PKPolitics Discuss » Faith and Religion

Should we celebrate Prophet's Birthday?

(85 posts)
  1. Celebrating the Mawlid is an innovation introduced by the Shi’a Faatimids after the three best centuries in order to corrupt the religion of the Muslims. If a person does anything in order to draw closer to Allaah which was not done by the Messenger (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) or enjoined by him, and was not done by the khaleefahs who succeeded him, this action implies that he is accusing the Messenger of not explaining the religion to the people, and that he disbelieves in the words of Allaah (interpretation of the meaning):

“This day, I have perfected your religion for you”

[al-Maa'idah 5:3]

because he is adding something extra and claiming that it is a part of the religion, but the Messenger (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) did not bring this.

celebrating the birthday of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), whatever form it takes, is a reprehensible innovation. The Muslims should put a stop to this and other kinds of bid’ah, and occupy themselves with reviving and adhering to the Sunnah. They should not be deceived by those who promote and defend this bid’ah, for these types of people are more interested in keeping innovations alive than in reviving the Sunnah; they may not even care about the Sunnah at all. Whoever is like this, it is not permissible to imitate him or follow his example, even if the majority of people are like this. Rather we should follow the example of those who follow the path of the Sunnah, among the righteous salaf and their followers, even if they are few. Truth is not measured by the men who speak it, rather men are measured by the truth.
    AND ALLAH KNOWS BEST!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Feb 2010 8:57 #
  2. Celebrating the Mawlid is an innovation introduced by the Shi’a Faatimids after the three best centuries in order to corrupt the religion of the Muslims.

Oh! kay. I don't know if that is true. But your argument is, because shia's introduced it so it's wrong to do it. Ahan! so can you please explain this hadith.

Ibn Abas reports that Prophet Muhammad,pbuh, went to Medina and found the Jews fasting on the tenth of Muharram. Prophet Muhammad,pbuh, inquired of them, "What is the significance of this day on which you fast?" They replied, "This is a good day, the day on which God rescued the children of Israel from their enemy. So, Moses fasted this day." Muhammad said, "We have more claim over Moses than you." And the Prophet Muhammad,pbuh, fasted on that day and ordered the Muslims to fast on that day.

How I understand it, is contrary to your claim, but I being an illiterate bidati seek your clarification.

If a person does anything in order to draw closer to Allaah which was not done by the Messenger (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) or enjoined by him, and was not done by the khaleefahs who succeeded him, this action implies that he is accusing the Messenger of not explaining the religion to the people, and that he disbelieves in the words of Allaah (interpretation of the meaning):

“This day, I have perfected your religion for you” [al-Maa'idah 5:3]

okay so what is the justification for:

a) Construction of Madressas,
    b. Dividing the Quran into thirty parts,
    c. Marking the expressions on the Holy Quran, viz. Fatha, Kasra, Dhamma (Zabbar, Zer, Pesh),
    d. Printing the Holy Book and other religious books in the press,
    e. The compilation of I'lm-e-Hadith and Fiqh,
    f. To put down the Holy verses of the Quran in paper form, etc.?

Whoever is like this, it is not permissible to imitate him or follow his example, even if the majority of people are like this.

The Holy Prophet Muhammad (sallal laahu alaihi wasallam) said: Without doubt my Ummah will never be gathered in misguidance. Whenever you see disagreement, then hold fast to the Sawad-e-Azam (the great majority). (Ibne Majah)

The Holy Prophet Muhammad (sallal laahu alaihi wasallam) said: Follow the way of the largest group of Muslims! For, he who deviates from this group will be thrown into Hell! (Ibne Majah)

Should I do what you say or what the prophet Muhammad, peace be upon him, said? hmm, that's a difficult one.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Feb 2010 14:44 #
  3. Celebrating the birthday of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) is an imitation of the Christians, because they celebrate the birth of the Messiah (peace be upon him). Imitating them is extremely haraam. The hadeeth tells us that it is forbidden to imitate the kuffaar, and we are commanded to differ from them. The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Whoever imitates a people is one of them” (narrated by Ahmad, 2/50; Abu Dawood, 4/314). And he said, “Be different from the mushrikeen” (narrated by Muslim, 1/222, no. 259) – especially with regard to things that are the symbols or rituals of their religion....
    Observing the innovation of the Prophet’s birthday opens the door to other kinds of bid’ah and being distracted by them from the Sunnah. Hence you find that the innovators are very active when it comes to bid’ah and very lazy when it comes to the Sunnah; they hate it and regard those who follow it as enemies, until their entire religion is innovated anniversaries and Mawlids. They have split into various groups, each of which commemorates the anniversary of its imaam’s birth, such as the births of al-Badawi, Ibn ‘Arabi, al-Dasooqi and al-Shaadhili. No sooner do they end the celebration of one birthday but they start the celebration of another. This results in exaggeration concerning these dead people and others, and in calling upon them instead of Allaah, believing that they can bring benefit and cause harm, until they deviate from the religion of Allaah and go back to the religion of the people of the Jaahiliyyah of whom Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“And they worship besides Allaah things that harm them not, nor profit them, and they say: ‘These are our intercessors with Allaah’”

[Yoonus 10:18]

“And those who take Awliyaa’ (protectors, helpers, lords, gods) besides Him (say): ‘We worship them only that they may bring us near to Allaah’”

[al-Zumar 39:3]

P.S
    @UMER
    Well brother,i am sorry if i offended you,or any other "Mawlid Celebrator" here,but i certainly have no intentions to do so,seriously:)

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Feb 2010 15:50 #
  4. Well you didn't answer my questions.

Anyway, I know! no one is going to change their belief because of an argument they might get in on Internet, as most people on net are there to 'teach' and not 'discuss'.

There is an answer for each and every objection you've raised on celebrating the birth of the prophet, but without getting into 'refuting the claims' thing, let me just ask you a simple question.

Allah(swt) in the Holy Quran, Says: "In the bounty of God. And in His Mercy, in that "LET THEM REJOICE": that is better than the (wealth) they hoard (10:58)

In this verse Allah(swt) has told us to rejoice on his bounties and mercies.

And at another place Allah(swt) says: We have not sent you(Muhammad) but as a “Mercy to the worlds” (21:107)

So would it be wrong to rejoice on the biggest mercy (birth of the prophet) of Allah(swt)?

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Feb 2010 16:22 #
  5. u've said it urself:
    no one is going to change their belief because of an argument they might get in on Internet, as most people on net are there to 'teach' and not 'discuss'.
    dis is y u r nt going to change ur self out and will continue celebrating it,so no need to debate on it further more!

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Feb 2010 14:31 #
  6. I can see whatever I've said is beyond your understanding. Anyway, keep copy pasting, and stay happy in your bubble.

t/c

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Feb 2010 14:51 #
  7. abukhalid

@ Umer

we need to find out what is the identification of celeberating prophet (peace bu upon him) in the Islam ?

1. Is it belong to Aqeedah ?
    2. Is it the part of any Ebadah in Islam ?
    3. Is it the rejoicing day according to Islam ?
    4. How many people are rejoicing this day in Muslim world by % ?

If you answered to above questioned then kindly go through these statements

A. Are we a more believers of Allah & prophet then Sahaba ? kindly provide any example of rejoicing this day by Sahaba history or Befor 700 Hijri

B. Makkah is the birth place of Prophet (peace be upon him) from the day one till now. So why the people of Makkah do not celeberate this day as the part of Isalmic rejoicing day ?

C. Madinah is a last living city of the prophet (peace be upon him) and the people of Madinah are the belonging of sahabah and there ansesters are belonging to sahaba. So what is the reason that the muslims of 2 biggest place belongs to prophet (peace be upon him) do not rejoice this day ? are they don't know about it ? or we know more then them ?

D. As we know that Makkah & Madinah is the center of all activities belongs to Muhammad & Islam so if there is something a big rejoicing day related to prophet (peace bu upon him) wo why Allah not give here this school of thought ?

above all if we consider below mentioned hadit as you mentioned as a prove of the act you believe

The Holy Prophet Muhammad (sallal laahu alaihi wasallam) said: Follow the way of the largest group of Muslims! For, he who deviates from this group will be thrown into Hell! (Ibne Majah)

so what about the hadith prophet informed us abut 73 firqa of islam and just 1 would be on the right path ?

so this is not a matter that 1 million muslims are following a part having arguments among them if i believe this theory then what about this

1. Today thousand of muslims are doing business on Sood
    2. Thousands of muslims in Indo pak believes to ask rehmat and sawl with Buzrug and head down at the front of Tombs
    3. Thousands of Shia (one of muslim sect) are feel we are not part of the real islam

so what about above muslims they have in excellent majority in whole islamic world ....??? wo also they should claim under the same hadith you mentioned ???

In last

If we claim that we are the true believer of prophet (peace be upon him) so what is our duties ? are we doing the duty prophet asked with us ?. Today one of our muslim sect grout " Ehle sunnat wal jamat Braveli group " what they are donig on the name of prophet ?

1. They pas march on the road at the time of Salah ?
    2. They switched off the light in mosque in every thursday and ask people to close thier eyes and believe that prophet (pbuh) will come here ?
    3. when Imam said Takbeer for Jammat in Fard Salah they sit on thier place and stand up after prophet name ?
    4. they are fighting to hold the mosque with another sect Deobandi ?
    5. go through thier CD's for Naat sharef and speches and check it out what they are firing by their words to other groups and how the are singing Naat in bolly wood songs way .
    6. Why thier mosque are in too much in the areas in pakistan where people are not too much awareness of Islam and why Shias are accepted them too much ?

So basically we are dividing to each other by this way . This is not Khidmat of prophet !!

go through prophet biography and serat and checked out how sahabah folloed him and gave thier body and soul to the name of Allah.

I end my discussin on the last sermon delivered by prophet (pbuh)in the ' Urnah Valley of Mount Arafat on 10th A.H and this known as " Hujja tul Vidah "

" O People, NO PROPHET OR APOSTLE WILL COME AFTER ME AND NO NEW FAITH WILL BE BORN. Reason well, therefore, O People, and understand words which I convey to you. I leave behind me two things, the QURAN and my example, the SUNNAH and if you follow these you will never go astray. "

so follow the sunnah is the best way to show your love to Allah & with beloved prophet (pbuh) becuase in the Here after Allah will not asked with muslim that why some of you rejoicing the Mohammad (pbuh) day or some were not but the question that why you didn't folloe the path of Muhammad (pbuh)..!!

so leave to the body and go towards soul..

Wasalam

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Feb 2010 9:07 #
  8. you're right!we need to tell our brothers and sisters the real meaning of islam and need to demolish all the innovations.thats what our beloved Prophet(peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) told us to do.
    may Allah(SWT)guide us all.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Feb 2010 10:01 #
  9. @ abukhalid

Answer my question, then Inshallah I will try to answer the objections you've raised on celebrating the Mawlid.

"Allah(swt) in the Holy Quran, Says: "In the bounty of God. And in His Mercy, in that "LET THEM REJOICE": that is better than the (wealth) they hoard (10:58)

In this verse Allah(swt) has told us to rejoice on his bounties and mercies.

And at another place Allah(swt) says: We have not sent you(Muhammad) but as a “Mercy to the worlds” (21:107)

So would it be wrong to rejoice on the biggest mercy (birth of the prophet) of Allah(swt)? "

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Feb 2010 12:28 #
  10. @ Muslimah

"demolish all the innovations"?

Innovations:
    a) Construction of Madressas,
    b. Dividing the Quran into thirty parts,
    c. Marking the expressions on the Holy Quran, viz. Fatha, Kasra, Dhamma (Zabbar, Zer, Pesh),
    d. Printing the Holy Book and other religious books in the press,
    e. The compilation of I'lm-e-Hadith and Fiqh,
    f. To put down the Holy verses of the Quran in paper form, etc.?

how about starting from here then...?

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Feb 2010 12:32 #
  11. SufiSoul

@Umer

you need to understand the basic thing that what does it mean to add something new to Islam and what is to explain or elaborate or facilitate existing Islamic rulings and acts..
    Birthday celebration is something new to Islamic acts or celebrations or ahkam or the way to help muslims aqeeda or belief.
    This celebration is/was never among Quran/Hadees/Sahaba Act so its useless/Bidda to perform such acts on the name of Islam....
    Anything out of Quran/Hadees is batil.This is simple to understand..

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Feb 2010 13:01 #
  12. @SufiSoul
    no need to tell him that bro,he wont pay any heed to your comment!!Its useless!
    For such people I must say,
    "Lakum Deenukum Waliyadeen"

May Allah 3Azzawjal Guide us all!

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Feb 2010 13:07 #
  13. SufiSoul

Asal me people have to learn some basic concepts before deciding anything abt ISLAM.but they know nothing as pre-requisite and starts arguing.....

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Feb 2010 13:30 #
  14. SufiSoul

Asal me people have to learn some basic concepts before deciding anything abt ISLAM.but they know nothing as pre-requisite and starts arguing.....

15. SufiSoul

16. @ SufiSoul

I don't know on what basis you've come to the conclusion that mawlid was never performed by Sahaba, and there is no proof of it in Quran-o-hadees, and therefore it's a useless bidah.

Brother, there are two kinds of orders of Allah(swt), first the 'faraiz' (obligatory), and then the things which are 'haram' (forbidden). Only Allah(swt) and his Rasool(saw) have the authority to declare something 'farz' or 'haram', and to deem anything haram has to be backed up with the same kind proof that needs to be provided when one says a thing is farz. And if one argues that mawlid is haram, one should bring irrefutable proof from Quran and Sunnah, which people fail to provide while hurling fatwa's of kufr on those celebrating the mawlid.

Alhamdulilah, there is such evidence available for the permissibility of Mawlid, that even people such as Ibn tamiyya and Abdul wahab najdi had to declare it permissible and said their is a 'big reward' for those who do that.

And brother, please go and read Quran and Ahadeeth again, it is foolish to claim sahaba never celebrated mawlid, even prophet himself celebrated his birthday, and so did sahaba. What do you think, the ahadith that talk about what miracles happened on the day prophet was born, reached to us through jinns or sahaba themselves? So they talked about the mawlid of the prophet, that is why those ahadith reached us and can be seen in all books of ahadith. And that is, what's called celebrating the mawlid.

Anything out of Quran/Hadees is batil.This is simple to understand..

Hmm, seems like Hazrat Bilal(ra) was unable to understand something as simple as that, (astaghfirullah),

One day the Prophet (sallallahu alaihi wa sallam) asked Bilal (radhiAllahu anhu), “O Bilal, how is it that I heard you’re the sound of your footsteps in Jannah?” So Bilal (radhiAllahu anhu) answered, “O Rasulullah (sallallahu alaihi wa sallam), it could be because every time my wudhu breaks, then I go renew my wudhu and then I pray two rakaats nafl.” The Prophet sallallahu alaihi wa sallam answered, “Yes this is the reason why I heard your footsteps.” (Narrated by Ahmad)

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Feb 2010 13:53 #
  17. SufiSoul

@Umer,

Janab i could not understand ur relationship of Hazrat Bilal RTA with my comment u highlighted...
    Second it doesnot mean that if some one dont accept/celebrate milaad than he is refusing Muqame Nabi SAWW...
    Pls give me some clear Hadeese mubaraka or any of the Sahabi RTA act of celebrating Milad......
    And pls also come up with ur definition of Biddah in Islam as mentioned by Ahadees....

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Feb 2010 14:03 #
  18. SufiSoul

Also pls come up with any other muslim countries refference instead of the muslims whom forefathers were converted from hinduism to Islam,celebrating Milad,arranging URS,Decorating Tombs and constantly going to Tombs Dhamals and things like that..
    I think this Pagan culture is only among hindu converted muslim cultures but could not be find among any other culture.....
    Even in Pakistan we can see that bidda is among areas having hindu converted muslims but not rest of the area......
    This is a historical perspective of this issue.....

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Feb 2010 14:10 #
  19. @ sufisoul

The connection of the hadith about hazrat Bilal(ra) is that, a thing which is not found in Quran and Sunnah, and at the same time is not contrary to any 'akham' of Quran and Sunnah, is not only permissible, but very dear to Allah(swt).

Second it doesnot mean that if some one dont accept/celebrate milaad than he is refusing Muqame Nabi SAWW...

Right, and no one says it is farz to celebrate it, but those who celebrate it are highly rewarded by Allah(swt).

Pls give me some clear Hadeese mubaraka or any of the Sahabi RTA act of celebrating Milad......

Bro, are you not aware that Prophet(saw) used to fast on Monday's, and when he was asked why he does that, he(saw) replied, this is the day I was born, so he(saw) celebrated his mawlid. And The Holy Quran mentions the birth of many of the prophets, the holy Quran celebrates the mawlid of Esa(as), and many others. Hazrat Esa said peace be upon the the day I was born, he celebrated his own mawlid. Bro, are you not aware of the Hadith which tells us, that Abu Lahab, a kafir, was happy on the day of the birth of the Prophet(pbuh) and was rewarded by having his punishment reduced on that day. And are you not aware of the ahadith that talk about how many miracles happened on the day Rasulallah(saw) was born? and these ahadith reached to us through sahaba, so they talked about mawlid, that is why those ahadith reached to us.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Feb 2010 14:36 #
  20. @ sufisoul

Seriously man, I don't think your last post is anything more than a frustration rant, as the points you've raised are far from truth, do your own research and you'd know mawlid is celebrated, where ever the Muslims exist, there can be difference in how it is celebrated, but Alhamdulialh majority of Muslims celebrate it and the overwhelming majority of the Ulema's approve it.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Feb 2010 14:47 #
  21. SufiSoul

@Umer,

Bhai ghussa nahi kerty na.we r just discussing here something.
    If its athentic hadees than we shud fast at our own and nabi saww.NO ONE WOULD DENY THIS ACT WHICH ADDING TO UR TAQWA...
    BUT acts nowadays in sub continent at the name of Milad is actually something shud never be tolerated..
    And again dear u skipped the PAGAN culture of MAZAARs in sub-continent and related KHARAFAAT..
    We would like to express ur views also in this regard and pls make some comparative analysis from other countries..Or atleast present some example from areas outside Previous hindustan.....
    One thing more that you should also pay some attention and light to the Hindu traditions within ur house like ,marriage traditions,Basant,Deewali which r purly hindu traditions....After finding such a traditions among punjab and sindh how can some one deny that religious activities and AHkam r getting mixed with Hindu Pagan culture...
    A carefull and deep thought provoking analysis is expected from u rather than personalised my dear....

One more i have to mention here that pls dont compare fasting of Hazrat Muhammad with todays Pagan Kharafaat on the Milaad day......so nice of you....

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Feb 2010 16:57 #
  22. @ Sufisoul

Bhai ghussa nahi kerty na.we r just discussing here something.

ghussa kyun karna hai, hamara kaunsa jayedaad ka jhaghra hai, magar ball line and length se bahir ho ghi tau ghussa tau aye gha na jenab. Ji ji, yeh 'historical perspective' wali ball ka zikr kar raha hun.

If its athentic hadees than we shud fast at our own and nabi saww.NO ONE WOULD DENY THIS ACT WHICH ADDING TO UR TAQWA... BUT acts nowadays in sub continent at the name of Milad is actually something shud never be tolerated..

So now the discussion has moved from should we celebrate mawlid to How to celebrate the Mawlid. Very nice of you to acknowledge the fact that there is no problem in celebrating the birthday of Rasulallah(saw). Now lets get to the point on how to celebrate it. You say one SHOULD fast as Prophet Muhammad(saw) did, that is very good, even till today people in Makkah and Madinah fast on Mondays, following the Sunnah of the Prophet.

Anyway, point out the things you consider 'khurafaat' in how the mawlid of the Rasulallah(saw) is celebrated.

1) decorating homes and streets
    2) wearing new clothes
    3) gathering in masjids or some other place
    3) reciting naats
    4) delivering speeches on the seerah of the prophet
    5) sending durood-o-salam on Rasulallah(saw)
    6) performing nafl Ibadah
    7) making Dua's
    8) distributing food
    9) street processions

Aur bhai jaan, khuda ka khauf karo, Eid-e-meelad ko diwali or basant se tau na compare karo.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Mar 2010 3:43 #
  23. SufiSoul

But you skipped the decorating of Tombs.
    Food ditribution at tombs.
    Durood -o- salam at tombs.
    Speeches at tombs.
    Nafal at tombs.
    etc.....
    You also skipped the fact that fasting which is sunna is against the food distribution at milad.

You shud not celebrate it as like holy or deewali or basant..
    But should remain strict to the Sunnah which is only fasting..

As a fact about addition to Islamic Acts one example,
    You know when one is in travelling he has to perform QASAR NAMAZ not the full NAMAZ its order,
    now if some one is performing full NAMAZ he is gunehgar beside earning some sawab,if delibratly perform full namaz..
    So addition to FARZ is forbidden how addition to sunnah and remaining can be allowed.....
    We educated people shud not go blindly to HUNGARY DUNIYADAR MOLVIS,already deviding us among firqas for the sake of their earnings........

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Mar 2010 11:41 #
  24. SufiSoul

The point related with bidda is any addition to the ISLAM...Just strict to the Sunnah and Quran will never be missguided.....try to understand my point....
    One SOOTHER addition is not allowed and pushes you towards BIDDAH.........

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Mar 2010 11:43 #
  25. @ SufiSoul

But you skipped the decorating of Tombs.
    Food ditribution at tombs.
    Durood -o- salam at tombs.
    Speeches at tombs.
    Nafal at tombs.
    etc.....

This doesn't happen on Mawlid-un-nabi, and neither are we discussing if visiting tombs is allowed or not, that is a different topic, and if you want to discuss it, you're more than welcome to open a new topic. And the points I mentioned regarding how mawlid is celebrated, you did not object to even a single one, so if you have problem with people visiting tombs, at least then do those things which I mentioned in my last post, or at least fast on the mawlid-un-nabi, as per the Sunnah of prophet.

You also skipped the fact that fasting which is sunna is against the food distribution at milad.

Are you kidding me? Is our dressing, life style, food, masjids as per the Sunnah? Is it in accordance with Sunnah to go to hajj on planes? decorating mosques? Is there difference or not between how tarawih was performed in Prophet Muhammads(saw) time and how it was performed in and after the khilafah of Farooq-e-azam(ra)?

As a fact about addition to Islamic Acts one example,
    You know when one is in travelling he has to perform QASAR NAMAZ not the full NAMAZ its order,
    now if some one is performing full NAMAZ he is gunehgar beside earning some sawab,if delibratly perform full namaz..
    So addition to FARZ is forbidden how addition to sunnah and remaining can be allowed.....

dear, app itni jaldi kyun baat bhool jatay ho, ya bholay ban jatay ho? I quoted you many examples of Bidah hasana before, like the nafl Ibadah of Hazrat Bilal(ra).

Jarir b. Abdullah (radiAllahu anhu) narrated that the Beloved Prophet (sallAllahu alaihi wa aalihi wa sallam) said, "He who introduced some good practice in Islam which was followed after him [by people], he would be assured of reward like one who followed it, without their rewards being diminished in any respect. And he who introduced some evil practice in Islam which had been followed subsequently [by others], he would be required to bear the burden like that of one who followed this [evil practice] without their's being diminished in any respect."

Sahih Muslim: Book 34, Number 6466

In conclusion, if a new thing has been started, and it neither goes against the Quran or Sunnah, then it can be declared a ‘good’ innovation. However, if a new act is initiated against the Quran and Sunnah, that will be called bad bidah, or a reprehensible innovation.

And if you disagree with this, provide proof of these acts from Quran and Sunnah.

Translations of Quran; Writing Tafseers; collection and classification of Ahaadiths; Principles of Jurisprudence; The four schools of Fiqh, Dividing the Quran into thirty parts, Stoned and carpeted Mosques, use of loud speakers in mosques etc.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Mar 2010 14:30 #
  26. Before asking Should we celebrate Prophet's birthday or not, in my opinion the first question should be Why to celebrate it on 12th of 3rd month (Rabiulawal) ???

We know one thing from the history and that is fore sure that Prophet Muhammad PBUH born in Aam-ul-feel (year of elephant) and from a Sahih hadith we know that he (saw) born on Monday. Do we know the exact date on which he (saw) born???

Some historian write that it was 9th of the third month and some write it was 12th of the 3rd month but there is no clear date at all.
    But one thing is 100% sure that he died on 12th of 3rd month (Rabiulawal) so celebrating on that day means Maa'zAllah you are celebrating the day when he (saw) died????????

secondly brother Umer sorry to say but your understanding of Biddah (Innovation) is not right. Biddah in deen is forbidden but Biddah in means to attain a deen is not forbidden.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Mar 2010 15:18 #
  27. @ LetsDoIt

Before asking Should we celebrate Prophet's birthday or not, in my opinion the first question should be Why to celebrate it on 12th of 3rd month (Rabiulawal) ???

We know one thing from the history and that is fore sure that Prophet Muhammad PBUH born in Aam-ul-feel (year of elephant) and from a Sahih hadith we know that he (saw) born on Monday. Do we know the exact date on which he (saw) born???

Some historian write that it was 9th of the third month and some write it was 12th of the 3rd month but there is no clear date at all.

Although historians and majority of scholars have proven the fact that Prophet Muhammad,pbuh, was born on 12th rabi-ul-awal, Monday. But if one argues that he was born on 9th rabi-ul-awal, there is no problem. Celebrating the mercies of Allah(swt) is not confined to any day, the mawlid celebration are carried out all year, and if one is certain in that he(saw) was born on 9th rabi-ul-awal he can celebrate the mercies of Allah(swt) on that day, what's the problem?

Birth of Hazrat Adam(As) occurred on Friday and he even departed on Friday, but the rejoicing at the birth (Meelad) of Adam(As) was retained and Friday was declared a day of Eid for Muslims.

But one thing is 100% sure that he died on 12th of 3rd month (Rabiulawal) so celebrating on that day means Maa'zAllah you are celebrating the day when he (saw) died????????

Dear brother, according to sharia principles mourning for someone’s death should not be more than three days, except for a woman, who has lost her husband. The Prophet Muhamamd(saw)'s death was over 1400 years ago, so the period of mourning has passed. But, after someone dies, his death is remembered by reciting the Quran, remembering his merits, giving alms, and making dua for him. Even if the period of mourning for the Prophet Muhammad(saw) death exists, all the actions mentioned above are included when people gather for Milaad-un-nabee(saw). For this reason, there is not need to separate the celebration of the Prophet Muhammad(saw)'s birth, and the mourning of his death.

On one Friday, Rasulullah (Allah bless him & give him peace) said: "O Muslims! Allah Ta'ala has made this day a day of eid . So have a bath on this day, whoever has perfume should apply it, and use the miswaak. " (Ibn Majah)

And as I mentioned earlier, Hazrat Adam(as) was born and died on Friday, so would you like to tell me whether Muslims rejoice at the birth of Hazrat Adam(As) on Friday every week or do they mourn his death?

Rasulullah (Allah bless him & give him peace) said: "Friday is the best of days. It was on this day that Hadrat Aadam alayhis salaam was created, it was on this day that he was granted entry into jannah, it was on this day that he was removed from jannah (which became the cause for man's existence in this universe, and which is a great blessing), and the day of resurrection will also take place on this day. " (Sahih Muslim)

secondly brother Umer sorry to say but your understanding of Biddah (Innovation) is not right. Biddah in deen is forbidden but Biddah in means to attain a deen is not forbidden.

Well bro, pardon my ignorance, but tell me the difference between these bidah, or bidah-e-hasana's to be precise.

Celebrating the mawlid

vs

Translating of Quran; Writing Tafseers; collection and classification of Ahaadiths; Principles of Jurisprudence; The four schools of Fiqh, Dividing the Quran into thirty parts etc.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Mar 2010 15:54 #
  28. @Umer

Dear brother, please first of all i want to clear that i am not some scholar or having a deep understanding of Islam so wherever i am wrong, please educate me and the purpose of writing this message is sharing some information not imposing my views on you.

1- Celebration of Jumma (Friday). If Prophet celebrated day of the week, similarly he celebrated Monday by fasting on mondays so why we dont celebrate every monday by keeping fast. This is the most safest/recommended way to celebrate the birth of Prophet Muhammad PBUH.
    Why to celebrate the day of the year (What is not from the sunnah or Prophet PBUH and his companions) and why not to celebrate the day of the week (which is recommended by Prophet Muhammad PBUH)??? Love of Prophet PBUH is one condition of Islam so why not to love him like he taught us and why we need some other ways to express our love??

2- Now coming to the concept of Biddah. Biddah in deen is forbidden and deen is set of principles our Prophet PBUH told us. Like how to pray now if someone changes how to pray then it is innovation in islam but if someone changes a place where we pray (expansion in mosque or whatever) then this is not deen and here this expansion is allowed.

few more examples in this regard.

A- learning quran is also deen, now if you want to learn it from some Aalim, or from some tafsir, or from some school, its the means so here you are even encouraged to make new ways like use internet, use mobile phones, or use ipods etc as all of them are the means to learn quran which is a part of a deen. BUT if you want to change Quran on the basis of your knowledge then it is not allowed because it is changing in deen.

B- Following Prophet Muhammad PBUH is also a part of deen so to follow him you must need to know what he said.
    So to preserve what he said in a form of ahadith is a way or a mean to know what he(saw) said so here if you are free to choose between you want to believe what is written in the form of books or you want to believe in from heart to heart transmission as it is just a mean to attain Deen.

Similarly classification of ahadith or ahadith knowledge is just a mean to preserve ahadith and purify them. If you come up with some better method, most welcome and give your opinion BUT if you want to add something in ahadiths from yourself then it is now allowed and it is Biddah.

C- Similarly if you want to celebrate Prophet's PBUH birthday then you have two ways, first what Prophet PBUH told us and that is by fasting mondays, and the second is that you come up with your own idea.
    even second case is allowed until and unless it is your individual celebration and this is not becoming a part of a deen, it could be somewhat allowed but if you want to celebrate it collectively then it is against one hadith in which Prophet Muhammad PBUH clearly tell that we (Muslims) are awarded with only two days of celebration in a year. So if you want to add one more then it is a clear addition in Deen which is forbidden.

Only Allah (SWT) knows the best and May HE lead us on the straight path. Ameen.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Mar 2010 16:21 #
  29. @ LetsDoIT

Even I'm not a scholar, just a student wanting to share/discuss his knowledge. Anyway, good points raised by you, and I hope we will learn from each other by sharing our views.

So letsdoit, :)

why not just fast and not find some other ways to express our love

Bro, please refer to the last paragraph of this post:
    http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/should-we-celebrate-prophets-birthday#post-124007

And tell me what is wrong in the acts that are carried out on Eid-e-Mawlid of Rasulallah(saw)? and bro, just because Prophet Muhammad(pbuh) did not do something, doesn't mean it is haram to do it. As Rasulallah(saw) said one who introduces something good in Islam, will be rewarded and so will those be who follow him. and I will quote some examples of this from ahadith in the later part of my post.

Please note that, no one claims that It is farz to celebrate the mawlid of Rasulallah(saw) and also there are differences in how it is celebrated. And if you consider the things normally done on mawlid to be bad like durood-o-salam, decorating mosques etc, then you can fast as you say it is the safest way to celebrate the birth of Rasulallah(saw).

But the concept behind doing these things is, to express our happiness with-in the bounds of Sharia.

Now coming to the concept of Biddah. Biddah in deen is forbidden and deen is set of principles our Prophet PBUH told us. Like how to pray now if someone changes how to pray then it is innovation in islam but if someone changes a place where we pray (expansion in mosque or whatever) then this is not deen and here this expansion is allowed.

Let me quote just a few of many ahadith that prove the concept of Bidah hasana, without any comments, and then please contemplate on them, and tell me if they're Biddah in deen or Biddah in means to attain deen.

1) One day the Prophet (sallallahu alaihi wa sallam) asked Bilal (radhiAllahu anhu), “O Bilal, how is it that I heard you’re the sound of your footsteps in Jannah?” So Bilal (radhiAllahu anhu) answered, “O Rasulullah (sallallahu alaihi wa sallam), it could be because every time my wudhu breaks, then I go renew my wudhu and then I pray two rakaats nafl.” The Prophet sallallahu alaihi wa sallam answered, “Yes this is the reason why I heard your footsteps.” (Narrated by Ahmad)

2)Bukhari and Muslim relate Rifa'a ibn Rafi said 'We were praying behind the Prophet (pbuh) and he raised from bowing and said 'Allah hears whoever praises Him' a man behind him said 'Our Lord, Yours is the praise, abundantly, wholesomely and blessedly therein'

When the man was about to leave, the Prophet (pbuh) asked who said it, and when the man replied it was he, the Prophet (pbuh) said, 'I saw thirty-odd angles each striving to be the one to write it.'

3) Bukhari relates from Hazrat Aisha(ra) that the Prophet (pbuh) dispatched a man at the head of a military expedition who recited the Quran for his companions and finished each recital with Surah al-Ikhlas. When they returned, they mentioned this to the Prophet (pbuh) who told them to ask him why he does this. When they asked him, his reply was 'Because it describes the All –Merciful and I love to recite it.' The prophet (pbuh) said to them 'Tell him, Allah loves him.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Mar 2010 18:18 #
  30. Dear Brother

First of all thank you so much for taking my post in a very positive way and i again pray Allah (SWT) to show me, you and all of us the straight path.

Thank you very much for sharing these ahadiths. I also wanted to raise the same points but due to the increasing length of the post i avoided that in my previous post but thanks once again for raising these points because without these ahadiths you could never understand the true meanings of Bidaah. I will also add few more points and ahadiths in it for example starting of taraweeh jamaat by Haz. Umar RA and reading whole quran during taraweeh etc but first we will only discuss these points.

1- As i wrote earlier in my post, celebrating Mawlid individually is not Bidaah at all as Bidaah in deen means adding something in deen. Similarly almost all the individual actions would only be judged by Allah (SWT) on the basis of Individuals intentions. So if Haz. Bilal RA was praying 2 rakaa after Wuzoo (tahiyat-ul-wuzoo) it was his individual action. Similarly if a companion of Prophet Muhammad PBUH said SAMI ALLAH HULIMAN HAMIDA HAMDAN KATHEERAN MUBARIKNA FEEHA, it was his individual action and similarly if someone loves to recite Surah Ikhlas, it is his individual action and it is not bidaah until
    A group starts carrying out this action collectively and slowly made it part of the deen.

As i told you individual actions are not innovations in deen for example, if you always say 100 times Darood Sharif after each prayer there is nothing more wonderful than that but if you make it compulsory for every one then it is Bidaah. Now dont misunderstood me, its not darood sharif which is forbidden (Maa'zAllah) it is adding of darood sharif after prayer forbidden. I will give you one more example.
    In my childhood i always heard the same Azaan from all the mosques near my home but now there are few mosques in which they always say darood before and after azaan. Saying darood is the most wonderful Ibadaah but slowly this became an innovation and now even if you want you could not say azaan there without saying darood before and after azaan and i m sure after 50 or 60 years few people will even forget that this was actually not a part of azaan.

Same is also true for Eid Meelaad un nabi. Please dont misunderstand, its not darood sharif, or naat sharif(until its under some limits) which is forbidden (Maa'a Allah). Please say darood as many times as Allah (SWT) gives you Taufeeq. but making this celebration as a part of deen is not correct. Actually there are several points which we normally overlook because we are only focusing at that time on the good points but only Allah (SWT) knows if this action will bring some harm or good in the society.

I have no doubt that celebrating Mawlid has been started with a very good faith but slowly it became a part of a deen and now even our Govt. declares it as a holiday. So for example if you are a business man and you have to keep your business close for this day even if you want or do not want to celebrate this day in this way so in this case the person who started this innovation and all who helped this person should pay you the loss of this one day and if he does not pays then he would have to be answerable to Allah (SWT) on the day of judgment and on that day this business man could claim his loss.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Mar 2010 20:45 #
  31. SufiSoul

Acts Of Individual and Group of People.
    -------------------------------------------

I would like further to add in LetsDoit that their is a famous Ahsan Hadees that,

He who delibratly leaves NAMAZ he performed KUFAR...(i pray for any addition or deletion).

NOW this Hadees is explained by IMAMS that it doesnot mean for an individual to go out of Islam by leaving NAMAZ.
    BUT if a group of ppl decides to not to perform NAMAZ than they are no more muslims..........

SO individual and group acts are very much counting here and more concerned........

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Mar 2010 22:08 #
  32. I would just like to say one thing here that the best way to please,show respect and gratitude to Prophet Muhammad(PBUH) is to follow his sunnah,his ways,what he practised or asked us or ppl around him to practise...if anything we dont see in His(PBUH) life or in life of those ppl who were in close relation to him like his family,companions,servant etc than we shouldn't either follow that tradition.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Mar 2010 14:45 #
  33. We have opened so many fronts that it is starting to get confusing, so lets sum up what has been discussed and agreed upon.

You and SufiSoul agree that celebrating mawlid is not bad, but both of you say people should only fast on that day.

You believe there is no problem with innovations in means to attain deen and innovations that people perform individually, but if a group starts carrying out these actions collectively then it becomes bad. To me it sounds absurd, that how one thing performed individually can be good and if people do that collectively it becomes an blameworthy innovation.

Anyway, let us now see what the ahadith say about performing bidah-e-hasana collectively.

Jarir b. Abdullah (radiAllahu anhu) narrated that the Beloved Prophet (sallAllahu alaihi wa aalihi wa sallam) said, "He who introduced some good practice in Islam which was followed after him [by people], he would be assured of reward like one who followed it, without their rewards being diminished in any respect. And he who introduced some evil practice in Islam which had been followed subsequently [by others], he would be required to bear the burden like that of one who followed this [evil practice] without their's being diminished in any respect."

This hadith proves the concept of Bidah-e-hasana, and also proves performing a new act both individually and collectively. As Prophet Muhammad,pbuh, said those who follow who introduced some good practice in Islam will be rewarded like the one who started it.

Let us take another example of bidah-e-hasana, and that is the tarawih performed in and after the khilafah of Hazrat Umar(ra).

In Rasulallah's(saw) time:

Congregation was not performed for the whole month
    People used to pray individually and in congregation

In and after Hazrat Umar's(ra) time:

Congregation was performed for the whole month
    People started praying ONLY in congregation

And brother, twice I have mentioned in my posts that no one says that it is FARZ to celebrate mawlid, and also no one can declare something FARZ and HARAM, as only Allah(swt) and his Rasool(saw) can do that. And also please can you provide proof from Quran and Sunnah, that performing a new act collectively is haram? And it should be clear till now that if something was not done by Rasulallah(saw) is NOT a proof that something is condemned or that it is not praiseworthy, as the Prophet(saw) did not, in his lifetime, do absolutely everything that was praiseworthy or permissible, but he never did something that was not praiseworhty. The same goes for the early generations. Rather, the criteria for judging if something belongs on the accepted side of Sharia and is endorsable by the Sunna or not, is to evaluate it in the balance of the Quran and Sunna: whatever is confirmed by them is part of them and whatever violates them is rejected.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Mar 2010 16:53 #
  34. NNL

ok i have a question are we celebrating his birthday or his death anniversary ?

If we are celebrating his birthday thus can be said that celebrating birthday is allowed ?

If this is something which can be done in Islam why didnt the Ahl-e-Bayt didnt do Mawlid. I certainly am not aware of Abu Bakr or Ali (Radhi Allah Unhum Ajamein) doing it. IF they did please let me know for more likely i may missed it. Please also dont bring something which is deemed fabricated or unauthentic using the principles of Imams Bukhari & Muslim. ( mind u i said principles not books)

I am asking this cos i dont have an example from Rasool Allah's Sallaho Alahi Wa Alayhi Wasallam's life maybe his family and companions (Radhi Allah Unhum Ajamein), who loved him more than anyone in history could, have may have done it. And we know this for a fact that the Sahabas (Radhi Allah Unhum Ajmaein) and the Tabieen and Taba-Tabieen (Rahim Ullah ) never dropped any chance of doing more good deeds and/or left out any Sunnah. We can take only their examples cos Rasool Allah said himself that after him we can use the next 3 generations as examples.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 2:46 #
  35. @UmeR

Thank you very much for bringing up these ahadiths because without these ahadiths it is impossible to finally understand the concept of Bidaah which is forbidden strictly in Islam. I always wanted to bring these points one by one so a better understanding of the subject could be formed. First i sum up all the points and then i will come to this point of Bidah-e-Hasana.

1- Bidaah in deen is forbidden not in means to attain/propagate deen is forbidden for example constructing mosques, using internet etc for establishing deen.

2- Bidaah does not means an individuals matter because a matter of individual will only be decided by Allah (SWT) based on that individuals intentions.
    I think this is point is not clear to you as you mentioned in your post. Please let me know what you feel is not logically/or from islamic point of view is not correct and i will try to Inshallah write my point of view on that.

3- Bidaah-e-Hasana.. As i also wrote in my post above that starting of Jamaat for Taraweeh and Completing a whole Quran in Taraweeh and fixing Taraweeh to 20 rakaats was started by Haz. Umar RA. Similarly there are some other examples also found by Haz. Abu Bakar and haz. Uthmaan RA.
    Actually there is a Saheeh hadith in which Prophet Muhammad PBUH said that: (I am not writing the complete hadith but writing just the meanings of that, its a very famous hadith) Follow me and follow the way of rightly guided Caliphs after me.
    In another hadith He PBUH says that my companions are like stars, you will be rewarded whoever you will follow among them.

So if some practice is started by these Companions will definitely be good and if we are following it we are actually obeying according to the hadith of our beloved Prophet Muhammad PBUH so its not bidaah at all. The action of Sahabaa is already included in deen by these commands of Prophet PBUH so its not an innovation.

Now if we compare to now days situation. If some one starts a new practice mostly he starts with a good faith and in this good faith he only looks to the goods of that practice and he is not capable to foresee if this practice could bring some harm in the society. So how he could be damn sure that this practice is good and will never bring some evil in the society and what daleel he is having to start this new practice??? do he thinks that salvation is not possible or he wants to show his Khaloos more than Sahabaa RA showed to Islam???

I gave you one example in my last post about the harm brought in our society by celebrating Mawlid in a way different that what Prophet Muhammad PBUH told us. There exists one way which teaches us to celebrate every week then why to insist for celebrating it once in a year???? I could give you several examples like this which could prove the harm of celebrating the Mawlid Yearly and like this and could prove how this innovation is hurting our society.

Also by celebrating yearly we are disobeying Prophet Muhammad PBUH in several ways. What good we could brought by celebrating on one hand Prophet's PBUH borthday and on the other hand disobeying him.

Prophet PBUH forbidden yearly celebrations and said that we Muslims have only two Eids and now we are going against this order and making one more eid which is called Eid-meelad-un-Nabi.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 11:02 #
  36. LalBichoo

Wow, after 1400 years Muslims are still arguing whether to celebrate B/Day of Prophet or not :))
    But why JI celeberated B/Day of 'sister' Aafia the other day :))

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 12:25 #
  37. @LetsDoIt

It is always good to know whom a person follows before having a discussion, as we are not scholars but will use the knowledge reached to us through them, as I have had discussions with people who have a distorted interpretation of "Kullu bidah min dalalah waa kullu dalatil fin nar", and still are practicing what is bidah, that should lead to hellfire according to their interpretation of the Hadith of Rasulallah(saw), so had this categorization of Bidah from you come early that would certainly have saved time.

Anyway, before the categorization of bidah, it should be judged upon the criteria that is it in accordance with Quran and Sunnah or not? And if it is, then it's called bidah-e-hasana(good) and if it isn't it's called bidah-e-sayyiah(bad).

Bidaah in deen is forbidden not in means to attain/propagate deen is forbidden for example constructing mosques, using internet etc for establishing deen.

Please provide proof for this.

Bidaah does not means an individuals matter because a matter of individual will only be decided by Allah (SWT) based on that individuals intentions.

Bro, It was hazrat Bilal(ra)s individual act that he prayed every time after re-newing his wudu, and that cannot be considered bidah as you say. But tell me, if some people knowing that Prophet Muhammad(pbuh) praised that act of Hazrat Bilal(ra) started to immitate him, will that act become haram, because now more people are doing it, without making it farz?

I gave you one example in my last post about the harm brought in our society by celebrating Mawlid

Harm? What harm? People now a days even use Namaz for their personal gains, should we then stop praying?

Should we also stop celebrating other two eids for the harm they bring in the society, like intermingling of sexes, obscene music?

Prophet PBUH forbidden yearly celebrations

Where did he(saw) say that? On the contrary he advised the Ummah to fast 'every year' on the tenth of muharram. And what do you think Laylatul Qadr is? it is a celebration to commemorate the arrival of the final guidance(holy Quran) for humans, so would it be wrong to commemorate the arrival of 'Rehmat-ul-lil-Alameen', the walking Quran and the best of creation?

And those who celebrate Meeled-e-Nabi(saw) do exactly what they do on Laylatul Qadr, like recitation of Quran, Naats, Nafl Ibadah, with the addition of decorating masjids and processions.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 14:53 #
  38. @ Sufisoul

He who delibratly leaves NAMAZ he performed KUFAR...(i pray for any addition or deletion).

NOW this Hadees is explained by IMAMS that it doesnot mean for an individual to go out of Islam by leaving NAMAZ.
    BUT if a group of ppl decides to not to perform NAMAZ than they are no more muslims..........

Bro, this doesn't have anything to do with doing an act individually or collectively.

This depends on intentions and on Aqeedah. Even if a single person have a aqeedah that Namaz is not farz, that is why he doesn't pray, then he is considered a kafir, on the other hand, even if a group doesn't pray, but they know they're sinning by leaving a farz, they're sinners but cannot be labeled as kafir.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 14:59 #
  39. @ NNL

bro, I don't know if you've been following this discussion, and if you really haven't been then please go through what has already been discussed, as I think you'll get answers of most of your questions.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 15:01 #
  40. @ LalBichoo

and isn't that sad!

anyway, no objected to commemorating the birth of Rasullah(saw) until like 1-2 hundred years ago, and mawlid has been celebrated from at least like 7-8 hundred years ago. inko lagta hai hazaar saal baad baqio se ziada Islam samajh main aya hai.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 16:01 #
  41. @all
    Stop fighting everyone!!!The Mawlid celeberators wont listen to you cuz they are pretty stubborn,so better not argue with them!!
    @Lalbichoo
    Why JI and PTI are always your target??
    plz dont think i am from any of the above political parties!!

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 17:05 #
  42. I indeed made a biggest mistake by creating this thread!

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 17:08 #
  43. SufiSoul

@Umer
    (Bro, It was hazrat Bilal(ra)s individual act that he prayed every time after re-newing his wudu, and that cannot be considered bidah as you say. But tell me, if some people knowing that Prophet Muhammad(pbuh) praised that act of Hazrat Bilal(ra) started to immitate him, will that act become haram, because now more people are doing it, without making it farz?)

Umer wazu and nawafil are not something new to Islam and an integral part of ISLAMIC orders.....why you are confused so badly here....

(Where did he(saw) say that? On the contrary he advised the Ummah to fast 'every year' on the tenth of muharram. And what do you think Laylatul Qadr is? it is a celebration to commemorate the arrival of the final guidance(holy Quran) for humans, so would it be wrong to commemorate the arrival of 'Rehmat-ul-lil-Alameen', the walking Quran and the best of creation?)....

All these celebrations are according to Quran and Hadees so allowed as directed by the Quran and hadees.....But no clear orders for milad to celebrate like the people.....

(anyway, no objected to commemorating the birth of Rasullah(saw) until like 1-2 hundred years ago, and mawlid has been celebrated from at least like 7-8 hundred years ago. inko lagta hai hazaar saal baad baqio se ziada Islam samajh main aya hai.)))))

Please provide any proof from last 7-8 hundred years for milad celebrations please.....and further u understand it wrong we think that we have missed altogether a strong order from ISLAM...If some valid proof provided we are ready to accept and start to go out for DAMACHOKRI to earn some money also RATHER doing and adoptied the actual sunnah and orders from beloved prophit SAWW be a perfect muslim...
    Further no one can provide any proof of Islamic land celebrating this type of Milad,except Pagan state converted muslim land as they were having the same culture of decorating,lighting,wearing new dresses going to Mandirs and CHARHAWY for BHAGWAN......same is converted but with lil difference of TOMBS rather than Mandirs....
    Look at your wedding,death,basanth and other culture atleast 80% Pagan hindu culture.....but you dont have any explanation for all these..

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 21:56 #
  44. SufiSoul

Lal Bichoo,
    we reserve the right here to discuss any matter abt ISLAM in this world rather than feel sorry where we are not allowed to do something like that but only the result sheet will be handed over with computerised entries for every second of life,good or bad......pls feel free to understand ISLAM and rules sorrounding this Religion...

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 22:06 #
  45. SufiSoul

@Umer wrote,
    (((This depends on intentions and on Aqeedah. Even if a single person have a aqeedah that Namaz is not farz, that is why he doesn't pray, then he is considered a kafir, on the other hand, even if a group doesn't pray, but they know they're sinning by leaving a farz, they're sinners but cannot be labeled as kafir. ))))))

This Hadees is very clear that if some one delibratly leaves namaz than he is KAFIR.you dont need for circular arguments here...
    Ypu accept this Hadees or not......what is your understanding of this Hadees mubaraka pls enlighten us.....

moreover if an individual or group has aqeeda of no namaz they are no more muslims......i wonder how did you dont know this rule.....mix Aqeeda immidiatly throws you out of ISLAM.The matter here was of delibrate give up of namaz due to one or another problem by an individual or group,group giving up namaz planned or no more muslims............

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Mar 2010 22:12 #
  46. Bro, sufisoul

it seems like you were too excited to vent your anger here, that you even ignored the context my posts were made in.

Anyway, In reply to your question about what proof there is that mawlid has been celebrated from hundreds of years, I would quote what Sheikh G. F. Haddad wrote in reply to a dubious fatwa of Mufti taqi Usmani on mawlid.

here it goes:

- Ibn Jubayr (540-614) wrote in his Rihal ("Travels"), p. 114-115: "This blessed place [the house of the Prophet] is opened, and all men enter it to derive blessing from it (mutabarrikin bihi), on every Monday of the month of Rabi al-Awwal; for on that day and in that month was born the Prophet."

- The 7th-century historians Abul Abbas al-Azafi and his son Abul Qasim al-Azafi wrote in their unpublished Kitab ad-Durr al-Munazzam: "Pious pilgrims and prominent travellers testified that, on the day of the mawlid in Mecca, no activities are undertaken, and nothing is sold or bought, except by the people who are busy visiting his noble birthplace, and rush to it. On this day the Kaba is opened and visited."

- The famous eighth-century historian Ibn Battuta relates in his Rihla (1:309 and 1:347), that on every Friday, after the salat, and on the birthday of the Prophet, the door of Kaabah is opened by the head of the Banu Shayba, the doorkeepers of the Kaba, and that on the Mawlid, the Shafii qadi (head judge) of Mecca, Najmuddin Muhammad Ibn al-Imam Muhyiddin al-Tabari, distributes food to the shurafa (descendants of the Prophet) and to all the other people of Mecca.

- The historian Ibn Zahira al-Hanafi in his al-Jami al-Latif fi Fadl Makka wa Ahliha, p. 326; Imam Ibn Hajar al-Haytami in his Kitab al-Mawlid al-Sharif al-Muazzam; and the historian al-Nahrawali in al-Ilam bi-Alam Bayt Allah al-Haram, p. 205 said that each year on the 12th of Rabi al-Awwal, after the salat al-Maghrib, the four qadis of Mecca (representing the Four Schools) and large groups of people including the fuqaha (scholars) and fudala' (notables) of Mecca, shaykhs, zawiya teachers and their students, ruasa (magistrates), and mutaammamin (scholars) leave the mosque and set out collectively for a visit to the birthplace of the Prophet, shouting out dhikr and tahlil (LA ILAHA ILLALLAH). The houses on the route are illuminated with numerous lanterns and large candles, and a great many people are out and about. They all wear their best attire and take their children with them. Having reached the birthplace, inside a special sermon for the occasion of the birthday of the Prophet e is delivered, mentioning the miracles (karamat) that took place on that occasion. Hereafter the dua for the Sultan (i.e. the Caliph), the Emir of Mecca, and the Shafii qadi is performed and all pray humbly. Shortly before the salat al-Isha', the whole party returns from the birthplace of the Prophet e to the Great Mosque, which is almost overcrowded, and all sit down in rows at the foot of the Maqam Ibrahim. In the mosque, a preacher first mentions the tahmid (AL HAMDULILLAH) and the tahlil, and once again the dua' for the Sultan, the Emir, and the Shafii qadi is performed. After this the call for the Salat al-Isha is made. After the salat, the crowd breaks up.

- A similar description is given by al-Diyarbakri (d. 960) in his massive Sira titled Ta'rikh al-Khamis fi Khabar Anfasi Nafis.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Mar 2010 0:21 #
  47. NNL

Umer you have been telling us about Bidah Hasana and what the history says about Maulid.

I m simply asking if the Ahle Bayt or Kibar-us-Sahaba (radhi allah Unhum ajmaein have done it or not.

Thanks.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Mar 2010 7:18 #
  48. SufiSoul

@umer,
    Its good that you completly failed to give any proof from any of the source like,Quran,Hadees,Sahaba RTA act,Four Imams and even after these Imams their are pious persons in our history but they never perform such Dikar loudly nor some special sermons like the way we Pagan impressed people doing..
    At this Milad i was at Madina Alhamdulillah and found that Friday and Rabiulawwal gatherings are Large at ROZA SHARIF.But its again individual acts and i could not find any such Pagan activity in madina streets.We still claim that we know more than madani people and our culture is more ISLAMIC than makka or madina culture its just problem and need to understand it..

ACTS OTHER THAN QURAN AND HADEES ARE BATIL...

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Mar 2010 9:28 #
  49. @Umer

The purpose of my post was not to force you or to impose my thoughts on you. The only purpose of my post was to share my views with you now its totally upon you if you take it or reject it. My duty was only to share what i know.

Regarding my identity i only want to be known as a Muslim and that all. I dont believe in calling my self as Salafi, Deobandi, Brailvi or shiaa and the reference you are giving is a Saheeh Hadith present in both Bukhari and Muslim so i request you not to make fun of that instead try to teach us more what you know about that.

Third regarding Bidaah-e-Hasana, i have just one question who will decide its good or bad??? Performing Sajda (Prostration) is for sure one of the wonderful Ibadah and we know that there are only two Sajdas in one Rakaat of a prayer but Prophet PBUH never said in any hadith that do not increase it from two to three so if i want to include one more in my Prayer, could it be called Bidaah-e-Hasana???

It is indeed a good act and also not prohibited so whats you take on that and if its not Bidaah-e-Hasana then who will decide or who has authority to declaire if something is Bidaah-e-Hasana or Bidaah-e-Sayya.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Mar 2010 10:18 #
  50. LalBichoo

@Muslima

"""@Lalbichoo
    Why JI and PTI are always your target??
    plz dont think i am from any of the above political parties!! """

I'm a Jin and I've been given task to target JI/PTI by Devil :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Mar 2010 10:25 #