PKPolitics Discuss » Faith and Religion

Women beat Maulvis

(23 posts)
  1. khanseena1

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/India/Women-beat-maulvis-for-issuing-talaqnama/articleshow/6108536.cms

LUCKNOW: For a woman who had taken law into her hands an hour ago, Nishat Fatima looked unrepentant and happy. Nishat along with two other women had barged into Sultanul Madaris, a Shariat court in old Lucknow, on Tuesday to ‘teach wayward maulanas a lesson of their lives’.

Their grouse, the maulvis — Maulana Moosa Rizvi, Maulana Asghar and Maulana Sadiq — were bribed by their husbands for issuing a one-sided divorce decree. "Beating up these guys was such a relief I just can’t tell (...dil ko kitna sukoon mila hai in logon ko peet kar... bataa nahin sakti hoon)," Nishat told TOI.

The middle-aged housewife, married to a Nainital property dealer Ali Kamal, was shocked to learn from her neighbours that Ali bought a ‘talaqnama’ and was remarried to his two years’ girlfriend. "I made inquiries and found out it indeed was true. A ‘talaqnama’ was issued from Sultanul Madaris this very month and my husband paid them Rs 2,500," she claimed.

Since there can be no divorce among Shias unless the wife is given an opportunity to plead her case, Nishat was livid and decided to settle scores with the maulvis.

"These men occupy an exalted position. One does not expect them to cheat. I would call upon other women who suffer silently to come out and raise their voice before it is too late," she said.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jul 2010 21:49 #
  2. loved it!!!!!!!

Wish we had them here!

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 4:58 #
  3. Hussain Farooqui

When religious leaders deviate from the Islamic teachings then such undesirable reactions can be expected. What happened in Lucknow was something very natural.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 8:27 #
  4. larki

kudus to the women who beat the foold.
    I beat up a a bearded man when i lived in karachi in forum clifton. He told me to cover my head and threatened to throw acid on my face and my moms face. Because he said it was haram. I forst spit on his face then bit him on his arm then started screaming that he was molesting me. He got a trashing not only from me but also the guards of the forum god bless them. He is now sitting in jail.
    I am so happy i did that. And i will do it again.
    In sweden where i live we have a group opposed to religious fundamentalists. We see to it that no jobs are offered to anyone who is not secular in their ideology. Up to now we have got 4 people kicked out of their jobs 3 from Indonesia pakistan and turkey 1 christian from sweden itslef. and more will follow.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 9:54 #
  5. Moulana who has issued a junk piece in the form of talaknama without ever consulting the second party, here the wife is not according to Islamic Jurisprudence.

Moulana has misused his religious authority in return of 2500 rupees. He was beaten by women, but futher to this he should also be tried in court.

It is outrageous/unjustified act to decree a woman as been divorced without her knowledge or ever have been provided a chance to plead her case.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 10:04 #
  6. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Injustice is injustice. No matter who does it, even if it is a 'Molvi' (in Urdu).

In Islam justice is dynamic. Islam's standards of justice adapt to the conditions human beings face.

In Islam, the driver of lives of Muslims is the fear of;

(1) ALLAH ALMIGHTY
    (2) after-life

When this fear is gone, there's no limit to the injustice human beings can do to each other. That's also true for Muslims.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 11:01 #
  7. NNL

He went against his own religion so he deserved it.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 11:04 #
  8. toamin

larki

don't you think that it is zulm to kick out people because of what they believe in?? isn't that itself contradictory to the core value of secu-lar-ism??

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 11:35 #
  9. shafiq12

Sister Larki

standpoint of the Qur'an with regard to women? Women are indeed commanded by Allah to cover their heads and wear modest clothing, however, in Islam this is not a sign of denigration or subjugation to men, rather, it is a sign of chastity, modesty, and the fear of God. It also designates this woman to all men who might deal with her that she is to be dealt with with respect. This could be compared to the situation in the West when one meets a nun or priest, how the nun's habit and the priest's robes signal those who meet them that this person does not condone vulgarity of speech or evil actions. This is made apparent in the Qur'an in Al-Ahzab:

"… that is closer to their being recognized so that they shall not be abused, and Allah is ever Forgiving, Merciful" Al-Ahzab(33):59
    -------------------------------------------------------
    What about the rights of women in Islam? Are they indeed, as the popular propaganda would have us believe, "second class citizens"? Let us read the Qur'an:

"And they (women) have rights similar to those of men over them in a just manner"

The noble Qur'an, Al-Baqarah(2):228

------------------------------------------------------

And their Lord has heard them (and He says): Verily! I suffer not the work of any worker, male or female, to be lost. You proceed one from another. So those who fled and were driven forth from their homes and suffered damage for My cause, and fought and were slain, verily I shall remit their evil deeds from them and verily I shall bring them into Gardens underneath which rivers flow. A reward from Allah. And with Allah is the fairest of rewards."

The noble Qur'an, A'al-Umran(3):195.

===============================================

"And covet not the thing in which Allah has made some of you excel others. Unto men a fortune from that which they have earned, and unto women a fortune from that which they have earned. (Envy not one another) but ask Allah of His bounty. Verily! Allah is Knower of all things."

The noble Qur'an, Al-Nissa(4):32.
    =======================================================

"And whoso does good works, whether of male or female, and he (or she) is a believer, such will enter paradise and they will not be wronged the dint in a date stone."

The noble Qur'an, Al-Nissa(4):124.
    =================================================

"And the believers, men and women, are protecting friends one of another; they enjoin the right and forbid the wrong, and they establish worship and they pay the poor-due, and they obey Allah and His messenger. As for these, Allah will have mercy on them. Lo! Allah is Mighty, Wise."

The noble Qur'an, Al-Tauba(9):71
    ============================================

"Whosoever does right, whether male or female, and is a believer, him verily We shall quicken with good life, and We shall pay them a recompense in proportion to the best of what they used to do."

The noble Qur'an, Al-Nahil(16):97.
    ===============================================

"Unto the men (of a family) belongs a share of that which parents and near kindred leave, and unto the women a share of that which parents and near kindred leave, whether it be little or much, a legal share."

The noble Qur'an, Al-Nissa(4):77.

============================================

"And of His signs is this: He created for you spouses from yourselves that you might find tranquillity in them, and He ordained between you love and mercy. Lo, herein indeed are signs for folk who reflect."
    The noble Qur'an, Al-Room(30):21

===========================================

"Whoso does an ill deed, he will be repaid the like thereof, while whoso does right, whether male or female, and is a believer, (all) such will enter the Garden, where they will be nourished without stint."

The noble Qur'an, Mumin(40):40.
    ========================================

So at last think why that person had mistreated u. Because u allowed him to do that.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 11:52 #
  10. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@larki: You have much to learn.

Including the fact that Islam and secularism are at odds in many respects. They negate each other in many respects. You can believe in one of them at one time. It would be hypocr|sy on your part, otherwise.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 12:49 #
  11. Sharif Aadmi

super soldier

IF u wanted to impress with your knowledge of Quran , oook i stand impressed.

But did someone asked u for this ? Can't u keep energies for those who want to learn your version of islam and ask u for that ?

That would be a lot more fruitful .

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 16:38 #
  12. The matter being discussed is of divorce of a Muslim woman.

Super soldier has some splendid knowledge, that he is explaining a divorce case in the light of Islam quoting from Quran.

Beliefs are personal matters. In case this explaining happens to be not according to a member's belief than a bit of tolerance would be appreciated.

This thread has gradually taken a turn towards a matter of faith and religion and if it continues as such than it would be moved to faith and religion forum.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 17:02 #
  13. Sharif Aadmi

Mirza sahib,

If some people are permitted to do 'tabligh' of their fiqh here , then response will also come .

If u have an objection to response, then please advise all to keep their 'deen' to themselves.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 17:10 #
  14. For example when such matters are being dicussed that do not fully coincide with my belief than I would tolerate by not creating a fuss out of something that is a non issue for me.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 17:17 #
  15. I am moving this thread to Faith and Religion Forum. Any objections?

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 17:19 #
  16. Sharif Aadmi

Mirza sahib,

religious debates are bound to be fussy.

When , some one pokes his 'tabligh' in a totally irrelevant manner , it can't be ignored.

If someone is so fond of doing 'tabligh' , he can/should do it on appropriate forum or thread.

Atleast , i m not here to read/listen any 'tabligh'.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 17:23 #
  17. Than you have a choice. Move to some other thread. Anyway I am moving this thread now.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jul 2010 17:32 #
  18. hkbajwa

hahahahahahahahaa... super fit

i only wish pakistani legislation could be amended so people here could start holding our esteemed maulvis responsbile for their excesses.

however as it is, no religious leader is ever held accountable for their unislamic activities. Isn't our very our maulana aunty aziz moving about freely even though he started a war in the middle of the capital??

@ Larki

Jeg er meget interesseret i at hoere lidt mere om jeres gruppe. Min kone skriver blandt andet for HRS i norge og jeg anser ogsaa mig selv som en progressiv or sekulaer muslim.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Jul 2010 9:57 #
  19. shafiq12

Hkbajwa

Your Ideology is corrupted. You have no base to stand.

and what your corrupted wish will bring?

U can amend the man made Legislation of Pakistan.
    But u can't amend the Laws of Allah, The are supreme and everlasting?

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Jul 2010 10:20 #
  20. even if the moulvies commited a sin still this jahilana style of beating men etc wasn't suitable at all!

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Jul 2010 16:45 #
  21. hkbajwa

SS

I am talking about amending man made legislation.

Islam is the only monotheistic religion on the planet that has no clegy as a part of its basic theology. It is the only religion that allows ANY MUSLIM to lead his fellows in prayer. It is the only religion that gives the individual direct access to God and it assures all believers that they will be judged solely on their own actions and nobody other than themselves can plead their case on the day of judgement.

I find it delightful that at least some people in today's world remember this and put our salvation peddling mullahs in their place.

a clerical class may emerge with the best of intentions, but it will always end up corrupting the teachings of every religion. It is what the rabbis did to judaism and the catholic church did to jesus' teachings

And it is what our mullahs have been doing to Islam for the past 1000 years.

Pakistan's legislation needs to reflect the human fallibility of mullahs so they can't excuse their excesses by calling it islamic.

I am not saying that Islamic jurisprudence be ignored. I'm actually saying it should be implmented and that the human invention called mullahs be abolished.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Jul 2010 18:06 #
  22. translation of hkbajwa @larki

"Jeg er meget interesseret i at hoere lidt mere om jeres gruppe. Min kone skriver blandt andet for HRS i norge og jeg anser ogsaa mig selv som en progressiv or sekulaer muslim."

Google translate:
    I am very interested to hear a little more about your group. My wife, inter alia, HRS in norway and I also consider myself as a progressive or secular Muslims.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Aug 2010 20:37 #
  23. hkbajwa

@ LIfe

PRetty accurate translation, though the last sentence lost its sense

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Aug 2010 5:34 #