The Truth About US Justice

(31 posts)
  1. The Truth About US Justice

By Yvonne Ridley

February 06, 2010 "Information Clearing House" - -Many of us are still in a state of shock over the guilty verdict returned on Dr Aafia Siddiqui.

The response from the people of Pakistan was predictable and overwhelming and I salute their spontaneous actions.

From Peshawar to Islamabad, Karachi, Lahore and beyond they marched in their thousands demanding the return of Aafia.

Even some of the US media expressed discomfort over the verdict returned by the jurors … there was a general feeling that something was not right.

Everyone had something to say, everyone that is except the usually verbose US Ambassador Anne Patterson who has spent the last two years briefing against Dr Aafia and her supporters.

This is the same woman who claimed I was a fantasist when I gave a press conference with Tehreek e Insaf leader Imran Khan back in July 2008 revealing the plight of a female prisoner in Bagram called the Grey Lady. She said I was talking nonsense and stated categorically that the prisoner I referred to as “650” did not exist.

By the end of the month she changed her story and said there had been a female prisoner but that she was most definitely not Dr Aafia Siddiqui.

By that time Aafia had been gunned down at virtually point blank range in an Afghan prison cell jammed full of more than a dozen US soldiers, FBI agents and Afghan police.

Her Excellency briefed the media that the prisoner had wrested an M4 gun from one soldier and fired off two rounds and had to be subdued. The fact these bullets failed to hit a single person in the cell and simply disappeared did not resonate with the diplomat.

In a letter dripping in untruths on August 16 2008 she decried the “erroneous and irresponsible media reports regarding the arrest of Ms Aafia Siddiqui”. She went on to say: “Unfortunately, there are some who have an interest in simply distorting the facts in an effort to manipulate and inflame public opinion. The truth is never served by sensationalism…”

When Jamaat Islami invited me on a national tour of Pakistan to address people about the continued abuse of Dr Aafia and the truth about her incarceration in Bagram, the US Ambassador continued to issue rebuttals.

She assured us all that Dr Aafia was being treated humanely had been given consular access as set out in international law … hmm. Well I have a challenge for Ms Patterson today. I challenge her to repeat every single word she said back then and swear it is the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

As Dr Aafia Siddiqui’s trial got underway, the US Ambassador and some of her stooges from the intelligence world laid on a lavish party at the US Embassy in Islamabad for some hand-picked journalists where I’ve no doubt in between the dancing, drinks and music they were carefully briefed about the so-called facts of the case.

Interesting that some of the potentially incriminating pictures taken at the private party managed to find the Ambassador was probably hoping to minimize the impact the trial would have on the streets of Pakistan proving that, for the years she has been holed up and barricaded behind concrete bunkers and barbed wire, she has learned nothing about this great country of Pakistan or its people.

One astute Pakistani columnist wrote about her: “The respected lady seems to have forgotten the words of her own country’s 16th president Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865): “You can fool some of the people all of the time, and all of the people some of the time, but you cannot fool all of the people all of the time”.

And the people of Pakistan proved they are nobody’s fool and responded to the guilty verdict in New York in an appropriate way.

When injustice is the law it is the duty of everyone to rise up and challenge that injustice in any way possible.

The response – so far – has been restrained and measured but it is just the start. A sentence has yet to be delivered by Judge Richard Berman in May.

Of course there has been a great deal of finger pointing and blame towards the jury in New York who found Dr Aafia guilty of attempted murder.

Observers asked how they could ignore the science and the irrefutable facts … there was absolutely no evidence linking Dr Aafia to the gun, no bullets, no residue from firing it.

But I really don’t think we can blame the jurors for the verdict - you see the jury simply could not handle the truth. Had they taken the logical route and gone for the science and the hard, cold, clinical facts it would have meant two things. It would have meant around eight US soldiers took the oath and lied in court to save their own skins and careers or it would have meant that Dr Aafia Siddiqui was telling the truth.

And, as I said before, the jury couldn’t handle the truth. Because that would have meant that the defendant really had been kidnapped, abused, tortured and held in dark, secret prisons by the US before being shot and put on a rendition flight to New York. It would have meant that her three children – two of them US citizens – would also have been kidnapped, abused and tortured by the US.

They say ignorance is bliss and this jury so desperately wanted not to believe that the US could have had a hand in the kidnapping of a five-month -old baby boy, a five-year-old girl and her seven-year-old brother.

They couldn’t handle the truth … it is as simple as that.

Well I, and many others across the world like me, can’t handle any more lies. America’s reputation is lying in the lowest gutters in Pakistan at the moment and it can’t sink any lower.

The trust has gone, there is only a burning hatred and resentment towards a superpower which sends unmanned drones into villages to slaughter innocents.

It is fair to say that America’s goodwill and credibility is all but washed up with most honest, decent citizens of Pakistan.

And I think even Her Excellency Anne Patterson recognizes that fact which is why she is now keeping her mouth shut.

If she has any integrity and any self respect left she should stand before the Pakistan people and ask for their forgiveness for the drone murders, the extra judicial killings, the black operations, the kidnapping, torture and rendition of its citizens, the water-boarding, the bribery, the corruption and, not least of all, the injustice handed out to Dr Aafia Siddiqui and her family.

She should then pick up the phone to the US President and tell him to release Aafia and return Pakistan’s most loved, respected and famous daughter and reunite her with the two children who are still missing.
    Then she should re-read her letter of August 16, 2008 and write another … one of resignation.

Yvonne Ridley is a patron of Cageprisoners which first brought the plight of Dr Aafia Siddiqui to the world’s attention shortly after her kidnap in March 2003. The award-winning, investigative journalist also co-produced the documentary In Search of Prisoner 650 with film-maker Hassan al Banna Ghani which concluded that the Grey Lady of Bagram was Dr Aafia Siddiqui

http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article24605.htm

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 8:31 #
  2. Over the past days, I've read bloggers here praising US courts, citing our arch-enemies, the Jewish-held BBC-CNN- lies people, Aafia Siddiqui's disgruntled and revengeful ex-husband, other hateful members of her family, etc, etc. Read Yvonne Ridley instead. She has been and continues to be a friend to Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 8:35 #
  3. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

It is high time people of this nation RISE against injustice.

The levels of injustice has sharply risen in the last decade. It has reached to an unbearable scale.

Injustice has got! to STOP!!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 8:42 #
  4. Anonymous

Views expressed by close relatives of Aafia carry far more more weightage than the analysis of Yvonne Ridley.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 8:54 #
  5. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Not if their own credibility is questionable.

Afia Siddiqui's husband's credibility, his personality, his dealings are all questionable.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 8:57 #
  6. change_is_close

"It is fair to say that America’s goodwill and credibility is all but washed up with most honest, decent citizens of Pakistan."

not amongst the kalay angrez, though, who still take pride in praising america! kala angrez rocks!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 9:48 #
  7. Why do we not set up a petition on this blog asking for the recall of the US Ambassador to Pakistan? Chattering alone will bring about no changes.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 9:55 #
  8. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

from or to Pakistan ?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 10:03 #
  9. Anne Patterson should go back to where she came from. She has been caught out in lies about our country time and time again. Now even we, the patient Pakistanis, should say: Patterson Out!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 10:09 #
  10. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Patterson should not only be kicked!!! out!! of Pakistan, but there's more.

Someone should file a case against her in the court of law, for lying against the interest of a common Pakistani woman i.e., Dr. Afia Siddiqui.

She should be held responsible for her words, her actions.

We need to have a law in Pakistan, that helps those against whom, others spread roumers to gain illegal advantage.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 10:28 #
  11. change_is_close

@mirza ghalib

bro, think about it honestly, what will change even if Patterson goes? nancy powell, christina rocca, ryan c. crocker, ... were they any better? do you think Patterson was spoke on her own? no, it was america's policy on the issue. so as long as our subservience to the U.S stays, anyone who comes in as an ambassador would do that same.

so, i'm completely against petitions n all, but i'm totally for a change in our political system that produces these american stooges. and i'm telling you, if you want all this humiliation to stop, this is what you need to do - petitions just won't do... not anything more than venting out your anger, which again is counter-productive, as it will vent out your anger without actually achieving anything. i hope you understand.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 10:39 #
  12. I'd say arrest A.P. here in Pakistan. Except that such a move would bring about many deaths of innocent people. So let her go and let her go fast. Pressure must be brought to bear in ways even the USans can't withstand. Otherwise, I agree with both hariskhan and you, change_is_close. Drop the petition idea by all means. Let's just make a huge noise until something happens. As for changes in our political system, it's coming as sure as the sun rises and sets, but it's going to be slow process. Patience and resolve, that's what we need to face the year ahead. And we want Aafia Siddiqui back on humanitarian grounds if nothing else stands up in what the world still seems to consider a court of law.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 10:46 #
  13. Anonymous

Haris Khan

You are talking about the law. Do you know what International law is for the ambassadors of countries posted abroad? Try to talk as sensible people do. Emotions lead you nowhere.

If you don’t mind, the word is ‘rumor’ not ‘roumer’ as constantly written by you. If you respond with a ‘Thank You’, I shall write ‘You are Welcome’.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 10:48 #
  14. Forget it, adnak, please. "Roumer" does just as well as "Rumor" or "Rumour". This is not our language. This is the language of our ex-masters. The more we misuse and maltreat it, the better for our future. Long live Urdu and our other national languages!

=west is toast=

(and their hold on language is going as well. Tomorrow, we'll all be speaking either Mandarin or Urdu.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 11:16 #
  15. Anonymous

Mirza Ghalib

Sir, may be it is my problem, but your dislike for a language smells. I am not able to understand that by misusing and maltreating a language, what you can achieve other than proving yourself as poorly educated.

I said it to Haris Khan because he is highly educated person as he claims. For others like me it really does not matter as to how we spell.

Rejoice

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 11:44 #
  16. adnak, do rejoice, just as I myself do, each time I read you (or others on this blog)or when Gen KIYANI stands up to US at least over India (if nothing else). As for the English language, I repeat it is what our conquerors thrust down our throats. We can use it any which way we like. Stop thinking education means how well someone can utter a few lines in that stupid language. That is our colonial mentality still going strong. We are not slaves any longer. Everywhere else people express themselves in their mother tongue, Iran ia a case in point, only the Subcontinent still stubbornly clings on to its stupidity and blindness as regards the language of superman West. And in any case, what matters for the people of Pakistan is not "talim". It is "tarbiat". Integrity, man, that is what really counts. And that we shall not find in the English language.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 13:20 #
  17. Anonymous

Mirza Ghalib

Yeah, we all are aware of the importance of ‘Tarbiat’ as given in madrissas.

Rejoice again.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 17:29 #
  18. Not at all on the same wavelength, you and I, fellow blogger. What a pity! So forget about rejoicing and sneer away, why not? Sneer away at anything local that defines the country and keep on worshipping all those English-speaking people who have brought us all to our knees. That you'll bring Pakistan's day of liberation any the closer by so doing is highly questionable.

In any case, why liberation at all? So that the middle classes get to whine some more in their various English accents? The only people I recognise as my own are the slum dwellers. Theirs is the strength that upholds this country. And they, I must say, I've never heard give expression to their thoughts in anything but the language of our ancestors, the native vernacular. And if you don't know what tarbiat means, too bad for you.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 18:01 #
  19. Musician

@Mirza Ghalib

A polite suggestion. Why not stop writing your posts in English and start using the vernacular of late Mirz Ghalib?

That will be a start.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 18:25 #
  20. Anonymous

Mirza Ghalib

I see the last para of your last post as Shairy. I don’t know if Musician will agree with it or not but his suggestion is something you may consider seriously to avoid contradiction in ‘guftar-o-kirdar’.

Rejoice dear friend.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 19:13 #
  21. junaid

musician and adnak

sharam tum duno ko magar atee nahi.
    agar khodana khoasta tum logon kai cousins/friends ko bhi koi illegal detention aur torture karta tau shayad phir bhi tumharee slave oriented mentality nahi jatee.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 20:53 #
  22. Shock

@junaid

Kal ko teri sister Taliban kay haath lag jaye, tu bhi slaves ki tarah us ko jaiz keh day gaa. Kiyun key teri saree Bahaduri sirf America ki had tak mehdood hai. Pehlay apney aap ko dekh, phir dusroon ko bool. Hum America kay slaves nahi per teray slave bhi nahin hein. Tujh say agree nahin kartay, tu koi slave nahin ban gaye.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 21:00 #
  23. rocketrevolt

Getting tamed to it I guess?....you will learn....lol

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 21:27 #
  24. junaid

@shock

tum jaisay chotee mentality walay bachon ko mai kiya jawab don. apnay age bhi likh diya karo post kai saath.
    yvonne ridley bahen thee taliban kai qaid mai jo baad mai muslim hogaye. Afia bahen hai tere baap america ki qaid mai aur dekh us ka kiya haal kiya.

kuch samujh mai aya? ayega bhi naih.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 23:34 #
  25. Shock

@junaid

Teray pass to kisi kisam ki mentality hay hi nahin. Tu Yvone ridely ki misaal kiyun dey raha hay. Tu Sawat ki misaal kiyun nahin deta.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 3:37 #
  26. toamin

Junaid's comparison is a fair call, where as swat video was cooked up propaganda to push forward war agenda on pushtoons.

Many videos later appeared such as inhuman torture by Army men on elderly pushtoon people, but secularist needle remained stuck on a bogus footage.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 3:44 #
  27. Wahid Doyum

You have one video, I have hundreds of horrific stories from sawatis who escaped from taliban rule told to me.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 3:48 #
  28. toamin

You got hundreds of 'stories', but we got millions of people who got their lives, property, business and towns ruined.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 3:51 #
  29. Wahid Doyum

All thanks to the taliban and pakistani establishment's double games. The treachery of the indics will not be forgotten or forgiven so soon.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 3:55 #
  30. toamin

All thanks to your beloved Indian presence that is trying its best to destabilize and demoralize Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 4:20 #
  31. junaid

@junaid

Teray pass to kisi kisam ki mentality hay hi nahin. Tu Yvone ridely ki misaal kiyun dey raha hay. Tu Sawat ki misaal kiyun nahin deta.

-----

tere pass dimagh hota tau misal ki baat bhi hotee( waisay agar tujhay angraizi parhnai atee hai tau this thread is about ' the truth about US justice). ghaday kai agay mai kiya beeen bajaon. wo bhi tere sur sai guzar jayee gee.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 5:10 #