PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

Welcoming ramadhan

(52 posts)
  1. shahzad1924

Tarhib Ramadhan (Welcoming Ramadhan) is an increasingly popular event that takes place a few days before the blessed month of Ramadhan in cities across Indonesia. It is marked with gatherings in Mosques and processions on foot and motorcycles.

Pictures from some of Hizb ut-Tahrir Indonesia's 'Welcoming Ramadhan' events in cities including Bogor, Yogyakarta, Bekasi, Cirebon, Majalengka, Magelang, Surabaya, Malang and many others. 16th August 2009 [25 Shaban 1430H].

This year's slogan was
    Raih takwa, songsong kemenangan Islam
    (Reach for piety, welcome the victory of Islam)

Pictures: http://www.hizb.org.uk/hizb/who-is-ht/a-global-party/photos-ht-indonesia-preparing-for-ramadhan.html

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 13:42 #
  2. amin1924

inshAllah this ramadhan will be the month of victory for Muslim Ummah

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 13:49 #
  3. chechen

We, Muslims have known this for 1428 Years - O ye who believe! fasting is prescribed to you as it was prescribed to those before you, that ye may (learn) self-restraint,- سورة البقرة , Al-Baqara, Chapter #2, Verse #183

EVEN NON-MUSLIMS ARE REALISING THE MERITS OF FASTING.

http://news.independent.co.uk/uk/health_medical/article1220941.ece

Feel better: fast

Going for days or weeks without food may sound radical. But the benefits could extend way beyond weight loss By Roger Dobson

Forget about cutting the carbs, bin the brown rice, dump the detox and stop chomping on raw carrots. If you want to lose weight, avoid heart disease, deafness and dementia, be happier and smarter and live longer, you might try a "new approach" - fasting.

These benefits may not be what the Archbishop of York, John Sentamu, had in mind when he went seven days without food last week in a tent inside York Minster to highlight the plight of those caught in the conflict between Lebanon and Israel. But his fast may have done wonders for his health; fasting is now being promoted in various guises as a way to a better, longer and lighter life.

That fasting works for weight loss isn't in doubt. In his 44 days in a suspended glass box, the magician David Blaine lost 24.5kg (54lb), about 25 per cent of his original body-weight. Fasting to such an extreme is unlikely to appeal to many, but research is showing that partial fasting - intermittent fasting or long-term calorie restriction diets - can have significant effects on weight and on many aspects of health, from asthma to heart disease.
    It's claimed that the benefits go far beyond those achieved by simple weight loss, and that hunger and food deprivation somehow trigger a mechanism that puts the body into a survival mode.

In these restrictive diets, daily consumption is cut by between 20 and 50 per cent of normal, or no food is eaten on certain days. Partial fasting, with little eaten every other day, which has also been investigated, is designed to trigger the same kind of survival reactions as full fasting.
    Evidence has built up since the 1930s that rodents, fish, fruit flies, worms, yeast and monkeys all benefit from fasting. "It is well established that, by reducing the number of calories required for weight maintenance to 60 to 70 per cent of normal, lifespan is increased up to 40 per cent, with near-perfect health across a broad range of species,'' says Dr James Johnson of Louisiana State University.

The big question is whether the same benefits accrue to people. Three clinical trials involving the US National Institute on Aging are under way, each investigating the idea that a reduced-calorie, nutritionally sound diet increases lifespan and prevents age-related chronic diseases such as cancer, diabetes and cardiovascular disease.
    The early signs are that there are beneficial effects, and several other studies have found evidence that restriction or partial fasting can have significant health benefits. Work at Johns Hopkins University has shown that intermittent fasting and calorie restriction can slow the ageing of the brain and reduce the risk of diseases such Alzheimer's and Parkinson's.
    Scientists at the universities of Wisconsin and Tokyo have found in animal studies that restriction can prevent age-related hearing loss by stopping or slowing the degeneration of hair cells in the cochlea.
    When researchers at the University of Washington investigated men and women who had been on a diet for six years where their daily calorie consumption was half of normal levels, they found considerable benefits. When they compared their hearts with people not on the diet, they found the hearts of dieters were more elastic, there was less furring up of the arteries, and the level of compounds involved in inflammation changed. "This is the first study to demonstrate that long-term calorie restriction with optimal nutrition has cardiac-specific effects that ameliorate age-associated declines," said Dr Luigi Fontana.

Similar effects have been found for other conditions, although the very long-term effects in humans, including any impact on longevity, are still largely unknown. If there is an effect beyond that caused by weight loss itself, the puzzle remains as to what the mechanism could be.

One suggestion is that fasting - full, partial or intermittent - and restriction affect metabolic rate, reducing free radicals and oxidative stress. Altered insulin sensitivity, greater stress resistance and changes in brain signalling are among other ideas.

A theory that hunger and a lack of food trigger a primitive survival response that provides better protection for the body's organs in times of famine is now in vogue. "Recent studies seem to favour a stress response that evolved early in most species to increase the chance of surviving adversity, such as calorie restriction,'' says Dr Eric Ravussin of the Pennington Biomedical Research Centre in Baton Rouge. Some beneficial effects seen in the fasting diets may also stem from the fact that they tend to be more nutritionally balanced that most diets.

The downside, of course, is that such restrictive diets may not be attractive to most people. Some research shows that most people prefer the novelty of trying different diets, even if they fail, and suggest that long-term diets that severely restrict intake are likely to fail in all but the most committed.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 13:53 #
  4. DeadlyHonest

The following is good to learn about RAMAZAN and other ISLAMIC Concepts.Must try it..

http://www.darsequran.com

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 13:56 #
  5. Eu is starting Ramadhaan from tomorrow but on which basis i dont know. What about in US, when you guys are going to fast?

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 15:51 #
  6. chechen

Saturday is first day of fasting in US anounced by fiqh council.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 15:53 #
  7. NNL

Yeah Saturday is in US

EU probably going for 29 days of shabaan me thinks same as Pakistan ?

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 20:32 #
  8. shahzad1924

the moon was not sighted anywhere on Thursday night so Ramadhan will start from Saturday.

on this occasion i greet everyone on the forum on the advent of the blessed month of Ramadan and asks Allah (SWT) to honour this Ummah, to grant her a great victory, so that Islam is implemented as the Lord of the world (SWT) ordered, and carried to the world by Da'wa and Jihad to take all of mankind from the darkness of kufr to the light of Islam.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 23:29 #
  9. Ramadan Mubarak to all of you...

in Pakistan ..it is going to be sat or Sunday .
    according to met office and govt owned molvis it would be on Sunday ...more likely.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 5:46 #
  10. usman1423

When you hear that a Muslim country, any country, no matter how near or how far, declares that it has been confirmed according to the lawful way that the new moon of Ramadhan has been sighted, you must begin your fast, and you are forbidden to wait for the ruler or the Mufti in your part of the world to give you permission to fast, and when you hear that a Muslim country, no matter how near or how far, has declared that the sighting of the moon of Shawwal has been confirmed, by relying on the method recognised by Shari'ah, you must break your fast and celebrate the Eid, you are forbidden from waiting for the ruler's or the Mufti's permission to celebrate Eid.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 6:38 #
  11. amin1924

Spot on brother, shahadat of a Muslim is enough to establish the beginning of Ramdhan and bound on all Muslim irrespective of geography.

If technically talking in terms of geography then lahore is closer to delhi not to karachi and peshawar is closer to kabul than karachi. This sarkari scholars are only asserting the colonial boundaries on Muslims, this should be rejected!

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 7:04 #
  12. DeadlyHonest

JJkhan,

just spend some time here too.To catch some thing that is must for your soul and remove any foreign dirt(if any).....:)

http://www.darsequran.com

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 7:19 #
  13. amin1924

DeadlyHonest,

Brother, Jazakallah Khairun Kaseerun.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 7:23 #
  14. DeadlyHonest

jay jay khan,

lagtha hy aap saudia me bhi rahy hain.....:)

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 7:24 #
  15. amin1924

iss khatsaar nay kuch time phalasteeni, urdani (jordan), shaami (syria), missiri, aljazairi, marakashi, somali, eritherian, kay saath guzara hay. iss nacheez ko shoq hay arbi zaban seekhnay kaa laikin iss dunyawi zindagi kee wajah say time nahi mil pataa..

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 7:37 #
  16. DeadlyHonest

han pkpolitics bhi aaj kaal ik wajha hy time na milny ka..
    Lamha balamha badalthi sisysi soorath haal at pkpolitics..:)

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 7:38 #
  17. shahzad1924

"Lamha balamha badalthi sisysi soorath haal at pkpolitics..:)"

good one bro :)

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 7:48 #
  18. talalkhan

Someone should conduct a research whether Ramdhan has any impact on patience,honesty.behavior,prices of commodities on the Muslims?

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 9:24 #
  19. shahzad1924

why?

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 9:29 #
  20. JJ Khan and usman1423

How you will put the opinion of Ibn-Abbas in your fatwa? I am sure you will be well aware of this hadith.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 9:54 #
  21. amin1924

I'll put it as a valid Islamic Opinion, but weak opinion. Why you asked?

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 9:59 #
  22. amin1924

For your kind information that is not a hadith, it is a personal ijtehad of ibn-abbas.

Thanks-

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 10:05 #
  23. Because it is not possible to have same lunar day in all over the world and the opinion which you are calling weak is left the only solution my dear.

To express the unity in muslim world there are 100 different ways, unity does not means that all of them should pray on the same time and should fast in the same day. Unity means all of them should follow Prophet Muhammad PBUH and they should perform all these matters how HE PBUH had performed.

When the moon is sighted in a place on earth, right at that moment there are two days and dates prevailing all over the globe. Some places have already started their next day. Those places can not start the month at that time. They have to wait for the next sunset time to start new month, and hence their month will not start on the same day as the place where the moon was sighted.

So my brother many great scholars and Ulema are divided in Ittihad-ul-Matali and Ikhtilaf-ul-Matali which you very easily have called as a WEAK OPINION.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 10:11 #
  24. NNL

Ahh the difference of Ikhtilaf and khilaf.

There is something called a valid difference of opinion i.e Both opinions are correct as both are the Sunnah of Rasool Allah.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 10:15 #
  25. My dear JJ Khan

Hadith is what is spoken by the speaker so although this is an Ijtehad but it is always written as hadith. Please dont mix it with sunnah.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 10:15 #
  26. amin1924

LetsDoIt

Dear brother, Ibn-Abbas's ijtehad isn't based on that logic that you specified. A whole book is written on this subject that explains change of date system, lunar sighting, opinions of Islamic scholars. If you are interested, may I humbly point you to that?

I already said that ibn-abbas ra ijtehad is islamic one and anyone following that opinion is also following right opinion.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 10:21 #
  27. I know i have also investigated this matter in detail and in my opinion having different days of fasting should be treated as we have different timings for prayers. like some one is praying Fajar in some area and other is praying magrib in another area. Dont confuse it with the term unity.

At the same time i dont say that the other opinion is wrong or weak but this is a difference of opinion which was called REHMA by Prophet Muhammad PBUH himself and i just want that we should have tolerance for that in our hearts.

Yes i agree that within a same area there should be only one day for fasting and eid. Not like pakistan where we have 3 different days for starting fasting and 3 different days for eid.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 10:26 #
  28. mnoman

Assalamu 'Alaikum
    visit the page to pray taraweeh with its spirit.
    http://serveislam.com/WebApps/SI_DNNWeb/WhatsNew/tabid/167/Default.aspx?PageContentID=93

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 10:41 #
  29. amin1924

May Allah reward you for your investigations. Brother I like to point out to you that hajj/zakat/fasting and some other ahkaam are tied with lunar months. Similarly Salat is tied with solar timing. So please do not mix lunar and solar systems. Prayer is dependent on solar while hajj is dependent on lunar sighting.

I accepted categorically that other opinion is islamic, what tolerance are you lecturing?

What is definition of area? if you look up a map, you will notice that lahore people should also accept delhi sighting? peshawar people accept jalabad sighting? and so on, right?

Scholars of hind have said that if calcutta people sight the moon then it is binding on people of lahore, kindly refer to

kokab-e-durhi, sharah tirmizhi page 336
    see mufti-azam kifayatullah opinion
    molana amjad ali -bahar-e-shariat- page 108
    molana ahmad raza khan barelvi -fatawa rizwi- page 658
    also see fatawa alamgeeri, fatah qadeer, fiqh arba jazri

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 10:47 #
  30. amin1924

There is about 45 minute time difference between skardu & karachi but skardu people pray according to local solar timings and karachi people according to their solar timings. But when moon is sighted in karachi, skardu people also follow that sighting.

I don't want to go into circular arguments, I already acknowledged and accepted ibn-abbas opinion. Hence here by I put my case to rest.

Best Regards-

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 10:58 #
  31. netengr

The territorial division should be according to lunar zone instead of the political boundaries ,

for example Pakistan can be divided into two lunar zone (based on scientific facts ) or both india and pakistan could be in one luner zone in that zone people can have ramadan and eid together .

The luner system is not based on political boundries

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 11:04 #
  32. Dear brother

For me they are very much connected. Due to earth's rotation we have different solar times for different regions similarly due to earth's and moon's rotation we have different zones which share the same lunar day. Once we accept this then it is not a rocket science to define those areas based on lunar sighting profile which changes from every month. So why we brought Unity here and do not brought this issue for different solar times.

I was not having any intention to lecture you, i was just mentioning the behavioral of people who just on the basis of fiqhi ikhtilaf fight with each other and call each other kafir. I was definitely not pointing you.

Secondly i told you earlier that the all the regions which share one lunar visibility area should have one single day of fasting and eid but that does not mean that a person in south america and in tokyo should have same day of fasting which is not even possible in some months because of the time difference.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 11:12 #
  33. netengr

agree ,

and this can also be possible that half india and half pakistan can have Eid same day and the other half would have Eidf other day .

I personally trust the authorities ,I do not know why people make this issue so critical .

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 11:19 #
  34. shikra

This is really a Mubarak month and every Muslim should respect and observe the Fasting.
    I was watching ARY and GEO where the news about 25-30% increase on the stuff related to Ramadhan made me sad.
    This is not fair way to welcome and celebrate a Holy Month.
    Who are these people who, always, raise the prices on Ramadhan and EID's?
    Are they Indian Agents?

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 12:37 #
  35. amin1924

agents of greed, protected by govt

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 12:41 #
  36. DeadlyHonest

As Mr 10% and friends are their in govt and making every effort to break their previous record abt corruption..
    The poor people of Pakistan left with no choice to try for the means whether fair or unfair to live their life...
    The ongoing situation is so bad that i think Docoaites and theft laws should be suspended here due to the worst condition of the people..
    A muslim welfare has certain responsibilities to provide the people with basic of their rights to refrain ppl from such activities..
    Blamming ppl for their acts without questioning govt responsibilities is not wise thinking more...
    History has this type of an example when Hazrat Umar suspended theft law in this type of needy situation..
    West or developed countries as having good employment ratio still trying to achieve full employment/Pay unemployment allownce....

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 14:30 #
  37. talalkhan

All man made systems have such confusions and controversies.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 14:44 #
  38. amin1924

Whenever a man takes in his own hand to decide what is best for other man, there will be confusions, controversies, fallacies and disorder.

Why a man be superior to another man and decide what is good and what is bad for others? Only creator of man can tell his creation what is right and what is wrong.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 14:52 #
  39. talalkhan

Forget about Ibne Abbass. Use you common sense.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 16:25 #
  40. talalkhan

Lets find out that the claim that this month brings barakaat is verifiable by incidence of less crime,less corruption,less fights on roads,more tolerant behavior.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 16:43 #
  41. chechen

claim that this month brings barakaat is verifiable by incidence of less crime,less corruption,less fights on roads,more tolerant behavior.

It is not claim but promise of Allah for Believers. For rest life goes on as usual. Let us try to be in the category of the believers to attain salvation

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 16:48 #
  42. talalkhan

Does Ramzan make the muslims more honest,patient,tolerant at the culmination of this month?

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 17:02 #
  43. Anonymous

@talal khan
    "Lets find out that the claim that this month brings barakaat is verifiable "

Look at charity numbers and number of people in mosques. This is a clear indication of barkat

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 17:09 #
  44. amin1924

Talal Khan,

Drop your materialistic lens and put on Muslim's lens. Muslims fast because Allah swt has prescribed this to Ummah, not because of any materialistic values.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Aug 2009 17:11 #
  45. shahzad1924

isn't talal an atheist? didn't he declare that somewhere?

why do we need to discuss the fiqh of ramdhan with an atheist? its irrelevant to him.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 12:41 #
  46. amin1924

Not really. Per my record he believes in existence of Creator, but claims that all religions are man-made.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 13:00 #
  47. shahzad1924

thanks for the clarification. but still, the discussion of the fiqh of ramadhan is not relevant to him.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 13:04 #
  48. NNL

Lets find out that the claim that this month brings barakaat is verifiable by incidence of less crime,less corruption,less fights on roads,more tolerant behavior.
    =============================================

The question should have been whether are the muslims ready to receive the barakah coming down in this month. It would have been a plausible question.

To be very brutally honest the above post is indicative of our impatience as Muslims.

Its a point to ponder.

PS i know i m fueling him up but when he posted this i was compelled to look at myself in the mirror.

May Allah Izz Wa Jal give us enuf strength that we all correct our mistakes.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 13:12 #
  49. talalkhan

How many references are required to decide the first day of a month?Very strange?

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 17:13 #
  50. amin1924

Just one.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 17:50 #