon ko Bhuto jaisi shadat naseeb karay.

Zia ul haq,
    Khuda in pml waloon ko aisee shadat naseeb karay jisa keh usnay Zia ul ha1q ko naseeb kee.

Khuda kay liay iss lafaz ka bayja istemaal na kia karain.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Nov 2009 14:16 #