PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

What the bloody hell was Afridi doing?

(39 posts)
  1. sasherwani

Till that very point when he tampered the ball, he actually looked like he might be a good captain!

I just wanna know, in this day and age, didnt he KNOW he would get caught?
    He has let us down! Its very embarrassing!

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Jan 2010 15:57 #
  2. جب قسمت میں ہی زلت لكھ دی ہو تو بھر ایك كے بعد دوسرا زوال آتا ہے,,,, پاكستان تو كسی خوشی كا متحمل بھی ہو گا? مستقبل قریب میں كیا? لگتا تو نہیں................................ باقی وللہ عالم

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Jan 2010 16:03 #
  3. expakistani

Pagal admi!!!

thats what my comment during match, the way he lost his wicket and then " ball khaney ke koshih"

wesey eik baat hey, after this incident no one will let afridi do and
    " TC" kia pata kaat bhi le....

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Jan 2010 16:23 #
  4. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I would raise many questions before believing this is a legit video.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Jan 2010 17:15 #
  5. expakistani

Wssalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH

kal match dekh letey pher aap

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Jan 2010 17:22 #
  6. change_is_close

he's a stupid, crazy man... soooooooooooo much talent in our country and we're still looking for a captain... =( ki keriye????

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Jan 2010 19:20 #
  7. sasherwani

@ haris,

Welcome to planet earth.

This video is a part of today's match (which millions including me saw live on tv). Afridi himself has apologized on many news channels for his actions.

Now go and find out if his apologies were legit or not. Also figure out if it was the real afridi or some clone.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Jan 2010 19:33 #
  8. Anonymous

Afridi did something which we, in overwhelming majority, try to do very often in our daily life i.e. cheating. And strangely it is not considered as bad thing either.

However, the good thing is that Afridi confessed his wrong doing and offered apology to the nation. Examples of admitting one’s fault are very scarce amongst us. Am I wrong?

sasherwani

Wait a minute, Haris may be right, this video could have been made in hollywood, a mischief of the west.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Jan 2010 19:47 #
  9. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@sasherwani: I did not watch that match. I lost interest in sports, since I noted absence of 'competition'.

In any case, it is prudent to confirm and re-confirm what one comes across, before believing in it.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Jan 2010 20:56 #
  10. linkwheel

wht was he thinking????????? wht a shame :(

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Jan 2010 21:08 #
  11. raheb

Nothing to be surprised! At the time of desparation and frustration, a person, a society, a nation can do it, to crush the whatever object in the hand, if no object then to bite and hurt own hand/finger/body......that is exactly going on in the whole society...!!

raheb

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Jan 2010 22:15 #
  12. Musician

ofcourse it is West's conspiracy. They invented the game.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Jan 2010 23:11 #
  13. sasherwani

@ Haris,

There is a big difference between losing interest in a game and calling a video illegit. Especially when it was shown live on tv and afridi had apologized over it. Why you spamming a thread anyway with irrelevant posts when you dont even care about the sport anymore (as you yourself said). Try to be more productive with your time.

@ everyone else,

One good thing to come out of this match was that the team looked united under Afridi. Younis, Malik and Afridi discussed strategies almost after every over after the 40th over. This was the first time the team had 'the hunger' to win. That is why Australia found it difficult to chase even a meager target of 212.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 4:38 #
  14. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Noted.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 7:09 #
  15. from Afridi to Zardari
    mulk ki Barbadi hi Barbadi

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 7:12 #
  16. PAKI.SECULAR

Afridi was hungry, and perceived cricket ball as an apple :)

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 7:25 #
  17. PAKI.SECULAR

hariskhan

You are right, actually it's a cospiracy against Islamic Republic of Pakistan's cricket team by Zionist media :)

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 7:26 #
  18. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@****.SECULAR: There are too many conspiracies working on a larger scale to worry about this one, even if it is a conspiracy. I have no reason to believe this is/was a conspiracy.

Still, we don't need further irrelevant discourse. Please avoid it.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 8:01 #
  19. Afridi was really playying very high and putting every thing in the field but his confidence level dropped at once when they changed the ball and told him that why they are changing this ball.

I was watching all the match live but my interest was at once evaporated when i saw him doing this and i asked why are you so stupid to commit such thing and even if you know that they are observing you on cameras.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 10:37 #
  20. I also dont understand that why an experienced and senior player like Afridi was unaware of all the cameras focused on every player in the ground...i didnt watch the match but saw the news on tv...pretty shocking...

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 10:53 #
  21. Unique

He should have been dropped from the national side when he roughed the pitch in Rawalpindi in a test match against Englnad and had a big shameless grin on his face.

He should never ever be allowed to play for the country again. He has broght disgrace and shame to the country and his act is no less than an act of treason. But I bet the PCB will slelect him again and if he is not selected certain sections of the AWAAM will have protest rallies.
    What a self-respecting nation!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 10:56 #
  22. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

The root cause again! comes out to be ZERO accountability, eh ?

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 11:03 #
  23. toamin

A poor and desperate attempt to win but Afridi was held accountable right on the spot and then punished right after the match.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 11:06 #
  24. Unique

I totally agree with you. It is Zero accountability.

And it was not a desperate attempt to win. It was a shameful attempt to cheat. The accountability is not only to the match referee but also to the nation. The sporstmen are considered to be the ambasadors of their countries. What an embassador!

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 12:06 #
  25. sasherwani

A nice little pictorial on famous cheating sportmen!

http://gulfnews.com/pictures/sport/famous-sporting-cheats-1.541868

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 13:47 #
  26. netengr

Guys,

Before accusing Afridi we should know the "FACTS " first ,this seems that this is the part of the global conspiracies against Pakistan and Muslim Ummah .

1-Do you think this video which came from Yahoodi Media is true ?
    2-it made in Hollywood.
    3-When he was eating "an abject " are you sure that was the ball because it was hidden and cannot be seen in the camera .
    4-Even Shahid afridi is found guilty but this cannot be his fault and all the responsibility should go to government because Shahid Afridi tried to eat this ball because he was starving and this was due to increasing poverty in Pakistan and Pakistan situation is link with US .So all this situation is created nothing but by Black Water

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 14:47 #
  27. Anonymous

I agree netengr.

Afridi is a Muslim. There was no proof that Afridi was eating the ball. It is crystal clear that he was biting his nails, forgetting that ball is also in his hand. What else could he do other than biting his nails in a match heading for 'nail biting finish'. It is all ZioWest propaganda against ...... May be Blackwater sent message to Afridi to do this. I don’t care. I strongly detest it.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 15:09 #
  28. runaway

he should return all the money and plots he got form pakistan govt after t20 and before..

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 15:14 #
  29. @ALL
    Off topic posts/personal remarks deleted. Kindly remain on topic.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 18:04 #
  30. Afridi did a mistake and lets admit it rather than defending it...we Pakistanies are no angels we can be wrong sometimes...

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 18:41 #
  31. DoubleU

BTW: A lot of people sometimes just post sarcasm or some are just interested in instigating others by posting completely opposite to what the post is :) ... its funny to see when people start arguing for no reason :)

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 21:16 #
  32. Musician

Dont know what to say. It just not cricket.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Feb 2010 21:46 #
  33. rocketrevolt

This is what Afridi would be saying after this :

"Baalo buttiyan wey maahi saanu maaro sunglaan naal !"

lols....so stupid .... but atleast he got punished !

case closed!

ps.

Now lets move unto kalay Angraiz !

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Feb 2010 4:03 #
  34. After Afridi's embarassing fall from grace, I find myself searching for a new Mon Capitain. A person with strong leadership skills, integrity, charm and a desire to push the team to its full potential... CROC you're the ONE! Lolz

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Feb 2010 5:01 #
  35. heard ,it was a satta again...
    somebody bet on Shahid 's ball tempering with an obvious manner in this match ,and Shahid earned millions out of this bet winner .

for money they can do anything and can go to any length.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Feb 2010 5:04 #
  36. rocketrevolt

"A person with strong leadership skills, integrity, charm and a desire to push the team to its full potential... CROC you're the ONE! Lolz "

Yee!! I knew I could count on my countrymen and women. Aur Awam Jamhooriat key khilaf her saazish ko nakaam bana dein gay...vote deejiyeh.. apnay liyeh qaum key liyeh!...Aaj hi crocodile key intikhabi nishan per thappa lagayeh....lekin ....Dhaaandli sey hoshiyar!

"heard ,it was a satta again...
    somebody bat on Shahid 's ball tempering with an obvious manner in this match ,and Shahid earned millions out of this bat winner ."

Koi haal nahi !!!
    They should be sacked and put in jail then ...ooops...oh well sab sey bara sattay baaz zardari is 'deee' president of Pakistan....so if he can stay and not get punished that way then i guess ..... crocodile ko aana hi paray ga ..jamhooriat key liyeh....Qaum kay liyeh!...lol

ps.Now don't just start throwin eggs at me...take it easy!

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Feb 2010 5:13 #
  37. @Crocodile ,
    we can expect anything and everything from money minded jugglers .....no matter Zardari or Afridi .

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Feb 2010 5:28 #
  38. netengr

check the history of ball tempting ,why Wasi Zafer is not included is the list ?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/sport/2010/02/100202_ball_tempering_fact_zee.shtml

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Feb 2010 16:07 #
  39. expakistani

Afridi got new tooth... he was just testing, .

I see no smoke of Sata Bazi here, it was just stupid mistake without thinking of consequence... well kind of Pathan Bhais' thinking.

rest all is good with team, we lost bcz of technicalities and bad planning, I am sure same team will do magic in WC
    inshallah.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Feb 2010 16:29 #