Top Pakistani-European Businessmen Flocking to PTI

(17 posts)
  1. insaftak

LONDON: A number of well-respected Pakistani business community figures in Europe are joining Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf in the hope that he will bring to Pakistan the promised and much-needed change.

Imran Khan has been always popular in Europe for his cricketing exploits, especially for winning the World Cup and building the Shaukat Khanum Memorial Hospital, but his “Tsunami” is reverberating outside of Pakistan too. The European Pakistani businesses joining Khan’s party are being led by Germany-based Syed Khurram Raza Kazmi, who chairs Pakistan Overseas Association Forum (POAF). Kazmi, who owns multiple businesses, claims that the POAF has over 200,000 registered members and most of them are supporters of Imran Khan. He said overseas Pakistanis loved Pakistan but all the major parties had let them down badly and there was no trust left in them.

Across Europe, some leading business names supporting Imran Khan are Chaudhry Muhammad Akram Minhas, President of POAF in Belgium and former Chief Organiser of PML-Q Europe, said he was joining PTI after realising that Pakistani politicians values personal benefits and were not bothered about the national interest of Pakistan. The textile entrepreneur said: “I am ready to give financial contribution to Imran Khan for helping Pakistan and I trust Khan will not swindle our trust.”

From Switzerland, Khawaja Tanweer Ahmed has announced the PTI and has assured that he will help Imran Khan financially in his endeavours to “rid Pakistan of years of corruption and the stranglehold of a tiny but privileged class calling shots in all affairs”. “Imran Khan is a clean man and he has not looted the wealth of Pakistan and that makes him different from rest of the lot,” the multimillionaire businessman told The News. Javed Iqbal, who also has businesses in Berlin, Germany, said he was bowled over by Khan’s stance on many things including reworking the political framework. “What has particularly moved me is the way Imran Khan dealt with the catastrophe that followed the floods and also the way he has not resorted to dirty ****-for tat politics in response to his opponents,” he said. “I have a Polish wife and I have tried to convince her and my children to come to Pakistan with me on several occasions but they never agreed simply because of the security situation.”

Jameel Ahmed Naveed, a property tycoon, started with following Zulfikar Ali Bhutto in the 70s but got disillusioned with what happened to the party in the following decades. “The one thing I’m really looking forward to about Imran Khan’s politics is his policies on tax. We just do not have any system of taxation in the country, which is why the country goes round begging foreign countries. We have to live the way we live in Europe i.e. make queues and abide by the rules otherwise Imran Khan will not be able to change anything.”

Imran Khan is coming to the UK again in a few weeks to hold a fundraiser and his party is hoping to take home at least a million pounds. In the UK, renowned philanthropist James Caan recently declared Imran Khan a final ray of hope for Pakistan and offered his support to cleanse Pakistani of corruption and mismanagement.

But Khan’s biggest backers are Amjad Khan and Iftikhar Khan, who own a multi-million pounds fast food business in UK, and have supported Imran Khan since he played cricket in England but at the same time they supported other parties too.

“Only Imran Khan deserves our support. Pakistan needs change from the rotten system and only Imran Khan can do something about that. We have a duty to help Pakistan and the right way of spending our money and lending our support is to support the only genuine drive against corruption and old politics,” they told The News. Both Khans said that UK’s small and large businesses were increasingly of the view that the established parties like PPP, PML-N, MQM and ANP were only routing to line their own pockets.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=88930&Cat=2

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 4:45 #
  2. bsobaid

hamari gali mein Gulam Ali sahab kaa manjhla beta PTI mein shaami hogaya.

iss kee bhi headline bana loo.

These overseas business tycoon chaudhry, araein, jutt, butt are in reality small time real state agents or insurance agent or desi grocerry store owner who also publish urdu newspapers and make sure their own pictures and personal news are published on main page. They also attend public conferences and sneak behind a government official while their side kick quickly take a picture which then get published in their own newspapers with captions reading "Asif chaudhry, parliament kay rukun Mr. John kay mehv-e-guftagoo"
    yaa phir
    "Abid Saleem Butt Councillor Miss Sandy kay saath khushgawaar mood mein"

These same people make organisations with name "Supreme Council of XYZ" or "Utlimate Supreme Mind blasting Council of ABC"

all these people have same characterstic and without a single exception they are all punjabi and they are all involved in tax evasions and small time frauds.

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 5:12 #
  3. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Not to mention credit cards and insurance frauds as it is rampant in North American communities, I am sure it may also very well the case on the other side of the Atlantic Ocean.

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 15:43 #
  4. insaftak

talk about painting everyone with the same brush. surely not everyone is a devil or a farishta.

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 17:36 #
  5. @bsobaid

Well described and correctly analysed these so-called business community of Europe and Nth America.

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 17:57 #
  6. Pakistani84

@bsobaid,

80% of overseas Pakistanis support PTI, so choose whomever you want!

Of course, you bigoted mind won't know that a very big community of overseas Pakistanis are from Kashmir.

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 19:03 #
  7. Pakistani84

These types of joinings would insure that PTI has a good availability of funds to run an effective organization and electoral campaign.

This would then irk the parties which run on corruption yet question PTI's funding!

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 19:05 #
  8. bsobaid

Know the reality of these business tycoons, 84.

These business tycoons are usually corrupt businessmen. These same tycoons become self.appointed chairman and vice chairman of overseas wings of political parties and publish accusations against each others in their own newspapers.

These business tycoons and " community leaders" are usually the worseof overseas pakistani community bit i gues pti does not care as it has opened its doors to everyone.

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 19:11 #
  9. Pakistani84

@bsobaid,

Did you intentionally put "BS" before your ID?

Just joking...

I don't believe tycoon = corrupt. Bill Gates is a tycoon.

These Pakistanis have done their business in the west, where laws are restrict.

But if you say business tycoon = corrupt, then what about NS? Zardari? Surely they earned billions in government. You are the same person who defends these corrupts by all sorts of weird logics.

What's with this?

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 19:17 #
  10. bsobaid

Dear 84, you misread me.

I am saying these so called business tycoons and community leaders are self proclaimed. In reality they are neither. Whati said is generally true. Anyone living overseas can confirm.

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 19:31 #
  11. Pakistani84

But PTI is popular generally in overseas Pakistan, and this is the point to get.

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 19:35 #
  12. bsobaid

Hmm..that might also be true.
    Pti is getting popular in general, so iam sure same is the case with overseas pakistanis.

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 19:40 #
  13. sipahi

More bad news for poor and middleclass Pakistanis.
    Another bunch of Tycoons getting ready to exploit them.

Most of the Tycoons exploit poor and middle class workers to increase their wealth and power. They also use their wealth and power to establish themselves in politics of the country and influence the policies of the government. Now they are trying to get on IK bandwagon to influence PTI philosophy.

With this combination of wealth & power, they turn into "blood-sucking parasites", who do not want to leave their prey, i.e. poor and middle class workers.

“Politics, n: Poly "many" + tics "blood-sucking parasites
    "”

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 1:17 #
  14. expakistani

@sipahi
    I dont think any Tycoons living outside of Pakistan gained any thing or created problem for Pakistan. Those who are living and running country and become Millionaire from one steal mill to 10 and on cinema hall to Billionair are solo responsible for this mess.

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 3:22 #
  15. Respect

Do not blame them, it is a very good opportunity for them to make money in Pakistan if IK is elected.

Before the elections maybe it will be a good idea to invest in shares in Pakistan, because if IK comes into power I am sure that the share price will go up.

Good opportunity

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 3:29 #
  16. qaisernadeem

Sipahi,

The "tycoons" of Raiwand who stole $1.2 billion from the tax payers of Pakistan and stashed them abroad are the ones to watch out for. Not those who left their home country in search of jobs and climbed the ladders of success through hardwork and determination.

Why don't you bother to say a single word against the "Tycoons" of Raiwand since "tycoons" are your pet peeve?

Zindeeq much?

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 3:31 #
  17. sipahi

@QaiserNadeem

I think you have missed my prior post on Tycoons.

We have long history of Tycoons in Pakistan, initially 22 families and now over 40 families. I do consider these, including Zardari, Sharifs, Saigols, Dawoods, Habibs, Adamjees, Bawany, Hashwani, etc as Tycoons, who are main cause of the current miserable situation in Pakistan.

These Tycoons control policies in Pakistan, either directly or indirectly, more than any other entity. Through policies favorable to themselves, they accumulate more wealth at the expense of poor and middle class. Most of Pakistanis, who are either poor or middle class, have really suffered from their control and a huge class system has emerged.

Some of these Tycoons, in the current power crisis, have even converted monthly wage employees into daily/hourly wage employees, so that they don't have to pay them full wages. But, during good times they pocketed huge profits to become multimillionaires.

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 4:17 #