PKPolitics Discuss » Future of Pakistan

Why Stupid Politicians Dont Want to Construct KALABAGH DAM

(150 posts)
  1. skunkk

@ niazi: It is a very different phenomenon but even if I accept your point the latter point stands.

First human instinct is survival, people of Sindh are done with sacrificing in the larger interest of Pakistan. Since you are so optimistic why don't you request Khadim e Aala Punjab to close down Chashma-Jhelum link canal and Greater Thal canal since these were both for flood season only but opened more or less permanently by dictators.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Mar 2010 6:29 #
  2. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Mr.Skunk
    First human instinct is survival, Politicians of Sindh are giving great sacrifices in the larger interest of Pakistan.
    Some of which are as follows.
    1)Supporting environment polluting Thar Coal Versus Environment Friendly Kalabagh Dam for generation of electricity.
    2)Supporting Wastage of River Indus water in sea versus use of that water for irrigation through Chasma Jehlum link Canal.
    3)Supporting rights of Sindh versus sinking people of Thatta and Badin under Water.
    4)Wasting sweet sea water for saline mangroose and keeping thirsty to people of whole of Pakistan INCLUDING Karachi.
    5)On one side demanding provincial autonomy and on other side demanding Khadim e Aala Punjab to close down Chashma-Jhelum link canal and Greater Thal canal for use of irrigation.
    6) Demanding Khadim e Aala Punjab to OPEN Chashma-Jhelum link canal and Greater Thal canal for use of irrigation when there is already plenty of water in flood season

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Mar 2010 6:58 #
  3. skunkk

I pity you Mr Niazi, we can cross the once mighty Indus on foot for all but some weeks during the year, our dams are empty and forests dying and you think there is enough water for CJ link and Thal which are both flood canals. The CJ link canal is open as we speak while the canals of Sindh remain dry.

Your repeated insistence on Kalabagh dam is nauseating, when you are so blatantly lying about availability of water right now, you have convinced me that with KBD you are gonna lie and kill Sindh of starvation.

Also, you shamelessly talk against Thar coal in one sentence and then against Mangroves in another. Mangroves and Thar coal are both necessity. The alternative option to Mangroves is to build a dike which is unaffordable.

Anyway, with your excessive lying I rest my case, since even in drought you insist that there is abundance of water, my belief that after KBD you are gonna block all water is further strengthened.

As the fanatics would call it,

Down with KBD!

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Mar 2010 9:57 #
  4. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

we can cross the once mighty Indus on foot for all but some weeks during the year even at Kalabagh, our dams are empty and forests dying and you think there is enough water for WASTAGE IN THATTA AND BADIN AND NOT FOR CJ link and Thal which are both snow melted canals and not flood canals. The CJ link canal is open as it comes from melted snow from mountains and not due to any rain or flood while the canals of Sindh remain dry due to wastage of river Indus in sea in flood season. There is need to close the wastage of river Indus water in sea and make arrangements so that Canalas like Thal ,Chashma Jehlum and others canals may be kept open for whole of year for irrigation and human use.
    Your repeated insistence on justification of precious water wastage in sea is nauseating, when you are so blatantly lying about availability of water right now, you have convinced me that with wastage of river water and with smoke of Thar Coal you are gonna lie and kill Pakistan and Sindh of starvation and diseases.

Also, you shamelessly talk in favour of Thar coal most polluted source of energy in world in one sentence and then against Kalabagh in another. Wastage of River water and Thar coal are both crimes against humanity. The alternative option to Thar Coal is to build environment friendly dams like Kalabagh which will preserve precious water and will provide clean electricity and will not waste water neither will pollute environment like Thar Coal.

Anyway, with your excessive lying I will not rest my case, since even in drought you insist for wastage of water, my belief that after KBD every one will get sufficient clean water,clean energy and not dirty energy like that of Thar Coal.

Noble says,Wasting one glass of water is a sin and Saving one drop of water makes a difference of oceans and Govt of Sindh is shamelessly giving reasons and justifications for wastage of one crore acre feet of river sweet water in sea.

Noble says, burning home garbage and use of coal for cooking and use of Gas and Petrol harms the environment while Govt of Sindh is shamelessly advocating burning millions of tons of coal which will pollute all land, air and water resources of not only Pakistan but of whole earth.
    Wastage of water and burning of Coal should be stopped at each and every cost.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Mar 2010 11:59 #
  5. 1940 me b 23 March aaya tha. Aur aaj bhi 23 March aane wala hy. Farq sirf itna hy k us waqt Quom ko 1 Mulk ki zarorat thi aur Aaj Mulk ko 1 Qoum ki zarorat hy.

1940 me b 23 March aaya tha. Aur aaj bhi 23 March aane wala hy. Farq sirf itna hy k us waqt Quom ko 1 Mulk ki zarorat thi aur Aaj Mulk ko 1 Qoum ki zarorat hy.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Mar 2010 21:55 #
  6. skunkk

Agar koi din ko raat aur raat ko din kehne per tula hai tou uska kya jawab dena,

Sindhu khushk hai tou paani kya hawa mein urh ker samandar mein girta hai?

Snow melt canals? Yeh lagta hai aap ki koi nai eejaad hai

Thar coal duniya ki budtareen source hai per woqaabil e amal hai aur usse kisi aur subay ka haq maaray jaanay ka khatra nahi, jaisa ke KBD se ya sumundar mein paani na jaanay se Sindh ki haq-talfi hoti hai

Down with KBD!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2010 16:22 #
  7. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Politicians and Government of Sindh is responsible for shortage of water and electricity In Pakistan by opposing and politicinzing dams like Kalabagh AND OTHERS.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Apr 2010 7:14 #
  8. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Building Kalabagh Dam is important for this nation.

I don't think a minority within Pakistan should be allowed this project. It has too many positives for the masses in Pakistan.

@KHAN_Sahib: Why don't you educate yourself on the underlying reasons people raise in NWFP, before you speak against Kalabagh Dam ?

Grievances of people of NWFP as well as Sindh are artificial at best. They can be addressed. Its just a matter of having the will to doing it.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Apr 2010 8:11 #
  9. Wahid Doyum

"Grievances of people of NWFP as well as Sindh are artificial at best. They can be addressed. Its just a matter of having the will to doing it. "

The same way Bengali grievances were deemed artificial by your ancestors. Keep it up.

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Apr 2010 5:10 #
  10. azipashtoon

@haris khan ... whats nwfpxyz

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Apr 2010 9:05 #
  11. Haris khan... Ab yeah waqat ahe gaya hay kay app mujay educate karain gay? I know about the reasons of Pukhtoon people anger and frustration... So don't worry about Pushtuns... They can take care of their matters without any help from People who supports KBD.

I can give you written assurance that KBD will never be built as it's not about Dam anymore... Unless the Govt give all the facilities and rights to every pakistani (Pashtuns in case of Pukhtoonkhwa) no KBD will ever be built.

But Meanwhile, why don't you go and educate yourself about the reasons, why JI was never able to secure majority in the parliament with or along with a religious coalition? When You can figure that out then please do come back and then I will educate you about the pushtuns too.

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Apr 2010 19:20 #
  12. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@KHAN_Sahib: JI is not the issue here. Kalabagh Dam is.

If JI's downfall is somehow related to Kalabagh Dam in your opinion/knowledge, why don't you save me the time by telling me, with references of-course, why JI was not able to secure majority in parliament ?

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Apr 2010 20:37 #
  13. max786

Intelligence assessments of the trouble in Balochistan have consistently documented support in the shape of arms and money coming from Afghanistan and Iran, mainly funnelled by Indian consulates in the two countries. More recent assessments mention the Kalabagh Dam as a "potential sour point to be exploited by outside forces." Ironically, the water scarcity issue has brought into focus an even bigger scarcity: that of a political system where national tension can be defused before it spills into the streets.

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Apr 2010 21:29 #
  14. Haris Khan!
    U certainly have issues with understanding simple english and perhaps sarcasm. KBD have the same connection with JI failure which the uprising of Pushtuns in Pukhtoonkhwa is with my opposition to KBD as per your post.
    Also avoid calling it NWFP as you may not like it but its no more NWFP!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Apr 2010 21:46 #
  15. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@KHAN_Sahib: I have no problems with its former or current name. I generally think NWFP is easier to say, to use. That is why I use it.

As for Kalabagh Dam or JI's failure, I have a question. Have people of NWFP benefited from not building Kalabagh Dam over the years ? If yes, how ?

You'r still giving me statements. I want facts, evidence, something tangible.

Give!!! me tangible! stuff.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Apr 2010 6:30 #
  16. Hussain Farooqui

Devastating results for not building dams are evident now. Now, we must learn good lessons.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Sep 2010 6:39 #
  17. shriq

We dont want Kalabagh dam as its construction would eliminate the issue on which we do our politics!!

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Sep 2010 6:53 #
  18. Simple. Because they are not so stupid.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Sep 2010 15:21 #
  19. Hussain Farooqui

If dams are not built after this situation, then the nation has to face continual disasters of similar magnitude.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Sep 2010 15:53 #
  20. @HF
    "If dams are not built after this situation, then the nation has to face continual disasters of similar magnitude."

Total bull, based on faulty 'knowledge', as pointed out in the flood thread...Of course you will stick to this like HK, to hell with the facts...:)

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Sep 2010 16:02 #
  21. Hussain Farooqui

nota

Total bull, what do you try to convey? Please explain it rationally. What are those special facts in your opinion?

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Sep 2010 16:12 #
  22. New Dams mean prosperity for public, better distribution of water, increased electricity for home use and factories and in general increased prosperity for everyone. This is exactly what our crook politicians do not want for the public. Getting rid of obsolete feudal system is the first step towards building new dams and a better Paksitan for everyone.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Sep 2010 18:38 #
  23. Water situation can also be Controlled by Building SMALL DAMS and other setup on Rivers but the reason why this kala Bagh dam is PROMOTED is because their is a huge COMMERCIAL GAINS in building this dam as this could create a lot of Electricity to Pakistan so that might be the reason why we saw more focus on Kala Bagh dam especially....

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Sep 2010 18:44 #
  24. 1lhr

Survey suggests 99% in favour of KBD.
    A total of 67,279 people expressed their opinion, 24,860 of them via mail, 41,905 through SMS and 510 email.

http://www.nation.com.pk/

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Sep 2010 16:26 #
  25. Hussain Farooqui

Can anybody explain the logic of those who oppose the construction of dams?

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Sep 2010 1:46 #
  26. coolbema

We must need KBD for sake of us and for sake of Pakistan. Now after that all disaster our eyes should be opened and should take the dam matter seriously. This is da only solution of saving water and electricity shortage. If any political parties(ANP & PPP) come across building KBD for their political reasons just through them out.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Sep 2010 23:08 #
  27. Hussain Farooqui

Some amicable solution about constructing dams now needs to be worked out among the 4 provinces, otherwise, similar disasters will continue to occur.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Sep 2010 5:53 #
  28. @HF
    Can anybody explain the logic of those who oppose the construction of dams?
    I am sure you are capable of looking it up...put a little effort into educating yourself on the issue.

"Some amicable solution about constructing dams now needs to be worked out among the 4 provinces, otherwise, similar disasters will continue to occur."

Similar disasters will continue if this kind of completely faulty "solutions" are put in place.

"If we have Kalabagh similar disasters would not happen" is the most ridiculous of arguments. Might as well argue:
    -- "If we have Kalabagh earthquakes would not happen"
    -- "If we have Kalabagh oil spills would not happen"
    -- etc., etc.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Sep 2010 6:51 #
  29. The "stupid Politicians" do not want to build Kalabagh dam (KBD) in Punjab because you are the only wise man who is still away from politics.

- Out of four, three provincial assemblies have passed about 10 resolutions not to build Kalabagh dam.

- When Diamer-Bhasha dam in under construction, there is no need for KBD as no extra regular water is available for new dam (Ref: Plz see A N G Abbasi Report, chief of Technical Committee on dams).

- If extra water is available for dam, why 10 MAF water is not being released downstream Kotri as envisaged in "WATER ACCORD - 1991" despite 19 years have passed on signing it.

- Due to non-release of water downstream Kotri, Indus delta the sixth largest in the world is on verge of unnatural sad demise. Why pro-KBD people have never raised their voice to save Indus delta because it is in Sindh? Shame....Shame... Had it been in Punjab, you people would have not allowed it to die.

- Due to non-release of water downstream Kotri, 2.7 million people are dying due to thirst and intransigence of might-Punab despite they are Pakistani and Muslim.

- Due to ruination of Indus delta, mass migration of one million people occurred increasing poverty and unemployment.

- Non-release of water to downstream Kotri, sea intrusion has inundated 2.6 million acres land in Sindh.

- There are 74 deltas in the world and all countries releasing water to push back sea intrusion to shore but in Pakistan "Jahil" people like Salman Taseer, Governor of Punjab (better to say Punjabi chauvinist) calling it wastage. Shame...Shame...!

- No where in the world, flood water is stored in dams like Kalabagh due to technical reasons. ex-IRSA chairman Fatehullah Gandapur (1993-1998) in an interview with daily Times (Aug 12, 2010) while commenting on claim of PM Gillani that flood water would have been stored if KBD in place, rejected his (PM)claim and said KBD design-wise was not flood project.

- Floods are creating havoc in USA, Europe and Asia despite having having dams. It is because flood water is not stored in dams like KBD.

- World Bank, Asian Dev Bank and other donor Agencies and notorious WAPDA have "touts" who are paying big Commissions like to ex-WAPDA Chairman Shamsul Mulk (Also contractor of dams) to lobby for new dams in order to earn commission. They have no interest with the country. They are interested in commission only.

Punjabi Paro..Zaraa Akal noon Hath Pao

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Sep 2010 15:33 #
  30. If our constitution is made on the basis of 23rd March 1940 Resolution" our many problems would be resolved and future of Pakistan would be secured.

We have to get rid of hegemony of might-Punjab.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Sep 2010 15:37 #
  31. If our constitution is made on the basis of 23rd March 1940 Resolution" our many problems would be resolved and future of Pakistan would be secured.

We have to get rid of hegemony of might-Punjab.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Sep 2010 15:38 #
  32. Mr M. Akran Khan Niazi..In your postings you have always called gigantic Thar Coal deposits in Sindh as "Dirt".

You must be knowing Petrol is also called as "Black Gold" like Coal, which is found in Arab countries. Is it also "dirt"?

NO...No...In fact "dirt" is in your mind and heart. It is suitable to call you a "Punjabi chauvinist" due to your hatred against people of Sindh.

Might Punjab is responsible for not implementing Water Accord - 1991 envisaged 10MAF water release downstream Kotri but after passing 19 years, Punjab is not allowing to implement Water Accord - 1991" resulting in unnatural death of Indus delta - the sixth largest in the world.

Mr Niazi where is "dirt"? It is in your mind and heart as you have hatred against people of Sindh. Otherwise you did not have dared to call Thar Coal as dirt. It is not "dirt" but it is Gold to meet needs of Pakistan for eight centuries repeat eight centuries. See statement of Atomic scientist Dr Samar.

Plz get apology from people of Sindh on your derogatory remarks if you have any courtesy.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Sep 2010 15:48 #
  33. @M K Sial

Calm down firnd dont need to be so much Emotional on the issue....

I totally Agree with you on 23rd march Quaid-e-Azam speech as Constitution of Pakistan cause its the ONLY way we can SOLVE Baluchistan Problems and also problems that Provinces have with each other....Khan Of Kalat of Baluchistan was also PROMISED the same autonomy which were said in 23rd march Quaid-e-Azam's address for becoming part of Pakistan....This will also solve the Water problem as the Water Distribution would become an issue of Two State(According to 23rd march 1940 Province were said to be STATES) and the Central Authority would not Interfere until one State Ask to Interfere....

Talking about Kala bagh dam then as I have said earlier that kala bagh dam is NOT the only solution available for Pakistan as the water can be Controlled by Building Small Dams in some Locations where it can be distributed to areas which have this problem in Punjab and Sindh but the reason why Media and one of our Province is PROMOTING this project is because their is a huge COMMERCIAL GAINS from this Big dam as it would generate huge amount of electricity as well while other then that I dont find any other reason why this project is so much promoted...

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Sep 2010 16:08 #
  34. Hussain Farooqui

Construction of dams is not a questionable or controversial matter. The questionable or controversial matter is the location of dams. Delays in the construction of dams because of the locations are not affordable.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 7:09 #
  35. @HF
    "Construction of dams is not a questionable or controversial matter. The questionable or controversial matter is the location of dams."

Then let's construct one without a location so there will be no controversy.

See how silly that argument is?

BTW: Focusing on your first statement, why have any issue with India constructing any dam then?

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 7:40 #
  36. Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 8:16 #
  37. @Public
    hanks for the propaganda. Have heard it/seen it many times before. Care to add anything of your own?

You've been a member since June 14, 2009. You ONLY "comments" in over a year are pasting this propaganda on this thread and the other oh-so-believable "99% in Pakistan want Kalabagh" thread.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 8:19 #
  38. Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 8:34 #
  39. @Public
    So you ARE a shill...:)

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 8:41 #
  40. Floods cause losses of Rs. 249 billion to agriculture
    The devastating floods have inflicted losses of Rs.249 billion to agriculture sector, according to the initial estimates, Federal Minister for Agriculture, Nazar Muhammad Gondal said.

Sindh suffers Rs550bn losses: advisor to Chief Minister
    Sindh has suffered an estimated loss of Rs 550 billion on account of colossal damage to houses, standing crops, infrastructure and irrigation system. This was stated by the Advisor to Sindh Chief Minister for Planning and Development Dr Kaiser Bengali.

The country not only faced worst ever floods but also failed to store water worth Rs240 billion.
    Pakistan lost water worth Rs240 billion due to lack of dams and water reservoirs in the country, Chairman Fauji Fertilizer Company.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 8:54 #
  41. @Public
    So you ARE a shill...and a shameless one at that ;-)

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 8:56 #
  42. @Public
    "The country not only faced worst ever floods but also failed to store water worth Rs240 billion."

Oh so you agree: Water has been turned into a COMMODITY. So who so ever pays for this dam (WB? IMF?? ADB??? -- one and the same really)owns that commodity.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 8:58 #
  43. Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 9:03 #
  44. shriq

Propaganda!!!!

Come on! This is the need of the time!

Public,

Thank you very much!

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 9:19 #
  45. Hussain Farooqui

nota

One requires a sense of comprehension to find out what is silly and what is logical? I guess you posses a sense of comprehension. LOL

We can no longer afford to live in a backward society of sardars and waderas. We need a practical and logical approach towards every problem.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 11:22 #
  46. @HF
    That all-caps "LOL" is a dead giveaway of someone who's "arguments" have been exposed as foolish. But added talk your talk of "sardars and waderas" further proves you have no logical point to make and are just yapping on this issue.

Go ahead. Wait and see when your Kalabagh goes up. You talk of Kalabagh when you don't have money to keep the current power projects going (WB just showed you the finger), let alone Bhasha (WB showed you the finger a couple of months ago). Damn, I think you forgot you are doing major begging right now just to feed a big portion of your population.

KhaniaN gandarian tay shoak nawabaN day :-P

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 11:36 #
  47. 1lhr

http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-news-newspaper-daily-english-online/Opinions/Editorials/14-Sep-2010/Kalabagh-vox-populi

99 percent of the vote for building Kalabagh Dam, in a referendum conducted by the Nawa-i-Waqt group, should come as no surprise to those who understand the simple logic behind the need for large water reservoirs in a country where the economy is based on agriculture; where times of scarcity alternate with devastating spells of floods; and a growing population keen to adopt modern health standards and ways of living.

The views of Engineer Shamsul Mulk, former WAPDA Chairman, are highly pertinent since his own house is located in Nowshera, the town that some politicians of his province wrongly give out as being submerged after Kalabagh is built.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 20:30 #
  48. @1lhr

Nawa-e-waqt Group has their own Inclination towards RIGHT WING people and also towards Conspiracy Theorist so Nawa-e-Waqt Polls doesnt Reflect much of Pakistan but only Reflect the part of Pakistan which has got their MOST READERS so I think Nawa-e-Waqt's poll wont be given Importance cause Nawa-e-Waqt's Readers are one segment of Pakistan which are mostly centered in Punjab and parts of KPK while rest of Pakistan Nawa-e-Waqt doesnt have many readers so based on that I would assume that Polls would be MOSTLY conducted their as well so their Polls cant reflect WHOLE Pakistan in any case due to their IDEOLOGICAL INCLINATION and also Due to having Less Reader throughout Pakistan....

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Sep 2010 21:36 #
  49. khurram91

@rajputputter....I have seen your posts and all i can say that all of your points are based on stupidity and illogical rationales which have nothin to do with technicality. First of all ask some expert and then talk . Also u mention about heights of dam then for your information i have studied the Mangla and Tarbela dam feasibilites and both of these dams are above the level of adjacent areas including Swabi and nearby areas . The point in simple that rather than Engineers and experts this issue is discussed by politicians and part timers. If this issue will be given to a tachnical team then i am sure everything will be resolved in a record span of time.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Sep 2010 4:07 #
  50. Hussain Farooqui

nota

Your words reflect your character and mentality. No comments are required to be made. LOL to all your statements. ha ha ha

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Sep 2010 16:01 #