Whom I should vote? Need guidence

(77 posts)
  1. pak1stani

Next Year I will be voting for first time. Usually my family votes for PPP and currently I am inclined toward voting for PPP but just want to get advise if I should switch to PML-N or stick with PPP? or should my vote be based on candidate character and ability?

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 13:38 #
  2. saladin89

U mentioned switching to PML N or stick with PPP, have u been living on the moon or something!

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 13:41 #
  3. banjarbayabaan

If you think they haven't robbed the country and we don't have loans of $60 billions plus then keep voting for the same parties.

My parents have been voting for both PPP/PML(with different name) but I will not vote for the already tested anymore.
    My vote will be for PTI because you can't judge people without testing them.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 13:43 #
  4. scandinavian

The best person to answer this questions is yourself. You need to think about this:

1. How many chances have the current rulers had and what did they achieve?

2. Did they bring prosperity according to the potential of the potential Pakistan has?

3. Did they rule to loot and plunder? Have they taken loans and not returned the loans?

4. Did they pay their due taxes?

5. Have they been indulged in corruption?

6. Have they been indulged in nepotism?

If the above results in satisfaction by voting for the same people i.e. status quo, then go ahead and vote for PPP or PML-AtoZ. There is no difference between them. If you want a new Pakistan going towards prosperity and a welfare state, then think about alternatives such as PTI.

You need to have a clear conscience and have to live with what you decide. The choice is yours!

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 13:46 #
  5. Don't vote at all..don't support this evil and satanic system called Democracy.

Narrated by Abu Musa who said: Two of my cousins and I entered the apartment of the Prophet (sallAllaahu alayhi wa sallam). One of them said: Messenger of Allaah (sallAllaahu alayhi wa sallam), appoint us rulers of some lands that the Almighty and Glorious Allaah has entrusted to your care. The other also said something similar. He (sallAllaahu alayhi wa sallam)said: We do not appoint to this position one who asks for it nor anyone who is eager for possessing it.[sahih Muslim]

Please listen to the words of the Messenger of Allaah (sallAllaahu alayhi wa sallam)

We do not appoint to this position one who asks for it nor anyone who is eager for possessing it.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 13:51 #
  6. pak1stani

@ W Durani
    If I do not vote then what will happen ? will the satanic system (according to you) will be finished?

I do not know about PML-N but Mr. Asif Ali Zardari started support scheme and many poor people in my area get benefit from this scheme which I think is good thing.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 13:59 #
  7. @pak1stani

I am not worried that whether this satanic system fill fall or not..but by not participating in it..I will not be questioned in grave about it...I have already too many other sins to worry about.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 14:02 #
  8. Vote for IK....Vote for a Change :D

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 14:02 #
  9. I think, there is no leadership in present political parties, which is able and trust able. Pakistan is leaderless now. Pakistani Establishment is responsible for this. please, Just vote for better candidate.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 14:03 #
  10. @RhyMe

IK = Change for Worse..not good.

Please listen to the words of the Messenger of Allaah (sallAllaahu alayhi wa sallam)

We do not appoint to this position one who asks for it nor anyone who is eager for possessing it.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 14:07 #
  11. Reported on the authority of 'Abd al-Rahman bin Samura who said: The Messenger of Allaah (sallAllaahu alayhi wa sallam) said to me: 'Abd al-Rahman, do not ask for a position of authority, for if you are granted this position as a result of your asking for it, you will be left alone (without the help of Allaah to discharge the responsibilities attendant thereon), and if you are granted it without making any request for it, you will be helped (by Allaah in the discharge of your duties).[sahih Muslim]

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 14:08 #
  12. home

@pak1stani

Good question. Why don't you stick to PPP?

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 14:13 #
  13. pak1stani

@RhyMe
    Some of my friends who will be also voting first time are inclined towards PTI but currently they dont know who will contest election from PTI.

@W Durrani
    If one vote for religious party like Jamat Islami or Mualana Fazul Rehman Sahib party then will it be ok? or you are of the view that one should not vote at all?

In my opinion one must vote for betterment of Pakistan. and currently PPP performance is not so bad. Before PPP make Friday a holiday but later Nawaz Shareef changed it to Sunday. But I heard that this time Nawaz Shareef will change back to Friday.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 14:23 #
  14. scandinavian

"Before PPP make Friday a holiday but later Nawaz Shareef changed it to Sunday. But I heard that this time Nawaz Shareef will change back to Friday."

ooh, I see that very important issues are keeping your mind busy. Now, I don't wonder any longer why you are confused between choosing your side.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 14:26 #
  15. If you are happy with load shedding, Terrorism, Inflation then you vote PPP and If you liked massacre of ****,and incompetents leaders of Pmln then you vote PMLN.
    faisla aap k haath mein hay .)

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 14:29 #
  16. pak1stani

@Shirazi
    Before Mr. Asif Ali Zardari promise to finish load shedding but it become more and more which make life very difficult here. But I heard that Mr. Asif Ali Zardai has good relation with China and now china give lot of money to make electricity. I hope there is no more load shedding.

Yes one more thing before several people in my area go to foreign country because Pakistan Govt. give money, but for last several year no body can study in other country :( .

I think Pakistan need many highly educated people. My friends says that if Mr. Mian Nawaz Shareef win election he will give money to student to study in foreign countries.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 14:38 #
  17. banjarbayabaan

@pak1stani
    My friends says that if Mr. Mian Nawaz Shareef win election he will give money to student to study in foreign countries.

Isn't this the failure of the current and previous govt.s that they have failed to make good universities in Pakistan where people can get quality education?

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 14:42 #
  18. saladin89

@pak1stani

My friends says that if Mr. Mian Nawaz Shareef win election he will give money to student to study in foreign countries.

Is he planning to use the money from his swiss accounts?

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 14:48 #
  19. pak1stani

@ExPosed
    hmm you have some point. I also think previous all govt should have focused on education. Before Mr. Atta Ur Rehman planed making many universities and give scholarship to students to study but later unfortunately Mr. Asif Ali Zardari Govt. cannot continue. PPP should have focused on education and load shedding more and that's one reason I am thinking of voting for Mr. Mian Nawaz Shareef.

@saladin89
    I am not sure may be he will ask higher education commission to give scholarship to students.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 15:02 #
  20. saladin89

@pak1stani

Or maybe he won't bother and just dish out some jaali degrees!

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 15:05 #
  21. Mashal Rahat

Dont vote.Its time to make common pakistans aware of these current "Corruption Masters"..including all.

This system is a total failure.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 16:07 #
  22. khanamer

If you do not vote as many suggests here, then you have got no right to whine about the things going wrong in Pakistan. You have got no ethical right to say that the govt is doing good or bad. The problem in Pakistan is people do not want to move their A$$ and want everything workout for them. This ain't happen till everyone get out there and vote.

Vote whomever you see fit for your vote, and then ask them the questions if they are not doing what they suppose to do.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 16:16 #
  23. outspokenloud

vote for the change

vote for PTI

vote for Imran Khan

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 16:17 #
  24. outspokenloud

w Durrani,

the Hadiths you mention implies on N$ as well? 2 time PM waiting for the third ? just to loot & plunder !!!!!!

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 16:21 #
  25. HAQKIAWAZ

@pak1stani
    Check this gallup survey related to voters opinion regarding different parties and leaders and then you can decide yourself.

http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1101353478&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20111014

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 16:39 #
  26. home

@pak1stani

You are evaluating between PPP and PMLN, that reflects your political maturity unlike many on the forum.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 16:49 #
  27. @Shirazi

that reflects your political maturity unlike many on the forum.

That amounts to flaming. A clear provocation. Refrain from directing your comments as 'indirect but on target' jabs for 'many'........

Flamers and trawls are not welcome my dear.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 17:05 #
  28. expakistani

@pak1stani
    Ask same question to yourself.

1: Is Pakistan better today then 3 yrs?
    2: Do we have completed any major project like Electricity power plant ... maga ?
    Do you see MNAs and MPAs doing work for your city?
    Look at life style of your MNA/MPA... is it same as most of the people in your city

if Answer to most of they question are NO then stay away from PPP and PML. bcz they been in power on and off one shape or other for past 20 yrs.

Go for some one honest and regardless or Party even if honest guy going to loose in election your wouldnt be sad bcz ur voting for right person.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 17:13 #
  29. pak1stani

@khanamer
    i agree with you I must vote and that's why I am here. I think all people should vote with care, with logic, without any baraderism and self interest.

@Shirazi There are few other options like Mr. Mulana Fazul-u-Rehman sahib and Jamat e Islami or MQM or ANP but at the end they all make alliance either with PPP or PML-N so I think it will be better to vote directly to either these two.

Other choice is Mr. Imran Khan, some of my friend are thinking to vote for him but I do not know if he will have candidate in our area and who will be.

@expakistani
    Thanks for your questions.

Q1: Is Pakistan better today then 3 yrs?
    Ans. It is difficult question but I think load shedding increased and one darzi in our village is very angry (me too worried about my eid clothes). Also Mr. Asif Ali Zardari stop giving scholarship to students but he start support scheme for poor.

Q2: Do we have completed any major project like Electricity power plant?
    Ans. I do not know but I heard he is good friend of Chinese President and also Abu Dhabi President and he get power plant and money to generate electricity but still now lot of load shedding. and that's one reason I am thinking to change my mind.

Unfortunately our current MNA do not belong to PPP or PML-N and he rarely come to our area. But our MNA some time support PPP and some time PML.

I can understand your last point and its very logical but to tell you truth in my area honest guy rarely contest election :(
    because election need lot of money.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 21:08 #
  30. pak1stani

@HAQKIAWAZ
    Dear brother thanks for your link. According to thins survey Mr. Mian Nawaz Shareef is most popular politician in Pakistan. Do you suggest me to vote for PML-N because of this survey?

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 21:25 #
  31. stingingnettle

Cast a vote that will not just change your life but the lives of everyone.

You will have to dig deep for this.

A simpler answer; Vote for anyone who you think won't appoint his/her cronies to public posts.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 21:38 #
  32. expakistani

Bhai do you know any poor who is really getting money out of scheme for poor?
    if yes ask him how much and what he has do to get money.

- Having friendship with Chines president and King of Abu Dhabi is not going to help bcz they havent came out to help
    pakistani awam .... we are still short of electricity.. right?
    He stopped scholarship to students ... few of them had potential to build Power Generator plant for whole pakistan.

if you cant find hoest guy in your area... then think about running for election yourself. I am sure PTI, JI, and MQM would love to help your out

you might end up loosing very badly against all powerful choudires and vadera in your locality but will end up option for other people.

... vote is for your next generation, its not for you... if our parents would have voted for right person we didnt have to think about it corruption.

Posted 7 months ago on 15 Oct 2011 21:57 #
  33. pak1stani

After spending some time on this forum I think there is not much difference between PPP and PML-N. Now I am inclined towards PTI.
    I hope PTI will bring a better candidate in my area and I will vote for PTI along my other friends who will also be voting for first time.

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 18:05 #
  34. mangoman

^ You made the right decision friend. :)

But first thing first, have you registered your vote, I hope it is already registered...if not, no problem, just visit PTI official website (insaf.pk) to look for vote registration procedure, which is rather simple and straight forward...get your vote registered along with all your friends, don't delay it...we need all the votes to defeat this evil status-quo (led by PPP and PMLN and few others..) to get ourselves out from the mess that we are in and to bring a genuine positive CHANGE in Pakistan.

I will also be voting for the first time in next upcoming general elections (my vote is already registered), and will also vote for CHANGE, vote for Imran Khan and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Insha'Allah.

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 18:39 #
  35. salaudin

After spending some time on this forum I think there is not much difference between PPP and PML-N. Now I am inclined towards PTI.
    I hope PTI will bring a better candidate in my area and I will vote for PTI along my other friends who will also be voting for first time.

I never knew 'pkpolitics' ( lets say, WE) were that influential !!!

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 19:21 #
  36. Revivalist

Bro if you are sincerely looking for advise then please stop expecting from the rotten secular democratic/capitalist system, whose foundation is laid on injustice. No matter whoever comes he will play into the hands of elites sitting in the parliament and senate etc. We need a paradigm shift from this failed politico-economic system to Islam that surely is in the horizon now. So to bring about REAL CHANGE vote is not the solution rather a political and intellectual struggle is badly required......

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 19:23 #
  37. logic
    Inactive

there is a gang for 4 parties.....
    pml q + ppp + mqm + pti

any vote to pti will go to the pocket of zardari...as pti is only on this agenda by establishment to divide anti ppp vote bank .

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 19:35 #
  38. saladin89

@paki1stani

There are 4 parties who are apart of the corrupt system quo, which have done zulm on our people.

PPP, PML N, MQM PML Q.

Any vote to PML N will result in no change in Pakistan.

If u think PML N has done a good job, and u see Punjab flourishing with justice and educational institutes. Then vote for PML N. But remember there will be no change, as Zardai and Nawaz are both criminals. As some say bhai bhai.

Anyway welcome to the party of change PTI!

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 19:41 #
  39. mangoman

Considering the "friendly opposition" role of noon league and the absolute support that "Mian Nawaz $harif" gave to his brother and best buddy, Zardari the 10%, for the last 3.5 years...it is now crystal clear to everyone that a vote casted to Nawaz $harif PMLN would be a vote for Zardari PPP, and vice versa.

And not to forget Nawaz $harif golden words..."Zardari is my natural ally and brother, and I will support my brother Zardari even if his own party PPP stop supporting him".

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 19:46 #
  40. outspokenloud

any vote against PTI will benefit corrupts, crooks, looters, plunderers, thieves, zardaris, Gilanis, Qatils, & worst of all of them N$ & $$

VOTE FOR THE CHANGE > VOTE FOR THE JUSTICE> VOTE FOR THE FUTURE

VOTE FOR PTI

VOTE FOR IMRAN KHAN

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 20:11 #
  41. logic
    Inactive

imran khan vote goes to the same regime as he is dividing rightist and his votes will help ppp and co to win elections.

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 21:18 #
  42. saladin89

Whether it helps Mr10% or not, by voting N$ there will be no change at all.

N$ corrupt so is Mr10%
    N$ has property abroad so has Mr10%
    N$ a part of this evil system quo who does not want to change it, so is Mr10%
    N$ butt licks the US so does Mr10%.

The only main difference is N$ has paid 5000 rupees tax, Mr10% nothing!

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 21:39 #
  43. logic
    Inactive

having property abroad is not forbidden any where in islam....
    in islam there is concept of zakat and sadqa ..... and nawaz sharif gives most of that compared to mr.western khan.

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 21:42 #
  44. saladin89

No it is not, as long as it's his own money, and not looted from poor. Speaking of N$ giving more than IK, any proof?

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 21:45 #
  45. outspokenloud

saladin89,

so the difference between N$ & zardari is 5000 Rupees ?
    well I am ready to pay 5000 Rupees to beat hell out of N$ & by the way give me the price for Munafiq e Ala I will be more than willing to kick his A$$

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 21:54 #
  46. insaftak

Vote for people that declare their assets and pay taxes.

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 22:06 #
  47. stingingnettle

Logic;

"in islam there is concept of zakat and sadqa ..... and nawaz sharif gives most of that compared to mr.western khan."

I trust this was done through the banks organised system ie the money went to the state Zakat fund? How much approximately was this amount?

Did Nawaz just give away his zakat himself? And I presume this is what he would want everyone to do when he is in power ie not to bother with paying taxes but just 'give' your zakat without any proper paper trail.

As you know, Tax needs to be paid in addition to Zakat, so do you think our politicians, pay their taxes honestly?

Do you think our rich families pay their taxes honestly?

And lastly, do you think something should be done to make people pay their taxes properly or is the system working fine as it is?

Thanks.

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 22:12 #
  48. @pak1stani

Young people like you can bring change in our country not through votes but through street protest like Arab spring. Voting system has failed in Pakistan and it is useless where King makers (Army GHQ) is the final authority to choose leaders to run this country.

We need to get rid of current corrupt leadership from PML-N-Q to MQM to PPP to ANP and other small parties. They all are same with one point which is to plunder wealth of this country. Army (under the false pretext of India will attack us) has the biggest lootmar share then the rest is looted by 2% corrupt politicians/ruling elite, 98% public hardly gets 10% of national wealth.

When I protested against this system 25 years ago, I was silenced by my own friends/relatives/workmates that you have to learn to live under this corrupt system. I refused to accept bribe and everybody hated me at my workplace. They made my life so miserable and I got disappointed and finally I decided to leave this country for good.

You as a young blood can bring change but voting is total waste of time; change the system not just faces. We need a change like Arab spring. Read French Revolution and it will tell you how to get rid of behind the scene elites, clergy and corrupt politicians.

Good luck to you.

Posted 7 months ago on 25 Oct 2011 1:03 #
  49. saladin89

@paki1stani

u made the right decision brother

Posted 7 months ago on 25 Oct 2011 2:31 #
  50. mangoman

@ pak1stani,

I disagree wiith Sweettruth.

We need CHANGE in Pakistan, a peaceful CHANGE, and NOT anything like Arab Spring Chaos...Arabs are suppressed people with no democracy, no freedom of speech and expression, no free media...we have most of these things in Pakistan except democracy, what we have at the moment is fake democracy (or civilian dictatorship)...there is a tiny segment in our society who is pushing this fake democracy down our throats for their own personal and vested interests, this tiny elite class which is holding upto 80-90% of our national wealth is "the status-quo" (which includes, some of the political party heads and some of its corrupt members, few fcuked-up army generals, few greedy businessmen, few yellow journalists, few dirty bureaucrats, etc)...so you see, this tiny minority of status-quo is holding us (the majority, common people like you and me and our beloved country Pakistan) back pretty much since its creation.

Now the status-quo, for the first time in history of Paistan, is feeling threatened, and rightly so...and are now employing every resource that they have to spread confusin and fool the common people like you and me once again...some of their new tactics are...recently pre-planned **** kushti (fake fights) between the forces or rather partners of status-quo (PPP and PMLN)...a stooge and test tube baby of military establishment (Nawaz $harif), giving his fake anti-establishment speeches, just to gain votes and sympathies of people, a vote casted to Nawaz $harif PMLN will further strengthen the status-quo (PMLN and establishment)...their another tactic is to start calling the political parties and forces that are challenging this evil status-quo and wants to break it to pieces, as a part of status-quo, and start doing fake propaganda and spreading lies about them...their new tactic is to discourage the youth like you from registering their votes and not to believe in this system, b'coz they know very well that youth is against the status-quo and will vote for CHANGE...will vote for Imran Khan and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Insha'Allah.

We need to give a chance to REAL democracy in Pakistan and to get ourselves free from this FAKE democracy and civilian dictatorship.

Civilian dictator in center = Zaradri, President of Pakistan...pretty much holding up everything in his hands, by being the chairman of of present ruling party PPP.
    Civilian dictator in Punjab = Shabaz $harif, CM of Punjab province...a one man show, holding upto 20 provincial ministeries.

And remeber, once we have REAL democracy and REAL parliament and parliamentarians, we could further improve this system...make it as much Islamic (or secular) as we want (depends on the wish of majority of people).

Personally I want presidential system in Pakistan with smaller administrative units instead of provinces (like each former division as a separate administrative unit), b'coz presidential system minimizes "abuse of power" and promotes "check and balnce"...with Islamic laws (again subject to majority will) and full protection and freedom of religion for differnet minorities living in Pakistan...in short, a tolerant, peaceful, prosperous and welfare state of Pakistan.

Posted 7 months ago on 25 Oct 2011 6:03 #