PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

Why we are customers of Indian Market?

(78 posts)
  1. aristotle

Being a Pakistani, since our childhood we always think and understand that India is our enemy no one, a natural rival, and this is proved by India at many times in past and present... But

At the same time (with these feelings)

• We watch Indian movies
    • We watch Star plus drama
    • We listen Indian music
    • We wear Indian kurta
    • We wear Indian jewelry (ref: kashish k jhumkay and bangles)
    • we like, love or idealize Indian film stars

So my dear fellow members, I felt that this is not fair. We criticize our govts, other relevant officials and even those artists and players who go to India for work in their industry but we do not check ourselves that what we r doing?

When I watch an Indian movie, listen an Indian music CD, wear an Indian kurta or whatever, I m supporting and strengthening their market and giving money to them. Therefore, there is a question that why we r customers of Indian Market?

Moreover, they are using their films and drama for spreading anti /hatred contents abt our religion and country.

Thus, I have decided to stop watching Indian film, music, drama and wearing Indians suits. I cannot take a big initiative but this is a very small thing which I can do, so I m doing it.

Perhaps, a number of ppl on this forum would laugh on it but I take it seriously and believe that after threatening of our neighbor country (natural rival) there is no question to follow their industry and market as consumer.

I believe the friendship is based on equality, not a one-sided trade or business. It is not friendship, but just a marketer and consumer relationship. We should not be a part of bogus drama of friendship. And I believe that :

Qatra Qatra Darya Banta Hay

plz comment, can we fight on this front? fight first with self and then enemy.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 11:23 #
  2. toamin

A good observation!

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 11:28 #
  3. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Personally, I don't do any of the activity you mentioned. I hope to persue the same AFTER I get married. The one I'm engaged to, is religious minded, educated girl.

My siblings do watch Indian movies or songs on occasion. However, I deplore the idea whenever I find them.

We don't;
    • watch Star plus drama (we never had cable)
    • wear Indian kurta
    • wear Indian jewelry (ref: kashish k jhumkay and bangles)

As far as my knowledge goes, my family never bought any Indian stuff.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 11:49 #
  4. sasherwani

i DONT:

•watch Indian movies
    •watch Star plus drama
    •listen to Indian music
    •wear Indian kurta
    •wear Indian jewelry (or any kind of jewelry). My wife wears jewelry thats either Pakistani or Bahraini.
    •like, love or idealize Indian film stars. In fact i love to make fun of them.

So please dont say 'WE' because Im not a part of that 'WE'.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 11:50 #
  5. toamin

I think Aristotle is referring to female population of Pakistan?

Aristotle has good observation of women...lolzz...

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 13:26 #
  6. zingaro

I will agree with salam that it is good observation of our women population ... though it is true and bitter.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 13:37 #
  7. What about American, British, French, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Canadian Technology and other facilities, being used in every nook and corner of Pakistan, from Dawn to Dusk?
    Yaar! be realistic.
    We should avoid to make a statement what is not practicable.

No State and Society can survive in isolation.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 13:41 #
  8. toamin

There is a difference between tool & culture, if one mixes the two then he will remain confused.

Tools are technical devices

Cultures give value system and a view point about life.

Using a tool is no problem.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 13:47 #
  9. I really hate Star Plus plays erghhhhhhh and feel sorry for those women in our country who are in so much love with these plays...

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 13:53 #
  10. Technology is the tool to influence, dominate and divert the roots of culture.
    The very need of External Technology is an indication of poor, sick and weak foundations of a local Culture.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 13:56 #
  11. netengr

Allah Raziq hay ....
    India aur dushmanon ka boycott kero kaheen un ki economy achi na ho jayeh ..

wah wah kia emaan hay

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 14:17 #
  12. Its not about Eiman and Islam, its about India and Pakistan. This is very rightly identified by aristotle that most of us always criticize india and same indian channels are running in our homes.

Is liye munafiqaat choor dein, either dont buy any indian stuff (music, movies, clothes, jewelry etc) or stop criticizing on them.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 14:24 #
  13. toamin

LetsDoIt,

I agree.

Shekh sb,

Let us keep this debate for some other thread and for some other time where I'll try to elaborate on relationship between tools development & culture.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 14:28 #
  14. shriq

I was watching a news report on tv (geo or aaj), reporting that daily 260 trucks come from India and not a single truck is allowed by Indian government from Pakistan.

This trade should be stopped immediately!! Our blind leaders are doing things which are harming our national interests at every level and everywhere.

What stupid person would have allowed their trade goods to come to ours while they simply deny ours???

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 14:44 #
  15. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Javaid Sheikh sb. Doesn't this show how aloof you are of reality ? How easy it is for you to twist and turn the truth ?

It was not that our culture has/had weak foundations.

How dare you assert the notion 'weakness of culture', when we all clearly know our problems are/were caused by a small number people who plundered Pakistan's money, resources, assets, who spread massive! levels of corruption in state institutions ? One trillion plus was embezzled from Pakistan and its people under NRO cases alone!

What fact or basis do you have to make such a tall claim, a claim that is waaaayyy out of line ?

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 15:02 #
  16. netengr

Kis kis ka boycott kerwao gay ..pora europe ,US ,UK ,india ,china sab ka tou boycott kerwadia abb kia afghanistan say Mullah umer ki banaee hue naswar khain ?

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 15:13 #
  17. quaidkamazaar

I love Shahrukh Movies,
    My Name is Khan would be a good movie.
    cant wait.

listen to the songs of movie Veer,,, amazing!

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 15:15 #
  18. Mr. Hariskhan,
    I hate but let me ask why you always go personal?
    Are you out of polite and civilized selection of wordings?

I feel annoyed and irritated where you very frequently use this phrase,

"How dare you assert the notion"

My dear! This is a discussion forum where one must be very careful to address the opponent.
    You are not the only respectable member at the forum.
    There are hundreds of more learned, knowledgeable and educated members participating to share and exchange information.
    This Forum is not yet limited to a propaganda platform for a particular doctrine.

Coming to the point,
    It is from the great philosopher Ibn-e-Khuldoon that a big culture dominates a smaller culture, just like a small plant cannot flourish under the shade of a big tree.
    Have a nice day.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 15:16 #
  19. netengr

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 15:23 #
  20. quaidkamazaar

whats wrong in watching or listening anything Indian???

how insecure most of you are, Indian movies cant do jack to ones Pakistani culture if you really are true Pakistani,,, it is mere entertainment.

what are the probablities of putting a "bindiya" on your forhead and dancing after watching star plus and indian movies,,,, nill.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 15:25 #
  21. zingaro

What is the definition of culture? When we talk about Indian culture and compare it with Indian culture, we should be well aware of the comparative definitions to have logical and concrete discussion. I feel that what Indian drams show is not purely an indian culture. They are commercial productions by the business people there. But yes there is one point if any of you have also watched and noticed that they always include their religious rituals, teachings in their dramas. I will say it is their right to do that as its not me who is sponsoring the production of Star Plus or Zee dramas. They are Indian and Hindus so they will try to portray their own images. The problem which is felt on our side is the affect of their religious rituals, cultural events on our kids as mostly the ladies on our side keenly watch all these dramas while sitting along the kids. Our families don't pay attention to first let the kids know about our own culture, hence, the kids might not know how many prayers are in a day but he/she must knows that there should be seven rounds around fire in a marriage ceremony. But you see again the fault is on our side that why don't we educate our children.

I will give you my example. I used to watch Indian movies, dramas, songs shows, etc. I watched their marriages, idol worshiping, etc but was very clear that they do it because it is as per their religion. We are muslim and worship to Allah only. That never affected on my faith but I know it was not good and allowed as per real Islamic teachings.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 16:03 #
  22. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Javaid Sheikh sb. I refuse to believe, Ibn-e-Khuldoon said this. Why ? Because when Islam first spread, it 'continuously' 'grew' under 'many' 'big' trees' so to speak.

There were plenty of empires around Arab land when Islam was growing.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 16:07 #
  23. The topic was,
    "Why we are customers of Indian Market?"

And look to which direction the debate has been twisted.

Mr. Hariskhan,
    Better you first make a judgment where the injection of religion is needed.
    Pakistan was a part in India before 1947 where most of the customs and traditions are still respected and observed as way of life.
    Indian culture was blended with Muslim culture during the Muslim rule over India but could not fully change some of the basics.
    We are living in the phase of history where complete isolation is not possible to survive.

We cannot differentiate and identify oxygen as Indian or Non-Indian.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 16:40 #
  24. shriq

We should be carefull when dealing with India. Not only India but all. We should be taking care of our national intersts!

I dont feel problem in trade with India, but Pakitanis should also get equal benefit.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 17:13 #
  25. singh isking

on the other hand as a indian i will never stop listning to ghulam ali; mehdi hassan,frida khanum,abida parveen and many other legegedry artist from your country

never will i stop buying and reading works of faiz,ahmad faraz,qateel shefai.

nor i will stop watching good pakistani dramas.

guys despite of rivaliry between us and soviats karl marks,gorkhy is still sold and read in wsetern countries and work is appricited as well.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 17:17 #
  26. shriq

singhisking,

Maira dukh yai hai:

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/why-we-are-customers-of-indian-market#post-109221

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 17:19 #
  27. BaliMA

When I watch an Indian movie, listen an Indian music CD, wear an Indian kurta or whatever, I m supporting and strengthening their market and giving money to them. Therefore, there is a question that why we r customers of Indian Market?
    Moreover, they are using their films and drama for spreading anti /hatred contents abt our religion and country.
    Qatra qatra dirya banta haie

Labaik brother, I have joined your cause and from now on I will not watch indian movies anymore. From now on I will only watch arabic and persian movies. Can you tell me about some good persian and arabic actors? I will run to the store when new arabic or persian movie is released. If I watch any indian movie in the future its only purpose would be to keep a keen eye on the enemy takay mujhey dushman ki tiyarie ka pata chal sakay aur maie us paie nazar rukh sakoun.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 17:19 #
  28. singh isking

@shriq
    i dont know details of the matter u posted but is must be with in knowledge of your govt officials dealing in that

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 17:29 #
  29. jaypk

Aristo…..some nice thoughts….!!

I wouldn’t disappoint you here mate by bashing this thought straightaway can calling you another one of our jazbati ppl but I would like you to think in the way in which I will take this…however I am ready to be called upon as an Indian or kaafir for that matter.

Tell me the date when you would be starting a thread on IPL and calling all Pakistani players who played in IPL , mulk dushman and moreover a kaafir and the money they earn from IPL is najayaz once you would know that how much benefit IPL gave to Indian cricket and Indian industry. We could have done it but alas….we are victim of one word..politics. we do our job by pointing and spreading hate for others and when others get busy in that and when they stop whatevr they were doing ..we relax and have a cup of tea thinking in our minds that how easy it is for us to ignite the sentiments of our masses and direct them and play with thr emotions..our job is fulfilled. Also with your kind permission I would like to know that if I listen to atif aslam or rahat fateh ali khan would that make me more Indian or Pakistani? Ustad nusrat fateh ali khan (may his soul R.I.P) has done a track with A R Rehman so do I have to buy the copy for that or not? If I buy would that help Indian economy or Pakistani economy?..btw..Khan sahib shoud ve asked you or ppl like you before doing a joint venture with our rivals.

Firstly if this thread is just to promote hate for india then you are bang on target mate…job done.. otherwise ..if you be more sane and hit the axe on the spreading culture and promoting Indian culture in pakistan at large then I would definitely second you but it’s a shame that you are just pointing towards a very feeble and common problem of our masses but not giving any positive remedies fr that. You are just against a country and you just want to give a shock to there economy by not watching thr movies and listening thr songs but forgetting at the same time that our very own drama serials on private channels are more forward thinking and liberal then there dramas. Our very own private channels are making reality dance shows but is there a face of concern from you side? NO.

We still celebrate basant with joy and fervor. We still do all sort of kharafaat and rasm on our shaadi biyah like daandiyah for a week long time span. On top of that even our universities play holi so how far would you go to stop all that. Kindly make a thread on that as well. As for the kurta we call it shalwar kameez and in all four provinces we have different versions of this kindly delete this from your hate list. If sumone calls them muhajir and mostly the urdu speaking community in pakistan and if they wear kaliyon wala sufaid kurta with pajama it doesn’t make them any less patriot then you and I by not wearing it since they buy it from Pakistan and they are helping the industry which is making kurta pajama and millions who are attached to this would be hit by your hate list.As for the jewellery the mughals gave them this lifestyle so if we could embrace mughals

I have never criticized our media ppl who go to India…why should i..they have talent, its thr way of earning so let them earn. Atleast they are known as Pakistani in India which all of us should be proud of. If we cant give them enough money here and if we cant promote talent here and if we cant fulfill the needs for our actors then who are we to comment on them so let them go wherever they want to. I was watching in Indian laughter show forgot the actual name and there wasn’t a hint of animosity when the Indian crowd admired hanif raja and the host called him “magician” and gave him a standing ovation and he prformed for more then 40 minutes where the usual slot was for 15 minnutes and same goes for Amanullah thought later on there were threats for some Pakistani comedians and actors to get out of India but as far as I know they admire talent. Well most of them.

I would be surprised if instead of saying that we should boycott Indian movies you would have said that why don’t we make good movies ourselves and what are the causes and try to be positive in the approach and think for a minute that by saying qatra qatra darya banta hay but we cant do any damage to bollywood by saying that we should stop seeing thr movies since they were on VCR and DVDs but now they are in our cinemas and this hate culture was there even 20 years back but what good has it been for us??…because we only learn to be jealous and hasad wouldn’t do any good to us. Had we been thinking for anything positive we would have been enjoying our own movies in our own cinemas. You don’t believe me see for yourself that how this mushroom growth in our media has taken place and in 10 years or so we are leaps and bounds and inshaAllah our media will overcome Indias media soon and is somewhat competitive enough. The ppl who never let our media grow stronger are the same ppl who never wanted our cinema to grow stronger as well which they succeed.

You know..you said since being childhood we have been told that India is our enemy number one..and they are our arch rivals. No doubt. But have you ever think that what good has this animosity been for us. I remember a specific political group has been seriously involved in the campaign against India and spreading hate. No doubt it’s a good job but why just only debate and boycotts and naara baazi. They also have the same feelings for us but at the same time they are ahead of us in most of the fields. Our film industry was at its peak in 60s and had that continued today you wouldn’t be writing this sentiment of yours that we should boycott Indian film industry and should not see Indian movies because you would be watching our movies and they (Indians) would be taking lessons from us as they did in the past when there were names like waheed murad, syed kamal and ahmed rushdi.

You cannot win this war by spreading more hatred and igniting more jealousy in pplz heart however if we rectify the issues and solve them with a positive mind and learn sumthing from our demise rather then cursing others and burn in jealousy and day dreaming that if we stop watching movies we could hit bollywood, why don’t we try to improve our areas and learn from our weaknesses. Tommorow somebody like you and me will make a thread that stop listening to English songs as US is our enemy just like some of my friends they say dnt drink pepsi and drink mecca cola.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 17:32 #
  30. singh isking

just to add
    i wont stop going to pakistani resturent which prepares one of my best food i love to eat

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 17:32 #
  31. shriq

You are right!

Our government loves us!. So it does whatever is not in our interests!!

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 17:33 #
  32. quaidkamazaar

some of you are having problems with indian entertainment,,,

then what about Shafqat Amanat, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan, Amanat Ali, making there way as essential part of Indian Music scene??? Are they traitors??

how about the scores of Indians who accept these Pakistani singers as nothing but great!

sometimes I laugh at many of you.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 17:35 #
  33. shriq

Another good trade news with India!!!

A news ticker running now!
    Thousands of tons of low quality steel from India!

We Pakistanis would never understand!!

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 17:47 #
  34. singh isking

rivalry between india and pakistan is political and to some exatent religious( in my opinion religious emotions are draged into rivelry to get support of masses) it is better not to bring art,litrature and entertaiment and sports into that matter.may be in future when masses from both sides may feel to join hand on hand the thinghs mentioned above will be joining doors(threads)

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 17:52 #
  35. singh isking

forget to mention
    i love pakistani rooh afza over the india version and i always buy pakistani one

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 17:59 #
  36. quaidkamazaar

more than boycotting Indian products,

we should boycott Danish Product.
    they made cartoons of the prophet, not the Indians.

Jinnah never though of Pakistan and India as rival nations, he always thought of them as peaceful happy supportive neighbors.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 18:02 #
  37. expakistani

I have a simple rule at my house... " buy Pakistani" even if we dont need something... that mean we have some extra towel at home with made in Pakistan brand, and 4 bori of zebra rice...

we dont buy indian product unless.... we need it badly, last year we had shortage of pakistani rice for 2-4 months and we didnt buy indian rice... wt the heck we can live without indian rice.

I dont buy indian movies or music ...i must need to confess here ... just get it free and dont feel guilty

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 19:32 #
  38. @aristotle
    -Moreover, they are using their films and drama for spreading anti /hatred contents abt our religion and country.
    -I believe the friendship is based on equality, not a one-sided trade or business. It is not friendship, but just a marketer and consumer relationship.

I agree in general to your comments and of them particularly the two mentioned here.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 19:40 #
  39. jaypk

@singhisking....mate..plz thrs no need to show that how openminded you or a certain percentage of urbanite indians are...its nt very diff here in pakistan as well...but plz...dnt try to pose tht all indians are the most broadd minded nation in the whole world and they would love to embrace thr **** borthers wheneva possible..we are nt living in fools paradise neither are you...thr could be an exception like you and i who want more peace but kindly dnt give the impression tht shows tht all indians are the most forward thinking and peace loving towards thr pakistani counterpart as we all know the kind of sentiments both sides have fr each other...!!

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 21:15 #
  40. singh isking

@jaypk
    i am not giving any impression that i represent indian mind set here.whatever i have said is my personal opinion.i have used word 'i' not 'we'.i dont understand why did u got that impression.only thing which brought me to this site is i find some tv prograames interesting posted in this site.where did i said indian hatred abt pakitan is anyway lesser then their counterpart.i dont even agree that being modest is urban phenomenon.its very personal and depends how one perceive things in life and how one interprate informationone gets from society,books.school and whateve.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Jan 2010 21:34 #
  41. zia m

Indian government has been more sensible than ours.They levied higher tariffs on imports to help domestic production.We imported all sorts of goods to create a false sense of prosperity.
    With globalization of trade it is not in our best interest to adopt isolationalist policy.
    We need to improve our national image in order to attract foreign capital.The current enviornment is not conducive to in flow of capital.

I hate to admit, before 9/11, when an American asked me if i was from India i used to resent it.I used to be proud of my nationality but these days i rather keep quiet than admit my nationality.

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Jan 2010 1:16 #
  42. aristotle

Thanks to all of u who participated in this discussion with ur valued opinion and views. I just wanted to make a point or register my observation on hypocrite attitude being a nation. I personally saw a number of ppl who criticize Indian and our artists and players who go to Indian for work but they selves enjoys Indian market stuff, like movie, music , drama and cloths etc,.

I just wanted to say that if u criticize them or recognize him, as an enemy then u should quit using Indian stuff then you might criticize others. becoz they r unintentionally strengthening those whose they don’t like. There is no question of isolation or boycott...It is simple and straight way of expression of feelings, which can be adopted by any nation or country’s ppl.

Thanks all of them who supported my opinion and added their valued views in favour of my comments like Salam, LetsDoit, Shriq, Hariskhan, BaliMA, expakistani, zingaro, Shaheen-e-Iqbal, *RhyMe*...

Others who do not agree with me, I respect their views also. Agreement or disagreement is ur right and I respect ur rights.

@Salam
    "I think Aristotle is referring to female population of Pakistan. Aristotle has good observation of women...lolzz..."

Oh yaar, woman hamarey ird gird he tu hoti hen, koi Mars par tu nahi rehten k un ko observe na kia jasakay :) wase bhi woman hamari population ka 51% hen, is ley un ko is brainstorming session me shareek hona chahyey.

@expakistani:
    I appreciate ur thinking, Its really nice to hear. so why do u introduce urself with an identity of expakistani? :) u r still Pakistani brother. very very Pakistani :)
    thanks again all of u....

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Jan 2010 7:13 #
  43. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@jaypk: (sarcasm) Nice speech (/sarcasm). It was so! far out of line, I nearly laughed at it.

Rather than pointing out or at 'problems' of our media / entertainment industry, you point fingers at religious groups, who have no control over how the film industry works, operates, runs its business within and outside Pakistan's borders.

You make me laugh!

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Jan 2010 11:54 #
  44. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@sing isking: India showed animosity against Pakistani cricket players, so much that match venues' had to be changed or matches were abandoned.

The recent attacks on Sri Lankan cricketers also has Indian involvement. India wants to isolate Pakistan. Why didn't Pakistani Govt. do anything about it ? Make me think Pakistani Govt. is in cahoots with India.

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Jan 2010 11:57 #
  45. jaypk

@aristo..bruv..cut down yer praise list please..balima hasnt supported yer view..he was being sarcastic..lolz at him...kindly have a look...so plz omit him fr yer praise list...zingaro is also in yer praise list where as he has also raised tht we have to propagate our culture first rather thn boycotting or stoppin anyone elses culture..so i m struggling to see how come tht view is also in yer line as well....and next time instead of just pointing towards a mere issue try to give an alternative solution tht instead of boycot how can we build our industries..try to be more of a suggestion with pointing towards an issue since it is very easy..i hope you would understand my friend..and be a true aristo :)...there is no guarantee tht if sumone is a die hard arjun rampaal fan tht makes him any less patriot fr his motherland thn anyone who boycotts indian movies and call others a hypocrite..?

@singhisking...i said you are an exception...tht was a compliment.....so kindly keep it...i also said tht ppl like you and i are exception..we talk abt peace..but the masses in both countries which are more of the less educated strata are always ready to kill each other...you cant denie tht can you?..no matter how much we prove of ourselves that i buy your stuff and you like my stuff doesnt make us any less patriot. at the end ofthe day no matter how much rooh afza you drink you would favor india and no matter how peaceful i would be i would always be ready to give my life fr pakistan...hope you understand..!

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Jan 2010 12:04 #
  46. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Today, the first priority of Pakistan's Govt. should be to provide basic necessities of life to millions of Pakistanis', to take steps to revive Pakistan's dead! economy, to make lives of Pakistanis' easier!

People are not stupid, they are smart. When govt. will start illegitimate military operations or wars to drag foreign agenda within our borders, naturally capital will fly out. When common man will not have the confidence to get justice from court of law, naturally capital will fly out. When Govt officials poke around in every business for bribes, or easy money, naturally capital will fly out.

No Pakistani can complain about the current situation. They! voted those people into power who's lust for 'zan, zar, zameen' has no! end in sight.

At the time when basic needs of Pakistani people have been sufficiently addressed, only then can Pakistan Govt. worry about 'facilitating' or 'encouraging' our media industry to do business. Perhaps if Pakistan Govt. stopped bullying media industry, if it left it alone, it'd start doing much better on its own.

It is Govt. policies plus wrong decisions of media industry or those who produce programs/movies in media industry, who are largely responsible for fall of our local media. Also, at a time when Pakistan's Govt. is towing foreign agenda within Pakistan's borders, it stands to reason that output from our local media would die off with time.

Indian movies don't help Pakistani people in anyway what-so-ever. Movies are 'non-constructive' product. We can easily! do without them.

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Jan 2010 12:08 #
  47. Can anyone tellme how many of our channels are shown there?

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Jan 2010 13:29 #
  48. quaidkamazaar

QTV is shown in India Mr. Rhyme,

and Indian Muslims watch that channel too much, perhaps as much as Pakistanis. Many of the callers Junaid Bhai gets on his shows are usually from India.

No matter how you guys try to cut down relations between India and Pakistan, there is a bond deep inside history which cannot allow these countries to live in isolation.

how many of us will go and watch My Name is Khan by SRK when it comes out in the cinema hall????
    Cmon lets not lie.

You should be proud of Pakistan and buy as many Pakolas and Shan Masalas as possible but why take the extreme course when it comes to India? its not required.

in other words, buying an Indian product does not make on unpatriotic, your patriotism does not depend on it.

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Jan 2010 15:17 #
  49. aristotle

Jaypk

Thanks for correction.
    as far as ur suggestion for me is cornered
    u know every human being has a core personality, nature and way of thinking which can be different from others even to his/her own family members but nature cant be changed. If I m an emotional person so how can I change my nature on ur and like ur sincere friends’ advice?
    A nation usually is a combination of emotional and unemotional persons. so everyone can express through their own way.

thanks again for sharing ur views.
    cheers

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Jan 2010 5:49 #
  50. @quaidkamazar

Just QTV? i actually wanted to ask about entertainment channels that how many of them have excess to indian cable network...let u know,today around 15 to 20 of indian entertainment channels are shown on cable tv networks in Pakistan....i dont have any prob with that and i know we cant live in isolation but it would be fair only if ppl in india could watch pakistani channels too...i will blame our Gov. more for their policy to give free excess to indian channels here when indians there arent fortunate enough to watch ours...

and im not a Mr.!

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Jan 2010 13:35 #