Toyota Pakistan threaten to close down its production due to blood sucker WATOOO

(23 posts)
  1. Justapakistani

Toyota Pakistan threaten to close down its production due to blood sucker Minister Manzoor WATTOO.......

http://express.com.pk/images/NP_KHI/20091228/Sub_Images/1100809408-1.gif

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 6:24 #
  2. toamin

no problem with asking Toyota lowering the price and delivering on time.

they sell one model for 10 years by just changing front/rear lights or by bringing in new colors.

watoo is a shrewed minister and knows how to tackle these badmaash companies

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 6:29 #
  3. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

All multi-national motor companies are charging Pakistani people waaaaay more than their product is worth. They have also started charging 'on' on the cars, before they are delivered.

They charge extra money from Pakistani people in case a Pakistani citizen asks for the car they bought to be delivered on time.

They take money and deliver the car after 6 months. What kind of BS is this ?

I want Govt. of Pakistan to take care of these 'bad-muash' motor making companies.

A Baleno like car is available in US/Canada for $550 right now. Why is it priced at above Rs. 800,000 in Pakistan ?

Why is Toyota Corolla priced at above Rs. 1300,000 ?

These companies have crystal clear agenda to loot this nation of its money.

Either set the price of cars to what they are worth in reality or get! lost! from Pakistan with your motor making factories.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 7:11 #
  4. zingaro

Hariskhan .. the problem is not that these companies are looting us. The problem is that why not we have become capable to manufacture our own brands and even export them. Toyota Motors is a company from Japan. Can any body tell me how much iron is extracted from Japan? It is nothing there but you see they are selling their cars to the whole world. Korea took our development model and they are also exporting their Kia, Hyundai and many other brands. Only Malaysia developed their own brand named "Proton" and rest of the Islamic world is spending heavily to buy Japanies, American, Korean, and European vehicles.

Don't curse these companies as earning profit is their business right. It is our governments duty to facilitate our engineers to design and manufacture our own brands.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 8:03 #
  5. sasherwani

Haris,

A Baleno is available for USD550? Which year Baleno is this? 1988?

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 8:14 #
  6. toamin

Well, if govt imposes huge taxes on local industry compared with lower tax on imports what will happen? Import will win against local production.

All countries impose tax on foreign machines to encourage local industry but our country does total opposite.

Shaukat Aziz brought taxes on local tractors while removed taxes from imported tractors, just one example.

Pakistan had quite few experiments of local manufacturing but all were sabotaged by exist car cartel + insincere govt policies.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 8:15 #
  7. Justapakistani

Nice post zingaro....just to add ...there thousand of employees working in this company.....any closure of plant cause thousand job loss.....before getting emotional consider this as well.....also cause more economic slow down....

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 8:16 #
  8. Adonis

There is no local car manufacturing company because the Japanese manufacturers immediately buy up any local company who started making cars. We have seen at least a couple of such episodes in the last two decades.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 8:20 #
  9. Justapakistani

Instead of blaming these companies we need to check ourselves....aaaik tu har cheeese hamaray bhai logoun kooo koi naa koi conspiracy,hidden agenda ,saazish nazar anay lagti hai.... BTW all these dhaccan molvis/generals/leaders etc still continue to use these cars....

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 8:35 #
  10. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

My friend showed me this just a few days ago;

@sasherwani: I said Baleno like car;

1995 Pontiac Sunfire 4dr. 5Spd - $555 (Tornoto)

@zingaro: I agree with the fact about cars not being made in Pakistan, about Govt. of Pakistan not facilitating people of Pakistan.

However, regarding profit, what I want to stress is, products should be priced based on their worth, not based on one's greed. There is a significant difference in the two.

@Justapakistani: I'm complaining about the current set price vs. the product's original worth.

Don't blow my words out of proportion for justifying your own statement(s). Don't put forward my words with a blend of 'prejudice' that is comming from you, and not me.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 8:40 #
  11. Justapakistani

Nobody bound anyone to buy & use these product , stop using them if someone thing the profit margin is too high or they looting money blaa blaa....come up with your brand.... earn high profit with ouwn profit.... what stopping us .....we all know these dhaccan mind set who criticize and link each & everything with some hidden agenda , sazish etc but continue using these products........

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 9:15 #
  12. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Justapakistani: Talk real life. Talk common sense. Be realistic. 'prejudice' doesn't give anyone anything.

About jobs, if Govt. of Pakistan facilitates Pakistani people, you will to only have local jobs, you will have local brands which can be exported as zingaro pointed out.

I will complain, as much as I can. There's nothing wrong with it. It is constructive criticism.

I don't have power in Pakistan. Those who have had power in the last 60+ years have not been loyal to people of Pakistan, they have only been loyal to their own personal selves.

If I had power, I would facilitate Pakistani people over imports of multinational brands. I would bleed those industrialists/businessmen for their money who tried to take advantage of Pakistani people, their money.

If US can ban Japan made products, why doesn't Pakistan do it ? If Pakistan made cars locally, it could export to ALL Muslim nations, which would become a big! market for Pakistani made products as a start.

That's a good question to ask. The answer is, because we have greedy politicians, who's lust for money has no end in sight.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 9:22 #
  13. Pakistanis waste all their talent to copy a famous brand or product, flooding local markets with worthless imitations. As copycats they are known all over.
    Pakistan is not having an Industrial base to depend on, yet they dream of competing industrial giants...is plain wishful thinking.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 9:31 #
  14. Justapakistani

Well i think you need to be realistic at first instance and need to understand that problem is not with these companies, they are doing business and contributing in the economy of their countries. Instead of crying lets comeup with ur own brands and develop urge in our nation to use our local brands (at moment our ppl prefer to use imported stuff.) This is the best way to handle these companies.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 9:31 #
  15. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Justapakistani: I can complain about prices, because there's a big margin that can be cut from current car prices through good governance. Its plain common sense.

The preference argument seems flawed. People buy what is readily available, that which is made easily accessible.

Mirza sb. why don't you cite the reason behind your argument as well. It won't do justice to the topic if half truths are put forward.

Pakistan will come up with an industrial base, infrastructure, if Govt. of Pakistan encourages the environment for local brands, which has hardly been the case when we look at the past 60 years.

Toyota has factories in US. Toyota's prices for US rival with local made products or are even less. That is why people in US can have cheap cars. Plus governance in US when compared to Pakistan has been better in the past few decades.

Pakistan is a market of 180 million people. It also has all kinds of terrain. Even if a 50-100 million people buy cars in Pakistan today, that is a significant market.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 9:34 #
  16. Justapakistani

Agree with u mirza sb...also the change of mindset of our masses to use the local brands...where our majority prefer to use the imported/foreign brands....and this include all ppl from common man,mullahs,generals,leaders etc.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 9:36 #
  17. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

In your views, what are the reasons for high price of cars being sold in Pakistan today ?

Some obvious reasons I can think of are;

1) bad governance, resulting in falling worth of Pakistani Rupee against foreign currencies

2) Bribes, commission of politicians, bureaucrats, middle men

3) Favourable environment/market 'gifted' to foreign industrialists by Pakistani politicians, bureaucrats, middle men

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 9:39 #
  18. Justapakistani

Take the example of motor cycle, the day local brands started to come in the market....the prizes of honda,yama,suzuki etc automatically slashes down as ppl have the alternatives......so to handle the high prices of these brands we need to comeup with the alternatives...keep crying all the time will bring any change.....

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 9:43 #
  19. zingaro

Well I think everyone has similar feeling but looking at picture from different angle. This is true that their profit margin is high but as pakistani said ..stop buying their product and they will have tokneel down.But then you also need to set up your own factories and for that task we need sincere people in power and government. Pakistan is right to say that when local manufacturers started making motorbikes these Honda, Yamaha slashed down their prices.

@Haris I respect your sentiments and agree as well but you can't compel them to lower their prices as they are in the market for business and to earn profit. You can only force them by economic forces for which you have to increase the supply and availability of substitutes.

I hope this clears the confusion.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 9:57 #
  20. @hariskhan
    My citation would be lengthy and even offtopic but for the moment:
    If one may remember our neighbor India was tough on imports with high custom tariffs. Items manufactured locally gained public preference slowly but steadily, and this helped their industry to grow to a stage where they are now. I can safely say that India holds a formidable Industrial base, while Pakistan had been importing more of luxury and less as a necessity.

An urge to show off an ownership of ‘imported luxury’ has deprived our local industry of a healthy growth. Lack of check on imitation production and marketing, further damaged and suffocated our already struggling industries. The result! Dependency.
    Now where an Indian is proud of ‘made in India’, we Pakistanis are shy of our home made products.

Export of rice, textiles or masalas (spices) is nothing to be proud of! To make up for the lost time of 60 plus years, Pakistan should start right now by removing the feudal elite who control our army, industry, and agriculture through the power of vote. Only than our dreams would be fulfilled.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 10:02 #
  21. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

All the problems we face today can be traced to the root cause i.e., bad governance, Govt. of Pakistan, bad policies of Govt. of Pakistan.

*sigh*

When will governance change for the better ?

1) Bad governance
    2) Bad policies
    3) Dead Economy
    4) All of Pakistan's money looted, sent abroad
    5) No environment for attracting foreign investment

What are we doing to Pakistan with our own hands ?

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 10:07 #
  22. kq

The Pakistan car industry is looting us. There is no justification for the prices of Toyota and Honda rising about Rs. 3-4 lakhs over the last two years. They are ripping us off and its time the govt. did something about it. Its an outrage, and the car manufacturers can do nothing else but make lame excuses.

If they can't make cheap affordable cars its better that they close their production, and take a hike. Look where India is going. They are making the world's cheapest car. Just look at Tata Nano, a car for just Rs. 1 lakh (nearly the price of a motorcycle in Pakistan). Other Indian car makers are jumping in the race for making the cheapest cars. In Pakistan, it looks the opposite, looks like we're making the world's most expensive cars.

Lets just start importing cars from India. They're way cheaper over there. Its time we took some hard decisions to do something good for the public. If our car industry can't do anything for the masses and just make cars for the rich, its better to close it. The public deserves better.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 10:34 #
  23. linkwheel

you can buy a Ferrari Modena 360 2000 in 60-70k $ but here the same car will cost 150k$ atleast.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Dec 2009 10:37 #