What should we teach our children in school/s?

(109 posts)
  1. stingingnettle

Hkbajwa;

I would just like to add a few points to what you have been saying. My point is not about the validity of one point of view or the other but about the importance of inclusiveness in education.

It is important that we do not accept or promote an exclusionist form of education. We also need to differentiate between faith education from religious education. Religious education taught in school cannot be the same as the faith education given in Sunday school or in a Quranic school in a mosque. The purpose of Religious Education in the context of a school is not to reaffirm what your parents have told you to be the truth but to learn about the history and rituals of all faiths. This is not the same as teaching them faith but about faiths.

I have no difficulty accepting that some people will accept a more seamless union of evolution and creation whilst others will firmly argue about their mutual exclusiveness (as you put it "either/or mentality). It's is important that all points of view are up for discussion.

Respect for other people's opinions is fundamental to learning and the way we teach our children in Pakistan at the moment, they stand no chance in hell of ever thinking critically about anything especially not about how they conduct their lives. Life does not have binary answer to some of the deeper question and this is what we need to teach our children.

Regurgitation of memorised facts is hardly education and until this outdated and destructive model of learning is dismantled, we cannot give our children an inspiring education.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 20:13 #
  2. shafiq12

bajwa

Firstly i'm not arguing the "evolutionists" viewpoint, i am arguing about evolution.

What is evolution --- a process which is described as non intelligent work --- A process which is based on chance --- If you bring God into evolution then it ceases to be evolution --- It will become creation -- i don't know what is problem in understanding it --- I know you are making point -- -Evolution as greatest creation of God -- When you bring God into it then it ceases to be evolution why because philosophy of evolution contradicts with God --
    When it comes to the creation of the universe, there are basically only 2 schools of thought........
    1.) either something created the universe (creation)
    2.) or the universe created itself (evolution)
    Your point is creative view of point --- it has got nothing to do with evolution -- I think you should study evolution ---

Evolution is a process. Every scientist would agree to that. When Darwin first wrote "the origin of species" he did so from a scientific perspective to describe and define a natural phenomenon.

Even scientists also got faith -- A scientist who doesn't believe in God, agrees that evolution is a process, started by chance --- on the other hand a scientist who believe in God, would say, God created process like evolution --- when you bring God, or intelligent cause then it becomes creation ---

It was the clergy that accused him of denying God because his research contradicted church dogma. He did not come out and say "Hah! there is no God.".

I think you didn't read the my second last post --- Darwin clearly rejected in his quote

"I cannot persuade myself that a beneficent and omnipotent God would have designedly created parasitic wasps with the express intention of their feeding within the living bodies of Caterpillars. (Charles Darwin)"

In fact he didn;t give a hoot about the existence of God because he was a scientist. He DID however contradict the dogma of the all-powerful church and he certainly disagreed with the church approved perspective of God.

He was not scientist, Good grief, bajwa, "Science means "to know" and "systematized knowledge derived from observation, study, etc." It is based on observation and experimentation.
    Evolutionists like darwin don't "know" anything about man's origins. They guess, suppose, etc. but they don't "know." Honest scientists have become weary and embarrassed at the confusing, convoluted and contradictory claptrap that often passes as science. They have watched their colleagues rushing to protect Darwin rather than putting him to rigorous tests."

This Evolution Vs God debate is one that was created by the church and is maintained by the church today. Most people who consider evolution to be a scientific reality actually have varying degrees and types of faith in God. It is in fact only a few select morons on either side of the debate who continue to believe that Evolution and God are mutually exclusive.

Bajwa, you don't know something about evolution--- You should study evolution --- I don't believe in any type of church --- truth is when you bring God into anything, even in evolution then that thing becomes creation --

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 4:54 #
  3. humein bachon ko karratay seekhanay chahyein.
    mera mutlub
    self defense.

kionkay self reliance aur self defense is the ultimate thing to be learn.
    apnay zor e bazo pe bharosa
    jo aaj kaal na-paid hay
    apnay bachon ko seekhana chahiye.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 5:03 #
  4. junaid

very well said choosy bhai.
    waisay kaheen koi secular, monkey, ape, janwar dikhaee diya tau haath bhi saaf kiya jasakta hai.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 6:19 #
  5. stingingnettle

Junaid

"waisay kaheen koi secular, monkey, ape, janwar dikhaee diya tau haath bhi saaf kiya jasakta hai."

If this is the sum total of you education, then it is safe to say you need you ask for your money back.

The kind of ignorance you represent it exactly what is wrong with the education in Pakistan.

Your notion of countering an alternative view point is to resort to violence, bizarrely against primates defies all logic and points to the critical need for over-hauling an education system that produces specimens like you.

Have you got anything intelligent to contribute to this thread about education children? The thread for sermonising and mindless violence is a different one. You can start one yourself if there isn’t one.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 7:59 #
  6. junaid

^
    jahan tumhara zikar ata hai tum forun hazree dai daity ho.
    mujay nahi pata tha kai bachpan mai tum per bhi haath saaf hochukain hain.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 8:09 #
  7. Hussain Farooqui

juniad

Bohat Khob! bohat khob!

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 11:14 #
  8. shafiq12

hussain farooqui
    bohat ala! bohat ala!

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 11:17 #
  9. Hussain Farooqui

Good poetry is one of the many things lacking in our present system of education.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 11:28 #