"Union of Afghanistan and Pakistan."

(101 posts)
  1. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Union of Afgahnistan and Pakistan

By M. Akram Khan, Balida Town, Karachi, Pakistan, 19 October 2009

The only solution to the present problem of instability in Afghanistan and Pakistan is in the Union of these two countries based on principles of Democracy and Federalism.

In history, Durani Empire was composed of all the areas in which today's Pakistan and Afghanistan are located, and during the Mughal Empire together they were a single country. In the initial period of the British Empire, they were also the same country.

Later, some forces that had vested interests kept a distance between these lands. Consequently, border areas between these two countries became hiding places for criminals of both countries, thieves of automobiles and other stolen goods. They are stored in this region. This large uncontrollable area is a base for many evils.

Here narcotics are grown; addiction is destroying the youth and humanity. Because the region is not developed and poverty is rampant, people are attracted to extremism and militancy.

Union of both countries will make the single government more responsible in stabilizing this region and in satisfying the nationalistic pride of its inhabitants. People will be able to serve humanity as other large nations of the world do. Otherwise, this region will always remain a nuisance for the world. It destroyed Soviet Union. It may also take down the western world, which will be a great blow to the development of Science and Technology, especially Medical science.
    Advantages to the world:
    Control of terrorism:
    Instability in this region is causing great damage to humanity. Soldiers of many countries are sacrificing their lives just to eliminate terrorists from these countries. In the presence of a unified government, it will be easier to control terrorists.
    Control of extremism:
    As a unified nation composed of multiethnic groups such as the Punjabis, Sindhis, Baluchis, Pashtuns, Urdu speakers, Tajiks, Persians and Hazaras, and as a multisectarian society such as Sunni and Shiites, it will become impossible for any ethnic group or religious sect to find any future in extremism.
    Stabilization of the region:
    Although it is now that the problems of this region have gained attention, it has suffered from instability for a long time. People here are finding no hope, no future for themselves, partly because of interference from foreign countries, such as the British Empire, Soviet Union, USA, China and India. When they were unified under the Durani Empire, the region was stable. The same was the case during the Mughal Empire.
    There are three main groups in Asia, i.e. the Chinese, Hindus and Muslims. Chinese and Hindus are satisfied with their states of China and India. The Muslim population in Asia is greater than the Chinese and Hindus combined. However, having no comparable state of their own they experience the stress of inferiority. That element too is causing instability and irritation amongst common Muslims. By creating a unified state of Pakistan and Afghanistan, a sense of satisfaction, pride and respect of having a national state will be achieved. That might lead to normalization of relations with the rest of the world and stability.
    Solution to economic problems
    At present, both countries are burdens on others, and pose barriers in exploring the resources of Central Asia by the world. After stabilization, it will be useful not only for Central Asia and for the World, but also for the new unified nation itself.
    Advantages to Pakistan:
    It was the vision of Quaid-e-Azam, the Founder of Pakistan, to unify the regions of West Pakistan, Afghanistan, East Pakistan, Malaysia and Indonesia. That probably needs time. It took many centuries for Europeans to realize that they shared a common goal.
    • By unification with Afghanistan, areas, which are included in Pakistan, will stabilize, and migration of people from disturbed areas will stop.
    • Smuggling of weapons across the borders will end, and Law and Order will be established.
    • Similarly, illicit drug trade will be minimized.
    • Whole areas of Pukhtoons (Pashtuns) speaking population will unify, and that will help the development of culture and language of that group which is now divided in two nations.
    • Expenses for Security measures on the borders will be minimal. The resultant balance can be used for the welfare of people.
    • Interference of other nations in this region will subside.
    • Due to unique historical importance for Buddhists and Hindus, tourism industry will flourish and business activity in the region will increase.
    Advantages to Afghanistan:
    • Through unification, Afghanistan will cease to be a land locked country. The union will promote freedom of people of Afghanistan to travel and engage in economic activity,
    • Extremism and terrorism will come to and end, as the people will become more engaged and involved in adjusting themselves in the new union. Utilization of raw products of Afghanistan will increase.
    • Security and military expenses will minimize.
    • Doors to Pakistan will open to Afghanis who look for jobs in Pakistan.
    • Shortage of food products in Afghanistan will decrease and it will increase the utilization of raw products of Afghanistan.
    • Linking Central Asia via Afghanistan to the rest of the world will generate extraordinary development.
    Based on above observations, suggestions and predictions, it is clear that unification of Pakistan and Afghanistan will be fruitful for everyone in the region and for the world at large.
    Mr. M. Akram Khan Niazi can be reached at akrumniazi@hotmail.com

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 10:20 #
  2. its not at all viable solution in any case and any circumstances .

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 10:34 #
  3. shahzad1924

Afghanistan was our 5th province and it still is. that's the only reason why the war in Afghanistan has poured into Pakistan. this is a reality whether you accept it or not.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 11:04 #
  4. Achoota

No way......Afghanistan is not a part of Pakistan and it never was a part of India. So if some one loves afghanistan so much he can go to stone age himself. sorry but Pakistan is Pakistan as we got under the leadership of M.A. Jinnah.

Our brothers in NWFP have full right of their own identity under the constitution and there are areas where lot of improvement is needed but it does not imply that Afghanistan and Pakistan can be combined. I think our brothers in NWFP and Balochistan are as loyals as others and perhaps more patriotic and they dont want these countries to be united. Have you ever seen a strong political movement to achieve this?

Idiotic strategic depth philosophy of over ambitious generals confuses a lot of minds but lines are cleary drawn.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:00 #
  5. shahzad1924

whether you like it or not, this is the reality.

cant you see that the "Pakistan First" policy has failed? today the war is being fought more ferociously in Pakistan. 4 times more men have been killed from the Pakistani Army as compared to the ones killed on the other side of the durand line in this war.

Pakistan and Afghanistan are inseparable. if you don't agree with this, pay a visit to south waziristan. and please do send us a postcard.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:05 #
  6. sasherwani

I wish all ppl in support of this geographical merger are transfered to Afghanistan permanently.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:12 #
  7. shahzad1924

"...in support of..."

what are you saying? this is not something that is about to happen. this is already a reality. and if you dont agree with that, go with your mate Achoota to south waziristan for a visit.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:14 #
  8. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Union of both countries will make the single government more responsible in stabilizing this region and in satisfying the nationalistic pride of its inhabitants. People will be able to serve humanity as other large nations of the world do. Otherwise, this region will always remain a nuisance for the world.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:17 #
  9. Achoota

come onnnn! union of both countries.....
    Do you consider .5 Mio wazirs the whole pakistan, then you have a higher population of hindus in sind living like their indian mates why dont you ask for a merger of Pakistan and India. Go Kashmore and those areas of sind you will see the reality and will be alive as well.
    Countries are not your toys my friends and we have less in common with afghanistan unless you want to go back to stone age, drug society, barbarianism etc.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:22 #
  10. Are there any indications in Pakistan about cutting Punjab into three provinces?
    Does anyone know about the agenda of Mr. Nisar (PMLN) and Gen. Kayyani's meeting?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:24 #
  11. amin1924

I think they are already united and the name given was AFPAK.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:26 #
  12. Achoota

Salam Sheikh Sb,
    No indications to cut punjab.
    Agenda of PMLN and Kayyani meeting was clearly to build pressure on Zardari which PMLN should have avoided by any means.
    On the other hand Govt has broader responsibility to take all the stake holders along in these crucial times.

Any misadventure by PMLN, Army or even govt is ill affordable. See Najam Sethi's interview on dunya news it covered this meeting well.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:28 #
  13. shahzad1924

Jazak Allah khair JJ.

jitna rola dalna hai daal lo. Afghanistan and Pakistan are one.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:40 #
  14. @ Achoota,
    Thanks for your input.
    Actually in a Seminar, I attended a few days back, there was some bickering and concerns about 60% of Pakistan's population living in one Province, giving an impression that actually, Punjab rules over Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:42 #
  15. amin1924

Practically speaking there is no border between the two countries. Only a virtual line called Durand Line drawn by british to cut off tribes in half exists but on ground there are no barriers.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:43 #
  16. Achoota

sheikh sb, thats true. Impression is all over the place.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:44 #
  17. Talking of Union of Afghanistan into Pakistan and then disection of Pakistan itself!
    What is the reals intent behind this thread and what type of debate would be the outcome...let us see

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 12:48 #
  18. @all
    What is wrong with you members. What has this thread to do with your personal mudslinging. Don't you ever adhere to a discussion like intellectuals or you have an agenda to initiate a thread/already open thread and than turn it into a hate debate among pro khalifa and pro -isms and -als what so ever.
    This thread is about a merger with pros and cons, discuss them and not eachother!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 13:11 #
  19. nobody can break Pakistan .
    we are AWARE now .
    its not 1971..

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 13:29 #
  20. _-----------------------------------------------------____________
    personal remarks of various members against each other has been deleted.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 13:38 #
  21. sasherwani

Which part of my posts were "personal or abusive"? There needs to be atleast some explanation given by the moderators before they delete complete posts? I called their khilafat movement a cult. It was an attack on their cult. If they found it offensive, it is their own sensitivity and lack of tolerance. I never abused/ridiculed any of these Khilafat traders and its a fact. What I was mocking was their cult!

The moderators need to be a little more logical.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 13:43 #
  22. Ghareeb
    Old-chechen

It was not vision of Jinnah. That unification already existed 300 years back and can still exist. Aurangzeb-May Allah have mercy on his soul, ruled over an Empire that included present day Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, Bangladesh. It is nothing new. We need someone like Aurangzeb not traitors like Zardari or Karzai.

The biggest Empire that ever existed in the history of the world until 1923 was Ottoman Khilafa that extended from Morrocco to Iraq and included Southern Europe, Asia and Africa. It is surely coming back.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 13:48 #
  23. sasherwani

"The biggest Empire that ever existed in the history of the world"

you mean the movement that lasted a mere 5 yrs?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 13:51 #
  24. I am interested to know about this movement and that it lasted 5 years only. Kindly provide a link!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 13:56 #
  25. The unification of Afghanistan and Pakistan depends upon the desire and will of the people of Afghanistan.
    Are Afghanis willing to join the Federation of Pakistan?
    Would they accept Islamabad as their Capital?
    Would this unification not trigger the idea and desire to unite both the parts of Indian and Pakistani Punjab?
    Is it feasible and possible to roll back the wheel of History?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 13:59 #
  26. @Ghareeb
    Kindly post in a way that it should not be or look off topic. And also we are not here to use pkpolitics as a propaganda platform spreading 'the coming of khilafa' the main reason why we get so many offtopic posts.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 14:00 #
  27. amin1924

Ghareeb,

Even today there is no physical boundary, all we have is virtual line drawn by colonials to divide tribes in to halves.

PK currency works on both sides, culture is same, tribes are same, language is same and now we have a common name AFPAK -thanks to Obama.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 14:02 #
  28. Ghareeb
    Old-chechen

sasherwani, Zionist and colonial written history has taken its toll on your brain. Just visit Topkapi museum in Istanbul if you can afford and see the huge map that showed the extent of Ottoman Empire.

Ottoman History Map
    by Diarmund Jeffries

"After centuries of conquest and expansion the Ottoman Empire reached it's peak in the late 17th Century, covering modern-day Turkey, the Middle East, large parts of North Africa and much of South-Eastern Europe, twice reaching the gates of Vienna."

http://www.maps.com/map.aspx?pid=11434

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 14:03 #
  29. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@javedsheikh: You talk like a 'land owner', rather than like a Muslim.

Do you understand its repercussions ?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 14:18 #
  30. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Muslims ARE .. ONE!!! NATION!!!

Sooner or later they WILL UNITE INSHALLAH.

WE! the Muslims need to pave the way for it.

WE!! the Muslims need to CREATE the circumstances, in which UNITING back into ONE LARGE Muslim FEDERATION/UMMAT/Empire becomes possible. IT will provide for the betterment of ALL Muslims of this World. Not just Muslims, but non-Muslims as well.

Imagine the benefits, for example a LARGE business market that we can have, which will not only give us the ability to sustain our own selves, but will also allow us to STAND UP to US's or Europe's large business markets.

Our dependence on US's or Europe's market would be finished. Which will mean, we will have COMPLETE independence of influence from US, as well as Europe.

WE will then have the ability to MAKE new products, sell them in our OWN markets and make enough profits to live healthy, prosperous lives.

There are too many benefits to just shove this topic in the dustbin.

Yes, I believe we need to do a lot of work in order to realize this dream, but WE are the ones, who have to make the effort.

@javaidsheikh: I wonder if you remember the days when the sub-continent ALONE constituted 25% of the ENTIRE WORLD's economy.

Don't they say, Pakistan is a business Rival to US, India etc etc ? What does that statement mean ?

If it can happen in the past, what do we loose by putting up the effort to make it happen again ?!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 14:20 #
  31. gv

@ghareeb

your information is flawed, the ottoman empire is not the largest empire (by land mass) in history that is a toss up between the british empire and the mongol empire (changez khan & co)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_largest_empires

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 14:42 #
  32. @ Hariskhan,
    You wrote:
    "@javedsheikh: You talk like a 'land owner', rather than like a Muslim."

Would you please further elaborate what made you conclude that I am not talking like a Muslim?

This is not fair at a debating forum to fabricate what is totally irrelevant.

Are you here to fight or discuss and debate?
    Better you teach me how to talk like a Muslim.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 14:46 #
  33. The aim of al Qaeda is to have one Islamic country made up of all Islamic countries which they can rule. Al Qaeda support group in action laying the groundwork for them. Hizbul Tahir is a front company of Al Qaeda and its members are serving for them.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 14:49 #
  34. Ghareeb
    Old-chechen

Don't count the empires of the colonialists that were due to treachery and genocide of indigenous populations. Also the reason the Ottoman Empire is largest and greatest was its central location with areas of Asia, Africa and Europe. No empire took root in this strategic location like Ottoman. If the Omayyad and Abbasid Empire are mentioned it is same like Ottoman Empire ie Khilafa. The other empires were in far corners of globe like Russia and Mongolia which has no relevance. Siberia in Russia , Mongolia and Canada has huge areas but are uninhabitable and are isolated.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 14:51 #
  35. @all
    All posts containing personal remarks will be removed. This practice of pulling a remark on a member and the response that follows is spoiling the whole discussion. Kindly refrain from calling names or offensive personal remarks or else I will have to remove your comments.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 14:51 #
  36. gv

@ghareeb

"Don't count the empires of the colonialists that were due to treachery and genocide of indigenous populations."

i take it you have'nt heard of the armenians or the kurds?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 15:01 #
  37. gv

@ M.A Niazi

can you please provide a reference point for your statement below :

"It was the vision of Quaid-e-Azam, the Founder of Pakistan, to unify the regions of West Pakistan, Afghanistan, East Pakistan, Malaysia and Indonesia."

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 15:02 #
  38. M.A.Khan Niazi
    Do not post this again as you have done it three times and this is the fourth.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 15:05 #
  39. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Qaid-e-Azam Founder of Pakistan statements are there which clearly indictaes that creation of Pakistan was a starting point for the unity of Muslims of the world and Afghanistan.Malaysia,and Indonesia were the only next Muslim lands near the Borders of Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 15:08 #
  40. gv

@M.A niazi

i'm sorry but could you post a link referencing those statements which are 'clearly there' if its not online can you name us the book you read them in.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 15:11 #
  41. Ghareeb
    Old-chechen

gv,

The Armenian genocide is a farce. They sided with the European powers and only those were punished that were turncoats but the West tried to use it to discredit Ottoman Empire. Both Turks and Armenians were killed in that war. Remember it was Ottomans that gave asylum to Jews fleeing Spanish inquisition. The whole Europe turned its back on Jews and the Ottomans accepted them. The present flourishing Jewish community in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Istanbul is testimony to that fact.

Who massacred Kurds? Saddam?

he Kurds were sandwitched between Turks, Arabs and Iranians. When the domla Jew Ata turk started his nationalistic fervor, he forgot his own countrymen- Kurds. When asked once about the Kurds living in Turley his response was they are "mountain" Turks not Kurds. Same with Arabs. The nationaistic boundaries demarcated by Europeans deliberately omitted the Kurds for their own vested interests.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 15:12 #
  42. Migel9

I would add UNION OF ISLAMIC STATES ALSO.Great idea same people same religion=union I say.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 15:16 #
  43. shahzad1924

way to go Migel9!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 17:34 #
  44. we have seen bad results of getting Afgahnistan on our heads .
    in Zia era we got Kalashnikov and drugs and Afghan migrats in the reward of our participation in the war .
    in Mush era ,we got financial crisis and US slavery in the return of our services to Afgahnistan war .

if we decided to get merged with them.
    we will be in hell....

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Oct 2009 5:41 #
  45. quaidkamazaar

for once, Pakistanis need to decide if their country is based on geographical nationalism and pride in their indus valley roots.... or is it based on a modern Pan Subcontinental Islamic State.

when the concept of Pakistan itself is clear, then this issue of Union with Afghanistan should then be thought off.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Oct 2009 6:26 #
  46. NNL

QKM

Meray bhai yeh discussion app ko sirf wohi log karte milenge jo apnay app ko Indus Valley ka prove karna chatay hain. Masla yeh hai keh these people actually want to be called Hindus for some reason and i dont know why but apparently Hinduism se impressed bahut hain yeh log. Problem sari yeh hai keh Indus Valley aur Hinduism ka connection yeh log abhi tak prove nahin kar paie hain.

Warna gali gali chilatay phirtay keh humain humara khandan mil gaya hai. ya phir aba-o-ijedad. I cant certainly help feeling that usually a adopted or an orphan or even a **** is all that much curious about their father.

that said aside you will find people who havent accepted their own culture and have a tendency to oppose Islam from within in every possible aspect craving for their Ancestaral lineage. The entire problem with that issue is that Hazrat Adam PBUH is the first man so we all are related. then whats the point. If you dont believe in Creationism then shouldnt be you more worried about how did the Apes land in the IVC and become humans.

Funny characters you see.

QKM meray bhai kuch arsay keh baad these ingrates will say either you can have Pakistan or you can have Islam and that will be the final Choice for all.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Oct 2009 7:18 #
  47. quaidkamazaar

nice post NNL,
    atleast someone else is thinking along the lines that im thinking. shukar khuda ka.

soon enough it might become Indus Valley Republic of Pakistan instead of Islamic Republic of Pakistan and all the great lectures of Allama Iqbal in Aligarh will be forgotten. i really think that day is not too far.

the two-nation theory will transform itself from muslim nation vs nonmuslim nation of entire subcontinent to Indus Valley Nation vs NonIndus Valley nation as this search for roots continues.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Oct 2009 7:27 #
  48. NNL

Yeah i m glad that Pakistanis are actually catching up on the idea that these farce nationalists have been trying to evolve.

And we need to truly spread this msg around.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Oct 2009 7:28 #
  49. amin1924

NNL & QKM,

Good thought and good analysis.

Thumps up!

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Oct 2009 8:38 #
  50. trueindian

why not to merge india and pakistan too?given the mass appeal of bollywood in pakistan nd most of pakistanis speak good hindi ;there seems to be no cultural gap between two nation.i think its time to stop being drivel nd focus on the problems of the respective nations.such droll anecdotes is nothing but drudgery ;

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Oct 2009 9:47 #