WikiLeaks Pakistan : Shahbaz was willing to throw CJ under the bus

(67 posts)
  1. runaway

Shahbaz was willing to have CJ removed after ‘face-saving’ restoration

http://www.dawn.com/2011/05/20/shahbaz-was-willing-to-have-cj-removed-after-face-saving-restoration.html

It would be fun to see the PML-N defending this one.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 2:52 #
  2. Zoab_Khan

Hasn't Imran Khan been saying that this ehtesaaab doesn't suit PML-N.
    How pathetic is Pakistani leadership. 2 faced, rat-bas-terds. Throw in wiki-leaks about Kiyani requesting drone attacks and everything makes sense how pathetic we are.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 4:59 #
  3. toamin

بات ہو نون لیگ کی تو منافقت کی کوئی حد نہیں

KARACHI: Even as PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif was rallying street support by publicly refusing to back down from demands for the restoration of Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry in February and March 2009, the party was privately telling American diplomats that the future of the then-non-functional chief justice was up for negotiation.

“Shahbaz stated that following the restoration, the PML-N was prepared to end the issue and remove Chaudhry once and for all,” reported Lahore Consulate Principal Officer Bryan Hunt in a secret American diplomatic cable describing his meeting with the younger Sharif on March 14, 2009.

“On the issue of former Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry, Shahbaz claimed that the PML-N was open to negotiation, provided that Chaudhry was symbolically restored.”

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 5:01 #
  4. HAQKIAWAZ

Whatever Wikileaks says but it is a reality that PML (N) candidates took oath before 2008 election to restore CJ. Then PML (N) ministers gave resignations and quit the govt on this principal stand. Then Nawaz Sharif broke all barricades and led a long march from Model Town in spite of suicide attacks threats as given by Rehman Malik and govt and this long march resulted in the restoration of independent judiciary. NS haters can deny these facts but our country history can not take away this credit from NS.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 5:38 #
  5. toamin

Just look at the role that AMERICA plays in local politics of Pakistan, Consulate and Embassy are actually governing the affairs of people-

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 5:43 #
  6. scandinavian

That's why the only befitting name for PML-N is Pakistan Munafiq League. They are worse than PPP. At least you get what you see re. PPP.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 6:55 #
  7. insaftak

Truth always comes out. I am amazed how pathetic And cunning these noon leaguers really are. They believe in nothing just empty threats and rhetoric. All they believe in is to keep their power and how to make some money quickly.

Sharam kere haya kero Pakistan munafiq league

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 7:02 #
  8. ali-pk

please remember, PML-n decided long march only after governor rule was imposed in Punjab. Their prime objective was to save their own interest, the restoration of Judiciary movement provided them the perfect platform.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 7:42 #
  9. siddiqi73

Internet ki duniya mein rahnay waloon aur Dharna kay pujarioon..doodh mein mangnian dhoondna chor do.....FYI, you guys are cheesed off cause Taliban Khan did not get to hog the limelight or 15 minutes of fame during the restoration of judiciary...the credit was taken or rather hijacked by NS. Furthermore, the lousy and corny little petitions submitted in the Supreme Court by IK have yet to be entertained by the honorable judges.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 7:44 #
  10. scandinavian

@Siddiqi73

Come on. This is too cheap. Why don't you explain why your leadership act like munfafiqeen? Instead you as usual obsessed by the personality of IK. Leave him and clarify PML-N's stance!

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 7:56 #
  11. insaftak

@Scandinavian

You won't get any answer from munafiq league. All you would get is Taliban khan, dharna khan, yahoodi agent, test tube khan.

They are fully exposed and have lost all the credibility. They have been backing ppp government for last 3 years and still are instead of standing for the rights of Pakistani people.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 8:07 #
  12. Anonymous

We got a tatse of Nesti's true intentions in the latest constitutional amendments. Yeh koi achambay kee baat nai hai. These leaks perfectly match with Nesti's anatomy.

Its no srprise since Shadibaz is the biggest daku in Pakistan, although hes still a son to ZarDaku! Their top tier leadership is all corrupt and a Daku. Rana Sanaullah etc.

Judiciary azaad hogai to sawal karay ge na meray bhai. yeh 2 factories say 38 kesay hui'n? Yeh london main property kaha say lee? paisa kesay bahar gaya itna? Tax q nai dia??

Ofcourse, they plot and Allah(SWT) plans and verily, Allah(SWT) is the best of planners.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 8:11 #
  13. siddiqi73

@scandinavian,

You want to hear PML (N)'s stance; convince your leader of lala land to sit with Khawaja Asif, Khawaja Saad or Ahsan Iqbal who would eloquently explain everything to him and also show him stars in daytime while they are at it.

@insaftak,

Their credibility would be gauged come next elections. Let the voters decide on this.

@abytude,

Judiciary azad hai tu sawal karay, tum kyon itna phuduk rahay ho. If the judiciary ain't asking, Dharna Khan should file a petition in Supreme Court.

Since your ding-a-ling leader haven't done didly squat, you bring in allah (SWT) into this matter.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 9:20 #
  14. Party agenda as a base compared with what they preach and what they actually deliver should be enough for us to conclude which Party (party leadership) is honest working towards honour, prosperity and well being of Pakistan and Pakistanis.

Wiki leaks are a source that is anything but credible.
    Why our judgments be influenced by half-truths propagated/projected by wiki leaks?

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 9:29 #
  15. scandinavian

@S.E.Mirza

"Wiki leaks are a source that is anything but credible.
    Why our judgments be influenced by half-truths propagated/projected by wiki leaks?"

I agree that we should not follow Wikileaks blindly, but can you tell me whether the concerned parties have deny the information given in Wikileaks? Any source/links?

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 9:46 #
  16. Answer is in the first para of my post (above).
    Wiki leaks are generally half truths. Whats dangerous is the 'other half' thats nothing but a twist of facts. We should not believe/use such propaganda as a backup reference rather rely on our own judgement and observation.
    PMLs are connected with the army (ISI) and they in turn are tools of neocon agenda in our lands. This is widely understood.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 9:53 #
  17. scandinavian

@S.E.Mirza

I understand that, and fully agree with you that we - first of all - should use our judgement and logical sense. BUT when people don't deny such information then it should raise eyebrows!

And fully agree on your judgement about PML-N. This is their trademark tactics to move on two directions-one direction is verbally and another is a practical direction - and they are not the same!

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 10:07 #
  18. BUT when people don't deny such information then it should raise eyebrows!

Sure it does brother. Khamooshi razamandi ki illamat bhi hai or nadamat ka aik izhar bhi. Laiken yahan is ko aitraf-e-gunah kay mutradif samjha jaey ga.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 10:21 #
  19. Anonymous

And yes,

Allah (SWT) is in every matter dear. Atleats for us.

It is Allah (SWT's) Rehmat that a hospital that nobody thought possible is running successfully withot fail. Giving a healthy life to thousands of cancer patients who cannot afford the treatment. Shaukat Khanum is a miracle of Allah(SWT).

It was Allah(SWT) who gave Pakistan the crucial one point in the England game,

It was Allah(SWT's) Rehmat which helped Khan raise 2 billion rupees which are practically being used to return life to the affected.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 10:39 #
  20. Anonymous

@ Zoab,

I think its a bit unfair on Kayani on this one. We all know Pakistan has been requesting drones from the US since long and we know how strongly the bharti lobby has oppposed this in the corridors of Washington.

This leak doesnt say drone attacks. It says drones.

It also says that they were refused and instead, marines were offered which Kayani declined.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 10:43 #
  21. siddiqi73

@S.E.Mirza,

Please review the following quote from Abytude:

"Hamaray to har kaam main Allah(SWT) hain meray dost. Haan Nesti k hawario k har kaam main amreeka, saudi baadhah, ISI, Zia kee Godh, jelani k agay raqs aur deegar haramzaadgiaan shamil hain."

I usually am not a cry baby but before I go ahead and match such a vocabulary, I would appreciate if if can get your valued feedback in this regard.

@Abytude,

Munnay, hum nay tu apna nach gana poora kar liya hai.....Dharna Khan abhee tak apnay muun say Musharraf ki choosnee nikali hai ya nahi? Or is he these days only content with sucking on the thumb of Pasha?

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 11:12 #
  22. siddiqi73

@dr sahab,

Poori baat karain....sirf aik lafaz say mazza nahi aaya.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 11:19 #
  23. siddiqi73

Lo bhai...aik aur fan clubber aa giya apnee ID change kar kay....Don't feel sorry for us brotha man, we got enough sympathizers...

There is a reason that this nonsensical thread is not posted on the main page; its for all to see....the gentleman who started this thread will clearly be nominated for the **** of the year Award.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 13:03 #
  24. @siddiq73
    Offensive post have been removed or edited.

Kindly observe forum ethics and show tolerance for each other by not being abusive, personal rather show respect for others.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 13:05 #
  25. GOOGLE

I was just watching Pervez Rashid talking to Geo on this Issue and according to him the talk between A. Petrson (former US Ambassador to Pakistan) and Nawaz Shareef, mentioned in the earlier WiKi leaks are correct which means WiKi leaks are credible.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 13:19 #
  26. So wiki leaks in this case got kaushered because PR said so! Wiki leaks are but a propaganda stunt and should be treated as half truths so as to be on the safe side.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 13:30 #
  27. Same wikileaks say:

Friday, 01 February 2008, 13 41
    C O N F I D E N T I A L SECTION 01 OF 02 ISLAMABAD 000483
    SIPDIS
    SIPDIS
    EO 12958 DECL 02/01/2018
    TAGS PREL, PGOV, PK
    SUBJECT "THE BEST THING THAT COULD HAPPEN IN PAKISTAN"
    REF LAHORE 25 07 ISLAMABAD 5138

Classified By Anne W. Patterson, for reasons 1.4 (b)(d)

1. (C) Summary. During a meeting with Ambassador January 31, Nawaz Sharif confirmed he was ready to work with the Pakistan People's Party in a post-election coalition government and described this union as "the best thing that could happen in Pakistan." He dismissed reports of threats against his life as attempts by the government to dissuade him from campaigning. Noting that emotions remain high in Sindh, he predicted violence if the election was seen as being rigged for Musharraf's party. As proof of his pro-Americanism, Nawaz reminded Ambassador that he had overruled his Chief of Staff to deploy Pakistani forces with the U.S. coalition in the first Gulf War. Nawaz remained firm in his belief that all of the deposed judiciary must be reinstated.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 13:53 #
  28. @ali-pk,

please remember, PML-n decided long march only after governor rule was imposed in Punjab. Their prime objective was to save their own interest, the restoration of Judiciary movement provided them the perfect platform.

Incorrect. The Long March was already scheduled by collaboration of Lawyers and PMLN, and the Governor Rule was imposed later to block the long march through police.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 13:56 #
  29. To goya wiki leaks asmani sahifay hain jin ko mann-o-ann qabool kar liya jaey.
    Hazrat, maiN naiN wiki leaks per aitbar kum our party leadership kay qoul our fail main tazad ya mutabqat per zayada zoor dainaiN ka kaha hai.
    Party koi bhi ho, is say farq nahiN.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 13:59 #
  30. zameer

Sharif brothers are innocent they haven't done any thing wrong.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 14:47 #
  31. zameer

Kim Barker is also a lier.Why Nawaz Sharif doesn't file a law suit against her?

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 14:53 #
  32. salaudin

<http://tribune.com.pk/story/172523/wikileaks-shahbaz-was-in-negotiation-to-remove-cj/>

Some excerpts from the link

"The cable says that Shahbaz had said that the PML-N was open to negotiation, provided that Chaudhry was symobolically restored as chief justice of Pakistan, but at the same time Shahbaz claimed to understand that Chaudhry was a problematic jurist whose powers would need to be carefully curtailed.
    The cable states that Shahbaz had said that PML-N was prepared to end the issue and “remove Chaudhry once and for all”. This he had said would be done adopting legislation proposed in the Charter of Democracy that would ban all judges who had taken an oath under a Provincial Constitutional Order (PCO) from serving."

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 15:49 #
  33. runaway

Sharif bros have been engaged in double talk and taking the awam for a ride.

These days Nawaz Sharif is hitting all the right notes in jalsas.. critizing army, usa, and govt.

I am sure Shabaz Sharif must have already met US ambassador and Kiyani to assure them this is just hot air for the people.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 16:02 #
  34. bsobaid

I also dont necessarily accept wikileaks on their face value. As Mirza said, it usually includes half truth. However time and again N-League has proven to be big time munfaiq in their policies.

I call N-League more as a confused party which is trying to transition from being Zia baqiaat to a democratic force. They do severely lack strategic thinking and are more like mohallay kee siaasat.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 16:30 #
  35. liv_2_die

this is the khuli munafiqat that we show as a nation .. we all use and quote wiki leaks dilligently when it favours our argument .. how many times all anti-government parties have quoted our PM 'aap drone hamley kari jayen parliment ko mein sambhal lon ga' ... or our president 'i am not bothered about collateral damage' ... aur now when something against PLMN comes out, S.E Mirza and other are saying 'wiki leakes are half truth' and we should not believe it blindly ...

ise munafiqat ki waja se aaj hum bahesiat aik qom ke is mukaam per hain .. if we want to prosper as a nation, we have to stop our munafiqat (and this includes all of us) .. how conveniently we change our stance once we (or our beloved onces) get under the scanner is sickening .. may Allah provide proper guidence to all of us

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 18:06 #
  36. zoabkhan

So this is why Shahbaz Sharif's puppy Ahsan Iqbal was bending over backwards defending Judicial commission.
    Now you have a Judicial committee with corrupt, incompetent, people for sale, sitting in this Judicial commision. When people like Babar Haiwan, Khalid Ranjha decide who are "honest" enough to be judges. Nothing good can happen.

I find it hard to believe that some PML-N and PPPP supporters have the guts to bring Imran Khan into a conversation.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 18:12 #
  37. HAQKIAWAZ

What has made the test tube baby IK to keep silence over the latest wikileaks news about IK's best buddy Gen Kiyani views on allowing drone attacks.

"Despite the occasionally disastrously misdirected attacks which have fed into the public hue and cry over civilian casualties, there is, in private, seeming general acceptance by the military of the efficacy of drone strikes. In a cable dated February 19, 2009, Ambassador Patterson sends talking points to Washington ahead of a week-long visit to the US by COAS Kayani. Referring to drone strikes, she writes: “Kayani knows full well that the strikes have been precise (creating few civilian casualties) and targeted primarily at foreign fighters in the Waziristans.”

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 18:29 #
  38. runaway

@NawazkeAwaz

This thread is for SharifLeak please start another thread for KiyaniLeak and then another for TestTube response to KiyaniLeak

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 18:57 #
  39. banjarbayabaan

ویسے یہ کیانی وہی نہیں جس کے ساتھ شہباز شریف لانگ مارچ کی رات ، اس سے پہلے اور اس کے بعد بھی ملاقاتیں کر چکا ہے. آخری ملاقات یکم مئی کی رات کو ہوئی تھی . کبھی ضیا سے ملاقاتیں کبھی کیانی سے ملاقاتیں

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 19:11 #
  40. @liv_2_die
    PMLs, PPP, MQM ya koi our mayrey rishtaydar nahiN keh aap munafiqat the label frakhdilli say chipkatay phiraiN. Braey Mehrbani yeh munafiqat ka parchar khatum keejeay.

Following members are requested once again to observe forum ethics. Name calling and labeling is not favoured because it flames that renders a discussion to a verbal brawl.

Siddique73: Taliban Khan
    Abytude: Nesti's
    Zoab Khan: Shahbaz Sharif's puppy Ahsan Iqbal
    HAQKIAWAZ: test tube baby IK

I will edit the post first and then knock it off altogether if the same is repeated. Tolerate each other’s party leaders by refraining from this practice.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 19:59 #
  41. Just_one

@Rasheed,

What is so great about your revelation when it includes:

"As proof of his pro-Americanism, Nawaz reminded Ambassador that he had overruled his Chief of Staff to deploy Pakistani forces with the U.S. coalition in the first Gulf War."

So it seems Nawas Sharif is trying to appease the US. What does this tell us? This tells us about another of the many hypocrisies of N-league.

@Siddiqi,

Take Nawas Sharif out of his hiding place and let's have a debate between him and Imran Khan. We'll then see who is made up of what.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 20:01 #
  42. Just_one

@HAQKIAWAZ,

I sympathtise with you. Your desparation is understandable.

You could find NOTHING against Imran Khan in wikileaks or any secret documents and now you want to blame Imran Khan for what Gen Kayani said? Some shame is in order.

If Gen Kayani were a "buddy" of Imran Khan, he would have resigned ages ago than to shame himself by working for the corrupt Zardari government and their masters, the Americans.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 20:06 #
  43. Just_one

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 20:07 #
  44. bsobaid

Formation of judicial commission is proper and normal. CJ's complaints are unjustified.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 20:14 #
  45. @Just_one,

First of tell, which wikieak is correct. The one that says that PMLN did not compromise on restoration of entire judiciary or the one that says CJ should be fired?

Not only that, actions speak louder than the words and entire nation knows the efforts of PMLN in this movement. Imran Khan could not have succeed in this alone in 100 years, as Imran Khan supported Musharraf when he fired 17 judges in 2000.

"As proof of his pro-Americanism, Nawaz reminded Ambassador that he had overruled his Chief of Staff to deploy Pakistani forces with the U.S. coalition in the first Gulf War."

As I have repeatedly highlight your lies and//or ignorance in the past past, I want to highlight again that if you have know even tiny bit of history, Nawaz Sharif confronted General Aslam Baig in sending forces to Saudi Arabia.

The army was not sent to fight along American troops, but to protect the holy cities on request of Saudi Arabian government. KSA had already supported Pakistan in previous war with India by sending their jets to support Pakistan and this was minimum Pakistan could do to help Saudi Arabia.

Americans did not want Pakistan's help, as they would have happily charged more money to Saudis on solo project.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 21:02 #
  46. Just_one

@rasheed,

"First of tell, which wikieak is correct. "

Let's say both are correct: The passing reference regarding Nawas Sharif's "commitment" to restore judiciary is moot compared to the extensive leaks on the role of PMLN during the CRUCIAL stage of judges restoration, as revealed in the latest wikileaks. IF there were no latest wikileaks, then your reference to the previous one was valid. Not anymore.

What is your point? The second leak is wrong? Then why should the first be believed?

The latest wikileaks clearly show the dubious role of PMLN in judges restoration.

Secondly, we can confirm this role from what the PMLN has been doing after the restoration of judges. PMLN compromised on the safe exit given to Justice Dogar, as Iftikhar Ch was only restored AFTER Dogar's term was over.

We saw the pathetic PMLN's role in 18th and 19th amendments, making a parliamentary committee, consisting of parliamentary members who might be involved in serious cases, to decide the appointment of judges.

So you need to open your eyes. The public is not fool.

About Gulf War, it is not me who is trying to claim any historical expertise. I am simply linking the comment of your leader, Nawas Sharif. He was quite eager to claim his role in the first Gulf War as his service to America. Here it is again (read it carefully):

Don't try to be bitter in your argument. It shows desperation. I am certainly not the one resorting to lies in this debate.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 21:51 #
  47. sipahi

@All

Why people are exaggerating to make a point against people of opinion/politics different their own?
    Just take a look at the title of this thread and many others. You do not even have to go to individual posts.
    As a person bringing a news item, we need to make sure that we do not become “Zalim” by implying what is not there, just to have a “Win”. It seems we are in business of “pushing” or “pulling” others down.
    There is a saying that it is best to pull others up rather than push them down. This is because, if you “pull” others they will “push” you up, but if you “push” others down they will “pull” you down.
    We need to learn from the methods employed by our Prophet (pbuh).

Posted 1 year ago on 20 May 2011 22:54 #
  48. HAQKIAWAZ

Just_one
    You could find NOTHING against Imran Khan in wikileaks or any secret documents and now you want to blame Imran Khan for what Gen Kayani said? Some shame is in order.

Today your leader was criticizing SS in news conference with reference to latest Wikileaks. Why Ik does not have guts and courage to criticize Gen Kiyani on the same wikileaks reference. Why he is proving himself as establishment's puppet who would criticize only NS, SS but would not say a single word against his present buddies Gen Kiyani / Pasha, Altaf Hussain, Ch Shujaat etc. Many shame is in order.

Posted 1 year ago on 21 May 2011 2:17 #
  49. @Just_one,

- The wikileaks are contradicting between each other and any person with some sense will put the doubts on wikileaks itself rather than the role of party that wrote history by proving their street power to reverse the actions taken by military for first time. The public is definitely not fool and the proof of this is that the same public gave "just_one" seat to PTI in 15 years.

- Regarding so called pathetic role of PMLN and giving DOGar one more week, the decision to call long march off was done by Aitzaz, the leader of lawyers movement after talking to Kiyani and Prime Minister's speech. It was lawyers movement and PMLN supported them with street power and all main decisions like schedule or decision to call it off was done by lawyers community. Its you who should open your eyes, as the public is not fool and the proof of this is that PTI won "just_one" seat in 15 years.

- Regarding role in 18th and 19th amendments, again if you have a tiny drop of shame, you would recall that PMLN walked out of 18th amendment on last day when the number of members of in committee were equal between judiciary and executive. PMLN was the only party who strongly fought against it and managed to put extra member from judiciary to give decision power to judiciary, not executive. The committee is headed by Chief Justice himself.

The formation of committee was decided in charter of democracy in 2006 when there was no judicial crisis, which leaves any doubt on intention of formation of committee. The committee will ensure that a single corrupt CJ like DOGar cannot appoint the entire rotten judiciary at his own in future.

But again, you should leave the constitutional matters to the representatives of public, not to someone who won "just_one" seat in 15 years.

Posted 1 year ago on 21 May 2011 5:05 #
  50. Just_one

@HAQKIAWAZ,

The most important thing which was exposed in the latest wikileaks was the hypocrisy of PMLN. People have been calling this league as "munafiq league" and it has once again showed that it is not far from it.

A democratitic political leader should have issues with the GOVERNMENT of the day, not the institions. Zardari and Gillani are leading the federal government, while Nawas and Shabaz are providing friendly opposition due to their rule in Punjab.

The paramount responsibility lies on the elected officials. Why are they living a comfortable life at the expense of tax payer? Why are they given security convoys consisting of dozens of vehicles, bullet proofs cars, and so on, from the money gathered by this poor nation? Just to do nothing? With power comes responsibility.

Understand democracy and political systems first, and teach it your ignorant leader, before you talk about the same.

Imran Khan has already said that he would have sacked the army chiefs if he were prime minister. The paramount responsibility lies on the government to take action. Those who are criticizing the army and agencies, are actually SUPPORTING this government. This include Nawas Sharif.

Posted 1 year ago on 21 May 2011 10:27 #