The Imran Khan Factor & The Battle For Punjab: DAWN

(140 posts)
  1. insaftak

IT looks and sounds almost biblical. Pestilence has descended on Lahore, swaths of the country have plunged into darkness, life as we know it may be coming to an end soon.

Thank God for the politicians and comic relief.

Less ‘après moi, le déluge’ — after me, the deluge — and more ‘nous sommes le déluge’ — we are the deluge — our pols are up in arms again.

They are shaking fists, bumping bellies, raging and pontificating. The PML-N wants the PPP gone, the PPP is mocking the N-League, the political waters are churning again.

And the man who may have triggered it all, Imran Khan, is serenely going about his business, heaping scorn on all sides and surging ahead in popularity.

To understand Pakistani politics, you have to keep two things in mind.

One, little of what any politician has to say publicly has anything to do with what’s really on his mind.

Two, some laws of politics are immutable.

Start with the second proposition. You don’t lose an election to poor performance, you lose an election to another candidate.

Despite the rains in Sindh and **** in Lahore, those areas are bastions of the PPP and the PML-N respectively and it’s hard to see them being meaningfully challenged there by other parties or candidates.

So you can scratch that as a serious electoral concern.

Now to the first proposition. You’ve heard the PML-N verbally pummel the PPP and you’ve seen the Shujaat faction of the PML-Q momentarily try and put some distance between itself and the PPP.

To hear the PPP’s rivals/ allies tell it, they are simply fed up with the PPP’s misgovernance and just want things to get better.

If you believe any of that, you might also want to peer out the nearest window to see if you can spot a flying pig.

The N-League is the same party that hasn’t been able to control a mosquito in Lahore and the PML-Q, well, the years 2002-08 should be enough to tell you everything about their good governance model.

So why is the N-League in particular so agitated suddenly?

If you google ‘Gujranwala, Sept 25, PTI’, you may get part of the answer.

That pesky fool Imran Khan seems to be attracting voters in Punjab, particularly urban but also rural.

The build-up has been happening away from the headlines of the mainstream Punjab-based media because it is either in the pocket of the Sharifs or loathe to antagonise the powerful N-League which is known to be vindictive and tough in its dealings with the media.

To be sure, IK and his PTI jalopy aren’t quite a juggernaut yet, but they have been quietly picking up steam. And on Sept 25, they roared into Liaquat Bagh in a jalsa that would have set the alarms ringing in the PML-N camp.

The hawks in the N-League have long been chafing against the more pacifist policy of their boss, but earlier weren’t able to convince Nawaz otherwise.

Now, with a new party, the PTI, arriving in the N-League’s backyard and making many of the noises the PML-N hawks think they should be making themselves to hold on to their constituencies, the hawks appear to have finally goaded their boss into action.

So the pummelling of the PPP has begun, to keep the N-League voter onside and away from the wiles of the PTI seductionists.

Why the roundabout route of attacking the PPP to keep the N-League voters from breaking for the PTI?

Because a direct attack on the PTI would both boost the profile of Imran Khan’s bunch of do-gooders and signal that the N-League feels threatened. In politics, the perception of weakness can become reality if exposed too early. And it’s a time-honoured strategy of politics to bash the incumbents to boost one’s own electability.

Frankly, until the arrival of the interloper Imran Khan, the next elections were looking quite dreary.

Electoral gridlock in much of the country — PPP dominating in interior Sindh; MQM in Karachi; KP split between the ANP, PPP and JUI-F; urban and central Punjab dominated by the PML-N — had left the big players eyeing another coalition government in which the fate of south Punjab would likely decide who would lead at the centre.

Punjab and its various regions were supposed to be the stage for an overall three-way contest between the PML-N, the Q-League and the PPP, with Imran Khan and his PTI playing the role of the spoiler in a first-past-the-post system. Votes matter little unless they translate into seats and the big boys were supposed to have had a lock on the seats.

But the plucky outsider with the demagogic populism seems to have tapped into a vein of unhappiness with the status quo that everyone knew was there but doubted whether it could be channelled politically by a new force.

Even now, whether Imran Khan knows how to translate a crowd at a campaign rally into votes at the ballot box remains to be seen. The pundits, though, are slowly becoming believers. Between KP and Punjab, there is talk of him picking up anywhere between a dozen and 30-plus seats.

http://www.dawn.com/2011/10/07/the-ik-factor.html

Cyril Almeida is not a member of PTI :) and here is a picture of facebook party that is annoying the crap out of Noon Leaguers. and Lahore is Yet to come. Patiently waiting for the lahore Jalsa :)

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 3:16 #
  2. expakistani

I think PTI going to cut some votes from JI,other Molvies and PML N. but winning seats any where except Minawali is not in possible.

Remember Jalsey main jana is fun thing and lot of people come in Jalsa but they dont go out for vote and even if they are voting they will vote for same old

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 3:46 #
  3. saladin89

@expakistani

I think they will cut 70% of votes PML N.

The past 3-4 years media has exposed them for being incompetent and corrupt. Secondly there failures to deliver whether PML N or PPP. The anger going through awam is gaining pace, the independent polls show this, also turnouts at jalsa's is a sign of strength for IK.

I think u are living in the past too much.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 3:56 #
  4. expakistani

All the best merey bhai... I myself tired of Pakistani Munafiq league ( A - Z ) group and PPP.

lets hope aap ke PTI poray Punjab ke 99 % vote le jaey, but just an advice etna shoor na dalo ke baad main cholo bhar pani dhond na parey
    (:

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 4:34 #
  5. saladin89

just giving my analysis on the situation, it is not about overconfidence, i could be wrong. time will tell.......

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 4:38 #
  6. siddiqi73

Chollo bhar paani tu shaid poora na paray magar lota bhar would suffice.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 5:07 #
  7. bsobaid

This is a huge crowd in the above photo.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 5:24 #
  8. Dusky

صدیقی ، خبردار جو لوٹوں کو کچھ کہا...
    لوٹا ساڈا شیر ہے باقی سب ہیر پھیر ہے

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 5:26 #
  9. siddiqi73

@bsobaid,

I don't know why people have such fixation with pictures. Would this help advancing my cause...http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1101347863&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20111007

Are these people bharay kay tamashai?

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 5:49 #
  10. HAQKIAWAZ

In last year NA 55 bye election, IK's last jalsa at Committee Chowk Rawalpindi was as big as Gujranwala. And next evening after election result, ptian were hiding from the public after the humiliated defeat of their strong candidate Ijaz Khan urf "Jaazi". Ground reality is always different from the expectations created at the internet.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 6:20 #
  11. saladin89

^^^^

45 % jaali votes, if it happened in 2008, then it could have happened there very easily as well.

Ground reality is always very different when PML N are involved.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 6:33 #
  12. insaftak

@expakistani
    I think PTI is going to win 50 seats and that is a conservative estimate and if things go according to the plan PTI is going to kick PPP & PML a3s big time.

@bsboaib

aap andhay ho sirf 3 chaar banday hein wo be jin ko Imran khan chakar de ker laya tha ke yahaan burger bantay ja rahay hein

@ HaqkiAwaz

Not really. Here is a picture from the last day of campaign.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 6:41 #
  13. HAQKIAWAZ

Yes it was 45% jaali votes as Pti candidate got 5000 votes as compared to over 50000 votes of Pml(N) candidate even after a huge jalsa of IK like he recently did in Gujranwali. Based on this we can easily predict the future election accomplishments of Pti..

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 6:45 #
  14. saladin89

As I said 45% jaali vote, however there is nothing saying that 90% of 50000 votes were rigged. To ensure PML N candidate wins PML N can take any measures necessary for that to happen.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:08 #
  15. insaftak

Still remember the 14k bogus votes on lahore by election. PTI had that election in it's pocket if it wasn't for the massive rigging by PML(N).

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:12 #
  16. siddiqi73

Yeah right, that is a **** and bull perspective which was conceived in the mind of Haroon "Chacha Kuppi" Rasheed. IK has fought for the restoration of an independent judiciary, he is still challenged to take up the issue of rigging in the Lahore By-Election with the Election Commission and Supreme Court. Even he does not succeed in getting that election null and void, he would still end up on the favourable side of a PR stunt.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:25 #
  17. insaftak

< img src=http://www.express.com.pk/images/NP_LHE/20111007/Sub_Images/1101348025-1.gif= />

http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1101348025&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20111007

The onslaught on PML(N) in Punjab continues. Don't know who this guy is probably a small fish but the trend is clear. everyone is running far away from PML(N).

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:28 #
  18. HAQKIAWAZ

Yaar this lolly pop of jaali votes is the only excuse left with Ptian to justify their yet another failure in the coming elections..

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:30 #
  19. insaftak

@haqkiawaz

45% fake votes if you don't consider that a serious issue than I don't know what will be serious. Let me repeat this is not 1%, not 5%, not 10%, not 15%, not 25%, but 45 damn percent fake votes.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:33 #
  20. saladin89

what 45 % rigging of votes is definitely shocking!
    The power of votes they have under rigging is atronomical!

45% has been exposed by the election commission and CJ. But all the fake politicians that have been exposed are still sitting in there chairs. In fact in the civilised world this parliament would have to resign or be kicked out.
    Nothing has happened then, and following up lahore by election result is a waste of time as well.

N$ is the judge, jury and executioner in Punjab!

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:34 #
  21. saladin89

@haqkiawaz

Come election time it will be u lot that will be using that excuse, not us!

establishment rigged elections and put IK into power, something on that lines will be your excuse.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:36 #
  22. he he he
    jaali votoes ki zarorat dosron ko parti hay.
    jab Imran muqablay pe aata hay
    Imran ko sirf Jaali vote hi hara saktay hain

jis din sirf asali vote paray
    duniya dekhaye gi
    live telecast of oath taking PM Imran on all the news channels.

jab tak jaali voton kaa raaj hay
    nooners ,pooners , qatil mqmers mazay kar lein.

adab araz.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:40 #
  23. HAQKIAWAZ

@insaftak
    So Ik winning election from Mianwali in 2002 was also based on 45% jaali votes?

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:40 #
  24. saladin89

@haqkiawaz

Maybe or not, I do not know. However this is 2011, not 2002, a lot has changed since then. We had a corrupt dictator, and then he left us N$, Mr10%, thanks a lot GM.
    What a present he left Pakistan

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:44 #
  25. insaftak

@HaqkiAwaz

I don't know Supreme court didn't say that 45% of votes casted in 2002 were fake. I am just going by facts provided to us by supreme court of pakistan.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:44 #
  26. saladin89

Punjab factor

Jaali votes vs people's power!

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:47 #
  27. insaftak

"The PTI chief lauded Azhar’s son Hammad for convincing his father to join the PTI and urged the younger generation to inform their elders that change for a better future was all the more imminent and the country could not survive without it."

This is what is happening to PPP & PML(N) and they don't even know what is hitting them. Good on Hammad for convincing his father

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:51 #
  28. he he he
    ab jaali vote nahi chalay ga
    sirf asli tay sacha vote chalay ga
    ho ho ho

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:51 #
  29. HAQKIAWAZ

@insaftak
    Just a common sense question. NRO was signed between Benazir and Mush before 2008 elections and arrangements were made to form a coalition govt of PPP with Pml(Q) with Mush had to be elected as President. So in your opinion the jaali voter list were made to give benefits to which parties. Recently Pakistan Election commission has cancelled over 50% unverified voters from Sind, Baluchistan. Pml(N) could not win even a single seat from these provinces in 2008 elections. So the key beneficiaries of the fake voter lists were PPP and Pml(q).

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:54 #
  30. sasherwani

Thanks for sharing buddy. Nicely written article. We just 'might' be seeing the very first revolution in Pakistan. We have slept for way too long. Time to wake up :)

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:56 #
  31. saladin89

don't be silly haqkiawaz, this has been discussed many times before, and your excuse has no backbone. I am sure insaftak will answer to your claims.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:57 #
  32. insaftak

@ HaqkiAwaz

your post has nothing to do with facts, it's just your opinion. the only fact is that there were 45% fake votes and I have no clue who benefited from those votes.

common sense tells me that everyone benefited from those fake votes that includes PPP, PML(Q), PML(N) & MQM.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 7:58 #
  33. scandinavian

Excerpt from the article:

"The build-up has been happening away from the headlines of the mainstream Punjab-based media because it is either in the pocket of the Sharifs or loathe to antagonise the powerful N-League which is known to be vindictive and tough in its dealings with the media."

Mind you that Cyril is person of the "baboo(n) class". These people dislike Imran Khan and still this person cannot deny PTI.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 8:16 #
  34. HAQKIAWAZ

@insaftak
    These voter lists were made when Mush was ruling with Pml(Q). So it is apparent who could have manipulated these lists. But I believe that our election commission should be made as credible as Indian EC is. In Indian general elections history, the losing parties have never raised the issue of rigging. That is why Indian democracy is a source of pride for them.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 8:18 #
  35. scandinavian

@HKA

Good, please work on this issue - also within your party!
    We want the issue raised publicly and in action - not only talking. When solved we can "kill" the usual protests of rigging scandals!

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 8:38 #
  36. siddiqi73

When PTI hold regular elections within the party and someone other than IK contests as the Chairman; then and only then the mantra of electoral reforms will see light of the day....until then, all this nonsense is a load of hogwash and a cheap attempt at playing god.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 8:43 #
  37. scandinavian

Regular "elections" like in PMl-N, where the party has become the jageer of the Sharif family. Two brothers are the undisputed kings and there is a prince (Hamza) waiting for his turn.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 9:01 #
  38. Hussain Farooqui

Who are any potential candidates of PTI in Punjah? Can somebody describe the names of those candidates?

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 9:01 #
  39. scandinavian

@HF

Go to the PTI website. You will find many names.

http://www.insaf.pk

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 9:02 #
  40. scandinavian

What does Hassan Nisar write?

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 9:02 #
  41. siddiqi73

@scandinavian,

<<<Regular "elections" like in PMl-N, where the party has become the jageer of the Sharif family. Two brothers are the undisputed kings and there is a prince (Hamza) waiting for his turn.<<<

Please don't run in circles! You folks are the trailblazers and hence y'all are suppose to set the example. Tell me when an election was held in the Facebook party.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 9:04 #
  42. scandinavian

@S73

Pointing out faults in PMl-N=running in circles?? What a logic :(

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 9:06 #
  43. siddiqi73

Still waiting for an answer on the last or if any election has taken place in PTI.....come on, don't run away now!

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 9:08 #
  44. scandinavian

I never claimed that PTI is fully democratic. It is NOT, BUT we will ensure it becomes a fully democratic party in the future.
    I also pointed out that PML-Nawaz Sharif aur us key chotey bhai key jageer hai. That's a fact too!

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 9:13 #
  45. siddiqi73

Thank you for being forthcoming and your point is taken on PML (N) and I fully agree with you on this.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 9:16 #
  46. sultanalikhan

By the frenzy that seems to have gripped PML-N supporters' camp, it tells me Imran must be doing something "very aggressively right".......lolzzzz

Change from status quo is always feared, yet change is one thing that is permanent.....if brought about on time it takes nations to places.....remember stagnant water emits stench, running water breeds life and hope!!!

PML-N stalwart Choudhry Nisar Ali Khan unknowlingly but out of frustration given Imran Khan a new name INQILAB Khan....Who knows this name may haunt Ch. Nisar and make him regret for having to coin the name so ominiously!!!!

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 9:20 #
  47. insaftak

@ sultanAliKhan

PML(N) leadership from top to bottom only focuse on name calling instead of focusing on the issues. All started with Jewish agent then ISI Khan and Now Inquilaab Khan.

PML(N)'s problem is they don't focus on the issues that have been affecting people of pakistan for last 3.5+ years and that is what pushing angry people toward PTI who have perfectly represented the voices of people.

If PML(N) is serious then they should resign from punjab government and National assembly and force fresh elections otherwise they will keep taking beating by PTI everyday.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 21:00 #
  48. stingingnettle

Pakistanis will ignore Hasan Nisar at their own peril. I have always found him blunt, truthful and to the point. Whilst he is not a prognosticator but he is a man of incredible intellect and insight. I rate him after Iqbal, Faiz and Jalib for his lack of fear and vision. So I look forward see seeing in the near future if he got it right or not.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 21:10 #
  49. ChangeIK

Imran is not doing something right (as in being politically manipulative), he is simply on the right, and has been for the past many years.

The only difference now is, like Imran says, is "the idea whose time has come". The time is ripe for change and that's why Imran Khan is being recognized all over the country.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 21:37 #
  50. expakistani

Lets hope PTI is not gona turn out as another Pasban or Pakistan Islamic Front type thing.
    I have seen "HAT JAO HUMAREY RASTEY SE --QAZI Aa RHA HEY"

Thats was one flop show, so just for longer run I advice PTI workers not to brag about Big jalsa and show shas....you guys are not MQM of 1980s or PPP of 1970s.

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 2:28 #