PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

Shia - Sunni relations in Pakistan

(39 posts)
  1. Anonymous

What do you think about Sunni Shia relations in pakistan?
    Do you think Shias are living freely?
    Do you think there is any descrimination by state and government against shias?? or sunnis?

I believe Pakistan is unique in the sense that in Pakistan Sunnis and Shias live together in the same neighbourhoods. You will be surprised to know that in many, actually all, middle eastern countries with the exception of Iraq, Syria and Lebanon, shias conceal their identity and live in separate neighbourhoods out of fear. So I believe at an awami level Pakistanis have done a good job! Also our Prime Minister have come from a part shia family and our president's family also belong to a shia-like sect, and none of the awam seem to care about that, which again is a good sign.

There are areas like Parachanaar and Gilgit and some other areas where there have been tensions but those are isolated and invidiual areas and at a general level we dont see any animosity between the two sects in Pakistan, or do we????

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS NOT A RELIGIOUS THREAD AND I DO NOT INTEND TO DEBATE WHICH SECT IS RIGHT OR WRONG.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 22:31 #
  2. raheb

WHAT is shia.sunni? Terms do not Exist in Islam, then Why to mention?

raheb

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 22:33 #
  3. NNL

depends actually lot on a case to case basis.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 22:33 #
  4. Anonymous

Shia Sunni, as they are understood in Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 22:36 #
  5. raheb

Let others understand what they want but if we understand WHY should we use these terms at all?
    Just no need to mention it or Condemn it rather than debate it.

raheb

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 22:38 #
  6. expakistani

well as far as i know, in karachi shia prefer to live in Shia Neighborhood Rizvia colony, sadat Amrhoa colony
    Ancholi .... etc
    bcz of this nature one of my friend call them " khatmal ".

since house prices are bit high in those areas sunnies are trying to move out and Shias are trying to move in.....

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 1:26 #
  7. amin1924

I love all despite differences -we are all imperfect muslims-

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 3:30 #
  8. Aziz kakar

Prime minister Shia hay or President bi shia ki tarah family say talooq rakta hay, iss lai to pakistan taba or totnay ki taraf jarah hay. or Sunni ko swat or Wazirstan may mara jarah hay.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 3:44 #
  9. Red-Scorpion

@Aziz kakar

"""Prime minister Shia hay or President bi shia ki tarah family say talooq rakta hay, iss lai to pakistan taba or totnay ki taraf jarah hay. or Sunni ko swat or Wazirstan may mara jarah hay. """

First of all I don't think Gillani is Shia, he belongs to a Barelvi family and he's some sort of Pir in his area !
    Zardari is also not Shia, but in fact Molai, people from Sindh and Punjab know who actually Molais are, they are Sunnis but have lots of love for Prophet's family and they also believe that Ali used to have some especial powers and was somehow a supernatural being !

Now, I failed to understand your logic that if Shias happened to be ruling Pakistan then Pakistan won't survive, how ?
    Was Gen. Yahya a Shia too ? as BD became seperate country when Yahya Khan was ruling Pakistan !
    BTW what's your take on massacres of Shias in Kurram, Orackzai, and Quetta by Sunni militants linked with Talibans ?

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 4:42 #
  10. Anonymous

Agha Yahya was probably shia.
    Gillani comes from part Shia family.

i totally disagree with Aziz Kakar.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 4:57 #
  11. Red-Scorpion

@Aziz kakar

BTW founder of Pakistan Mr. Jinnah was also a Shia :))))

And Deobandi Talibans were supported both financially and militarily during Shia BB's second government :))

What do you think now ???? :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 5:43 #
  12. shahzad1924

the reality is that there is no "division" within the ummah on the basis of madhab. its the rulers who always whine about shia vs sunni.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 5:49 #
  13. Red-Scorpion

LOLzzz

Tell us dude, why there has been infights amongst your Muslim Ummah right after the death of the Prophet starting from Saqifa, and then Battle of Camel (Jamal), Battle of Sifeen, Battle of Naharwaan, Battle at Karbala, Attack on Medina and Makkah by Yazid's army and killing of Abdullah ibne Zubair, and now what's happening in Iraq (Shia-Sunni fighting) and Pakistan (Shia-Deobandi/Wahhabi, Barelvi-Deobandi/Wahhabi) ???

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 5:55 #
  14. kingsalah

"Aik hun muslim haram ki pasbani k liey

Neel k sahil se le kar tabakhakhe Kashagar"

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 5:55 #
  15. shahzad1924

none of the events mentioned by RS has any relevance to shia vs sunni except for what is happening in Iraq. and everyone knows that before the occupation, there was no such thing in Iraq. American spies bombed shia mosques and gave the impression that it was done by sunnis and they also killed sunni leaders and made it look as if it was an act of shias. before that, there was no shia sunni. and insha Allah when Iraq will be liberated by the army of the khilafah, everything will go back to normal

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 6:00 #
  16. Red-Scorpion

LOLzzzz

Oh really :))
    Dude minority Sunnis enjoyed majority Shias in Iraq for over seven deccades, and once their Iqtedaar gone they started killing shias and bombing their holy places and that all was done in the name of Jihaad under the banner of your Al-Qaeda :)))
    Well, what do you think about Shia-Deobandi/Wahhabi, Barelvi-Deobandi/Wahhabi clashes in Pakistan, is Mossad, CIA or RAW is involved in those fights :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 6:04 #
  17. shahzad1924

which Shia-Deobandi/Wahhabi, Barelvi-Deobandi/Wahhabi clashes???

all i see in today's newspapers is that the government is selling Pakistan in the name of kerry lugar bill

all i see in today's newspapers is another drone attack

all i see in today's newspapers is preparation for an offensive in south waziristan.

all i see in today's newspapers is American plans to bomb Quetta and Muridke.

what are you talking about?

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 6:09 #
  18. Red-Scorpion

"""which Shia-Deobandi/Wahhabi, Barelvi-Deobandi/Wahhabi clashes???"""

Bhai, Khailfah kiya aap ko newspapers censor kay baad miltay hain, kiya HT walay aap kee itni brainwashing kar chookay hain kay aap ko pata hee nahi kay Pakistan may kiya kuch ho raha hay :)))
    Dude enjoy living in state of denial :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 6:14 #
  19. Anonymous

I dont think such clashes take place at an awami level.

Terrorists who are involved in sectarian violence have zero public support.

Please stick to the topic/

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 6:17 #
  20. Red-Scorpion

@Obaid Bhai

Whole villages of shias were burnt by Deobandi Taliban terrorists in Orackzai and Kurram Agencies !
    Do you know what happened in Gilgit durin late 1980s ?
    Lashkars of deobandi Kohistanis burnt villages and raped shia women there !
    Do you know what's happening in Bara Tehsil of Khyber Agency, Deobandi Lashkar-e-Islam killing opponent Barelvi Ansar-ul-Islam !

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 6:20 #
  21. NNL

somehow i cant see the Tax on advert thread

anyone else facing the a similar issue

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 6:37 #
  22. NNL

cant access thread but u guys can since u guys are ehre i thought i ask here

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 6:52 #
  23. shriq

bsobaid,
    to the original thread topic! Yes Pakistanis normally dont care. In all the areas, I have seen shias and sunnis mingling with each other without the minority shias hiding their sect. They enjoy all the benefits that sunnis enjoy (whatever benefits our governments can leave for us).

Pakistanis overall are moderate in this approach!

A few incidences can not be /should not be painted to whole Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 6:54 #
  24. this thread is going to turn into a hate debate very soon.
    please try avoid opening these kinda controversial topics.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 11:08 #
  25. shriq

Agreed,

Sensitive matter, I request (if bsobaid agrees) to close it.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 11:11 #
  26. @bsobaid,
    and where r u?

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 11:18 #
  27. latentry

kill everyone who beleives in this shia sunni crap. Anyone who is shia, suni, bravli, wahabi, taliban or whatver is not muslim

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 13:27 #
  28. Red-Scorpion

LOLzzzz

Then I think only you are a muslim and HT guys are muslim, rest are Pakay Kafir :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 13:35 #
  29. Anonymous

This thread was intended to promote sectarian harmony.

Gilgit and Parachanar are exceptions. Those events took place in isolated areas and do not apply to the country as a whole. Taliban killed everyone and shias were no exception, so that does not apply either.

Yes, in 80s the situation was no good and many terrorist group spread cancer of sectarianism with middle eastern sponsorship but Pakistani awam woke up pretty quick and condemned the terrorist intentions.

Please appreciate ourselves for demonstrating religious harmony.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 14:43 #
  30. The Shia and Sunni from Pakistan are different than Shia of the Middle East.
    As far as harmony among these two sects is concerned this topic can carry on safely. The key being 'sectarian harmony' should keep any further discussion on track.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 14:48 #
  31. shriq

Alhamdulillah, when I was in Pakistan, I had shia and sunni friends in school, college, university, office, in my street, mohalla. Nobody ever even said anything about hurting followers of any of the sect. Both fared well! Lived together and enjoy so many things together.

And I can proudly say 99% of Pakistanis are like this. Tolerant! Peaceful!

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 15:23 #
  32. amin1924

Zia politicized the issue to push back impact of Iranian revolution, generals with limited vision and reactionary personalities cause more damage than to solve any problem.

These are centuries old traditions and all have lived in peace and harmony -mostly.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 15:48 #
  33. quaidkamazaar

let the Ahmedies live.
    let the Shias live.
    let the Sunnis live.
    let the Agha Khanis live.
    let all religions live.

we have to realize differences and not blow up each others mosques. healthy debate is maybe okay but that hardly happens. these sects were bound to arise.

Islam is about spreading love first and taking care of your neighbor irrespective of religion.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 21:57 #
  34. Asli Moulana

Let them live thats not a issue but stop calling them Muslims thats the main issue.

With Shia Sunnis fanatics on both create frictional atmosphere and thats pretty much.

Its usually at times that some religious books have been doctored to suit one's crazy ideas.

that has been evident from research.

Otherwise there is no problem among Any section of the Society in Pakistan. Only fanatics and un-knowledgeable try to make a mess of it

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Oct 2009 0:59 #
  35. quaidkamazaar

if we fight over who is muslim and who is not,
    there will never be a conclusion to the debate.

why not let Allah the knower of all things decide. you can try your best within your capacity to be a muslim, leave the rest to the almighty.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Oct 2009 2:27 #
  36. amin1924

There is a lot of corruption today in practices of Muslims from Shia & Sunni which requires detailed scholarly debate.

Originals/classical from both side hold Qur'an & Sunnah as the basic parameter.

So it can be sorted out action by action and idea by idea, but not a good idea to debate such topics on a political forum where seculars & atheists hate unity and poke their noses to represent their gods of logic.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Oct 2009 4:47 #
  37. shriq

quaidkamazaar

""you can try your best within your capacity to be a muslim, leave the rest to the almighty.""

GOOD ONE, NICE COMMENT!

This is the need of the time!

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Oct 2009 7:29 #
  38. Potohari

I have Shia and Sunni family members,and there is not any acrimony in us, nore I can see any such thing in Pakistani daily life. Saudi, Indian and other agencies tried their best to pit Shias and Sunnis and they failed miserably.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Oct 2009 10:21 #
  39. shriq

Alhamdulillah, and I hope outside agencies who try to split us would fail again if they try.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Oct 2009 10:23 #