Slow Death of America .... Moody's

(30 posts)
  1. On July 13, 2011, Moody’s placed the U.S. Government bond ratings on review for possible downgrade.

Moody's Investors Service has placed the Aaa bond rating of the government of the United States on review for possible downgrade given the rising possibility that the statutory debt limit will not be raised on a timely basis, leading to a default on US Treasury debt obligations. On June 2, Moody's had announced that a rating review would be likely in mid July unless there was meaningful progress in negotiations to raise the debt limit.

In conjunction with this action, Moody's has placed on review for possible downgrade the Aaa ratings of financial institutions directly linked to the US government: Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, the Federal Home Loan Banks, and the Federal Farm Credit Banks. We have also placed on review for possible downgrade securities either guaranteed by, backed by collateral securities issued by, or otherwise directly linked to the US government or the affected financial institutions.

RATIONALE FOR REVIEW

The review of the US government's bond rating is prompted by the possibility that the debt limit will not be raised in time to prevent a missed payment of interest or principal on outstanding bonds and notes. As such, there is a small but rising risk of a short-lived default.

Moody's considers the probability of a default on interest payments to be low but no longer to be de minimis. An actual default, regardless of duration, would fundamentally alter Moody's assessment of the timeliness of future payments, and a Aaa rating would likely no longer be appropriate. However, because this type of default is expected to be short-lived, and the expected loss to holders of Treasury bonds would be minimal or non-existent, the rating would most likely be downgraded to somewhere in the Aa range.

The specific rating that would be assigned at the conclusion of the review once such a default is cured would depend on (1) the speed with which the default is cured; (2) an assessment of the likely effect on future borrowing costs; and (3) whether there is a change in process for raising the debt limit that would preclude another default. A return to a Aaa rating would be unlikely in the near term, particularly if there were no progress on the third consideration.

While the debt limit has been raised numerous times in the past, and sometimes the issue has been contentious, bond interest and principal have always been paid on time. If the debt limit is raised again and a default avoided, the Aaa rating would likely be confirmed. However, the outlook assigned at that time to the government bond rating would very likely be changed to negative at the conclusion of the review unless substantial and credible agreement is achieved on a budget that includes long-term deficit reduction. To retain a stable outlook, such an agreement should include a deficit trajectory that leads to stabilization and then decline in the ratios of federal government debt to GDP and debt to revenue beginning within the next few years.

Moody's does not take a position on what measures should be included in any deficit reduction package. Instead, it is the resultant deficit and debt trajectories that are relevant to the rating and its outlook.

RELATED ISSUES

In addition to the financial institutions directly linked to the US government, Moody's has also placed on review for possible downgrade pre-refunded municipal bonds (which are invested in government or related securities), certain housing bonds that are supported or guaranteed by the US government, and other municipal ratings that are directly linked to the rating of the US government. Bonds issued by the governments of Israel and Egypt that are guaranteed by the US government were also placed on review for possible downgrade.

Structured finance securities that hold government-linked debt as their primary collateral have also been placed on review for downgrade. These include transactions defeased by US Treasury strips, transactions backed by FFELP government guaranteed student loans, and US RMBS backed by government agency mortgages.

http://www.moodys.com/research/Moodys-Places-US-Aaa-Government-Bond-Rating-and-Related-Ratings?lang=en&cy=global&docid=PR_221800

Posted 10 months ago on 14 Jul 2011 14:38 #
  2. ****LATEST****

Reuters Jul 14, 2011 – 7:52 AM ET

Rating agency Moody’s warning that the U.S. economy’s top credit ranking may be in danger weakened world stocks on Thursday, hit the dollar and helped push gold to a record high.

Moody’s said late on Wednesday there was an increased possibility the statutory U.S. debt limit would not be raised on a timely basis, leading to a default on U.S. Treasury debt obligations.

The idea of Washington losing its triple-A status was enough to wipe out any residual bounce on stock markets from U.S. Federal Reserve Chairman Ben Bernanke’s comments on Wednesday that there could be further stimulus if needed.

World stocks as measured by MSCI fell 0.3 percent while the FTSEurofirst 300 shed more than 1 percent. Japan’s Nikkei lost 0.3 percent.

Analysts continue to believe that there will be a last-minute political deal to extend the U.S. debt limit, but the uncertainty is playing into a generally nervous market.

“The U.S. debt situation is annoying. It’s politics pure and simple. I guess they’ll get out of it in time so no harm will be done,” said Koen De Leus, strategist at KBC Securities.

“But it does create additional nervousness on top of all other issues like the uncertainty about U.S. growth in the second half of 2011, inflation problems in emerging countries and the European debt problem.”

U.S. stock futures fell around 0.1 percent, pointing to a weaker open on Wall Street later.

General risk aversion towards debt pushed investors into gold, which hit a nominal record of $1,589.56 an ounce.

“Lacking a really reliable destination, a lot of the funds leaving the bonds market are going into precious metals on the notion that their value will be retained even if policymakers are pressured to go to further extremes to work against contagion,” said one gold trader in Singapore.

Demand for triple-A rated German debt rose after the Moody’s U.S. warning. But that was only one factor driving a flight from risk as concern about the euro zone’s own problems also grew over delays to policymakers’ plans to tackle the region’s deepening debt and after Fitch downgraded Greece further into junk territory on Wednesday.

Italy has moved closer to centre stage in Europe’s debt crisis over the past week. At an auction on Thursday, Italy had to pay the highest rates in three years to sell almost 5 billion euros of long-term debt, highlighting growing pressure on its public finances.

The euro erased early gains to stand flat at $1.4191. The U.S. dollar fell 0.2 percent against a basket of currencies, hurt by both Moody’s and Bernanke.

“The dollar has digested the news from Moody’s but there is still an awful lot of event risk in the coming couple of sessions. It’s going to be a bit of a wild ride,” said Adam Cole, FX strategist at RBC Capital Markets.

Concerns about the U.S. budget deficit put the brakes on a rally in oil prices, pushing Brent down 20 cents to $118.48 a barrel

http://business.financialpost.com/2011/07/14/moody’s-u-s-warning-hurts-stocks-dollar/

Posted 10 months ago on 14 Jul 2011 14:41 #
  3. Moody’s Investors Service raised the pressure on U.S. lawmakers to increase the government’s $14.3 trillion debt limit by placing the nation’s credit rating under review for a downgrade.
    The U.S., rated Aaa since 1917, was put on review for the first time since 1995 on concern the debt threshold won’t be raised in time to prevent a missed interest or principal payment on outstanding bonds and notes, even though the risk remains low, Moody’s said in a statement yesterday. The rating may be reduced to the Aa range, and there is no assurance Moody’s would restore its top rating, even if a default is quickly “cured.”
    President Barack Obama is considering summoning congressional leaders to Camp David this weekend to work on a plan to raise the debt ceiling after yesterday’s negotiations on a deficit-cutting plan of at least $2 trillion stalled, according to two people familiar with the matter. A default resulting from a failure to raise the debt limit may lead to slower economic growth and another financial crisis.
    “It’s obviously very serious in so many different ways,” said James Caron, head of U.S. interest-rate strategy at Morgan Stanley in New York, one of 20 primary dealers that trade bonds with the Federal Reserve. “Most people still believe there will be some type of an agreement struck to avoid all this stuff, and that’s what the market’s banking on.”
    Dollar, Bonds
    The dollar weakened and Treasuries declined after the Moody’s statement. IntercontinentalExchange Inc.’s Dollar Index, which tracks the greenback against the currencies of six U.S. trading partners, including the euro, yen and pound, slid for a third day, shedding 0.4 percent as of 9:53 a.m. in London.
    The 10-year Treasury yield rose three basis points to 2.91 percent, according to Bloomberg Bond Trader prices. The price of the 3.125 percent security due in May 2021 declined 1/4, or $2.50 per $1,000 face amount, to 101 25/32.
    The cost of insuring Treasuries rose five basis points to 56.5 basis points, the highest since February 2010, according to CMA prices for credit-default swaps.
    The risk of a default is causing concern in Asia. China is the biggest foreign holder of Treasuries and Japan ranks No. 2.
    Dagong Global Credit Rating Co., a Chinese company, said today that it was putting its A+ rating for the U.S., the fifth- highest level, on “negative watch,” citing the nation’s deteriorating ability to repay debt.
    Assessing Risks
    China needs to “seriously assess the risks” of its holdings as the U.S. faces a “worrisome” economic outlook, Yu Bin, a senior government researcher, told reporters at a briefing in Beijing today.
    The nation hopes the U.S. will adopt “responsible policy to ensure investors’ interests,” Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Hong Lei said at a separate briefing.
    The Aaa ratings of financial institutions directly linked to the U.S. government, including Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, the Federal Home Loan Banks, and the Federal Farm Credit Banks, were also put on review for cuts, Moody’s said. It also placed 7,000 municipal ratings on review for possible downgrade.
    “What we’re looking for is a raising of the limit. It doesn’t matter the process that they get there,” Steven Hess, the senior credit officer at Moody’s in New York, said in a telephone interview.
    Obama’s Exit
    Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell proposed a “last choice option” on July 12 that effectively would grant Obama power to raise the debt limit in instalments. McConnell’s plan would let the president raise the limit in three stages unless Congress disapproves by a two-thirds majority, while Obama would also be required to propose offsetting spending cuts.
    The spending reductions would be advisory, and the debt- ceiling increase would occur regardless of whether lawmakers enact the cuts.
    Obama “abruptly” walked out of yesterday’s White House meeting with legislative leaders on the federal deficit, House Majority Leader Eric Cantor, a Republican from Virginia, told reporters.
    “This report underscores the warning I outlined months ago,” House Speaker John Boehner, Republican of Ohio, said in a statement. “If the White House does not take action soon to address our nation’s debt crisis by reining in spending, the markets may do it for us.”
    “I think it reflects what we all know -- that this is a serious time and serious discussions and we can’t continue to have people not contribute to solving this problem,” said Senator Patty Murray of Washington, the No. 4 Democratic leader in the chamber.
    Reaching a Deal
    Standard & Poor’s put the U.S. government on notice on April 18 that it risks losing its AAA credit rating unless policy makers agree on a plan by 2013 to reduce budget deficits and the national debt. The firm said at the time that there’s a one-in-three chance that the rating might be cut within two years and that its “baseline assumption” is that Congress and the Obama administration will come to terms on a plan to reduce record deficits.
    S&P would lower its sovereign top-level AAA ranking to D, the last rung on its scale, if the U.S. can’t make its payments because of a failure to raise the debt ceiling, John Chambers, chairman of the sovereign rating committee, said June 30.
    The U.S. is among 17 countries, from Australia to Canada to Switzerland, rated Aaa by Moody’s. S&P gives 18 countries its top ranking.
    It’s likely that the debt ceiling will be raised without a credible plan for debt reduction, pushing yields higher for longer-term securities, according to Bank of America Corp.
    Debt Trajectory
    A debt-ceiling increase before Aug. 2 would lead yields on 30-year Treasury bonds to rise faster than five-year notes, reflecting increased concern that the long-term fiscal situation will worsen, wrote analysts led by Priya Misra, head of U.S. rates strategy in New York at Bank of America Merrill Lynch.
    “The rating outlook will be determined by the longer-term debt trajectory,” Hess said yesterday of the Moody’s rating.
    Treasury Secretary Timothy F. Geithner said he has taken steps to prevent a federal default until Aug. 2, using accounting measures that involve two retirement funds. The U.S. reached its borrowing limit on May 16.
    The Moody’s announcement is a “timely reminder” that Congress must “move quickly” to avoid default, the Treasury said in a statement.
    Government bonds yields are at about the lowest this year. Ten-year yields remain below 3 percent, compared with an average of 7 percent during the past four decades. Two-year U.S. government debt yields 0.37 percent, compared with the low for 2011 of 0.32 percent on June 24.
    Temporary-Default Scenario
    Demand has been higher than average this week at the Treasury’s auctions of three- and 10-year notes this week as investors continue to seek a U.S. refuge from Europe’s worsening sovereign-debt crisis.
    While yields remain low, investors remain concerned they will increase as the borrowing deadline approaches.
    Yields on 10-year notes would rise about 37 basis points if the U.S. government temporarily misses a debt payment while promising to make bondholders whole as soon as the debt limit was raised, according to the average estimate of 45 JPMorgan Chase & Co. clients that were surveyed by the firm. Foreign investors forecast yields would rise 55 basis points.
    An increase in Treasury yields of 50 basis points would reduce U.S. economic growth by about 0.4 percentage points, JPMorgan said in a report, citing Fed research and data.
    “It certainly underscores the importance of passing the debt ceiling and not putting us in default status, and making sure there’s a longer-term fiscal plan to contain spending and the deficit we’ve been running up over the last few years,” said Anthony Cronin, a trader at primary dealer Societe Generale SA in New York.
    http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-07-13/u-s-debt-rating-placed-on-review-for-downgrade-by-moody-s-as-talks-stall.html

Posted 10 months ago on 14 Jul 2011 14:42 #
  4. If you have Property in USA or have invested in Dollar .. You may want to rethink of an exit strategy.

Posted 10 months ago on 14 Jul 2011 14:46 #
  5. toamin

مر تو یہ چالیس سال پہلے ہی گیا تھا جب سونے سے کاغذ کو جدا کر لیا تھا، وہ دن ہے اور آج کا دن ان کا تخت ہمارے شاہ عبدللہ، مشرف، زرداری، و دیگر حکمران مضبوط کر رہے ہیں

آج سعودی ڈالر سے تیل کو جدا کریں تو امریکی پرنٹر کی کیا وقعت رہ جائے گی؟

آج کیانی فوجی امداد بند کر دے تو سارے جدید ترین اتحادی جان بچانے کے قابل بھی نہ رہیں

Posted 10 months ago on 14 Jul 2011 14:56 #
  6. jabalultariq

remember china has 3 Trillion USD as surplus , if it wants it can kill US in a minute but US and China are tied by an umblicl cord called economic expediency ,so US is'nt going anywhere in the near future

Posted 10 months ago on 14 Jul 2011 15:00 #
  7. expakistani

Khan_sahib
    its a good time to buy Property in USA... Nation is going through hardship, get cheap houses on foreclosure, if your neighbor is out of Money offer him half value of his house and help him/her out... Capitalism at its best

but funny thing is that We are still hopeful, bcz American government is not run buy Zardaries and Hafiz ul Asads

May be something has to do with American media and life style, people here dont give a dime to AAA rating for government as long as personal credit is good.... American economy is still lot better then many countries in EU and Asia and top as long as China and India are dependent on Americans buying power we will remain supper power.

Would be nice if there is a war between Gulf states and Iran or may be some where in South America..

Posted 10 months ago on 14 Jul 2011 15:30 #
  8. KHAN_Sahib, that was a good choice of a thread topic; US dancing on the brink of borrowing collapse. The economic collapse has already taken place. Now the cover-up bond system to get a bit of genuine money in is also in danger.

expakistani is congratulating himself on "we remaining the super power". Great. Also he seems delighted with the Ponzi scheme system US has developed down the years, the only "economy" it still has to its name. Well, it takes all sorts.

Last but not least, this rating agency scam. Moody's belongs to Warren Buffet, one of the richest men in the world. No doubt he wants to add a few odds and ends to his already colossal fortune, hence the timely blows against EU countries and the US. Not that they don't deserve it, but still, makes one wonder what he wants to snap up now.

Posted 10 months ago on 14 Jul 2011 15:49 #
  9. SufiSoul

Ya mery Maula Amreeka ki hifazat farma...

Posted 10 months ago on 14 Jul 2011 22:38 #
  10. SufiSoul, though I greatly respect you, I'm really unable to join in this particular prayer of yours.

Posted 10 months ago on 14 Jul 2011 23:23 #
  11. oneUp

Humpty Dumpty is going to fall... sit back and enjoy!

Posted 10 months ago on 15 Jul 2011 1:09 #
  12. oneUp

@Mirza Ghalib me too. I would refrain from praying for a devil's longevity.

Posted 10 months ago on 15 Jul 2011 1:10 #
  13. hypocrite

Well I dont know if it is a slow death, suddent death or just a wish but it is law of nature that for every rise there is a fall. It has happened an dwill continue to happen to families, dynasties, tribes, countries and cultures.

What will the world get with demise of America. Perhaps another power will fill the vacuum and then the cycle will continue.

Power and leadership never remains vacant and those who get power can very raraely fight the temptation of misuing it.

Posted 10 months ago on 15 Jul 2011 3:25 #
  14. OneUp, well put: the devil's longevity exactly sums it up.

Hypocrite, you're right as well. The law of nature is also the law of history. In this particular case, the west has had a good run for its money. First the British Empire about which we know a thing or two on the Subcontinent. Then the US and its immense power, blatantly misused from the word go. Now its our turn to rise again, we the ex-colonised. Whether we, when we get there, will make better use of power, no one can tell at this particular point in time. For the moment, all we can do is struggle to our feet again and defeat the enemy once and for all.

Posted 10 months ago on 15 Jul 2011 7:46 #
  15. @EXPAKISTANI.

Bhai Sahib, I am actually investing back in Pakistan and hope that my contribution in that regard will be beneficial for my country. Inshallah, I will move back to Pakistan too. ... Akhir MQM, PPP, PNLN, PMLQ, ANP, JUI jaisey lotoun ko bhee khatam karna hy.
    I am thinking to make my own HIT Squad. I will start recruitment soon, you are Welcome to join me. It will be a Sawaab ka kaam if you can take the bounty of that Don of Edgware road. I will take Zardari and MG will be assigned to Nawaz Shareef. Sufi soul will be sent to serve as Taliban's spokeman. Not sure if they will let him Speak but I am sure he will produce some kind of voice.

Posted 10 months ago on 15 Jul 2011 9:54 #
  16. With apologies and no offense intended.
    Lols....Khan Sahib. That is really funny I would say but equally thought provoking. Key word 'recruitment'. Is this a much needed vigilanti outfit that you are planning to commence.
    Why should we as a nation, not have vigilanti outfits when our civilian elected, army and judiciary is corrupt down to the core?
    Just to introduce a lesson for all. Corruption is but....

Posted 10 months ago on 15 Jul 2011 10:14 #
  17. Just_one

Wishing someone's downfall will not make us progress.

What about the state of our economy?

There was a great depression in America, Germany was turned to dust in WW2, Japan witnessed total annihilation and domination. They all bounced back.

Never underestimate the redeeming power of democracies - collective effort on the part of people to make their lives better.

We need to make the same effort.

Posted 10 months ago on 15 Jul 2011 10:19 #
  18. @ Semirza sahib...

You got my drift... lol

@just one:

Democracy ... hmmmm I don't think its anything to do with democracy. We need a tailored system which should incorporate the Islamic way of life in our system.

Posted 10 months ago on 15 Jul 2011 14:21 #
  19. KHAN_Sahib, thanks for assignment. Could we extend that to take in the Shareef Brothers? I'm not trained for such matters, but no doubt we'll pick up the trade as we go along.

As for the economy, when we've thrown off the corruption under which we're stifling, it will grow and blossom of its own. One thing must be absolutely clear to us all: No blind following of west models. That way we will not go forward. No Moody's and Co, for heaven's sake, and certainly no sood and riba. Then and only then can we hope to make a go of things.

Posted 10 months ago on 15 Jul 2011 16:11 #
  20. Just_one

We have to follow the models which are successful and proven to be in the interest of the public. Betterment is part of the deal. We have all the stats with which we can judge which countries are successful by far - education, health, corruption level, security, availability of justice, etc, and almost every prosperous country is a democracy, because democracy is nothing but the rule of people by the people for the people.

Any experiment which has to do with a thousands years old system will not lead us anywhere, they have proven disastrous in Afghanistan, Iran, Somalia and other countries.

Economy related issues should be seen in scientific and intellectual light, not a fixed religious thought. Curtailment on thought is what imposition of a certain religious view yields, which is what has happened to the Muslim world for the last 800 years.

Posted 10 months ago on 15 Jul 2011 19:00 #
  21. SufiSoul

Mirza Ghalib sb,
    KHAN Sahibs emotions are always welcome.But as a heart surgeon he dont care if some UNCLE SAM LOVER/KALA ANGRAIZ/SECULAR DRUMMER could feel heart pain and than heart attack,due to this blond thread.He is so use to with such cases but i tried to balance the situation and prayed for america..
    Many of that kind PM me here and they were happy that "i changed my mind and joined their camp"..But my pray for america was just to balance the situation created by this thread....lol
    HUM TO CHAHTY HAIN K KALY ANGRAIZ KALMA PARH K MER JAIN..LAIKIN KHAN SAHIB SHAYAD YE NAHIN CHAHTY.AUR UN KA IK DAM SAFAYA KERNA CHAHTY HAIN..

Posted 10 months ago on 16 Jul 2011 1:41 #
  22. افغانستان سے امریکی فوجیوں کی واپسی شروع

http://www.nawaiwaqt.com.pk/E-Paper/Lahore/2011-07-16/page-1/detail-15
    &
    http://www.voanews.com/urdu/news/world/afghanistan-troops-15july11-125630863.html

Posted 10 months ago on 16 Jul 2011 5:55 #
  23. 2011pakistan

billi kay khawb mn chichray

America will never collapse financially because, through out the world thousands have invested huge money inside USA so, it is not in their interest to let American economy collapse.

This is wishful day dream of our people.

Posted 10 months ago on 16 Jul 2011 6:55 #
  24. SufiSoul, Definitely, you did bring much-needed balance to the argument. If the US were to reform as your prayer implied, we'd be the first to forgive them and welcome them back to the fold, i.e. humanity. KHAN_Sahib's tightly controlled emotional outbursts are also very necessary. He gives vent to the frustrations felt by many of us here. So the two ends of the human spectrum both of you represebt - and all of us in between, some running this way, others that.

As for US economic collapse, "our people" are daydreaming are they? How about the rest of the world, including Moody's rating agency which, as far as I know, does not have its headquarters in Karachi or Islamabad?

Posted 10 months ago on 16 Jul 2011 8:24 #
  25. naseemkhanan

Where is there fort Knox and why they have to go begging from China.

Posted 10 months ago on 16 Jul 2011 19:05 #
  26. shriq

یا الله اٹلی کی توپوں میں کیڑے پڑیں
    اور امریکا کی توپوں میں بھی کیڑے پڑیں آمین یا الله امریکا کو فنا کر دے آمین

کاش صرف دعاؤں سے سب کچھ ہو جاتا

ایسی ایسی دعا کی ہے امریکا کے لئے کے بس اب کہ اب

مسلمان فکر مت کریں.

Posted 10 months ago on 16 Jul 2011 19:25 #
  27. shriq

Our wishes!!!!

But as it is a slow death

سالہ مرتے مرتے بھی ہمیں مار کے جائے گا.

Posted 10 months ago on 16 Jul 2011 19:29 #
  28. shriq

See US president worried!
    What is this?
    Can some economist on the forum explain this?
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/us-politics/8660635/The-US-debt-deadlock.html

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 20:01 #
  29. Abdul Rahman

http://w3.newsmax.com/a/aftershockb/video.cfm?promo_code=CA74-1

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 21:56 #
  30. Abdul Rahman

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 21:59 #