PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

We were left behind Bangladesh

(69 posts)
  1. Hussain Farooqui

Former East Pakistan was considered to be behind West Pakistan in most of the fields of progress. The general impression was that the people of West Pakistan were more hard working and competent. That impression was attributed to the better conditions of West Pakistan.

Now about 38 years after independence, Bangladesh has left us behind in most of the fields of progress. Our country compared to Bangladesh has become financially much poorer and indisciplined. Bangladesh has much better economy, literacy rate and disciplined administration.

Let us discuss the reasons which have left our country far behind most of the third world countries.

Posted 1 year ago on 30 Sep 2010 15:25 #
  2. Sir, garhay howay murday na ukharain, roohoo ko takleef hogi. Once there came western style WCs to be fitted in Islamabad premises, someone said few need to be sent to the East Pakistan, someone else said, wo kelay ke patto se bhi ponch laite hain.

Posted 1 year ago on 30 Sep 2010 15:32 #
  3. Hussain Farooqui

baracksosama

Absolutely, the realities are very bitter to accept.

Posted 1 year ago on 30 Sep 2010 15:40 #
  4. Truthlover

Honestly I'm happy for their progress, that's the least we can wish our former citizens and Pakistani brothers.

Posted 1 year ago on 30 Sep 2010 17:23 #
  5. expakistani

Let me tell u cause
    Pro Punjab establishment, have bigger hand in creation of Pakistan and keeping Pakistan under progress

Posted 1 year ago on 30 Sep 2010 17:28 #
  6. @Ex

Can you explain, am bit lost here, .. would help if you be more specific.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 0:21 #
  7. expakistani

@barakosama...
    read between lines.... pro punjaba establishment always think that they are creator and own pakistan. Sindh balochistan etc are just given to pakistan as gift... so here is result Bangal is not part of Pakistan any more but progressing faster then pakistan ( while Pakistan is under progress )
    if we have 4-5 independent status under ( United States of Pakistan ) you might see progress all over.
    what you think Barak bhai... can you help me creating United States of Pakistan?

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 2:24 #
  8. quaidkamazaar

lol expakistani,
    itna aasaan nahin hai yaar, creating United States of Pakistan would be quite a challenge.

but Bangladesh is doing very well mashallah.... they have suffered much more natural disasters than Pakistan but look at the work ethic of these people.
    WHAT IS the REASON?
    its simple, NO feudalism in politics. Bangladesh got rid of feudalism a long time ago.
    while West Pakistan is still stuck to it. everthing going wrong in Pakistan can be summed up in one problem > "wadera jaagirdarana nizaam"

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 4:04 #
  9. expakistani

its not hard dude... look what Mr Jinnah did from 23rd March 1940 to 14 August 1947..
    I will get help from gora in USA, Barakosama is already my friend... its gona be boom boom thing.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 4:15 #
  10. shafiq12

Hussain Farooqi

I think we should not worry about Bangladesh. Because the real thing is Quran and sunnah of Rasool, If u follow Deen of Allah. Every Land will be ur Land sooner of Later. The nationalism is evil in Islam. Nationalism is call Jahilia.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 5:30 #
  11. saqib55

"The nationalism is evil in Islam. Nationalism is call Jahilia. "

super soldier, provide evidence for this tall claim.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 6:53 #
  12. shafiq12

saqib

By the Shaykh the noble Scholar Abdul'Azeez bin Baaz

Islaam has forbidden the calls of jaahiliyyah (the prelslaamic days of ignorance) and there are many textual evidences which forbid all of the characteristics and manners of jaahiliyyah and their actions, except those (good and decent) practices which Isl aam agreed to. And there is no doubt that the call to nationalism is from these calls of jaahiliyyah, since nationalism is a call to other than Islaam and an aiding of other than the truth. And how many ills, evils and serious wars has such calls of jaahi liyyah caused to their people, causing great harm to their souls, their wealth and their possessions. The consequences of such calls (for the Muslims) was a splitting up of their unity and a planting of enmity and hatred of each other in their hearts and a fragmentation and splitting between tribes and nations.

Ibn Taymiyyah (d.728H) rahimahullaah said: "Everything which is outside the call of Islaam and the Qur'aan, with regards to lineage, land, nationality, schools of thoughts and ways, then it is from the calls of jaahiliyyah. lndeed, even when the Muhaa jirs (those Companions who migrated from Makkah to Madeenah) and the Ansaars (those Companions who aided and supported those who migrated) argued, such that one of the Muhaajirs said:" O Muhaajirs! (implying; rally to my aid) " And one of the Ansaar said: "O Ansaar!" Upon hearing this, the Prophet sallallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam said: "Is it with the calls of Jaahiliyyah that you call, and l am still amongst you!" And he became very angry at that."[3]

And from the textual evidences pertaining to this issue is Allaah the Most High's saying:

"And stay in your homes and do not display yourselves, like the display of the times of jaahiliyyah (pre lslaamic ignorance). But establish the Prayer, give the Zakaat and obey Allaah and His Messenger. " [Soorah alAhzaab 33:33]

"When those who disbelieved placed in their hearts pride and arrogance the pride and arrogance of jaahiliyyah then Allaah sent down His tranquillity upon His Messenger sallallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam and upon the Believers ..." [Soorah alFath 48 26].

The Prophet sallallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam said: "Whosoever leaves off obedience and separates from the Jamaa'ah and dies, he dies a death of jaahiliyyah. Whoever fights under the banner of the blind, becoming angry for 'asabiyyah (partisanship and party s pirit), or calling to 'asabiyyah, or assisting 'asabiyyah, then dies, he dies a death of jaahiliyyah."

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 6:58 #
  13. saqib55

The Qur'an is the ultimate source for Muslims and it is clear that notion of tribes and different people is recognized.

"O mankind, indeed We have created you from male and female and made you peoples and tribes that you may know one another." Surat Al-Hujurat

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 7:06 #
  14. shafiq12

saqib

"O mankind! We have created you from male and female and have made you into nations and tribes, that you may know one another. Indeed the most noblest of you with Allaah is the one who has the most taqwaa." [Soorah al-Hujuraat 49:13].

So Allaah the One free from all defects- made clear in this noble aayah (verse) that people have been made into nations and tribes so that they may come to know each other, not that they should boast and have pride over one another. And Allaah the Most Hi gh considered the most noblest of them to be the one with the most piety and taqwaa. Likewise, the previously mentioned narration shows the same meaning, and guides to the fact that it is from the ways of jaahiliyyah to vainly boast and to have false prid e for one's fore fathers and ancestry. This is what the calls of jaahiliyyah lead to, whereas Islaam is in opposition to this. Rather Islaam calls to modesty, humility, taqwaa and to having love for the sake of Allaah, and that the true and sincere Muslim s are merely one of the categories of the children of Aadam 'alayhis salaam, and that the Muslims are a single body and a single structure; each part supporting the other and each part feeling the pain that the other parts are suffering as occurs in an a uth entic hadeeth (narration) from the Prophet sallallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam, that he said: "The Believer to the Believer is like a solid building, one part supports the other." And he interlaced his fingers to demonstrate this.

The Prophet sallallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam also said: "The example of the Believer in their mutual love and mercy is like the example of a body, if one part of the body feels pain, then all the body suffers in sleeplessness and fever.

. Does your nationalism call you to these noble manners of mercy and kindness to the Muslims the arabs and the non arabs and of having mutual sympathy and concern for them, and feeling pain at their pain? No by Allaah ! Rather it calls you to having allegiance with those who have evil character and it calls you to cultivating enmity and hatred for those who deny this false creed of nationalism . So beware, O Muslim who desires safety and salvation, and consider the reality of the affair with a fair consideration, without being prejudiced with party spirit and desires. Only then you will see the reality as it truly is. So may Allaah guide me and you to the means of safety and salvation.

And this is what has been established in the authentic hadeeth (narration), from alHaarith alAsh'aree radiallaahu 'anhu, that the Prophet sallallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam said: "I order you with five things which Allaah ordered me with: The Jamaa'ah, hearing , obeying, hijrah (migration) and jihaad in the way of Allaah the Mighty and Majestic. So whosoever separates from the Jamaaah by a handspan, throws the yoke of Islaam from his neck, unless he repents. And whosoever calls with the call of jaahiliyyah (the days of ignorance), then he is from the hoarded heap of Hell Fire" It was said: Even if he fasts and prays? He said: "Even if he fasts and prays. So call with the call of Allaah which Allaah gave: The Muslims, the Believers, Worshippers of Allaah.'

This hadeeth is absolutely clear with regards to rendering futile the calls to nationalism. Its callers deserve that they should be from the heap of Hell Fire, even if they fast and they Pray and claim that they are Muslims. So what a severe threat and se vere warning is given here; warning every muslim from the calls of jaahiliyyah and warning them from entering into this even if such calls are adorned with false talks and enchanting speeches . Rather it is a deception and a blind following which leads it s people to the worst and most despicable of ends. And we ask Allaah for safety and freedom from that.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 7:15 #
  15. I am a bit confused here. Perhaps our learned members may explain:
    People=أمة
    nation=قوم or دولة
    Nationalism=قومية or الوطنية
    As ummah we should exist but without any national boundries. This will only happen when one religion remains -Islam?
    What about the others?

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 8:00 #
  16. shafiq12

What about the others?

They will automatically become the part of this Great Umma.

when this happens

As ummah we should exist but without any national boundries. This will only happen when one religion remains -Islam?

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 8:56 #
  17. Lets ask 'others' that make up more than 4 billion on this planet earth if they are ready to accept Islam and give up their national identities!

But why should they when Muslims can never be a model to them because of a wide gap between what Muslims preach and what they practice!

Islam prevails even within national boundaries so boundaries are not a limiting factor. Its the faith, Deen-e-Islam that unites Muslims from all over the world provided racial prejudice is avoided.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 9:25 #
  18. shafiq12

But why should they when Muslims can never be a model to them because of a wide gap between what Muslims preach and what they practice!

That's the problem because we are not following Quran and Sunnah of Rasool, That's what i am trying to say

o u muslim Does your nationalism call you to these noble manners of mercy and kindness to the Muslims the arabs and the non arabs and of having mutual sympathy and concern for them, and feeling pain at their pain? No by Allaah ! Rather it calls you to having allegiance with those who have evil character and it calls you to cultivating enmity and hatred for those who deny this false creed of nationalism . So beware, O Muslim who desires safety and salvation, and consider the reality of the affair with a fair consideration, without being prejudiced with party spirit and desires. Only then you will see the reality as it truly is. So may Allaah guide us to the means of safety and salvation.

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/we-were-left-behind-bangladesh#post-181869

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 10:21 #
  19. Thats good. In the light of your above comments now, let us discuss why we are left behind Bangladesh....

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 13:00 #
  20. ajhons

Because
    We didn't abolish Jagirdari nizam
    We let our so called riligious leader play the dirty role in politics and distract our religious believes
    We let our politicians came into power again and again
    We always think like a Punjabi,Pathan, Sindhi,Muhajir and never like a pakistani.
    We make our Army Holy Cow
    And mow we are making our SC the new holy Cow

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 13:09 #
  21. We always think like a Punjabi,Pathan, Sindhi,Muhajir and never like a pakistani.

Bravo! Thinking like a Pakistani...now:
    Lets have the Jagirdari Nizam as a problem to be tackled first of all. What is the solution?
    You may say get rid of them...okay but How?

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 13:32 #
  22. Hussain Farooqui

supersoldier

It is indeed a matter of happiness that our brother country Bangladesh is prospering and progressing. We need to provoke our motivation to do something for our betterment. Our brother country Bangladesh is poorer in natural resources with the uncontrollable problems of over population, but it is moving on the path of progress and prosperity. We are so badly left behind. Let us follow the path of our brethren at least.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 15:24 #
  23. Today's Pakistan would have been a better place had we given power to Awami League, the party which had won majority of seats in the 1970 election. Today Bangladesh is doing better than us. Awami League proved a better Left party than another Leftist party PPP which always sheltered feudals under their flags and never ever got rid of them. Awami League got rid of them and also put down molvis in their country something we could not do in our country. Today fasadi molvis are responsible or our lots of problems.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 16:45 #
  24. scindian

I am also happy to know about progress our Muslim brotheren,Bangles has realized the secrets of progress, they banned so called islamist jammate Islami in Bangladesh and thier litarture.
    that was the good decision by Bangladeshi govt..

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 18:57 #
  25. The reason why Pakistan is left behind is because of being located in the unstable region where foreign interference and instability is on its PEAK and of course our Corrupt Govt. and if we consider the country like Bangladesh then we should also acknowledge that their is only one Nationality their which is Bangali but in Pakistan their so many so BUILDING UNITY among everyone is very difficult compare to Bangladesh where two Govt.s have came with 2/3 Majority....In economic then I would say it was their GOOD LUCK charm because they had got almost No restriction in Exports to USA and Europe but that is different in Pakistan and another thing is that Pakistan has a Huge GIANT to feed up as well which is called Army while in Bangladesh they dont require to feed their Army that much due to having less attention of India on that region(India has always paid most Attention to Pakistan) and Unstable Afghanistan is also one of its reason as constant Threats from Terrorist from their are another reason behind that.....But one thing is for sure that only if we get a Stable Govt. then things could change....Dont forget Number of Natural Disasters that we saw during last 8 years.....

Another aspect of Bangladesh should also be considered as despite of so much Growth their are still behind us in IT sector and other sectors like Media, Steel, cement etc which is VITAL for sustaining their position for a long term....They are actually growing on Few sectors like Textile is the Only known sector where they are going good and the reason behind is TRADE RELAXATIONS which can fall easily if Economy of other countries started moving back.....So I would say they are growing on the Short term basis and If we able to get few Competent people as Govt. ministers then we can easily move forward.....

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 21:25 #
  26. quaidkamazaar

@gazi saahab,

the whole location reasoning you are given is pretty much an excuse for failing.

we could have used the strategic location of where Pakistan is located to our own advantage, we are the center of it all... we could have controlled all the trade routes.

Bangladesh has better literacy rate than Pakistan, they are doing much much better than us in education sector.

I think education is the biggest investment my dear.

If control of Pakistan was given to Sheikh Mujib as he deserved it back in the olden days, Pakistan would have been in much better shape without a feudal backed leader for the first time ever.

Feudalism and JAagridarana Waderana nizaam is the crux of the problem, the day people of Pakistan accept that and do something about it, I think we will become most advanced nation on earth.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Oct 2010 23:01 #
  27. @quaidkamazaar

Yes you are right that we do have Location specific Advantage but looking at that Location I dont think we have got any thing cause the location where we are located is full of unstable countries where GREAT GAME are going on like if we just Imagine the situation of Chinese province that border Pakistan(Xinjiang) its also very Unstable place in China where Ethnic conflict is in the full swing and moving towards Afghanistan then there we got violence spreading whole Region and when we check CAR(Central Asian Republics) then we saw a Cold war Scenario where FSB fighting CIA in the whole region and Kyrghistan is one Example and Iran is also going Politically Unstable and also having economic problems as well the only place left in the region is Middle East which doesnt have much trade and Geographic Contacts with Pakistan so Location does make alot sense when we consider Pakistan as Bangladesh doesnt have Wars of Interests going on in the extent which is going on in Pakistan......

I Second your Last point about Jageerdar and Wadera system in Pakistan is SUM O ALL FEARS as due to this system our population is illetrate and uneducated.....

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Oct 2010 0:32 #
  28. zoabkhan

Jageerdar system has to go, but how? These guys sitting in leading roles are somehow part of this jagirdaar system. As long as there stomach is full, they aren't going to change anything.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Oct 2010 0:43 #
  29. @Zoab Khan

The only way to do that is VOTE those platform that have no Jageerdaar or Industrialist in their ranks that is the RIGHT way but talking about WRONG way then Army should come and Kick them OUT that would be another way of doing that.....

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Oct 2010 1:07 #
  30. Hussain Farooqui

I agree with the views of quaidkamazar that the situation which was created by the Soviets could be wisely taken into Pakistan's advantage. Zia's govt. took the situation into our disadvantage so unwisely.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Oct 2010 10:49 #
  31. Bangladesh is not used to a zimindara system of agriculture. Land is sparse and ownership of large tracts of land like Pakistan is unknown. Slave labor as in Pakistan is also absent from their social network.
    By comparison generally, Bangladeshi nationals are more enterprising than Pakistanis. They don’t feel shy working low paid jobs. You may find them active in all fields. Main objective is to establish themselves and for that they use a chithi system pooling their resources making funds available to open up new businesses. Here in the Middle East, shops and markets that were owned by Indians and Pakistanis are gradually being taken over by Bangladeshis. This is result of mutual cooperation and comradeship, more prevalent in Bangla societies than their Pakistani counterparts.
    Another plus to win foreign exchange, contrary to Pakistani policy is Bangladesh allows overseas female employment. A very large number of Bangladeshi women work as housemaids here.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Oct 2010 11:13 #
  32. The verdict is Bangladesh is more forward looking, homogeneity aware and early trouble sniffing country than us.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Oct 2010 15:07 #
  33. Believe it or not Pakistan Nuclear Program has also been one of the reason why Pakistan lack behind as due to Pakistan's Nuclear program World had imposed so many sanctions on Pakistan and once it was most Sanctioned country in the world eleven years back and now Pakistan has ended up PROTECTING that Program from the threats from all over the World as well which also required massive amount of resources so Human Development in Pakistan is always being very low due to that but if we compare the actual growth in all fields of live in Bangladesh and Pakistan then in this case Pakistan is forward because Pakistan has been Develop its Military and economy Simultaneously while Bangladesh on the other hand is more involved in their Civilians and another thing is that Bangladesh is just working on few sectors instead of overall economy so if in case their is a Crisis situation in that sector then they would come back to their previous position while Pakistan on the other hand has worked on Multiple Sectors like during Musharraf Textile Sector was growing so as our IT sector which is growing today as well despite of economic Conditions and if someone knows about our military then Pakistan has also develop many strategic weapons by itself or by help of China, Turkey and other friendly countries so instead of considering economic growth of Bangladesh we should also consider overall growth of Bangladesh and Pakistan as well cause Pakistan is still ahead of Bangladesh in terms of growth in number of sectors.....

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Oct 2010 1:21 #
  34. quaidkamazaar

Gazi Bhai,

but Pakistan is also unfortunately ahead in the sector of "terrorism" more than Bangladesh ;p
    which gives it a negative image in the world.

sirjee, education is the most important sector id like to repeat. 60% of Pakistan is the youth which is getting crappy education. compare that to Bangladesh and their education system, literacy rate and you might be surprised.

whats so great about being ahead in the IT sector when the average civilian of Pakistan feels extremely insecure, and is uneducated moreso compared to Bangladesh.

the amount of brotherhood Bangladeshis have is amazing, they have one language so they are lucky.
    but when it comes to Pakistan, "yeh MQM waala terrorist hai, he should die", "yeh PPP waala hai, he should die",,, there is too much intolerance and absolutely no sense of one common nationality.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Oct 2010 1:40 #
  35. quaidkamazaar

unfortunately,
    when Bangladeshis say "what is happening in your Pakistan, politicians getting killed? bombs blowing?"

in their mind they think "thank god we seperated from those maniacs"

I dont really have a dignified answer which could make me feel proud. okay, enough of my whining over Pakistan's lost fate :)
    Inshallah We will rise up.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Oct 2010 1:41 #
  36. Md Akmal

FROM BANGLADESHI POINT OF VIEW

@ First of all we the Bengalise stayed together for 25 years.I was in Pakistan in many cities like Nowshera, Rawalpindi and Karachi. And I learnt urdu upto class Seven(Since there was no Bengali school in Nowshera in those days -1964 to 1970). I used to get highest mark in "Urdu Lazmi" in class five in CB Sir Syed School & College,Rawalpindi. I could talk both urdu and Punjabi fluently. And it was hard to distingush with others. In the class, the lady teacher used to say, "Tum logoko sharam ani chaihe,ye bangali hoker vi tum logo se bohat achcha number mila hai".

Like me there were many bengalese who learned urdu. But can you give me one example where one non-bengalese(less Baharise)could learn Bengali in the true sense. Only "Kemon achan, valo achi", that's all. In the true sense most of the Pakistanis always under-estimated the Bengalese and their language. What to talk about rulling the whole Pakistan, it was un-thinkable in those days. I remember in those days when I used to go school, once they came to know that I am a Bengali, they used to tell me" Bangali babu aiya, morgi churake laya, morgine mara punja,bangale babu bungia ****". This was a common fun in the school.

@ The English pronunciation by the Bengalese were far better than any Pakistani. Well it has some historical background. Bengal came under British rule just after the Battle of Pallassey(1757) but on the otherhand Punjab & NWFP came under British rule in 1849 after the Anglo-Sikh war. Definately it has some both political,religious & social impact. This is one of the reason that most of the Punjabise and Pathans are still religiously orthodous (Fundamental)which is a big hurdle for development in Pakistan. Still we find a clash/riot between Shia and Sunni and even with the Ahmedia group but this is completely absent in Bangladesh.So far I know Shia's are almost 30% in Pakistan even Jinnah was also Shia. So a good harmony is a must. Pakistan should forget about this "Nanga Talwar" business which means that people should not dream that we would conquer the world with "nanga talwar" on the back of "khuta" or with AK-47.

@ Actually in the true sense Pakistan inherited many problems from the British like the Tribal Areas, Wazistan, Gilgit and other FATA ares. These are the greatest problem for Pahistan. Still Pakistan failed to intregate them with Pakistan. But we donnot have these problems.

@ We also have a great problem, "Dilke bat delmai raigai" and that is a security problem from the Indian Side. Donnot go with the idea that Bangalese are pro-Indian, they are not our friend. How friendly they are ? It is we only know.

@ Another most important issue, apparently most of the people believed that we the Bangalese became muslim from the Hindus and we are homogeneous but in the true sense if you criticaly analysis the historical facts then you would see that we became muslims from the Buddish and not from Hindus. Of course there were many Hindus who converted to muslims but their no is not that much. Due to the existance of big and large rivers in Bangladesh it became a safe heaven for most of the muslim fugitives in this continent even there are evidences that some of the followers of Ummayyat Dynesty flade from Iraq and took shelter in Bangal. In Bengal you will find the blood of Phathans, Afghan, Persia, Central Asia, Turkish, Arabs and Abbissinia.Blood matter's a lot on a nation. In one estimate it is said that about 55% of Bengal people are having a foreign muslim blood, 15% people are mixed and remaing 30% are local convertee (mainly Buddist).

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Oct 2010 19:26 #
  37. Md Akmal
    Thanks for a detailed but equally impressive input reflecting upon some historical facts. Appreciated.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Oct 2010 19:35 #
  38. Hussain Farooqui

Md Akmal

We are indeed happy over our brother country's progress. Yes, unity among the Bengalis is one of the reasons which lead them to the path of progress. You are right to express that Pakistanis are badly disunited over sectarian, linguistic and regional basis.

Dear brother, regarding Urdu I would like to explain that Urdu was not regarded as the language of UP only. All the Muslims of the subcontinent declared Urdu as their own language. Urdu is indeed the language of all the Muslims belonging to the the subcontinent.

I conclude one of the reasons why Pakistan was left behind is its unwise involvement in the Soviet-Aghan war. Pakistan has to pay heavy prices for the unwise decisions made by the Zia's govt.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Oct 2010 13:13 #
  39. Md Akmal

Hussain Farooqui

@ You just cannot say that Zia's decision was wrong.What I see during that time had Pakistan did not helped the Afgan and USA against the Soviet occupation then the world situation could had been different.

@ I remember in those days, Vietnam was under Socialist grip, the political condition of Combodia was in shamble condition, Cubian soldiers were knowing at the door of Thailand,Burma was already in Socialist block(pro-chinese), even in India Socialist Govt were formed at Kerella, West Bengal and Tripura. Many muslim countries of Middle-east were in align with Soviet block, Cubian soldiers were fighting in South American and Africa and in many perts of the world for the establishment of so called Socialism.

@ Now, under these situation Pakistan came forward and than slowly many other muslim countries came and finally they could evict the evil force(USSR) from Afganistan. Now,the problem arose that since most of the refugees had an ethnic bondage with the phuktoon people so these people also became a party to it. Soon, FATA people,Waziristan and other tribal people also joined with them.

@ The withdrawal of Soviet Union from Afgan has definitely accelarate the quick fall of Socialism in the whole world where Pakistan played a key role.

@ But I think the situation will be soon alright. We need a united strong Pakistan for this Sub-Continent as well as for Cental Asia and Middle-East. "Zeo Pakistan"

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Oct 2010 20:23 #
  40. @Md Akmal

Looks like you have a Strong Islamic Sentiment that is very encouraging.....You might be Correct that Strong Pakistan could help out to get rid of most Western Influences from Muslim World and also Indian Influence from South Asia but that required COLLECTIVE EFFORTS of everyone and Bangladesh Economic Growth is one of its Example and also Iranian Growth in Science and Technology is another positive angle to it as well but Pakistan is SURROUNDED by troubles that has somewhat created by Pakistan itself as supporting Religious Fundamentalists after Afghan war was one of the biggest Mistake which made Pakistan Isolated in front of World(Even Chinese didnt liked Pakistan Policy of supporting Taliban) and our Nuclear Program at that same point was like DAAL PAY TARHKA in that and Pakistan became MOST SANCTIONED COUNTRY and now Afghan Policy has TRAPPED Pakistan very badly and now Pakistan is like a Chain between two Wheels(Afghanistan central Asia and on the other side India) as Pakistan has to concentrate on growing Instability in Afghanistan as well as Pressures from India and last but not the least Saving Pakistani Nuclear Program is another pressure due to which even AQ Khan had to be COMPROMISED but I believe that Bangladesh and Iran are two answers for Pakistan at this moment for taking care of things before Pakistan itself is unstable so Bangladeshi Economic Growth and Step towards Self reliance would be a very Helpful for Pakistan in the future to Bounce Back as the key behind that is to PREVENT INDIA from ACTING LIKE MASTERS in South Asia.....

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Oct 2010 0:26 #
  41. zoabkhan

Pakistan's talent, ability, potential have been totally wasted by the elite running the country.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Oct 2010 2:23 #
  42. quaidkamazaar

Joy Bangla... Joy Bongobundhu :)

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Oct 2010 3:31 #
  43. @Md Akmal

kee khobar? Any chance of re-unification? We make Bengali the national language, Dhaka the capital, Tagore another national poet, Mujeeb the Quaid-e-Asghar and mark that the President would always be from former Bengladesh (East Pakistan).

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Oct 2010 13:12 #
  44. fayyaz214

may be I am in complete minority here. But how do we know that Bangladesh has left Pakistan behind. I did some research on GDP, seems like Pakistan's GDP is twice the Bangladesh's GDP. Security situation in Bangladesh seems to be better? On what other measures, Bangladesh has left Pakistan behind?

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Oct 2010 5:10 #
  45. We were left behind Bangladesh

because Bangladesh does not have Zardari , Musharraf , Nawaz , Qazi , Fazlo and Altaf .

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Oct 2010 10:20 #
  46. shriq

Akmal sahib,

Thanks and loved to have you on the forum!

Let me tell you one thing! Making fun of the language does not mean that one hates you. I now live in Lahore, but my parents were from a place 150 kms from Lahore. My parent's accent was different from that of Lahore and Lahoris made fun of our accent. We did not like this, but never thought that they hate us. Never as they DID NOT.. We were often called oye .....i with the name of my parent's place.

And I agree to other members who said that government should have been given to Mujib Ur Rahman's Awami league. Yes it was a blunder that cost us our Eastern wing and so many precious life was lost.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Oct 2010 11:52 #
  47. Hussain Farooqui

Raavi

It was indeed Mujeeb's right to form his government. The flag bearers of democracy on our side violated the basic principle of democracy.

However, the past is past. Now we can try to develop very cordial and close relationship with Bangladesh and other Muslim countries.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Oct 2010 14:46 #
  48. Md Akmal

Dear All Pakistani Friends,

@ " Abhi der nahi hoi, abhi be wakt hai". It hardly matters whether Pakistan is lagging behind or Bangladesh. Pakistan should look more farward. " Do bhai may se ek bhai age nikal gia to kia hua?". We should not forget that Pakistan is a neuclear power holder and we feel proud for that.In order to make rapid progress in Pakistan following points my be considered:

1. Pakistan should follow the modern democraric system with little bit of Islamic flabour.The political parties like ML(N), PPP and Musharraf(new alliance)with MQM is all right. But Musharraf should make alliance with any two parties mentioned above before election. Otherwise there will be a weak qualiation govt. For rapid development a strong central govt with people's support is must.

2. There should be no more military interference from Army side. We the "awam" of both Bangladesh & Pakistan have enough experience regarding this. Apparrently though it looks that military govt is progressing but in the true sense this is completely misleading. Had military did not interfered in 1958(Ayub Khan) and 1969(Yahya Khan) in politics East Pakistan could never had separated. Unfutunately still many Pakistani people dreans that some day, some time some General like Ayub Khan will come and save the people from the cluch of Zardari(PPP).

3. Why still there are clashes/riot between Shia-Sunni? Why there is a killing between Sunni muslims and Ahmedia group? Why it is to be written in the constitution that Ahmedias are non-muslim ? Can Pakistan afford these things. These are to dealt with iron handly. I remember back in 50s a martial law was declared at Lahore City area only to stop the clash between Sunni and Ahmedia. In Bengali, there is a proverb, "Musha marte kaman" means in order to kill mosqitoo using artillerry gun.

4. One thing I donnot understand why the people of Pakistan hate the "Muhajirs"? Same goes to Bangladesh also. But Bengalese have a reason that in 1971 they whole heartedly supported Pakistan. We the muslims of Indian-Subcontinent should remember that this sub-continent was divided on the basis of "Two Nation Theory" and they also have the equel right either to stay in Pakistan or Bangladesh. These people are no threat either to Pakistan or to Bangladesh. A strong harmony between these two groups of people is a must.

Let me think. More to come...

" O badshaho tusi ki galle karreho jee ?"
    " Alaka dilta rasha ?"

Akmal, Dhaka

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Oct 2010 16:19 #
  49. Hussain Farooqui

Dear Brother Md Akmal

Most of the communal riots erupt from the political elements not from the general public. Some political elements work on foreign agendas with foreign funding and some political elements erupt communal riots to fulfill their political agendas. Pakistan has unfortunately become an arena of lot many foreign elements after its involvement in the Soviet Afghan war. A lot of foreign powers are playing their games on Pakistani soil and Pakistani blood.

There are still about 800,000 Bengalis living in the city of Karachi. Theirs sufferings of pleasures are like those of the common Pakistanis.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Oct 2010 17:01 #
  50. spruce

IS this a relevant question to ask? The country that is making frequent news in the global arena, daring to fight against a near-superpower known as India, spending billions of dollars in building military prowess and what not, is called Pakistan.

we have atomic power and we have atomic reactors,missile technology, we have best air force, we have best air port of karachi, we have best developed city of karachi and lahore,we have scietists like Dr.A.Q khan,samar mubark,we are honorable nation ,we are proudl to fight against enemy, we are well educated ,we are good and we will make our country more better inshaAllah......

people are tlaking abt bangladesh......i am surprised that bangladeshi government is worst then pakistan how u claim better then us...

bangldesh governmet left thier youth uneducated and thousand number of thier young guys you will find in saudi arabia who are cleanig rouds and toilets on SR.400 monthly, at leat more then 10,0000 jobs of baldia you will not find pakistani except bangali...thier government proudly sponsor them to go to GCC and rarely bangali wil be found who posses good job go to dubai and lebnon and bahrain.

is this the respect of bagaladesh whom you people are comparing with atmomic power ...

bangladesh has no affair with india as we have with india and kashmire issues.....

it not neccessary govt explain us all expenditures ,simple indication that we are a atomic power and we put lot of ammount in our defesnse system,some ups and downs for future, and agencies need to secure country by thier resources...

Alhamdulillah we are better then any one,

if any one compare himself with others it means he is insulting to himself...just look equal or downward to you and you will feel proud to be pakistani...

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Nov 2010 5:22 #