Why are political parties dynastic?

(67 posts)
  1. stingingnettle

I am often struck by the dynastic nature of most of the Pakistani political parties and politicians. Why are dynastic political parties are most prevalent in developing countries e.g. Pakistan? My question is quite simple, why do Pakistanis put up with such nepotism? Do Pakistani political workers not have the mental ability or the self-worth to aspire to the top job in their political party? Is it a subservient mentality that is at fault or is it our national psyche?

Posted 7 months ago on 29 Sep 2011 22:23 #
  2. mangoman

^ It is "illiteracy" my friend.

Posted 7 months ago on 29 Sep 2011 22:32 #
  3. stingingnettle

@ mangoman

I am not convinced it is illiteracy. I am certain that even the most illiterate person is able to understand the connection between hard work and reward. It almost feels like the 'glass ceiling' effect on a national level. I think the problem is deeper or may have other causes. I am certain most rational people reject nepotism outright in their heads. You don't need to literate to do this.

Posted 7 months ago on 29 Sep 2011 22:40 #
  4. Rizwan Qaimkhani

It is tribal thinking!

Posted 7 months ago on 29 Sep 2011 23:51 #
  5. saladin89

@mangomen

There are a lot of nooners on this forum who back N$. However they are not illeterate. Despite N$ wrongdoings, they back him tooth and nail.

So can illiteracy be the reason.

I think it is something deeper than this.

Posted 7 months ago on 29 Sep 2011 23:57 #
  6. home

It's not just our political parties. Imam Hassan and Yazeed's claim to power had similar roots. Even militants like Hiqanis run Jihadi dynasty.

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 1:50 #
  7. bsobaid

My friend razi, iam afraid you are in the wrong here.

Jo day oss kaa bhi bhala, jo naa day oss kaa bhi bhala

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 2:13 #
  8. home

@bsobaid

What part do you disagree with?

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 2:49 #
  9. siddiqi73

>>>It is tribal thinking!<<<

This is coming from a poster who supports a party involved in terrorism, extortion,blackmailing etc. etc. Irony!

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 14:15 #
  10. stingingnettle

I suspect as a nation we are mentally lethargic and suffer from a paralysing fear of change. The most obvious evidence of this is our national obsession with nostalgia. If nostalgia was a competitive sport, we would be world champions. Nostalgia always gives birth to nepotism. We seem to believe that a son or daughter of a leader somehow has the same qualities as the father or mother. Plainly absurd I say.
    I wonder if there is a way out of this.

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 17:08 #
  11. sochopakistani

People of Pakistan are "Circus key shers" who never knows he is called king of Jungle. The masters don't let them realize their potential. People must rise and start questioning any illogical act / policy of their beloved "leaders".

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 17:18 #
  12. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Hope these pimps and their offsprings of Pakistan Mujra League (N) (it is not an allegation but the truth what was found from room of current chief minister of punjab and his three known marriages and unlimited out of the wedlock relations he may have) and leeches of PPP go down.

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 20:36 #
  13. saladin89

^^
    @RQ

What scandal are u talking about?

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 20:43 #
  14. Rizwan Qaimkhani

sex toys discovered from shahbaz room after these baghoray escaped to KSA in 90s :)

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 20:50 #
  15. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Who needs these recycled leaders and their incompetent offsprings anyway other than people who have zero iota of intelligence. till we have that lot, Pakistan is destined to be ridden by such corrupts. aik narra nazar NS kay chahnay walon kay liyay:
    ADHA **** ADHA KHABEES. NAWAZ SHAREEF. NAWAZ SHAREEF

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 21:10 #
  16. saladin89

@RQ

when did this happen?

I am aware of N$ saying to KIm Barker that ************** for state secrets. But this is something new to me.

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 21:12 #
  17. Rizwan Qaimkhani

I don't know why are you surprised, these people are quite lowlife to start with. A person who can offer his daughter for privlages is much severe than sex toys recovery. What can I say it may be a norm in their family:)

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 21:21 #
  18. saladin89

@RQ

We should not bring the daughter into the forum, she is our sister and it is not her fault that she has crooks as a father and uncle.

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 21:26 #
  19. siddiqi73

Lol, story of sex toys being glorified by a guy whose leader got dumped by his wife just cause he couldn't get his manhood to bark at all......should have tried Viagra, you know!!!

Adha **** tumharay us makrani belly dancer say phir bhi acha hai....at least he don't kill people for fun nor does he extort money through his pimps to fund his "improvished" lifestyle in London

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 21:46 #
  20. Rizwan Qaimkhani

well So9,
    It is not about who's daughter we are talking, it is about people with no integrity. who can enslave the nation for their personal interest in a blink. Any intelligent being can put it in perspective.

Besides, do I hear a dog barking or pig oinking or is it a hybrid:) We should name it POG or DIG:)

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 22:08 #
  21. saladin89

" would u like to be the girlfriend of Mr10%"

what is N$ then

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 22:10 #
  22. siddiqi73

HAHAHAHA, talk about enslaving a whole city on the whims of a con artist and thug sitting 5,000 miles away....by all means, even this can be put into perspective by anyone sane.

And we have been enlightened enough and have got our share of spiritual calmness by looking at a hybrid of insaan/mujra dancer/singer/baboon based at Edgware Road.

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 22:13 #
  23. siddiqi73

@saladin89,

>>>" would u like to be the girlfriend of Mr10%"<<<

Trust me pal, NS did not mean to offend you when he asked you to render your services to AZ.....all you had to say was NO!! :)

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 22:15 #
  24. Rizwan Qaimkhani

NS, pakistan ka ghaddar, we have lost KArgil war and kashmir because of this manwhore NS (Read it as the pronounciation instead of separate letters :)). Besides, let the POG do whatever he is doing to himself:)

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 22:16 #
  25. saladin89

u are flying in the air again

It was N$ rendering services for Mr10%.

"would u like to be the girlfriend of Mr10%"

what does that make N$?

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 22:17 #
  26. siddiqi73

@RQ,

hehehehehe.....I bet you and your party can smell a ghaddar from a mile away, obviously you would since y'all our good at making maps of a certain Jinnahpur and the rest of the nonsense.

@saladin89,

Buddy boy you have got some real fixation with Kim Barker here...are you sure that NS did not ask Jemima Goldsmith Bhabhi this question which has got you so riled up?

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 22:24 #
  27. saladin89

The fixation is not from me, but from N$ who was willing to sell state secrets to her, for her services.

N$ kim barker ko nahi pataa saka, aur aap un ka naam le rahe hai.

Keep on dreaming bro! u make me laugh

Now to the question I asked earlier what does it make N$?

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 22:27 #
  28. saladin89

Does it not make N$ also ghaddar when he was willing to sell state secrets?

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 22:28 #
  29. siddiqi73

@saladin89,

So I guess IK was also a sell-out and a ghaddar of the highest order cause' he married a Jew girl, right?

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 22:32 #
  30. saladin89

Firstly bro as far as I am aware she accepted Islam. Maybe not to your high standards of N$ who not so long ago was pleasing the Indians and saying we are the same.

Secondly IK had no state secrets to tell her, it was N$ who had the information.

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 22:36 #
  31. stingingnettle

Gentlemen, once you are finished with your insults could you come up with something constructive please? My question is about change, why is it so hard to change this tradition of nostalgia and dynastic politics? What is it that sustains this madness? How do we go from dynastic to meritocratic?

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 22:39 #
  32. saladin89

^^

The awam are the problem brother, who support these corrupt leaders such as N$ and Mr10%.

If awam does not want to change then what can u and I do!

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 22:43 #
  33. stingingnettle

@Saladin89

We cannot afford to be fatalist and condemn yet another generation of Pakistani youth to a life of servitude and misery. It is you and I and everyone else who must act and act now to bring about awareness in our 'awam.' If we won't, no one else will. Feeling helpless is no longer acceptable. We are the 'awam.'

I want to hear the views of anyone who thinks dynastic politics is necessary or desirable.

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 23:04 #
  34. Rizwan Qaimkhani

whoever believe in Zardari or NS support them has his or her seal of approval for such politics.It feels like we are living in the times of Louis the fourteenth, and these crooks are descended upon us. Lashoon aur biradarioun ki siasat, till we have these curses, Pakistan will remain in the sad state of affairs.

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 23:11 #
  35. stingingnettle

Perhaps it is easier to manipulate people who have an empty stomach. Rizwan, your right, it is a sad state of affairs but an untenable one. We must bring about a paradigm shift. The million dollar question is how?

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 23:27 #
  36. spruce

Since illiterate community elect asif zardari a corrupt person and educated community elect killer,bhutakhor type of person Altaf Hussein and double faced leader like N$ then who left behind whom you and me vote.

All are totally dishonor, lair and falsified people, although sin may be small or less but it is great until no one wish to repent in front of Allah.

Such politicians have no religion and no faith on father, brother even on Allah.

Pakistani populace have to call for massive revolution to eliminate zardari,Altaf,nawaz shrif,fazlu, corrupt beaurocracy and bring new talented ,honest leader with great ideas to improve system within Pakistan.

First priority should be given to health, employment, education, energy, environment and equality presenting a better future for the people of Pakistan.

With new leadership we should construct small dams to overcome the water shortage in the country, power generation would be promoted and the menace of load-shedding would be ended.

no one should be allowed arms on campuses and even in Madrassas. The education curriculum will also be revised in line with modern education.

Every citizen should be given equal rights, as we are living in a global world in order to fulfill its requirements we have to change our thinking but this will only be possible if the Constitution is held supreme and the judiciary is independent and the democracy prevails.

Until 50 to 70 year old people with dirt minded, corrupt politicians, beaurocrete will continue to govern on us then there is no hope for prosperity.

As I said PPP, MQM, ANP, PML-N to Z, current beaurocracy with all their fake leaders should not be tested more and must be eliminated by massive revolution.

Vote for those candidates who have no affiliation with ethnic group.
    Ethnicity is a curse and such parties should not be allowed and we need all united nation of Pakistan parties.

Every new leader should take name of Pakistan in his campaign not any ethnic group to violate the rule.

I hope it will work and will solve the problem of Pakistan.

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 23:35 #
  37. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Well, try bringing, it will be hijacked by unforeseen forces, leaders will be bought, manifesto will be changed and nation will remain stray because majority lacks sincerity and insight.

Posted 7 months ago on 30 Sep 2011 23:39 #
  38. Rohail Taqi

People like sid73 or other supporting Hamrkhor-**** and/or Haramka-Zardari are mindless kimmi kameens .

They are unaware of the joys of freedom and the right to choose representatives, its their inner desire of having a 'lord', a 'mai-baap', or a 'malik' who can disgrace them continuously and can quench their thirst for humiliation.

Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 1:35 #
  39. expakistani

Jo Abba ji ney kia woh beta ji bhi karta hey.... thats kind of nature we have

Ab doctor that to at least eik beta doctor baney ga... Aba Army main to eik beta arma main.

its goes in same way for politics...? i guess

Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 3:36 #
  40. Rizwan Qaimkhani

to expand further: abba na ahl hai tou baita bhi na ahl niklay gaa:)

Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 3:46 #
  41. siddiqi73

Baap agar kaala/ugly/mujra baaz aur haram kay tukroon par palnay ka aadi hai (Altaf Hussain.....tu beta (Mustafa Kamal) bhee aisay hee niklay ga.

I have expanded a bit more here.

Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 5:52 #
  42. spruce

i have explianed in this link how politicians are dynastic

Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 5:54 #
  43. karim

Agreed that dynastic politics is no good and specially under the garb of democracy. The most dynastic party in Pakistan is PPP. Now their 3rd generation is getting ready for the loot and plunder.

But unfortunately those cursing this dynastic politics on this thread what do they have to offer the nation??

A politics of bhatta/extortion, ransom, killings, bloodshed, ethnical hatred, separatist desires???? If that is the alternative than we would be better off with the dynastic politics than their politics of hate and terror.

You guys are mistaken if you think that **** Altaf is the only irritant, actually that rabbit hole goes much deeper inside the mustaqil qaumi mujra.

Those who think that haramkhor Mustafa Kamal is some how a better alternative to Altaf, should know that he's a habbitual liar and have been caught lieing on camera so many times.

This is the real face of these double faced, treacherous and ghaddar namak harams.

Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 7:44 #
  44. siddiqi73

Freaking A we would be better off with these dynastic parties as compared to the terrorists who are ruling the roost in Karachi at the moment.

Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 7:47 #
  45. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Again a POG squealing, actually make it two:) Probably need more phujay ki filth:)

Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 16:24 #
  46. stingingnettle

From reading all the comments (and ignoring expletives)it appears to me it’s the devil or the deep blue sea for the Pakistanis as far as who rules them is concerned. As the American would like to say we are caught between the rock and the hard place. I think in this multi-polar debate; we need to focus on us, the people.
    At present we the awam are alike a water-buffalo sitting in a muddy puddle on a hot day. Unless, on an individual and national level, we actively seek to make our awam aware that a dignified and meritocratic life is, not an option, it is the option.
    I have always believed that use and control of state media like PTV is the worst kind of mind control paid for by the people who most need change. Either reorganise PTV on the lines of BBC (run by a completely independent board) or get rid of PTV altogether. I am completely at loss as to why to people allow this state extortion called TV license fee to be imposed on them. I think it is about awareness and terrestrial TV ie PTV is perhaps the best way to control or free the minds of our people. What do you think?
    The son of a doctor being a doctor is very different from Bilawal or Hamza leading the parents’ parties. I am sure you would agree that whilst the first proposition is not a problem but the second one is a pure form of corrupt nepotism.

Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 16:57 #
  47. siddiqi73

@RQ,

Home boy, the only thing squealing, singing and acting like a bun-ma-mus is a certain Don with a constipated disposition sitting in London. Couldn't agree more that he is a filth of the highest pedigree.

Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 17:09 #
  48. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Do I hear squeal again, someone must be twisting the tail:) Happy twisting:) Hey twistee:)

AS to Sting:
    Are you presenting PTV for Pakistan's politics or is it literally criticism on PTV. If it is criticism on PTV, than it is no longer 80's. As Pakistani, we have choices for our electronic entertainment. We have more TV channels, Radio choices, sattelites communication and more importantly the internet. YEs fees is an extortion and does not hold grounds as PTV is not the sole source of information as it used to be. Hope I did get your point if not than please elaborate.

Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 17:32 #
  49. aftab arif

He should have just admitted it, instead he was caught lying, which made it look worse then it actually was.

Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 18:46 #
  50. stingingnettle

@Rizwan Qaimkhani

First of all,thank you for your comments.
    Yes, I accept that the 80s was the decade of hell for a lack of media freedom and choice. I appreciate that there is a plethora of audio visual channels at the disposal of the population but the there is only one default terrestrial channel PTV which you can receive on any television set from a box as opposed to the subscribed channels which require decoders etc.

For generations that grew up on an inescapable diet of PTV programs they suffer from nostalgia and hence do not want to criticise PTV. A national TV service is exactly what the name suggests; a national TV service. It is not meant to serve individuals or a party and it is especially not meant to justify Government actions or inaction. I do not doubt that PTV has produced some brilliant programmes especially viz a viz Pakistani music but it has done irreparable damage to the minds of Pakistani by being an instrument of propaganda in the hands of whoever was in power. This is insufferable in the 21st century and we must do something about PTV. Perhaps you remember when Mr Musharaf took power, he sent soldiers to occupy PTV Islamabad as one of his first actions.

My point is that the people of Pakistan cannot and must not pay for the eulogies of the rulers. I am not certain about what is the diffusion level in rural Pakistan of the hundreds of new channels, but I would hazard a guess, it is probably minimal. At this point it is rural Pakistan that most need to come out of dark place and smell the fresh air and PTV cannot do that in another hundred years.

Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 20:49 #