PKPolitics Discuss » Future of Pakistan

Why media is dominated by Punjabi Anchors?

(93 posts)
  1. Fahim23

Starting from the great Talat hussain to Asma choudhry and mediocre PJ Mir, most media anchors belong to Punjab. No matter how hard they try it is not possible for them to genuinely feel for the prople of other provinces as they do for Punjab. Beside not all people can lift themselves from these prejudices and biases like Talat Hussain. As it is required in Supreme court that the judges must be equally appointed from all the provinces, IMO same should hold in the media otherwise I am afraid instead of becoming a uniting factor it will further fuel the grievences of smaller provinces against Punjab.

As an example I'd like to write my observation in the recent crisis in Balochistan after brutal killing of three Baloch leaders. In almost every program including that of Live with Talat, the thrust of questioning was: "Since there is foreign hand involved in Balochistan that's why there is unrest and all separatist movements are installed by either India, Iran, CIA or Mosad. If that hand is removed thr will be all peace and harmoney in the province and the thr is no genuine problem in the Balochistan". During the discussions it becomes very hard for the anchors to digest when the feelings of ppl from smaller provinces for Punjab are surfaced. That's why probably they try to enforce this false argument tht thr r only few ppl in Balochistan who are on pay scale of foreign elements and only they want separation.

On the contrary they also know, it is a fact that since the Balochistan is treated like a backyard and dumpster from the times of Quaid-e-Azam to Current government and despite being the energy province of the country it is kept in dark and gifted with 14 Army operations, people of Balochistan are saying "enough is enough to Pakistan". They are legitimately demanding Justice or Separation. If there was any Balochi anchor I'm sure this would have not happent and the air time could have been more effectively utilized to reach out the Baloch people and thr problems.

But I hardly found any Baloch or Pathan anchor and very few Sindhi anchors. There are many Sindhi journalists working in BBC, DAWN and running more than dozen daily sindhi newspapers and 4 TV newschannels but they are not given chances to conduct thr programs on major media outlets. As far as Balochistan is concerned those poor ppl are facing discrimination of its worst kind. In balochistan province you will hardly find any Balochi in Police, FC, ARMY, Judiciary, Media, Beaurocracy etc.

Nevertheless due to this same media at least people of Punjab have now developed some sympathies with the Baloch cause. Otherwise the Baloch ppl and thr leaders were always accused of being ghaddar adn kafir. I hope this discrimination ends at all levels. I'd suggest that media should bring people of Balochistan, Pakhtunkhuwah and Sindh also and try to create sense of equality and participation.

For your reference I have made this list to prove my point that even media is dominated by Punjabi Anchors, please correct me if I am wrong at some places.

Anchors from Punjab

Live with Talat - Talat Hussain
    Capital talk - Hamid Mir
    Kal Tak - Javed chowdhry
    Naseem Zehra
    Off the record - Kashif Abasi
    Asma Chaudhry
    Nadeem Malik
    Najam Sethi
    Qatrina Hussain
    Dr. Moiz Pirzada
    Choraha - Hassan Nisar
    Two guys of Left right
    One to one from Dunya TV
    50 minutes guy
    Bolta Pakistan - Nusrat Javed
    Bolta Pakistan - Mushtaq Minhas - Kashmiri but born and bread in Punjab
    AAAS - Naeem Bukhari
    Jawabdeyh - Iftikhar Ahmed
    Mujeeb-ur-rehman Shami
    PJ Mir
    Abbas Athar

Anchors from Sindh

Meray Mutabig - Dr Shahid Masood
    AKKS - Kamran Khan

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 2:51 #
  2. you forgot one
    Mulla Radio - NWFP

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 3:04 #
  3. @Fahim,
    its true that we have most of the anchors from Punjab only but i dont agree with the thought that it is creating a sense of disintegration and ppl of Balochistan are feeling aloof.

matter of the fact is that ...
    coz we have majority of Punjabis with good qualifications as compare to sindhis,balochis and pathans ....so we can see them not only in media but every field ,whether its bureaucracy, Armed forces ,info tech,teaching ,engineering ,medicine ,pharmacy or journalism.

same case is with media .
    we have educated and qualified journalists in punjab as compare to sindh ,Baluchistan or NWFP.
    so obviously they get more chances then any other province to get jobs in their respective fields.

2.i also disagree with the thought that the anchors are trying to enforce Punjab view point in Baluchistan situation.some times a natural tilt towards punjab view point can not be ruled out but in general they are trying to present Baluchistan view point with their own representatives in every show.
    whether its Talat or Hamid Mir or anyone else .
    they always call into the studio or make a call to a Baloch representative to get the view point .........

3. as long as separatist movement is concerned.
    i do believe that this is just a propaganda .
    and ppl of Balochistan has seen bangladesh scene .
    they wont let foreigners to make them fool like they did in 1971 with East Pakistanis.

4. i am not a punajbi but i strongly believe that Baluchistan problem has been aggravated by design and a foreign hand can not be ruled out in this situation.

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 4:48 #
  4. Punjab holds the 65% (if I am not wrong) population of Pakistan.
    Not only in media, Punjab dominates in so many other walks of life such as Sports, Literature, Health, Music, Poetry, Drama and many others according to the proportion of its population potentials.
    This should be taken as a positive factor.
    Even in the US, India, Canada and some other big Federations there are certain regions which dominate in certain fields.

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 5:01 #
  5. @Shiekh sahib,
    thats what i was trying to say in my post to Fahim...

otherwise .
    i dont believe in segmentation of ppl in terms of province ,language and cast ..........
    there is no such criteria ............

being an Urdu speaking ..i should be a fan of MQM.
    but i hate it .
    due to its Ghunda policies ...............

being an urdu speaking ...i should be fall in love with Mush ....but i cant see his face ...
    as a dictator he has been the worst thing ...happened to Pakistan ever.

conclusion
    there is no criteria that if some one belongs to your community would be defiantly good for you and your country .
    so community or language is a useless meter to judge ppl.
    we should judge ppl with the gauge of what they are doing?
    and How they are doing???/

as My Dear Quaid e Azam has said
    dont see who is saying ?
    see What is he saying?

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 5:21 #
  6. Adonis

I would have to say that this is the typical piplee mentality that sees Pakistan not as one country but as divided into distinct entities.

Media is in private hands where merit reigns supreme. There can be no such quota system in media that equates horses and donkeys.

It was the film industry of Lahore (punjab again) that made a sindhi speaking Mustafa Qureshi and hindko speakin Sultan Rahi top heroes of Punjabi films. Muhammad Ali from Hyderabad, Waheed Murad from karachi and Rangeela from FATA became biggest stars.

So talent makes its way to the top, it does not need clutches of quota system.

P.S: Supreme Court is not required to have same number of judges from each province.

Mushtaq Minhas was born and bred in Azad Kashmir.

And several names in your "Punjabi" list include those who live in geograhical boundaries of Punjab province or Islamabad but are not Punjabi speaking. So much for the domination of Punjabis.

Interestingly, I spent many years in the heart of Punjab. Being a non-punjabi, there were many times when friends made fun of my "gulabi" punjabi and I in turn made fun of punjabi language and culture etc. But not once did I felt discriminated or detested. Sadly this is not the case with ethnic minorities in smaller provinces.

Punjabis can be accused of many things but discrimination and ethnicism is not one of those things. This is why ethno-centric parties have never been able to gain any support in punjab.

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 6:52 #
  7. @Adonis,
    i 200% agree with u ...
    i have many friends who are punjabi,living in karachi...
    they are very sincere and there sincerity is full of warmth.

on contrary i have met some ppl from my own community ..urdu speaking ...who are very arrogant and proud of being urdu speaking for no reasons. they hate punjabis for no reason.

i am not at all going to buy the argument that punjabi rules.
    i think they are most cultured ,most educated and most hard working and smart so they deserve to rule in every field.

other communities ...cant beat them in competition with ENVY only.
    they have to get education and have to get work hard to get there .........

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 7:16 #
  8. is kashif abbasi punjabi? his urdu accent doesnt seem punjabi

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 7:27 #
  9. I disagree with u Beenai,

The most educated, cultured people are urdu speaking (dare I say karachites among all cities)

Just cuz I hate MQM, I can't have bias against them.

Punjabis are good too but then so are other ethnic. Groups.. If you compare the big names (except media cuz this field just buzzed up in last few years) and if u compare the quality in all field , you will surprise to know that based on population ratio, other provinces have a better quality products as compared to punjab.

I can support this by data but for that u have to wait till I return back to my base as my BB is not that fast here and the broad band ain't that broad as yet ;-)

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 7:36 #
  10. msohail83

@codefreaq
    Yes he's from Pindi/isb area. His mother has a thick accent, don't know how his accent is so clear. Maybe the influence of Islamabad.

I never thought Dr. Pirzada was from Punjab. However you missed a couple in your list that hail from Karachi

Faisal Qureshi - Host of Unkahi (samaa TV)
    Mujahid Barevli- Indus and CNBC TV anchor/journo
    Aamir Liquat - He entertains some political issues
    from religious angle.

I don't think people of karachi take as much interest in Politics as other parts of the country. Maybe this is why there's a lack of anchorpersons in the mainstream media? Residents of Karachi can help me out with this. Although I firmly believe that talented people will make their way up the ranks and can't be neglected anymore. This is competition time so merit does matter.

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 7:40 #
  11. @Khan sahib,
    i am an urdu speaking ..i know for a fact that we are concedered educated community but i have met the most PARHA LIKHA JAHILS in my own community ...unfortunately.

shake hands ...in the hate of MQM i am with u.
    if u can blow up 90 for us ...
    we all karacties would be really thankful to u ........

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 8:01 #
  12. @Codefreaq,
    yah ..Kashif Abbasi is from punjab.
    but it doesn't make any of the difference in his popularity across the whole country.
    as contrary to what author of the post Fahim thinks.

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 8:05 #
  13. Yes beenai,
    But parey likhey jahil are in every nation. Take maulana fazloo aur asfandyaar.. They arer quite educated too! This guy Shahi syed from ANP represents pakhtoons via ANP... All I can say is that he is a disgrace like asfandyaar..

I would suggest to ignore 90 as now power store is in edgware, london! ;-)

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 8:17 #
  14. There could be few reasons:

1- The people of punjab are more vocal and they could think freely because most of them (living in big cities) are not dominated by wadeeras/maliks/khans or MQM

2- The education facilities are better in Punjab but they are also very good in karachi and peshawar.

3- The big media centers are based in punjab so naturally punjabis will come first

But if the purpose of this post was to highlight that there is some restriction or resistance offered to people of other provinces then this is not very true. And if you hold this opinion then please justify with proofs.

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 10:00 #
  15. IJay

I CONSIDER THIS POST IS ANTI PAKISTANI AND HATE POST

BEENAI PLEASE DELETE IT!

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 14:27 #
  16. The geographical status, climate, food and the norms of social living also contribute to make a certain region more fertile for certain productive activities.
    I leave it open for the respectable members and scholars @ the forum to analyze why certain regions of the World produced more Scientists, Inventors, scientists, philosophers, artists, poets, musicians, composers as compared to other regions?
    Just for an instance, why most of the famous wrestlers like Gama, Bholoo, Dara Singh, Kiker Singh, Goonga, Goga, Accha, Younas, emerged from Punjab?
    Why Bengal could not produce any Pahalwan of that calibre?
    Why Bollywood could not be established in Ludhiana?
    Why Bengal is known for music?

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 16:31 #
  17. Fahim23

Religion and nationalism are exploitable and they are exploited throughout human history. In Europe and other western cultures humanity just recently has witnessed worst kind of racism against Jews and Blacks. In almost all Wars the most common factors amongst many are either Religion or Nationalism.

One of the blessings of Islam IMO is that it purifies the nature of its followers from negative side effects of nationalism i.e., racism. However, how much Islam we practice and how much we exactly know about this religion is known to all of us. Therefore, the instincts like Greed, Self-righteous Superiority and Racism are bound to grow in our society.

In the early 50's the people who migrated from India were most educated and so they dominated the civil bureaucracy and they actually started promoting favoritism and nepotism in Pakistan. With the passage of time Punjabis have replaced them.

Ex-Pakistanis (known now as Bangalis) decided to live in an independant country because of this very discrimination and racism committed by the dominant groups of Pakistan. When 52% people were made equal to 48% and when men of west pakistan wanted to sleep with women of east pakistan to make thr looks better and when Army used to reject them after mocking due to thr small chests and height. This is known as Discrimination and Racism. But we have a habbit of living in denial and we very quickly jump to self satisfactory conclusions that "ohh bengalis were traitors they were hijacked by sheikh mujeeb-ur-rehman who was indian agent, otherwise they still want to join pakistan back. and look at them what they got after getting independance - loosers."

The same is happening with Balochistan. Especially the people of Punjab are made to believe that "whatever is happening in Balochistan is because of RAW/CIA and yahood-o-nisara are involved thr, otherwise they are very happy with their pakistani brothers." I only get surprise when people call it a mere propaganda that thr are genuine separatist movements in Balochistan and Sindh.

Thr are total 60 lac Baloch's in Pakistan and 1/3rd of that population are children. If 10 schools are established in Punjab and only 1 school is established in Balochistan, Baloch will be the most educated people of Pakistan. But what is their plight any fair minded people can feel their misery. And here some people will even go to the exteme extent and say that "oh ji thr sardars don't want them to be educated, yes we are in government and our responsibility to educate them is only in books, zameeni-haqaiq don't permit us" .

Today in pakistan thr r many ppl who support PMLN, PPP. ANP or BNP just because they r punjabi, sindhi, pathan or baloch. not cus who is right n who is wrong. Anyone who accepts tht we r ethnically divided will have to accept accept tht dominant groups wil discriminate weak groups.

@JS Sb

Every nation in the world has the potential to produce Wrestlers, Scholars, Musicians, Artists and intellectuals. I'm sure you also know that Hitler had the same mentality that only Aryans are capable to rule the world. I don't agree with this argument. Just within few decades Arabs were transformed from most backward people to the most civilised and cultured people by education and training. If Balochis are given opportunities you will see them rising in the ranks in every walk of life. But unfortunately whoever is weak in Pakistan is being denied of its share by those who are strong. Central Punjab and Karachi is probably getting much more than its due share and at the cost of others.

@Letsdoit

Yes because Capital is in Punjab and punjab holds more thn 50% of Pakistan's population and thr dominance is natural and I have no problem with it. And Punjabis like any nation are very much capable to excel in every field. But I cannot agree they are inherently more vocal or naturally any better, as some scholars are claiming, thn any other. But do you notice that there is no journalist at all from Balochistan, in 60 years not a single sportsman has come from Balochistan, and even for the posts of IG , CJ which require only individuals they have to rely mostly on Punjabis. Few groups are dominating every thing at the cost of others and Every pakistani knows that merit does not reigh supreme here!

My purpose for this post was to highlight that if thr is no/or lack of presence of certain group in different walks of life like Sports, Music, Bureaucracy, Government, Army etc it generates sense of deprivation and alienation. If among 25 leading TV anchors if you find even one baloch it will help to generate sense of participation and increase our fragile unity. Right now ppl of smaller provinces have to Struggle to get thr rights.

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 17:53 #
  18. Very well put fahim sahib!

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 18:28 #
  19. msohail83

Fahim, I agree with most of the points you're making but please don't simply rule out the foreign element in Balochistan.

Watch today's episode of Live with Talat. If that doesn't shake you then I don't know what to say to you brother.

I couldn't believe the audacity that Brahamdagh Bugti was talking with. After today I have no sympathy left for him.

He must be picked up and thrown in Attock Jail.

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 18:48 #
  20. This thread, I guess, was meant to discuss the ground reality without putting the if's and buts’.
    No doubt any race, any region or piece of land on this Earth could produce talent and potential if they are fortunate enough to get the required soil and tools.
    Looking at the Indian sub-continent starting from Asoka to the British Rule, one finds that only particular areas or regions were selected to initiate Industry, Education, Sports, and other related activities.
    Some parts of India and Pakistan could not be developed due to lack of resources or manpower.
    Punjab, due to its tropical climate was fortunate enough to get its share of all sort of opportunities and a prominent section of Punjabis utilized and exploited that opportunity to glamorize.
    It doesn't mean that the people of other parts are less intelligent or talented.
    They got victim of administrative or logistic limitation to earn preference.

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 19:39 #
  21. Fahim23

@msohail83

I just watched Live with Talat and was going to recommend every one at this forum as must watch. I never ruled out the possiblity of foreigh element in Balochistan. And Barahmdag Bugti was himself saying that though he is not getting any help but he will more than welcome any such assistance from India/USA/Afghanistan etc. But we probably tend to believe that the unrest in Balochistan is because of foreign hands and not because of the elitist groups who are enslaving many in Pakistan and depriving the people of their basic rights.

I don't support all of what he said like his endorsement of killing settlers in Punjab. But I do support his right of self determination and I support Balochistan cause of "Justice or Independance". If they don't get their rights in Pakistan thn I would like to see Balochistan getting independance like Bangladesh. Though it would be much better for all of us if we stay together, but the way things are in Pakistan I don't see it happening.

And frankly if I was fighting for my independance and I was offered assistance I will definitely consider it.

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 19:41 #
  22. msohail83

Thanks Fahim! You're a genius :)

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Apr 2009 20:54 #
  23. @Fahim,
    gist of your post doesn't support your thread ......
    from where you started with.

Posted 3 years ago on 16 Apr 2009 4:35 #
  24. The problem is that Punjab has the most skilled, educated and financially successful people from all the provinces, thefore, it is only natural that they will be present at the forefront of all fields and in far greater numbers.

This is where those claiming to fight for minority rights or rights of Sindhis, Balochis, Pathats go completely wrong.

Instead of trying to treat and fix the SOURCE and REASON and CAUSE of this problem, by, implementing economic reform and developing education and infrastructure, so that they can then compete purely on merit, they ask to treat the SYMPTOMS by asking for ridiculous things like quotas and stupid things like Baloch jobs only for Balochis or Baloch contracts and tenders only for Balochi companies, which in the end hurts a meritocratic system, hurts the country, hurts the economy, and, actually, hurts Balochis themselves in the long run, for instance.

You can argue about govt. jobs, or, jobs in PIA (also known as Shaheed Bhutto International Airlines), but, in the private sector, merit rules, and, there no one can claim any major or systematic discrminitation.

Posted 3 years ago on 16 Apr 2009 7:04 #
  25. media is simply dominated by punjabis .
    coz they are VOCAL .
    others don't believe in speech.

some are facing harshness of Waderahas and are quiet .
    some are pressurize by Khans and are quiet.
    some are under threat by Mullas and are quiet .
    some are hostages of a Ghunda mafia and are quiet.

Posted 3 years ago on 16 Apr 2009 10:32 #
  26. Dear Fahim

I never mentioned that Punjabis are INHERENTLY more intelligent. I told you only it is because of the conditions. Karachi is the most developed city of Pakistan, it has got most number of very reputed educational institutes/universities. But tell me how many anchors are there from Karachi. Who will dare to talk against MQM mafia? Its not nature but its the conditions which makes you vocal and free to think.

I do agree for the condition of balochistan and FATA that it was a crime to keep them away from development but i dont buy this argument for Sindh and rest of NWFP. Even i am from NWFP and my upbringing is from NWFP, later i lived in punjab for some time and i think i was having fairly equal facilities.

So the best step would be as suggested by Secular to improve the conditions to make them capable instead of taking them as it is.

Posted 3 years ago on 16 Apr 2009 10:33 #
  27. Fahim23

@Letsdoit

I am also trying to suggest that instead of developing new industrial zones and making motorways in Sindh and Punjab, we should at least make good quality primary and middle schools in Balochistan.

But contrary to that the State since last 62 years has practically said to the people of Balochistan and other underdeveloped areas that "If you can on your own fix your own problems thn compete with Government College Lahore, UET, NED, MUET, GIKI, and other institutes of Islamabad, meanwhile since we are Educated, talented and privillaged it is our right to loot and plunder your resources and we will continue our support of every sardar or wadera who will keep your lifes miserable as thy are and for longer time so that we get to build our empires on your resources"

As far as Sindh is concerned, I have already mentioned that unlike Balochistan there is no dearth of journalists or anchors. There are Dozens of Sindhi daily newspapers and dozens other urud daily newspapers along with Sindhi (KTN, Sindh TV, Dharti, Mehran TV etc) as well as urdu TV newschannels.

http://pakistaniat.com/2008/10/24/sindhi-newspapers-in-pakistan/

Sindh is also the most urbanized province of Pakistan with 51% rural and 49% urban population. It is also the second most educated province of Pakistan after Punjab, while in early days it used to be on top. Why thn you see very few Sinchi anchors on major media outlets?

How much vocal we have been against Dictators and Corrupt politicians unfortunately only we know. Most people even on this forum are completely ignorant about the struggle of people of smaller provinces be it Pakistan movement, Hari Tehreek, Struggle against one unit, Struggle against Ayub, MRD, ARD etc. It was for the first time that people of Punjab actually fought against any dictator that too in his last days after first supporting it in the form of PMLQ, otherwise they were the one who used to sit in the lap of every occupier and dictator and Hence became Privillaged. Now they suddenly have become more vocal and expressive thn Sindhis, Balochis and Pathans.

Either you claim that there is no discrimination in Pakistan or you accept that the underprivillaged people instead of being facilitated they are discouraged and alienated from main stream which is the natural coarse in society where racism and discrimination exists.

I understand that Personal experiences do not count much on this forum so I try to avoid mentioning thm but since as few members are quoting their personal life experiences saying that they have not felt any discrimination thn I must say to those brothers that you have been among Fortunate ones. In Sindh it is advised that do not write your original home address in ur CV if you are from Dadu, Sanghar or Tharparker etc if u want to get job in Karachi. My uncle who was 2nd position holder in Risalpur academy had a dream to become a pilot but he was told by his superiors that "the place from which you belong to has no career in armed forces".

Posted 3 years ago on 16 Apr 2009 13:26 #
  28. Dear fahim

I understand your point very well now. But I dont agree when you say instead of developing new industrial zones and making motor ways we should make at least good primary and middle schools.

I am completely against this. I think to keep expectations from the public sector in Pakistan to build good schools is merely a dream. Name me single location in punjab and NWFP except from Islamabad where we have good Govt. schools in primary and middle level. Name me a single institution. Perhaps you are unaware of the quality of education delivered in Govt. schools in punjab and NWFP.

In both of these province all the good schools for basic education are being run by Private sector and private sector only put their finances where they could get profit. So if you will do the development work in those areas, and when the locals will get the benefits of that development then private sector will also invest there. So its the development first and other things are having second priority.

Now coming to the discrimination. I told you my point of view about Balochistan and not to forget FATA which is even more deprived that Balochistan. I think it was a criminal act of Pakistani establishment to ignore these regions. Now coming towards sindh and rest of NWFP. For NWFP i am sure that we have very nice education facilities and i am proud of it. Even if you want to compare institutions of NWFP with Institutions of Punjab i think you could compare them.

Now coming towards the problems of the sindh. Offcourse you could educate us more about that. According to my knowledge Urdu speaking people of Karachi very often complaint about not getting job in the public sector in Karachi and this is very true that most of the Public sector jobs in sindh are occupied by people from the interior sindh not by the urdu speaking people. The main reason is that average student from the universities in karachi gets around 60% of marks and average student from universities in interior sindh get around 85% of marks and this is the main reason why universities like NED do not treat people coming from karachi and people coming from interior as same and this is where your domicile matters. But i really dont know the truth behind this so it would be better if you could explain.

Posted 3 years ago on 16 Apr 2009 14:21 #
  29. Fahim23

One of the best Live with Talat shows are aired two days ago of Barahmdag Bugti and Hayrbiyar Maree. Unfortunately my favourite Mr. Talat Hussain Sb, mostly out of Pakistani patriotism, was trying his best and hard to discredit Baloch Struggle. But the jahil and ganwar baloch leaders manage to clearly knock out his questions and brilliantly explained their position.

It would now be a miracle if the people of Balochistan voluntarilly wish to remain part of Pakistan.

Now I know how Indians feel when Kashmiris demand right of Self determination and Independence!

@Letsdoit

Education and Health in civilised world are considered “state responsibility” and they are preferred over everything else. But yes you are right whoever is expecting these facilities from Pakistani Government they are living in the land of fools. That's why probably Balochs are trying to fix things on their own and they have no hopes left at all from Pakistan and for right reasons.

In Sindh too many people Alhamdulilah realized this much earlier that we won't be treated equally in this country. If you are weak you will pay the price for it. The criterion for strength in Pakistan is Population and this is permanent disadvanted to the people of smaller province and something difficult to fight with. As an example of criminal discrimination I would like to inform you that in Pakistan last year total 14000 ghost schools were exposed. Out of those 14000 about 7000 were only in Sindh! Since thr was a ban on new appointments in Sindh due to lack of funds majority of them were mere bricks and walls without appointed teachers, furniture and other facilities, others were occupied by local "changa murs" as their stable or guest rooms and few existed only on papers. While just for the advertisement of Parha likha Punjab millions were being looted. But still literacy rate has somehow improved (though only by few numbers) and mostly due to private efforts. I must mention that as now there is PPP government people of Sindh will and are getting some relief in terms of removing ban on jobs, 40,000 land distributions to women peasants etc. Otherwise all other governments treat Sindh as step brother.

My assessment is that the elitist groups of Pakitsan like any such group only look after their interests. They don’t compartmentalize FATA and Balochistan and rest of NWFP or Sindh. Even in Punjab there are many areas (especially Siraiki belt) that are neglected as compared to the Central Punjab. And in Central Punjab too the poor comes after the rich. This is how the elitist groups (which are often racist, chauvinistic, and discriminatory at same time) mentality works. If you are saying that FATA and Balochistan comes in the last two places, thn you are right but their discrimination is against everyone who does not serve their interests.

Urdu speaking people have always got the best education, health and employment facilities available not only in Sindh Province but in Pakistan. Most of the Public sector jobs in Sindh are held by Punjabis thn sindhi speaking or urdu speaking. Most of the universities and colleges of Sindh are in Karachi and due to quota system only karachites can benefit from them, for people from rest of Sindh the doors are closed for them. I don't know who told you that the average student in Karachi get 60% while in rest of sindh it is 85%! I wish if that was true! but average student gets C grade (65% - 70%) all over sindh!

In NED only there are very few seats for students from Interior Sindh! There are 15 different Categories for admission. There are total 1626 seats.

For karachites - 1325
    For Hyderabad - 24
    For Mirpurkhas - 18
    For Sukkur - 18
    For Larkana - 18

http://www.neduet.edu.pk/Registrar/prospectus/BE_2008-2009/CHAPTER%208.pdf

So essentially for people from Interior Sindh thay have 36 seats out of 1626 total! And for that too they have to score 80% in the entry test if they want to secure a place in NED if they fail which happens many times the vacant seats are given to karachites!

Posted 3 years ago on 17 Apr 2009 19:26 #
  30. Adonis

When several people pointed out that media is in private sector which is merit based and no quota system can be imposed on it, the topic of discusiion has conveniently been changed to the same old lie of Punjab loots everything.

It really amazes me when supposedly educated people say such things that one can only expect from complete illiterates but then my amazement subsides when I realize that these are the same people who support PPP.

How can one compalin that karachi's universities prefer the domicilees of karachi while completely forgetting that very few from urban sindh can get admitted to Universities in interior sindh? Given the population of urban and rural sindh, people in urban sindh are at a distinct disadvantage when it comes to public sector universities.

As for "parha likha punjab" program, it was mainly for promotion of parvez Elahi, but still the funds came frfom provincial budget, no money was taken from federal government. So there is no cause of grief for other provinces. And yes, there was a ban on recruitment in punjab as well then. This complain is similar to what saleem saifullah Khan said the other day that 2 Rs roti should be supplied by Punjab to the whole country. He conveniently forgot that this 2 Rs roti is given by the provincial government of punjab after severely curtailing its own development budget and expenses.

Still, punjab is providing a subsidy to wheat supplied to other provinces, otherwise the cost oof wheat there would have been as high as in Afghanistan, iran or India.

How many people here know that each user of electricity in Punjab subsidizes electricity consumers in other provinces? Not many I am sure.

It is a fact that in punjab, electricity theft is miniscule compared to other provinces and therefore cost of electricity is lowest. Electricity regulator decides on electricty rates based on cost and therefore lower rates in punjab and higher rates in other provinces result. However, federal government increases the electricity rates in punjab and allows only a smaller increase in other provinces so as to bring these rates at the same level.

There are many such instances where Punjab is subsidizing other provinces. There is a need to bring these forward so everyone realizes who is getting what from this federation.

Posted 3 years ago on 17 Apr 2009 23:03 #
  31. misalligned

fahim a stupid question from you..

You yourself said that Urdu speaking people are most educated and they are having better chances of education and jobs than people from rural sindh. so the question is:

why we dont see even a single front line media anchor from urdu speaking community i mean from karachi?

Posted 3 years ago on 17 Apr 2009 23:53 #
  32. Adonis,

Spot on.

If anyone should succeed from Pakistan, it should be Punjab...

I am not being pro-Punjabi or Anti-Baloch or anything.

My point is that people should understand issues and how everything really works instead of blaming everything on Punjabis/Pathans/Baloch/Amreekis etc

Posted 3 years ago on 18 Apr 2009 9:32 #
  33. Fahim23

@Adonis

When did you see the advertisement of hiring for any major political talk show program? How many times did you see Talat Hussain, Hamid Mir, PJ Mir or Nadeem malik auditioning for the post of main anchor? Don't you note that most programs are even named after the journalists themselves Live with Talat, Q&A with pj mir, of the record with kashif abbassi etc? Please tell me a Pakistan where merit reigns! I'm not aware of any.

Certainly it is a lie that Punjab has ever tried to exploit the smaller provinces or even bigger province. One unit, language riots, massacre og Banglais by our Pak army, For 70% share of exports they didn't get only 25%! Bangladesh was created on the basis of mere lies, there was not any discrimination whatsoever against them.

Baloch's are demanding independance for no reason whatsoever they are wese yee Jahil and ganwar, how could they ever comprehend the sacrifices, favours and magnonimity shown by Punjab. The 3 sardars (Maree, Bugti, Mengal) who occupy hardly 13% of the Baloch land has stopped the Government of Pakistan from making Schools, hospitals and everything, but couldn't stop government of Pakistan from sucking out gas, oil, copper, coal and gold, or making gawadar port. 14 military operations right from QA to musharf government is mere lie!

Separatist movements in Sindh like Sindhu desh, Sindh qaumi mahaz and many other forces are also bunch of lies. Waters of Sindh were sold to India without permission of Sindh is the biggest law of our times. There is not a single drop of water after kotri bairage in once called Mighty river indus and sea is encroaching the lands of Thatta and Badin, while even Cholistan is growing bumper crops now is also a lie. It is also a lie that Sindh contributes 70% of the revenue and gets only 23% in return. But when Bangladesh was bigger province the wealth distribution on the basis of population was a bad idea, and since Punjab has become one Population is the only criterion for wealth distribution. What a hypocracy...oops sorry i m a lier! Despite contributing 70% of revenue, self sufficient in agriculture, natural resources, skilled man power poverty is raising most in Sindh. But yes it’s not true at all!

In MUET total seats 971

For Karachi - 20
    For Hyderabad - 160
    For Mirpurkhas - 87
    For Sukkur - 25
    For Larkana - 53

http://www.muet.edu.pk

In Quest total 323 seats

For Karachi - 15
    For Hyderabad - 08
    For Mirpurkhas - 03
    For Sukkur - 29
    For Larkana - 23

http://www.quest.edu.pk

Please note the drop of 1325 to 36 and 160 to 20 or 29 to 15! Also in total there are 6 public sector universities for 75% population in rest of Sindh and about 15 public sector universities only in Karachi and with much more number of seats! But you can still make a preposterous statement like this that "Given the population of urban and rural sindh, people in urban sindh are at a distinct disadvantage when it comes to public sector universities".

Along with being Ignorant, Incompetent, lier, Ghaddar and sometimes Kafir we are also probably fools in your eyes when you say that "As for "parha likha punjab" program, it was mainly for promotion of parvez Elahi, but still the funds came frfom provincial budget, no money was taken from federal government". We really don't know that whatever the province generates it first gives to the federation and thn federation distributes it on the basis of Population and population only. We are generating 70% of revenue, and in last 10 years out of 14000 ghost schools, 50% of them were closed in Sindh mainly because we didn't have funds to run them.

Thanks Punjab for "Still" providing wheat to Balochistan and NWFP! Otherwise you have done so much for smaller provinces tht even if u don;t give ur wheat to them those people can't pay you back even if they kill themselves. Beside they and their lives don't worth a single penny anyways. And it is the only truth i.e., Punjab provides wheat to Balochistan and NWFP. Everything rest specially when it comes from smaller provinces is nothing more thn a cooked lie.

FESCO - Faisalabad - Punjab
    Units = Price (Rs)
    Upto 50 units = 1.60
    For 100 units = 4.04
    For next 200 units = 4.96
    For next 700 Units = 6.94
    Above 1000 units = 7.94
    On average Peak = 7.04
    On average Off peak = 4.34

http://202.83.164.26/wps/wcm/connect/5228518048f6ee6c900ff9550e2b640c/FESCO2008.pdf?MOD=AJPERES

GEPCO - Gujranwala - Punjab
    Units = Price (Rs)
    Upto 50 units = 1.60
    For 100 units = 3.86
    For next 200 units = 4.82
    For next 700 Units = 6.97
    Above 1000 units = 7.97
    On average Peak = 7.22
    On average Off peak = 4.37

http://202.83.164.26/wps/wcm/connect/59fe5f0048f6f3609035f9550e2b640c/GEPCO2008.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&GEPCO

HESCO - Hyderabad - Sindh
    Units = Price (Rs)
    Upto 50 units = 1.60
    For 100 units = 6.54
    For next 200 units = 7.54
    For next 700 Units = 9.84
    Above 1000 units = 11.19
    On average Peak = 9.99
    On average Off peak = 4.49

http://202.83.164.26/wps/wcm/connect/3e47970048f6f3fa9039f9550e2b640c/HESCO2008.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&HESCO

QESCO – Quetta - Balochistan
    Units = Price (Rs)
    Upto 50 units = 1.60
    For 100 units = 5.59
    For next 200 units = 6.74
    For next 700 Units = 8.59
    Above 1000 units = 9.59
    On average Peak = 7.84
    On average Off peak = 4.49

http://202.83.164.26/wps/wcm/connect/5b859b0048f6f670904ff9550e2b640c/QESCO2008.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&QESCO

PESCO – Quetta - Balochistan
    Units = Price (Rs)
    Upto 50 units = 1.60
    For 100 units = 6.15
    For next 200 units = 7.20
    For next 700 Units = 9.70
    Above 1000 units = 10.70
    On average Peak = 9.45
    On average Off peak = 4.60

http://202.83.164.26/wps/wcm/connect/758e918048f6f60e904bf9550e2b640c/PESCO2008.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&PESCO

This price difference on per unit basis is only because we are also “thieves” along with Ignorant, Incompetent, fools, liers, traitors, ghaddars and kafirs. We are supposed to believe that 30% population of Sindh steal more electricity then more thn 50% Population of Punjab! Or 5% population of Balochistan steals more electricity thn Punjab! I don’t normally like to use foul language, but I have to ask what kind of fuc$$ked up country Pakistan is???

And if these prices are after the smaller increase in other provinces and major increase in Punjab, how much less they were paying before these increases for electricity??

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Apr 2009 1:25 #
  34. Fahim23

@secular_pakistan

If merit should be the only criterion thn why shouldn't we allow canadians, brits, indians, or chinese to come and become our administrators like IGs, Chairman KESC, or Port Qasim! We all must agree they are much more competent, honest and hardworking thn any of pakistani. But I'm sure you will think of me as stupid for asking this question!

You know this is the kind of mentality from which smaller provinces are forced to think that what if we have our own country, at least thn we will be having our own IG's, chief justices or chairmen for our own country!

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Apr 2009 1:30 #
  35. Fahim23

@misalligned

This is the same question I ask to myself. Most newspapers and hence journalists are published in Sindh actually. Sindh also has most number of private channels. And on them you will find many anchors, newscasters, actors, singers, etc. In BBC and DAWN most journalists are from Sindh actually.

But you will find very few Sindhi anchors (like Kamran Khan, Shahid masood, mazhar abbas etc all r from Karachi) on major media outlets questioning politicians, army officers and other bureaucrats. There are many possible reasons that come in my mind:

1- Our intelligence agencies are involved in promoting certain journalists. It is on the discretion of army officers or intelligence agencies whom to give interview and whom to call for briefing.

2- Same is the case of Political personalities. A common phrase you will hear in Pakistan "yar apna bhaee he is ka kaam kerdo" also works thr.

3- The other factor could be the MQM culture in Karachi. It has damaged the urdu speaking community most. Many journalists (urdu or sindhi speaking living in khi) who dared to wrote against MQM were killed. And the law and order situation not only shifted the business out from karachi but also it destroyed the performing arts.

I am not saying that all Punjabi anchors are product of favouritism and nepotism. People like Talat Hussain, Nusrat Javed, Kashif Abbassi are very talented. Talat hussain is the best journalist of Pakistan IMO! But I am among those who see favouritism, nepotism and discrimination a serious problem of our country and the field of media is no exception.

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Apr 2009 1:42 #
  36. Fahim23

Electricity bills paid by karachites.

KESC – Karachi - Sindh
    Units = Price (Rs)
    Upto 50 units = 2.968
    For 100 units = 6.50
    For next 200 units = 10.176
    For next 700 Units = 16.45
    Above 1000 units = 21.86
    On average Peak = xx
    On average Off peak = xx

http://www.kesc.com.pk/ElectricityTariffs/OrdinaryConsumers.aspx

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Apr 2009 5:19 #
  37. Fahim,

1. It is not stupid at all. We should open up to the entire world.

The problem is, this idea is too far ahead of its time. The world is global, borders are disappearing, goods and services are global, information is global, people to a great extent are global, but, unfortunately, politics is still local, those boundaries of politics are still unshakeable.

This idea of a global labor market, is a great one. It is just a natural extension of the idea of global markets and free trade.

But, like I said, it is too far ahead of its time right now. Eventually, you will have a global labor market, just not yet. Infact, you do see it in some places. For instance, the EU has a common labor market, which means people from Poland can go work in the UK, or, some one from the UK can go work in France. It is actually quite a big accomplishment, infact, it is revolutionary, nowhere else in the world would such a common labor market be politically acceptable right now.

But, this too will happen in the future.

Secondly, private sector in Pakistan, like anywhere else, is largely meritocratic. Ofcourse its not perfect, but, compared to the public sector/govt, it is heaven. Private sector has to be on merit. You perform, you sell, and, you go up the ladder. You dont, and, your out. There are no jiyalas, no safarish, no political connections, no MNAs.

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Apr 2009 7:45 #
  38. i think..
    we have left behind our actual thread topic.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Apr 2009 5:44 #
  39. No matter, how u twist things, but u will have more punjabis as anchors due to their belonging from Punjab province.

I am not buying this story that they are more educated or intellectual!

Its like comparing anwar maqsood's humour with dildar. Bhatti! So I am not gonna go into that debate.

Saying that, I need to ask if anyone knows? Who are the owners of these channels and their ethnic background?

Per my knowlwedge,

Geo. _Urdu speaking

ARY. Memon

Khyber. Punjabi (strange for me !!! as a pushtu channel, I would thought that it would belong to a pakhtoon like all punjabi channels belongs to punjabis)

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Apr 2009 9:35 #
  40. its not the matter of owners i guess.

how many well spoken sindhis you have met with?
    how many well groomed pathans you have met with?
    how many well educated balochis you have met with?
    how many well connected urdu speaking you have met with ?

answer is simple.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Apr 2009 10:08 #
  41. The discussion is more like Sindh-Punjab issues which will never come to an end. I agree punjabi establishment is also playing its role but the sindhi leaders who were getting power including Bhuttos are also accountable for this.

But i am sure Mr. Fahim will not be able to see all this with one set of glasses. Now you are talking about education facilities. I have one question:

Mr. ZA Bhutto went to Oxford for his education because he knew the importance of education

Then he come to power but he did not even attempted to make one university like Oxford here because he knew he could sent her daughter again to Oxford.

Then Benazir again went to Oxford and become PM twice but BECAUSE of PUNJABI DOMINATION she was unable to make one university here which is good and could attain the level for which she has to went to Oxford.

Now Bilawal is again in Oxford and what Mr. Zardari is doing for education is greta. Mr. Ata-ur_rehman was establishing few world standard universities here and he really worked very hard for this. The work for the german university to be established in pakistan was almost completed, i know my self few german professors who were working for this and they were assisting Ata-ur_rehman with the help of their Higher Education Network (DAAD) but this Govt. forced him to resign because this is the not the need of our elite who could send their children to Oxford type universities.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Apr 2009 11:03 #
  42. Justapakistani

@ LetsDoIt agreed u bro, yee saaab elite class kaaa game hai and nothing........

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Apr 2009 11:12 #
  43. @Letsdoit,
    that's the mentality of PPP .
    their original manifesto is to let ppl illiterate ,useless and helpless always so they can buy PPP election slogan again and again .

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Apr 2009 11:37 #
  44. Adonis

All channels extensively advertised for anchor positions before starting their transmissions. GEO, ARY, AAJ, EXPRESS, the four main channels are owned either by Urdu speaking muhajirs or memons. But still, they must be a part of conspiracy by Punjab that is why more anchors are punjabis.

It was a genereal from NWFP, Ayub Khan, who signed Indus water treaty giving away waters of three rivers of Punjab to India. Now we are being educated by geniuses from PPP that it was actually a conspiracy by Punjab to deprive sindh. Interestingly, it is also claimed that Indus which flows for a longer distance in punjab than in sindh is an exclusive propoerty of sindh and punjab has no right over it.

It was another general from NWFP, Yahya Khan, and our worst civilian dictator, Z A Bhutto who were running the show when East Pakistan became Bngladesh, but somehow accoding to the twisted piplee logic, it was all Punjab's fault.

Notwithstanding that punjabis have ruled Pakistan for a limited period out of the previous 61 yeras, still Punjab is responsible for everything bad in this country.

The first punjabi PM was Feroze Khan Noon who remained in the post for ten months.

Chaudhry Muhammad Ali was a muhajir from jallundhur,who remained PM for one year if he is also considered a punjabi.

Zia-ul-Haq was another muhajir from jallundhur, who if considered punjabi, remained in power for 11 years. Incidentally he held actual power for 8 years while in his last 3 years the head of government was Muhammad Khan Junejo, perhaps the best leader pakistan has ever had and an extremely honest and upright gentleman.

Then Nawaz Sharif, a Kashmiri, again if considered punjabi, remianed in power for a total of 5 years and 4 months during his two tenures as Prime Minister.

So punjabis or semi-punjabis have ruled Pakistan for less than 30 % of the time during the last 61 years. Still, it is punjab thats is responsible for exploiting other provinces.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Apr 2009 18:22 #
  45. Adonis

As for electricity bills here are some links from NEPRA website:

http://nepra.org.pk/QESCO/2008/SRO%201183%20QESCO%20dated%2012-11-2008.PDF

http://nepra.org.pk/LESCO/2008/SRO%201180%20%20LESCO%20dated%2012-11-2008.PDF

http://nepra.org.pk/HESCO/2008/SRO%201182%20HESCO%20dated%2012-11-2008.PDF

http://nepra.org.pk/PESCO/Oct%2008/SRO%201184%20PESCO%20dated%2012-11-2008.PDF

Line losses (including theft) were:

QESCO (Baluchistan): 45-50% (according to provincial government)
    LESCO (Lahore) : 12%
    HESCO (Sindh): 36%
    PESCO (NWFP): 36%

From the above links, it is clear that the consumer rstes were:

In sindh, baluchistan and NWFP:

1-100 units: Rs 3.23
    1-300 units: Rs 4.90
    1-700 units: Rs 7.97

while in Lahore:

1-100 units: Rs 3.75
    1-300 units: Rs 6.00
    1-700 units: Rs 8.50

The electricity is supplied to these companies at the same rate by WAPDA. LESCO has less than one third of electricity theft than in smaller provinces. Still the "rulers" in punjab are paying a higher rate. It must be a novel type of discrimination and exploitation where punjab is paying for the lack of governance in other provinces and still it is considered exploitation.

Apparently, there are many sindhis in WAPDA and NEPRA. Maybe it would help you better understand if you could check with some of them regarding how much the other province's consumers are being subsidized by punjab.

During mush days there was a suggestion that electricity bills in smaller provinces should clearly show the amount that is being subsidized by punjab's consumers and also the amount that they would have to pay if subsidy from punjab was not there. This was rejected perhaps because it would have punctured the ballon of "Punjab's exploitation" of smaller provinces.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Apr 2009 18:58 #
  46. misalligned

Dheer ala Adoins lala

Mara mujhay yea samjh nahin aata, balochistan aur fata ko bhool kay sindhi kyun ronain lag jata hai?

Most of the time pakistan is being goverened by sindhies, when they have to use muhajirs then they count them in sindh and when they have to complaint then they say that in education sindhis dont get seats but people from karachi get this (sorry to call urdu speaking as muhajirs but the fact is that they call themselves as muhajir)

It is clear that NFC award on which sindhies always complain, the most of the share is coming from karachi, the only port of pakistan, when they have to count the education percentage of sindh they include karachites and hyderabadies in themselves and claim their education percentage is higher than punjab but at the same time they cry like cry babies that urdu speaking people are getting admission in NED. Yaar aik baat pay rona ro either count urdu speaking people in sindh or call them punjabis, Mard ka aik zuban hota hai bahi, kaisa mard hai tum

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Apr 2009 21:46 #
  47. Adonis

I do not have problem with sindhies. After all Sindh has given us Muhammad Khan Junejo whom I consider the best prime minister Pakistan has ever had. Its just the "piplee" mentality that is the problem whether they are sindhi or punjabi or whatever. They always make the most outlandish claims and alway try to divide this country just like their founder bhutto did.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Apr 2009 21:58 #
  48. misalligned

i am sorry that perhaps i am misunderstood, i did not criticized on sindhies but these sindhi leaders who always cried like cry babies. The common person in pakistan no matter he is from punjab, sindh, balochistan or from NWFP, he is living in a misery.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Apr 2009 22:16 #
  49. Adonis

@ misalligned

Agreed. That is why instead of creating divisions among us, we need to see the real face of those who benefit from these divisions.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Apr 2009 22:37 #
  50. Fahim23

@Letsdoit

I started this post with the deliberate intention to initiate a discussion to highlight the difference between haves and have-nots’ of our country. Though my purpose is certainly not limited to confine this discussion only to Sindh-Punjab conflict.

I also want to highlight grievances of Baluchistan with Punjab and Sindh. As Sindh has complaints that Punjab obstructs its waters, Baluchistan has similar water issues with Sindh. I also want to highlight the conflicts between NWFP and Punjab. I would also like to talk about the differences between Siraiki belt and Punjabi belt of Punjab Province. And I will also try to discuss the unfair and unjust attitude towards the rural and urban population of Sindh.

I'm not sure how can you talk about me with the authority when you say that I cannot see the role of Sindhi leaders, or Baloch leaders, or Pathan leaders in the plight of thr respective provinces. As far as I'm concerned my experience is that who ever is weak (individuals or nations) are bound to be exploited. Because world is running on the principle of "Might is Right". Whoever believes in this principle first realizes his own weaknesses which allow others to exploit him. So, I think I do realize the shortcomings of our own leadership and people. If you wanted to make the point that the leadership of Sindh has failed to effectively represent their constituencies and whatever sincere efforts they have made are not enough, I agree with you.

To answer your question about Education in Sindh, (with understanding the shortcomings and failures of Bhutto’s or PPP) brother if there is any party in Pakistan which has done something to uplift the education Standards in Sindh are Bhutto’s and PPP. Yes they could not established Oxford, Cambridge or MIT in Sindh, but they did established MUET and SZABIST!

Other services in the field of Education in Sindh by PPP Government:

1. Medical colleges in Karachi, Larkana, Quetta, Lyallpur and Rawalpindi were established.
    2. Established Mehran University of ET.
    3. Sindh Medical College, 1972-73
    4. National Book Foundation established - 24th September, 1972
    5. Applied Economics Research Centre, 1973
    6. Establishment of Allama Iqbal Open University with campuses all over Pakistan - 21st May, 1974
    7. Shah Abdul Latif Bhitai University, Khairpur, Sindh, 1974 campus – 1986
    8. Sindh Agriculture University, Tando Jam 1955 college – 1977 university
    9. Cadet College Petaro, Sindh
    10. Institute of Industrial Electronics Engineering, Karachi.
    11. For the very first time in the history of Pakistan, in the budget of 1989-90 the amount allocated for education was increased. The education budget was again increased in 1990-91.
    12. Fifty thousand new teachers were employed.
    13. 80, 000 new literacy centers were set up throughout the country.
    14. Computer centers for women were started in Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad.
    15. People’s Medical college nawabshah.
    16. SZABIST (it is established from personal funds of Bhutto family).
    17. Built 21,000 primary schools.
    18. Quaid-e-Awam University of Engineering and Science Technology, Nawabshah.
    19. Cadet College Sanghar,
    20. Chandka Medical University
    21. Established campus of IBA in SuKKur.

Other Achievements of PPP Government for Sindh

22. Made Pakistan self sufficient in fertilizer, sugar, and cement. Many fertilizers plans and cement and sugar industries were established in Karachi, Ghotki, Thatta, Dadu, and Hyderabad.
    23. People’s Works Program 72 - 75: To harness the country’s vast manpower resources in their spare time. This programme provided 450,000 residential plot units in the Punjab and Sind. Asphalted and unasphalted roads were also constructed.
    24. Agrovilles: Whereby many agro-based industries (mostly sugar mills) were established in different parts of Country.
    25. Land Reforms - 1st March, 1973
    26. Inaugurated Pakistan's first Nuclear Power Plant at Karachi. - 28th November, 1972
    27. Establishment of NDFC - 5th February, 1973
    28. Establishment of Quaid-E-Azam University, Islamabad - 9th February, 1973.
    29. Establishment of Port Qasim Authority, Karachi - 27th June, 1973
    30. Laid Foundation Stone of Pakistan Steel Mill, Karachi - 30th December, 1973
    31. Establishment of Gomal University Dera Ismail Khan - 01 May 1974
    32. Cadet College Razmak, NWFP
    33. Distributed 35000 acres of land among the landless peasants mostly in Sindh. Each farmer was given 12.5 acres of land. The landlords challenged the land reforms in Supreme Court and because of court intervention the hand reforms were temporarily halted.
    34. One thousand small houses were built in Karachi and handed over to homeless at a price of 30,000 each payable in small easy instalments.
    35. 40, 000 industrial workers previously sacked were reinstated.
    36. Ten thousands young people were given loans of 50 thousands each to start their own businesses.
    37. Private sector was encouraged and 1 billion $ investment from private sector was arranged for electric generation. HUBCO, to cater the needs of Karachi and Baluchistan.
    38. To overcome the energy problem an agreement was signed with China for the supply of a 300 MW nuclear Power Plant in Karachi.
    39. Microwave channel was built to connect Karachi and Peshawar.
    40. 600 new post offices were opened.
    41. Port Qasim was extended.
    42. Pakistan Steel Mills was extended and its productivity increased.
    43. A new plant of Suzuki Cars was constructed in Badin.
    44. Airport at Sehwan Sharif.
    45. Construction of Akra Dam providing safe drinking water to the coastal regions of Mehran.
    46. Peace in Karachi. A near end to terrorism acknowledged by friends and foes alike.
    47. Completion of the first private sector power plant, HUBCO.
    48. Laying of the optic fiber along with right bank of Indus.
    49. Introduced cellular telephones, digital pager, satellite dish and FM Radio.
    50. Thar Coal Project.
    51. Keti Bandar Project.
    52. In Sindh 30,000 acre land distribution in poor women farmers.
    53. Karachi to Hyderabad motorway.
    54. Karachi to Lahore motorway

But this is certainly not enough, much more needs to be done to improve the standard of people.

Posted 3 years ago on 21 Apr 2009 4:45 #