PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

What Was The Religion Of Arabs Before Islam?

(102 posts)
  1. zjshami

I am curious to learn what was the religion of our Holy Prophet PBUH and his parents before the advent of Islam?
    I was told that Hazrat Khadija RAZ was a Christian at her marriage.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 13:15 #
  2. rocketrevolt

What was YOUR religion before?

ps.What is Your religion Now?
    ps1.What You believe in and what you think others should believe in?
    ps2.Post all of the things that were told to you in one post for the easier access( I mean if you please)!
    ps3.What You think was the religion of Prophet?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 13:17 #
  3. aimalkhan

Prophet SAW's religion before the revealation of Islam was "Deen-e-Ibrahimi". His contemplation in the cave of Hira was termed as Tahanuf by the arabs, which meant avoiding the idols.

I am not sure about the religion of Khadija RA before Islam but she had a cousin named Waraqah who was an expert on Judeo Christian religious texts.

You can also get some of the information here.
    http://youthemerged.com/Seerah-Session-11-July-15th-2005-t2365.html

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 13:39 #
  4. Red-Scorpion

@crocodile

I don't think Ms. Shami's religious beliefs have any significance for anyone here, while the personalities whose religion is being discussed are very significant/important for the Muslims !

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 13:44 #
  5. zjshami

@ Aimal Khan,
    Thanks for your informative posting.
    I can't understand what made Mr. Corocodile for getting upset, angry and personal?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 13:48 #
  6. rocketrevolt

Like I said the question asked/called for a debate.And debate's rules I have been mentioning need clarity of the stand points.So the debate can not carry on unless these conditions are met.So the same question could be put to anybody that is interested in debate,including you and me.I am not confused or hesitant about what I believe in neither should you? Isn't it?

ps.Plus if you don't want to follow the simple universally accepted rule for a debate then that means the time's gonna be wasted and No one wants that...right?

ps1.Its funny that the question placed with honest intention is taken as expression of 'anger'?I wonder what's cookin' up in there?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 13:51 #
  7. gv

@zjshami

see links below
    1 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arabian_mythology
    2 http://inthenameofallah.org/preislamicarabia.html
    3 http://www.soundvision.com/info/seerah/hameed5.asp

which gives us a vague idea of the pre-islamic arab religion practiced by the majority of arabs resident in the arabian peninsula before the advent of Islam.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 14:00 #
  8. zjshami

This is not for debate but for the motive of getting more information, what I lack.
    My children once asked the same question and for that I had no convincing answer.
    It is irrelevant to ask about the faith of a member participating at the discussion.
    What If a Christian or other Non-Muslim member at the Pkpolitics, asks the same question?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 14:00 #
  9. @Zj

you better watch movie 'the message' you will know what was the religion of Muhammad(pbuh) and the arabs. million's of people still living in christian and budhist world without any religion because their brains are not accepting the religion which society offer them.
    Muhammad(pbuh) was one of them.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 14:10 #
  10. Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 14:13 #
  11. rocketrevolt

Children asked such questions?Or maybe By children you meant the grown up one's... with lot of hair and stuff?
    In sub-continent they are called adults and sometimes oldies with the childern.

ps.If christians or other religious/non-religious would be asking such questions then they would be pretty honest about what they believe in right?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 14:13 #
  12. zjshami

1. For your information I am living in the US and my children are mature enough to ask such questions, might be related to their school assignments.
    2. What sort of dishonesty you traced at my question?
    3. It would have been much better to post some guiding information (as some of the respectable members did), than taking a wrong exit.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 14:36 #
  13. rocketrevolt

Its strange to see what triggered the response quite contrary to what I expected?Just go through your own posts and you'll find that you've been asking the questions and telling people where they are wrong in their 'islamic' thoughts or where they are wrong in their 'secular' thoughts.Or the reasons of the downfall of muslims or the reason for the success of secularism.That would tell that its not a kid that we are talking to.Its pretty mature person...right?The things that are missing from your posts are some of your own set of believes.You can clearly see through everyone's believes and tell them where they are wrong and where they are right but no one knows about your believes...is that fair for an honest person and the person who want to build bridges of trust and want betterment of other persons?Or is there something else?

If I understood your question right then the answer of it cant be written in just few lines cause its about way of lives.In simplest words the way of life of Arabs was mostly of pagan in nature (including pantheist,atheist,christian, monotheist if u can include jews).That paganism was developed after the Ibrahamic teachings faded away and hence its revival was needed in form of Quran which was conveyed through prophet which again brought back the same way of life that faded away into a new-type-of-pagan way of life of the Arabs of that time.So when it comes to the way of life then it includes all the aspects of a society; social and moral (administration,law,family-individual life as well as believes)and when it comes to socio-moral structure then that can be seen as system for way of life.In other terms it includes politics and hence your question was not only related to this website but it requires lot of material to answer.And hence the need for an extensive debate for any topic covering that way of life.Which means that you are with the right question in the right forum.

If I misunderstood your question then I apologize and would like to inform you that you are at the wrong forum with the right question.If you kindly could inform me which city you live in states I would try my best to locate the information centre built for the basic information for kids in your community which would cover those all aspects in shortest way possible.

and last but not least....

you are welcome!

ps.42minutes have passed And I am still waiting.Its only fair to reply or it'd be proved once again that whatever time i've spent in writing all that post above was a complete waste of time.And I only do it once or twice or thrice with one member.After that I talk only in casual way of my own and no one can blame me for that.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 15:58 #
  14. SufiSoul

looks like the poster is not muslim or dont believe on Quran wordings.
    As quran is very clear in many chapters abt the character(Past and present) abt umhatul momineen.
    The muslim history is also reporting high morale character for prophet and Umhatul momineen.
    If the poster is christian or having some other religion than he should search his own religion as Islam and Islamic reporting is not reliable for him.
    But i doubt if their is anything original in chris and jewish repoting history.
    So their is no way to believe what Islamic history or quran and hadees says abt these personalities.
    Divine reporting is clear abt Prophet hate for false religions and also abt Umhatul Momineen.thats enough.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 17:40 #
  15. shikra

@ zjshami,
    Here is the link to learn more about the religious situation in Arab before Islam.

Q: What religion was before the holy prophet Muhammad before he became a Muslim?
    Muhammad's first wife was Christian. Was Muhammad also a Christian at some point in his lifetime?

Best Answer - Chosen by Asker
    The Prophet’s Birth

Muhammad, son of Abdullah, son of Abdul Muttalib, of the tribe of Quraysh, was born in Makkah fifty-three years before the Hijrah. His father died before he was born, and he was protected first by his grandfather, Abdul Muttalib, and after his grandfather’s death, by his uncle Abu Talib.

As a young boy he traveled with his uncle in the merchants’ caravan to Syria, and some years afterwards made the same journey in the service of a wealthy widow named Khadijah. So faithfully did he transact the widow’s business, and so excellent was the report of his behavior, which she received from her old servant who had accompanied him, that she soon afterwards married her young agent; and the marriage proved a very happy one, though she was fifteen years older than he was. Throughout the twenty-six years of their life together he remained devoted to her; and after her death, when he took other wives he always mentioned her with the greatest love and reverence. This marriage gave him rank among the notables of Makkah, while his conduct earned for him the surname Al-Amin, the “trustworthy.”

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20071201203202AAH5UnP

@ soofiSoul & corocodile,
    This is the problem with people like you that you jump to the conclusion quickly and declare others as non-Muslims where you get cornered.
    This is a very valid question to define the honor and status of the Holy Prophet PBUH, what frogs of the well failed to understand.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 19:22 #
  16. linkwheel

LMAO!! 'what frogs of the well failed to understand'

@ dude tht was bit Harsh besides he can search for the Answer's himself unless he is a 6-7 Years old Boy begging for Help.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 19:31 #
  17. zjshami

One respectable members takes it a valid where others failed to understand and answer the question in an academic way.

Look what JJ Khan wrote:
    zjshami, good question. Make a new thread and post it there.

@ shikra,
    Thanks for your help and guidance in a positive way without getting offended.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 19:43 #
  18. NNL

I believe and i could also be mistaken but Khadijah bint Khuwaylid's previous religion is not detailed properly or with solid sources.

However we do know that she wasnt an idol worshiper and was more likely influenced by the teachings of Torah and Injil through her meeting with Waraqah ibn Nawfal who told the interpretation of the dream.

The details of her religion before Islam are not well known or well documented however she was the first one to accept Islam

As for the Arabs they were mostly Idol worshipers and had slight Jewish and Christians inhabitants. They were more were based in Medina rather than Mecca.

You will have to understand that Arabian Peninsula was not that much inflicted with the fallout of Council of Nicaea which led to the twisted version of the Paul's Christianity.

So there were people who know about the Chosen One who was to arrive in Arabia as predicted by Both Torah and Injil.

by far many accounts say that Arabs were largely pagan and Khadija herself wasnt one of the Pagans.

Allah Hu Alam.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 20:52 #
  19. Asli Moulana

Waraqah ibn Nawfal was i think of the uncles of Khadijah by the family tree and a distant one.

The details of the relationship are found in the Hadith narrated by Imam Bukhari in Fath-al-Bari by Imam Ibn Hajar.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 21:37 #
  20. rocketrevolt

So I was right the first time.It were not the "innocent" children in school that asked that question,it were pretty grown up hairy dudes that asked that question!!

I had given the benefit of doubt already so that Bhangi finger can not be pointed at me of "declaring someone non-muslim".

And I know why the honest questions of my mine were not answered cause that would have made it pretty clear.

ps.Bhangis think that they can rant anything,everything and can play kid and hairy (alternatively) anytime!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 22:40 #
  21. shikra

It would be much wiser to discuss the issues and not persons, Mr. crocodile.

Come up if you carry some information to add up otherwise discard this thread and go to your favorites.

I am 58 years old Muslim and was not aware of the informative historical facts posted by NNL, Maulana and others.
    The question never approached my mind to learn what religion our Holy Prophet followed during his 40 years life, before the advent of Islam?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 23:03 #
  22. rocketrevolt

"discuss the issues and not persons"

I hope the poster get that advice too?

ps.May you rest in Peace Now!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 23:13 #
  23. shikra

That is about our Holy Prophet and every Muslim should be and must be curios and interested to know about each and every aspect of his life.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 23:27 #
  24. rocketrevolt

Did you study Medicine at an Engineering School? I hope not!The same applies here,if i misunderstood the Questions then I've already told the poster that i can help to find which places would be suitable for this study and know-how of that question.If I understood the question well then what's so difficult to answer? In either case my previous detailed reply would still be valid and it'll only be fair to get a reply from poster.Or your poster friend is wasting his/her and others time too.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 23:36 #
  25. Asli Moulana

By all accounts from all the sides the religion of Muhammad PBUH and his parents and his wife before the advent of Islam is not that much elaborated.

However one can see that all accounts have clearly failed to mentioned any idol worshipping or bad characteristics of the Prophet Muhammad PBUH and biography of his parents is therefore very limited.

Its really sad that one has to resort to movies to truly understand the person they profess to truly believe in and send salutations to him in every Namaz they pray and also in other times.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 23:42 #
  26. shikra

What made you so offended and personal?
    This is a discussion forum and not a Boxing Ring.
    Very sad where some of the members take a start from a negative angle.
    Please look at your very first post at this thread.
    You took off in an aggressive mood without thinking about the nature of the thread.
    Was that needed?
    Also examine how nicely other members are behaving.
    zjshami has a valid question, I believe.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 23:51 #
  27. NNL

I havent seen the old version of the The movie Message or atleast dont remmeber the details however anyone wish to know what had happened when Hercules are presented with the Message from Rasool Allah sallaho alahi wasallam

Then let me know its an interesting read as narrated by one of the staunch enemies of Islam at that time.

let me know

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 0:04 #
  28. amin1924

Shikra

If you don't mind, are you and zjshami related somehow? I find quite many similarities in your ideas, style, writing and format with zjshami. Some ideas such as defamation and perspectives taken were same as you. Or perhaps some coincidence!

29. rocketrevolt

Offended and Personal ? Not at all!!!
    Thats where you've misunderstood and I've wasted sometime in explaining why I've asked those questions.Did you miss that post intentionally or just ignored it?

Plus I am curious too that those Muslims who have worlds knowledge about way of lives from ancient to present.Who have been giving away charitable pearls of wisdom on what way of life should be.What befell unto Muslims and how they could have avoided it would miss that basic info?I am just curious how that can happen unless its something else.And if i misunderstood it then I am sincerely wanting to help so that my Muslim brothers get that knowledge the right way not on random/messed up political forum where "aggressive" crocodiles are roaming around who would prey at those innocent souls. How is that offensive?

ps.I really want to help if I've misunderstood the question.And I might be able to help if given a chance!

ps1.And Please dont ignore this post now!

30. shikra

My dear JJ Khan,
    Even if me and zjshami are related, we represent different personalities.
    We hold independent views.
    It could be just a coincident where two persons hold the same position about an issue.
    It doesn't bother me at all if Mr. corocodile, Mr. SoofiSoul and Mr. Linkwheel are related as they have the same tone and frequency of expression.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 0:31 #
  31. amin1924

Fair enough, thanks for clarification.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 0:35 #
  32. msohail83

zjhashmi = shikra = JavedSheikh

They think they can fool the world. O uncle ji, this is 2009! Plzzzzzzzzzzzz

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 0:38 #
  33. NNL

Now thats a hatrick

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 0:41 #
  34. shikra

Does that pose any threat to the National Security if
    corocodile = NNL = Likewheel = SoofiSoul = msohail83 are five in one?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 1:04 #
  35. msohail83

No, but that's kinda cheap. Ain't it?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 1:07 #
  36. IronGuy

"What Was The Religion Of Arabs Before Islam?"

The one they curse the most now :)

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 1:14 #
  37. shikra

There was a time when Hanif, Wazir and Mushtaq from the same family were playing cricket for Pakistan but in their own style.
    Was that cheap?
    How is that?
    Son of a poet could be a poet.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 1:17 #
  38. msohail83

They were four different ppl. Here there is a one person using 4 different names, which is not only cheap but disgusting. Don't u think?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 1:18 #
  39. shikra

Better you ask the Moderators who have all the documentary record and proof.
    This issue has already been settled and you are wasting time.
    Here I am not obliged to disclose some of the details due to personal security reasons.
    This is not a Court.
    Moderators already know why Javed Sheikh decided to quit voluntarily.
    (He was not banned at the Forum).

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 1:40 #
  40. msohail83

quit and reappear as zjhashmi? lol

I'm willing to bet my appartment on this one. KiD YoU Not!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 1:42 #
  41. shikra

Then, my dear you are a looser. 100% looser.
    I live in Canada, JS lives in America and Zjshami also is from America.
    Why don't you address your concern to the Moderators directly?
    Is that not disgusting?
    After all does this issue need to be stretched?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 1:58 #
  42. rocketrevolt

"I'm willing to bet my appartment on this one. KiD YoU Not! "

o sohail pai jaan!! Ki kerday pai o? Na ker yaar!!...lol

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 1:58 #
  43. msohail83

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 2:04 #
  44. amin1924

A person can change name or nick, but not his habits, style, thoughts and writing format.

I reached above conclusion after a careful study and observation as an active member.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 2:11 #
  45. rocketrevolt

and if by apartment you meant your pack of cigarettes then "yeaaa!!! lets bet my apartment too" or "lets bet my car too-by car i mean the imaginary space vehicle that drives my imagination to the seventh sky"...lolss

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 2:14 #
  46. IronGuy

i already bet my White House and lost it

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 2:16 #
  47. SufiSoul

zjhashmi = shikra = JavedSheikh

They think they can fool the world. O uncle ji, this is 2009! Plzzzzzzzzzzzz !!!!!!!!!

If he is uncle than he should think again about his character as Uncle..
    Waisy lagda uncle hy.inna farigh JAWAN naie ho sakda...

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 5:28 #
  48. Polytheism is the belief in and worship of multiple deities, called gods and goddesses. These are usually assembled into a pantheon, along with their own mythologies and rituals. Polytheists do not always worship all the gods equally, but can be monolatrists, specializing in the worship of one particular deity. Other polytheists can be kathenotheists, worshiping different deities at different times. Polytheism is a type of theism (belief in one or more gods), but contrasts with monotheism (belief in a singular god), which is the dominant belief in the world today. Prior to Islam on the Arabian Peninsula in 622, the physical centre of Islam, the Kaaba of Mecca, was covered in symbols representing the myriad demons, jinn, demigods and other assorted creatures which represented the profoundly polytheistic environment of pre-Islamic Ancient Arabia. There were more than 360 idols placed in the kabah. The gods that were worshipped by the meccans were Allah, Hubal, allat, al-uzza, Manat, manaf, wadd, amm talab, dhul husa, al qaum and dushura etc they also worshipped Spirits like marid, ifrit and Jinn. They also worshipped monsters like nasnas, ghoul and bahamut etc. In pre-Islamic Arabia, Allah was used by Meccans as a reference to the creator-god. Allah was not considered the sole divinity; however, Allah was considered the creator of the world and the giver of rain. Allah was associated with companions, whom pre-Islamic Arabs considered as subordinate deities. Meccans held that a kind of kinship existed between Allah and the jinn. Allah was thought to have had sons and that the local deities of al uzaa, Manāt and al lat were His daughters. There were also some christens and Jews living in Arabia.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 7:33 #
  49. sasherwani

Wow such a simple question by ZJHashmi and look at the attacks he faces.

Damn!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 8:57 #
  50. Asli Moulana

i just came across a good work done regarding the Early life of Prophet Muhammad PBUH.

Its said that the Prophet was hanaf in belief since early childhood.

You will have to understand that Hanafyah to Arabs meant Staying on the religion of Ibrahim as is without distortion (i.e. Tawheed is preserved.

Thus it can be established that the Prophet wasnt one of the idolaters but was influenced by the Monotheism of Ibrahim.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Oct 2009 8:56 #