Swiss Prosecutor-General says Zardari Enjoys Immunity from Prosecution !!!!

(63 posts)
  1. LalBichoo

"""Zardari enjoys immunity from prosecution as a head of state, Prosecutor-General Daniel Zappelli told Reuters....

....“In Pakistan they decided that no crime had been committed,” he said.....
    .....Zappelli also noted that Zardari and Bhutto had been sentenced by the High Court in Lahore in 1999, but in 2001 Pakistan's Supreme Court had cancelled this verdict and sent it back to Lahore for a new decision. However, there had not been a new trial in the nine years since then.....
    ....In any case under international law Zardari enjoyed immunity from prosecution as a head of state - unless that state itself lifts the immunity......
    “Immunity is the key question,” Zappelli said. “We can't prosecute Mr Zardari while he has immunity unless Pakistan lifts that immunity. And if he doesn't have immunity, why don't they try him in Pakistan?”

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/03-swiss-deny-receiving-request-to-reopen-zardari-case-ss-08

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2010/03/100331_sc_nab_response.shtml

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 5:41 #
  2. Zardari kay fans khush hoyee e...
    baqi 99% log ghussay hoye iss na-insafi pe.

Hazrat Ali and Hazrat Umer can be brought to the court of law ,when they were the rulers .

but not the Zardari ,who is a mafia himslef .

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 6:00 #
  3. LalBichoo

unfortunately our great CJ can't order Swiss Prosecutor General to re-open cases against Zardari :)))

Dil Kay Armaan Ansooon may beh ga'ay :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 6:03 #
  4. only 1% losers who are with Zardari ,can be happy about this news piece .
    inshallah Zardari bilkul waiasy hi saza paye ga jaisay aur Farons ne paiii .

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 6:10 #
  5. LalBichoo

In my opinion selective accountablity initiated by CJP Iftikhar should be ended now !
    OR CJP should also take up cases pending for over a decade like Mehran Bank (I'm wondering if CJP is waiting Asghar Khan's death !), Hudaibiya Paper Mill cases !!!

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 6:20 #
  6. everybody has to be answerable .
    he is on a bigger post and responsible of handling public money ,should be more accountable then any one else .

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 6:38 #
  7. LalBichoo

Beenai,

Just becoz Zardari is co-chairman of PPP and president of Pakistan justifies his judicial targetted killing ???

What's stopping our brave and great CJP to open other cases of equal importance like Mehran Bank (I'm wondering if CJP is waiting Asghar Khan's death !), Hudaibiya Paper Mill cases ???

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 6:44 #
  8. @Lal Bichoo ,
    its the other way around.
    just because the biggest looter and plunderer has grabbed the biggest chair in the country ...
    would be enough for him to get away with all looting and plundering of public money ????

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 6:47 #
  9. LalBichoo

Beenai,

I don't want to argue with you on whether Zardari is corrupt or not as it's the job of courts to declar him so !
    BTW as our 'very honest' and angel-like holier than thou CJP is done with Zardari (and apparently failed to settle his score with Zardari), isn't it time to open other cases of equal importance like Mehran Bank (I'm wondering if CJP is waiting Asghar Khan's death !), Hudaibiya Paper Mill cases ???

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 6:52 #
  10. kuch log Zardari ko iss liye majboran favor kar rahay hain kay wohh MQM kay sath hay ,filhaal.

magar ghabrayein nahin,MQM tou agli aur uss se agli hukumat kay bhi sath ho gi .
    Thalii ka Bangain jo hoyeee ...:):):)

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 6:52 #
  11. LalBichoo

مے نہ مانوں ہار

SC raises objections on NAB letter to Swiss authorities

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/04-sc-objection-nab-letter-qs-05

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 8:28 #
  12. yeee .
    long live CJ ...
    long live Insaaf ka nishan ..Iftikar ...

Jeet humara Mustaqbil hay ..
    enjoy song by Lal band(not by Lal Bichoo):):):)
    http://www.insaf.pk/Forum/tabid/53/forumid/12/tpage/1/view/topic/postid/40779/Default.aspx#40779

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 8:38 #
  13. LalBichoo

Yes Long Live CJ, but I wish he come to his senses and realize that he's only CJ of Pakistan not CJ of Switzerland as well :)))

""....In any case under international law Zardari enjoyed immunity from prosecution as a head of state - unless that state itself lifts the immunity......
    “Immunity is the key question,” Zappelli said. “We can't prosecute Mr Zardari while he has immunity unless Pakistan lifts that immunity. And if he doesn't have immunity, why don't they try him in Pakistan?”""

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/03-swiss-deny-receiving-request-to-reopen-zardari-case-ss-08

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 8:41 #
  14. Pakistani chor switzerland mein dolat jama karein.
    aur hum hath pe hath dharr kay bethein.

lagta hay Zardari ne tumahray tax se jo pasiay chraiye thay wohh wapis kar diye hain .
    warna tum itni senseless favor na kartay Zardari jaise chor ki ....:(:(:(

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 8:46 #
  15. LalBichoo

choosy,

Stop putting your own words in my mouth !
    Where did I support Zardari ?

I repeat what I posted above

"In my opinion selective accountablity initiated by CJP Iftikhar should be ended now !
    And CJP should also take up cases pending for over a decade like Mehran Bank (I'm wondering if CJP is waiting Asghar Khan's death !), Hudaibiya Paper Mill cases !!! "

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 8:50 #
  16. aap iss thread kay andar musalsal Zardari ko back kar rhaye hain ...poch lien kisi se bhi ja kay .

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 8:52 #
  17. Fahim23

@Beena

Its not now that PPP or President Asif Zardari is specifically targeted now after he has become President. This party has always faced media trial and is continually facing, one of its prime its head is Hanged on fake case and other assassinated by the establishment of Pakistan.

Every fair minded person can easily see the doublle standards and bias of so called Pakistani free media and Judiciary when it comes to PPP and PMLN or MQM and JI.

In one of my post in this forum I tried to highlight that,,,incidently Nawas Sharif - who is claimed to be a Popular leader of Pakistan by Pakistani media - has single handedly done or accused of doing Everything (yea I repeat everything) which all the political leaders of Pakistan are accused of doing collectively. From enormous corruption to extra-judicial killing, supporting the dictator or himself becoming ameer-ul-momineen, you name it! But still he is portrayed as the credible and honest leader. Just see the reaction of media when Zardari backtracked from Bhurban declaration and NS backtracked from 18th Amendment!

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 9:01 #
  18. LalBichoo

Fahim23,

Totally agree with your excellent analysis !

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 9:06 #
  19. @Fahim,
    its a media of 2010 ...nothing can be hide from the eyes of the camera ...
    i have seen many stories of Nawaz Group being highlighted on media ,frequently ...like Credit card case ,fake examination case and most recently yesterday Lahore Civil Hosital doctors and journalists fighting ...etc .

yes ,thats true for all the media ,national and international ,that they always focus on the party ,which is in power ,because its more answerable then other parties ,as its holding public mandate of handling public money .

2.praising media is going parallel with the critic media .
    u can watch PTV ,ARY and Business Plus and can enjoy govt praising by anchors.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 10:10 #
  20. LalBichoo

Guys,

Did anyone of you watch last night's program of Kamran Khan on Geo Tv? he sounded if someone very close to him has died :)))
    He was certainly disturbed by Swiss Prosecutor General's statement :))
    Bohat mehnat kee theee Kamran Khan nay, but Dil kay Armaan ansoouun may......

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 13:22 #
  21. Zardari kay bachnay pe sirf Chor hi khosh ho saktay hain.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 13:46 #
  22. LalBichoo

lolzzzz

I'm against selective accountablity !
    There should be across the board accountablity !

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 13:57 #
  23. CJ ne kab kaha kay wohh retire ho rahay hain?
    jo app ghussay mein aagaye ?

i mean ,wohh retire honay se pehlay har political leader ka achi tarhah se AHTASAB karein gay .inshallah.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 14:02 #
  24. LalBichoo

choosy,

Do you really think CJP will ever give any judgement against Shariff Bros ???

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 14:06 #
  25. yes,he will...
    coz he is the symbol of Justice in Pakistan.
    our new generation has seen ever.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 14:07 #
  26. LalBichoo

choosy,

No he won't, as Sharif Bros are from Punjab and both military and jucial establishment favors them !!!

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 14:10 #
  27. you are giving it a racist color .
    thing is not like that .
    and reality is quite different .

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 14:16 #
  28. LalBichoo

choosy,

These are very bitter facts !
    Why a PM (ZAB) of a smaller province i.e. Sindh was judicially murdered ?
    Why two PMs (Junejo and BB) from a smaller province i.e. Sindh were not reinstated by Judiciary ? whereas judiciary re-instated a PM from Punjab i.e. Nawaz ?
    Why CJP has forgotten deal between Sharif Bros and Mush ??

There are so many whys my friend, and I'm not giving a racist color to anything, facts are facts !!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 14:22 #
  29. It would be very interesting scenario, where the Supreme Court of Pakistan orders to investigate about the financial status of Nawaz Sharif Group of Industries.

Right now there is a feeling that, not the Supreme Court, but Mr. Justice Iftikhar Chaudry, in his personal capacity, has a soft corner for Mian Nawaz Sharif.

Mr. Zardari, no doubt, has a controversial background, but the well coordinated campaign against his corruption by a section of Media and some of the agencies, looks like an exposure of personal vendetta rather than upholding the Rule of Law.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 14:29 #
  30. LalBichoo

JS Sb,

I'm in total agreement with your analysis !
    It's a fact both military and jucial establishments and a section of media have a soft corner for Sharif Bros !

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 14:33 #
  31. skunkk

I would have agreed with your analysis JS,

but as a judge reminded us recently, hum Iftikhar Chaudry ke sipahi hain,

tou lihaaza ab yahan PCO Iftikhar ki marzi se faislay hogay

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 16:02 #
  32. Qasim ali

@Choosy bhai and all readers.- pl read todays Jang,Adareti page,
    says "Hazaroo kursiyan aisi k her kursi pe dum nikelay", etc
    Zerdari will never admit that he has looted the national wealth,unless Pakistanis overthrough him with his all cronies, bringing a IRAN LIKE REVOLUTION,and KHOMENI like leader, to clean all these bunch of robbers.
    Now zerdari with his cronies, looting day and night,with both hands legs and mouth,because he knows that unfortunately still 3 years all left, but Allah only knows What could happen before it, as Karoon was imeresed in earth with his all treasures.-say truth.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 18:02 #
  33. skunkk

Jang ke tajziyo ke hisaab se aaj aakhri deadline bhi khatam hui Zardari ke girnay ki.

Becharay Ansar Abbasi, Shaheen Sehbai, Shahid Masood aur Kamran Khan ke moon kalay hogayay lekin hosh thikaanay nahi aayay.

It is not for him to accept that he has committed a crime, saboot hain tou PCO Iftikhar ke saamne pesh kerou Qasim Ali.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 20:25 #
  34. aftab arif

PPP is running the federal government why doesn't PPP cease the moment and initiate an investigation into the corruption of NS, no one is stopping them.

What they actually want from NS is that you scratch my back and i scratch yours.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 20:43 #
  35. Fahim23

@Choosy Sb,

had we struggled for the Restoration of Independent Judiciary we would have seen justice being served in our country, but unfortunately we were only striving for the Restoration of IMC! And as a consequence most likely we are not going to have Independent and powerful judiciary as institution, but a powerful Chief justice. You can see that as the day passes he is getting more and more controversial.

@Beena

For PPP it doesn't matter whether she is in Power or not. The dominated right wing media with the help of establishment will always criticised it. When you see any praise of PPP on the mainstream TV channels, it is not voluntarily by the anchors ... it is because they no more can twist the facts to defame PPP.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 20:55 #
  36. max786

FIRST OF ALL YOU ALL HAVE TO BECOME PAKISTANIS. ie one nation under one flag.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 22:22 #
  37. tamaazkhan

@Fahim23

I agree it became an pro-IMC issue, which certain political parties took advantage of.

The real issue of judicial freedom was just eyewash!

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 5:44 #
  38. Rome was not build in a day .
    so the judiciary can not make all the rights in a day .
    we are ready to give chance to corrupt leaders again and again .
    we are ready to welcome military dictators again and again.

but we are not at all ready to give chance to the judicairy to flourish in the country and a true system of justice to prevail ...we have to politicize and criticize it again and again ...

thats so unfair and so unfortunate .

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 7:58 #
  39. LalBichoo

Beenai,

"""Rome was not build in a day .
    so the judiciary can not make all the rights in a day ."""

How much time does our 'azad adliya' need ???
    IMC became CJP in March 2005 and was removed on 9th March 2007 ------ he again reinstated on 20th July 2007 and worked till 3rd Nov, 2007 ----- he's been again sitting on CJ's post since March last year !!!!
    How much time does he need ???
    He's already completed around 3 years !!!!

================

""we are ready to give chance to corrupt leaders again and again .""

We should respect people's mandate !
    If someone's got proof of corruption then he/she must approach 'azad adliya' !!!

=============

"""we are ready to welcome military dictators again and again."""

You are right we should condemn all those politicians who welcome dictators like Q-League and Taliban Khan !
    We should also condemn thos PCO judges including IMC who helped and gave time to Mush !!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 11:14 #
  40. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

More of the same, eh ? I see continued support of criminals by those who love crime, wrong-doing, etc etc.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:04 #
  41. Hello, hariskhan. So glad you're back. Perhaps, now, some sense will return to this poor blog.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:09 #
  42. Walaikum-Assalam-Warahmat-ULLAH / Hello my friend,

@Mirza Ghalib: Its good to be back.

This ban gave me time to continue preparation for CCNP certification exam. I passed 1/4 exams yesterday. One down, 3 more to go for me to get the certification. :D

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:11 #
  43. LalBichoo

hariskhan,

Pls avoid off-topic posts !

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:15 #
  44. Off you go, Red. Study the laws of how to be human instead of how to apply petty, narrow regulations.

Bravo Hariskhan. It's exactly what I was hoping you were doing during these past few days. Good luck for the rest.

The Swiss will look into the Bhutto-Zardari case finally. Of that I've little doubt. Just needs a bit of added pressure on our part.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:20 #
  45. CJ has still not responded to those allegation levelled against him by Mush. Before absolving himself from those allegations how can he do justice. If he is not guilty and those allegations are wrong then he should issue a clarification statement. When he is taking Suo Moto action on mere allegation of people like Klasra os why dont he respond to those allegations levelled against himself.

I can tell you one thing these are the calculated moves of certain quarters. Scandalization of Rental Powers and now LNG are meant to increase Load shedding turmoil in Pakistan thus breaking the economic backbone of Pakistan.

Just wake-up dear friends, please do not ignore everything in the enemity of Zardari. Zardari is corrupt and he will have to face the consequences in this world and here after. While bashing Zardari do not forget other issues.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 13:05 #
  46. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

As far as the topic of this thread is concerned, there are some facts to remember here;

(1) Mr. Zardari hasn't claimed immunity from the court of law, yet

Mr. Zardari needs to go to the court of law and claim this immunity. Only! after! he has claimed this immunity, will it apply to him, and NOT! before.

So far, he hasn't claimed this. And once he does claim it, it can also then be challenged for relevance to Islamic jurisprudence, Islamic ways, guidelines, rules, laws, principles.

(2) Law of the land inside Pakistan does not apply to Swiss courts

(3) The point about sovereign immunity needs to be raised and addressed ASAP

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 13:48 #
  47. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

In any case, justice should be imparted, across! the board, FAST!, non-discriminatory justice that obeys Islam's standards, ways, rules, principles, laws.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 13:53 #
  48. Good, and from a purely political standpoint, we can learn a thing or two from Libya on how to handle the silly Swiss.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 14:01 #
  49. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I believe it was Libya who threatened USA with doing the same to their citizens, their dignitaries at their airports, as USA proposed for Muslims. That is why USA took them out of that detestable list of countries, who's people would be subjected to checks through scanners.

Alas, rulers of Pakistan learned nothing from them.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 14:03 #
  50. They will, HK, they will someday. Just be patient. Our survival depends on it.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 14:17 #