The London Post's Web Editor has been found dead in Lahore

(51 posts)
  1. banjarbayabaan

LAHORE: The mutilated body of 28-year-old Faisal Qureshi, web editor of The London Post, was discovered by his brother Zahid and Johar Town police from his residence in Lahore at around 2am on Friday.
    The FIR regarding the incident states that the body bore torture marks and that the deceased journalist’s throat was slit open.
    The police have taken the body into custody to conduct further investigations.
    The London Post recently published a story regarding Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) chief Altaf Hussain’s alleged escape to South Africa — a report that was later denied by the party and the British government. Zahid Qureshi claims that his brother had been receiving death threats in the past week from men who said they were from the MQM.
    Zahid told The Express Tribune that he immediately became suspicious when he called his brother late last night but was unable to get through to him as his mobile was switched off.
    He proceeded to go to his brother’s house in Johar Town, to find that the gate had traces of blood on it. Zahid notified the police, who arrived at the scene and entered the house to find Faisal dead.
    Zahid claims that this was a target killing and that his brother was murdered because of the news he had published regarding the MQM.
    Faisal is the youngest of four brothers, and worked for the publication from Lahore. His brother appealed to the government and chief justice of Pakistan to take notice of the incident and protect the families of other journalists.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/268843/london-post-journalists-mutilated-body-found-in-lahore/

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 17:14 #
  2. shriq

Ya, you are right MQM did not like him.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 18:26 #
  3. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Two scenarios:
    1. His brother is involved in the killing for the monetary reasons property, insurance scam etc.
    2. Zardari, Nawaz or even 'certain party leader with enemosity towards MQM' have him eliminated for the obvious revenge against MQM.

It is ridiculous that MQM has little or no presence in Lahore, and we are hearing this news. What a cheap publicity stunt. Besides this lowlife had nothing to live for: good riddance.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 21:15 #
  4. ChangeIK

Terrorists can be present anywhere. MQM is a terrorist party remember.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 21:20 #
  5. stingingnettle

Rizwan Qaimkhani

"Besides this lowlife had nothing to live for: good riddance."

Are you suggesting that extra judicial killings are correct?

People should take the law in their own hands?

Everyone should be allowed to decide who a lowlife is?

So you wouldn't mind who gets popped off as long as someone thinks of them as low life? The number of people I can think of is staggering who fit the description low life.

Rizwan; you are completely out of order and wrong to even suggest that an extra-judicial killing is right. This is what Israelis do to the Palestinians and the Americans do to the Wasiristanis and Afghans via their drones.

Extra judicial kill is an act of savagery and is indefensible.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 21:32 #
  6. ChangeIK

I will say on your death.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 21:46 #
  7. bsobaid

Either business/personal rivalry or MQM.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 21:56 #
  8. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@ChangeIK
    There is no comparision between me and him. He was selling concocted stories of his twisted mind. So have I done the same: NO.

In that case what you have said for me, same goes for you sir.

Besides who bought his stories other than ZM and his lowlife followers. Keep buying stories oh wait he is a story himself:)

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 22:13 #
  9. stingingnettle

Rizwan Q

You still have not answered my question?

Do you condone extra judicial killings?

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 22:20 #
  10. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Extra-judicial killing is a cancer in our society. There are thousands of people killed in our society without ever being tried in court. It is the safest way of saving the embarrasement and lies. I have seen people whom I knew of killed in this manner. So how could I condone it! I am utterly against it.

But since you are the one calling it extra-judicial killing, do you really understand what extra-judicial killing is. Was he part of any court proceeding? IF that was the case, please show us your source.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 22:41 #
  11. stingingnettle

I am pleased to read that extra-judicial killings are as abhorrent to you as it is to anyone other rational person. So that is clear.

I cannot, therefore make any sense of your highly irresponsible statement in your first comment on this thread.

Yes, I do know what an extra-judicial killing is and if you think extra-judicial killings have anything to do with courts or the process of law then you are wrong. Extra judicial killing is by definition, the termination of someone's life without any judicial proceeding or legal process most by the state or people acting on behalf of the powers that be. So no, there were no court proceedings.

This young man was killed unlawfully and you should condemn his murder like the murder of any person who was denied the due process of law. I take it you are not standing by your statement;

Nobody is a low life deserving death until a court says so.

I hope there are no exceptions to your statement that you are against the taking of human life without the due process of law.

Posted 7 months ago on 07 Oct 2011 23:21 #
  12. Jutt kharak

I mean when was the last time our valiant police solved a murder case? Benazir Bhutto? Only that clown Rehman Malik knows based on his intuitive powers. You can murder anyone in Pakistan and get away with it. This is a reality. No one is safe. All criminals work for Police. Our Army employs Terrorists to carry out various bombings .. as if you don't know?

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 0:29 #
  13. expakistani

so londonpost is really in lahore???

what the hell g uy was doing in Lahore? who invited him and then this sad stuff.

Can it be IK or NS just to blame MQM for another murder?

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 2:23 #
  14. Dusky

Was the "Altaf Hussain escape to SA" is the only fake story this guy ever publish or he have other fake stories under his belt as well? If he is the source of other fake stories as well, then it could be those as well.

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 2:40 #
  15. sochopakistani

First of all condolence to family of slain person. May his soul rest in peace.
    Surprising to know main source of jamat-e-Islami reference was in Lahore?
    No surprise in people blaming MQM for his murder, as MQM haters need no proof, even if real killer caught and confesses for the crime still people will blame MQM.
    This is similar to world accusing Pakistan for any terrorist activity anywhere in the world...

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 4:03 #
  16. Dusky

This tribune story seems bogus as this news is not published at any other news outlet including the one (London Post) in question. Though AH story is still available on their main page.

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 5:45 #
  17. sultanalikhan

@Rizwan Qaimkhani..you wrote, "Besides this lowlife had nothing to live for: good riddance".

Those comments of yours are most gross, deplorable, despicable, unjustified, unnecessary and inhumane.

I don't know what had driven you or forced you to such utterance, you should at least show decency toward a departed soul....whether or not he was an upright person or a hard-core criminal, you have no right to pass your judgment with such arrogance....

I can understand you being pizzed as people do not say good things about MQM here on this forum, you should not let go of your decent and humane side that I am sure Allah must have given to you.....think about it bro... Having differences with people is one thing, but going all out and denying all kind of decency to even a departed soul is very condemnable....I am sure you didn't mean it but it was just a spur of the moment!! I certainly ope so.

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 7:05 #
  18. salaudin

I think it is obvious, from the comments of MQMers, what type of party MQM is. They have no problem with extra judicial killings and this is not the first time an MQMers has shown such intentions.

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 7:17 #
  19. shaagird

jhoot bolay kawwa kaatay

why is a web news paper managed secretly from LAHORE is named LONDON post??????
    this shows the jamaati mindset, their inferiority complex... and how they perceive the western media to be more credible, or more influencing so much so that they've named it LONDONpost instead of LAHOREpost or JAMAATIpost

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 8:47 #
  20. banjarbayabaan

لاہور میں صحافی کا قتل

پاکستان میں صحافیوں پر تشدد کے واقعات اکثر ہوتے رہتے ہیں۔
    لاہور میں نامعلوم افراد نے ایک آن لائن اخبار سے منسلک صحافی کو قتل کر دیا ہے۔

لندن پوسٹ نامی آن لائن اخبار نے یہ خبر شائع کی تھی کہ ایم کیوایم کے سربراہ الطاف حسین کو مبینہ طور لندن کے ہیتھرو ائر پورٹ پرجنوبی افریقہ جاتے ہوئے روک لیا گیا تھا۔

تاہم اس خبر کی کسی ریاستی ادارے نے تصدیق نہیں کی تھی۔

مقتول صحافی فیصل قریشی کے بھائی ڈاکٹر شاہد قریشی نے میڈیا کو اپنے ایک بیان میں کہا ہے کہ انہیں اور مقتول فیصل قریشی کو چند روز پہلے کراچی میں اثر و رسوخ رکھنے والی ایک سیاسی تنظیم کی جانب سے قتل کی دھمکیاں ملی تھیں۔

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2011/10/111007_journalist_killed_ha.shtml

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 11:10 #
  21. siddiqi73

@rizwan "Langra",

Bro, have some heart yaar! There should be a code of ethics for target killers as well. Don't you agree?

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 11:14 #
  22. aftab arif

Let's see what the administration of PML-N will do, or will this also just be swept under the carpet like most other crimes.

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 11:37 #
  23. sultanalikhan

@Aftab...your fears are mine, and so are of millions of Pakistanis...

I have absolutely no doubt that after the initial running from post to pole act and tall claims by dwarfish leaders this murder too will be thrown in the abyss of unsolved cases....tsk tsk tsk tsk...

A friend from Pak recently sent me an SMS which is pathetic but rings so true that I am compelled to write it here:

It is no more PAKISTAN ZINDA BAAD...it is now, PAKISTAN SE ZINDA BHAAG!!!

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 12:42 #
  24. aftab arif

@SultanAliKhan

Sad but very true.

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 14:14 #
  25. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Ladies and gentleman, we are in presence of his highness 'POG'. By the way, his brain travel at the speed of Tezgaam, pity, it took him over a week to come something as despicable as himself.

Aside from it, i stand by my earlier comments. Even his death was a cheap publicity. And the definition mentioned here for extra judicial killing is not correct. It is always committed by state for some quick satisfaction, hiding fabricated facts and vigilante justice by police, rangers and law enforcement state terrorist. Otherwise, it is simply murder.

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 14:45 #
  26. siddiqi73

Lol, one wonders who my target killer friend is referring to...isn't it the same tezgam the target killers boarded to travel to punjab and spread their tentacles there? Thanks to the mujra-e-ala Altaf Hussain, this tezgam got derailed outside Hyderabad.

Don't hate pal! I know it sucks to be consorting with an assorted cast of killers, extortionists, terrorists and blackmailers.

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 16:14 #
  27. stingingnettle

Rizwankhani

Ok, lets call it just murder. And like SAK and many others we will never find out it was extra judicial or not, however, here is my point;

Considering the death of the journalist as unlawful murder; do you regret and withdraw your statement?

"Besides this lowlife had nothing to live for: good riddance".

Well?

Posted 7 months ago on 08 Oct 2011 17:17 #
  28. sultanalikhan

@StingingNettle....RQ seems under lots of social pressures....perhaps his ego has gone a guilt trip...lolll..pushing him more will tantamount to emotional blackmail, whatever that means....lolllzz.

Posted 7 months ago on 09 Oct 2011 12:41 #
  29. karim

Guys!

It is useless to waste your time with these merchants of death and destruction. This is exactly what their dabba peer has taught them. To hate and kill whoever differs with their opinion. These vultures have not even spared their own kind like Azeem Tariq and Imran Farooq and you think they will care for others.

Posted 7 months ago on 09 Oct 2011 13:42 #
  30. Dusky

گویا ایم کیو ایم اس الزام سے بھی بچ گیئ

http://ejang.jang.com.pk/12-10-2011/Karachi/pic.asp?picname=03_11.gif

http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1101397331&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20111210

Posted 5 months ago on 10 Dec 2011 2:25 #
  31. PakiConsultant

Dusky bhai wait abhi Doctor aai gaa aur kahin na kahin saay Kaatil aur MQM mian relation nikalay gaa..
    Fikar naa karo :)

Posted 5 months ago on 10 Dec 2011 2:46 #
  32. expakistani

hummm so bachpan ka dost Altaf Bhai nhi hain?

Posted 5 months ago on 10 Dec 2011 3:07 #
  33. Dusky

Hosakta ha Altaf bhai na bachpan ka dost to supari dee ho:)

@PakiConsultant: Bhai doctor kee ..

------------------------------------------------------------

*[Just one more disgusting comment like that against another forum member and you will be kicked out—Instant ban: Moderator]*

Posted 5 months ago on 10 Dec 2011 3:28 #
  34. Ghost Protocol

Abhi yeh confirm nahee hey key Ishtiaq Paan waley motor cycle ka taqaza khud kia tha ya AH key kehney mein kia tah?

Posted 5 months ago on 10 Dec 2011 3:50 #
  35. Dusky

I didn't hear/read any further development on this news, anyone have any update?

Guy was working for phony news site with links to aabpara brigade, wondering if they were instrumental in solving his murder mystery.

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 3:29 #
  36. jabalultariq

wow : now I know how an MQM sympathizer thinks ,; fascists have no place in Pakistan.

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 3:45 #
  37. Dusky

@jabalultariq: Care to elaborate what was fascists in the conversation above? Or should we say "pot calling kettle black"?

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 4:08 #
  38. bsobaid

Jee...
    Woh kia kehtay hein

Mohabbat chp nahi sakti banawat kay usoolo se
    Aur badboo rukk nahi sakti khushbodaar Pamperoo se

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 5:09 #
  39. Ghost Protocol

@Tariq Pahari sahib, awaiting your response..

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 9:58 #
  40. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@GP
    Yahan nayee bottle main purani sharab ka mahawara mozoun hai.
    Pahari sahab is forum kay liyae koi nayee shuksiyat nahee hain bulkay humaray puranay karam farma hain. Pehlay yeh Manra Pardesi kay naam say warid hotay thay apnay neo-con nazi aryan propaganday kay saath. In ka thella (cart) ultanay par ab yeh apni siasat 'asal Pakistan' honay kay natay chumkana chatay hain. Mazay ki baat, us waqt apnay SE Mirza sahab jin kay nazdeek Islam ki baree ahmiyat hai (With all due respect to him) woh bhi in ka saath diya kartay thay in kay neo-con nazi propaganday main jo kay sarasar Islam kay munafee hai, jahan arabi ko ajami par aur ajami ku arabi par koi foqiyat nahee. It is kind of their great contradiction and a vivid example of hypocrisy.

But anyway we do not need to go down that beaten path by calling leaders of others with their professions whether at some point someone used to sell garbage or cinema tickets in black market. Rizq halal ain ibadat hai so Altaf driving a cab is not a bad thing, at least he did not beg to anyone. And we are proud of it.

In a nutshell, let him do that, why take notice of such a person.

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 17:07 #
  41. Dusky

Funny though... all those who commented on this news to shun the MQM till the murder got arrested, are all quite.

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 17:38 #
  42. Rizwan Qaimkhani

You see all those people also supported ZM as well, and the funny thing is yeh bhi apnay zakham chaat rahay hain apnay naan nehad masiah ki tarah:) Poor them, they can't do anything against MQM, at least in this lifetime. G.A.MQM

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 17:48 #
  43. d0ct0r

Lol, one wonders who my target killer friend is referring to...isn't it the same tezgam the target killers boarded to travel to punjab and spread their tentacles there?

Don't hate pal! I know it sucks to be consorting with an assorted cast of killers, extortionists, terrorists and blackmailers.

@Ghost Protocol
    Abhi yeh confirm nahee hey key Ishtiaq Paan waley motor cycle ka taqaza khud kia tha ya AH key kehney mein kia tah?

Finally Bhathakhor gang's tentacles in punjab have started to show their true colors. Ishtiaq Pahari must have been a covert MQMized absconder who just like Imran Farooq might have disguised himself as paan wala and when orders to strike were passed down from clown hiding in London,Pahari loaned and then stole his own bike and then started sending MQMized unit terrorist to intimidate & recover the bike(Just like these goons sn@tch khals). All that intimidation finally bore fruit and Altaf got the head he was looking for..

as for 'can't do anything against MQM, at least in this lifetime'

Just 2 disconnected telephone lines made MQM wet its pants,now that their nemesis is finally released,these Altafi goons will have many sleepless nights in coming days ahead..

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 20:42 #
  44. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Too many Hollywood movies huh, Doc! Give it a rest! You are nothing but turning into laughing stock, but if that is what your job after graduating from clown school than keep doing it. Eventually you will loose your credibility, oh wait, you don't have any:)

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 20:49 #
  45. gulraiz55

People who have been threatening, must be "agency people" using mqm name , as it always happen . we know blame only goes to mqm.

An example " Hazara incidence" was also done by mqm

Agencies, u can't make innocent people fool

u r criminals, criminals and criminals agency people. We don't need any agencies in the country

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 21:05 #
  46. d0ct0r

gulraiz55

Yea we all already knew that MQMized unit thugs are very pious and god fearing lads, such threats and intimidation are part of agencies 'grand conspiracy' against respectable & honorable bhathakhor gang MQM altaf..

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 21:16 #
  47. Ghost Protocol

@Doctor,being veterinary doctor, you need urgent self treatment.

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 21:17 #
  48. d0ct0r

GP

Just like you guys 'treated' Dr Imran Farooq?

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 21:24 #
  49. Ghost Protocol

@Docotr, hope your father is alive? if not may be MQM....

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 21:25 #
  50. d0ct0r

You should have completed your sentence.. Don't worry,Nobody would be surprised or shocked..

Posted 5 months ago on 17 Dec 2011 21:35 #