Water for All

(48 posts)
  1. zingaro

BESIDES DISCUSSING THE CORRUPT POLITICIANS AND DIRTY POLITICS
    ----------------------------------------------------------

While the country is already suffering from the scarcity of water for agricultural usage, we perhaps have totally ignored that there are hundreds of areas where the common public has no access to the drinking water. I was listening a report the other day that in some areas when small children come back from school they don't find water to drink at their homes. You might have been listening and watching such reports for a long time, and you would have felt pain in your heart but after that the program changed or your turned the newspaper page and it is all gone.

I am seriously thinking that we should take some serious steps to help the people living in remote areas to have access of drinking water. It is a noble cause and I believe that Allah will reward us with better.

What I have in mind is that first of all we need to collect the data as which are the areas where drinking water is not available. Secondly what can be the measures to provide water lines there. How much would be the cost and how can we meet that.

This is a summary of what I have thought. You may give your comments on it.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 8:59 #
  2. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I believe, good people among us should sit back and enjoy their lives. We'v spent 60+ years, trying to warn our people to not engage in injustice. Good people/WE'v been sidelined as a result.

Why should we, the good people bear the consequences of those who didn't listen to us ?

People want as much resources as they can possibly gather for themselves ? Let them have it all.

Untill the time they want to live their lives like civilized human beings, they should be set free to kill each other off, to their heart's content. They! fully! deserve it.

This bloodshed will give them lessons to learn. Especially to listen to warnings of good people.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 12:21 #
  3. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

LANAT! hai aise loago'n par, jo sirf apne aap ki behtari dekhte hain.

JANWAR hain ye loag.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 12:23 #
  4. zingaro, get your idea of providing clean drinking water to deprived areas started. Ask for money contributions from this blog, for instance (and from elsewhere, of course). I'll certainly join in to contribute.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 12:33 #
  5. HK, can I ask you to come to my rescue? I wanted to put a YouTube video on this blog and didn't manage. Can you tell me how to go about doing so? God will reward you hundredfold for your guidance. Thank you.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 12:35 #
  6. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Mirza Ghalib: Janab, what you have to do is to paste the video's link from youtube, anywhere in your post. Just the URL. Nothing else. This website has a plugin that automatically fetches the video.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 12:45 #
  7. Thank you very much, Hariskhan Sahib. I´ll let you know later how I manage to get on.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 14:15 #
  8. zingaro

I am quite surprised to see that only two people dared to comment in this thread. May be it is because of Sunday and every body has not visited the blog today.

@Ghalib .. Thank you very much dear. My idea is not to start collecting the funds but first of all finding the areas, solutions and then the stage will come for funding. I have in mind that even someone can directly sponsor one small project thus to avoid collection of funds.

Lets see how many people agree to it.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 14:30 #
  9. RajputPuttar

Why should we, the good people bear the consequences of those who didn't listen to us ?

Mashallah. There are two measures to determine who is good and who is bad.

a) Judgemetn of Allah---That will come on day of judgment.
    b) Judgment of masses --- Which has totally rejected u people.

So , on what grounds u r claiming to be "good people" ??

Prophet muhammad's islam doesn't teach us arrogance .

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 14:36 #
  10. @hariskhan
    You are being WARNED not to repeat curse words as below:
    'LANAT! hai aise loago'n par, jo sirf apne aap ki behtari dekhte hain.
    JANWAR hain ye loag'.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 17:18 #
  11. Sure, zingaro, do it the way you find most convenient and efficient. Water is a basic right for all. The thought that some people might be deprived of it through constant negligence on the part of the authorities and the nation is unbearable.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 17:35 #
  12. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Mirza sb. what word would you use to address those people who;

(1) sideline or reject or abandon the law of the land ?
    (2) don't adhere to any code of conduct ?
    (3) commit grave crimes against other human beings ?

(4) self centered ?
    (5) don't think how their actions, their decisions, their crimes affect the lives of many others ?

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 17:53 #
  13. Zingaro
    Water and here I mean potable water (sweet water) is found generally around river banks and canals or springs, brooks, streams, waterfalls etc.
    Brakish hard water is found in almost 2/3rds of Pakistan at times much deep underground. Unsuitable for human consumption or for irrigation.
    Pipeline Water supply as and if provided is a prime cause of spreading gastro, typhoid and other water borne diseases or I would say it really looks murky and smells of raw sewage.

Why not take a turn towards SOLAR CONCENTRATORS that are easy and affordable to construct/setup; will supply heat within the range of 400c to 900c (depends on materials used and construction methods).
    This heat is more than enough to boil what ever water is available steam cooled off into distilled water that could be used for human consumption with guaranteed safety.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 18:03 #
  14. shriq

Zingaro,

GREAT IDEA!

I am willing to contribute!

I shall email you separately.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 18:07 #
  15. shriq

And tell us what is on your mind

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 18:11 #
  16. hariskhan, must it be just one word to cover all the failings you mention? Criminal is the first word that comes to mind.

To that could be added "rogues", "villains", "sinners", "delinquents", "mal-factors" "felons", each with its own particular shade of meaning.

Whatever, HK, I'd stay away from all these words in connection with any given individual. They are hurtful, and do not as a rule further the cause.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 18:13 #
  17. shriq

Bhai angraizi lughat likh di aap nay yahan.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 18:16 #
  18. Sorry, shriq, skip that post, please. A bit confusing everything.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2010 18:44 #
  19. zingaro

@shariq bhai .. thanks for your words ... I am working on it and will share here

@Patriot .. you have raised a good point and installation of solar panels where needed can be a tool for such projects ...

I am looking for more constructive suggestions, ideas for this noble cause ... Please come ahead all ..

Should I write names of members here who should contribute their ideas here ?????

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Mar 2010 9:52 #
  20. @zingaro
    I was actually saying about solar concentrators that are basically parabolic reflectors with heat being concentrated at their focal point and siphoned off to be converted or directly converted to electrical energy using heat engines.

Solar panels as generally thought of are made out of series/parallel configuration by individual photo-voltic cells connected as a panel for a desired voltage and current range.

Photo-voltic panels are costly in comparison to solar concentrators that are build with cheap but available materials at hand. They are affordable, can be built and installed by a lay man requiring not much technical expertise.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Mar 2010 17:59 #
  21. shriq

Those friends of ours can help us who live near or in areas with this type of conditions (I mean lacking drinking water or having water of bad quality).

People like us who are away from home can help in different way only.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Mar 2010 18:44 #
  22. zingaro

@Patriot .. brother I have studied this subject of solar panel and its creation ... anyhow thanks for further explanation.

@Shariq ... You are right that the people who live nearby such areas can help us in this work .. I really got happy when today in newspaper I found that an organization has installed facility in Rojhan for drinking water ...

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Mar 2010 10:30 #
  23. ali-pk

it's not the scarcity rather it's the wastage of water which is the main issue. and why do we expect blessings when Allah swt' says that Allah swt' doesn'tlove those who waste.

يَا بَنِي آدَمَ خُذُواْ زِينَتَكُمْ عِندَ كُلِّ مَسْجِدٍ وكُلُواْ وَاشْرَبُواْ وَلاَ تُسْرِفُواْ إِنَّهُ لاَ يُحِبُّ الْمُسْرِفِينَ

O Children of Adam! wear your beautiful apparel at every time and place of prayer: eat and drink: But waste not by excess, for Allah loveth not the wasters.(surah Al-Araf:31)

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Mar 2010 10:57 #
  24. shriq

"But waste not by excess, for Allah loveth not the wasters."

This ayah says too much about the wastage, recycling, environment if we go in detail of it.

Zingaro can you share in which newspaper you read this news about Rojhan. Any link etc?

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Mar 2010 14:59 #
  25. zingaro

@shariq .. i really read this news myself .. i think it was daily jinnah .. right now i can't open it due to some problem on their site. It was on the back page of newspaper. Check if you find there.. ..

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Mar 2010 16:09 #
  26. Daily Jihhah; Site bandwidth has been exceeded therefore site is inaccessible.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Mar 2010 16:15 #
  27. zingaro

Yeah the same message I got .. I think their IT team is quite poor in managing such affairs.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Mar 2010 16:21 #
  28. Such a nice thread. Pity to see a poor response towards working a solution alleviating human suffering.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Mar 2010 19:00 #
  29. When most of earth's surface is covered with water still in very large areas water is scarce, unfit for human consumption, not suitable for crops and is getting more scarce with every passing day.
    No wonder future wars would be fought over water resources.
    We Pakistanis find ourselves wasting more than is enough for our needs where it is available, while where it is not people yearn for a glass of sweet water.
    We have to focus our energies and efforts in self sustaining our selves with this precious life providing resource.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Mar 2010 19:11 #
  30. shriq

I was thinking on this and a few things came to my mind, sharing with you. Kindly give your opinion as well:

To provide water to a community we have to collect info on:

1 - Which village or area,
    2 - How many people in the area,
    3 - What is the average daily consumption per person and so the total,
    4 - What is the source of water there,
    5 - What is the spec of that water (I mean chemical composition),
    6 - What method can be selected to clean the water with that spec,
    7 - What equipment is needed for this,
    8 - What is the cost of that equipment,
    9 - What will be the operation of that system,
    10 - What maintenance is required for that system,
    11 - Does this maintenance cost beyond the pocket of the people in that area,
    12 - How far is the maket (from where this system of cleaning is available) from the place,
    13 - ....

Please share your views, then InshaAllah we shall try to work on this.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 10:49 #
  31. shriq

For the first five of the things listed, only friends in Pakistan can help. Remaining information we can try to gather. Here is the list of the factors to be considered for drinking (potable) water:
    1 - Alkalinity
    2 - Color of water
    3 - pH
    4 - Taste and odor (geosmin, 2-methylisoborneol (MIB), etc)
    5 - Dissolved metals and salts (sodium, chloride, Potassium, calcium, manganese, magnesium)
    6 - Microorganisms such as fecal coliform bacteria (Escherichia coli), Cryptosporidium, and Giardia lamblia
    7 - Dissolved metals and metalloids (lead, mercury, arsenic, etc.)
    8 - Dissolved organics: colored dissolved organic matter (CDOM), dissolved organic carbon (DOC)
    9 - Radon
    10 - Heavy metals
    11 - Pharmaceuticals
    12 - Hormone analogs
    13 - Conductivity (also see salinity)
    14 - Dissolved Oxygen (DO)
    15 - nitrate-N
    16 - orthophosphates
    17 - Chemical oxygen demand (COD)
    18 - Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD)
    19 - Pesticides
    20 - Temperature
    21 - Total suspended solids (TSS)
    22 - Turbidity

Lont list!!!!!!!!
    Now to the systems that can control these things within reasonable, managable cost...

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 16:35 #
  32. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Bhaee jaan, we need dams.

Small scale solutions won't help us.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 16:41 #
  33. shriq

Barai log (in ranks and in numbers also) raazi hon gai to dam banain ge na!!

Jab tak un ko hosh naheen ata ye karna parai ga...

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 16:45 #
  34. We need both. Large scale where dams will cater through canals (almost 1/3 water loss through seepage and evaporation). Canals are terrain dependent and usually dug out on more or less level grounds. This means a very large area will still be out of reach or huge monumental construction project can make this possible for a rugged terrain. The cost would be equally huge therefore possibly unaffordable.
    That leaves room for projects at a much smaller localized scale.
    After all water is the life line for all those who happen to live in rural or urban areas.
    We should also consider ‘modular but affordable’ small scale projects for those who live in sparsely dotted hamlets as in Baluchistan, Northern areas or remote areas of Sindh or even Punjab.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 16:56 #
  35. shriq

Zingaro,

For the pipeline as you mentioned in your first post, we need:

1 - The village or area where water has to be supplied(again of course)
    2 - The area where water is available nearby.
    3 - The tie-in with the existing piping system
    4 - The pumping system to pressurise water
    5 - The pipeline to the village / area.
    6 - Some storage system in the area
    7 - The header from the storage to the area main
    8 - the individual connection can be left to the people of the area.

Any other comments/recommendations from all patriot (and Pakistan loving) members of the pkpolitics????????

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 18:34 #
  36. shriq

The cost factors can be like this:

1 - Pumps (Usually one working one standby, sometimes two working one standby)
    2 - The auxiliaries/spares for the pumps,
    3 - Electricity for the pumps,
    4 - Pumps shelter (land, structure, construction)
    4a - Maintenance (and Salary for maintenance guy)
    5 - Pipeline
    6 - Laying the pipeline
    7 - Storage (land, material, construction)
    8 - piping main Header

This is initial thought. Feasiblity can be prepared by experienced people amongst us!!!!!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 18:41 #
  37. shriq

Following cost factors would need to be seen as well:

1 - The size of the pumps and electrical power required by it would depend upon the size of the storage in the area and hence cost would need to be considered accordingly

2 - The size (diameter) of pipeline would depend upon the distance between the area and water source

3 - The storage size of storage and main pipe header would depend upon the consumers in that area.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 19:49 #
  38. HK, you always see big. Dams are not in our power to achieve. We are just a handful of individuals. Limited funds, limited competence. We do what we can. In fact it is our inescapable duty to do whatever little we can in service of the community.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 21:17 #
  39. shriq

Friends in Pakistan,

Can you please help in finding:

1 - Such area (lets call it area-A) where water is not available,
    2 - Nearby area (lets call it area-B)from where water can be pumped to this area,
    3 - If possible check if the authorities controlling water in area-B would allow to take tie-in from water line,
    4 - The distance from area-A to area-B
    5 - population of area-A

After all this we would need:
    1 - Land price in area-A and B,
    2 - Labour (mason and mazdoor) daily wages,
    3 - Cost of Cement, steel, sand etc

Please help in providing this data, then I shall try to prepare the feasibility for water supply project.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 3:01 #
  40. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Mirza Ghalib: I agree, I do see big.

I believe, we can achieve little even if we combine ourselves in individual, small scale solutions. The time, money, ourselves we put into it, won't be worth it, in the end.

What I'm proposing will bear fruit for our people, and in a 'big' way.

@shriq: Which areas' are we all in ?

I'm in Lahore, a city. Where is everyone else ?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 9:13 #
  41. zingaro

@Shariq .. Excellent dear .. that is what actually looking for .. you are certainly doing excellent by drawing the attention of all with logical reasoning.

HK bhai .. please forgive this thread and let us work together and start from the small points ...

I am already discussing one project in GADDAP and will share here the project details...

I have also been asked if we can work on it in Balochistan Areas and I have showed the positive node .. still waiting for the person to send me details of area, feasibility .. I believe that Insha Allah we will work on it ...

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 9:31 #
  42. zingaro

@Shariq .. To adding more to your above factors .. My opinion is that we should also pay attention to get expert's report if there can be possibility to get water from Area-A itself .. though the drilling can be more deeper but it will reduce the dependency on Area-B.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 9:33 #
  43. اپنی دنیا آپ پیدا کر اگر زندون میں ہے
    سر ادم ہے،ضمیر کن فکان ہے زندگی

“Create your own world if you count yourself among the living
    The Secret of Adam, the essence of (divine) creation is life”

For last sixty three year we are running for water and water of life is going away.

What is the cause, The water which provide essence of life can only be obtained from political ,economical and system of life.

Water can't be provided to All if we disobey Allah,

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 9:44 #
  44. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Let me know if there's something I could help with.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 13:30 #
  45. shriq

Zingaro,
    Thanks for kind words, but this is little payback to our country.

Haris bhai,
    thanks for help offer! In my opinion every one would be needed. I know you think on big scale (and yes it should be like this only), but until we start traversing in the right direction some short term solution (to alleviate the pain and suffering of our brothers and sisters) must be sought.

Waiting for my friends in Pakistan...

I am in UAE.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 18:42 #
  46. tamza2k

Nice to hear Zingaro an important issue on pkpolitics, since as I am visiting the site after long time, so missed to offer my services (but I think its not too late :)).I know some organizations working in water deprived areas. Let me 1st collect all informations then I will contribute at my level, sure must be within a day or two. So far as I remember Haris Bhai belongs to Lahore, there are so many areas in Lahore where there is no access to potable water, one among is Township & adjoining area. Haris Bhai you can collect data from Lahore, in my opinion it will be great contribution on your part :)

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 19:16 #
  47. shriq

Any friend with any information needed in the following??

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/water-for-all#post-136537

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Apr 2010 17:56 #
  48. Sure, there is lot of information and help available.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Apr 2010 18:17 #