Part #1:
Source: Youtube Channel: zuhayerI171288
Video: Science and Islam - The Language of Science
10-April-2010
Part #1:
Looking at how whatever the people in the west made up could not have been achieved without the contributions Muslims gave to Science and Technology, its astonishing how some have the audacity of doing so.
Yet there is no! acknowledgment of Muslims or their outstanding contribution to Science and Technology.
Muslims are berated, even when the west knows, the foundation on which ALL its products are based, were created by Muslims.
Muslims create the base (Science and Technology), but could not build the building on top of it ? I don't believe it, even for a nano-second.
Muslims are berated, even when the west knows, the foundation on which ALL its products are based, were created by Muslims.
Drones are based on??
@lota6177: I believe, your knowledge is more than sufficient to answer that question.
So, what is the answer ?
All muslim Scientists were produced in Persia, Iraq, Syria, North Africa and Spain. All of them were plural societies.
The Rise and Fall of Islamic Spain: Full documentary (PBS
. Let There be Light
Greek and Arab scholars, and later Europeans such as Descartes and Newton all tried to understand light to gain a better understanding of God. Episode one shows how much of modern science's origins came from the desire to penetrate the divine nature of light.
I'v made a thread where I'm compiling a knowledgebase of important videos for Muslims to have knowledge of i.e.,
Thread: Programs in Western Mass Media of Interest to Muslims
I'm now going to make another thread, for compiling ALL! possible knowledgebase of Science and Technology! as well :D
Could any scholar at the Forum, help me to find the list of Great Muslim Scientists within the last 500 years?
Javed Sheikh sb. Why do you want to find this list ?
"Why do you want to find this list?"
What sort of question?
There could be someone else at the Forum holding that list.
There is nothing to feel guilty and annoyed over this question.
Q) Could any scholar at the Forum, help me to find the list of Great Muslim Scientists within the last 500 years?
A) Why do you want to find this list?
haris bhai. aap kay jawab sey saaf zahir hota hy keh aap haqeeqat ko chhupana chatey ho. laikin haqeeqat ko chhupaya nahee ja sakta. guzashta 500 saaloon mein ham sirif naarey hee martey rahay aur aaj bhi yehi kar rahey hein.
achtung sahib, how about you joining the West fair and square, instead of all this pretence that the future of Pakistan is of interest to you?
And why on earth should Hariskhan be doing all the work on this website 24/7? Isn't he a human being? Doesn't he need his rest like everyone else?
The Jews like to call internal dissidents, self-hating Jews. Anything there we could use for Pakistan as well?
Mirza Ghalib
How about you joining Al Qaeda/Taliban fair and square instead of all this pretense that the future of Pakistan is of interest to you?
Good man lota6177, listen up once and for all. Al Qaeda does not exist. It is the West's bogeyman to excuse their bombing any Muslims they like. One knows that or one doesn't, no need for long, futile discussions.
As for the Taliban, if you mean the Afghan Resistance, they are doing a great job as it is. They need no help from me. Anything called the Pakistani Taliban is the misnomer of the century. Perhaps, if you believe in them, you could think of joining up.
Last but not least, fair and square, I wasn't addressing you at all but good old achtung. But great to have you on board as well.
mirza ghalib
Good man lota6177, listen up once and for all. Al Qaeda does not exist.
personal opinion or something out of a playbook of certain extermist groups..??
That clears it, Osama bin laden and aymen al zawarhie give IT and english spoken lectures in the tribal areas. Sahab media group is making windows 7 sp2.
Personal opinion, common sense, logic and knowing the manipulative, deceitful way the west works. Sorry to disappoint, but I know of no "extremist" groups myself. You?
There are several words, all the fashion in politics today, which make my hair stand on end: One is terrorist (I only know about State terrorism), the other extremist, the third: infiltrator, on the basis of which Israel is now hoping to carry out serious ethnic cleansing in the West Bank.
I still believe that those who are carrying out their unspeakable acts of violence in Pakistan today are Blackwater-connected.
"Could any scholar at the Forum, help me to find the list of Great Muslim Scientists within the last 500 years? ""
I can only think of Dr Abdus Salaam.
Maybe there are some other names out there as well.
""The Jews like to call internal dissidents, self-hating Jews. Anything there we could use for Pakistan as well? ""
I believe the greatness of the Jews is because of these so called "self-hating Jews".
Is he from the free world?
Since when Islamic countries are known to be free?
What do you expect from the past colonies who are still slaves to the west their status of slavery being maintained through placed stooges, sham democracies and kingdoms?
Why not consider both eras. One till when the moors ruled Spain, and the other after the downfall of the same.
Slavery of the Muslim world by their colonial masters continues till today.
Yes. Slavery = the plain, unvarnished truth.
zia m - Self-loving, self-hating, where is that "greatness" of the Jews exactly? In their present bid for world power?
Or their ethnic cleansing attempts in Palestine?
I don't see it, I really don't. But perhaps I'm just blind.
I guess the debate is entering to establish the definition of 'Greatness'.
How we can establish, 'personal greatness',
'national greatness', 'intellectual greatness',
'artistic greatness', 'collective greatness'?
What are the icons to make a person or group, great?
You're right, but that's an extremely complex topic. I doubt that any two persons here are going to agree with each other. But you did use the word. Perhaps you could tell us what you meant by "greatness" in connection with the Jews. "Moral greatness", the one that would impress me the most, they haven't shown much of that, in my reading of their history. But correct me if I'm wrong.
Mirza Ghalib
There are probably more Arabs living in America than the Jews but Jews have been very successful in controling American media, financial sector and educational system.They obviously have some qualities that others lack.
Maybe "greatness" is wrong word to use but one cannot deny their success.Ultimately being successful is what counts.
I am not antisemitic but i do hate their guts and admit my bias toward the Jews.I wish we had some of their qualities.
It is the DNA what helps a person to become Great.
No Nation, Ethnic Group or race could be acknowledged as 100% great or worse as a Nation.
It is a sum total of few great individuals who bring fame and image of greatness for a nation.
For me territorial nationalism is more important to recognize the greatness of a person.
I am least concerned about the ethnicity of Edison,
Graham Bell, Newton, Karl Marx, Einstein and several other great scientists and inventors.
We know them by their nationality as German, British, French, American, Egyptian, Chinese, Indian, Pakistani without probing about their religious preferences what is a secondary stage.
Had religion the only carrier for greatness, all of the scientist would have been Arabs, the origin of three great religions of the World.
@Mirza Ghalib
Moral greatness and Jews contradict each other. Study of Ashkenazi Jews can better explain this. Why Jews were hounded from one country to another and then another is much to do with their moral greatness and that is to get a stranglehold on national economies from a lower level of money lending, using all sorts of clandestine criminal activities mafia style till they climb the upper levels of economic ladder like owning banks, media, oil and diamond trade, arms manufacturing and export includes smuggling of weapons and oil and gas exploration….Now that is true moral greatness!
Morality is a relative term.Greatness is indeed, in ones contribution towards making this world a better place to live.The great scientists who work to eliminate disease and poverty are more worthy of my respect than some priest or religious cleric.
Allah Almighty Said:
"We will soon show them Our signs in the Universe and INSIDE THEIR SELVES, until it will become quite clear to them that it is the truth. Is it not sufficient as regards your Lord that He is a witness over all things? (The Noble Quran, 41:53)"
A new star forming out of a cloud of gas and dust (nebula), which is one of the remnants of the "smoke" that was the origin of the whole universe. (The Space Atlas, Heather and Henbest, page 50)
Allah Almighty said: "Then He turned to the heaven when it was smoke...(The Noble Quran, 41:11)"
Only Islam claims that the universe was originated from Dust and Hot Gas, or Smoke.
Another Very Important Discovery:
Allah Almighty Said: "And when the heaven splitteth asunder and becometh ROSY LIKE PAINT - (The Noble Quran, 55:37)"
What Allah Almighty is Saying here is that when Galaxies explode, they form a rose-shaped explosion. He is also telling us that the Universe will all turn into exploded galaxies looking like roses when the Day of Judgment happens.
COUNTLESS pictures of exploded galaxies that look like roses.
The Miracle of Generation of Paint from the Explosions of Galaxies in Space - Mentioned in the Holy Quran and confirmed by Science.
Odd and Even Numerical Miracle in the Holy Quran. A very STUNNING Divine Miracle!!!
http://www.answering-christianity.com/mahir/
For mental slaves who would like to becomes jews..
It is idiotic to think the scriptures are books of science.It shows ones inferiority complex to look for science in a book of guidance.
So what does all this prove? Does it confirm the Divine origins of the Quran? Or does it merely tell us that the Quran is a treasure chest of scientific facts? What is the function of the exercise? This incident throws considerable light on the state of the Muslim mind: its acute inferiority complex; its obsession with science and by extension with modernity; and its pathological concern with seeing the Quran as the end of knowledge rather than as a text that provides an ethical framework for the pursuit of knowledge. On the surface, such attempts to legitimise modern science by equating it with the Quran, or to prove the divine origins of the Quran by showing that it contains scientifically valid facts, appear harmless, indeed, even commendable exercises. However, when pursued on a nave basis, as is often done by Muslim scholars, such methods can be dangerous; and when undertaken deliberately, be it sincerely, often by non-Muslim scholars, it can have mischievous consequences.
and its pathological concern with seeing the Quran as the end of knowledge rather than as a text that provides an ethical framework for the pursuit of knowledge. No one race can claim to have the monopoly on KNOWLEDGE,specialy science.No one stoped MR DASTI or most of our parliament
To equire proper degrees??why would they?They are robing
Pakistan blind.Knowledge has always been available to hunamity,Humans are just catching up.Few observations.
Migel, thanks. One renowned Pakistani theologian, Shahzado Shaikh, who was recently appointed judge to the Sharia Court here, has, like you, also pointed out in a monumental work how astoundingly compatible the Holy Quran is with science as it has come to be defined in this day and age.
javedsheikh sahib, I warned you none of us would agree with anyone. I set my parameters for greatness right at the start. They were misunderstood and assimilated with religion. No one has a monopoly over anything, I agree, except for the West. They always know best.
zia m - "Ultimately being successful is what counts." By that token, Mr Zardari in our own sweet Pakistan has reached the pinacle of greatness. He has not only become the top man in the power structure, money-wise he's none too badly off either.
Naseem - Super example of the tongue-in-cheek approach that kills. I agreed with everything you said.
One last remark: anti-semitic is a contradiction in terms. The real Semites are the Arabs, not today's Jews. And I think here we'll all agree: Not one of us hates Arabs, even if they get on our nerves at times.
It never seizes to amaze me when I see bigotry and intolerance disguised as a twisted interpretation of a great religion. Islam never claimed to be a new religion but always advertised itself as completion of Judaism and Christianity. It advertised as Judaism and Christianity 2.0. If anything Islam has extremely heavy Jewish and Christian influences. Even the word deen (a word that has many meanings in Arabic among it a complete way of life) comes from Aramaic. The Jewish and christen influence in Islam is undeniable and If you are unaware of it then you have your eyes closed.
As for Quran being a book of science can someone explain where does the sun go at night according to the Quran?
Al Kahf 86
The greatest mischief Jews have made is that they have taken their barbaric and savage history and presented it as a religion.The Christians and Muslims adopted Jewish history as their religions.The Jews were too smart and most of educated Jews are atheist now,
It is a shame how little we know about the origin of monotheistic religions.
How many of us know that Abrahim was married to his step sister Sara and how he got rich after his visit to Egypt.
Quote:
Could any scholar at the Forum, help me to find the list of Great Muslim Scientists within the last 500 years????
Could any scholar at the forum,help me to find any person matching our IMAM GHAZALI FROM 2000 YEARS HISTORY of Christianity and in another 1000 years history of Jews....
Muslims never shows that much interest in material science,but THEY WERE always busy from time to time in real chemistry of this universe towards GOD,
Such list is very long but i just mentioned IMAM GHAZALI out of it.....
We are proud of our real science discoveries (non-material).And no one accept another muslims can even find traces of what our great Personalities acheived for the rest of the mankind...
And we think that due to spending time on this GOD has given us the reward to enjoy the life with others material efforts having no share afterwards.......
We are enjoying both here and will enjoy afterwards...Loosers are able to spend time here with search and search,but cannot find traces of GOD(if they wish) in others we will enjoy same share in every thing we needed(according to our need).....
Ghazali was one of the reasons for the decline of Islamic Golden Age.The real scholars were Ibn Sina and Ibn Rushd.
The question was about last 500 years.
Quote:
The greatest mischief Jews have made is that they have taken their barbaric and savage history and presented it as a religion.The Christians and Muslims adopted Jewish history as their religions.The Jews were too smart and most of educated Jews are atheist now,
It is a shame how little we know about the origin of monotheistic religions.
How many of us know that Abrahim was married to his step sister Sara and how he got rich after his visit to Egypt.
Pls come up with ur erffrences(not wiki) backing ur claims..OR don't try to creat a picture on the basis of distarted information from wiki.....
Come up with your proofs that all you mentioned are above the Law.....
OR it's just (Hawai Firing)......
You have to re-read ISLAMIC history and come up with sound knowledge pls....
At public forums such claims are not worth noting when you are going to just claim and generalize every thing...
Very funny, just go over The Incoherence of Incoherence a major work by Ibn Rushd.I know it is too much to ask from people with preconceived ideas.
Quote:
It is idiotic to think the scriptures are books of science.It shows ones inferiority complex to look for science in a book of guidance...
It is something more than idioticity to think that Quran is something having discussed morale values...
Quran answered so many answers Idiotic question by many of the non-muslims and even muslims at that early time of the ISLAM..
Why Quran was revealed gradually???If it were so Quran should once revealed all the morale answers and that would be the end..
But it was revealed gradually having with ansewers of so many stupid questions also..
Moreover Quran is always discussing everything man is sorrounded by..
So its obvious that things also needs some scientific logics to make a person understand the situation completly...
I feel pitty for ur Quranic Knowledge once again here......
Re-read my post above .........
I wish you would have read the article by Ziauddin Sardar before your nonsensical comment.
Bahi shero shairy karain aap..
Ye aap k kerny aur sochny joga kaam kahan.....LOLz
I have finished already most of my history and wishing a rival to make me reopen books of ISLAMIC HISTORY but koi nahi door door tak......
Ghazali was indeed one of the reason for the decline of Islamic golden age
In his "The Revival Of The Religious Sciences," Ghazali defines the woman's role.
She should stay at home and get on with her spinning, she should not go out often, she must not be well-informed, nor must she be communicative with her neighbours and only visit them when absolutely necessary; she should take care of her husband and respect him in his presence and his absence and seek to satisfy him in everything; she must not cheat on him nor extort money from him; she must not leave her house without his permission and if given his permission she must leave surreptitiously. She should put on old clothes and take deserted streets and alleys, avoid markets, and make sure that a stranger does not hear her voice or recognize her; she must not speak to a friend of her husband even in need. ... Her sole worry should be her virtue, her home as well as her prayers and her fast. If a friend of her husband calls when the latter is absent she must not open the door nor reply to him in order to safeguard her and her husband's honour. She should accept what her husband gives her as sufficient sexual needs at any moment. ... She should be clean and ready to satisfy her husband's sexual needs at any moment.
Ignorance is not a crime there is still time for you to learn from the history.
Sufi, you are a good example of what is wrong with present day Mulla.
SufiSoul Sahab
What does Islamic history tells us about Ashab e Kahaf??
This is not a problem if you dont know.The big problem is,
If you dont know,that you dont know......
Come and learn in real context so many things and history+Islam....
What about Zul Qurnain??
BTW who was he?
peter,
Where is ur link of pasted material????
pls come up with ur link.......
@sufisoul
I have finished already most of my history and wishing a rival to make me reopen books of ISLAMIC HISTORY but koi nahi door door tak......
wah wah sufi ji tusie taie aristo toun whie bohat agay nikal gaie o. Tuwada har lafaz pearl of wisdom haie. Usie baraay lucky haie wana kaie towda jaisa azeem scholar sadie otay apna time zaiya kar reya way.
Pehly imam ghazali ka final kerthy hain phir idhar bhi dekh len gy.....