Why Hate??? Why Fight???

(35 posts)
  1. Why Hate????

I have been reading posts of PK Discuss on my mobile regularly but could not login and give input since long due to some personal reasons. Recently I have seen very heated arguments between few Sindhi and Urdu Speaking blogger like Rizwan Qaimkhani, Irshad, Scindian, quaidkamazar, d0ct0r, Rohail Taqi and many others. I felt sorry to see deep rooted hatred in the argument of bloggers of both sides. It is pity that we contain so much hatred for each other despite the fact that we are Muslims and Pakistanis. Before going any further I want give brief introduction of myself.

I am first Muslim, then Pakistan and then Sindhi. I love my all these identities and I have reasons for that which I can explain if required. Apart from Sindhi, Punjabi and English, I am a lover of Urdu literature specially Urdu poetry. Hali, Ghalib, Mir and Iqbal are my favourites. I like and respect Urdu Speaking people and my two oldest and closest friends are Mohajirs. We love and respect each other. I have studied in Karachi in 70s in 5th, 6th and 7th class. We lived in Jacob line just opposite to Capri Cinema, there were barracks there at that time I studied Quran in Thanvi Masjid. Although we lived there for just three years but I have very pleasant memories of that time. Originally I belong to interior Sindh. I have been visiting Karachi regularly afterwards for job, for meeting with friends and for vacations so Karachi is like second home for me. Recently I spent one month in last June (During our Summer Vacations) in Karachi in DHA to help my friend in establishing his new business office. By profession I am educationist and I enjoy respect of lot Urdu speaking students of mine. Before joining education department I worked in various fields for five years and travelled extensively in Pakistan specially in Sindh.

The purpose of telling all that is not write my biography but to show that I am not a naïve person about relations of Sindhis and Mohajirs. I have never seen such level of hatred in my 46 years life experience which I am seeing now. Why???? That is my question.

What are the grievance of Sindhis and Mohajirs against each other? Before answering that please note that we all Sindhis, Mohajirs, Punjabis and Pathans are not son of the soil we all are immigrants. I can prove that if required. So Sindh and specially Karachi is not property of any community. So why not respect each others rights and try to live peacefully and help each other in growing and getting what we deserve.

Remember nobody can not get a penny more than what Allah has written to his/her Taqdeer.

Look at all Metropolitan Cities of World, all have multicultural and multi-linguistic societies but all of them are living peacefully. Take the example of NY and London.

My Sindhi brothers will raise objection to my point that why they are not son of soil. Yes we are not. We are descendents of Arabs, Balochs and other Invading nations who invaded Sindh from time to time from all Sides. For Example: ZAB (Bhutto Arain a tribe from Punjab) GM Syed (Syed=Arab), Qadir Magsi (Magsi=Baloch) Bashir Qureshi (Qureshi=Arab) and so on.

My Mohajir brothers will raise objection to point that Karachi is not their property. Yes Karachi was there before 1947 very nice and clean City. Yes not so big and industrialized but it was there and port was functioning. Muslim Sindhis, Hindu Sindhis, Iranians, Khojas and Memons were there. Look at few buildings of Old Karachi like NJV School opposite to Radio Pakistan and many other such building. We can rarely see such vast and beautifully built building in modern Karachi. So Karachi was there. Yes we admit Immigrants did a very good job in expanding and modernizing this city. But other communities were also there partners in this process of making Karachi Such and modern City.

So point is why fight why hate?

This world is temporary place to live we shall die very soon. Death is in-evitable so fight for such temporary place.

Mera paigham Mohabat hay jahan tak pohchay.

I have written this piece for pleasing my Allah in this holy month of Ramazan. So if anybody feel offended from any of point I beg my pardon in advance.

Posted 9 months ago on 25 Aug 2011 3:16 #
  2. saladin89

well come brother, and a very nice post... I agree with u, but the reason for this fighting is because of our so called polticians. That's what they want us to do. Especially in the cases of mohajir and pathan or sindhi, and sometimes punjabi.

We all are muslims first, then pakistani and then whatever u like to be associated with.

As long as we have these corrupt polticians ruling and confusing our awam, this will carry on.............

But we need to overcome this, and realise what the likes of AH, N$ and Mr10% are doing to us. Let's all get together and rise above these arguments and fighting, and killing and become one again..........

Posted 9 months ago on 25 Aug 2011 3:43 #
  3. Hussain Farooqui

Hatred is boosted by politicians for their political designs. It then begins take place into the minds of common people. Hatred is not good for anybody against anybody.

Hatred is always destructive. It is not surely productive.

Posted 9 months ago on 25 Aug 2011 6:44 #
  4. 2011pakistan

hatred on ethnic grounds actually boost political polarism.

Mohajirs vote MQM,
    Sindhis vote PPP,
    Pathans vote ANP.

so, this type of poltics actually beneficial to PPP, MQM and ANP.

No thrid party can make ground in Karachi.

Present type of politics will prevail.

Posted 9 months ago on 25 Aug 2011 6:49 #
  5. Adonis

Very nice post by Pakistani47.

I wish all Pakistanis start thinking like that.

Ameen.

Posted 9 months ago on 25 Aug 2011 12:06 #
  6. scindian

Nice article

Some thing random from my side

I was born human, my parents told me that Allah has created me in this world, and they also told me that the Hazrat Muhammad (PBUH) told humanity that "there no god except Allah", my parents also told me that i am a Muslim man,I talked to my mother in my mother tong.

My father took me to villages and cities of Sindh, he told me that Sindh is in Pakistan and Pakistan is in Asia and Asia is in this world.

Our Molvi sahab told that learning Arabic and Quran e Pak is sawab for Muslims,during my Quranic education.I was also told that shia, Qadiani, and Hindus are very bad people only sunni people will go to paradise.

When I grown up our govt school teacher told me that if you want monitory success in life, do concentrate on English language.

At university level, I was told that there is injustice with Sindhi's in Pakistan, I started to search on Pakistani history, I found that, we were being taught wrong history of Pakistan, After reading Muslim history and science books written by Muslim and non-Muslim scholars, I came to conclusion that "every living and non living thing in this universe is striving for survival"

Humans have fought wars for better life,economy.

There is qoatation in Sindhi

"chhaji yari bashee aa Muaamilo sajo Muashi aa"

in Urdu it can be translated as

"Kahe ki yaari baashee hai, Muaamila sara Muaashee hai"

In english

"We are all together and friends, just because of economic interests with one an other"

Posted 9 months ago on 25 Aug 2011 14:12 #
  7. Why Hate??? Why Fight???

Posted 9 months ago on 25 Aug 2011 15:16 #
  8. quaidkamazaar

very good initial question and good ideas mate.

i personally think hate is embedded in us very deeply by now which started long time ago. it started when we thought East Pakistanis were not real Pakistanis... that was hate as well when you think others are inferior.

maybe its not the question of hate but its a question of feelings of "superiority", having more rights to the land than others.

i dont think Sindhis and Urduspeaking hate each other, they have very brotherly relationship overall. their cultures and mindset at times are very different and both have learned to respect each other very well. one problem I have noticed is that uneducated and even some educated Sindhis are very dependent on braadri system and have this culture of keeping all resources within themselves, this + quota system of the past has created divisions between Sindhi and Urduspeaking...

problem can be solved if Karachites, not just urduspeaking everyone are given what they want and deserve which is local bodies system. this anarchy type system of Administratorship does not suit such a city in this day and age because it clearly does not improve the city. cant we just look at the democratic local govt of the past and see for ourselves what changed the city.

Posted 9 months ago on 25 Aug 2011 15:40 #
  9. quaidkamazaar

on another note, I would like to bring to your attention the alienation of Muhajir community by having continued operations against them in 90s and everything that had happened before... you cannot suppress a community and expect feelings of love to come fore... its completely natural that all of this had to happen.

to this day people on this forum do not accept MQMs mandate and this will only increase feelings of hate.

Posted 9 months ago on 25 Aug 2011 15:47 #
  10. Rohail Taqi

My mother tongue is Urdu but I am not Muhajir. As far as I am concerned, I have already apologized once for my comments against one community and I fully understand that it is really shameful to attack any community verbally let alone physically.

Having said that I agree with quaidkamazaar and want to add that people should be allowed to govern themselves, such is not the case with Karachi. If some PPP goons think that they can handle Karachi like they do their goths, they are committing a grave mistake.

Posted 9 months ago on 26 Aug 2011 2:07 #
  11. spruce

@quaidkamazaar

Who said people in Pakistan hate MQM or Muhajirs?

you want from people to clap give reward to MQM by killing innocense people.

My answer is that people hate criminals not muhajirs any party produce criminals deserve to be hated party.
    If people hate MQM then why they not destabilized Karachi during mqm was in power because all ethnics proved to be peaceful citizens and they felt Karachi is growing it means Pakistan is growing that what people love to see Karachi a peaceful city.
    In politics sometimes MQM or other will be in power with their own management and they should have to remain calm and should wait for their turn to do good what they wish.
    Accepting others is not a policy of MQM.
    MQM killing people and claiming that they are educated community where Islam taught that killing a human is good deed as they claiming that they are doing good job.
    MQM based on hatred and ant Pakistan movement when they are away from power.
    Allah released the rope loose for such mafia but when the rope will be tightened by Allah they will be destroyed like Hitler.
    if MQM put down their guns second day will be peace from All.

i am surprised that still pashtuns have not been in war if they start war there willbe bagdad like situation of karachi if MQM of stopped killing to pashtuns.then all knows how they fight.

Posted 9 months ago on 26 Aug 2011 2:10 #
  12. Hussain Farooqui

Good people of any place are good for all, so they are loved by all. Bad people of any place are bad for all, so they are disliked by all.

Let us try to promote goodness!

Posted 9 months ago on 26 Aug 2011 5:51 #
  13. Dear Friends, I can put forward very logical argument for refuting arguments of my friends of both communities, but I wont as it would be a never ending discussion and nobody will backoff from his claim. However I want give link to famous poem of Khwaja Majzoom a famous scholar and saintly man modern times.

Jaga dil laganain kin yeh dunya nahin hay
    Hay Ibrat ki ja yeh tamasha nahin hay.

http://www.urdupages.com/showthread.php?t=45197

Posted 9 months ago on 27 Aug 2011 6:53 #
  14. pakistani47 - As per you kind invitation. Let me begin by saying that no morality on earth can ever justify hatred and anger between peoples, whatever set of beliefs anyone might be part of.

Karachi was the city in which I spent my childhood years, It was the cleanest and safest place on earth. Then circumstances took me out of the country for many a long year. But each time I returned to Karachi with the same sensation of returning home and each time it was shock rather than any kind of familiarity which awaited me.

Karachi belongs to the whole of Pakistan. Any talk of Sindhis and Mohajirs and Punjabis and Pukhtoon or Balochis is absolutely the wrong way to go about approaching the heart of our country. As human beings we are letting ourselves down if we define ourselves in ethnic terms, remember that.

Karachi must go back to what it once was, a refuge for any Pakistani seeking its helping hand. What should be done now that so many unbelievable things have already taken place in its streets and alleyways? You'll forgive me all, but I think Imran Khan's suggestion is the most apt at the moment: Depoliticise Karachi totally. Deweaponise the gangs. Remove all its highly unjust laws, especially the ones regarding who has or who hasn't a right to free education.

Now that Zulfiqar Mirza has spoken out so clearly, that may well be the direction in which we are heading. If Karachi is saved, the rest of Pakistan will be as well. And then there's a fair chance that anger and hatred amongst fellow Pakistanis will slowly dwindle away and finally vanish.

Posted 8 months ago on 01 Sep 2011 15:45 #
  15. kulla

Forgivess is better than hate and revenge. Unless we learn and practice this, nothing will change. WE must forgive and forget the past, and look ahead and plan for the future of Karachi as multi cultural and multi ethenic society, tolerant of all political ideologies.

This my friends is an uphill battle which we cannnot do without a sincere leader.

Posted 8 months ago on 01 Sep 2011 16:29 #
  16. Thank you Mirza Sahib,

Well I never tried to put forward any argument before fan club of IK. But I think you are appropriate person to discuss about IK positively.

I know IK sind 80s when I was young and IK was my favourite fast bowler. I played cricket actively in my youth and I understand the game. He was my favourite. Specially his in swinger was the best in the world. I can never forget the sight when he clean bowled Gundapa Wishwanath an experienced Indian player. That ball moved almost two feet and the batsman thought that ball is far away from off stump and he hung his bat in the air but ball swung so much that he was clean bowled.

The way he led Pakistan in WC was brilliant. Having said that I saw many scandals about him at that time as I was keen reader of Akhbar-e-watan and cricketer both magazines were all about cricket.

I noticed that he is selfish, arrogant and egoist man. I dont want to discuss his sex scandals. But the negative attributes described above can not make a person good leader.

What do you think Mirza Sahib??

Posted 8 months ago on 01 Sep 2011 20:35 #
  17. pakistani47, you brought back fond memories from the past. Nostalgia is at times a source of great strength. Now as regards Imran Khan, I'll not contest any of the adjectives you use to describe him: "selfish, arrogant, egoist". If we could get a saint to lead Pakistan, we'd do so like a shot. But the problem is very few saints and, alas, no angels are to be found in our world today.

What stands in favour of Imran Khan in today's political landscape is his overwhelmingly honest record. There is no one else as far as I can see who could arouse the same degree of trust in most of us. Also, bear in mind, pakistani 47, as life goes on, we human beings change. Perhaps IK has changed too on some of his earlier shortcomings.

Or then perhaps he hasn't. So let's put it in negatives now. Everyone else has been given a chance, often several chances and they have NOT proved their worth. On the contrary. They have let us down resoundingly. Imran Khan is the only one who has NEVER been given a fair chance to take Pakistan in hand. Why not give him this chance now, especially since his political programme has the merit of being both reasonable and, to a large extent, feasible as well?

I expect you, too, must have some candidate in mind to lead the government of Pakistan when the present team goes pakistani 47. If such is the case, tell us whom you favour so we can carry the discussion a step further.

Posted 8 months ago on 01 Sep 2011 22:41 #
  18. pirbodla

@ Pakistani47
    Although, you had started a reasonable topic, but as the discussion progressed you lost your ground just with one stroke.

In your introduction you described yourself as an educationalist, but in your follow up discussion, you have not shown a speck of refinement. I am sorry to say that when you describe the supporters of PTI, as ‘IK Fan Club ’, it does not depict you anywhere above those mischief monger delinquent rookies.

You should bear in mind that just as you have the right to support anyone who you think fit to run the country, so have the others. Off course, IK being a top cricketer with charismatic personality had a vast number of fans internationally, but unlike you I was never his fan for the reasons you have mentioned. However, having been impressed by God guided change in him, I support him and find him the most fit person to run the affairs of the country without evan being his fan and so do all my acquaintances. In fact, lot of his fans, as were you, have deserted him for various temptations.

IK has never claimed that he had been a saint, but now he is a changed person. There is no justification to dig the past of a person who becomes a god-fearing person. He may not be Ibrahim bin Adham who relinquished the bed of roses to become a saint, but still his change is phenomenal. No sane person can deny that he is far above the corrupt lots, such as Zardari, Ghellani, Nawaz and Altaf. One should not forget that all the Suhabas of the Prophet attainted highest status after they changed.

My purpose of writing all this is not to convince you about IK, surely, you are free to criticise IK as much as you like. However, refrain from caustic remarks about those who support PTI, for the dignity of your profession. It would be better for you if you leave this job for those uncouth disciples of corrupt lot. BTW, if you have anyone in mind that you think would be better than IK, please let us know.

As regards the topic in discussion, I must say that unless we mend our ways, this hate and disunity is leading our nation to utter devastation. It has been painful as well as disgraceful to see these blood-thirsty miscreants desecrating the holy month of Ramzan without any shame. How sad that these political rogues overlooked even the blessed words of the Holy Prophet which he enjoined during his Last Sermon.

To save ourselves from the path of destruction, we should frequently invoke this Dua:
    رَبَّنَا ٱفۡتَحۡ بَيۡنَنَا وَبَيۡنَ قَوۡمِنَا بِٱلۡحَقِّ وَأَنتَ خَيۡرُ ٱلۡفَـٰتِحِينَ (7:89)
    Our Lord! Lay open the truth between us and our people, for You are the best of all to lay open the truth. [7:89]

Posted 8 months ago on 02 Sep 2011 5:31 #
  19. Hussain Farooqui

Our private media is also playing role. They project the people who express hatred and abusive language against each other.

Posted 8 months ago on 02 Sep 2011 6:21 #
  20. Dear MG,

Well I respect your views. You must have reasons to believe that IK is honest and trunstworthy but I am sorry to say I have reasons not to believe him as you said. I dont want go in details of it. Somewhere in my previous posts I mentioned few bits of it. But I refrain from going into discussion at length as I am virtually afraid of IK supporters because of their usage of foul language. I can not tolerate it that is why I go away from forum for many many months. But then people like you and Salam sahib give me hope to come back and participate.

Well as far as my candidate is concerned, I can not see any. Although I am not supporter of JI and I do not support present Ameer of JI but I think Qazi Hussain Ahmed had the qualities of a good leader but due his compromise with JUI he got bad name otherwise he was great and he is great but quite old now. Well let us give a chance to IK then see what comes out. May Allah forgive our sins and bless our nation and Ummah. Ameen.

Posted 8 months ago on 02 Sep 2011 6:27 #
  21. Hussain Farooqui

Dear pakistani47

The concept of using parliamentary language in our politics is rare. If you review the history of the subcontinent before 1947, the concept of using parliamentary language was strong. Despite strong political difference, Muslim Leaguers and Congressmen never used non-parliamentary language against each other. The politicians using non-parliamentary language like Sardar Patel were not imagined as any first class leaders.

It is our irresponsible media which provides opportunities to all uncivilized people to utter any nonsense in the name of politics. Their irresponsible behaviour is boosting hatred, abusive language and intolerance in our civilized society.

Posted 8 months ago on 02 Sep 2011 6:36 #
  22. @pirbodla

Well term fan club is neither abusive nor derogatory but still it irritates you so much that you start personal attacks. I am sorry if you were hurt with this term. Would you please forgive my mistake.

Hazrat Umer R.A. the great Khalifah-e-Rashid and Sahabi Rasool S.A.W. was publicly criticized but he never took it personally and explained about the matter in question very politely. So I would advice supporter of IK to be tolerant please.

I have replied about choice of my leader in my reply to MG but I will put forward few lines here if a person possesses these qualities then he is my leader.

1. Nigah buland, Sukhan dil-nawaz Jaan pursoz
    Yehi hay rakht-e-safar mir -e- karwan kay liay

2. Yaqeen muhkam, amal paiham, mohabat fatih alam
    Jahad-e-zindagani main yehi hain mardoon ki shamsherain

3. Ho halka-e-yaran to barasham ki tarah naram
    Razm-e-Haq o batil ho to folad hay momin.

4. Aay Tair-e-lahoti us rizq say hay mout achi,
    Jis rizq say aati ho parwaz main kotahi

Posted 8 months ago on 02 Sep 2011 6:51 #
  23. pakistani47, I'm so sorry people have been putting you off from participating in the Forum through the sheer brute force of abusive language. The insult is often mistakenly thought to be a witty form of speech.

I haven't been around too often recently so I don't know what grounds you may have to doubt the veracity of IK's reputation for honesty. But no doubt, as we go along, I'll be picking up on it as well. Anyway, as far as I am concerned, I give him the benefit of the doubt for the moment. As for JI, whoever is leading it now, PTI and JI have always been in a loose alliance brought together, among other things, by their common refusal to take part in the sham elections which has given Pakistan its present form of government.

Thank you for your final, graceful concession. And, along with you, I too beg Allah's forgiveness for our many sins, both collective and individual.

Hello, pirbodla, hope you are feeling better now. Time will do the rest as it has done for so many of us already.

HF, Quite true, we are into a culture of verbal agression without end. It matches the armed agression which has overcome our present world. God willing, we are entering the last phases of this horrid time in history, i.e. WWIII. part one: the Muslim Wars.

Posted 8 months ago on 02 Sep 2011 11:24 #
  24. pirbodla

@ Pakistani47
    Dear brother, I am sorry if you have felt somewhat offended by my remarks, which you might have considered short of proper prudence. Let me assure you that it was not my aim to degrade you, but instead to upgrade you above those clowns, who are always around for jotting few lines with their usual banters. Let me be clear that I consider the term ‘IK fan club’ nothing more than a futile sarcasm coined by few washed out losers and I never take any notice of it.

However, I did not feel comfortable seeing a person of your calibre involved in a noble profession to use such an insipid term. Such vacuous and sarcastic phrases only suit for use by some shallow humdrums. This was the reason I raised my objection, but unfortunately you did not pick my point. Otherwise, I have no objection to your criticism of IK’s past, and I have already agreed with your opinion.

Nevertheless, I do feel that he has changed now, and he is the only one who fits to the ideal of Allama Iqbal to some extent. Surely, he is bold, upright, firm and resolute person who does not believe in a disgraceful living.

As regards Qazi Hussein, I cent per cent agree with your choice and so does Imran himself, despite that lot of his supports are not comfortable about it. Finally, I must say that I had detected your fine disposition from your opening post. It is my wish that we have more people like you on this forum who only preach love and unity.

@ Mirza Ghalib, I am grateful to you for your kind words - may Allah bless you.

Posted 8 months ago on 02 Sep 2011 15:52 #
  25. kulla

gheebat and hate speech is more chat patti, then forgiveness, love and respect thats why....

Posted 8 months ago on 02 Sep 2011 22:31 #
  26. quaidkamazaar

lets try to argue logically,
    where does hatred and fighting generate from?

it starts from "taasub" or pride. why is there "taasub"? because Pakistan was never a nation to begin with! it was a country made up of many nations. Each nation thinks that the other is eating too much of the pie.

My Theory: Make Pakistan a loosely formed dominion with smaller and more powerful provinces that govern themselves. This will stop all the fighting as everyone is responsible for themselves in this loose dominion.

Posted 8 months ago on 03 Sep 2011 6:27 #
  27. spruce

@qkm

well this is not ur theory but planned by someone?

such dreams were shown to you people by Altaf whose motive was hatered among communities so forget such dreams and search for altaf where he is hiddden now.
    if u have problem locating him may be i shall help you because he is passing the days of his deeds which he sew since 80's.

such theories were tought you people but will not work now because we know what u want to do with pakistan.

u people loose the faith and now no one will faith on u people, u hate every ethnic so we will not let you people to own the international city, this is pakistan's property and we all will good care of our city.

Posted 8 months ago on 03 Sep 2011 6:59 #
  28. Hussain Farooqui

National problems do arise in all the countries, but their wise leaderships solve them. The problem with our nation is that we have no wise leadership in any political party to solve the problems of complexed nature.

Posted 8 months ago on 05 Sep 2011 6:49 #
  29. Talash

Aray Bhai We are Punjabi Speaking but Love Urdu As our National Identity........Jo Lisaniat ki baat kr rahey hein wo Paisa kha rahy hein "UNN" sy.......

Posted 8 months ago on 05 Sep 2011 7:04 #
  30. HF, first question to you: where on earth do you see any "wise leadership" anywhere? All I see in the west nowadays is unlimited greed and desire for war. Does that qualify as wise leadership?

Now hats off to Irshad and Kulla. The former has reiterated our faith in Pakistan and its future. I couldn't agree more and the latter has stated a basic truth about what Pakistan means linguistically. Like in Switzerland, the vast majority in our own country our bilingual to trilingual. Whatever our mother tongue, we are ALL Urdu speaking. And often add a third language to the mix. So to be playing the language card to claim possession over the heart of our country, Karachi, is contrary to facts on the ground and commonsense. Thank you to both of you for seeing the situation so clearly.

Posted 8 months ago on 05 Sep 2011 8:28 #
  31. Hussain Farooqui

MG

The problems of racism, regionalism, sectarianism,,etc. are found in almost all the countries.

Wise leadership means a leadership that controls these problems wisely and don't let these problems go out of control. In our country, the problems in former East Pakistan were mishandled and led to the division of Pakistan. Similarly, no wisdom is being applied in the problems of Baluchistan and FATA. Unlike Pakistani leadership, Indian leadership is controlling so many separatist movements and not letting their problems effect their rate of progress so badly. They have such wise leaders who take decisions in the best interests of their country.

I agree with your viewpoint that being the national language of Pakistan, Urdu is the language of every Pakistani. All the Pakistanis are thus Urdu speaking people.

Posted 8 months ago on 05 Sep 2011 8:57 #
  32. spruce

we need unity which is best solution to bring country towards prosperity.

Posted 8 months ago on 05 Sep 2011 10:37 #
  33. HF, true enough. Defusing ethnic problems is a sign of wisdom. Who could disagree? However, it pains me to say this, but how can anyone hold up India to us as an example of "wise leadership"? With their 22 (by latest accounts, apparently)separatist movements, their incredible actions in Kashmir over the years, etc., India for me is no measure of any form of success. Their economic successes are also most unconvincing in my eyes, leaving as they do millions in shattering poverty and benefitting only the upper classes. Sure, East Pakistan went. We still mourn over the loss. But our situation today is quite unlike that of our bigger neighbour. We are at war and have been so for the past ten years. Whatever else is happening in Pakistan today is subordinate to that sad condition.

Glad we agree over our right to be called Urdu-speaking. And while on the subject of language, this morning's Jang tells us that plans are underway to make Chinese-teaching compulsary as of class 6 in our schools. Occasionally, even the stupidest amongst us, come out with a brilliant idea.

Posted 8 months ago on 05 Sep 2011 11:43 #
  34. Hussain Farooqui

MG

I reckon India as a successful country in economics in terms that it now stands as the 12th largest economy of the world. Regarding merciless actions of the Indian government against the separatist movement, similar actions to keep the country united are being done in:

1) China Against the Tibetians.
    2) Iran against Baluchis and Kurds
    3) Saudi Arabia against the rival tribe of Aale Saud
    4) Turkey against Kurds

But all the above countries are not as disturbed as our country. The merciless actions in the above countries are being done to control the affairs of the country.

Posted 8 months ago on 05 Sep 2011 13:09 #
  35. We'll not quarrel, HF, over what constitutes a successful economy and what doesn't. But I do agree that some people are doing their utmost to keep their country in one piece while others, among them some of us in Pakistan, are doing their level best to help break up the country we were given as a gift in 1947.

Posted 8 months ago on 05 Sep 2011 16:52 #