PKPolitics Discuss » Faith and Religion

Why pray in Arabic?

(44 posts)
  1. kq

It is something which i find unnatural. Most of the Muslims around the world don't know Arabic. The national language of Pakistan is Urdu, and i can safely say about 90% of Pakistani muslims don't know Arabic. I have met many people who don't know what they are saying in Namaz, what they are reading in Quran, what is the meanings of different duas they have learnt. People are just going through the motions without knowing what they are saying or reading. The most surprising thing is the acceptance of this ignorant attitude. No one finds it odd. Doing important functions without understanding just makes it a robotic ritual, it diminishes spirituality and creates distance b/w man & religion.
    The solution given is learn Arabic, learn the translation, read the tafsir. Keeping in mind the literacy rate of the country is around 40%, and that most of the masses are busy in making ends meet, expecting the population to learn Arabic is like asking for the moon. It may work for some individuals, but not for the masses.

Why not just pray in Urdu, why not start teaching the Quran in Urdu. Instead of expecting people to learn or memorize Arabic, why not make religion easy for the masses. Take it to a level that even an illiterate person can understand and relate to his actions. Why insist on Arabic.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jan 2010 23:41 #
  2. toamin

kq,

When I want to do something that Allah swt has ordered me to do then I also see how HE ordered me to do -simple-

Regarding language, I am sure a learned member like you knows that Urdu is not mother tongue of majority in Pakistan. It is taught in Schools like English is taught in schools and for majority of Pakistanis Urdu is second language, then why not make Arabic second language or 3rd language as in case of English?

Thx

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 4:18 #
  3. kq

salam,

I wrote Urdu as most Pakistanis understand it. I did not mention it as the mother tongue of the country, i said national language. Replace Urdu with whatever language you are comfortable with, be it Punjabi, Pashto etc.

Has Allah ordered us to pray in Arabic. Can you give me some reference for this. Whatever orders i have come across in Islam do not mention language.
    I think this trend of blind obedience in our society is bad. People are not taught to think, they are just told to obey. They are told its not necessary to understand, you just have to follow. This trend is bad for the development of a society.

I think you already know that the literacy rate in Pakistan is about 40% or even less. Your suggestion of making Arabic compulsory in schools is impractical and is excessive. Why do we need to learn Arabic in the first place, to understand namaz, Quran and other duas in Islam. Isn't it much simpler to just start using your mother tongue (which you already know)for these things, why waste time on learning another language. I hope you get my point.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 9:32 #
  4. toamin

kq, I disagree with "most Pakistanis understand Urdu". This statement is factually wrong.

I guess you have had only city life experience, go to rural areas of NWFP/Baloch/Sindh/Punjab/Kashmir/etc and communicate with people.

I am sure you would understand that it takes proper schooling to understand Urdu language because 90%+ population's mother tongue is not Urdu.

Currently you can argue on why Arabic is important because we are under the influence of English dominated civilizations so we like to learn English to understand new tools/info coming from English civilization.

Regarding your question why we have to pray in Arabic? Well, it is a very fundamental question and I thought a learned person like you would already know that it is fard to recite Qur'an in prayer and Qur'an is only in Arabic.

People have translated the meaning of Qur'an into other languages but that is TMQ = Translation Meaning of Qur'an, not Qur'an, I hope now you would understand the importance of Arabic language in Islam.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 10:21 #
  5. jaypk

as far as i know...we haveto learn atleast the translations of all the recitations of our prayers atleast from surah e fatiha till the last dua...and after finishing the namaz thn we can pray in our own laguage...!!

but sometimes i think tht if God lives in our heart..and whn i m praying to ask frforgoveness or asking for any worldly item...even if i dont ask Allah SWT in my own language...he knows everything...and if you ask Allah SWT the dua in your own language i think it gives you more pleasure to do so..since you know what you are asking...and lastly..as far as i know the translation of everythin in namaz...its all pray and dua...translate it and you ll know!!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 10:37 #
  6. kq

salam,

I have been to rural areas of Punjab, NWFP. People do understand Urdu, though not perfectly. You can communicate with them easily enough. But this is not what the topic is about.

By translating Quran or the word of God, does it no longer remain the word of God or it somehow loses it value. I cannot understand whats the difference b/w an Arabic Quran or a translated Urdu Quran. Is the Arabic Quran superior?

To me Quran is in Arabic only bcoz the language of Arabs was Arabic, so that the Arabs could understand it,just like the Torah is in Hebrew bcoz that was the language of the Jews, its just common sense. Shouldn't we conduct religious practices and read Quran in a language that we understand, isn't that common sense.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 10:43 #
  7. jaypk

@KQ....if we dont know what we are asking or saying thn we would be like...those kids in the madarasas..who are just sitting and reciting the holy quran and moving back and forth since they knwo tht once they ll stop they ll feel the back of hand of the maulvi sahab..!!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 10:48 #
  8. toamin

kq,

You have asked a very important question!

Allah swt has always equipped messengers with an especial miracle. A miracle as sign for people that this message is from the creator. A miracle which is challenge to society to bring something like this if you can.

Like at the time of Mosses when his hand glows or his stick becomes real snake makes the wizards confess that we believe in the lord of Mosses. They could see that what they had was illusion but what Mosses had was real.

Similarly at the time of Prophet Muhammad PBUH people were proud of their poetry in Arabic and used to consider other languages as "Ajjam" due to being inferior to Arabic -linguistically speaking-

So when Qur'an came it was a message + miracle for those people who thought they were the best of the best. A sign for them and a challenge for them.

Of course this miracle is in Arabic language and it's meaning can be translated but it will remain TMQ, can't replace the original text which is in Arabic.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 10:54 #
  9. kq

jaypk,

Thats my point. whats the use of hifzing Quran in a foreign language, is that doing justice with Quran. There is a whole mindset that its not necessary to understand, but just blindly follow.

You and i are educated and can find out the translation. But consider the masses, they can speak their mother tongue or Urdu, around 40% or less can read Urdu, they are busy in making their ends meet. do they have the time and will to find out the translation.

Isn't it better that religious clergy facilitate them, do away with Arabic and promote prayers and duas in their mother tongues, make Islam easy for them, make it feel like its a part of them. Would'nt it have more of an impact on an average person to hear the Azaan in a language you understand, instead of just hearing it in Arabic and knowing its the time for prayer, like its some alarm clock.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 11:05 #
  10. jaypk

KQ...

as i said...Allah SWT is even near thn our Shah rag..and he knows whds in our hearts in minds..if i just stand up 5 times a day recite arabic without even knowing the fact that even surah e fatiha is a whole jaamay dua in itself if we translate it...so i think even if know the translation of it...thn i dont mind reciting it in arabic since i would knwo what i am asking from Allah...and as you were reciting arabic you would side by side remembering the urdu translation as well which serves the purpose.......but ofcourse i cant say that i ll narrate urdu translation in the whole namaz...and i ll try to get the answer fr tht fr you...and as far as azaan is concerned..but my point here is that atleast know the translation in the frist place...same is for azaan...!!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 11:32 #
  11. netengr

I do not have much information to discuss on this topic but what I see that praying in Arabic protected the actual from of prayers as it was performed by Rasool Allah SAW, otherwise people would change the form of prayers according the their cultures and languages ,

Second Quran is Kalam-e-Elahi and this is in Arabic the translation in other language cannot be actual Quran .There are spiritual benefits if we recite the same words of Quran and in Hadees

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 11:46 #
  12. ased

@kq
    I think that is to unite the muslim community to pray word by word the same, but we still have to learn the translation to understand what we are praying.
    Arabic is also called the mother of the languages, so thats make arabic also valuable for Prayers.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 22:50 #
  13. NNL

Kq are you just starting a discussion for the sake of keeping the Religion forum active

Or do you truly believe that the Salah can be prayed in any other language.

IF you do think that then please by all means tells why you think that and why should your opinion be considered.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 0:27 #
  14. kq

NNL,

Please go through my posts. I have mentioned my viewpoint and opinion.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 0:57 #
  15. toamin

NNL,

Also checkout how he ignored answer to his questions, implying his arrogance by not acknowledging the answer.

Why not we establish some 'benchmark' first, a common ground from where we can reference things?

Or it is all just in thin air like your words against my words?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 2:52 #
  16. kq

salam,

Your answer doesn't address my question. Why doesn't the Translated Quran have same weightage as Arabic Quran. Ok, Quran is a miracle for the Arabs, but i don't know Arabic, if i read the translation, does it stop being a miracle or not, will i get sawab for reading it or not. If language is so fundamental, can you give me a single reference from Quran or Hadees that all religious practices should be conducted in Arabic.

I should have given you an answer earlier, but got busy in other things, sorry for that.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 4:20 #
  17. toamin

dear kq,

I appreciate your higher moral ground.

Yes Qur'an is in Arabic only because it has linguistic perspective, a challenge to mankind a miracle till the end day. We can try to understand the meaning of Qur'an in other languages but that would be translation meaning of Qur'an.

I suggest you to study a little deeper on why Qur'an is a living miracle today. There are many good work available.

So one thing which is the fundamental and very important to understand is that Qur'an is in Arabic and if you like to recite Qur'an then it has to be in Arabic.

"Now if We had made it a Qur'an in a non-Arabic tongue they would surely have said, "Why is it that its verses have not been made clear? Why - a foreign tongue and an Arab?" Say, "For those who accept it, this is a Guidance and medicine for a wholesome life. But as for those who will not believe (Arabs or non-Arabs), in their ears is deafness, and so it remains obscure to them. They are like people who are called to from afar." [41:44]

"Behold, We have sent it down in all clarity, in the Arabic tongue, so that you might encompass it with your reason." [12:2]

"Behold, We have made it a Qur'an in clear Arabic language that you may fully understand." [43:3]

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 4:32 #
  18. kq

salam,

The Quranic verses seem to address Arabs and the quality of Arabic in the Quran (i maybe wrong). However, i'll try to study a little deeper on this subject.
    My main concern is that the masses can't be expected to learn Arabic a foreign language. Conducting religious practices in their mother tongue, would bring religion directly to them, instead of the indirect method of Arabic. It would create a unparalleled sense of ownership and understanding of Islam. It is my view that a large portion of society could become better Muslims this way.
    I think my concerns are valid and they still stand.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 5:04 #
  19. toamin

Yes, of course your concern is valid which highlights a gap between medium of Islam vs medium of Muslims.

This disconnect is very important and needs to be addressed. Allah swt says in Qur'an on this question of Arabic that if I had revealed Qur'an in another language people would still have questioned why this language and why not that language.

As you know throughout the history there has always been a dominating civilization and all the rest adopt the language of that civilization.

Today we the Muslim civilization is no more dominating hence the Muslim language caries no more weightage.

We memorize things that many don't even know what they mean hence the idea they are saying has almost zero impact on their behavior.

If we connect & revive this language then we could see a lot of influence of this language on our daily life as all of our guidance comes from Islam.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 6:53 #
  20. ased

@kq
    you didn't comment on my post what do you think about it?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 11:35 #
  21. qasi

I think there are two issues first about Namaz in Arabic and than the dua in Arabic.
    Let me clear the first issue. Any person can do dua in any language even at the end of Namaz and during the Namz like during Sajda there is nothing wrong in it. Although there is a difference of opinion in at but that Christianity you can do.

Now the important thing about Namaz and Quran in Arabic. If you look other religions especially Christianity the main reason they are so much diverted form the Christianity is due to they don't have access to the real BIBLE which is in Hibro language the same language Jews speak in ISRAEL. You cannot translate 100% contents of One language to another so some time during this process you lost the meanings of the contents that is why Quran and Namaz must be in Arabic.
    As far as about the meaning namaz is not a long one and the meaning is very easy especially when we can speak, read and write urdu. May be 6 or 7 hours and that is it.

The very Important point is that we are doing it to Please ALLAH the even to follow the instruction and Orders of ISLAM, QURAN and Prophet MUHAMMAD PBUH you have to make an effort.
    This all life is all about effort and that is why we must keep trying.
    One last thing most of us know at least 2 of three languages Like URDU, ENGLISH, PUNJABI, SINDHI, BALOCHI, and other language than why can't we learn ARABIC it's worth an effort. When can speak English only to show off and to prove we are in trend and educated than why can't we learn Arabic for religious Purposes.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 18:00 #
  22. kq

ased,

I don't know about Arabic as the mother of languages part. Given that earlier Divine works like the Bible was in Aramaic, and the Torah was in Hebrew, i see no particular reason for superiority of Arabic over other languages. To me its a simple case of God choosing the language of the people to whom His word was being revealed, so that they could understand it. I am mentioning this ayat here in this regard, which has posted by Salam.

"Now if We had made it a Qur'an in a non-Arabic tongue they would surely have said, "Why is it that its verses have not been made clear? Why - a foreign tongue and an Arab?" Say, "For those who accept it, this is a Guidance and medicine for a wholesome life. But as for those who will not believe (Arabs or non-Arabs), in their ears is deafness, and so it remains obscure to them. They are like people who are called to from afar." [41:44]

Its just common sense, to make religion easy, to present it in a familiar language so that the recipients can understand it. Suppose, if Quran was revealed in Urdu, would it have caught the imagination of the Arabs, i think not, they wouldn't even know what the Prophet was saying. I hope you understand my point.

Regarding the unity part. You can pretty much see how united the Muslims are today and have been over the centuries. To me this is blind unity. We are just unifying with the Arabs without understanding reason for this unity. Do you want unity of thought or unity of motion.
    The Arabs think they are superior bcoz Quran is in Arabic, and since Arabic is their mother tongue to them they have a better understanding of Islam, then non-arabic speakers. Have you heard of the treatment of expatriates in the Gulf countries, so much for unity. Sounds more like hegemony of Arabic speakers over Islam.
    Also, i would put it another way to you. Around 90% of Pakistani Muslims stay in Pakistan. They donot go outside Pakistan in their lifetime. They donot meet Muslims of other ethnicity. Is it fair then to practice religion in a foreign language in the hope that a situation would arise where we would need to demonstrate unity by praying in Arabic.
    If a Pakistani can go to a Gulf country and pray there in a language that he doesn't understand and also doesn't understand back home, whats wrong in asking an Arab who comes to Pakistan to pray with us in Urdu, doesn't the Arab trust us. To me, the day this happens, is the day when we will be finally united, and finally their will be one Ummah. Unity through understanding, trust and diversity , not through rhetoric and blind obedience.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 18:00 #
  23. NNL

Blind Obedience ?

How does Praying as the Rasool Allah Sallaho Alahi Wasallam prayed blind Obedience. ?

Care to explain please.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 1:15 #
  24. kq

NNL,

Go through my earlier posts.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 1:40 #
  25. NNL

I have been through all your posts.

Thus i m asking you a question based on what you have written.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 1:50 #
  26. kq

NNL,

Then i guess u should have understood that blind obedience implied practicing rituals and saying duas without knowing their meaning, and thinking that there is nothing wrong with that attitude.

Maybe the word i have used is not the best one, i'll try to think of a better one. How about unenlightened or incognizant.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 2:00 #
  27. toamin

Good explanation Qasi, I agree.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 2:44 #
  28. NNL

So your solution is to pray in your language.

If you are refering to the Duas then Qasi has given a good explanation.

Are you are saying that instead of RECITING THE QURAN one should recite the Translation ? or somethign like that.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 4:11 #
  29. kq

NNL,

There are different duas like Iftar ki dua etc. which are seperate from Namaz.

Yes my solution is that an individual should pray and read Quran, and do every other religious practice in his language.
    An analogy is tried to be drawn that we can learn English, so why not Arabic. I have already told the shortcomings about this view in earlier post but i will do it again.
    How many people actually know English in Pakistan, also how many people are even literate in Pakistan, around 40% or even less, and you don't know the quality of them to. Also, consider the time and effort required to learn a new language. In this scenario, to me, it is totally impractical to suggest that everybody should learn Arabic. Maybe few people can do this but not the masses. Its not realistic. I hope i made my point clear. It is far easier and practical to translate religion in your language and make the people aware of it. The public can be immediately enlightened.

I would also say shouldn't religion be easy, shouldn't it be presented and practiced in a way that even a child can understand the meanings of the words he says. Why expect someone to learn a new language so that he can better understand religion, why expect someone to learn Arabic to understand his Creator, why create this gulf, is that fair.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 4:55 #
  30. NNL

Yes my solution is that an individual should pray and read Quran, and do every other religious practice in his language.

So you want everyone who cant read the Quran to pray in their own Language.

So what about the Statement of Rasool Allah Pray as you see me Pray ?

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 7:09 #
  31. jaypk

@all..there is no question abt arabic being the language...and learning it and translating it...but the core aspect shud be to know whatevr you are saying in arabic ...may it be namaz..quran or any dua...one shud know the meaning of it...and fr tht its nt neccessary tht you have to learn the whole language or if nt whole thne ateasl the translation...but yes arabic language has its importance...and we must try to atleast know the meaning of it..since most of the words in arabic are widely used in languages lke urdu and turkish...when we know what we are reciting atleast we serve the purpose..!! we shunt make islam difficult fr us but easier...as mush as we can..!!

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 11:51 #
  32. Though the reason to whether offering religious obligations in Arabic is compulsory or not has been mentioned in some of the replies above but I would like to give a few words on it too….

So far no authentic evidence has been found in Quran and Hadeeth on the compulsion of learning Arabic lang but the scholars of islam (well most of them) have highly recommended to learn Arabic language for several reasons…

To get a better understanding of Quran and the Traditions of the Prophet (PBUH) as they were in Arabic and you know even though a great work/effort has been done in translating Quran and Ahadeeth in different languages still sometimes while translating Quran or any other text in other language,there are chances of errors to occur….

We can make supplication in any language because Allah listens to every heart irrespective of the language the supplication is made in…

It is encouraged to recite atleast all those supplications used during obligatory practices in Islam in arabic like Duas at the time of opening and breaking of fast,Salah,during Pilgrimage,in testimony of faith, the Takbir and Tasbihat in prayers etc

Agree on reading Quran with understanding would have a completely different effect on a person than just reading it like any other book…

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 14:12 #
  33. kq

NNL,

We'll continue to pray as the Rasool Allah prayed. No one is going to start praying four rakats in Fajr prayer etc.
    We'll pray in our mother language, just like the Rasool Allah prayed in his.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 18:09 #
  34. qasi

Let me finish the argument if I can.

like any other subjects we have to see what the best scholours of that subject are saying. What are the fundamentals of that subject.

All the scholours of ISLAM is united and there is IJMMAH of UMMAT about this issue that namaz and quran must be recited in Arabic.
    ALL sects of MUSLIMS are united on this fact so just take it as it is.
    About dua it is a matter of choice. but the DUA of PROPHITS and IMMAMS have very very good words.
    there are protocols to address people on certain positons and we follow those protocols than why can't we follow the protocols set by the best poeple in the field (PROPHITS of ALLAH) but as well as there are may situations where we can't remember the dua in Arabic so we can do it in our own language.
    One last word
    Why we start discussin things that has no relevence to islam we are one of the most depressed nation in the world and still every day we find new things to divide us.
    Lets first get united and bring a Islamic goverment all over the world than we can discuss these issues.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 20:32 #
  35. kq

I think this issue is very relevant to Islam and our society in particular.
    What unity are you talking about. Its been 1400 years since Muslims have been searching for this elusive unity. I think we have the capacity and right to discuss such matters, not wait till eternity for a universal Islamic govt. to be established.

Again, can anyone give a single hadees that the Prophet of Allah told us to expressly learn and practice in Arabic. Regarding the Ijmah thing, if the Ummat wants to be like parrots who memorizes and repeats without understanding, does not take ground realities of the condition of Muslims into account, negates the importance of individual spirituality and wants to impose unity instead of creating it, then what can i say, i am a nobody, keep the status quo running. Itni sadyan aisay guzar gaee, aur bhi guzar jaingi.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 21:42 #
  36. fanijee

@kq
    just for your imagination..
    Imagine a punjabi reciting ... "Shru Allah sohnay day naa naaal.." or a pathan in his language.."grgrrgrgrg.." or a sindhi.."aray baba hum ko agay nahi aata na..."
    and you would be smiling with your evil eyes in pichli safs...:)
    or imagine..in NWFP you would try to look for an Imam who could speak your language so that you could understand the prayer...:)
    or imagine..What if you would go to Hajj and take alongwith you a translator gadget for your ears..:)
    Why don't you advise Christians of Gujranwala to tranlslate and read Bible in Punjabi during Sunday prayer service..yeh hamdardi becharay muslims kay saath hi kion..
    Aray baba pehlay inhay prayers per to lay ao... baad main in ki language ka publishing idaara khol layna..:) tumhara predecessor Ata Turk bhi koshish ker gaya but my sympathies are with all of you...:)
    baqi tum jaisoun k liyay Hadith is not important.. just logic can work (if your mind could accomodate)...you suggest to give more importance to your mother tongue over the language of Rasool (S.A.W) .. Yeh Hadith to suni ho gee. (mafhoom) kay koi us waqt tek musalman nahi ho sakta jab tek main us kay baap, maan or her shay say ziada muaqaddam na ho jaoun..
    Ji say mohabbat hoti hay us ki her shay say muhabbat ka izhaar houta hay.. (yeh diloun kay souday hain serkaar)..
    and another thing history of muslim scholars show that there have been more religious and arabic scholars in Ajjam rather than in Arabs (Imame Abu Hanifa of Fiqah, Imam Bukhari of Hadith, Shibli, Roomi,Sufis and Saints of Indo Pak etc.). it shows that mother tongue does'nt matter for understanding..

waisay by the way, I advise you to raise campaign for School education in our country in mother tongue instead of in English.. I would be with you..:)

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 22:29 #
  37. fanijee

waisay is Baba e Urdu ko kia afat ayee hay kay becharay Bannu or DI Khan kay Pathan moulvi ko Arabic chhor ker Urdu kay peechay laga raha hay...:)

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 22:34 #
  38. qasi

Yar
    kq
    what is your problem
    what studies you have to comment about Islam?
    If a doctor say some thing about law or banking than you will say him to go and get the relevent qualification and than comment on the matter but you are saying that you are the only person who get this vision and the all the Immams of UMMAH missed this issue
    Get over this issue first start saying Namaz five times a day with jamat and get some qualifcation about Islam and Profit life than you can comment on this other wisse you are just a time waster foolish

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jan 2010 0:52 #
  39. kq

fanijee,

I think you have not read all of my posts, otherwise you wouldn't be making such wrongful conclusions about my view. I would have no problem reading namaz in Pushto, just as i have no problem reading namaz in Arabic, i don't understand both. Its about the majority people of a community, to make religion easily understandable for them. In my own community i will pray in my own language, if i go anywhere else i would happily pray in the language of that community. I trust they would be reciting a correct translation.

"Inhay prayers par to lay aoo". Have you thought maybe people aren't praying bcoz it doesn't appeal to them to pray in a foreign language, it doesn't attract them. They don't feel spiritually satisfied not knowing what they are saying. Their is a language barrier for them.

I want both hadith and logic. I think you have heard Islam is deen-fitrat. Do you think to pray in Arabic is a fitri amal for a non-Arabic speaker, i think not. Meray liye ye fitrat kay barkhilaf hay. Ho sakta apki fitrat ho aisay alfaz bolna jin ka apko matlab nahin ata.

I am not a Christian, i am a Muslim. Dont care what Christians of Gujrawala do, but do care what Muslims are doing.

"kay koi us waqt tek musalman nahi ho sakta jab tek main us kay baap, maan or her shay say ziada muaqaddam na ho jaoun."

Wow, really impressive logic for pushing Arabic bcoz that is language of the Prophet, and implying that i don't love him. How about you start travelling on a horse or camel bcoz that was the means of travel for the Prophet, or do you love you car, taxi or bus more than means of travel of the Prophet. The Prophet fought with the sword, supposing India attacks us, you better go out to the battlefield with a sword in your hand, or do you love the Kalashnikov and machine guns more then the weapon the Prophet used. The Holy Prophet didnot use internet, so stop using it, or do you love the internet more then the Prophet's sunnat.

Stop making mullah type emotional arguments which have no solid foundation, and keep your useless sarcasm to yourself.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jan 2010 1:20 #
  40. toamin

fanijee,

His question in context with "why muslims have to pray in arabic" and what is the importance of arabic language in islam are already answered.

In fact Allah swt has addressed this question of "why arabic" in Qur'an, I've already pasted translation of ayah that has the answer.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jan 2010 12:33 #
  41. You know it is not that hard to understand these minor issues that some ppl have made it look so complicated...its just to have a little more faith in the commandments of God than it becomes pretty easier to comprehend it...

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jan 2010 13:48 #
  42. fanijee

salam. Yes u hav already answered him by quoting the verses of the Holy Quran. Ab muslims kay liyay us kay ha
    mdardana jazbaat us kay pas hi rehnay do.
    Kq.. U may pray even in sansikrat or in whtever u want.
    Kamal hay ap ki logic kay..Use of car and horses has nothing to do with the language of Prophet to b followed during prayers. 1400 saal say tumharay akabireen ko khayal nai aya. Aj tumharay pait may hamdardi k marror uth rahay hain :)

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jan 2010 14:02 #
  43. The biggest point in praying salah in arabic and reciting Quran in arabic to preserve it and this way has shown its signifigance for the last 1400 years.

The biggest hurdle in translation is that any text could not be translated to other language 100%. Show me two translations of Quran in any language which are identicle. I agree and i have no doubt that translations play an important role in understanding but if you really want to understand something you have to go for 2, 3 or sometimes 4 different translations and then you understand that verse. Similarly if you want to pray in your own language, first it is not possible for you to completely translate that matter on which all people of that language will agree and secondly even with that translation you will not be able to say what you have to say in your prayers.

You have history in front of you. Bible was translated and now its lost. Please tell me which version of bible is original. Do you have any idea?

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jan 2010 21:51 #
  44. NNL

Kq wrote

NNL,

We'll continue to pray as the Rasool Allah prayed. No one is going to start praying four rakats in Fajr prayer etc.
    We'll pray in our mother language, just like the Rasool Allah prayed in his.

Then i have only this to say to you what my Rasool Allah Sallaho Alahi Wasallam had to the People of Quraish

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم
    Say (O Muhammad (Peace be upon him) to these Mushrikun and Kafirun): "O Al-Kafirun (disbelievers in Allah, in His Oneness, in His Angels, in His Books, in His Messengers, in the Day of Resurrection, and in Al-Qadar, etc.)! (1)

"I worship not that which you worship, (2)

"Nor will you worship that which I worship. (3)

"And I shall not worship that which you are worshipping. (4)

"Nor will you worship that which I worship. (5)

"To you be your religion, and to me my religion (Islamic Monotheism)." (6)

Surah 109.

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Jan 2010 13:51 #