Why karachi is so fragile and vulnerable?

(63 posts)
  1. wantinsaf

Karachi being an important part of this country plays a great role in our economy.But karchi has failed to reach its true potential for many reasons like voilence,incompetency and promotion of ethno-nationalsim to name few.Recent wave of target killing will again worsen the situation and eventually affect the city badly.
    The way politics in Karachi is practiced needs to be changed.Politics based on ethno nationalism is stopping karachi to become Dubai of Pakistan.Voilence can be erupted at any time.Foreign players have presence in crime world of city and peace can be disturbed in seconds.
    people of Karachi needs to wake up.Don't get mitaken whole the pakistan needs to wake up politically.We don't need to support politicians who exploit situation using ethno nationalism and hatred among different ethnicities.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 May 2010 9:25 #
  2. Hussain Farooqui

Yes, the politics of Karachi need to be changed to better. But the problem will not be solved by only improving the politics of Karachi. Karachi hardly has a share of 8% seats in the NA. The other 93% are held by others. Let us talk about improving the other 93% politics of Pakistan too.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 May 2010 9:35 #
  3. kionkay Karachi aik Razia hay jo ghundon mien phanse gaye hay .

Posted 2 years ago on 20 May 2010 9:40 #
  4. Hussain Farooqui

choosy

iss waqat poora Pakistan hee America gaiysay gondoon kay hath Razia bana hoya hai.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 May 2010 9:48 #
  5. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

This will do it -> impartial, across the board, FAST!, non-discriminatory justice which obeys Islam's standards

Posted 2 years ago on 20 May 2010 9:52 #
  6. @Hussain bhai ,
    baja farmaya aap ne ..

Posted 2 years ago on 20 May 2010 9:58 #
  7. siddiqi73

Trust me, MQM will now cry hoarse "Kay Asal mein Razia tu MQM hai ju ghoondoon mein phasee hui hai!"

Posted 2 years ago on 20 May 2010 13:42 #
  8. rehanahd

Karachi is the city which is being controlled under various mafia's

- MQM Mafia controls central Karachi including North.

- Jiay Sindh holds Gulistan Jauhar, Korangi Industrial Area.

- PPP Lyari Group is setting foot in Saddar, Meethader, Lyari, Kharadar etc..

- ANP have hold in their own areas Sohrab Goth...etc.

This target killing is a gang war which is being all these mafias supported by ppl in Govt. This Gang war is to increase influence for extortion,Land grabbing and clearing opponents.

If any one think the reasons are different than stated above, his opinion is welcome.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 May 2010 14:01 #
  9. syedhussain

karachi is a fragile city as compare to other cities ok pakistan because karachi is a town where many ethnicities lived together. I am sorry to say but after living my whole life in karachi and indulge with almost every ethnic group, I realize that the ethnicities in pakistan are not tolerant with other ethnicities. in more cruel words, pakistani ethnicities are racist , they don't like each other, they don't want to work, live, play with each other. thats why we see suhrab goth, banaras, itehad colony and gulistan johar for pakhtuns. layari, sher shah, kemari, for sindhis. and ofcourse urdu speaking , muhajirs a.k.a makkar, pajamas, bhaiya group, terrorist, racist, ghaddar, panah geers, scattered around all over the city. i use these terms for urdu speaking as I heard these words from different ethnicities (i am punjabi by the way ). the irony is that in karachi every violent act automatically related to MQM , no matter what are the evidences. That doesn't mean MQM is free of violence. Before MQM, the violence part and activities are fir JI and pakhtuns. as bhai rehan wrote, i fully agree,, its a war between mafias and criminal organizations.
    But as I wrote earlier in some post, we shouldn't forget the role of agencies/rangers/military. In the past, agencies ignite the ethnic violence by killing one person from MQM and then MQM start killing their rivals and the game is on. You never know may be some other force or third party is involved in the recent killing started by murdering two MQM workers. as we see all parties workers are murdered JI, MQM, ANP, Haqiqi.

P.S. I just read from pir sahab that he is very sad on these incidents and MQM request hazara and pakthuns to calm down and do not bring their war on province in karachi. karachi is for all BUT actullay karachi is for those only who have guns.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 May 2010 16:40 #
  10. rehanahd

@syed Hussain

Bhai you are quite right. But forget about agencies now, now the fight is for bhatta collection, land grabbing, holding of areas before next local bodies election etc. You may refer to last target killing spree which was between lyari (PPP) and MQM over control of Saddar and Garden Areas.

Keeping Gun is not only things, its a political control which at the moment in true sense MQM is enjoying and thats y you will see yesterday killing is full of Pathans because they control all critical small businesses.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 May 2010 17:31 #
  11. Karachi is very fragile because first of all its an economic hub and Business center of Pakistan and Business centers around the world attract people and along with people very tiny minority of gangsters and criminal as well....So its the same thing here that many gangsters and criminal organizations across Pakistan come here to disturb this city and in order to save themselves they latter associated with some Political parties or influential groups and due to very politicized nature of Govt. institutions in Karachi like Police, municipal and other administrative institutions they get free hand in doing all those things in Karachi....

Next are few banned outfits and Taliban type organizations who came here to stay away from battle field and for them Karachi is also their financial center as well as they collect their finances by Bank robberies and kidnappings and many times by illegally fund raising in Masjid where they are supported....

Ethnic factor is very important here in all this as Parties that are doing politics in Karachi have ethnic support...like PPP has Sindhi Baluch support in Karachi, MQm has Muhajirs(including Memons) and Punjabis support and ANP is purely Pashtuns which is another reasons of conflicts in Karachi as Karachi due to Land Mafia and Qabza groups has been Ghettoised as Pashtuns are living in their separate areas and other ethnicity are also living in their separate areas using all utilities illegally....Pastuns are relatively more involved in land mafia stuff as most ghettos which are illegally built are of Pashtuns but Sindhis and Baluch(in selective areas) also have their share in this land mafia and their are drug mafia as well and their are other mafias like transport mafia, tanker mafia and other such also their in Karachi associated with all ethnicity living in Karachi giving very ethnic picture in all these incident....

Giving blame to just one stakeholder in Karachi which is MQm wont be fair thing to say as everyone is equally involved in all this....MQM is the largest stakeholder so their responsibilities are also very large and as a result blame on them would also be large but blaming them for everything is wrong....To further points of Syed Hussain about MQM, MQM had been blamed since 90s in a designed State campaign against them but after that many people of Karachi listening MQM involvement in everything became fedup and now a days this blame on just MQM is only use for two reasons...

1. Keep saying things until people start believing...
    2. Hide their shortcomings or their involvement in incidents...

1. This thing is a very common practice in 90s it mostly failed in Karachi but it become successful outside Karachi and today we saw most hatred are from people living outside Karachi instead of people inside Karachi...Despite this has already failed in effecting Karachiite as most people of Karachi kept supporting MQM no matter how much vote rigging and unfair elections allegations are made on them but it is also well known that they do have grassroot support from their....

2. This is also one of the tactic been used by JI, JUI and PPP in past and now a days ANP is using same tactics as they might say what ever about deweaponization of karachi and peace in Karachi but the reality is that they are also responsible for this situation as mostly weapons are coming from other parts of karachi and mostly they are supplied to Karachiite from Sohrab Goth and other areas where they are very active in Karachi so by speaking that they are innocent this would be a biggest joke of Karachhi for Karachiite and since they have started their political activities guns have increased instead of decrease so they have the biggest share in creating problems in Karachi as well just like MQM and PPP have....

Posted 2 years ago on 20 May 2010 20:40 #
  12. LiberalKarachi

1) Statistically the more cosmopolitan and economically vibrant the city, the more crime-ridden it is likely to be. We all known about the gangs of New york and LA. The crime in London too has been on a sharp increase too.
    2) Karachi's strategic-position on the world map is comparable to only a very few other cities of the world. It is the gateway to central asia (gas rich countries) - even today, the NATO equipments going to Afghanistan first arrive at Karachi's ports and then go to Afghanistan. Karachi is closer to middle-eastern (oil rich) and big ME markets (such as Dubai) than it is even to Islamabad! On the right hand side of Karachi, through sindh, it connects to India and through ports, to various other ports of India - which has over 1bn population! On its north is China, also over 1bn+ market and Karachi is also well connected to Gawadar. This senstivity, though giving it tremendous potential, is bound to attract trouble too. And so we see a number of dubious foreign (and illegal) elements operating in khi. There are a lot of unregistered Afghanis and bengalis on the streets of khi, for instance.

3) Karachi is Pakistan's most viable, literate and economic powerhouse. It is also where most of the media and other important departments are stationed. So whoever gets to control Karachi is automatically able to gain a tremendous amount of power and financial assistance. So we see ANP, MQM, JI, JUI, PPP, all trying desperately to get a piece of this pie.
    4) Thanks to Zia and afghan jihad, JI started storing weapons, and they used it against their rival parties. In KU, when IJT started terrorising students of PSF (PPP) and APMSO (MQM), those two parties also started acquiring weapons in order to protect themselves. Almost all other parties in Karachi, including Imran khan's PTI, has large cache of weaponary.
    5) karachi had to endure a terrible operation in 1992, lasting a decade, by the pakistani army itself, leading a large number of people feeling insecure of the 'intentions' of certain elements in establishment, hence giving them a reason to arm themselves.
    6) Karachi has a flow migrants from almost every district of pakistan, meaning it is very difficult to prevent inflow/outflow of weapons.
    7) Importance of Karachi is such that whenever Karachi becomes unstable the government of Pakistan topples over - we have various examples from the past three decades on this. This has meant that certain political party in federation is using Karachi against the potential onslaught from judiciary and establishment and media.
    8) target killing provides a nice attention diversion of media

Posted 2 years ago on 20 May 2010 21:33 #
  13. wantinsaf

According to MQM's conspiracy theorists,this is a conspiracy against MQM.But the reality is quite obvious.MQM since its inception is weapon and terror friendly which has always used weapons for political gains.
    It was Altaf Hussain and MQM which has always opposed deweapnization of Karachi.Altaf Hussain in many of his statements urged the people to have weapon for so called self defence.
    Lahore and Pindi are big two,have we ever seen any political voilence?Lahore does contain of Punjabis,Pakhtuns and even Mohajers but it has never witnessed target killing based on politics.
    But it requires realism and broad mindedness to understand the issue and reason behind it and unfortunately ethno nationalism doesn't allow people look at things realistically.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 10:36 #
  14. Hussain Farooqui

Karachi is the most charitable city of Pakistan. In the langar khanas of Selani, Edhi,Sabri and Abdullah Shah Ghazi, more than 100,000 people eat free food of good quality daily. Whenver, there are any natural disaster, Karachi contributes the biggest share. During the earthquake of Kashmir, 70% aid was provided by the citizens of Karachi. Being ungrateful to this benevolent city, all the miscreants from all over the country pour into this city and create troubles. All the common citizens of different ethnic groups are like brethern with each other in this city.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 10:44 #
  15. wantinsaf

@Hussain Farouqui
    You just tried to take the topic to another direction.
    Whole the Pakistan gives charity,is that an issue in Pakistan?Issue we are discussing here is political voilence promoted and ignited by political parties.
    I sense you too are resorting on conspiracy.Who is the miscreant?You did not name anyone.
    The fact is Karachi is fragile because political parties have always promoted the culture of weapons in Karachi.And MQM is to be blamed more than others as the voilence has got to do with ethno nationalism and power hunger.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 10:58 #
  16. @wantinsaf

Your user name and your post suggest that you are another PTI supporter so I can expect your opinion as one sided anti MQM while knowing nothing about the ground realities of Karachi....to get your facts correct about weapons the reality of weapons in Karachi was actually brought by Afghans in Karachi not by MQM they latter used it to protect themselves but they didnt brought weapons to Karachi that is the fact every single Karachiite acknowledge....

Talking about opposing deweaponsization I would say that just provide a single statement where MQM ever said something against deweaponization of Karachi as I never heard anything against deweaponization from MQM....They do said that first close down the sources where these weapons are coming because if army clean up the weapon first day then next day Karachi would be full of weapons as the source will be open their....So instead of being biased on some thing first came up with proof of your what ever you posted as this is a very usual thing that even if dog died in Karachi name MQM behind that but reality is way much different from all the demonizing....

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 10:59 #
  17. "karachi had to endure a terrible operation in 1992"...When an ethnic party uses terror tactics crossing all ethics of humanity strewing body bags all over Karachi than what could have been a better medicine than an operation? BB and Babur were correct because after the operation peace prevailed for quite some time in Karachi.

ethno-nationalism is no nationalism. Not in Pakistan.

On the other hand government is not even the least bit interested to work towards an end to target killings in Karachi.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 11:07 #
  18. wantinsaf

@gazi23
    Your opinion tells how little you know.
    In June 2007,Altaf urged people to buy weapons for so called self defence.Does it show MQM support deweaponization of Karachi?
    Last year too,Altaf Hussain issued many statements and asked Govt to allow people having weapon again for so called self defence.

The only prty which has advocated deweaponization of karachi is PTI.last time when target killing took place,Imran Khan on a political programme with Jasmeen on Buiness Plus asked the Govt to take two steps;
    1-Depoliticzation of police.
    Who has politicized it?Certainly people in power

2-Deweaponization of Karachi

And don't forget MQM's representative went mum and failed to even acknowldege the importance of these two required steps.The programme was aired on 3rd feb 2010.
    I am a supporter of PTI,the most peaceful party which stand for justice,equality and anti war world.This all doesn't make me biased.Ethno nationalism is not allowing you to look at things realistically and critically.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 11:15 #
  19. @wantinsaf

I heard that in 1980s Altaf did asked about weaponization but 2007 thats new to me....As far as 1980s their were many incident recorded against an ethnic group like Faiza Zaidi, Aligarh massacre and their were so many other incident also recorded and due to that Altaf asked to buy weapons so that they could protect themselves from PPP, JSQM, Punjabi Pakhtun Ittehad which are involved in all those incident against Muhajir but that was the period when MQM was a nationalist party based on Muhajir ideology but today things have changed and their are many people from other ethnicity have also entered MQM in Karachi and things are very different from 1980s and if your argument is based on that statement of Altaf which was issued in 1980s then all I can do is laugh at your argument because Karachi is not the same as it was in 1980s today's Karachi is way more different city....

The only party which has advocated deweaponization in Karachi is PTI....what should I do after reading that???I think you shouldnt push yourself in this thread because more you post more you make me laugh as PTI is no where in Karachi and no one in Karachi even know a person who is the member of PTI in Karachi and if you are talking about Imran khan then he have said so many things before elections in Lahore and Rawalpindi but after elections we yet to find a single statement and rally of PTI regarding Dr. Afia, Blackwater, Zardari and other issues which he was campaigning before elections so he always said things but the reality is even he dont have any idea of the situation and how to hendle them due to lack of Administration experience....BTW when was PTI came out and said about deweaponization of Karachi last time????Even ANP said about deweaponization of Karachi many times but Karachiite are not fools to to trust them as ANP and their supporters are the sources of weaponization of Karachi....These empty words are just used for fools but those who knows the situation also knows that no one has solution to deweaponize karachi as everyonw knows that when Rangers ever go to Kati Paharh in Nazimabad ANp living elsewhere start killing whomever they saw in Karachi and create a situation where Rangers have to stop operation against them....

MQM managed Karachi since they were part of Govt. and when they were in authority the Karachi was 100 times more peaceful compare with today as Liyari gangsters were just associated to Liyari and couldnt came out of Liyari, many illegal lands were destroyed under the supervision of Police force sending message to Land Mafia that they cant do anything against them and places like Bagh Ibn-e-Qasim are built on the land which was once a stronghold of Land Mafia....This is what was done in last 8 years but when PPP steped in things went bad as they started favoring Liyari gangsters and also land mafia to get support in Karachi....Now tell me so far what steps have been taken by PTI since today for deweaponization of Karachi???

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 11:44 #
  20. wantinsaf

@Gazi23
    You like ALtaf Hussain are illietrate.What can we expect from a person who is a part of a terroris group?
    This is what I wrote earlier
    "In June 2007,Altaf urged people to buy weapons for so called self defence.Does it show MQM support deweaponization of Karachi?
    Last year too,Altaf Hussain issued many statements and asked Govt to allow people having weapon again for so called self defence."
    where is 1980 written?
    Bloody illietrate,I am refering to his statements of 2007 and 2009.I don't expect you are even little eduacted.
    If PTI is not in Karachi,why was Imran banned from coming in Karachi by a terrorism group known as MQM?
    MQM is a terrorist group with following agenda:

1-USA is our God and follwoing America dications is our religion.
    2-Using weapon is something our 'Prayer'.
    3-Promoting ethno nationalism and hatred is 'tableegh'.
    4-Voting for zardari and Musharaf are acts required for finding place in Jannah

Who is supposed to take steps?Opposition or Govt?A joker like can not understand.
    I yet have to find out even a single sensible person who supports MQM.In Pakistan's capital Islamabad,MQM does not have even one supporter.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 12:36 #
  21. Hussain Farooqui

wantinsaf

Like your favourate leader Imran Khan, you are condemning Karachi in hidden or open words. Your leader Imran Khan condemned Karachi in open words, but the citizens of Karachi are generous to donate heavily to Shukat Khanum Memorial Hospital. Imran Khan and his supporters never talk about the positive aspects of Karachi.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 13:55 #
  22. Hussain Farooqui

qazi23

When Sarwar Awan demanded forfeiting MQM of all weapons, he was indicated that PPI had larger quantities of weapons. He stupidly said,"weapons are the jewllery of Pathans and Punjabis". The arms race in Karachi was not started by MQM. MQM armed itself as a matter of self-defence.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 13:59 #
  23. "Why karachi is so fragile and vulnerable?"

cuz both they and us like it this way.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 15:07 #
  24. Pukhtoons are not shy of claiming firearms as a show of masculinity or a piece of jewellery for males. Punjabis on the other hand are increasingly keeping fire arms in comparison to 4 or 5 decades ago, when a long shaft or a hockey stick was normally kept as a weapon and used as one.
    However Punjabis keep their weapons generally concealed from plain view. They are more comfortable with daggers and knives than firearms but still keeping firearms has risen alarmingly among Punjabis.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 15:15 #
  25. @wantinsaf

lolzzz...here we go the most favorite tectics of PTI i.e. "personal attacks"...I am not even a MQM but I do vote MQM in the last elections due to their work in Karachi so I have rights to defend my vote...About me being illiterate then I think all those who disagrees with Imran Khan becomes illiterate for PTI as you PTI supporters cant think beyond Imran Khan....I would have report this to moderators but you seems to be very old member of this forum while I have joined few days ago so I wont report you but one thing is for sure that watch your tongue as If you dont have arguement then I wont tollerate personal attacks either....

Talking about Altaf hussain's statement in June 2007 I have already said it that his statement for buying weapons was in 1980s but I dont know about any recent statement from him so it should be like you must have shown me his recent statement regarding buying weapons but instead you start calling me "Illetrate" this is what ethics you Imran Khan supporters have to counter arguments who dont agree with you????Even I cant expect any sensible supporter of PTI either as most of their supporters which I encountered(including you) are all childish and cant take arguments and started personal attacks when they got nothing left in response....I expected that and you proved it by all those personal attacks....

By saying PTI is not in Karachi I meant who is a person responsible for Karachi in PTI???Where are the offices of PTI in Karachi???Who is in charge of Karachi operations of PTI???I dont think Karachiite knows any of those things that I have asked here about PTI...About Imran Khan's entry in Karachi I think last year he came to karachi in 12may....If you think that Imran Khan was banned because he could able to get more support of people of Karachi then I would say everyone one has fantasies so as you do you expect Karachiite to start supporting him in one or two visits???this explains your knowledge about Karachi and Karachiite....

Talking about MQM agenda...

1. You expect MQM to support taliban like PTI so that Pakistan becomes an Afghanistan of 1990s is this what you call progress???

2. Same Taliban and their supporters are the once who say these kind of stuff while MQM is against Taliban...It is Taliban who say that weapons are their jewelry and other stuffs like that not MQM which is against Taliban...

3. MQM dont do Tableegh and neither MQM is ethno nationalist organization as MQm is in Gilgit Baltistan and also in Kashmir and they have also launched their party in Punjab as well so how they become ethno nationalist???

4. If Supporting Taliban is a way to Jannah for you then it is better to support hell instead...

You yet to say anything about your big claims regarding PTI being only party for deweaponization and now you come up with who should take steps then the answer is the person who have authority to do so should take steps for deweaponization because they are responsible for that while other stakeholder have position of advise that person not ordering that person so the one who has authority over Police and Law enforcement agencies should take steps against it simple no rocket science....

@Hussain Farooqui

You are correct on PPI's Sarwar Awan tell wantinsaf about it not me because he is confused about it not me..

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 15:19 #
  26. asif86

Hussain Farooqui"
    Like your favourate leader Imran Khan, you are condemning Karachi in hidden or open words."
    There is difference between MQM and karachi.Imran condemned MQM politics and not karachi as city.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 May 2010 15:25 #
  27. Hussain Farooqui

asif86

I am myself a crtic of MQM and Gen. Musharaff, but when I find only these two elements being crticized as a matter of racism, then I begin to feel sympathy for both of them. Criticism is a good and healthy thing, but it must be indescriminate. Descriminated critcism pops up sympathy for the targeted elements. Imran Khan descriminated the crickeeters of Karachi much before the rise of MQM. Ignoring his racism, the generous people of Karachi donated heavily for his hospital.

A national leader is supposed to be above the feelings of provincialism, racism ,regionalism... etc. Our great leaders like Jinnah, Iqbal, Liaquat, Ali Bros. were higher above these ailments.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 May 2010 7:08 #
  28. wantinsaf

@Hussain farouqui
    You seem to be unclear about whatever you wrote.
    When did Imran Khan discriminate Karachi crickters?
    You failed to mention that.If Imran had been like that,God would have never given this heroism and passion to do something great and big.
    Imran has built a diagnostic centre for SKMH in karahi and PTI has taken its sasta tandoor programme in Karachi as well.
    MQM is an ethno nationalist group involved in killing,why are you reluctant to face the truth?
    Musharaf is a failed monster who damaged Pakistan more than anyone else,isn't it truth?
    You need to look at people beyond ethno nationalism.Goods and bads are evrywhere,Why do we have praise for Edhi and Shahzad Roy?

Posted 2 years ago on 22 May 2010 10:35 #
  29. wantinsaf

@gazi23
    You seem to be an ethno nationalsit mohajer who wants to defend killer at any cost.I don't have any solution to your narrow-mindedness

Posted 2 years ago on 22 May 2010 10:37 #
  30. Hussain Farooqui

wantinsaf

Imran's descrininatory behavior with the crickeeters of Karachi has been questioned to him several times on different forums. He always failed to answer any questions of his past wrongdoings. His scandals of adultery are know to everybody. His sons are being brought up in a Jewish environment is an evident fact. If he really feels sympathy for human beings then:

Why does he not condemn the people who are killing innocent people in all the parts of Pakistan? Why is he so humane about the people killed in fights erupted among rival groups in Karachi? Why is he not condemning the elements who are bombing the girls schools in Pukhtoon Kahwa? Why is he not condemning JI and JUI the way he condemns MQM? These two parties are supporting the elements who are carrying out subversive actvities in the whole of Pakistan?

The descrimination is so vivid in view of some above facts. Imran does not have either any character or caliber to become a national leader. The only leader who had a potential to be the national leader was killed on the 27th December.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 May 2010 11:32 #
  31. Hussain Farooqui

asif86

MQM grew and armed itself after mass massacres by tribal smugglers in Qasba Colony and Khawaja Ajmer Colony. Where were all the political parties at that time? Looking and safegaurding their self interests. A cricketer of that time and the present day politician was probably induldged in merry making with Zeenat Aman. I can't even forget a poem developed by mischeivious young girls:

Imran Khan laga day Jaan
    Deikh Rahi Hai Zeenat Aman
    Imran Khan kee jaan kali kali Zeenat Aman

Posted 2 years ago on 22 May 2010 11:57 #
  32. @wantinsaf

Look when you dont know something dont try to push it as well...I am not ethno nationalist I just have got my understanding of the situation based on my understanding of Karachi so dont make your mind before understand someone....The reason why I support MQM is that when ever other parties are asked about Karachi they became Chacha, mama etc of Karachi but when we talk about the problems of Karachi all of those so called Chacha, Mama and Tayas suddenly pointed towards MQM as they are responsible for Karachi if this is what these so called mother Tressas of karachi ever had any sympathies for Karachiite they would have owned the problems of Karachi as well but all they do sympathies and try to become sympathizers of karachi but the real once who really sympathies with us are those who are trying to solve our problems not those who are just talking in talk shows as this is the only thing they are capable of but understanding Karachi and solution of its problem is something which they cant have and they never had....These leaders also includes Imran Khan, Shabaz Sharif, Sindhi Nationalists and all those who just talk while do nothing...

Posted 2 years ago on 22 May 2010 14:30 #
  33. wantinsaf

@Hussain farouqui
    Your argument is not only flawed but also your understanding and different acts of Imran Khan historically.
    I asked you earlier to tell us even a single incident which shows Imran's behaviour toward a certain ethnicity was wrong,you failed to mention that.I have heard Imran talking about these things many times and he has always sounded correct and logical.
    Jemima Khan has accepted Islam more than a decade ago.You need to educate your self about that.Both sons of Imran have got Muslim mother.And in Islam childs are supposed to stay with mother unless they become adult and can make decision on their own.This all shows you know nothing about Imran Khan.
    Imran Khan considers Maulan Fazal Ur Rehman as a hypocrite person and has always balimed him for being Musharaf's man.
    Imran Khan recntly visited PU and condemned the way JI does student politics in colleges and universities.Imran personallly visited the professor who was tortured by JI.
    Imran Khan has always promoted himself as anti war.And his stance against military operation is a clear proof of that.
    You have shown how little you know about leadership.Can a corrupt person be a leader?Can a leader marry to the country's most corrupt person?
    To become you have got to be honest,credible and intellegent.And Imran has got all of this.
    -------------------------------------------------

when did the tabloid tell you Imran had an affair with Zeenat Amman?It was far before 1992 military operation in Karachi.According to tablloid,it even ended before 1982.
    In 1992 Imran was busy in playing for Pakistan and made all of us proud by winning world cup.And then used his charisma for doing great service to this country by building cancer hospital for poors.

kaun Bachai ga Pakistan
    Imran Khan Imran Khan

As Hazrat Esa once said "I have got cure to all diseases but ignorance".I believe in this saying very much

Posted 2 years ago on 22 May 2010 14:57 #
  34. wantinsaf

@gazi23
    Your comment clealry shows that you are not concerned about Pakistan.Inflation,energy crisis,target killing,American slavery,injustice,inequality and ecomonic crisis are not issues you want solution of.You are only oncerned about Karachi,that too an ethic group.
    And this all proves me right.I was absolutely right in terming you as ethno nationalist.
    Karachi alone can never make progress.This all has to go hand in hand.Unless or untill we don't have dynamic leader having honesty,credibilty and intellegnce we can not see prosperous Pakistan.Karachi's future is with Pakistan.
    We need political parties who can show honsty,bravery,intellect and who can promote harmony and unity.We certainly don't need elements who are involved in corruption,target killing and American service.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 May 2010 15:10 #
  35. Hussain Farooqui

wantinsaf

Your clarifications about Imran Khan are groundless. You can't turn an irresponsible racist playboy into a personality like Jinnah Sb. He does not have either a character or a caliber to become a national leader. The standards whcih are required to be a national leader are very high. Imran Khan can't meet those standards of character or caliber.

However, I agree with your statement "We need political parties who can show honsty,bravery,intellect and who can promote harmony and unity.We certainly don't need elements who are involved in corruption,target killing and American service."

Let us try to find personalities in our national society who can meet the standards of character and caliber to be the national leaders. Let us optimistically try to find the personalities of character and caliber like Jinnah, Liaquat, Ali Bros. and Iqbal.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 9:10 #
  36. @wantinsaf

lolzz...I am a business student myself and you are saying that I wont be concerned about inflation, economy, inequality etc???Are you really serious???just to give you the small hint of what I am comcerned about...

When your home is burning and your whole calony has a problem who would you prefer first???Your home or your calony???here my home is Karachi city and it is burning in the hands of Land Mafia, Drug Mafia, gangsters and other criminals but since you only care about is what Imran Khan says so you dont get things what I am trying to say here as I know the caliber of PTI supporters on Internet they know nothing but MQM bashing which is their favorite hobby despite knowing nothing about MQM and where MQM is operating.....Here MQM is trying to get rid of those elements as MQM is most vocal against them just like few months back when MQM was keep repeating that their are Talibans in Krachi but no one listened and when after Ashura and Chelum blast many taliban commanders were arrested then no one even uttered a single word it was only because of hatred fpor MQM which you people have and this hatred is at such extent that you dont even want to accept the mandate of Karachiite which is awarded to MQM despite all HOO HAA of Imran Khan over 12may....
    Honesty, braveness, intellect are good things but experience is also required for all that because an inexperienced person take more time to do what an experienced person with qualities mentioned can take so that is where things have changed I go for experience plus those qualities but you want just those qualities....Thats where we are not in same page experience plus qualities and just qualities...So before opening a thread first try to understand the situation and then give your remarks on the basis of that situation but since your intention was bashing MQM so what can I say about you...For you empty words of Imran Khan is enough but for me it doesnt worth listening as its might be so big but its always empty from inside...

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 22:25 #
  37. Hussain Farooqui

qazi23

We can't forget that a jackal called Nasirullah Baber was given total free hand to commit mass massacres in Karachi. Those massacres indeed detroyed the social structure of Karachi.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 6:29 #
  38. wantinsaf

@gazi23
    You again showed that you desperately lack sense.What's your qualification is not beind discussed.What we are discussing here is MQM and its supporters are not concerned about Pakistan.MQM has been in power since last twenty years and their input on inflation,econimic cisis,energy crisis and American slavery is zero.
    Now the queston arsises,why are voting for MQM?Obviously due to your ethnic affilaitaions otherwise who votes for a terrorist group involved in all kinds of mideeds.
    Is MQM honest?No.IF honset people don't vote for monester Musharaf and corrupt Zardari.
    Is MQM credible?No.Despite being in Govt they have done nothing on any important issues like economic crisis and energy crisis.
    MQM like PPP and PML is an incompetent party involved in corruption,terrorism,and promoting hatred.
    Does experience mean keep damaging country unless you become experienced.Such things can only be expected from an illiterate like you.
    Nelson Mandela kept out of Govt for 40 years and set examples.he ruled SA for just 5 years and after that when he got re-elected he said I have done what I had to.To bring change,only one year is required.But for that you have got to go through struggle which makes you know where things are wrong.

MQM is jus a beneficiary of an ineffective elecion system based on ethno nationalism ,corruption and rigging.MQM has always been found involved in rigging.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 10:15 #
  39. wantinsaf

@Hussain farouqui
    Let histroy show whether he is a leader or not.
    Now you tried to divert the topic to another side.So far history has shown Imran was the only one who has led pakistan to cricket glory.Before and after him,we were at zero level.Imran Khan unlike anyone else out there has spent his time and money for benefitting poors of this country.
    Imran being honest,credibel and educated is a strong contender for bringing revolution in Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 10:24 #
  40. Hussain Farooqui

wantinsaf

Yes, Imran's performance in cricket has no doubt been good. He contribution towards the humanitarian cause of building a hospital is also admirable. Some good contributions are attached to all the politicians. There may not be a single politician who has no contribution towards some goals of goodness.

Dear brother, we are in need of a great leader who must have the attributes which our indipendence leaders did have. I honestly don't see any leader of such character or caliber who can be similar to our indipendence leaders.

I pray to Allah that we are blessed with the best of leadership, Aameen!

Pakistan Zindabad! Pakistan Paindabad!

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 11:19 #
  41. @wantinsaf

Who says that MQM and its supporters are not concern about Pakistan???they are talking about Pakistan like they were the first people who speak against Taliban and after Nizam-e-Adle was signed they went through situation of going alone...They talk about 98% under privilege class and they talk about empowering them, they also talk about Kashmir problem as they say that Kashmir problem can only be solved by taking Kashmiris into confidence, they also raised many issues and if you remember in 2005 earthquake when other parties were sleeping their workers were the once who went to Kashmir for relief and that was the reason why today their are two MQM representative in Kashmir assembly as well(One also took responsibility of care taker Prime Minister of Kashmir before last Kashmir elections) so after reading this do you still think they are just karachi based or ethnic???are these issues all ethnic????Yes I agree that they talk about Karachi as they are elected representatives of Karachi so its their responsibility to represent Karachi and its problems as well but that doesnt make them only Karachi based party as they have recently also raised voice of South Punjab and Hazara province by saying that their demands should be listened as well...but since you have your own glass of looking things so you wont consider all this...Their are solutions of all problems and they have also raised them in Parliament just like other elected representative but just tell me that when did Imran Khan gave solution to Inflation, energy crisis and other issues???In the streets by doing rally a typical style of speaking empty words not even a single time he gave SOLUTIONS but he only RAISED THE PROBLEM IN THE STREETS and the only solution came out from him is MID TERM ELECTION...Is this what you call solution???
    MQm being honest can be easily understand by the work which MQM representatives have done under their ministries and they have the clean record from corruption, fraud etc...
    MQM is credible because issues like extremism have already proved their credibility and talking about energy crisis then MQM has also raised their voice for electricity from Iran....
    here we go typical style of Imran Khan supporters others are incompetent and the only competent person is Imran Khan who raise the issue before elections and later forget those issues just to give you example Dr. Afia Siddiqui, Blackwater, Zardari etc. where is Imran and his supporters campaigning for Dr. Afia's release??Where is Imran and its supporters in Blackwater???Where is Imran supporters in Zardari???no where not even a single rally organized so far for those issues after election...is this what you call competency??Just visit Karachi and check out the real competency of MQM as MK was made mayor and GIVEN AUTHORITY for developing Karachi what he have done for Karachi...go check performance of Baber Ghouri as MINISTER of ports and shipping UNDER HIS AUTHORITY Karachi shipyard which is part of ports and shipping gave profit for the first time after Bhutto's period...Farooq Sattar brought innocent Pakistani family back to Pakistan first time in the history under the AUTHORITY of Overseas Pakistani....Are these incompetence of MQM????Just tell me a single corruption charge on MQM...
    Bring Change...what a big joke we have seen the change which Imran Khan wants to bring by giving party tickets to two former PMLN members a complete case of Lotacracy which PPP and PMLN are doing same thing for so many years and people like Yousuf Raza Gillani and many others are byproduct of same practice which PTI did in last byelections in Lahore and Rawalpindi while just look at MQM its way of operation is completely different from all other parties in Pakistan as it operates at a grassroot level and it is the only party where workers become a future leader not like others where leaders remain a leader and worker remain a worker...I have many friends in Punjab and one of my friend in Multan told me that he never saw any leader of political party preparing and managing Jalsagah by himself its always workers who prepare Jalsagah for the leader but for the time he saw that leaders preparing jalsagah....can you find such example anywhere else???This is what future should be a leader should be like a common man having support of people not like a leader should be just leader from influential background like Imran Khan in his party...THATS WHAT WE CALL CHANGE WHICH MQM IS TRYING TO BRING....
    You may give any explanation of MQM's victory but one thing is for sure that I can say their victory are always genuine in Karachi as I am a citizen of karachi and witnessed election of 1993 where MQM boycotted NA seats election I saw how many people went to vote and that election was held under Army and same army monitoring election of 1997 and I saw people supporting MQM and yes in 2002 election MQM didnt get much support due to Mullahs playing politics on Afghanistan but after that people sick of Mullahs and in 2008 election I can say it was genuine MQM victory in Karachi due to MK's performance no doubt about that even if you present any Imran Khan's statement against them but people did voted them because their were best among the rest and Imran Khan and his statements were totally rejected by karachi I am damn sure about that...Even if you implement American or British system MQM is in such position that it can win because they have support of grass root masses in Karachi no matter how much propaganda are done...

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 15:04 #
  42. Hussain Farooqui

Our mutual differences don't make us enemies. We all are Muslim and Pakistan bretheren. Most of the social servies like free food and free medical facilites in Karachi are availed by our brethern from Pakhtoon Khawa, Punjab and interior Sindh. It is indeed the right of our Pakistan brethren to avail these free facilites from their propsperous brethren of Karachi.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 May 2010 14:32 #
  43. wantinsaf

@Hussain Farouqui
    You need to question your mind for few answers.What makes Imran different from others?Imran has done a lot for Pakistan that too without being in power.Is there any politician who has done that much without being in power?
    What makes Imran different from others in the path he has chosen:difficult but right one.
    Imran's politics has never been power based,it rather has been service based.He has always stood for right and never tried to take personal advantage of anything.He thinks for Pakistan and Pakistanis and that's what has brought him into politics.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 May 2010 15:17 #
  44. @wantinsaf

I dont understand one thing by creating this thread are you promoting Imran Khan or discussing the issue????So far what I have seen from you is Imran Khan cares and Imran Khan say this Imran Khan say that, Imran Khan do this and Imran Khan do that....Do me a very little favor that please come back to the topic as the topic of this thread is Karachi being fragile and vulnerable while I dont think their is any Imran Khan in this on the first place....

@Hussain Farooqui

You to should come back to this topic as what I have read from you is that it seems that you have good knowledge of karachi as i myself a karachiite I am interested to know more from you...As you got more knowledge then me about karachi...

Posted 2 years ago on 25 May 2010 15:37 #
  45. wantinsaf

As I mentioned earlier,Karachi is fragile for two reasons;
    1-Politics based on ethno nationalism
    2-Political parties have their own private militia.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 May 2010 12:40 #
  46. @wantinsaf

for these two points that you mentioned you were wasting others time in this thread by promoting Imran Khan here???Give me a break man You could have created another thread and keep posting stuff to promote your leader but why all this irrelevant posts about Imran Khan offering solutions here as this was Karachi based thread not Imran Khan...Wow man you are one of the prime example of what PTI members are diverting the topic, start discussing something which they dont know anything about and dont accept anything except for Imran Khan...

Posted 2 years ago on 26 May 2010 18:53 #
  47. wantinsaf

@gazi23
    As you disagree with the two points I mentioned,you should have put light on the issue of Karachi being fragile.What problem I see with Karachi,I have mentioned.Now it's your turn to contend where things are wrong.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 May 2010 19:05 #
  48. @wantinsaf

Read my first post again as I agree with you on first one but sensing your affiliation I wont agree with your explanation because I know that you will point finger on MQM while the real culprit is ANP who is involved in this as a Karachiite I know how they operate and what they are doing and about MQM then their are 80% Pashtuns businesses are in MQM areas and they dont even want to leave their business and shift them to ANP area because they know what will happened to their business their....

I disagree with your second point because what political parties in Karachi have is workers who do their work for those parties just like what you are doing for Imran Khan or PTI but the real problem is Land Mafia, Drug Mafia, Illegal arms in the city, Taliban and their supporters(many madarsas have stocks of weapons) and other criminal elements which you try to ignore since you dont belong to Karachi so you wont be able to understand what I am trying to say so instead of pushing yourself do what is your favorite work is i.e. promoting Imran Khan and leave this discussion because its like a pandora box where problems and issues came out one after another as Karachi is one of the world's largest city and it is home to so many people coming from all parts of Pakistan and even from else where like Bangladesh, berma, Afghanistan, Iran(Irani Baluch and farsis), Central Asia(Tajiks, Uzbeks etc) and their are many other sects.a and religions followers here as well like Ismailis, Bohris, sects within Sunni(Ahllehadees, hari pagri, barelvis, doubandis etc.) so more you go into discussing karachi's problem more you will get confused and do you know that after Karachi Pakistan's second biggest city Lahore is just half of Karachi in population and since their are mostly Punjabis their so the cultural mix that Karachi got cant be matched with lahore or any other city of Pakistan...

Posted 2 years ago on 26 May 2010 19:25 #
  49. wantinsaf

@gazi23
    1-You have blaimed ANP for recent target killing issue.If MQM with the help of other parties had ever tried to depoliticize police,we would have been able to expose the culprits and punish.This speaks volume about incompetency and insincerity of political powers of Karachi.Situation is same everyhwere in Pakistan,Karachi is no different.And that'what make me believe we don't need old failed faces.

2-whose responsibilty is to control land mafia,drug mafia and talibans?
    It's certainly is Govt's.Why vote for such governments?

Posted 2 years ago on 27 May 2010 10:42 #
  50. @wantinsaf

1. The reason why I am blaming ANP is because I have seen their activities in Karachi first hand as how they came few days ago to apartment Rufi Greenland near Sohrab Goth where no party has their office and If you ask any of your party or family member who lives in Karachi about areas where ANP is active you will understand it yourself...MQM is not the only collision partners in Govt. to depoliticized Police so its also responsibility of PPP who have Police in his hand as Zulfiqar Mirza is head of Police and do you know about his contacts with Liyari base PPP gangsters in Karachi???Zulfiqar Mirza has been very strong and influential member of PPP and since you know about his remarks regarding Pakistan NaKhappay and he also have NRO cases on his head as well and this Govt. should have thought before giving Zulfiqar Mirza a charge that how much he will be able to depoliticized Police of Karachi...MQm has number of times pointed out the real culprit from Taliban commanders to many different mafia and gave number of list regarding their activities to Sindh Govt but from other side neither actions were taken nor any follow up regarding the those list of criminals and they not even mentioned a names which they believe are involved in all this....But since Imran said so you will blame MQM for that as well despite of being cooperating with Police on every level...

2. Its Police who is responsible to control them and Police comes under Home minister Sindh and current Home minister Sindh is Zulfiqar Mirza and he is from PPP a very popular figure due to his remarks about Pakistan NaKhappay after BB's death...MQM is part of provincial Govt. but dont control Police directly and they have to follow same steps that evry citizen has to follow like Launch FIRs write applications and give list of those they alleged responsible and the rest of it is under Police to take care of so its totally up to Police and Home Minister Sindh to hear the case its not directly under MPA or MNA of any party in Karachi...

Posted 2 years ago on 27 May 2010 11:44 #