USA after denying nuclear deal objects to Pakistan's gas pipeline deal with Iran

(29 posts)
  1. d0ct0r

WASHINGTON: The United States urged Pakistan on Thursday to reconsider its deal with Iran for building a multi-billion-dollar pipeline intended to bring the much-needed natural gas to the energy starved country.

“We do not think it is the right time for doing this kind of transaction with Iran,” US Assistant Secretary of State Robert Blake told a briefing in Washington.

Mr Blake, who looks after South and Central Asian affairs at the State Department, returned this week from a trip to India, Pakistan, Afghanistan and Belgium where he discussed the current situation in South Asia with his European colleagues as well. The US official told reporters at a briefing in Washington that the issue of the Iran-Pakistan gas pipeline was raised in his meetings in Pakistan, particularly in public discussions.

“We have advised Pakistan to seek other alternatives,” he added, explaining that because of Iran’s dispute with the international community over its nuclear programme, the US opposed large investments in any Iranian project.

Pakistan and Iran signed an operational agreement for the proposed pipeline on March 16, a month after the signing was delayed because Islamabad was unable to arrange funds for the project.

The pipeline was initially mooted to carry gas from Iran to Pakistan and on to India. India withdrew from negotiations last year after signing a nuclear deal with the United States, but has kept open the option of rejoining the project at a later stage.

On Thursday, Pakistan said it would provide India with security guarantees for the pipeline from the South Pars gas complex in Iran as an incentive to join the project.

Referring to these problems, Mr Blake said the project still faced “many challenges.”

When a reporter asked if the US would also advise India not to join the pipeline project, Mr Blake said: “This is a very sensitive time in relations with Iran and we prefer that all countries avoid such transactions with Iran.”

Water Crisis

At the briefing, Pakistani journalists were particularly concerned about a potentially explosive dispute between India and Pakistan over water and they put several questions to the US official on this issue.

Mr Blake said the US would not get involved “in bilateral issues” between India and Pakistan. “We think the World Bank is the right place” for resolving such disputes.

The United States, however, will help both countries in developing their water resources.

On Thursday, an influential US newspaper — Wall Street Journal — reported that the water feud between India and Pakistan was threatening to derail peace talks between the two neighbours.

The countries have harmoniously shared the waters of the Indus River for decades. A 50-year-old treaty regulating access to water from the river and its tributaries has been viewed as a bright spot for India and Pakistan.

Now, Pakistan complains that India is hogging water upstream, which is hurting Pakistani farmers downstream. Pakistani officials say they will soon begin formal arbitration over a proposed Indian dam.

At a meeting that started on Sunday, Pakistan raised objections to new Indian dam projects on the Indus River and asked for satellite monitoring of river flows.

India denies it is violating the treaty. New Delhi blames Pakistan’s water shortage on changing weather patterns and the country’s poor water management.

The latest dispute revolves around India’s plans to build a 330-megawatt hydroelectric power project on the Kishenganga River, a tributary of the Indus. India says it is well within its rights to build the dam.

Pakistan says New Delhi’s plans to divert the course of the river will reduce its flow by a third in the winter. That would make it unfeasible for Pakistan to move ahead with its own plans for a hydroelectric dam downstream.

Pakistan wants to put the Kishenganga project before an arbitration panel—the first time that mechanism of the treaty will have been used.

Mr Blake also referred to this panel, set up under the Indus Water Treaty, and hoped that they would be able to resolve this dispute through arbitration as they did in the past.

He told the briefing that the water dispute came up at every meeting he had in Pakistan.

Mr Blake said that both India and Pakistan were facing acute water shortages because of their rapidly increasing populations and expanding economies.

“So the water issue is a real challenge for both.”

Pakistan, he said, needed to change it irrigation practices and offered US assistance to help overcome the problem.

Anti-India Militant Groups:

Mr Blake called on Pakistan to curb anti-India militants, praising Islamabad’s recent efforts against extremism but saying it could do more to improve ties with New Delhi, adds AFP

Blake hailed the “enormous” progress in Pakistan in fighting Muslim extremists, pointing to its offensives against Taliban in its restive northwest and recent arrests of militant leaders.

“I think one can argue there is a lot of important progress that has been made but we think there also needs to be progress against these Punjab-based groups,” Blake told reporters.

He was referring to groups such as Lashkar-e-Taiba and Jaish-e-Moham-med.

Blake said that Punjab-based militants “are targeting Pakistan as well,” pointing to attacks in Lahore including a deadly 2009 ambush on Sri Lanka’s visiting cricket team.

Blake said he also relayed to Pakistan the concerns of New Delhi that militants were infiltrating India to carry out attacks.

“I reminded them that from 2004 to 2007 both of those countries made quite important progress in their bilateral relations, and that progress was made possible in part by the significant efforts the government of Pakistan made at the time to stop cross-border infiltration,” he said.

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/front-page/us-objects-to-gas-pipeline-deal-with-iran-240

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 23:51 #
  2. d0ct0r

No nuclear power for you. No cheap gas for you. USA just want to buy us for their peanuts.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 23:52 #
  3. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I fully agree. They are trying to cripple us.

Why should anyone in Pakistan think of USA as their friend ?

If this is what USA does with its friends, then what would it be doing with its enemies ?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 6:29 #
  4. Brothers, forget this one, it's just a detail. How about not seeing a friend in the USA, but an enemy pure and simple, because the US is bombing us every day of the week and killing our fellow-Muslims in Afghanistan, Iraq, etc on an equally regular basis. Gas means something to you and human life nothing? That can't be right, can it?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 6:51 #
  5. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Mirza Ghalib: I/We/JI think of USA as our enemy, our competitor in the world for global hegemony.

The most we will accept from USA/Nato is to be a business partner. That's it.

I don't expect any good from them. Whatever they do for us, they extort many folds more! from us in return against it.

We are Muslims. It is our duty to spread Islam in the entire world. WE can only succeed in doing so, when we have implemented Islam within our own land.

Mankind is waiting for us to provide better solutions for every problem.

We need to take charge of our country. We need to have our own system in our land.

We need to show an example of betterment, of prosperity to the rest of the world.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 9:09 #
  6. Thanks, HK, for the clarification of your position and that of the JI. I mainly agree with what you say above. But again I miss something in your post as in the post of most fellow bloggers here, barring perhaps our Migel.

Why does everyone dodge the question of US attacking Pakistan, attacking and invading Afghanistan, ditto for Iraq, etc. the US is not only our competitor as regards global hegemony. It is our enemy on the battlefield. Does no one here see that? US/NATO are busy killing us, and we can consider taking them on as our business partners? There is neither logic nor morality in such an attitude. We want to do business, what's wrong with China, Russia and Iran, Turkey, SouthAm, Africa?

No, with the best will in the world, I fail to understand my countymen in this refusal to see who their enemy is.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 9:52 #
  7. khalidhumayun

Very nice input Mirza saheb. In fact, its a complete article on current issues. In diplomaic talks both the parties have their agenda. What has been termed as "strategic negotiations" was simply to convince Pakistan to do away with Iran-Pakistan pipeline project. Pakistan in their sleeves had a civil nuclear plant proposal to meet the energy crisis which was politely refused. Instead, USA agreed to finance three thermal power projects which,like one learned friend said is "peanuts". Because of Iran, India got nuclear deal while we got "peanuts". However, like I have been stressing upon, due our past records, we are beggars and not choosers and USA is dealing us in the same terms. Besides war against terrorism, USA has no interest whatsoever for Pakistan. Period. However, Pakistan must accept the reality that something is better than nothing.

I have a hunch, by taking the Iran-Pakistan Gas Pipeline Project so seriously a thing by USA, it looks some serious plan is being hatched against Iran by Obama administration and Pentagon. This is number apprehension. Two, USA has their focal point on Iran and not Pakistan. Why? Simply because the President of United States is elected by the help of Jewish business tycoons that provide tons of money and lots of lobbies for election campaign. Therefore, be that Obama or any other person for that matter, the integrity and safety of Israel would remain all important strategic point of foreign policy. As for us, we can only cry, we can only call names, we can only say down with America. Of course, USA is a curse for us, but only saying this would that serve the purpose? I think not.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 11:46 #
  8. khalidhumayun, that was very good and gave one much food for thought. I'll mull over it at leisure, if I may.

Here, just one line about Iran. The USans will not be able to touch it militarily, with or without the help of their lapdog master Israel. Pakistan, of course, is a wholly different matter. We even seem to welcome US attacks.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 12:00 #
  9. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I have been miss-understood again.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 15:12 #
  10. Oh, no, HK! So sorry. I'm quite willing to grant you that I did, but in what way exactly did I misunderstand?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 15:48 #
  11. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Muslims conduct business with their rivals. That doesn't mean we;

(1) sell our loyalties, or
    (2) agree to their terms, or
    (3) need them

We are forced to do business with them untill we decide not! to keep destroying our local economies, untill we revive our local economies.

Untill Muslims end injustice in their land, we are forced to export our goods and services to these people.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 16:15 #
  12. Musician

For once Pakistan should say to USA that whilst it may not be an appropriate time for the USA to enter into deal with Iran, Pakitan considers it an approriate time for it to enter into such an agreement. And quote to them their Mr. Blake's statement:

"Mr Blake said the US would not get involved “in bilateral issues” between India and Pakistan."

and say that we do not want US to get involved with our deal with Iran

The Government needs to have the moral courage to do this and the future passage for Pakitan will become smoother. And for those who will say that USA will stop finaancial aid, I would say "So be it". There is always a price to pay for for one's integrity and self-respect. The world will start respecting Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 17:17 #
  13. khalidhumayun

I totally agree with Haris Khan and forward further, unless justice prevails in our own society how can we expect those forces who are bent upon to destroy us would do justice to us in comparison to India. Power is the name of the game. To combat those forces we should be powerful ourselves. We are alive on hollow slogans only. It is high time we should unite to thwart those evil forces.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 17:24 #
  14. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I have already said this on this forum, and I will repeat;

USA has a 307 million population. That is their market.

Pakistan (180) + Afghanistan (29) + Iran (74) = 288 million strong market.

Why don't Pakistan + Afghanistan + Iran + Turkey + more + more + more do business among themselves ?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 17:29 #
  15. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Pakistan's internal market is worth trillions!, yet our people want to keep our economy in 'dead' state, rather than to revive it.

This is compromising our position, our objectives, our hegemony, our system.

We will NOT! be able to influence international politics, international trade, untill and unless we revive our local economy(ies).

We will NOT! be able to show the world, that Islam provides the best solutions, untill we don't implement them within our own land.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 17:29 #
  16. Musician

Yes, Pakitan has to be powerful to deal with any country but that power is Economic Power. If we are economically strong the world will listen to us.

To be economically powerful the nation has to work hard. Justice is a logical consequence of hard and hoest work. One cannot get justice by empty slogans. To start with appreciate the value of your vote and cast it properly. Do a hard dasy's work and pay your taxes and respect other citizens. The justice will be plentiful.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 17:33 #
  17. And if I may add to Musician's words. Whatever we do in Pakistan, we should do with perfect efficiency and skill. Indolence and shoddy work are also forms of corruption.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 17:47 #
  18. I would agree and add to what Hariskhan has said. We should diversify our usual trade pattern by increasing trade with Iran, Afghanistan, Central Asia, China, Turkey etc.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 17:59 #
  19. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

We don't need market of USA or Europe.

Correction: Pakistan (180) + Afghanistan (29) + Iran (74) = 283 million strong market.

Pakistan (180) + Afghanistan (29) + Iran (74) + Turkey (72) = 355 million strong market.

Pakistan + Afghanistan + Iran have ALL the natural resources we need to live our lives based on self reliance.

We have ALL the;

(a) money
    (b) land
    (c) people
    (d) natural resources

we need. We have EVERYTHING! we need, MASHALLAH, SUBHANALLAH, AlHamdulillah.

We need to embrace;

(1) Islam
    (2) honesty
    (3) justice
    (4) bravery
    (5) self reliance
    (6) unity

and we'll be able to rule this world, over-power any power this world has created or will ever create.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 18:48 #
  20. You have seen this with great clarity. We need neither Us nor Europe for trade purposes.

But we do need peace. Of the four Muslim countries you mention above, two are in a state of war. What do we do about that?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 18:59 #
  21. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

We need to;

(1) choose non-criminals, honest, just, brave people, those who subscribe to self reliance as our leaders

(2) forge strategic regional blocks with those countries who are willing to join us

That will;

(a) bring us face-to-face with the west
    (b) effectively end foreign oppression for a good amount of years to come
    (c) give us a breather
    (d) allow us to focus on internal matters, get our house in order, struggle for implementation of rule of law, struggle for implementation of Islami Nizam, struggle for betterment in general

so we can do something about this nonsense! by the west that is going on today.

For example, strategic block between Pakistan + Afghanistan + Iran + China + African nations for a start, those who are willing to help us or join us.

Pakistan can, Pakistan needs to, Pakistan MUST! play a pivotal role for this.

(3) have the west dry up ALL! the resources they can muster against us, preferably ASAP

(4) have the west to expose ALL that they have up their sleeves against us in-front of our people, be it their military tools or knowledge or media campaigns or any other tricks, weapons they have against us

Either we need to expose the west or make them do it for us. In both cases, our end objective is to expose their credibility, their reputation, their wrong-doings.

If USA/Nato and their allies can 'brand manage' (defame, in this instance) the label 'Taliban', then two can play at that game <- ****-for-tat from me/us to the west.

I want ALL Pakistanis'/Muslims/just people even if they are non-Muslims to engage in ALL possible courses of actions to do whatever 'brand management' they can do of the 'west'.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 19:02 #
  22. Well, well, well, HK. We are two hearts that beat as one on this matter. I am overjoyed to hear you sound so combative, fighting mad against the west.

These are the people we need to bring down. And we are bringing them down daily a little more. Militarily, it is the proud and brave Taliban who are doing our work for us in Afghanistan and, to a lesser extent, the Resistance movement in Iraq.

Then we have a special gift from God to us poor Muslims. The economic system of the west is unravelling. Or as we have had occasion to say in the past: The west is toast. Some western blogs we trust assure us that never again will prosperity return to the countries that have robbed us blind. Their economic prolapse is terminal, irreversible whatever evil schemes they might dream up next.

As for Pakistan, we are getting there, slowly but with the utter certitude of day following night. Even our political parties have begun to wake up to the need for honesty and justice. In this connection, the so far marginalised parties such as JI or PTI are surefire candidates for renewal.

Last but not least, your idea of setting up regional blocks as of now is excellent. As regards Africa, we'll be dealing with the like-minded, since much of Africa is Muslim and therefore part of our Dar-e-Islam.

We swear to follow up your request and do the very best each of us can to brand manage that criminal construct, the child-killing west.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 21:15 #
  23. SufiSoul

US has lost the oppertunity to lead the world to a happy Life on the earth..
    Nature does give you some time to prove ur self positive if not than he Punish you to drop you down in every walks of life..
    I feel sorry for US that a country like PAKISTAN can reject their warning and go ahead with his enemy IRAN regarding this deal..
    It means days for US has turned upside down and they should prove this year for themselves as "BREAKING YEAR"..

WE SHOULD GO AHEAD WITH IRAN ON GAS DEAL.....

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Apr 2010 23:02 #
  24. I second that SufiSoul Sahib. Go for it. Our honourable neighbour Iran is the answer. Not the military-mad US and its mindless European allies.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Apr 2010 8:56 #
  25. یہودو نصاریٰ تمارے کبھی دوست نہیں ہو سکتے

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Apr 2010 9:02 #
  26. I second that, too, Psycho. Thank you for giving us support over this, the oldest of truths.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Apr 2010 12:14 #
  27. This is not old truth my brother

This is universal truth, ever green like a tree whose leaf remain green in all the seasons,

I believe that every word of Quran is universal and true

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Apr 2010 12:19 #
  28. Quite right and poetically expressed. The oldest of truths, and therefore universal, evergreen. Do not feel you are alone in your faith. We are fellow Pakistanis. We are believers, too.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Apr 2010 12:42 #
  29. express ur believe to other as u r the only believer in the world, my brother mirza ghalib, So that the believe of other believer become more stronger

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Apr 2010 12:46 #