WHAT is "TRUTH" ?

(15 posts)
  1. raheb

My Salaam to ALL.

There are many good people here on this forum. They are intelligent and sincere. They both can tell and learn. So I decided to put some of my wonderings in front of you. I hope that I will get many responses which will help me for my further life. We all want a better life in future so its a blessing to get the vision more clearer for future.
    I often think that How I know that what I know is TRUTH? What is the criteria to judge that whatever we know is just TRUE? I know, that I Don't know. Now you all think about it and please tell me and others, because it may possible that some of you have some fantastic criteria to know if something is Truth or false. And it seems that most of the posts here is just "truth".
    Let me clear my view point.

I feel, that most of the things we put forward are NOT our own. Either we read it, heard it or just create in our mind- means that it can be planted in our minds from different channels. So probably there is NO real OBJECTIVE truth exist. All Truths are constructions of mine- means SUBJECTIVE.

Being a Muslim I have a faith- which is THE Only TRUTH- The ALLAH- the only ultimate Truth. But rest? Our Kalama's first word is, "LA" which means " NO- Nothingness".(There is NOTHING except ALLAH).

We all see things from different views. We all think Different from our personal heads. We all hear different. We all are UNIQUE. There are NO 2 persons alike. You know two real brothers are NOT alike. A son can be very different from his father. There are NO two persons who have same Finger Prints. It means every one of us is UNIQUE- One and Only one on this whole earth.

Generally the following 3 criteria's exist,
    1- The person closest to truth is the person WHO has experience the things himself/ herself.
    2- The witness- who see something by his/her own eyes, can be more near to truth but NOT exist as the person who is experiencing something.
    3- The third type of truth is " Heard About" we heard, read, or see on TV,s. Such "truth" can be consider as "planted" as we neither experience it or witnessed.

Now what I feel that those reports, posts or whatever we talk about belong to category no 3 - "the heard about". And those who planted it can be BBC, CNN, PTV, Dawn or Naw-a-Wakt, Geo or Ary or many more.

As for as reliability of such truths is concerned so UNfortunately 'the heard abouts' carry least Reliability and Validity, it can not be more than few percent (%).

How we know that a book writer is telling and writing truth? How we know a book of history is based on truth? A newspapers journalist can write, about Musharaf, Shaukat Aziz, Nawaz Sharif, Zardari, Bush or whatever.......Now is it NOT planted in 'me' and I confidently spread it as a Truth? Neither I have experienced it nor I witness of it. And first of ALL it is NOT sure that even this journalist have seen anything of it. So reliability and validity of it is very small but destructions of such things are quite HUGE. These are mostly Rumours and as far as I know, Islam prohibited rumours because they can be very destructive.
    How comes we KNOW a lot about those people whom we NEVER ever met? OR going to meet.
    If I have Never met them then whatever I know about them is/are planted in me. On the other hand we Know very little about OWNSELF. That is may be human beings one of the weakest point, SELF-BLINDNESS.

Now another criterion of Truth mostly people mention is quantitative.

If 5-6 or 7 persons has wrote one and a same thing and one or 2 has written something else, then we believe that after all majority has written this thing that's why this one is True. IS THIS A CORRECT CRITERIA? Have Majority always Right? How can we say that quantitative criteria is Correct and Right?
    If 5 person say something and other 4 say something else, DO it means that 5 has Right and other 4 have to accept what 5 says?

If 5 donkeys decide to eat ****, DO 4 horses been forced to eat it just because they are 4?

So Dear ALL! Come with some intellectual arguments both in favour and against too. Tell about yourself that HOW you know that What you know is truth? AND according to which criteria, you say that what you say is truth?

raheb

Posted 3 years ago on 14 Aug 2008 22:52 #
  2. Asif

Why we assume that half of the population would go on one extreme & the other half on the other extreme?
    They both have the same objective for which they are there, value addition. They have only multple ways to reach over there, so some think one way is better & the rest think other one.
    The assumption that the two groups of people would start quarreling each other, if thats the case in reality, then they should not live together at all!!!!!!!

We like to make the things complex by assuming the worst case just like designing the machines. Yaar human beings are different than machines, they act differently.

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Aug 2008 0:20 #
  3. @Asif,
    good thread ....
    Truth is a very relative and subjective term ....
    what is truth in my eye ,may not b a truth for me ...or may i wont b able to handle it.
    for example:
    in india they teach thier kids by thier text books that division of india was a conspiracy ....
    in Pakistan we teach our kids by thier text books that division of india was a blessing ,a result of long struggle....

how can u judge ?what is truth?

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Aug 2008 7:55 #
  4. faraz81

@ raheb and all
    for me:truth is verified and confirmed by the results of putting one's concepts into practice.
    i think mainly it depends upon ur belief or so called faith.here i would like to say faith is not the proper word for Iman,bcoz Iman meaning is as follows:
    The root of the word Iman is a-m-n which means: to be calm and quiet (in one’s heart); to be protected from fear; trustworthiness and truthfulness. Iman means to accept truthfully, to be convinced, to verify something, to rely upon or have confidence in something. Iman is usually translated in English as faith or belief, and faith in turn signifies acceptance without proof or argument, without reference to reason or thought, knowledge or insight. According to the Qur’an, Iman is conviction which is based upon reason and knowledge; a conviction that results from full mental acceptance and intellectual satisfaction; the kind of conviction that gives one a feeling of inner contentment and peace. And a Mu’min is one who accepts truth in such a way that it ensures his own peace and helps him to safeguard the peace and security of the rest of mankind. In fact, Al-Mu’min is one of the attributes of God Himself(59:23).
    now its a bit clear to understand abt the truth. so we can say,truth is not to believe something blindly, truth is joined with the successful practice of a statement or obejctive.
    our problem is that,that we are forced to watch with the eyes of people,who dont have iman on Quran and this makes the matter complicated.if we, the follower of Quran act upon Quran,there should be no rumours as u mentioned in ur post.it leaves then only two options mentioned by u as well and these are the options which Quran gives us as well and demands from us to use our senses to understand the signs of Allah.for the referance there are some translation of quranic verses:
    "The worst of beasts in the sight of Allah are the deaf and dumb who do not use their intellect to understand." (8:22)
    "There are many among Jinns and human beings, who lead such a life as makes it obvious that they are meant for Hell. They have hearts wherewith they understand not, they have eyes wherewith they see not, and they have ears wherewith they hear not; they are like cattle—nay, are worse; they are the heedless." (7:179)
    "This is my way. My invitation to you to follow Allah’s path is based on reason and insight—mine as well as of those who follow me." (12:108)
    "Do not pursue that whereof you have no knowledge. Verily, the hearing and sight and the heart, each of these will be asked." (17:36)

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Aug 2008 12:31 #
  5. This posting might help to understand, what is Truth.

http://www.whatistruth.org.uk/

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Aug 2008 13:43 #
  6. raheb

Both Asif sb. and Beenai! totally irrelevant! out of track as WHAT I have written needs to think more, but it seems you are busy with something else. JS! no own thinking here ONLY reference, but thanks Faraz, something to concentrate on, specailly these wordings sound valid at the moment, "hey have hearts wherewith they understand not, they have eyes wherewith they see not, and they have ears wherewith they hear not; they are like cattle—nay, are worse; they are the heedless." (7:179)

raheb

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Aug 2008 19:22 #
  7. Asif

Doosron k dil pahana seekh lo Aur saari duniyaa k dil parh lo, sachaee tumhare saamney aa jai gi. Leekan koi bhi tum per yakeen nahi karey ga, isi ka naam duniyaa hai, lol.

Posted 3 years ago on 16 Aug 2008 2:44 #
  8. raheb

Can nOT understand it! use a proper language or accept it that you are making fun of it?
    raheb

Posted 3 years ago on 16 Aug 2008 12:04 #
  9. Asif

learn udrdu, if you don't know what it is, its the official language of Pakistan.

Posted 3 years ago on 16 Aug 2008 13:08 #
  10. faraz81

@asif
    u should learn it that official language of pakistan is english and urdu is only national language,so u learned something new i guess:D
    @ raheb
    thanks for ur encouragement and considerations.if u say,i can send u some more referances from Quran.

Posted 3 years ago on 18 Aug 2008 9:49 #
  11. Asif

thx for correcting me faraz81

Posted 3 years ago on 18 Aug 2008 18:46 #
  12. raheb

I think Asif, you need to learn something more than a language also. What you wrote is neither urdu nor english, or Why should you demage urdu in such a way?
    Have you anything to say about main topic? I guess NO!

raheb

Posted 3 years ago on 18 Aug 2008 19:43 #
  13. Asif

raheb, you are also right.

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Aug 2008 0:42 #
  14. I agree, what beena wrote.
    A hero for a particular Nation could be a villain for other.
    What appeals to the common sense as Rational, is accepted as a Universal Truth.

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Aug 2008 1:23 #
  15. Asif

raheb

might help you in reaching the truth or ...... may be otherwise

watch it to have a different perspective of the same event. worth watching!!!!

http://pkpolitics.com/2008/08/18/live-with-talat-18-august-2008/

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Aug 2008 5:33 #