US lawmakers freeze $700 mln to Pakistan

(15 posts)
  1. Fazooli

http://www.dawn.com/2011/12/13/us-lawmakers-freeze-700-mln-to-pakistan.html

Chalo acha hoa... hum bhi daikhain kitna dam hai good governance ka present government mein!

WASHINGTON: The leaders of a US House-Senate negotiating panel said on Monday they had agreed to freeze $700 million in US aid to Pakistan until it provides some assurances of assistance in the fight against improvised explosive devices in the region.

The explosive devices are among militants’ most effective weapons against US and coalition troops in Afghanistan.

Many are made using ammonium nitrate, a common fertilizer shipped across the border from Pakistan. The freeze on US aid was agreed as part of a defence bill that is expected to be passed this week.

The United States wants “assurances that Pakistan is countering improvised explosive devices in their country that are targeting our coalition forces,” Representative Howard McKeon, a House Republican, told reporters.

The United States has allocated some $20 billion in security and economic aid to Pakistan since 2001, much of it in the form of reimbursements for assistance in fighting militants.

But US lawmakers have expressed increasing frustration with Pakistan’s efforts in the war.

There have been numerous proposals to make US aid to Pakistan conditional on more cooperation in fighting militants such as the Haqqani network Washington believes operate out of Pakistan and battle US troops in Afghanistan.

US lawmakers allege that many Afghan bombs are made with fertilizer smuggled by militants across the border from Pakistan into Afghanistan.

“The vast majority of the material used to make improvised explosive devices used against US forces in Afghanistan originates from two fertilizer factories inside Pakistan,” Senator John McCain, a Republican, said in the Senate last week.

The provision freezing $700 million in aid to Pakistan was agreed upon by leaders of the armed services committees from both parties in the House and Senate, including McCain. It is part of compromise legislation authorising US defence programs expected to be approved this week, McKeon said.

He said the bill would also require the Pentagon to deliver a strategy for improving the effectiveness of US aid to Pakistan.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 3:33 #
  2. bsobaid

This is an important development.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 6:08 #
  3. Sharif Aadmi

Fazooli

What it has to do with good governence ? We as a nation don't pay taxes , have to fight india and whatever and then blame governments

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 6:11 #
  4. aftab arif

Doesn't make any difference to the common man, this aid is just a political bribe for our ruling class.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 11:06 #
  5. scandinavian

I think AAZ and his brothers NS & SS should bring back their own assets to Pakistan and also be asked to donate money to the nation!

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 11:46 #
  6. اللہ کرے نا صرف یہ بلکہ باقی کی امریکی بھیک بھی بند ہو جائے

اللہ کرے کہ یہ امریکی امداد کی بندش کی مثال ایسے ہی ہو کہہ کسی نے کبڑے کو لات ماری تو اسکا کب نکل گیا

ہمیں امریکی امداد سے زیادہ امریکیوں کو ہماری ضرورت ہے

یہ سارا کھیل اس بات کا ہے کہہ کون پہلے آنکھ جھپکتا ہے

ف ج

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 11:46 #
  7. expakistani

Only if there was honest leadership in Pakistan, we "ex pakistanies" can chip in more then 700 ml Dollars in short.... we been helping our mother land with donations and by sending money to legal ways ( authorized Pakistani banks).

We helped Edhi sahib, IK, Shahzad Roy and Ibrar ul Haq and willing to help Honest president and PM of pakistan.

But not when some Mr 10% or " Karz utaro mulk bachao" cheat in office

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 13:48 #
  8. bsobaid

While many of you are celebrating, you have no idea what it means. Yes, it gives an opportunity for PAksitan to work towards self-sustainance but this is not as easy as you all think.

When Amreeka wants to stop aid, it will make sure ALL global financial institutions including IMF who by the way is supporting Pakistan's budget these days must also stop giving aid and make its terms and conditions highly difficult for PAkistan to fullfill. So be ready for high inflation, rising food and commodity costs and probably social unrest also.

However, I do think some middle ground will be found and relations wont remain as bad as they are.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 14:28 #
  9. expakistani

@bsobaid

if we start living with in our means then we dont need aids and loans.

- Why spends millions on defiance budget when we can make friends around South Asia.

- Why Government need to run PIA, Railway, Pak Steel Mills type of business.

- Increase taxes on farm land.

- Get rid of Corruption

if this generation can learn how to live during hardship i am sure next gen will do better.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 15:43 #
  10. bsobaid

I agree, but all I am saying it is not going to be an easy task and be prepared for hard times to come if we take this route.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 15:50 #
  11. Anwer Kamal

So the people at present in USA IK,SMQ and Mush will be happy.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 16:05 #
  12. Anwer Kamal

So the people at present in USA IK,SMQ and Mush will be happy.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 16:06 #
  13. Pakistan Economy = $210 Billion
    US Dole frozen = $0.7 Billion
    US Dole taken by US contractors/ Business; 60% of 0.7 Billion = $0.42 Billion
    Actual $$ going into Pakistani economy = $0.28 Billion

Pakistani economy missing American Dole= $0.28 Billion
    Zardari to print more money to fill the gap = $0.28 Billion

Inflation due to additional money printing = 0.28/210*100 0.13%

Every Pakistani has to pay a 0.0013 Rupee more for every Rupee s/he spends. If you deduct the $$, our elites will loot out of $280 Million. The effect will be even less.

Any economist wants to educating us more complex models are welcomed.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 18:03 #
  14. bsobaid

Interesting azizi, this is a good objective analysis.

However, I'd point your attention towards Amreekan role in Pakistan's discussions with IMF, Asian dev bank and other financial institutions to support its budget.

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 18:35 #
  15. runaway

Who says we are short of $$.

Compulsory Monetization of Transport for Civil Servants in BS-20 to BS-22

The new system is part of a change in policy, brought about by austerity measures approved in the federal budget for 2011-12.

Civil servants from the BS-20 to BS-22 pay scale will be given the first option to buy the cars they currently use for free.

Even bureaucrats in USA dont enjoy these facilities and those also part of austerity measurs :)

Posted 5 months ago on 13 Dec 2011 19:09 #