Why?

(15 posts)
  1. I thought I should put forth my two cent worth of question into this discussion.

My question is, why Pakistan cannot produce enough electricity to meet its electrical requirements despite of the fact that Pakistan is a Nuclear Power and has vast resources of coal and natural gas?

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 21:21 #
  2. Political. The state of awam be publisized at an international level to make sure that aid keeps flowing into Pakistan and than in to the cofers of the political elite.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 21:25 #
  3. tamza2k

Silkccut... Pakistan is not running shortfall of power, these are the articificals issues with which our FAIR POLITICIANS want us to be indulged with so as to keep our eyes away fron real issues. I dont have a confirm source report but Pak is generating electricity more then its need, infact they are running in surplus. Did u ever notice that most of our backward villages are facing short fall problems? Did u ever think why more then 12 mours loadshading remains in backward areas? & in Urban did u notice night time loadshading? I think even a dumb person knows clearly that all the industries working timings are day time. So how can it be load on power generating companies in the mid night? Why power always remains off in backward areas? & if its on then why the voltage is so low? why why?,,.............think over these questions then u ll get the answer. Bloody awam dont know their rights which has given to them by their Consitution. We have the right to account our politicians but who?..................who

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 21:37 #
  4. misalligned

If they will use coal, solar, nuclear or hydal sources then who will eat commission in short term projects, small mobile plants

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 21:57 #
  5. tamza2k,
    I beg to differ! Electricity is short every where and even n the most posh areas. e.g in Karachi, DHA is one of the worst hit areas. I have been to karachi recently quite few times and usually that area, Phase 6, was suffering from 10 to 12 hours load shedding every day while in Peshawar, it was a joke where some stupid WAPDA people devised the formula of 1 hour off and 1 hour on ... It was again one of the Posh area of Hyatabad.

As regards to production of electricity, I agree with Semirza plus the fact that 80% of Pakistanis if not more steals/bypass electricity and almost same percentage do not pay taxes.

Politicians and our rulers are corrupt!!! Is there any 2 views? I am afraid NOT! but wat about the Millions of Pakistanis? I think instead of pointing fingers to known corrupt politicians and leaders, we should once look into our own selves.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 22:11 #
  6. So if the Govt is the problem then how can we fix this problem?

I am sorry, I have not been to pakistan in almost 11 years, so I am not aware of what the load shedding criteria is.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 22:12 #
  7. Khan Sahib, I forgot to mention Solar power which is free. Thank you for reminding me.

I think rich people in Pakistan have enough money to install solar panels on their houses. In addition, government should also provide rebates for private solar panel installation. Does anyone here agree?

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 22:14 #
  8. Solar power is not a cheap option and the initial cost can not be met by even the rich people in this era of global credit crunch!

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 22:23 #
  9. misalligned

we could make atomic bomb, sophisticated missiles, AlKhalid tank, a fighter air-craft JF Thunder, in our country. Soon we will deliver one submarine but its a shame that we could not produce solar cells, we dont make good batteries in our country.

Anyone will agree that above mentioned things are many times difficult to make by ourselves but our engineers have this much potential that they are making this. The only problem is that all of the above items are required by Army not by the people of pakistan directly and army is ruling on us, wait for the day when people of pakistan will take Govt. in their hands then we will start producing solar panels, batteries of world class, medicine etc

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 22:25 #
  10. To harness solar power is not difficult at all. Either you are going to install photo voltic panels, a direct but costly conversion, or you are going to use parabolic reflectors or concenterators, to generate heat and than convert it to power is also a viable and comparatively less costly but more demanding on maintainence solution. Again it is not rocket science in itself.

On the other hand wind power is a sort of indirect solar power as sun heats the earth resulting in hot and cold air currents. Where ever there is motion or heat, it contains latent power to be converted into electricity.

To have a working module, you should be aware of you total consumption in Watts, the production in Watts, your storage capacity, will you be storing DC in the form of a battery bank and than reconvert it to AC employing converters or DC to AC motor-gen combination for AC output, requires some home work to be done.

Further you can have a multiple system that can backup in the absence of the other. Like having a wind generator and solar panels, one for days when there are no currents, and the other to back up your reserves when there is no sun etc.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 22:34 #
  11. tamza2k

Khan u misundestood my statement..........electricity shortfall is a drama involving political issues. Look @ to my post what i have written & think over it. I am not promising but ll try my best to find that source report in which its been stated that ( dont remember the exact digit) electricity generation in pakistan is 40000 Megawatt (kind of figure) while our actual need is 2000. I know that how frquently power is getting off in lahore & karachi infact peshawar is far better then the other urban areas (Right now i am in Pesh. in lahore the situtaion is as worse as there is no hard & fast rule. Few days ago i was in lahore for almost more then a month & believe me in Johar Town( one of the posh area) after every hour power got off & if off timings started from 9 am then 10 am it was supposed to be on again but it seems if someone in wapda was watching the switch board & if a minute time had passed above ten 10 am then it did mean another two hours to go.

Whatever i am saying is that all these ELECTED ppl never want us near real issues. Look whatever is happening in SWAT? do u think its reality? come on drama all over drama is palying to keep us engage. I myself belongs to Swat & can tell u whats happening there by army?.......baqool Iqbal "KHODA NAY OS QOM KE HALAT NEHE BADLE NA HO JIS KO KHYAL AP APNE HALAT BADALNAY KA"

Apologise for the figure(4000MW)

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 22:51 #
  12. tamza2k,

I actually met 2 guys from swat, one in Riyadh and the other in Dubai.... And the stories they told me about swat, talibans and the army operation made me understand the reality. And do u know, whom I blame for the plight of Pushtuns??? Americans?? Zardari?? PPP??? PMLQ or PMLN?? MQM??? Punjabis??? Pak Army???? NO!!!!
    Any Guesses?

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 23:16 #
  13. tamza2k

u know few months back when i was in dubai i didnt have a claer cut idea about whats running on in my Village(swat)? but now i know, i know everything from my own view point. Regarding balming whom is another questions which will lead to hard realities simply i can conclude that we by ourselves are responsible for the plight. What Islam teaches us to RESEARCH..............comments to be secured

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 23:24 #
  14. Yes!
    Pushtuns are to be blamed for!
    And no one will come to help the pushtuns of Pukhtoonkhwa!
    No Zardari,No Nawaz, No JI, No Pak Army, No Punjabi,sindhi,muhajir will come to rescue them!
    Unless Pukhtoons get united..
    Get rid of the people who sold this brave nation in the name of nationalism(ANP) and sometimes in the name of ISLAM (JUP,JI)
    Unity is the call and nothing else!

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Aug 2009 23:35 #
  15. Okay the problem is not pushtoon or punjabis or anyone else. The problem is that there are areas in Pakistan where electricity is scarce.

I agree with the wind power technology as well. Solar, wind, and tidal power generation is not only economical in the long run, but it is also eco friendly. No pollution problem, no Carbon tax payments and no load shedding. I believe the government can increase taxes on cars and other imports to offset the costs that would incur by rebating solar panels or any other eco friendly power generating projects.

In addition, Pakistan should spend money on research and development. We blame India for almost everythng that hapens in Pakistan, but we fail to look at the fact that how far India has advanced in many technologies. We are still stuck on our Nuclear blasts of 1997/8. That time has long gone.

The time now is to further our nuclear technology to generate power and many other peaceful projects. I wonder how many car companies that manufacture cars in Pakistan, as in Pakistani car manufacturing companies. I wonder what is their quality? I also wonder when we would be glad to buy our own cars than to buy foriegn cars. I also wonder when we would be able to create a sustainable food supply chain. Even our own PIA is going under.

PIA used to be the fifth best airline in the world with many "firsts" to acclaim. Now we have leased planes that are half workable and most of the times are grounded by most countries because they are dangerous to fly according to these countries' standards.

I know whole system cannot be fixed in one day. In addition, we cannot simply blame Army and India. After all we forget that officers and soldiers of Pakistan's military also belong to the civilian families. Their parents, wives and children are civilians. Why do we raise the chances for Army to take over the whole country, because they are more educated than us or what? I have never seen or heard of American, British, or even Indian Army taking over the country. There is something wrong in civilian governments that needs fixing. The only way we can fix this problem is to elect proficient people that befit to serve our country, or stand ourselves in elections to serve our country the way it should be served.

I am open to any comments on these issues.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Aug 2009 0:33 #