Happy Birthday Marie Curie........(7 November 1867 to 4 July 1934(1934-07-04)
Nobel Prize in Physics (1903)
Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1911)
Discover radium and polonium.
(cutenice62)
Happy Birthday Marie Curie........(7 November 1867 to 4 July 1934(1934-07-04)
Nobel Prize in Physics (1903)
Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1911)
Discover radium and polonium.
(cutenice62)
This is madam Curie and her like minded that West is / has been dominating the world for centuries. They have been discovering laws of nature and physics and converting them into modern inventions. I have little doubt that Muslims and Pakistani dont have any other short cuts but to study, research and invent in order to come closer and compete with west.
What proof you have that madam curie is but nothing more than a historical fib magnified out of proportions. Look at the extent of fabrication 'a petri dish' and some light sensitive film left accidentaly in close vicinity of that unidentified substance that she was not aware of. Films in those eras (if they ever were) were not so easily transportable as they are now. Not as rolls, never. They might have been a deposited coating in the form of actived silver (nitric oxide) on glass slides. How could she have left the slides lying flat on her lab (More natual but did they ever have them; they never had them) (inintentional) or standing upright at right angles (intentional) so that the heavy radioactive particles should leave a trace through activated silver coating on glass.
voltai recalled as inventor of voltic cell when Iruk was known to be familair with the 'gilt' process-a process that leaves a deposit on a lesser metal than a much more dearer metal like silver and gold on copper? That wss thousands on years of any known civilization except from Iruk/Irak!...
By all means count four centuries of colonization and what followed for the NOW called Muslim world (and not just the Muslim world but where ever the colonials have been. The rest I leave it on your honest judgement).
Mirza Sahib, I m impressed.. truly, I have no proof about her achievements. I also read that She discovered a temperature point where Iron becomes non-magnetic ~@ 740 deg C. This temperature calls curie point. Pls share your knowledge about this point too..
@S.E.Mirza
Films in those eras (if they ever were) were not so easily transportable but they were available and not rolls of films were used.
2nd my point is why Marie Curie, why not any other women? can u share the information source? and the author's reliability source, where u read the info?
i agree with you about colonization, but dont accept that just coz of this we are not progressing.
Newton is also controversial with discovery of calculus, but his work is accepted more than Leibniz.
Sure my dears,
And how on earth she discovered that...how did she achieved that level of temperatures...by forced incernation of olive cakes, but then that was not their domain but the Syrians.
After 1524, scientist simply cropped up from all over europe, even in the most destitute of all like the british isles, who had to go through the great plague followed by the fire of london.
what i have read, she extract radium from cobalt by working 4 years day and night, with help of her husband.
and kindly tell who else discovered radium?
@Mirza Sahib, "And how on earth she discovered that...how did she achieved that level of temperatures...by forced incernation of olive cakes, but then that was not their domain but the Syrians"
I have no knowledge about forced incernation of olive cakes, however, achieving those sort of temperature was not an issue. Iron melts @1539 deg C. Humen beings are playing with Iron and steel for thousands of years. She precisely measured the temperature and observed the metal behavior related to magnetism and discovered what I mentioned earlier.
What you have read and even I have read is what the colonials of our times wanted us to believe.
My point is how on earth she was able to extract cobolt, and other associated unknowns with out knowing what she is going to extract while all the way she was able to produce extremely high tempratures exact and necessary for smelting by reduction or whatever metalic forms from their available ores? All in her lab along with photo sensitive material. Too much science and too many technoligies converge at a moment in history of europe that defies truth. How can they be so scientific and logical while at the same age and era they were unable to identify real cause of plague and other diseases and were treating them with superstition. Isn't it strange? I am able to come up with many recalls from history but that is not the point here. The point here is right under discussion and I am really enjoying it.
well, back in 16th century i agree butt again, the industrial revolution does the trick, u know when muslims were progressing they were working on mass production, in such case with experience of elders do help.
Like now a days back in 1984 4K harddisk was considered a luxury and now we have 16GB usb's. Technology always grows faster and faster. so i dont think europe is realizing us that they are superior, we need to realize that we needs to work hard. and take advantage of their experience same like they took advantages of muslim researchers.
And how she was able to extract radium from conbalt?
How much of cobalt was being extracted for x type of ore and saturated before radium could have been a possible extraction even in minute quantities?
I work with Russian Engineers, believe you me they have read the same. M not aware, if they were colony of Europeans too.
I agree with Cutie, 'we need to realize that we needs to work hard. and take advantage of their experience same like they took advantages of muslim researchers"
Agreed brother cutenice62,
What about questions that I put up and yet to be answered?
they boiled cobolot orrrs to extract radium, abb experiment ki details may nay kabhi search ki na parhi :P, the amount of radium if i can remember right was written 4 grams. :)
We have to shed this all annoying and depressing cloak we willingly or unwilling wear at times and boast that the west is all knowing. NO they never did but borrowed. Since the fall of Gharnata (never Granada as is their habit to distort names and titles)they had two very potent technologies at hand. Ship building/navigation and cannons, both a remnant of the Islamic Rule in Europe (Spain) but inspired from knowledge gained by the Muslims merchants /explorers who were used to frequent between China, Indonesia, India, Srilanka, Madagascar, Somalia, Egypt...right up to nowadays Europe.
British used tomatoes as ornamentals and boiled cauliflower for a couple of hours. Such was their knowledge in those times....
Brother, what kind of ore you are going to boil and extract metallic cobolt or radium from it? Is it a joke or a calculated insult towards the dominant race of those times--the Muslims...?
dear i agree muslims do added a lot but u are not remembering my point, i said new technology increased in less time, once u have a strong base(like muslims provided) they started the further process fast and fast, muslims invented 0 and they invented 10101010 means computer. muslims invented algorithem, they invented compilers, base is algorithem, same case with statistics and probability(advances in muslim spain), so we should not live in out past, we should learn and then see ahead.i am a CS professional and when we build software we dont build C or c# or java again and again rather we carry on the existing language and building blocks(componenets written in language) and start building softwares.....
Brother, what kind of ore you are going to boil and extract metallic cobolt or radium from it? Is it a joke or a calculated insult towards the dominant race of those times--the Muslims...?
i think it was cobolt, might be i am wrong but they extract radium by boiling cobolt or what ever,
Boiling is a process commonly used for distillation or fractional distillation. Ores are reduced (using carbon, selected gases, pre treated with appropriate acids or amalgamated) but not boiled to extract metallic elements in their pure form.
I agree to what you say that much of western, so-called inventions are mere improvements and not inventions.
Reality is, there is hardly any thing creativity or original. Every idea or invention is built up on some other ideas or inventions. Aur we may summaries that technological advancement open new doors for further improvements.
What happened to the so called GEM?
I am not clear about what is being discussed in detail (I never like chemistry) but one thing I know is that most of the scientific discoveries were just accidents (accidents which only occur in labs)
Curie case is controversial. However we should continue with this informative thread.
A correction. Most of the scientific discoveries are made to look like accidents since 1524 and later. Before that a discovery was a serious issue. Targets set to be achieved, certainly not through accidents but throught verifications and proof.
But is it accident that all those accidents happen to scientist or people with knowledge and wisdom. Quraan also encourage for do deep thinking and research to un-ravel the secrets of universe.
Yes miracles commenced happening bestowed on the west as good luck since 1524, and not before, to an extent that there are some who have inventions to their names counting till a thousand. Is this logical and achievable in the life span of a single human being, while the extent and scope of related inventions is quite diverse?
I dont find point of disagreement here, hence continuing pointlessly debating is worthless.
Point of disagreement is one being awared 'Noble's Prize' one in 1903-Physics, and the other followng eight years in 1911 for Chemistry for the discover of radium and polonium when the elemental table was not even organized and populated enough; when their so called lab, or any lab in Europe as per standards was not equipped approprately to isolate aluminium for its ore! They are awarded for isolation of radium and polunium?
@SEMirza
It means that before 1524 scientist use to have more inventions/discoveries?
Discovery itself is something accidental, something you have found, while invention is something already planned to be done or just a mashup of discoveries.
I read that penicillin was also a discovery.
#Mirza Sahib, Let me correct you here about Aluminium, the modern electrolysis process of reducing aluminum from its ore Alumina was developed by two scientists (One in America and other in France) Hall and herout almost simultaneously in 1886. Both were independent of each other. There discovery followed technological advancement and knowledge developed by Faradays and Ohms.
Before this process, Chemists had freed Aluminium atoms from Alumina, however non of the methods was feasible on commercial basis due to high energy requirement and low yields.
My point was the fall of spain, and after that there is a flood of discoveries!
However I cannot defy your stand that discoveries are by nature (default) accidential, but I do insist that inventions are preset targets therefore well planned to achieve that desired goal.
I have to agree with you my brother and this is exactly my point. Aluminium being highly reactive is rarely found as an element in a pure form and so is radium as claimed. The other is not a true element but a degradation of an atom through heavy bombardment into a unique element (probably not yet disovered). Any element that is not found and discovered in a stable state proving that no man made atomic manipulation was involved is a true element other wise it is a fake against its manmade origons vs natural creation.