What to Expect from Zardari
(23 posts)-
Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 1:49 #
Saudis too are reluctant to give this govt any aid,apparently they too are quite sure that Zadari Inc will eat up and embezzle all aid.
Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 2:37 # -
There are close to 2 million Americans of Pakistani origin.
Text "SWAT" to 50555 to donate 10 dollars each.Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 5:32 # -
Exactly the reason why Pakistan is not receiving most of the aid directly; Zardari and his Tola being the main reason.
Saudi Arabia a known friend of Pakistan has decided to channel its aid for Pakistan through UNHCR fearing a direct donation would end up straight in the pockets of zardari.
The Saudi government has donated more than $10 million to the United Nations High Commissioner of Refugees (UNHCR) in order to help the thousands of internally displaced people in Pakistan.
The items purchased with the relief money will be distributed in August, the timing of which coincides with Ramadan, the Islamic month of fasting.
http://muslimvoices.org/saudi-arabia-pledges-aid-pakistan-refugees/Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 8:45 # -
zia m, hello. Thank God you're still around to beg people to donate to the Flood fund. Please not to give up on the relief effort even if the response turns out to be lukewarm.
I still don't understand what the fuss and bother is about. They don't want to give it to Zardari and Co - and who can blame them or us for thinking so - they give it to private charities. There is no dearth of them in our country, is there?
In spite of all our sufferings, friends, I wish you all a Happy Pakistan Independence Day. It is that, isn't it, today? Or have I lost track again?
Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 8:47 # -
Everyone is reluctant and rightly so. Reason of course is Zardari/this corrupt government. Here is the same story from The Vancouver Sun:
Zardari 'diverted £300m quake aid to other causes'But something just does not pass the smell test here.
1. I must ask why this story now? Is the purpose to deter people from giving aid? I mean, why bring it up -- something that started in 2005 -- NOW? Can't blame Zardari for 2005, 2006, 2007 now can we?
2. The amount reportedly 'diverted' is less tan 9% of the aid received. Note: It says it is 'diverted', NOT 'gobbled up' or something.
Personally I believe a lot of it has been gobbled up by ERRA -- a lot more than 9% -- so why no mention of that? This is confirmed by the story itself:
Let us assume it is correct and £300m of the £3.5 billion was spent on other things. Is the story telling us £3.15 billion (i.e. 89%-plus) WAS spent IN THE RIGHT WAY? If so, this is the first time we have been so good :)3. If 89% of the aid DID reach ERRA, how come so little has been done? For example it tells us:
But despite promises that the new town would be completed by last month, not a single road has been completed nor has construction begun on the site of "New Balakot". When the Telegraph visited the site this week, diggers stood rusting and security guards said there had been no work there for more than a year. Officials said contractors had not been paid since April and were owed pounds 22.5 million.
Reading this story I must say this is a 'created and planted' one -- either by ERRA (mostly army) or ISPR to make army look good and shift the blame for their shortcomings on civilians. And it does a very poor job of it if you are not fooled by the headline. I say poor because it is going after Zardari and ends up making him LOOK GOOD: Remember it is telling us:
"ZARDARI DID NOT SWIPE A SINGLE PENNY, JUST USED 9% OF IT ON OTHER PROJECTS"
Now who could believe that??Again I will say it is a 'manufactured' story by ERRA to squeeze the govt to release more funds.
Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 8:49 # -
MG,
If 2 million Pakistanis residing in states give $ 10.00 each every week for the rest of the year most of our needs could be met.
The money goes thru U.N, don't have to worry about Zardari.Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 8:58 # -
Dear Doctor
Suadi Prince never suports current PPP they rather prefer their relatives and A lahori Sunny sect PML-N .Relationship with Iran is vice versa.because Iran Pakistan gas pipline was never possible in any government except PPP.
Saudi Arabia have great chance to win the hearts of all Pakistanies through non-political donation during such a great depression.
Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 9:23 # -
Pakistan flood response prompts rising anti-government resentmentUnder fire president Asif Ali Zardari tries to ease public anger amid fears he could be overthrown
(86)Tweet this (62)Saeed Shah in Islamabad guardian.co.uk, Friday 13 August 2010 21.56 BST Article history
Flood-hit women stretch their shawls to receive food from Pakistani troops in Muzaffargarh, near Multan. Photograph: K.M. Chaudary/APPakistan's government faces the threat of social unrest or even military takeover after its shambolic response to the floods that have devastated the country, leaving 1,600 people dead and 2 million homeless, say analysts.
Fears that Asif Ali Zardari, the president, could be overthrown – possibly through an intervention by the army – have grown as the government's failure to adequately tackle the crisis has fuelled long-held grievances.
"The powers that be, that is the military and bureaucratic establishment, are mulling the formation of a national government, with or without the PPP [the ruling Pakistan People's party]," said Najam Sethi, editor of the weekly Friday Times. "I know this is definitely being discussed. There is a perception in the army that you need good governance to get out of the economic crisis and there is no good governance."
Rescuers are struggling to help the 14 million people affected across the country, with fresh flood warnings today forcing even more to flee the city of Jacobabad. But the impact of the disaster will be felt throughout Pakistan's 170m population.
The agricultural heartland has been wiped out, which will cause spiralling food prices and shortages. Many roads and irrigation canals have been destroyed, along with electricity supply infrastructure.
"The immediate risk is one of food riots," said Marie Lall, an Asia expert at Chatham House. "There is already great resentment in Swat and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province where people had to be cleared during the government offensive. Now there is the threat of social unrest as various factions, families and ethnic groups compete with each other in the event of a breakdown in government."
The World Bank estimates that crops worth $1bn (£640m) have been ruined and the Pakistani finance secretary warned today that the disaster would cut the country's growth in half.
The government may have to spend $1.7bn on reconstruction, and has said it will have to divert expenditure from badly needed development programmes.
With the economy currently surviving on an IMF bailout, experts predict that another may be necessary. Experts believe that the floods could now knock 2 percentage points off projected economic growth for this year.
US and European diplomats are gravely concerned about the situation, as Pakistan is crucial in the fight against al-Qaida and the war in neighbouring Afghanistan.
Cathy Ashton, EU foreign policy chief, said the west could not afford to abandon the country: "Pakistan is faced with so many issues, not just floods, terror, development, India. It's in the EU's interest to have a stable and prosperous Pakistan."
Zardari, who left the country after the floods began and continued on his trip to France and Britain even when the scale of the disaster became apparent, is the focus of much of the anger. Despite the outcry, he is to go ahead with a visit to a regional summit in Russia next week. A spokesman said the president had cut the planned two-day trip to "a couple of hours". Only the courts could legally dismiss him but, as his PPP is a minority government reliant on coalition partners, behind-the-scenes military pressure on those partners could bring it down, while keeping parliament in place, said Sethi.
With the government overwhelmed by the scale of the disaster, Islamic groups, including extremist organisations such as Jamaat-ud-Dawa, have stepped into the gap. The military has also distributed aid in areas where locals complain that government help is almost entirely absent.
"If the military takes over now, I can assure you that it will be the end of Pakistan, an end which will be punctuated by a very bloody civil war," said Asad Sayeed, an analyst based in Karachi. "Pakistan is a very divided country right now."
Pakistan has lurched from crisis to crisis in its 63-year history. The break-up of the country in 1971 can be linked to another natural disaster, when authorities responded slowly to a devastating cyclone. A secessionist movement in East Pakistan capitalised on public anger to successfully fight for independence as Bangladesh.
In the flood-hit areas, people are bewildered by the government's response, with accusations and conspiracy theories abounding. At the side of the Indus river in Sukkur town, Sindh province, shopowner Ali Sher gave a scathing reaction to promises of aid.
"They [the government] want to drown Sukkur," he said. "They want to show some bodies, so they can ask for more aid from other countries. They are after dollars."
Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 12:19 # -
nota, sorry, you posted this on another thread. When I realised that, I tried to delete it, but didn't manage.
Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 12:23 # -
This is not a new story.. Pakistani rulers either military or civilian are famous for embezzlement of funds. The fate of Earthquakes funds is not hidden from donating countries and this is the real reason we dont find an encouraging response from local as well as abroad people.
Look at baitalmal where zakat from all bank accounts go.. i never find a single poor person who says he is getting help from Baitalmal.. the money of zakat is used for posh offices and luxury vehicles & notorious investments to benefit rulers..
It is a matter of shame for this poor country which is in total disarray ..Baalochistan is in flames.. Karachi is under mafia control and gang wars are going on.. KP is facing terrorism and Punjab... God knows where we r heading.....
We all r corrupt... i find every second person a fraud.. thts y we have rulers like same...
We have to come up from ignorance and rather than blaming third hand or foriegn countries/media.. we must see where we r wrong.. and how we can make ourselves correct...
We r heading towards a failed state.. as we dont have writ of Govt anywhere... Might is a power which is being exercised... Looters r more influential than the rightous ppl... and Law is a joke for rich n poors r victim,,,,,
We must have to get our own house in order.. otherwise we r heading towards disaster ... May God Bless us
Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 22:16 # -
@rehanahd
"otherwise we r heading towards disaster"Heading towards a disaster?
Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 22:52 # -
اس حمام میں سب ننگے ہیں - زرداری کا تو نام ویسے ہی بدنام کرنے کی سازش جاری ہے
Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 22:57 # -
@Anwer
Zardari bechara tu farishta hai:) ek kamyab business man hana... jis nay ek cinema say multi billion state bana lee hai 20 years mai... What a sucess story!!!!
Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 23:19 # -
Yes dear a disaster not a calamity!!1
Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 23:21 # -
Karachi is usually the biggest donor of aid at such times of disasters, but the political turmoil created by ANP in Karachi has disabled Karachi to contribute with the traditional style. However, the social workers of Karachi have reached the interior areas of Sindh. They are distributing 1000 daigs of biryani daily. What ANP has done in Karachi has affected relief works for the whole of Pakistan. The Pashtuns are also major sufferers for no supply of aid from Karachi.
Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 7:38 # -
@farooqui
R u suffering from Pashtun Syndrome:):)
Itni bee buri halat nahee jani... hum bee karachi walay hain bhai........try to open ur own eyes rather than relying on stories being told to u by sector incharges:)))
Khi mai sirf ek farq para hai... bhatta abb PPP, MQM, PPI, JSQM, ST aur ANP mai divide honay laga hai jo sirf MQM london transfer ker leti thee:))) aur to koi farq nahee para,,,,,Get out of this syndrome and think like a human ..yeh zamin kisi kee nahee hai ...mernay kay baad sub ka jinaaza ek hee hota hai:) aur qabar bee ek jasi:)))
Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 14:25 # -
What to Expect from Zardari?
Zardari is a man who came atop by incident.
Sadly; for his own deeds; soon the man has dishonoured himself enough ----not only him but this country--- too.
He must look for the exit door and move out.
Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 14:47 # -
Meray watan peh uttray hoay Andheroun ko
Jo Tum Kahou; Mughay Qaher sa lagta heyPosted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 14:54 # -
what else we can expect from Zardari?
Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 7:30 # -
History teaches me that every new ruler that has come to rule over Pakistan turned out to be far worse than his predecessor.It means that Zardari will be replaced by a new one who will turn out to be far worse than him.Keeping this fact in mind I want Zardari to complete his term in office even though I am not fully satisfied with his performance.
Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 10:47 # -
Koi Taqseem; naee kar key challa jatta hey
Jo bhi ata hey meray ghar ki nagehbani koPosted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 11:13 # -
i have asked my friends and relatives why they are not giving donation. one answer "haan hukumat ko paisa do takey bilawal ko air aur mahel gift karde". same responses i have heard from many people.
baat to sach hae magar baat hae ruswaee kiPosted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 11:27 #