Tribesmen shoot down Drone in Waziristan

(28 posts)
  1. change_is_close

Pakistan Army and Air Force might not have the technology to bring the drones down, but apparently, tribesmen do! Perhaps, pak army should contact them for technology-transfer. I'm sure if army offers to the military operation, tribesmen would be more than happy to share the technology!

BTW, the report is running on all pk news channels at this time.

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/updates.asp?id=96949

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Jan 2010 15:21 #
  2. toamin

Pak Air Chief has said on record that we have technology to shoot down these little drones, only need political decision from govt, this was huge embarassment for chaudry mukhtar because of his repeatedly lies to people of Pakistan on not having ability to tackle drones...

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Jan 2010 15:29 #
  3. Bilal Tarar

way to go!

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Jan 2010 15:31 #
  4. aftab arif

Could it be ISI people disguised as tribesman using a SAM to shoot down the drone.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Jan 2010 15:37 #
  5. change_is_close

@salam

according to my knowledge, if they want to shoot down the drones, they don't even need the help of air force. i was told by a person, aware of capability of pakistan in weaponry and military technology, that drones can be shot down using the shoulder-launched missiles that pak army has.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Jan 2010 15:43 #
  6. toamin

This new development is quite sensitive, shoot down of drone and then taking hold of it is a major development.

US/NATO are going to suspect ISI's hand in it because these drones are targeting Pro-Pakistan areas of FATA.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Jan 2010 4:00 #
  7. Asif

aftab

They are the Heroes of Reagan & evergreen **** ruling elite, they can do anything.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Jan 2010 4:19 #
  8. junaid

there are news that it was shot by an anti aircraft weaponry of tribes. so no thanks to bikao maal fauji jawans.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Jan 2010 4:34 #
  9. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Great! work on part of Mujahideen, our tribal people. I hope this is just the first event.

It is noted in history when Afghan Mujahideen shot down Russian war-planes, helicopters and stuff like that, it marked their win against foreign occupation forces.

Perhaps history will repeat itself.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Jan 2010 11:06 #
  10. change_is_close

@haris
    i believe that as long as muslims fight muslims (i.e. pak army vs. so-called taliban), and muslims keep providing support to the US army (as in, pak govt./army support for coalition forces and war on terror), the U.S. is cool - they'll keep on winning. THIS is where the problem and its solution lies.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Jan 2010 13:03 #
  11. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Agreed.

US/Nato pressurized those running Pak Govt. Those people cracked, supported US.

As long as a Muslim is facing a Muslim for a non-Muslim's interests, Muslims will loose, no matter which side takes casualties.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Jan 2010 14:48 #
  12. aftab arif

Tribesmen shot down another US drone

http://www.geo.tv/1-26-2010/57883.htm

Something fishy is going on and i detect it has something to do with ISI.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jan 2010 19:38 #
  13. Shooting down a drone was always a possibility and within the capabilities of tribals.
    Now as the honeymoon between Zardari and his masters appears to be over, and a wedge is driven firm among Afghan and Pakistani Taliban therefore more and more of drones will be shot down.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jan 2010 20:22 #
  14. change_is_close

@aftab

i 'tend' to agree... i think that the top army leadership has decided take some actions to pacify the resenting elements within the army! i mean, not ALL generals are sellouts, so they protest b/c of being 'nose-o-nose' (نکّو نک) of the americans' activities. i believe that the 'harassing' (as americans call it) of the US embassy/fbi/cia/blackwater ppl at the hands of police and army (on check-posts) is a part of that 'mild action'. you also see pro-army anchors like luqman.com and ahmed qureshi taking up the issue of Blackwater/DynCorp, visa-free entry of americans in pakistan, un-checked U.S. containers flowing into the country, etc.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jan 2010 20:34 #
  15. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

When soldiers plan mutiny against Generals, for all the injustice they are propagating through their use of brutal force to further objectives of foreigners, Generals will obviously need to do something to stop this.

I heard Imran Khan saying there were attacks on Musharraf in his time. Not sure what is going on right now.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jan 2010 20:46 #
  16. SHOOTING a drone doesn't need a special technology. It can be shot with a Shoulder held rocket launcher or with any Fighter Jet.
    In 2008, the Talibaans shot a Drone over Miran Shah which Americans did accept but said that it was a technical fault. Also the Somalians have shot a Drone few years ago. During Iraq war Saddam shot one of the Drone by his Jet fighter which made americans really concerned.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jan 2010 20:49 #
  17. LOE BHAI LOGOUN..
    AIK DRONE AUR GIRA...
    http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/jan2010-daily/26-01-2010/updates/1-26-2010_19025_1.gif

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jan 2010 21:54 #
  18. rocketrevolt

"only need political decision from govt"

Come on Janu ji!!Those political rags are just stooges! They do what they are told.They are not leaders!

"Could it be ISI people disguised as tribesman using a SAM to shoot down the drone. "

Well if thats the case then its still not too late.But I dont think so.The ISI's wings have been clipped and now its filled with kala angraiz and B-hangis most porbably!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jan 2010 22:53 #
  19. Musician

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jan 2010 23:14 #
  20. rocketrevolt

"Tumhein buhat maar paray gi. Phir na kehna hamein khabar na hui! "

And what thats supposed to mean? tabla-nawaz!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jan 2010 23:22 #
  21. Musician

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jan 2010 23:25 #
  22. rocketrevolt

"tumharay janu ki taraf tha."

Lagta hey tumharay dimagh ka tabla bajj chuka hey!Seek help!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jan 2010 23:27 #
  23. Musician

Apologies once again.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jan 2010 23:29 #
  24. toamin

Musician mian, it seems that your wounds have still not been heeled yet, well my best wishes for you -good luck!

I suggest you to forget about the past and move forward. That guy the one you are missing is actually not missing he is very much active and uses his other fake IDs. He can't afford to quit because he gets paid for it ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jan 2010 2:55 #
  25. expakistani

... drone gerao gey to Obama ko samjh aye gi. why they didnt try some thing before?

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jan 2010 3:46 #
  26. Anonymous

JJ/Salam bhai

Abhi tak ‘Khadshat ke Samundar mein ghoote kha rahe ho?’. Try to forget the past and move forward. I am sure you can do it. Nafrat ki siasat mein kutch nahee rakha. Kis kis se nafrat karo ge?

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jan 2010 8:01 #
  27. usayd

@ Mooderator:
    This guy Raja Asif Should be banned once and for all. look at him, his mind is so dirty...

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jan 2010 8:14 #
  28. i have immediately blocked him ,as soon as i come across his abusive posts ...

right now ,deleting the filth he has posted and spammed in every thread .

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jan 2010 8:34 #