The Uinversal Declaration of Human Rights - United Nations.

(38 posts)
  1. BaliMA

Human rights are about the common humanity of individuals, so human rights work often focuses on building tolerance for differences of religion, environment, collective history, culture, class, race, gender or age. As long as you deal with someone's right to live "free and equal in dignity and rights," you're dealing with human rights. A welfare society cannot ignore children’s rights, women’s rights, and rights of ethnic minorities, social, cultural, economic, political and civil rights of its citizens. All the citizens of a welfare state are free and equal in dignity and rights.

"It is our duty to ensure that these rights are a living reality -- that they are known, understood and enjoyed by everyone, everywhere. It is often those who most need their human rights protected, who also need to be informed that the Declaration exists -- and that it exists for them."
    Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon

Continues in the following link
    http://www.un.org/en/documents/udhr/index.shtml

Further reading at:
    http://www.un.org/en/rights/
    http://www2.ohchr.org/english/bodies/hrcouncil/
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_rights

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 12:49 #
  2. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Yea.. right!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 12:56 #
  3. BaliMA

Haris khan these are the values of the world. Do you have a problem with them?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 12:57 #
  4. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

The values of the world ?

..as I said .. yea right!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 13:14 #
  5. BaliMA

If they are not your values than you need to improve your thinking and try to be a better person.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 13:18 #
  6. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

There is crystal clear hypocrisy here, which is being overlooked by both of you. I wonder why ?

60+ years on and UN has miserably failed in bringing peace to this world.

It is total BS! from UN, as well as from its makers.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 14:16 #
  7. Anonymous

Haris Bhai

The same happened, of which I was afraid of.

You were crystal clear first and confirmed in stating that the values of the world (UN) pertaining to human rights are right.

Then you became crystal clear to state that 'for 60+ years on and UN has miserably failed in bringing peace to this world.

The issue was human rights, not the peace.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 14:29 #
  8. zeshaan

BaliMA

The Uinversal Declaration of Human Rights - United Nations.

Take this humman rights declaration,to those ppls standig in que to get a kg aata or suger,
    tell them thairs rights,and explaine them,

in resp they will tell you thair rights.
    are u living in pakistan,
    konsee class say ta allaq hay?
    kabhee gareeboon ki bastee main ja kar dekhoo wahan per kaisay jeetay hain loog.
    apnee unchee shaan walee kothee say bahar nikal dekhoo tumharay ird gird loog kiss tarah jee rahay hain.

niklay hoo falsafa bhagharnay,kabhee apnaee manjee thalay bhee soota pheer kay dekhoo too sahee.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 14:39 #
  9. zia m

The biggest obstacle to Universal Human Rights have been the communist countries.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 15:13 #
  10. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@zia m: That's simply not true. US, UK, Europe have been the countries who'v dominated international politics, business, finances, judicial system in the last 60+ years.

Russia hasn't had any influence in the world for decades!

You can't hide the crimes of the west through this statement.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 16:58 #
  11. zia m

"On the evening of 10 December 1948, the General Assembly endorsed the text of the UDHR without amendment, only two days before it rose until the next year. There were no dissenting votes, but the six communist countries then members of the UN, and also Saudi Arabia and South Africa, abstained. The Assembly, in an rare gesture of appreciation, gave Mrs Roosevelt a standing ovation."

http://www.universalrights.net/main/creation.htm

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 17:23 #
  12. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@zia m: Don't BS infront of me.

You'r going into legal trickery. You can keep that bull!crap to yourself.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 17:26 #
  13. zia m

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 17:29 #
  14. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

- Very small number of countries hold 'veto' power. Which shows you how these small number of countries can over-rule everything that happens within UN

- There's ZERO representation of Muslims in UN Security Council

@zia m: You won't be someone smiling the day shoves a knife into you. At that time, you'd be screaming 'this is injustice', while everyone else will be saying 'this! is! justice'. This is UN.

Only some! of the rules UN declares are good, but even those are just for show off. They are never acted upon. This is UN.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 17:41 #
  15. @Ziam

As you know many of the Islamic countries have not voted for the Universal Declaration of Human Rights sponsored by the UN, admitting that this document was in conflict with Islamic values.

Universal Declaration of Human Rights
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_Declaration_of_Human_Rights

In August of 1990, representatives of 54 Muslim countries met in Cairo and signed the Cairo Declaration on Human Rights in Islam.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cairo_Declaration_of_Human_Rights

http://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Cairo_Declaration_on_Human_Rights_in_Islam

If you look at the preamble of the UDHR, you will see that there is no mention of any religion. All religions and cultures are assumed to be equal. All of humanity are asked to work together to promote universal respect for and observance of human rights and fundamental freedoms. But in the Cairo Declaration on Human Rights in Islam, we can detect a completely different tone.

Right from the first paragraph of the preamble, the Cairo Declaration confidently asserts the superiority of Islam by referring to the Islamic Ummah as the BEST NATION. The Ummah has a historic role to play in guiding a humanity confused by competing trends and ideologies and to provide solutions to the chronic problems of this materialistic civilization.

This is no implication, unlike in the UDHR, that all cultures and religions are equal. Indeed the rest of humanity is supposedly confused and in need of guidance from the best nation. Right from the start of the Cairo Declaration, it is made clear the world is divided into Muslims and infidels.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 18:25 #
  16. Anonymous

Haris Khan

Despite the limitations and weaknesses, UN is an organisation which majority of people trust.

You described the UN as, "You won't be someone smiling the day shoves a knife into you. At that time, you'd be screaming 'this is injustice', while everyone else will be saying 'this! is! justice' This is UN"

Perhaps you replaced the last word of 'Taliban' with 'UN'

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 18:43 #
  17. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@adnak: I have already said that which I wanted to say. I standby my words.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 19:15 #
  18. toamin

Does UN also have anything for people like him?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 10:11 #
  19. BaliMA

Ahmad/salam
    You two seem to have a habit of posting in threads without reading the original post. If you aqalmands/aqalmand have taken the time to read the original post you would already know that a person standing in line for atta or a baba working in inhumane working conditions is protected by the universal human rights. These rights also guarantee him education and work. It is not knowing these rights that these people are treated worse than animals by the society. They need to be informed of their human rights and all of us must do our best to help protect them. Now both of you go and read all the rights and try to figure out what rights are being violated of a person standing in line for atta or of an old man working like an animal. You will see how both these people would have been way better off if they knew of their universal human rights and their standard of living would be something you can be proud of.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 13:13 #
  20. toamin

A question to self proclaimed aqalmand guy is that what would happen after we inform these people about their UN rights?

You said that:

You will see how both these people would have been way better off if they knew of their universal human rights and their standard of living would be something you can be proud of.

So if I go and inform him about his rights how would that change anything in his life?

Why is UN not enforcing these rights?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 13:28 #
  21. BaliMA

1. It is not a luxury or a wish-list. The UDHR and its core values, inherent human dignity, non-discrimination, equality, fairness and universality, apply to everyone, everywhere and always. The Declaration is universal, enduring and vibrant, and it concerns us all.
    Since its adoption in 1948, the Declaration has been and continues to be a source of inspiration for national and international efforts to promote and protect human rights and fundamental freedoms.
    The Declaration belongs to each and every one of us – read it, learn it, promote it and claim it as your own.
    It is our duty to ensure that these rights are a living reality -- that they are known, understood and enjoyed by everyone, everywhere. It is often those who most need their human rights protected, who also need to be informed that the Declaration exists -- and that it exists for them.

So if I go and inform him about his rights how would that change anything in his life?
    He will be aware of his rights and if they are violated he can go to court for justice. If the country signs this declaration that it will take proper steps in ensuring that it becomes a welfare state and its citizens live in conditions that are suitable for human dignity. Any violation of human rights will get the government in trouble. This would make the world a better place for everyone. This is not a United Nations project but more of the moral standard of the enlightened part of the world.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 13:41 #
  22. toamin

Copy Master

You are committing a crime known as plagiarism.

Next time when you make a chappaa from some site make sure to cite it.

http://www.un.org/events/humanrights/2008/theme.shtml

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 13:55 #
  23. BaliMA

Read my first post as I have asked you a 100 times in this thread. I gave the link in it and since you cant seem to follow simple directions you are acting like a clown.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 13:57 #
  24. toamin

Just an honest advice, cite the source from where you copy the text or else it is stealing.

It is not good to steal.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 13:59 #
  25. BaliMA

What part of link is in the first post you don’t understand?
    Bachpan maie saar paie koie **** lagie thee kiya or were you dropped on your head as a child? You have some nerve accusing me of Plagiarism when you are the idiot who can’t follow simple directions. Lower middle class saie jo jahil haie woh utuh kar einstein banay kie koshih karta haie lekin pehlie post nahie pernie.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 14:01 #
  26. toamin

Listen my friend, you pasted some text in your post above without citing any source, okay.

Your post, to which I've responded, has no link or citation.

You are just copying something without citation which is plagiarism.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 14:11 #
  27. @BaliMA
    Obviously you missed this:
    http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/read-this-before-posting-in-discuss
    And kindly pay attention to this too:
    admin pkpolitics
    Key Master

Attention Plagiarizers.
    Repeated copy and pasting behavior will not be tolerated anymore. You are welcome to create your own title about the issue or news described in an external work, followed by your thoughts and the appropriate link. Violators will be BANNED.

Moderators: Copy random lines from a post and paste them into Google’s Search field. Close or delete the post immediately if you find same work on other sites. Block the poster with repeat behavior. You can also use the plagiarism checker sites

Come up with the source. I have to see it!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 14:22 #
  28. BaliMA

The links are given in the first post. I have asked you numerous times to read the first post. You might be the smartest person in your village but you are failing miserably by not following simple directions. Try to read the original thread so you get an idea what is it about. Stop acting like a hired qawal or dhol chie who just shows up and start clapping or drumming without having any idea what the function is.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 14:24 #
  29. BaliMA
    Bachpan maie saar paie koie **** lagie thee kiya or were you dropped on your head as a child?

Explain............

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 14:24 #
  30. BaliMA

semirza I have followed proper posting protocol in my first thread. What is the violation?

The link is given in the first post and when the person who is asking questions but failing to read the first post was spoon fed the answer from it how does that create a problem?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 14:25 #
  31. toamin

lolzz...

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 14:25 #
  32. @BaliMA
    'Stop acting like a hired qawal or dhol chie who just shows up and start clapping or drumming without having any idea what the function is.'

Explain..........

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 14:27 #
  33. BaliMA

what part are you not getting? I will gladly explain it.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 14:29 #
  34. toamin

Mirza Sahib,

I think the member is trying to share his life experiences.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 14:29 #
  35. BaliMA

Come up with the source. I have to see it!
    everything is from the first post. Read it and you shall find it.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 14:31 #
  36. @BaliMA
    'Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon'
    Where he said so? There should be no problem for you to paste a link as what Mr. Ban Ki-moon 'has said as pasted'.

Why the hesitation?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 14:32 #
  37. BaliMA

It is all from the link provided in the first post. The link posted is from the United nations site and there is a menu table on the left. Use it and you shall find it.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 14:35 #
  38. This topic has been updated with input from the original poster.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 17:35 #