PKPolitics Discuss » Future of Pakistan

Why Stupid Politicians Dont Want to Construct KALABAGH DAM

(150 posts)
  1. Why KALABAGH DAM is not being constructed? Why these stupid politicians don't want this DAM to be constructed? Do this nation don't realize yet what these politicians has given to us?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 5:32 #
  2. toamin

because politicians are thinking and looking for there self interests only

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 5:34 #
  3. Dont we have to now openly beat such a politicians? Who are thieves and don't care for the interest of this nation!!

Logoou uthoou and unite for this land. Akhair ko hum awaam ko he tou yaan rehna hai, ye sab politicians to shaam perte hee yaan se Europe ya America nikaal jian gay!!!

AWAKE UP PAKISTAN...............AWAKE UP PAKISTAN!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 5:42 #
  4. toamin

openly beat? why?

because we are also concerned about our self interest such as job or transfer or safarish, or contract etc etc

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 5:43 #
  5. RajputPuttar

adnan045

Firstly ,it was not politicians but 'Bloody Generals' who created this issue of Kalabagh.

There are servere reservations against the construction of this dam from 3 out of 4 units of federation. How this dam is more important than federation at all ?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 5:44 #
  6. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

On one side we are blaming India for stealing our water for generation of electricity and irrigation,but question is if we waste our water ourselves in sea as sea fishes are thirsty or as there is shortage of rain on the sea while it is sea which receive the larger portion of rain as compared to land then infact India is doing a noble thing and we Pakistanies by wasting sweet water in the sea, are doing a crime and sin against humanity.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 6:03 #
  7. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

The foolish reasons on the basis of which we wasting River Indus water in the sea and the way we Pakistanies are Victimimizing and abusing River Indus due to provincialism and ethoncentrism and not utilizing for cultivation of land,not building dams like Kalabgh and other dams and by not using for generation of electricity, it is expected that India will not allow us to do such malpracties in future and will take all advantages by utilizing Indus water itself for welfare of its own population and it is certain that world community will support India.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 6:05 #
  8. RajputPuttar

M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Sindhis living in Thataa & Badin are not fishes. They are 'INSAAN' .

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 6:06 #
  9. toamin

this is a technical matter turned into a political case

technical experts agree that there is NO alternative to this solution, either implement this solution or accept to live in darkness and hunger

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 6:14 #
  10. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Mr. Rajput,it will be better to use water of Indus in the desert of Tharparkar and land between Karachi and Hyderabad,and further beyond Karachi and coastal areas of Makran,but also in state of Rajhastan and Gujrat of India but wastage in the sea or in the salt mines of Thatta is not acceptable to any sensible person or human.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 6:21 #
  11. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Poisioning,contaminating and polluting the God giffted River Indus sweet water with sea water or with salts of land and mines is a crime, a sin, a cruelty and denial the blessing of God.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 6:24 #
  12. RajputPuttar

Bahiyaa,

All the technical experts in WAPDA & world over are fools who advise the discharege of freshwater to avoid seawater intrusion.

Mashallaah:)

And secondly , who will trust PUNJAB which has been stealing resources of other provinces for decades ?

How people of Sindh can forgiven crimial usage of CJ Link Canal against the agreement ?

How u can defend construction of Greater Thal Canal withouth ECNIC approval ?

Mate, there are a lot of issues in this. Its not purely technical issue, there is a humantarian aspect as well.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 6:27 #
  13. Dear Rajput, IKRAM AND SALAM,

WE SINDHI, BALOCHI, PATHAAN AND PUNJABI are BROTHERS. We are a one MUSLIM nations.

Above all just to remind you of the facts: all the major infrastructure and industries were build during the military rules. If not agree then search about construction of Terbela Dam, Mangla Dam and industrial revolution in pak were started during the Gen. Ayub Khan.

The question is not about GENERALS, the question is about PAKISTAN and if blady politicians are able to deliver then someone will come forward. This land is not for-granted land where some group of stupid politicians for their own interests are hindering the development of this NATION.

Stand up against all those factors which dont want this nation to develop. The first step is to get rid of stupid politicans, who have given this nation nothing excepts problems.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 6:34 #
  14. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Baglihar Dam,Thal canal,Chashma Jehlum Canal,Kalabgh Dam,Basha dam,Ghazi Brotha Dam,Sukkur Barrage,Guddu Barrage are diamonds and necklace of river Indus,Use of water for any human purpose even by stealing is acceptable but wastage in the sea or in the salt mines of coastal ares is not acceptable to any sensible person or human.
    Poisioning,contaminating and polluting the God giffted River Indus sweet water with sea water or with salts of land and mines is a crime, a sin, a cruelty and denial the blessing of God.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 6:38 #
  15. @Akram

I take your words further that DAMS are necessary, to overcome the water and power shortages.

WE SHOULD ALL UNITE AGAINST THE PEOPLE WHO ARE HINDERING THE CONSTRUCTION OF ANY DAM WHETHER ITS A KALABAGH OR ANY OTHER DAM.

May ALLAH help us by getting rid of these stupid politicians.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 6:55 #
  16. toamin

well, then we got to get rid of colonial leftover infrastructure that is giving life to these parasites-

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 7:01 #
  17. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@adnan045: @Salam: I have been saying the same, for a long! time.

I agree.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 7:01 #
  18. toamin

kala bagh has been a successfully used as a tool of attention diversion, confusion, disunity and point of false ventilation-

just like south punjab or similar other issues which are used for deception only for the sake of keeping the disunity and confusion

seculars can never solve these kind of key issues

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 7:14 #
  19. RajputPuttar

adnan045

I m a punjabi rajput for last 5000 years, muslim for 500 years and (fortunatley / unfortunately) a pakistani for last 60 years. Why should i loose my identity as a punjabi ?

About major infrastructure development , Mangla / Tarbella and link canals, they wree result of a general rather field marshal selling the 3 rivers to India ? Please blame politicians for that as well.

Unity can come only when all deperived nations of Pakistan are given their due rights and --PAK ARMY and punjab stops stealing their resources in the name of 'PAKISTAN'

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 7:35 #
  20. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Salam: Why should secular people resolve this issue when they are getting paid to keep brewing up these issues ?

@RajputPuttar: ALL nations of Pakistan ? Stealing water ?

Doesn't the water end up in Arabian Sea and get wasted ?

What did ALL 'those nations' as per your colourful metaphor do to stop it ?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 7:44 #
  21. Does anyone have technical facts about the proposed Kalabbagh dam?

The following two statements are commonly heard.
    1- KBD will put Pakhtunkhwa under water?
    2- KBD will starve (dry up) the Sindh province?

Can someone elaborate technically what is the truth?

I heard that majority of Indus River water flows into the Arabian Sea during the peak season. Sindh will benefit from the reservoir if the mistrust between Punjab and Sindh is addressed. Kalabagh reservoir will eat up fertile land of Pkhtukhwa around Noushera.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 8:18 #
  22. toamin

Azizi

here is a good program to get you started

http://pkpolitics.com/2010/02/07/jawab-deyh-7-february-2010/

Shamsul Malik (EX-Chairman WAPDA) explaining in simple terms/language-

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 8:22 #
  23. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

It is very strange to note that present Government is advocating for
    Air Polluting Thar Coal Project Versus Enviromental Friendly Kalabagh Dam.

 Kalabagh dam which will increase the water resources of the country is being opposed while Thar coal project,which will consume huge amount of water and will contaminate all water,air and land resources of Pakistan is being adovecated by the governement Clean electricity produced by Kalabagh dam will be available to every one citizen of the country while thar coal project will pollute all water,air and land resources of Pakistan for every one.Thar coal will effect each and every living organism while Kalabagh will not only store water for the time of need but with the generation of electricity will increase the resources of water by sucking up the underground water resources and will provide the clean electricity .

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 9:00 #
  24. Porn cinemas owner ANP leaders think it is better to build at least one **** cinema in every district for tafreeh instead of building dams in Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 9:02 #
  25. RajputPuttar

Both pukhtoonkhawa and sindh have very valid objections to kalabagh dam.

Pakhtoonkhawa

a) Initiially , the proposed height of KBD was 935 ft(above sea level) which was reduced to 915 Ft after objection from PKhawa. PKwah fears that this dam will raise the water level in the valley and cause the fertile lands of valley vicim of salnity and water logging.

b ) IN addition , Nowshera city will become victim of this dam.

c) Millons of people will need to be shifted from the area where KB lake will exist.

Sindh Objections

a) There is not sufficient water avaiable in the system to fill another reservior

b) There won't be any water left for down stream kotri discharge whcih will cause all lands below kotri at the mercy of saline water of arabian sea

c) Punjab / Federation has always violated agrreements on water and they can't trust punjab anymore. Famous example Sindh quotes is of Chashma Jehlum Link Canal which under agreement was supposed to open only with the premmission of Sidnh in flood season , has never closed since its inception.
    Recently , greater Thal Canal being constructed without permission / approval of ECNEC.

So, this is the basic scenario .

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 10:57 #
  26. asif86

The bottom line is that punjab cannot build kalabagh dam without consulting other riparian states like frontier and sindh.

I dont believe in large dams because they are harmfull to environment and desplace mass people.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 11:36 #
  27. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

In short;

(1) Bad/criminal leadership
    (2) disinformation campaigns
    (3) fear-mongering campaigns
    (4) political whims of the few, over the benefit of the many
    (5) loss of bribe money (as income) to the few
    (6) lack of availability of justice
    (7) lack of resolve

is killing Kalabagh dam, as well as other dams.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 11:49 #
  28. ajhons

Haris Bhai
    You have concluded it well.Kozay ko darya main band kar diya ap nay.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 11:55 #
  29. RajputPuttar

if we want to ignore the real concerns of masses under the fanatic chantting , what can be done.

Both , PakhtoonKhawa and Sindh have valid objections to KBD which need to be addressed .

Just consider how irresponsible on the part of planners that they didn't consider that major part of Valley be washed out with their proposed height of dam and when objections were raised, they accepted their fault and reduced the hegiht of dam.

How pakhtookhawa people can trust such people?

There is another aspect of KBD.

According to constituion , the royalty of electricity (from water) will be given to provnince where generation plant is located. In this case , the dam lake will be in Pakhoonkhawa and punjab , got electricity generation station will be in punjab. The masses of pakhtoonkhawa will be dislocated, their fertile land will come under water and net hydel profit will go to punjab.

This is another reaons for punajb for insisting on KBD when other options like Bhasha were/are also available.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 12:09 #
  30. mjkk86

To solve the issue, i think we should make dams in all four provinces according to size of their population, you don't have to be einstien to understand that i know common sense is not very common but those who use common sense are not allien.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 12:34 #
  31. RajputPuttar

mjkk86

Bahiyaa , paani kaahan saay aaey gaa ??

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 12:40 #
  32. RajputPuttar

Here is some more facts.

There was an agreement in 1991 signed by four provinces of Pakistan for water distribuiton.

I m quoting a few interesting aspects of that

NTER-PROVINCIAL WATER DISTRIBUTION ACCORD 1991: On March 16th, 1991, an agreement was signed unanimously by the then Chief Ministers of all the four provinces for sharing of water, including periods of shortages and surpluses. The agreement is known as the Water Accord 1991.

The Council of Common Interests (CCI) ratified the accord on March 21, 1991. Under the accord, 117.35 MAF have been allocated to the provinces for their existing canal systems.

Para 14 (a) of the accord says, "The system-wise allocation will be worked out separately on ten daily basis and will be attached with this agreement as part and parcel of it."

Recognising that there will be shortages to meet the requirements of the existing canals under these conditions of uncertain water availability, the provision was made in Para 14 (b) of the Water Accord for sharing the shortages and surpluses of water. Para 14 (b) of the accord says:

The record of actual average system uses for the period 1977-82 would form the guideline for developing future regulation pattern. These ten daily uses would be adjusted pro-rata to correspond to the indicated seasonal allocations of different canal systems would form the basis for sharing shortages and surpluses on all-Pakistan basis under clause 2 of Water Accord 1991 following is the allocation of water for provinces:

----------------------------------------------------------------------
    PROVINCE KHARIF RABI TOTAL
    -------------------------------------------
    Punjab 34.07 18.87 55.94
    Sindh 33.94 14.82 48.76
    NWFP (a) 3.48 2.30 5.78
    (b) 1.80 1.20 3.00
    Balochistan 2.85 1.02 3.87
    -------------------------------------------
    Total 78.14 38.21 117.35
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

According to this study , the availabiyt of water was 117.35 MAF.

http://www.pakissan.com/english/watercrisis/overview.of.water.resources.in.pakistan.shtml

Now , coming to actuall avaialbity of water

Economic Survey 2008-09
    Table 2.2: Actual Surface Water Availability (Million Acre Feet)

------- Kharif Rabi Total
    2002-03 62.8 25.0 87.8
    2003-04 65.9 31.5 97.4
    2004-05 59.1 23.1 82.2
    2005-06 70.8 30.1 100.9
    2006-07 63.1 31.2 94.3
    2007-08 70.8 27.9 98.7
    2008-09 66.9 24.9 91.8 (Provisional)
    Source: IRSA

http://www.finance.gov.pk/admin/images/survey/chapters/02-Agriculture09.pdf

Now , looking at above figures , its obviously that against the persumed availabiyt of 117 MAF of water , the water available in the system is far less (Peaking at 100 MAF )

Now , can i ask all those who are making noises for new dams , can i ask from where the water will come to fill the proposed dam where system is already short of around 15% on persumed water ?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 12:50 #
  33. mjkk86

@rajput
    nwfp, kashmir, indus hell alot.
    trouble is our leaders are khassi can't even take the matter to dispute resolution to resolve the issue of water blocked by india or has gotta do anything with that aswell

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 12:52 #
  34. RajputPuttar

mjkk86

Would u please remind me who sold the three eastern rivers to india ?

Btw , recently pakistan went to International tribunal against the construction of projects by india and lost its case .

so , i m unable to understand what u want 'our leaders' to do further in this regard ?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 12:56 #
  35. mjkk86

@rajput
    so , i m unable to understand what u want 'our leaders' to do further in this regard ?

earn respect don't try to buy it, people will listen to you if you are respectable doubted if zardari is.
    btw this is our collective duty to save water, you must have seen paksitanis wasting water. more work need to be done to save water from rainfall, glaiciers etc, a proper severage system, non water electricity prodduction can help to ease out the pressure but at the end of day who gotta do it? yes, politician but would they be able to do that? well after looking at their peformance of 30 years don't think they will solve these issues.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 13:06 #
  36. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Subjects of Water and Power should be taken back from provinces to Federal Governments, as any subject such as education,Health and police which have been delegated to provinces in the name of autonomy have been destroyed by the provinces,these provinces are making Pakistan a failed state and are responsible for wastage of resources of the country and creating hatred among people of Pakistan and blocking their development and progress.

On one side NEFP is very proud of Tarbella, but on other side for Kalabgh they busy in finding and searching worms and insects.

On one side NWFP is very interested in making dams in NWFP, but make objections on building of dams in Punjab and Gilgit Baltistan.

One one side Sindh is wasting River water in sea but on other side making objection on use of water by other provinces for Dams and agriculture.

On one side Sindh is cultivating Rice crop in desert and there is always increase in agriculture out put in the end of year but on other side always crying that there is shortage of water while infact all rivers of Pakistan including Hub River of Balouchistan goes down towards Sindh and their is contineously increase in flow of water year by year.
    On one side Sindh show they love river Indus,but on other side by wasting its water in sea and opposing any development project on River Indus, Province of Sindh is converting to River Indus into a Nullah and making this river useless for People of Pakistan

Infact Baglihar Dam,Thal canal,Chashma Jehlum Canal,Kalabgh Dam,Basha dam,Ghazi Brotha Dam,Sukkur Barrage,Guddu Barrage are diamonds and necklace of river Indus,Use of water for any human purpose even by stealing is acceptable but wastage in the sea or in the salt mines of coastal ares is not acceptable to any sensible person or human.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 13:10 #
  37. mjkk86

@m akram niazi
    you will ring the bell on people who are living in smaller provinces.
    btw punjab's role has been controversial so don't even try to defend it coz people will backfire at you.
    cheers!

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 13:17 #
  38. RajputPuttar

mjkk86

Mate , who was in power during last 30 years ?

Generals or politicians ?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 13:24 #
  39. RajputPuttar

Niazi Sahib,

WAPDA is a federal government body not provincial.

WATER & POWER Is already a federal subject. Probably u r mixing it up with irrigation :)

And what federation has achieved where u r blaming porvinces. If federation is not giving provinces the funds , rather wasting on --PAK ARMY , then why to balme pronvices ?

Why don't u spport giving the control of resources to provinces ? Why don't u spport balochistan having control over its gas ?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 13:25 #
  40. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Government of Punjab has chronically failed in protecting the rights of people, living in the basin of river Indus. Which is evident from the fact that it has not made any efforts for the construction of Kalabagh Dam while Govt of Sind is very proactive even in wasting the water of river Indus in Arabian sea.If Punjab govt can not protect the rights of people living alongside river Indus,it will BE better to separate out those areas from Punjab,so that those people can protect their rights themselves.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 13:26 #
  41. mjkk86

@rajputputtar
    interstingly, when iwas writting my comment i had an idea how would you react if i say politicians have'nt done anything in last 60 years but in order to make it more acceptable i said 30 years now whats wrong with that.
    politicians are running contry for two years now, what is rate of inflation now? what about our national security, suicide bombings, target killings, coruption at it's highest level since independance, no electricity,no gas, no water,unemployment, fear and insecurity among citizens. what is your politicians doing now? look, they will go home and next govt will blame them for the problem we are facing.
    admit it with open heart they are not capable, they don't even want to live i pakistan they just come here to get their turn. it's a vicious circle we can't break it one who can never will.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 13:34 #
  42. RajputPuttar

for your kind memory , 11 years of zia and 9 years of mush come to 20 years.

If the elected representatives of masses are not capable , then that means masses r not capable of . Then what the heck we are arguing on ?

U r speaking of 2 years of recent political rule ? What about 9 years of army rule ending in 2008 ?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 13:52 #
  43. asif86

large dams like kalabagh are no solutions for pakistan because they create controversy.
    They take long time to build and are costly.
    the solutions lies in small hydro dams in each provinces to generate electricity in local areas and for irrigation purposes.

plus i will say make rainwater harvesting compulsory by bringing legislation for it as this will help recharge underground water.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 14:20 #
  44. Mr.Rajputt,

Please dont try to create hate against PAKISTAN ARMY!!!

Please stick to the topic "Why these Politicians are not ready to build KALABAGH DAM"?

You are keeping using Nawaz Sharif language, would be gr8 if you use your own thoughts by sticking to the topic. If you are Zardari minded person, nawaz shrif type person then its your issue to deal with. Here we are talking about PAKISTAN only and a KALABAGH DAM.

You are keep using PUKHTOONKHAWA word, its a NWFP till now. So dont use false terminologies to create division in this nation.

WE PUKHTOON, BALOCHI, SINDHI AND PUNJABI ARE ONE MUSLIM NATION. Dont try to divide us on basis of your culture or language.

Thanks and I hope you will not use such a racial words again.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 18:50 #
  45. RajputPuttar

Dear Adnan

if --PAK ARMY's kartoot aisey haain that mentioning them results in creating hatred against it , who should be held responsbile for ? __PAK ARMY or me ?

What i said about __PAK ARMY and is against reality ?

a) __PAK ARMY has ruled the country for last 52/53 years directly and indirectly and is responsbile for this state of choas . Do u deny this ?

b) Gen.FAzal Haq was first person to object to KBD during zia regime ? During last 30 years army has direclty ruled the country but even then couldn't resolve the issue .

c) Greater Thal Canal construction was started without permission from ECNEC and 'uniformed angels' have got vast areas alloted to them in the areas to be irrigated by this canal . Do u deny this ?

Btw, since when NS has becomes against KBD ?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Mar 2010 21:47 #
  46. skunkk

This is tiring that people evidently hailing from certain province of Pakistan fail to understand why Kalabagh dam is not being built by this 'selfish' government.

Here's the thing the late PM of Pakistan despite opposition from Sindh allowed Chashma-Jhelum link canal. The canal was constructed as a flood canal but later during Zia regime it was opened for good. The same history was repeated to a limited extent in the more recent past when Greater Thal canal was partially fed. It is reported when Zia ordered the opening of C-J link canal, the minister remarked that the Kalabagh dam is now dead.

The people of Sindh thus do not trust that Punjab province will stay on its word. Even during Musharraf's time many politicians from Sindh agreed to the dam provided that no canals, left or right are taken out from it, that was not acceptable to Punjab, making people of Sindh keeping their foot down.

Since, NWFP's water need are limited, Diamer-Bhasha is more acceptable to us.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Mar 2010 5:18 #
  47. wantinsaf

Kalabagh issue is not that simple.Sind and NWFP have serious reservation about it and rightly so.
    I don't see we would ever agree on Kalabagh issue.We had better look for other ways to overcome water problem and energy crisis.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Mar 2010 6:07 #
  48. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@wantinsaf: The small civil level conflicts against Kalabagh dam can be handled. They can be resolved. The well-being of the many! far! far! out-weighs the temporary pain of the few.

Public officials will keep throwing lies at us. Why do people of Pakistan go with the flow ? It is our! own! fault. Only we are to blame for it.

The only thing I see wrong with Kalabagh Dam, is the interests of the few greedy people.

Why do we forget that people get chances to become greedy, to do corruption, when they get power i.e., when they become public servants/officials.

I hate this slave mindset of Pakistani people. They love to go with the flow. They don't question what they hear.

Brother, it seems you haven't watched the program which brother Salam referenced above.

(1) Neither is Kalabagh Dam the last big dam Pakistan will need to make, nor is there any substitute for it

(2) One Kalabagh dam is worth 730+ small dams. Pakistan has only been able to make 68 of small dams so far

(3) Cost per unit of electricity will fall to Rs. 2 or less, as a result of making Kalabagh Dam

(4) The potential of power generation from ONE Kalabagh Dam is at least 100,000 MW

As per MD PEPCO, they saw less than 16,000 MW as total requirement at the height of summer in the year 2009.

(a) That will take care of Pakistan's needs for a long! time

At least 50 years. That means, Pakistani people can concentrate on being productive, rather than worrying about utilities in their day-to-day life.

It will give Pakistani people;

(b) peace of mind
    (c) jobs
    (d) a viable, thriving economy
    (e) low product cost of goods manufactured in Pakistan
    (f) etc etc

(5) ROI on Kalabagh Dam is extremely!!! viable

-------------------------------------------------------------------

In short, the benefits of Kalabagh Dam far! far! outweigh any number of small dams.

(a) Why is India, China, USA/Nato, UK building large dams ?

(b) Why is India, China, USA/Nato, UK putting pressure on Pakistan not to build large dams ?

Don't you have common sense ? Perhaps you'r unaware like most.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Mar 2010 6:10 #
  49. Time is up for uneducated inexperienced politicians who know nothing except hoarding national wealth stashing it out of Pakistan. On its own this amounts to act of treason.

Educated people are coming up entering politics. This will have an upper hand on corrupt politicians bearing on their flawed plans that will be exposed soon enough.

Same will happen to KBD. Younger generation will go for it if it is beneficial for Pakistan/its provinces included. If not they will look for other options.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Mar 2010 6:21 #
  50. @ Harris Khan:

Good work Harris bhai. These are the true facts explained in this programme. Furthermore, the person explaining these facts himself is from NWFP.

I am myself a Civil Engineer and had got the chance to see the feasibility study concerning KALABAGH. There are no major issues concerning this project.

NWFP: Nowshehra will be drowned. One who is saying has to look the locational design of this DAM. Its a pure political issue. NO more than that.

SINDH: Water be less distributed to Sindh. It is true to extent of 1 to 1.5 year where river diversion has to be constructed. It was the same when Tarbela Dam was constructed, when Ghazi Barotha dam was constructed. A river flow has to be controlled during the starting phase of the construction. As less water flow is make sure for the down stream dam construction.

As HARRIS said for long term benefits of this Nation, a small hardship has to be taken. If he will not take this short hardships then later we will have less water meaning expensive crops, expensive electricity for many years to come.

These stupid politicians and their hard fans(boughtable for 500 ruppes) have no sense to understand the needs of a common people and comming generations.

MAY ALLAH HELP US ALL AND BUILD TRUST AMONGST US.

AMEEEEEEEEEEEEN!!!!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Mar 2010 7:04 #