Why Can't Pakistan be the Super Power of the World

(30 posts)
  1. amin1924

I am sure when someone says something like title people may not oppose but deep in heart say that 'wishful thinking'. They think we don't have money to run the government, how can we become an advanced super power of the world. Due to extreme economic hardships dozen of people commit suicide, how can this country become super power.

Last time I shared just one economic policy that can turn the tables upside down and show the real potential of this land, but what I am going to share now will make many surprise.

Regarding ownership of public property Islamic Economic system states that "people are partner in three things, fire, water, natural resources" -based on Hadith of Muhammad pbuh. This means neither any mulltinational nor any government company can own any of these that belong to people. Only people can take benefit from these and state has to provide these at only cost of delivery/processing, no tariffs!!

Just like our great agriculture, this land is also blessed with so much high quality natural resources.

Below figures/data is based on various sources, all fellow members are welcome to correct me if any figure is incorrect.

1# Allah has blessed us with 800,000 sq km area. This is bigger then Germany & Great Britain combined!

2# Allah has blessed us with 6th largest population and 19th largest work force! Population currently 172 Million.

3# We have 1,000 KM long warm sea water shore. Russia & China are desperate for access to this sea shores. Singapore a tiny island without any natural resources but only with sea water port & human capital has about 200Billion reserves! Why can't we have more?

Ingredients needed for Industrial Revolution

#1 Aluminium 7,000,0000 Ton capacity of extraction. Key element in manufacturing of Aircraft, Cars, Ships, Trains, Computers, Infrastructure

#2 Copper, 2,000,0000 Ton capacity. Key element used in electrical instruments.

#3 Zinc, Chromium, used for medical, chemicals, batteries etc

#4 600 Ton gold discovered in Changhi, Balochistan. Not including copper which is also there in same field

#5 Sliver, 20 Ton

#6 Iron 600,000,000 Ton per year

#7 Marble, one can say 'unlimited'

Energy Resources

#1 Coal, 4rth largest reserve found in 9,000KM area of Thur, a capacity of 1,840 BILLION TON !
    Only from this one reserve if we utilize 2% coal Pakistan can generate 20,000MW electricity for 40 years.
    This reserve has more energy than who of Saudi Oil!!
    Just one reservoir!

#2 Gas production 6th largest in Asia, 215 Trillion CM

#3 Adequate oil reserves, 5 Billion dollar oil refinery.

#4 Indus Wind Corridor, only through that wind corridor 50,000MW electricity can be generated!

Agriculture Strength

#1 Pakistan has 20,000,000 acre cultivatable land of which only 50% is utilized!! 10,000,000 is waiting to be utilized!

3rd largest and sophisticated canal system, bigger than Russia!

#2 Pakistan alone produces more wheat than whole of Africa & South America combined! A 22Million Metric Ton with only 50% capacity!

#3 Current average yield from 1 acre land is 2.2 ton, Mexico's 1 acre yields 5.5 ton. Look at the potential, from 50% of cultivation with 50% of yield we get 22Million Metric Ton!!!

#4 Egg, cattle, sheep, fruit, vegetable, rice all is more than enough for this land and Pakistan in in top 20 in most of these.

We have 1.5 Million engineers/scientists/technical people. 5,000 PhD scholars.

Yet we are told you are poor, you are miserable, you are egger. Our people are forced to sell their kidneys to continue living, committing suicide due to extreme economic conditions.

Because of IMF gas/patrol tariffs we have about 3,000 industry closed. Poor selling their children.

Idea is to highlight our general potential, not debate figures/numbers, if any subject specialist has anything to add, feel welcome!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 9:27 #
  2. Ifzal

I feel and I can sense from forums like this, the media and the common public that a huge revolution (+ve One) is on its way in Pakistan. We should all come together to take out these corrupt leaders from our lines.

JJ its a very good effort and I think most of us know this but the only way to utilise these resources is to bring those people in front whom are real Pakistanis, whom have a vision for Pakistan.

Majority of Pakistani are illetrate. here at this forum we are all MashAllah a little educated and can identify good and bad. So y not help those who don't have access to knowledge and discussion forums like pkpolitics. Spread this message of being Pakistani. Help them identify their friends and enemies and help them identify their potential.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 11:04 #
  3. Anonymous

We should talk sensible. A country which is finding it hard to endure from internal threats, like Taliban, Population Explosion, Corruption, Mismanagement, Insecurity, Poverty and freedom movements etc; it will be a big achievement if survives.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 11:09 #
  4. Revivalist

Mashallah AMAZING figures!!!!! Look at the amount of resources we have in Pakistan alone, alas having all these resources we are suffering from loadsheeding, poverty, unemployment etc and rely solely on debts!!!!

When khilafah will establish not only Pakistan but the whole Ummah will be benefited from the resources we have. Besides, all these figures mentioned expose the corruption and ineffectiveness of the so called rulers. The time has come to discard democracy and its piousness fruits (Rulers) and bring the system of true justice and tranquility which when implemented made poverty an alien word!!!

In short we have all the ingrediants that is needed to become the superpower!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 11:15 #
  5. amin1924

Bebus,

Kindly tell me which point isn't making sense and I'll sincerely try to review/research it again.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 11:18 #
  6. shikra

Yes Pakistan could be a Super Power of the World, if its government and people learn how to behave for achieving the status of superiority.
    There could be more than one Super Power.
    Fifteen to twenty super powers can survive to maintain check and balance.
    The more Super Powers the more safer would be the world and humanity.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 11:36 #
  7. Anonymous

@JJ Khan

Dear friend.

If you read my earlier comment again and try to understand it, you won't be asking me the question.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 12:58 #
  8. nadirshah113

JJ khan your figures r almost correct..as a pakistani the more u know about your resources the more your frustation grows while it should be the other way..reason being corrupt or unvisionary leadership..i am geologist so i knew about pakistan resources when i was university student & i always wondered why cant we progess despite so many resources (in many cases our resources are more than whole europe)..the only answer was leadership failure..we will never be able to utilize our resources untill a true devoted visionary leader take charge of our affairs (mard e momin zardari is not capable i guess, infact we need exactly opposite of him)..
    we have 5000 PHDs while america produces 5000 PHDs every year while its population is 40% more than pakistan..70% of total world trade is in engineering goods..so what do our leaders needs to do?..i think first of all they need to invest in most important resource of any country "human resource"..we should educate our nation, that should be our first priority..second INDUSTRILIZE pakistan (but not only with cotton mills).
    But to progress there must be peace n justice in our society..which unfortunately is not present at the moment..

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 13:46 #
  9. amin1924

NShah,

Thanks, it is refreshing to see feedback from a subject specialist!

Our politicians scare us that if we don't get IMF loan we will default, they scare us that if we don't sell our assets we will become bankrupt, they blackmail us!

Solution is Islamic Economic system, only principals of this economic system ensure that all these resources do not end up in few hands. Also this system enforces that people get the benefit on these natural resources at cost of processing/refining/delivery.

This system needs to be implemented along with other policies of Khilafat.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 15:17 #
  10. izbaek

pakistan should try to emulate Germany,japan,southkorea or Switzerland type of model.

it should solve all border disputes with india,reduce its size of army.in return it can get another big market of size of 1 billion+.

we have no problem with economically strong pakistan .
    economic interdependence on neighbors (import or export) will ensure there is no problem for pakistan.
    moreover india is an ideal nation who believes in peace with peaceful countries.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 15:23 #
  11. amin1924

Izbaek,

Don't worry ghonda power isn't the goal, revival of the whole nation is the goal!

No need to emulate anyone, they will emulate Pakistan!

We don't need 1billion size market, 1billion size market needs us and depends desperately on Pakistan for access to west!

India doesn't believe in peace else they would never engage in covert operations to destabilize Pakistan, they are cunning enemy!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 15:29 #
  12. izbaek

@ j k
    kuch jyada hi chhoor rahe ho :)

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 15:44 #
  13. zia m

We need more scientits and engineers.We need to reform the madrassas to produce peace loving citizens instead of hate mongerer mullas.
    Japan and America were bitter enemies not too long ago they are allies now.
    I'm sure religiously oriented people and secular Pakistanis both have Pakistan's best interest at heart.We need to rise above ethnic and religious prejudices to create a peaceful society.
    Time and again Pakistani masses have rejected the religious political parties.Now they want to force their views on the masses under the veil of Kalifah.I am sure the Pakistani masses are smarter than they are given credit.
    Taliban will help shatter the hopes of orthodox religious elemnts.People are clearly seeing the contradictions in their actions.
    The best advise for Khalifah fans is to work with masses to produce better Muslims instead of their rant on the internet
    Islam is religion of peace.
    Peace!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 16:01 #
  14. amin1924

Zia M,

If you look at madrassa from another angle you can see that this social service is absorbing poverty problem by providing free education, free shelter, and free food.

Of course reforms are needed everywhere, singling out madrassa case shows your prejudice against Deen-e-Islam. Where was extremism before 9/11? It was all good back then, but now liberals don't miss any chance to demonize them!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 16:14 #
  15. chechen

We need to reform the secular education in line with madrasa and not other way round to produce honest citizens instead of corrupt to the core 10% that have been looting the poor country.

None of the politicians are graduates of the morally supreme madrasas and zia has nerve to blame them. Pathetic!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 16:15 #
  16. @zia m
    1.We need to spread education but not at the cost of religious norms that are life and blood of a mo’amin, so forget madrassas as the tide is turning towards evangelical Christian activities on rise in Pakistan.

2.By giving an example of bitter enemies and now friends, don’t equate Japan and America to India and Pakistan, as here a hindu is the biggest concern that can never be friends to a Muslim.

3.The way I see the political future of Pakistan is the Right, the Left, the religious party and a panel of military strategists all four working together, so forget Khilafa phobia. Pakistan and Islam are inseparable.

Take my advice. Any attempt to brainwash Pakistanis by anybody, against Pakistan and Islam (from what ever school of thought it may be) is futile and remains wishful thinking.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 16:22 #
  17. zia m

Calling for reform is NOT a prejudice.
    We do need to reform our education system to produce more scientist and engineers....i already stated that.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 16:26 #
  18. zia m

@Semirza
    Evangelical christians and Taliban are two sides of the same coin.

I was not refering to India,we equally,if not more hate America and always blame others for our shortcomings.It is always easy to blame others instead of reforming ourselves.

I consider most Muslims as moderates and have no problem with that.

I strongly believe in the Pakistan envisioned by our Founding Father.There is no need for brain washing.Only religions are very good at brain washing.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 16:43 #
  19. izbaek

@mirza saheb

1. has india attacked pakistan first in any of the wars?
    2. did india initiate kargil?
    3. has india told you to spend money on defense and spend nothing on education
    4. your ideas match with general zia text books notions about india.............

has we attacked any of our neighbors. india could be the only major power which gets bullied by nations like bangaldesh,nepal ,srilanka

did we tell srilanka to supress lankan tamils ?
    it was their oppressive policy which created ltte.

india hardly considers pakistan as a threat.future lies with indo-china equations in asia.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 16:56 #
  20. Yes and that was 1965. India attacked at midnight with a single assault of 600 tanks at once, and this remains in historical military records. We occupied Chamb and Jowrian including suchait garh and mona pahari from the western front. India was unable to cross the border canal as planned attack on Lahore. The famous dogfight over Lahore is also a known military world record for air marshal noor khan who shot down 5 Indian fighters right above Lahore.
    So much steel and brass scrap was left over that Itfaq foundries (a huge complex) keep running on this scrap for years.
    India was unable to defend itself as the LOC observers were there to testify as Indian tanks were destroyed right inside Pakistan and remained there as a proof!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 17:05 #
  21. izbaek

@smirza

but who started it ?

who invaded kashmir?

do u remember operation zibraltar

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Gibraltar

Operation Gibraltar was the name given to the master plan by Pakistan to infiltrate Jammu and Kashmir, the northernmost state of India, and start a rebellion against Indian rule. Launched in August 1965, Pakistan Army soldiers and guerrillas, disguised as locals, entered Jammu and Kashmir from Pakistan with the intention of fomenting an insurgency among Kashmiri Muslims. However, the strategy went awry from the outset as it was not well-coordinated and the infiltrators were soon found. The debacle was followed by an Indian counterattack that resulted in the 1965 Indo-Pakistani War.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 17:10 #
  22. @izbaek
    Pls observe it that I do not wish to be involved in such distracting debates, that are kms away from the original topic of this thread. Just keep it in mind that people like me cannot be distracted by comments from people like you who have no experience of what they are talking about specially you are a blank from 1950 onwards till you were born. From the choice of your words I have concluded that you are a victim of mis/disinformation. India was is and remains an agressor to Bangladesh, Nepal, Srilanka, Pakistan. You accept it or not, makes no difference. From my side this topic of India and Pakistan is concluded.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 17:18 #
  23. shikra

The story of India-Pakistan conflicts start when Mujahideens from Pakistan were organized and motivated to invade Kashmir in 1948.
    It is also on record that Gen. Gracy, the first Commander-in-Chief of Pakistan, refused to accept the commands from Governor General Qauid-i-Azam Mohammad Ali Jinnah, to boost the aggression.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 17:19 #
  24. izbaek

@s mirza

i am older than you.i am 86 years old.

yes its no point converging to india-pakistan debate

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 17:26 #
  25. nadirshah113

@ izbaek
    WOW! you think we should beleive hindus who dont even beleive themselves..it is india who has hegemonic thinking not pakistan..u think india is peace loving? not true, based on chankkia doctrine its impossible for her to have peace in its neighbourhood..look at neighbours of india, Pakistan srilanka nepal bangladesh evry country has some problem cuz of indian involvement..pakistan wud have surely spent on development if india didnt posed a threat to its existence..come on man! nobody is buying your ****..
    For sure Pakistan is not a threat to india but india is the biggst threat for pakistan..
    How can someone trust you..indian leaders are the biggest liars followed by americans..they change there statements from one airport to another..how can somebody trust them..

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 17:29 #
  26. @nshah
    Nobody will, and nobody should. I have posted an article my Meera Nanda. I hope forum scholars may find it interesting.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 18:24 #
  27. Anonymous

I may be wrong but I feel that Moderator is biased.

(yes you are wrong)Like I said contribute to a thread, not distract others!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 19:11 #
  28. Anonymous

Real power of Pakistan is its human resource ( or human capital if you dont mind the term). you look at the current emerging markets and it is their human capital that fuels their progress.

We need to create a conducive environment for our awam. Worl economy has opened up so much that awam will make their own way. We need to develop our human resource. We need to develop skills in uor human resource so they could contribute to the economy.

Cottage industries and smart marketing people. Infact, we need smart marketing strategies from smart marketing people. I am sure we will get enough expertise and capital to setup cottage industries in our villages and towns. Pakistanis living abroad could be an asset for this kind of business.

Setting up good primary and basic education is a long-term goal. We need to set up good technical universities and institutes that teach our youth skills to contribute to our society right away. I'd concentrate more on higher education and technical education that basic education for now. Both are important but given the economic constraint and bad governance we have to pick one out of the two.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 19:17 #
  29. Migel9

The Muslims world is in this mess today because of the plunders and stupidity of Muslim leaders who care more for powerless thrones and their pocket books. They do not care for the welfare and safety of their people..They all want BEACE..WOMEN WINE YOUNG BOYS FOR CAMEL RIDES..Revolution is the only salution.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Aug 2009 19:19 #
  30. @Why Can't Pakistan be the Super Power of the World?

because we have to get rid off Zardaris ,Sharifs ,Chudhris ,Sardars ,Alatfs ,Mullas and Ghundas yet.

Chalay chalo ...kay manzil abhi nahin aye.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Aug 2009 11:47 #