The boring Dawn News vs Rest of the DONS of our Media!

(41 posts)
  1. ucsher

I think they are arguably the most neutral, professional & prudent media group present on the face of earth right now!..and I say this because despite being from the same country where most of the urdu elecrtonic/print media and even the english translation of the daily jang & Nawa-e-waqt (i,e The news & The nation) only appear to be interested in the mumbo-jumbo of political jostling, they (the Dawn group) some how not only have been able to abstain from getting lured in to all this good for nothing B.S but also while giving not even a damn about this t.r.p & masala race have highlighted only those issues which really deserve to get highlighted ...and as a result, after witnessing whatever is going on on our desi channels these days, when one switches to the Dawn News, it almost seems as if they are telecasting from some different plant!
    (But at the same time, you can't even blame them for not showing or ignoring any major activity on the political either, Can you?)

I think there is a reason why the Dawn Group is regarded as the most reputed & respected media group in the whole sub-continent!

Just a message to all the ghairatmand DONS of media : Don't make new code of conducts every new day just try and behave like dawn & not DONS!! ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 19:25 #
  2. msohail83

I like NewEye with Saima :-)

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 19:28 #
  3. ucsher

I think you just like Saima ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 19:30 #
  4. msohail83

I love the way she presents her program - thoughroghly profesional, articulate, and very analytical. Her program format is also quite unique as compared to rest of the prime time talk shows.

Why are you a expecting mass audience for a channel being transmitted in a language not spoken/understood by the majority of the country?

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 19:38 #
  5. linkwheel

@ msohail83 is it the Show u like or is it SAIMA? ;D

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 19:42 #
  6. ucsher

@msohail

I am not expecting a mass audience for it, I am just asking as to why their conduct can not be followed by other channels?

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 19:45 #
  7. msohail83

Both linki :-)

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 19:46 #
  8. ucsher

@msohail

I think inadvertently you are attracted by her posh British Accent ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 19:48 #
  9. msohail83

O paee jaan,

Twadi awam nu chahi da ay masala. Mir and Javed Chaudhry are more popular than Talat cuz they get ppl to throw jibes and have some live verbal brawls. lolz

Ads bhi to lenay hain na janab. Samjha karo ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 19:50 #
  10. ucsher

@sohail
    and I thought its these very channels who claim to be leading the awaam & not the other way around!

Besides, I doubt it that the awami factor is as strong as you think its, i mean just take some of the other english papers & channels i.e the news, express 24/7 & the nation, for that matter!...they are watched & read by a particular class as well and yet more or less they toe the same line as that of urdu press!

I think primarily it is the desi mentality of "ooh aah" which is at work behind all these media out lets ..i mean don't forget that even the news , the nation & express 24/7 are basically launched by the urdu media outlets like the jang, nawa-e-waqt and the express newS!

on the other hand , Dawns news/paper is a property of eductaed and wise parsis.. so no wonder that they are altogether in a different league!

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 20:01 #
  11. msohail83

I don't know about their channel too much. The only program I've watched is NewsEye and I could confirm the difference is there.

As for their paper, I sometimes don't agree with them. Their writers seem to be all praise for India and forget they are writing for Pakistan. It is quite evident by the kind of traffic and flattery comments they recieve from the Indians on their blogs. They recieve 50% online traffic from Pakistan and 20% from India.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 20:09 #
  12. ucsher

@msohail
    I think the 20% indian traffic is justified when one takes in to account facts like

1-Dawn was the very first english paper launched in Pakistan and hence has a long history about it!

2-They are known for their professional & neutral coverage all around the world!

3-They after all has a strong secular voice! ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 20:22 #
  13. msohail83

Their is fine line b/w being secular and Islamophobe! They've got a few of them for sure!

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 20:25 #
  14. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Personally, I watch shows that are relevant or have interesting material, something that moves us towards improvement of our lives, something that helps us.

The bogus routine news, or that which flies by, which doesn't help us in our lives has little worth

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 20:37 #
  15. expakistani

I am always big fan of Dawn, their reporting is very well balanced and there is no extra masala... and top of that
    i am able to watch DAWN NEWS for free

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 3:17 #
  16. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Then again, I haven't watched regular TV for months, and we never took cable subscription.

Now we'v also de-subscribed to newspapers. I'd like to think, because the news being reported in ALL of them is that which is not worth reading at all.

The web is my source of news.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 3:41 #
  17. ucsher

@msohail
    I think we both would agree that for any one to be really Islamophobic, he/she has to be at least infamous like Taslima Nasreen (let alone Rushdi) & has his/her share of those killer fatwaas & death threats in countries like us!!!

But since the general "Secular-phobic" (let alone anti-agnostic) environment of Pakistan doesn't even allow such kinds to flourish, so i am quite sure that you are just confusing normal Secular voices with Islamophobic!

and If not then you have to at least give me a single pakistani name that has ever been as famous as taslima for its hatred for Islam!

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 6:53 #
  18. toamin

I like The News' investigative reports. I am not aware if Dawn has such investigative journalism. They just publish foreign news agency reports along with some masala from likes of Nadeem EFFF Paracha.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 6:58 #
  19. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@ucsher: Hoodbhoy

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 7:05 #
  20. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

:O and I buy Dawn Sunday, and the likes for watching jobs ads :D

THERE it is worth the money

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 7:07 #
  21. ucsher

@harish

You just proved my point!!!

He is just a normal parsi guy with conventional secular thoughts (and I think he doesn't even have any killer fatwaas attached to his name) but the fact that you can't even stand him and compare him with the likes of taslima nasreen just shows how most of the extremist chauhadries of pakistan can't stand anyone who has a different opinion and thnk of him as some islamophobic guy!

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 7:35 #
  22. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

He doesn't just have a different opinion. What he has is;

- support of the west, as an asset of theirs injected in our society to counter every rational argument with non-sense

- Anti Islam ideas

- Anti Pakistan ideas

- Anti Nuclear ideas

ONLY for Pakistan, he doesn't think others should denuclearize, for which I and I hope everyone else also raises eyebrow

He's not a normal intellectual. He's a lunatic.

As Iqbal said;

Fatwa hai Shaikh ka yeh zamanah qalam ka hai
    Dunya mein abb rahi nahin talwar kargar
    Lekin janabe Shaikh ko ma'lum kiya nahin?
    Masjid mein abb yeh wa'az hai be-sudo be-asar
    Tegh-o-tufang abb daste Musalman mein hai kahan
    Ho bhi, tto dil hain maot ki lazzat se be-khabar
    Kafir ki maot se bhi larazta ho jis ka dil
    Kehta hai kon ose keh Musalman ki maot mar
    Ta'lim os ko chahiye tark-e-Jihad ki
    Dunya ko jis ke panja-e-Khuni se ho khatar
    Baatil ke faal-o-far ki hifazat ke waste
    Europe zirah mein doob geya dosh ta kamar
    Ham puchte hain Shaikhe Kalisa-nawaz se
    Mashriq mein jang shar hai tto maghrib mein bhi hai shar

Haqq se agar gharaz hai tto zeba hai kiya yeh baat
    Islam ka muhasbah, Europe se dar-guzar

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 7:43 #
  23. ucsher

@Dawn lacking investigative journalism!

You must be kidding me, because if there is one news paper that actually believes in doing authentic investigative journalism, it is dawn, though since they are not attention seeking whores like geo and the jang group hence most of their stuff is just quoted by these out lets without giving any credit to the Dawn guys!

Prime Example: Just yesterday Dawn news was the first one to break the story of americans talking to the talibans and just after 5 minutes all the urdu news channels broke that story

2-Did you know that it was actually Dawn and not geo who broke the story of Ajmal Qasab being a Pakistani?, though since they dont believe in whining & boasting about such stuff hence the attention seeking **** a.k.a geo got the opportunity of falsely claiming about that feat.!

3-They regularly come up with startling facts about bribery, corruption, human right violations , minority abuse in pakistan but I guess since such topics are not as masalay daar as "power politics" hence you just ignore them!

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 7:44 #
  24. ucsher

Yes He has anti-nuclear and secular thoughts (I mean just because he wants to see pakistan as a welfare state and not a security or IN OTHER WORDS "Islam ka QILLA" STATE, it doesn't mean that the guy is anti-pakistan) plus just because he is against extremism, it doesn't mean that he is against Islam

I mean cut the poor guy some slack , How can he be against islam when he him self is a non-muslim pakistani & does want to live int his country!

and btw I knw it for a fact that most of the parsi guys are more patriotic than us, any doubts?, just ahve a look on some of the biggest philantropists in pakistan
    after all quaid's wife and her daughter were also parsis!

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 7:53 #
  25. toamin

Qauid's wife accepted Islam and changed her name, though she didn't use it, but she had new Islamic name.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 7:55 #
  26. ucsher

@jj khan
    just like jamaima converted to islam, right?

well I call it khanapoori ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 7:57 #
  27. toamin

As far as news coverage is concerned all major news papers cover all major/minor stories. A person can keep himself updated by reading any major news paper.

With internet now, a person view many news papers without having to select this one or that one.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 7:59 #
  28. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

If Pakistanis' in general have been deprived of oppertunities, if corruption has taken over Pakistan, that doesn't mean Pakistani's have done any less.

Perhaps you are not aware that some policeman owns Gourmet Bakery chain. He finances 1 heart surgery in PIC every day.

There are many more cases, perhaps we are not aware of it.

ALL the institutions running in Pakistan right now are private.

Government is TOTALLY sitting MOOT at the moment.

If Government of Pakistan can't ensure safety and security of life, money, property within Pakistan, how can you blame people of Pakistan for not having done much, in their private capacity, for prosperity of Pakistan as a result ?

Do you think the TRILLIONS! (with a BIG T) of Rupees of taxes that go to Government are ONLY for luxury of politicians ?

Let me remind you the rich in Pakistan are NOT paying taxes since decades, but enjoy ALL the luxuries of the state, its resources, etc etc

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 8:01 #
  29. toamin

ucsher,

As Muslim we can't question anyone who accepts Islam publicly. If Jamaima or Qaud's wife -Mariam- accepted Islam publicly that is more than enough for the record.

30. ucsher

well if you don't want to read dawn then just don't!

31. toamin

Right, I don't think i'll miss anything if I don't read Dawn :)

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 8:03 #
  32. ucsher

yes it is enough for the records but not for your inner voice!

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 8:03 #
  33. toamin

Yes, enough for inner voice. What I wrote was from inner voice.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 8:04 #
  34. ucsher

@jjkhan

well you might miss a bit on the minority abuse, women abuse , human right violations, corruption etc but then judging your posts I don't think they are your cup of tea either, or are they? ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 8:05 #
  35. toamin

ucsher,

You mean to say that these incidents are only covered by Dawn?

Any evidence to justify your claim?

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 8:09 #
  36. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

It is said, Pakistani people give $32 billion worth of taxes EVERY YEAR.

How much is that in Rupees ? If my calculation is correct, that is upward of Rs. 25 trillion. Am I right ?

Where does ALL that money go ? EVERY YEAR !?!?!?!!

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 8:28 #
  37. Dawn is a balance newspaper, correct,
    its chief has been posted as embassidor to UN, by Zardari.
    Good way atleast to balance one big newspaper,

Zardai tried to satidfied Dr. Shahid Masood posting in PTV but early decission created so many troubles for Zardari to face Dr. Shahid Msood.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 9:21 #
  38. Adonis

Dawn TV and newspaper, both are a doyen of a particular small minority; the grammar school alumni wining/dining classes of karachi, who prefer to live in their own cocoon aloof from whats going on in the country and like to call themselves "liberal elite".

In fact they are neither liberal nor elite. Most of them are secular fascists and progeny of 60s bourgeois who still mentally live in 60s. They are just heirs of anglo-indians whose biggest regrets is that why they were not born white in Europe. So inspite of having brown faces, they try to ape every latest trend in London and Paris. As Islamophobia is in vogue there, so their local franchise, Dawn News also proudly carries that banner.

There is only a tiny minority that watches Dawn TV regularly and relates with its political inclinations. Thankfully, its just a dying minority.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 9:24 #
  39. I agree @ adonis.

Desi angeez, dad mom group, burger family etc.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 9:30 #
  40. toamin

Nice :)

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 12:47 #
  41. Fahim23

IMO DAWN TV is one of the best television network in Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 12:52 #